DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on pages 6-7 that AAPA, in figure 4, discloses a hollow terminal structure while the terminal of the invention has a solid structure that is different. This argument is not persuasive because a hollow structure of AAPA is also a solid structure since the portion of the terminal that conducts current is made of solid material and has a solidly cylindrical shape.
On page 7, the applicant argues that the prior art does not teach “…the exterior of current introduction terminal 12 is immersed in cooling water W in internal space 19A of connection flange 19 and internal space 17A of electromagnet housing 17…”. This argument is not persuasive because the claim language only includes general language stating that an outside of the terminal is immersed in the cooing water. In the combined device taught by the prior art, the cooling water passes through the internal space of the casing where the terminal is also located. Thus, the prior art teaches that the terminal is immersed in the cooling water.
On pages 7-8, the applicant argues that Mori does not teach a conductive member and equates core 10 to a conductive member. However, it is clearly shown in Mori, that conductive members 11 and 12 are also immersed in coolant, thus meeting the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA (Figures 4-5) in view of Mori (US 4904972) and Walton (US 2537249).
In re claim 1, AAPA, in figures 4-5, discloses a current introduction terminal structure in which electric current flows from a current introduction terminal (101) to a conductive member (103) formed by bundling a plurality of wires, the current introduction terminal structure comprising: a casing (110) having a first internal space (122) configured to store the conductive member, and to accommodate an electromagnet (as discussed in paragraph 2) electrically connected to the conductive member; a cooling-water supply pipe (117) configured to supply the cooling water; a connecting member (107-108) having a second internal space seamlessly (no seams are present) connected to the first internal space of the casing and being configured to dispose the current introduction terminal therein, wherein a tip portion of the current introduction terminal is electrically connected to the conductive member (as seen in figure 4) while the current introduction terminal has a solidly cylindrical shape such that an outside thereof is immersed in the cooling water supplied from the cooling-water supply pipe; and a cooling-water drain pipe (118-120), which is connected to the first internal space of the casing seamlessly connected with the second internal space of the connecting member immersed with the cooling water supplied from the cooling-water supply pipe through the connecting member, configured to drain the cooling water from the first internal space of the casing, wherein the cooling-water supply pipe, the connecting member and the cooling-water drain pipe are firmly connected together to place the first internal space of the casing and the second internal space of the cooling member in a water-sealed manner (inherent function of the shown structure; both internal spaces are water sealed), wherein the current introduction terminal is located in a circulating path of the cooling water consisting of the cooling-water supply pipe, the first internal space of the casing, the second internal space of the connecting member, and the cooling-water drain pipe (as seen in figure 4), the current introduction terminal is disposed at a communication port that communicates the first internal space of the casing and the second internal space of the connecting member such that the cooling water from the cooling-water supply pipe flows into the first internal space of the casing from the communication port through the second internal space of the connecting member and the cooling water is drained to an outside from the cooling-water drain pipe (as shown in figure 4) the casing has an opening closed by a housing lid (121) and the cooling-water drain pipe is connected to the housing lid via a cooling-water joint (as seen in figure 4). Figures 4-5 do not teach the O-ring, or the conductive member being immersed in cooling water. Walton teaches that an O-ring is known in the art to be used to provide a seal between two structures. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an O-ring as taught by Walton in the device shown in figures 4-5 in order to provide an improved seal between the casing body and the housing lid, or between any other two structures where an O-ring can be fitted. Mori teaches that immersing a conductive member (11-12) in a liquid coolant (15) is known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have immersed the conductive member of Figures 4-5 in liquid (water is already present in figures 4-5) as taught by Mori to provide improved cooling.
In re claim 3, Figures 4-5 disclose that a current introduction member (112) attached to a base-end connecting portion (portion to which the current introduction member is attached) of the current introduction terminal, which is configured to supply electric current from a power supply to the current introduction terminal, thus directly transmitting the electric current to the conductive member. Member 112 is not disclosed to be adjustable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the current introduction member of the prior art adjustable, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954). Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 25, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 4, Figures 4-5 discloses that a current introduction member (112) attached to a base-end connecting portion (portion to which the current introduction member is attached) of the current introduction terminal, which is configured to supply electric current from a power supply to the current introduction terminal, thus directly transmitting the electric current to the conductive member. Member 112 is not disclosed to be detachable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made member 112 detachable, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 19 and 25 applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 5, Figures 4-5 disclose that the cooling water is pure water that does not conduct electricity (this is inherent functionality since conductive water would prevent the device from functioning correctly).
In re claim 6, Figures 4-5 disclose that the current introduction terminal structure is configured to electrically connect the electromagnet to a power source by being disposed between the electromagnet and the power source (as discussed in paragraph 4).
In re claim 10, AAPA, in figures 4-5, discloses that the current introduction terminal is solidly composed of a conductive material (the disclosed terminal inherently has to be solid and conductive in order to perform its intended function).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alexander Talpalatski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837