DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to the amendment received 10/16/2025.
Applicant's amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC § 112(a) rejections set forth in the previous office action.
Applicant's amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC § 112(b) rejections set forth in the previous office action, except for the 35 USC § 112(b) rejection of claim 24, which stands.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 23, applicant argues that Hiller does not disclose the claim language “delivering energy at once in a single procedure, without moving the device during the procedure, via the flexible bipolar electrode”. Applicant states that Hiller is silent as to the number of applications of energy that achieve the results. However, once again, the claim language does not disclose the number of applications of energy, nor does it describe what is considered an application of energy. An application of energy could be a single pulse, it could be a single pulse train, or it could be a full ablation pulse sequence with many different treatment segments. Hiller does disclose delivering energy without moving the device in paragraph [0093]. Further, in paragraph [0007] of Hiller and in many other paragraphs, Hiller describes delivering energy to one or more treatment locations. A treatment with one treatment location means that the energy is delivered to one location and thus, the device would not move during the procedure. Therefore, the previous rejection of claim 23 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiller stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 24, it is unclear what medical conditions are disclosed by the claim language “etc.”. Clarity is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-29, and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiller et al., US 20180110979, herein referred to as “Hiller”.
Regarding claim 23, Hiller discloses a method for treating a medical condition of a patient (Figure 16 and Abstract), including: identifying a patient having the medical condition ([0023]); placing a device comprising a flexible bipolar electrode (Figure 6 and [0045]: “Sensing elements 608 may be circular band electrodes configured to both measure electrical activity within the duodenum and/or small intestine, and deliver therapeutic energy.” And [0047]: “Wire elements 834 may be configured to deliver therapeutic energy (e.g., RF, electrical fields) to tissue in a monopolar or bipolar manner.”) in an organ of the patient's gastro-intestinal tract ([0007] and [0009]); ensuring contact with the organ wall ([0036]); delivering energy at once in a single procedure ([0007]: “The controller may be configured to determine one or more treatment locations based on the comparison, and cause the device to deliver therapy to the one or more treatment locations.” Wherein energy is delivered at once in a single procedure where there is one treatment location), without moving the device during the procedure ([0093]: “For example, the analyzer 210 or medical practitioner may determine that a particular sensing element is closest to the gastric pacemaker (or another suitable location to be treated), and without moving the mapping device from its recording position, may deliver therapy using that given electrode.”), via the flexible bipolar electrode to the organ wall ([0036]: “For example, in ablative or other therapies, once optimal electrode and tissue contact is confirmed, ablative or therapeutic energy may be delivered according to the contact force that is indicative of electrode and tissue contact, ensuring optimal and safe energy delivery parameters are selected.”) to partition the organ wall such that propagation of activity through the organ wall is altered ([0099]-[0100]); and removing the device (Figure 16: once the treatment is finished, the device is removed as the procedure is done).
Regarding claim 24, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the medical condition is any of obesity, constipation, gastro-esophageal reflux disease, dumping syndrome, diabetes mellitus, metabolic syndrome, etc ([0099]).
Regarding claim 25, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, wherein placing the device in the patient's organ is done endoscopically ([0028]: “FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of a system and environment for collecting, processing, and displaying electrical data obtained endoscopically from within the stomach or other portion of the GI tract, and for treating obesity conditions, according to an example of the present disclosure.” And Figure 7: endoscopic member 702).
Regarding claim 26, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, wherein ensuring contact with the organ wall includes measurement of any one or more of: impedance ([0036]: “The contact force could be obtained by analyzing the value of the electrode/tissue impedance. The electrode contact force also can be obtained via an array of optical sensors or mechanical sensors. The optimal range of the impedance value may indicate the optimal tissue contact that leads efficient resistive tissue heating and lower the risk of tissue charring and perforation.”), temperature, pressure, imaging, stimulation, and effect on heart rate or its variability.
Regarding claim 27, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23 including: analyzing the organ activity prior to ablation (Figure 16: step 1606: process data is prior to step 1608: apply treatment); and determination of the ablation pattern according to the analysis results ([0088]: “In particular, the comparison may reveal that the measured electrical data has the same or similar pattern and/or shape as an electrogram stored in the database, and may provide a recommendation for treating the patient based on a treatment associated with the stored electrogram” and [0100]).
Regarding claim 28, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, wherein: the organ is a stomach; and no partition may be larger than three quarters of the total inner surface area of the stomach (Figure 4 and [0100] wherein the fundus is smaller than three quarters of the total inner surface area of the stomach).
Regarding claim 29, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, wherein: the organ is a stomach; and no partition may be larger than two thirds of the total inner surface area of the stomach (Figure 4 and [0100] wherein the fundus is smaller than two thirds of the total inner surface area of the stomach).
Regarding claim 32, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, wherein: the organ is a stomach; and the partitioning of the stomach wall is at the region of the fundus ([0099]: “In some examples, treatments at step 1608 may be designed to inhibit stomach function by interfering with peristalsis, and by reducing the extensibility of the fundus.” And [0100]: “Ablation may be performed endoscopically in the fundus of the stomach to target the gastric mucosa, the stomach muscles, the vagus nerve, or any of its subsidiaries and the submucosal and myoenteric plexuses.”).
Regarding claim 33, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, wherein: the organ is a stomach; and the partitioning of the stomach wall is localized to the intrinsic gastric pacemaker ([0093]: “In one example, endoscopic mapping and ablation may occur around the gastric pacemaker for an obesity treatment” and [0097]).
Regarding claim 34, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, wherein: the organ is a stomach; and the partitioning of the stomach wall is localized to a gastric pacemaker in the antrum ([0093]: “In one example, endoscopic mapping and ablation may occur around the gastric pacemaker for an obesity treatment” and [0097]).
Regarding claim 35, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, wherein: the condition is obesity ([0002]); the organ is a stomach; the partitioning is shaped as a ring or band (Figures 9-10: the arrangement of wire elements 834 and wires 934 would create a ring-shaped partition) around the mid corpus of the stomach ([0101] wherein the fundus is around the mid corpus of the stomach); and the partitioning is further configured to create contraction of the stomach wall ([0099]: “The damage caused from ablation may result in the formation of fibrotic tissue, which may alter the extensibility of the stomach wall, and thus its ability to expand and contract.”) and impede gastric emptying ([0101]).
Regarding claim 36, Hiller of claim 23, wherein: the condition is obesity; the organ is a stomach ([0002]) and wherein the partitioning is located at the fundus of the stomach; and the partitioning is further configured to create contraction of the fundus ([0099]: “The damage caused from ablation may result in the formation of fibrotic tissue, which may alter the extensibility of the stomach wall, and thus its ability to expand and contract.”) and limit the total volume of gastric filling ([0101]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiller in view of Starkebaum et al., US 20040215180, herein referred to as “Starkebaum”.
Regarding claim 30, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, but does not explicitly disclose a method wherein the organ is a stomach and wherein the partitioning of the stomach wall is at the region of the antrum.
However, Starkebaum teaches a method wherein: the organ is a stomach; and the partitioning of the stomach wall is at the region of the antrum ([0042]: “ablation system 18 may be configured and used to ablate sub-mucosal tissue, e.g., in the corpus, fundus, or antrum”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Hiller so that the partitioning of the stomach wall is at the region of the antrum as taught by Starkebaum to alter the myoelectric activity of the stomach (Starkebaum [0042]).
Regarding claim 31, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, but does not explicitly disclose a method wherein the organ is a stomach and wherein the partitioning of the stomach wall is at the region of the corpus.
However, Starkebaum teaches a method wherein: the organ is a stomach; and the partitioning of the stomach wall is at the region of the corpus ([0042]: “ablation system 18 may be configured and used to ablate sub-mucosal tissue, e.g., in the corpus, fundus, or antrum”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Hiller so that the partitioning of the stomach wall is at the region of the corpus as taught by Starkebaum to alter the myoelectric activity of the stomach (Starkebaum [0042]).
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiller in view of Gross et al. US 20020062060, herein referred to as “Gross”.
Regarding claim 37, Hiller discloses the method of claim 23, but does not explicitly disclose a method wherein: the condition is constipation; the organ is a cecum and/or an ascending colon; and the partitioning is further configured to create contraction and/or decreased compliance of the cecum and/or ascending colon to prevent stasis of stool.
However, Gross teaches a method wherein: the condition is constipation ([0024]: “principles of the present invention may be applied to treating constipation”); the organ is a cecum and/or an ascending colon ([0024]: typically by stimulating some muscles to contract (i.e., muscles of the colon) “”); and the partitioning is further configured to create contraction and/or decreased compliance of the cecum and/or ascending colon to prevent stasis of stool ([0024]: “Alternatively or additionally, principles of the present invention may be applied to treating constipation or pathological retention of urine, typically by stimulating some muscles to contract (i.e., muscles of the colon), while stimulating some parasympathetic nerves to induce relaxation of other muscles (e.g., the muscles of the anus).”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Hiller so that the condition treated is constipation and the partitioning is configured to create contraction of the colon as taught by Gross to treat fecal incontinence, particularly following a spinal cord injury (Gross [0024]).
Conclusion
/N.W.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794