DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated April 22, 2026, claims 1, 4-9, 12-17, 19-20, 23-24 and 27 are pending in the present action. No amendments were made to the claims.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Zhang2 fails to teach “wherein, in response to determining that the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value, the controller is configured to . . . operate the first subcore in a normal mode of operation when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold”. Rather, the applicant argues that Zhang2 teaches disabling the charging/discharging switch 232/234 rather than operating in the normal mode (Zhang2; ¶18) (see pages 11-12 of the applicant remarks).
However, when the system is not in the abnormal condition, i.e. below the maximum threshold or above the minimum voltage threshold, then the charging/discharging operates normally. This is further supported by FIG. 4 and ¶26 of Zhang2 where when the cell voltage reaches the reference voltage, the bypass switches are turned off, thus returning to the “normal state”.
The applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to conclude that any control in Zhang is done based on timing as suggested by the Examiner except through the use of improper hindsight bias using the claims of the present application as a blueprint (see pages 13-14 of the applicant remarks).
However, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the present case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to balance the battery cells of Radovich, as taught by Zhang, in order to prevent damage and a shortened lifetime caused by unbalanced cells. This is well within the knowledge of a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Thus, the rejection to the claims is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9, 15, 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radovich et al. US20180175458 in view of Zhang US20110316483A1 and Zhang US20130033231A1 hereinafter “Zhang2”.
Regarding claim 1, Radovich discloses a portable power supply (FIG. 5; ¶3) comprising:
a first subcore (300a) including a first plurality of battery cells (400a);
a second subcore (300b) including a second plurality battery cells (400b) and electrically connected in series with the first subcore (300a), the second subcore (300b) including a disconnect switch (405a) to disconnect the second subcore (300b) from the first subcore (300a); and
a controller (315/310) including an electronic processor configured to:
receive a first voltage value indicative of a total voltage of the first plurality of battery cells from the first subcore (¶51 - slave controllers monitor the individual subcore voltage and communicate the voltage to the master controller 315) ,
receive a second voltage value indicative of a total voltage of the second plurality of battery cells from the second subcore (¶51 - slave controllers monitor the individual subcore voltage and communicate the voltage to the master controller 315),
Radovich does not explicitly disclose determining a difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value; compare the difference to a balance threshold; and perform a balancing operation when the difference is greater than or equal to the balance threshold; in response to determining that the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value, operate the first subcore in an active mode of operation.
Zhang discloses determining a difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value (¶45 – voltage of the battery 301 is greater than battery 302),
Zhang discloses comparing the difference to a battery cell balance threshold (Vthc) (¶45 – example 2.1V -2.0V is greater than the threshold; the threshold being different from Vc1 and Vc2),
Zhang discloses perform a balancing operation when the difference is greater than or equal to the balance threshold (¶45 – there is unbalance between the battery cells and a balance operation is completed until balance is reached),
Zhang discloses to operate the first subcore (301) in an active mode of operation (¶45 – battery cell 301, having a higher voltage than cell 302, is discharged, thus operated; further in ¶68 – it is discussed that in an active mode, the energy of the battery with the higher voltage can be transferred to the battery with the lower voltage; thus, because discharge is still occurring, the actions in ¶45 apply to an active mode),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the balancing method as applied to the battery cells of Zhang to the modules of Radovich in order to prevent damage and a shortened lifetime of the battery modules of Radovich (Zhang; ¶5).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose to determine whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold; and operate the first subcore in a normal mode of operation when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold, wherein the termination threshold is different from the first voltage value, the second voltage value, and the balance threshold.
Zhang2 discloses determine whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold (¶18 – if any cell voltage is lower than a minimum voltage threshold in the discharging mode, the battery management circuit 220 can terminate the discharging of the cell);
operate the first subcore in a normal mode of operation when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold (¶18 – the discharge switch is disabled until charging occurs to protect the battery cells, thus operating normally) .
wherein the termination threshold (¶18 - minimum voltage threshold) is different from the first voltage value, the second voltage value, (voltage values of each of the cells) and the balance threshold (¶3 – an unbalanced battery is detected if the cell voltage difference between cells is greater than a predetermined threshold).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the termination of as applied to the battery cells of Zhang2 to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage to the battery system by overdischarging the battery (Zhang2; ¶18).
Regarding claim 7, Radovich discloses that wherein the first subcore (300a) includes a first monitoring circuit (310) that is configured to sense the first voltage value indicative of the voltage of the first plurality of battery cells (¶51 – slave controller monitors characteristics of the subcore) and transmit the first voltage value to the controller (¶51 – slave controller communicates with the master controller).
Radovich discloses that the second subcore (300b) includes a second circuit (310) that is configured to sense the second voltage value indicative of the voltage of the second plurality of battery cells (¶51 – slave controller monitors characteristics of the subcore) and transmit the second voltage value to the controller (¶51 – slave controller communicates with the master controller).
Radovich discloses that the controller (315) is not located within the first subcore or the second subcore (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Radovich discloses a method of balancing voltages in a portable power supply (FIG. 5; ¶3), the portable power supply includes a first subcore (300a) including a first plurality of battery cells (400a), a second subcore (300b) including a second plurality of battery cells (400b) and electrically connected in series with the first subcore (FIG. 5), and a controller (315/310) including an electronic processor (410), the method comprising:
receiving, using the controller (315), a first voltage value indicative of a total voltage of the first plurality of battery cells from the first subcore (¶51 - slave controllers monitor the individual subcore voltage and communicate the voltage to the master controller 315),
receiving, using the controller, a second voltage value indicative of a total voltage of the second plurality of battery cells from the second subcore (¶51 - slave controllers monitor the individual subcore voltage and communicate the voltage to the master controller 315),
Radovich does not explicitly disclose determining, using the controller, a difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value; comparing, using the controller, the difference to a balance threshold that is different from the first voltage value and the second voltage value, and performing a balancing operation when the difference is greater than or equal to the balance threshold, wherein the balancing operation includes balancing a total voltage of the first subcore and the second subcore by: determining whether the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value, when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value; operating the first subcore in an active operation mode to reduce the first voltage value; determining whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold; wherein the termination threshold is different from the first voltage value, the second voltage value, and the balance threshold.
Zhang discloses determining, using the controller (320), a difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value (¶45 – voltage difference between the battery cells);
Zhang discloses comparing, using the controller (330), the difference to a balance threshold (Vthc) that is different from the first voltage value and the second voltage value (¶45 – example 2.1V -2.0V is greater than the threshold; the threshold being different from Vc1 and Vc2), and
Zhang discloses performing a balancing operation when the difference is greater than or equal to the balance threshold (¶45 – there is unbalance between the battery cells and a balance operation is completed until balance is reached),
wherein the balancing operation includes balancing a voltage of the first subcore and the second subcore by:
Zhang discloses determining whether the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value (¶45 – voltage of the battery 301 is greater than battery 302),
Zhang discloses when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value (¶45 – voltage of the battery 301 is greater than battery 302);
Zhang discloses operating the first subcore in an active operation mode to reduce the first voltage value (¶45 – battery cell 301, having a higher voltage than cell 302, is discharged, thus operated; further in ¶68 – it is discussed that in an active mode, the energy of the battery with the higher voltage can be transferred to the battery with the lower voltage; thus, because discharge is still occurring, the actions in ¶45 apply to an active mode),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the balancing method as applied to the battery cells of Zhang to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage and a shortened lifetime of the battery modules of Radovich (Zhang; ¶5).
Zhang does not explicitly teach determining whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold; wherein the termination threshold is different from the first voltage value, the second voltage value, and the balance threshold; operating the first subcore in a normal operating mode when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold.
Zhang2 discloses determining whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold (¶18 – if any cell voltage is lower than a minimum voltage threshold in the discharging mode, the battery management circuit 220 can terminate the discharging of the cell);
wherein the termination threshold (¶18 - minimum voltage threshold) is different from the first voltage value, the second voltage value (voltage values of each of the cells), and the balance threshold (¶3 – an unbalanced battery is detected if the cell voltage difference between cells is greater than a predetermined threshold);
operating the first subcore in a normal operating mode when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold (¶18 – the discharge switch is disabled until charging occurs to protect the battery cells, thus operating normally) .
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the termination of as applied to the battery cells of Zhang2 to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage to the battery system by overdischarging the battery (Zhang2; ¶18).
Regarding claim 15, Radovich discloses sensing, using a first monitoring circuit (310) included in the first subcore (300a), the first voltage value indicative of the voltage of the first plurality of battery cells (¶51 – slave controller monitors characteristics of the subcore),
Radovich discloses transmitting, by the first monitoring circuit, the first voltage value to the controller (¶51 – slave controller communicates with the master controller).
sensing, using a second monitoring circuit (310) included in the second subcore (300b), the second voltage value indicative of the voltage of the second plurality of battery cells (¶51 – slave controller monitors characteristics of the subcore),
transmitting, by the second monitoring circuit, the second voltage value to the controller (¶51 – slave controller communicates with the master controller), and wherein the controller (315) is not located within the first subcore or the second subcore (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 19, Radovich does not explicitly teach comparing, using the controller, the second voltage value to a charge threshold; determining, using the controller, whether the second voltage value is greater than or equal to the charge threshold; and terminating charging of the first plurality of battery cells when the second voltage value is greater than or equal to the charge threshold.
Zhang discloses comparing, using the controller, the second voltage value to a charge threshold (¶80-81 – controller determines whether there is an overvoltage condition, the overvoltage point being a charge threshold)
Zhang discloses determining, using the controller, whether the second voltage value is greater than or equal to the charge threshold (¶80-81 – if there is an overvoltage then the voltage value is over the charge threshold),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the balancing method as applied to the battery cells of Zhang to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage and a shortened lifetime of the battery modules of Radovich (Zhang; ¶5).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose terminating charging of the first plurality of battery cells when the second voltage value is greater than or equal to the charge threshold.
Zhang2 discloses terminating charging of the first plurality of battery cells when the second voltage value is greater than or equal to the charge threshold (¶18 – terminate charging of the battery cells when the cell voltage is greater than a maximum voltage threshold in the charging mode).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the termination of as applied to the battery cells of Zhang2 to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage to the battery system by overdischarging the battery (Zhang2; ¶18).
Regarding claim 23, Radovich does not explicitly teach balancing the total voltage of the first subcore and the second subcore further comprising; determining whether the second voltage value is greater than the first voltage value, when the second voltage value is greater than the first voltage value; operating the second subcore in an active operation mode to reduce the second voltage, determining whether the second voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold, and operating the second subcore in a normal operating mode in response to determining that the second voltage value has reached the termination threshold.
Zhang discloses balancing the voltage of the first and the second battery (¶45).
Zhang discloses determining whether the second voltage value is greater than the first voltage value (¶45 – voltage of the battery 301 is greater than battery 302 – although the voltage of the first battery is greater, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that either battery may have the higher voltage thus the method described would apply to any battery having the greater voltage),
Zhang discloses operating the second battery in an active operation mode to reduce the second voltage (¶45 – battery cell 301, having a higher voltage than cell 302, is discharged, thus operated; further in ¶68 – it is discussed that in an active mode, the energy of the battery with the higher voltage can be transferred to the battery with the lower voltage; thus, because discharge is still occurring, the actions in ¶45 apply to an active mode);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the balancing method as applied to the battery cells of Zhang to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage and a shortened lifetime of the battery modules of Radovich (Zhang; ¶5).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose determining whether the second voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold; operating the second battery in a normal operating mode in response to determining that the second voltage value has reached the termination threshold.
Zhang2 discloses determining whether the second voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold (¶18 – if any cell voltage is lower than a minimum voltage threshold in the discharging mode, the battery management circuit 220 can terminate the discharging of the cell);
operating the second battery in a normal operating mode in response to determining that the second voltage value has reached the termination threshold (¶18 – the discharge switch is disabled until charging occurs to protect the battery cells, thus operating normally) .
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the termination of as applied to the battery cells of Zhang2 to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage to the battery system by overdischarging the battery (Zhang2; ¶18).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radovich et al. US20180175458A1 in view of Zhang US20110316483A1 and Zhang US20130033231A1 hereinafter “Zhang2” and in further view of Corder US20100055549A1.
Regarding claim 4, Radovich does not explicitly teach activating a first magnetic field source included in the first subcore when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value to enabling current flow from the first plurality of 44Attorney Docket No. 066042-6825-US02 battery cells to a load through a first reed switch that is closed when the first magnetic field source is activated; determining whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold; and deactivating the first magnetic field source when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold.
Zhang2 discloses determining whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold (¶18 – if any cell voltage is lower than a minimum voltage threshold in the discharging mode, the battery management circuit 220 can terminate the discharging of the cell) ;
Zhang2 discloses operating the first subcore in a normal operating mode when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold (¶18 – the discharge switch is disabled until charging occurs to protect the battery cells, thus operating normally).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the termination of as applied to the battery cells of Zhang2 to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage to the battery system by overdischarging the battery (Zhang2; ¶18).
Zhang2 does not explicitly disclose a first magnetic field source included in the first subcore when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value to enabling current flow from the first plurality of 44Attorney Docket No. 066042-6825-US02 battery cells to a load through a first reed switch that is closed when the first magnetic field source is activated.
Corder discloses a battery pack (10) having a safety circuit (40). The safety circuit includes a voltage limit (62) and a switch (70, 72). The switch include a magnetically operated, normally open reed switch which closes under the influence of a magnetic field (Corder; ¶18 and 20). Because the switches are magnetically operated, it is inherent that there is a magnetic field source to activate and deactivate the switches.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the magnetically operated reed switch of Corder to Radovich in order to safely connect and disconnect the battery to prevent hazardous environments (Corder; ¶1).
Regarding claim 12, Radovich is silent as to activating a first magnetic field source included in the first subcore when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value to enabling current flow from the first plurality of 44Attorney Docket No. 066042-6825-US02 battery cells to a load through a first reed switch that is closed when the first magnetic field source is activated; determining whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold; and deactivating the first magnetic field source when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold.
Zhang2 discloses determining whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold (¶18 – if any cell voltage is lower than a minimum voltage threshold in the discharging mode, the battery management circuit 220 can terminate the discharging of the cell) ;
Zhang2 discloses operating the first subcore in a normal operating mode when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold (¶18 – the discharge switch is disabled until charging occurs to protect the battery cells, thus operating normally).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the balancing method as applied to the battery cells of Zhang to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage and a shortened lifetime of the battery modules of Radovich (Zhang; ¶5).
Zhang2 does not explicitly disclose a first magnetic field source included in the first subcore when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value to enabling current flow from the first plurality of 44Attorney Docket No. 066042-6825-US02 battery cells to a load through a first reed switch that is closed when the first magnetic field source is activated.
Corder discloses a battery pack (10) having a safety circuit (40). The safety circuit includes a voltage limit (62) and a switch (70, 72). The switch include a magnetically operated, normally open reed switch which closes under the influence of a magnetic field (Corder; ¶18 and 20). Because the switches are magnetically operated, it is inherent that there is a magnetic field source to activate and deactivate the switches.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the magnetically operated reed switch of Corder to Radovich in order to safely connect and disconnect the battery to prevent hazardous environments (Corder; ¶1).
Claims 5 and 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radovich et al. US20180175458A1 in view of Zhang US20110316483A1 and Zhang US20130033231A1 hereinafter “Zhang2”and in further view of Kaneda US6040682A.
Regarding claim 5, Radovich does not explicitly disclose wherein, in response to determining that the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value, the controller is further configured to: energize a first relay coil included in the first subcore when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value to enable current flow from the first plurality of battery cells to a load through a first relay that is closed when the first relay coil is energized, determine whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold, and de-energize the first relay coil when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold.
Zhang2 discloses determining that the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value (¶18 – it is determined if any of the cells has reaches a threshold - if the second value reaches the threshold first, then the first voltage value is greater than the second)
Zhang2 discloses determining whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold (¶18 – the discharge switch is disabled until charging occurs to protect the battery cells, thus operating normally).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the termination of as applied to the battery cells of Zhang2 to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage to the battery system by overdischarging the battery (Zhang2; ¶18).
Zhang2 does not explicitly teach energize a first relay coil included in the first subcore when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value to enable current flow from the first plurality of battery cells to a load through a first relay that is closed when the first relay coil is energized, and de-energize the first relay coil when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold.
Kaneda discloses a circuit for disconnecting a battery when the battery output voltage drops below a certain threshold, or a termination threshold. The circuit includes a relay having a coil that connects the battery to a load when the coil is energized. Thus, the relay coil is de-energized when the relay coil reaches the specified battery cell voltage (Kaneda; abstract).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching system of Kaneda to Radovich in order to provide a switch for connecting and disconnecting the battery to prevent battery damage (Kaneda; column 1, lines 43-45).
Regarding claim 13, Radovich does not explicitly disclose energizing, using the controller, a first relay coil included in the first subcore, closing, using the first relay coil, a first relay included in the first subcore to enable current to flow from the plurality of battery cells to a first load included in the first subcore, determining, using the controller, whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold, and de-energizing, using the controller, the first relay coil when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold.
Zhang2 discloses determining whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold (¶18 – if any cell voltage is lower than a minimum voltage threshold in the discharging mode, the battery management circuit 220 can terminate the discharging of the cell) ;
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the termination of as applied to the battery cells of Zhang2 to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage to the battery system by overdischarging the battery (Zhang2; ¶18).
Zhang2 does not explicitly teach energizing, using the controller, a first relay coil included in the first subcore, closing, using the first relay coil, a first relay included in the first subcore to enable current to flow from the plurality of battery cells to a first load included in the first subcore, and de-energizing, using the controller, the first relay coil when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold
Kaneda discloses a circuit for disconnecting a battery when the battery output voltage drops below a certain threshold, or a termination threshold. The circuit includes a relay having a coil that connects the battery to a load when the coil is energized. Thus, the relay coil is de-energized when the relay coil reaches the specified battery cell voltage (Kaneda; abstract).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the switching system of Kaneda to Radovich in order to provide a switch for connecting and disconnecting the battery to prevent battery damage (Kaneda; column 1, lines 43-45).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radovich et al. US20180175458A1 in view of Zhang US20110316483A1 and Zhang US20130033231A1 hereinafter “Zhang2” and in further view of Ha US20200185928A1.
Regarding claim 6 and claim 14, although Radovich discloses monitoring a subcore temperature (¶51), Radovich does not explicitly teach increase a temperature of a heating element included in the first subcore when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value to increase current flow from the first plurality of battery cells through a leakage device included in the first subcore; determine whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold; and decrease the temperature of the heating element when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold.
Zhang2 discloses determining whether the first voltage value has decreased to a termination threshold (¶18 – if any cell voltage is lower than a minimum voltage threshold in the discharging mode, the battery management circuit 220 can terminate the discharging of the cell) ;
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the termination of as applied to the battery cells of Zhang2 to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage to the battery system by overdischarging the battery (Zhang2; ¶18).
Zhang does not explicitly teach increase a temperature of a heating element included in the first subcore when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value to increase current flow from the first plurality of battery cells through a leakage device included in the first subcore; and decrease the temperature of the heating element when the first voltage value has reached the termination threshold.
Ha discloses a temperature-rising device (15), or a heating element, of a battery (13) (Ha; FIG. 1; ¶8). The temperature-rising device (15) generates heat to increase a temperature of the battery to a target temperature. It is a well-known concept that as the temperature increases, current flow likewise increases. The voltage and current is adjusted by turning the temperature-increasing device (15) on and off (Ha; ¶29).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the temperature control of Ha to Radovich in order to improve battery charging efficiency in a low temperature environment (Ha; ¶2).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Radovich et al. US20180175458A1 in view of Zhang US20110316483A1 and Zhang US20130033231A1 hereinafter “Zhang2” and in further view of White et al. US20090096419A1.
Regarding claim 8 and claim 16, Radovich does not explicitly disclose the first subcore includes a first load used to perform the balancing operation; and wherein the second subcore includes a second load used to perform the balancing operation.
White discloses that a first cell (404-1) includes a first load (load resistor 434-1) used to perform the first balancing operation that dissipates stored energy from the cells (404); and wherein the second cell (404-2) includes a second load (load resistor (434-2) used to perform the second balancing operation that dissipates the stored energy from the cells (White; FIG. 8A-8B; ¶57-58).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to provide a load resistor to dissipate stored energy from the cells and prevent overcharging and overdischarging (White; ¶58).
Claims 17, 20 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radovich et al. US20180175458 in view of Zhang US20110316483A1.
Regarding claim 17, Radovich discloses a method of charging one or more subcores (300a-c) in a portable power supply (FIG. 5; ¶3), the portable power supply (FIG. 5; ¶3) includes a first subcore (300a) including a first plurality of battery cells (400a), a second subcore (300b) including a second plurality of battery cells (400b) and electrically connected in series with the first subcore (FIG. 5), and a controller (315/310) including an electronic processor (410), the method comprising:
Radovich discloses a charging the first plurality of battery cells and the second plurality of battery cells (¶50 – master controller 315 provides power to the battery pack),
receiving, using the controller (315), a first voltage value indicative of a voltage of the first plurality of battery cells from the first subcore (¶51 - slave controllers monitor the individual subcore voltage and communicate the voltage to the master controller 315),
receiving, using the controller, a second voltage value indicative of a voltage of the second plurality of battery cells from the second subcore (¶51 - slave controllers monitor the individual subcore voltage and communicate the voltage to the master controller 315).
Radovich does not explicitly teach determining, using the controller, a difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value, comparing the difference to a balance threshold, and performing a charging balancing operation when the difference is greater than or equal to the balance threshold, and wherein the controller performs the charging balancing operation when the first subcore is disconnected from the second subcore, wherein, during the charging balancing operation, the controller temporarily pauses the charging of one of the first plurality of battery cells or the second plurality of battery cells for a first amount of time that is proportional to the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value when one of the first voltage value or the second voltage value is a high voltage value.
Zhang discloses determining, using the controller (330), a difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value (¶45 – voltage difference between the battery cells);
Zhang discloses comparing the difference to a balance threshold (Vthc) (¶45 – example 2.1V -2.0V is greater than the threshold; the threshold being different from Vc1 and Vc2), and
Zhang discloses performing a charging balancing operation when the difference is greater than or equal to the balance threshold (¶45 – there is unbalance between the battery cells and a balance operation is completed until balance is reached), and
Zhang discloses wherein the controller performs the charging balancing operation when the first subcore is disconnected from the second subcore (¶45 – when balancing is achieved, the bypassing of battery cell 301 is stopped – thus when balancing it follows that the battery 301 is disconnected from the battery 302)
Zhang discloses wherein, during the charging balancing operation, the controller temporarily pauses the charging of one of the first plurality of battery cells or the second plurality of battery cells for a first amount of time that is proportional to the difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value when one of the first voltage value or the second voltage value is a high voltage value (¶45 – the voltages of the batteries are adjusted until a balance between the cells is reached, thus charging of the highest voltage battery is not charged, but is rather discharged until balance is reached. Thus, the charging is paused for a period of time that the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage are above a threshold Vthc – “high” is a relative term and thus any value that is higher than the other is considered “high”. Because battery 301 is higher than battery 302, it follows that battery 301 is a “high voltage value”; ¶50 – the process of turning the switch on and off is repeated until a balance is achieved, thus, the amount of time for balancing the cells is proportional to the amount of change of the voltage is required by the cell with the higher voltage).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the balancing method as applied to the battery cells of Zhang to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage and a shortened lifetime of the battery modules of Radovich (Zhang; ¶5).
Regarding claim 20, Radovich does not explicitly disclose determining, using the controller, whether the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value; charging the second plurality of battery cells for an amount of time when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value; delaying charging of the first plurality of battery cells for the amount of time when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value; and charging the first plurality of battery cells and the second plurality of battery cells after the amount of time has elapsed.
Zhang discloses determining, using the controller, whether the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value (¶45 – voltage of the battery 301 is greater than battery 302),
charging the second plurality of battery cells for an amount of time when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value (¶68 – in an active mode, the energy of the battery with the higher voltage can be transferred to the battery cell with the lower voltage);
delaying charging of the first plurality of battery cells for the amount of time when the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value (¶68 – because the first plurality of battery cells is charging the second, the charging of the first cells is delayed); and
charging the first plurality of battery cells and the second plurality of battery cells after the amount of time has elapsed (¶66 - it is monitored when an over voltage occurs and stopping charging of the batteries when such an event occurs, because the period for balancing the cells takes a certain amount of time, and the charging occurs after the balancing, it follows that a certain amount of time would have elapsed).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the balancing method as applied to the battery cells of Zhang to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage and a shortened.
Regarding claim 27. Radovich does not explicitly teach that performing the charging balancing operation comprises: comparing the first voltage value to a charge threshold, determining whether the first voltage value is greater than or equal to the charge threshold, and terminating charging of the first plurality of battery cells in response to determining that the first voltage value is greater than or equal to the charge threshold.
Zhang discloses performing the charging balancing operation comprises:
comparing the first voltage value to a charge threshold (¶80-81 - over voltage or under voltage),
determining whether the first voltage value is greater than or equal to the charge threshold (¶80-81 – determining an overvoltage condition), and
terminating charging of the first plurality of battery cells in response to determining that the first voltage value is greater than or equal to the charge threshold (¶80-81 – charging is terminated).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the balancing method as applied to the battery cells of Zhang to the total voltage of the subcores of Radovich in order to prevent damage and a shortened lifetime of the battery modules of Radovich (Zhang; ¶5).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radovich et al. US20180175458 in view of Zhang US20110316483A1 and Zhang US20130033231A1 hereinafter “Zhang2” and further in view of Pennisi et al. US20200391609A1.
Regarding claim 24, because Radovich is silent as to performing at least one of open wire check, continuous voltage sensing, and built-in self tests it thus teaches that in a normal operating mode, the first monitoring circuit does not perform at least one of open wire check, continuous voltage sensing, and built-in self tests.
However, Radovich is also silent as to in the active operation mode the first monitoring circuit draws more current from the first subcore than the second monitoring circuit draws from the second subcore by performing at least one of an open wire check, continuous voltage sensing, and built-in self tests.
Pennisi discloses that in the active operation mode the first monitoring circuit draws more current from the first subcore than the second monitoring circuit draws from the second subcore by performing built-in self tests (¶157 – the same set of bins used for cell balancing is used for built-in self tests (BIST). When performing BIST on a cell the power drawn will be from the cell that the BIST measurement is performed, thus if the measurement is performed on the first cell, more current is drawn from that cell).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply BIST of Pennisi to Radovich in order to perform safety diagnostics to protect the device (Pennisi; ¶8).
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Estes et al. US20190312443A1 discloses operating in a normal mode when a threshold level is reached (FIG. 4).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859