DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-19 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection over Shaddock US No. 2005/0267570 in view of Wolff et al. US 5545208, as further discussed below. Shaddock discloses a filling body 120 comprising an open-cell shape memory polymer configured for a de-mated placement surrounding an inner stent or prosthesis, the filling body configured to expand to fill and occupy large aneurysm sac diameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8, 10, 11-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaddock US No. 2005/0267570 in view of Wolff et al. US 5545208.
Regarding claims 1, 11-14, Shaddock discloses catheter system for delivery of a filling body to an aneurysmal sac in a body lumen (paragraph 0020, treating aneurysms, figure 11, 12), which the catheter system comprises: a substantially tubular sheath or catheter defining an interior volume (for example, catheter as shown in similar embodiment of figure 7, deployment from a sheath or catheter sleeve 128, phantom view, paragraph 0022, 0025, 0037); a unitary filling body 120 arranged in a compressed state in the interior volume between the tubular sheath near the distal end (compressed and then ejected from catheter sleeve, paragraph 0037); wherein the filling body is expandable when released from the tubular sheath (paragraph 0025, once ejected from catheter sleeve), and is configured to include a substantially cylindrical lumen upon expansion (figures 11, 12, lumen containing stent struts 105 of stent 102), the cylindrical lumen sized and configured to accommodate an endovascular prosthesis passing therethrough (stent 102, figure 11); wherein a distal portion of the filling body and a distal portion of the lumen of the filling body is configured to expand responsive to being released from the tubular sheath (for example, paragraph 0025, 0048, 0057, implant 120 expands to its memory shape after being temporarily compacted within the catheter); wherein the filling body comprises a porous material that extends to and forms at least a portion of an outer surface of the filling body (figure 14, paragraph 0003, 0068, open-cell polymeric memory shape body 120 has a de-mated configuration from the struts 105), wherein the porous material has an open cell structure and a shape memory (paragraph 0068, shape memory polymer (SMP), open-cell polymer structure 120 adapted to fill and occlude an aneurysm); and wherein the lumen of the filling body is defined by an inner surface of the filling body (paragraph 0068, the filling body may be formed around 360 degrees of the stent 102, resulting in an inner lumen therebetween defined by the inner surface of the filling body adjacent the stent structure), the inner surface comprising the porous material (inner surface of the structure 120 surrounding stent); and wherein, in an expanded state of the filling body:(a) the porous material extends continuously from the entire inner surface of the filling body that defines the lumen to the entire outer surface of the filling body (figure 11, defining the entire width of the porous structure 120, the inner surface defines the lumen, which also may receive the stent, the outer surface is the outer surface of the material filling the aneurysm), the porous material being the only material between the inner surface and the outer surface (material of the porous or open-cell SMP structure 120, for example, figure 14 shows material separate from the stent struts 105);(b) a diameter of a circumscribing circle of the outer surface of the filling body, in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the lumen (expandable filling body is configured to fill aneurysms being greater than about 10mm (paragraph 0025, 0068, extending 360 degrees around the stent structure to expand, fill and occlude large aneurysms), the filling body consists of the porous material (material of filling body 120); and the porous material between the lumen and the outer surface is present in an amount sufficient for thrombus and organization to occur within the porous material in order to further fill the aneurysm sac (paragraph 0021, induce rapid formation of thrombus without pressure that would risk distension).
Shaddock discloses the filling body being expandable to fill an aneurysm being greater than 10mm, requiring a diameter greater larger than at least 10mm, but fails to explicitly disclose a diameter of a circumscribing circle of the outer surface of the filling body, in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the lumen, is between 2 cm and 10 cm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a diameter of a circumscribing circle of the outer surface of the filling body, in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the lumen, between 2 cm and 10 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art for filling and occluding large size aneurysms, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Shaddock fails to disclose a substantially tubular shaft having a proximal end, a distal end, and a guidewire lumen extending between the proximal and distal ends, coaxially positioned over the tubular shaft and slidable relative to the tubular shaft, a unitary filling body arranged in a compressed state in the interior volume between the tubular sheath and the tubular shaft near the distal end of the tubular shaft, wherein a distal portion of the filling body and a distal portion of the lumen of the filling body is configured to expand responsive to translational sliding of the tubular sheath to fill a portion of the aneurysmal sac corresponding to the distal portion of the filling body that is released from the tubular sheath, wherein a distal portion of the filling body and a distal portion of the lumen of the filling body is configured to substantially expand while the tubular sheath partially covers the tubular shaft, wherein the filling body and the lumen of the filling body is configured to maintain a state where the distal portion of the filling body is substantially expanded and a proximal portion is compressed.
Wolff et al. teaches deploying a similar stent device (figure 18-19c) having a substantially tubular shaft (distal end of catheter 50) with a guidewire lumen (for guidewire 66) extending between a proximal and distal end (figures 19a-19f) and an expandable filling body or stent 58 being covered by a sheath 60 (column 10, lines 62-66), the filling body 58 self-expands in response to translational sliding of the sheath to fill a portion of a blood vessel corresponding to the distal portion that is released from the tubular sheath (column 11, lines 3-13; sheath is retractable, or translationally slidable, to release the stent which will radially expand as sheath is withdrawn, body 58 expands partially within the vessel or configured to be expanded at least partially within the aneurysmal sac in an area between the tubular shaft and a lumen of an aneurysm, if delivered over the aneurysmal sac, corresponding to the retraction of the sheath, figures 19b-19d), the filling body expands proportionally to a distance the tubular sheath slides (as sheath is retracted, the distal portion of stent expands, figure 19b-19c), until the sheath is fully retracted, figure 19d), the distal portion of the filling body and the distal portion of the lumen of the filling body is configured to substantially expanding while the tubular sheath partially covers the tubular shaft (figure 19c), the filling body and the lumen of the filling body is configured to maintain a state where the distal portion is substantially expanded and a proximal portion is compressed (figure 19c) during deployment by controlling the retraction of sheath 60 (sheath is drawn back to allow prosthesis to be expanded and controlled based on the position of the sheath, column 11, lines 10-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shaddock with translational sliding or retraction of a sheath for proportionally expanding the filling body, as known in the art and taught by Wolff et al., to retract a sheath to control exposure of a self-expandable filling body once placed at the desired location within the body.
Regarding claim 2, Shaddock further discloses: an outer surface of the filling body is non-cylindrical, and is one of bulbous shaped, ellipsoidal or spheroid (for example, bulbous shape figure 11, to fill aneurysm).
Regarding claim 3, Shaddock further discloses, wherein a stent is arranged in the lumen of the filling body (figure 11, stent 102 with struts 105 within lumen of 120).
Regarding claim 8, Shaddock discloses wherein the filling body is coated with a hemostatic coating that promotes aneurysm sac remodeling (paragraph 0080, the filling body structure 120 may have a surface modification to enhance thrombus formation, and also carry, or be coated with, pharmacological agents to induce clotting; Examiner notes the induced clotting will provide the hemostatic function with enhanced thrombus formation or sac remodeling).
Regarding claim 10, Shaddock discloses discloses and an outer surface of the filling body 120 having a main dimension perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the lumen of the filling body (see annotated fig. 11 below) the filling body expandable to fill the aneurysm greater than 10 mm in diameter (paragraph 0025), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the main dimension is at least 1.5 times a diameter of the lumen of the filling body.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Shaddock to have a the main dimension is at least 1.5 times a diameter of the lumen of the filling body since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Shaddock would not operate differently with the main dimension is at least 1.5 times a diameter of the lumen of the filling body and the device would function successfully with the claimed range as required to fill the empty space or aneurysm sac greater than 10 mm in diameter.
Regarding claim 16, Shaddock discloses wherein the filling body is configured to fill an aneurysmal sac when the filling body is in the expanded state (figure 11, paragraph 0025).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaddock US No. 2005/0267570 in view of Wolff et al. US 5545208, as discussed above, and further in view of Maitland et al. US 2019/0117830.
Regarding claim 5, Shaddock in combination discloses a filling body comprising a porous filling body (paragraph 0003, an open-cell shape memory polymer in the form of a microfabricated structure or a foam), but fails to explicitly disclose a non-isotropic 3D printed foam.
Maitland et al. discloses porous shape memory polymer foams (paragraph 0114) for treatment of an aneurysm (paragraph 0027) which may be tailored with various densities or pore sizes (paragraph 0118), the foams may have an anisotropic morphology (or non-isotropic morphology, paragraph 0123) to provide the desired mechanical and shape memory characteristics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a porous material comprising an open cell structure and a shape memory for filling an aneurysm, the foam having an anisotropic, or non-isotropic, morphology, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended to provide the desired mechanical and shape memory characteristics according to the desired configuration and predictable optimization of a known material and would not have required undue experimentation.
Additionally, the claimed phrase “3D-printed with a structure” is being treated as a product by process limitation. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product-by-process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP 2113. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698,227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, even though the combination with Maitland et al. is silent as to the process used to create a 3D printed foam, it appears that the product being a porous foam as disclosed by Shaddock in combination with Maitland et al. would be the same or similar as that claimed.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaddock US No. 2005/0267570 in view of Wolff et al. US 5545208, as discussed above, and further in view of Evans et al. 2006/0212112.
Regarding claim 9, Shaddock in combination discloses the filling body as claimed, but fails to disclose the lumen of the filling body being flared on at least one end to facilitate cannulation.
Evans teaches the lumen of the filling body is flared on at least one (proximal end 50, Fig. 5D), to facilitate cannulation (lower or proximal end 50 of the tubular lumen will be flared to a larger diameter so that it can accommodate the openings into both of the iliac arteries, paragraph 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filling body of Shaddock in combination to have at least one flared end as taught by Evans for the purpose of accommodating the openings into bifurcations of vessels as desired.
Claims 15 and 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaddock US No. 2005/0267570 in view of Wolff et al. US 5545208, as discussed above, and further in view Leynov et al. US 2007/0233224.
Regarding claims 15 and 22, Shaddock in combination discloses the catheter system essentially as claimed as discussed above, wherein the filling body is configured to be arranged so that there is minimal space in a lateral direction to provide stability to a stent graft fitted within the lumen of the filling body (figure 11, fills space within aneurysm to fully occupy, stent or stent graft configured to be placed within the lumen), but fails to explicitly disclose the filling body is configured to be deployed in a step-wise procedure wherein the distal portion being deployed first to enable being repositioned, wherein the distal end is in an expanded state and the proximal end is in a compressed state.
Leynov et al. teaches a similar catheter delivery system, comprising a filling body 12 being delivered over an aneurysm 335 (figure 5B), the filing body being partially deployed or partially expanded and then repositionable (paragraph 0023) in order to select a more suitable location or to correct errors in positioning resulting from the partial deployment (paragraph 0046) or to replace with a different size body (paragraph 0046), the partially deployed or expanded body being restricted to movement within the location within the blood vessel lumen (figure 2B, paragraph 0045, may exert force to maintain position within the body lumen 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shaddock so that the filling body is configured to be deployed in a step-wise procedure by repositioning the filling body even after partial expansion, as taught by Leynov et al. to allow for a more suitable location or to correct for errors in positioning or help maintain positioning within the vessel lumen.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaddock US No. 2005/0267570 in view of Wolff et al. US 5545208, as discussed above, and further in view of Roberts et al. US 5603698.
Regarding claims 17-19, Shaddock in combination disclose the catheter system essentially as claimed as discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose the tubular sheath comprising a tapered portion, the tapered portion decreasing in diameter toward the proximal end of the tubular sheath, or the tapered portion being located proximal to the filling body.
Roberts et al. teaches a prosthesis delivery system 2 comprising a retractable sheath 20 having a reduced diameter portion 24 and a distal enlarged portion 22 for covering the stent or prosthesis during entry into the body (column 4, lines 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a tapered retractable sheath, as taught by Roberts et al. to provide a sheath that is larger at a distal end for carrying the prosthesis, while still having a smaller distal profile.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA C LAUER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771