DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-5 and 7-16 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed November 24th, 2025, with respect to the claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered. The claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed November 24th, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-5 and 7-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed November 24th, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered. The rejection of claims 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5, 11, are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 lines 1-2 & 2 should recite “the wireless supply power coupler” & “the wireless sensor power coupler;
Claim 5 lines 1-2 should recite “the wireless supply power coupler” & “the wireless supply data coupler”;
Claim 7 line 2 should recite “the wireless charging coupler” & “the wireless supply communication interface.
Claim 8 line 2 should recite “the wireless supply power coupler”.
Claim 11 line 4 should recite “the wireless sensor power coupler” & “the wireless supply power coupler”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 9-11, 13-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a receiving recess”. It is unclear if this is referring to the same receiving recess or is in addition to the receiving recess recited in claim 1. The limitation is suggested to recite “the supplying housing includes the receiving recess configured to”.
Claim 9 (claim 10 by virtue of dependency) recites “a receiving recess”. It is unclear if this is referring to the same receiving recess or is in addition to the receiving recess recited in claim 1. The limitation is suggested to recite “the receiving recess”.
Claim 11 recites “a battery” in line 5. It is unclear if this is referring to the same or a different battery than recited in claim 1. The limitation is suggested to recite “the battery”.
Claim 13 (claims 14 and 16 by virtue of dependency) recites “a receiving recess in the supply housing for receiving at least part of the sensor”. It is unclear if the at least part of the sensor is supposed to refer to the sensor coupling arrangement that mates with the supply coupling arrangement or if the at least part of the sensor received in the supply coupling arrangement is in addition to the sensor coupling arrangement. The limitation is suggested to recite “a receiving recess in the supply housing for receiving the proximal end of the sensor coupling arrangement”.
Claim 9 (claim 10 by virtue of dependency) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 9 recites “the supply coupling arrangement includes a receiving recess in the supply housing for receiving at least part of the sensor”. Claim 1 recites “the supply coupling includes a receiving recess in the supply housing configured for receiving at least part of the sensor”. Therefore, claim 9 fails to further limit claim 1 from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abiri (US 20170173345 A1) in view of Dennis (US 20070179552 A1), further in view of Verzal (US 20200086117 A1), further in view of Zhou (US 20050261562 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Abiri discloses an implantable medical device (Abstract), comprising: an implantable supply (secondary power unit 2, figs. 2-4) and an implantable sensor (third unit 3, figs. 2-4), the implantable supply (secondary power unit 2, figs. 2-4) further comprising: a supply housing (“housing”, para. [0028]); a battery (rechargeable battery, para. [0026], fig. 2A); a wireless supply power coupler (“at least one inductive coil” “transmitter coil”, para. [0026, 0032]) configured for (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) powering the implantable sensor from the battery via wireless coupling (“third unit … receives power from the … unit 3 … and delivers power to a functional load”, para. [0027]); a wireless supply data coupler (integrated circuit (IC), para. [0026]) configured for (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) wireless data communication with the sensor (“receives telemetry data from the third unit 3”, para. [0026]); a wireless supply communication interface (“at least one inductive coil transmitter”, para. [0026]) configured for (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) wireless communication with a non-implanted remote control (secondary power unit 2 transmits telemetry data to … a device external to the patient, para. [0026]); wherein the battery, the supply power coupler, the supply data coupler and the supply communication interface are enclosed by the supply housing (as seen in figs. 2-4); the implantable sensor (third unit 3, figs. 2-4) comprising: a sensor housing (“housing”, para. [0028]); a wireless sensor power coupler (“at least one inductive coil”, para. [0027]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) receive power from the supply power coupler by wireless coupling (“receives power from the secondary power unit”, para. [0027]), thereby powering the sensor (“delivers power to a functional load … sensing electrode”, para. [0027]); a wireless sensor data coupler (“at least one inductive coil”, “feedback control system”, para. [0027]) configured for (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) wireless data communication with the supply (“sensory data is transmitted from the third unit to the secondary power unit”, para. [0034]); wherein the battery is rechargeable (“rechargeable battery”, para. [0026]) and the implantable supply (secondary power unit 2, para. [0026]) includes a wireless charging coupler (“at least one inductive coil receiver”, “receiver coil”, para. [0026, 0032]) configured for (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) wireless charging of the battery from the non-implanted remote control (primary power unit 1 located external to the patient, para. [0030], figs. 3-4) in an implanted state of the implantable supply (as seen in figs. 3-4) (battery … charged … by the primary power unit 1, para. [0026], figs. 3-4). Abiri further discloses that the secondary power unit 2 is positioned closer to the third unit 3 due to the ability to achieve more efficient coupling between the first and second component's inductors (para. [0026]).
Abiri does not disclose the supply housing hermetically sealed and the sensor housing hermetically sealed.
However, Dennis directed to an implantable medical device discloses an implantable supply comprising a hermetically sealed supply housing (component 12a, figs. 11A-11B; “hermetically sealed housing”; “housing portion 12 having the battery 20”, para. [0035, 0062, 0074]) and an implantable sensor comprising a hermetically sealed sensor housing (component 12b, figs. 11A-11B; “hermetically sealed housing”; “sensor array 50 … contained within housing 12”, para. [0035, 0038, 0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abiri such that the implantable medical device further comprises the hermetically sealed supply housing and the hermetically sealed sensor housing, in view of the teachings of Dennis, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the housings of Abiri for the hermetically sealed housings of Dennis for implantation into vasculature anatomy.
Abiri, as modified by Dennis hereinabove, does not disclose a supply coupling arrangement configured for releasably mechanically coupling the sensor to the implantable supply; and a sensor coupling arrangement that mates with the supply coupling arrangement; wherein the supply coupling arrangement includes a receiving recess in the supply housing configured for receiving at least part of the sensor, the sensor coupling arrangement including a proximal end received within the supply coupling arrangement in radial spaced relation to the supply coupling arrangement to define anon-galvanic coupling.
However, Verzal directed to power element for an implantable medical device discloses a sealed circuitry element 52/542 including sensing functionality and a sealed power element 62/532 the seal being hermetic (fig. 16, para. [0041, 0055-0060, 0103]) discloses the supply housing hermetically sealed and the sensor housing hermetically sealed (“sealingly”; “hermetically sealed”, para. [0057, 0060]); a supply coupling arrangement (second portion 554, fig. 16) configured for releasably mechanically coupling (“removably insertable … mechanical connection”, para. [0098-0099]) the sensor to the implantable supply (“first portion 552 is … insertable”, para. [0098]); and a sensor coupling arrangement (first portion 552, fig. 16) that mates with the supply coupling arrangement (“mechanical connection”, para. [0098-0099]); wherein the supply coupling arrangement includes a receiving recess (“554 … annular ring”, fig. 16, para. [0098-0099]) in the supply housing (housing 536, as seen in fig. 16) configured for receiving at least part of the sensor (“sized and shaped to slidably receive … 552”, para. [0098-0099), the sensor coupling arrangement (first portion 552, fig. 16) including a proximal end (“first portion 552 … disposed on an end 548A”, para. [0098], fig. 16) received within the supply coupling arrangement (para. [0098-0099]) in radial spaced relation to the supply coupling arrangement to define anon-galvanic coupling (“ring … concentrically nested”; “ring-shaped electrically coil 586 … slidable electrical and mechanical connection of components”, para. [0099-0100, 0102]) (Examiner note: the ring-shaped electrically coil 586 providing a slidable electrical connection of Verzal would disclose establishing a non-galvanic coupling and further Abiri discloses inductive coils for establishing a non-galvanic electrical connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abiri, as modified by Dennis hereinabove, such that the implantable medical device further comprises a supply coupling arrangement configured for releasably mechanically coupling the sensor to the implantable supply; and a sensor coupling arrangement that mates with the supply coupling arrangement; wherein the supply coupling arrangement includes a receiving recess in the supply housing configured for receiving at least part of the sensor, the sensor coupling arrangement including a proximal end received within the supply coupling arrangement in radial spaced relation to the supply coupling arrangement to define a non-galvanic coupling, in view of the teachings of Verzal, for the obvious advantage of establishing a removable, slidable electrical and mechanical connection of components and positioning the second unit closer to the third unit to achieve more efficient coupling between the first and second component's inductors (Abiri, para. [0026]).
Abiri, Dennis, and Verzal do not disclose a continuous glucose meter.
However, Zhou discloses the implantable sensor comprising a continuous glucose meter module (para. [0033, 0035], glucose sensor 210; sensor system 10 enables features such as continuous readout of data (e.g., physiological parameters of the patient).
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abiri, as modified by Dennis and Verzal hereinabove, such that the implantable sensor further comprises a continuous glucose meter module, in view of the teachings of Zhou, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the sensing electrode of Abiri for the glucose sensor of Zhou to continuously monitor the glucose of a patient.
Regarding claim 2, Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, discloses the implantable medical device according to claim 1, wherein the supply power coupler includes a supply power coupler coil (“at least one inductive coil” “transmitter coil”, para. [0026, 0032]) and the sensor power coupler includes a corresponding sensor power coupler coil (“at least one inductive coil”, para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, discloses the implantable medical device according to claim 1, wherein the charging coupler is formed integrally with the supply communication interface (“secondary power unit includes … alternatively a single coil”, para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, discloses the implantable medical device according to claim 1, wherein the supply power coupler includes a supply power coupler coil (“at least one inductive coil” “transmitter coil”, para. [0026, 0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, discloses the implantable medical device according to claim 1. Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the supply coupling arrangement includes a receiving recess in the supply housing for receiving at least part of the sensor.
However, Verzal discloses wherein the supply coupling arrangement includes a receiving recess (“554 … annular ring”, fig. 16, para. [0098-0099]) in the supply housing (housing 536, as seen in fig. 16) for receiving at least part of the sensor (“sized and shaped to slidably receive … 552”, para. [0098-0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, such that the implantable the supply coupling arrangement includes a receiving recess in the supply housing for receiving at least part of the sensor, in view of the teachings of Verzal, for the obvious advantage of establishing a removable, slidable electrical and mechanical connection of components and positioning the second unit closer to the third unit to achieve more efficient coupling between the first and second component's inductors (Abiri, para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, discloses the implantable medical device according to claim 9. Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the supply power coupler coil is arranged circumferentially around the receiving recess.
However, Verzal discloses wherein the supply power coupler coil is arranged circumferentially around the receiving recess (coil 586, as seen in fig. 17, “ring-shaped electrically coil … retained within an annular channel 587”, para. [0100]).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, such that the supply power coupler coil is arranged circumferentially around the receiving recess, in view of the teachings of Verzal, for the obvious advantage of establishing a removable, slidable electrical and mechanical connection of components.
Regarding claim 11, Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, discloses a method for powering an implantable sensor (para. [0023], “methods”), comprising: providing an implantable medical device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above); making a wireless coupling (“wireless power transfer”, para. [0024]) of the sensor power coupler (“at least one inductive coil”, para. [0027]) with the supply power coupler (“at least one inductive coil” “transmitter coil”, para. [0026, 0032]), thereby powering the sensor from a battery (rechargeable battery, para. [0026]) of the implantable supply (third unit 3 … receives power … and delivers power to a functional load, para. [0026-0027]).
Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, does not disclose releasably mechanically coupling the implantable sensor and the implantable supply.
However, Dennis discloses releasably mechanically coupling the implantable sensor and the implantable supply (“solely a mechanical coupling … housing components 12a, 12b are mechanically coupled and communicate in a wireless medium such as RF”; “314a, 314b that receive corresponding connector pins”; “exchange components … housing portion 12 having battery is first removed”, para. [0062, 0065, 0074], as seen in figs. 11A-11B).
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, such that the method further comprises releasably mechanically coupling the implantable sensor and the implantable supply, in view of the teaching of Dennis, for the obvious advantage of adding or exchanging components post implantation.
Regarding claim 12, Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the wireless coupling is an inductive coupling (“wirelessly powering … through induction”, para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, discloses the implantable medical device of claim 1, wherein the sensor housing is coaxially arranged with the supply housing (as seen in figs. 3-4 & 16, “concentrically”, para. [0102]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abiri, in view of Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou, as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Kulkarni (US 20160175590 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, discloses the implantable medical device according to claim 2. Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the implantable sensor includes a ferromagnetic coupling member and the sensor power coupler coil is arranged circumferentially around the ferromagnetic coupling member.
However, Kulkarni discloses wherein the implantable sensor includes a ferromagnetic coupling member (first connector assembly 202 comprising first induction coil 302 surrounding a ferromagnetic core, para. [0024-0025, 0027]) and the sensor power coupler coil (second connector assembly 204 comprising second induction coil 304, “tubular configuration”, para. [0024-0025, 0027]) is arranged circumferentially around the ferromagnetic coupling member (as seen in figs. 3-4, “tubular configuration”; 202 disposed within receptacle 206 of 204; “radially surrounding”, para. [0024-0025, 0027, 0029]). Kulkarni further discloses that a core formed of a ferromagnetic material, such as a ferrite rod, increases an inductive coupling factor between first induction coil 302 and second induction coil 304 (para. [0025]).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, such that the implantable sensor includes a ferromagnetic coupling member and the sensor power coupler coil is arranged circumferentially around the ferromagnetic coupling member, in view of the teachings of Kulkarni, for the obvious advantage of increasing an inductive coupling factor between a first induction coil and a second induction coil such that the coils provide an inductive transfer of power between a first connector assembly and a second connector assembly (Kulkarni, para. [0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 4, Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, Zhou, and Kulkarni hereinabove, discloses the implantable medical device according to claim 3. Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, Zhou, and Kulkarni hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the sensor housing includes an elongated member enclosing the ferromagnetic coupling member and wherein the supply housing includes a receiving recess configured to receive at least part of the elongated member, and wherein the supply power coupler coil is arranged circumferentially around the receiving recess.
However, Kulkarni discloses wherein the sensor housing (first connector assembly 202, para. [0024-0025]) includes an elongated member (protective layer 406, para. [0025, 0030]) enclosing the ferromagnetic coupling member (first induction coil surrounding ferromagnetic core; first induction coil encased by protective layer 406, para. [0025, 0030], fig. 4) and wherein the supply housing includes a receiving recess (receptacle 206, fig. 3, para. [0027]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) receive at least part of the elongated member (202 disposed within receptacle 206 of 204, para. [0024-0025, 0027]), and wherein the supply power coupler coil (second connector assembly 204 comprising second induction coil 304, para. [0024-0025, 0027]) is arranged circumferentially around the receiving recess as seen in figs. 3-4, “tubular configuration”; “radially surrounding receptacle 206”, para. [0024-0025, 0029]. Kulkarni further discloses that a core formed of a ferromagnetic material, such as a ferrite rod, increases an inductive coupling factor between first induction coil 302 and second induction coil 304 (para. [0025]).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, Zhou, and Kulkarni hereinabove, such that the sensor housing includes an elongated member enclosing the ferromagnetic coupling member and wherein the supply housing includes a receiving recess configured to receive at least part of the elongated member, and wherein the supply power coupler coil is arranged circumferentially around the receiving recess, in view of the teachings of Kulkarni, for the obvious advantage of increasing an inductive coupling factor between a first induction coil and a second induction coil such that the coils provide an inductive transfer of power between a first connector assembly and a second connector assembly.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abiri in view of Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Najafi (US 10022054 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, discloses the implantable medical device according to claim 1. Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the supply power coupler and the supply data coupler are integrally formed.
However, Najafi discloses wherein the supply power coupler and the supply data coupler are integrally formed (wireless transceiver 14 performs transmitting the sensory signal and receiving the power signal”, col. 9 lines 17-18 & 39-46).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abiri, as modified by Dennis, Verzal, and Zhou hereinabove, such that the supply power coupler and the supply data coupler are integrally formed, in view of the teachings of Najafi, for the obvious advantage of providing a single wireless transceiver that can perform the dual task of transmitting the sensory signal and receiving the power signal (Najafi, col. 9 lines 17-18 & lines 39-46).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record taken either singularly or in a combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the combination of features of independent claim 13 which include: “the supply power coupler receives a proximal end of the glucose meter to wirelessly couple with the sensor power coupler”; “the sensor coupling arrangement including a proximal end received within the supply coupling arrangement in radial spaced relation to the supply coupling arrangement to define a non-galvanic coupling; wherein the supply coupling arrangement includes a receiving recess in the supply housing configured for receiving at least part of the sensor, wherein at least part of a proximal end of the sensor housing is inserted into the supply housing, and at least part of the distal end of the continuous glucose meter extends outside of the supply housing.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Najafi (US 20190269339 A1) directed to wireless implants for monitoring physiological parameters within living bodies; Gramse (US 20080109044 A1) directed to a hermetically sealed pulse generator with an independent, hermetically sealed battery compartment; Smith (US 20100268038 A1) directed to an attachable and/or detachable battery pack (fig. 5); Mann (WO 2007059343 A2) directed to implantable stimulators; Boling (US 9216285 B1) directed to a leadless implantable medical device (IMD), figs. 4A-4B; Wahlstrand (US 9393432 B2) directed to electrical connectors for implantable medical devices, fig. 9; Rump (US 20180050189 A1) directed to an implant including a hermetically tightly sealed housing, fig. 1.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/A.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791