Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendment filed on 09/17/2025.
Claims 1-6, 9-16, 19-20 are pending in the case. Independent claims are 1, 11, and 20. Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are canceled.
Priority
Application 17371469 claims no priorities, so effective filing date is 03/03/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Oh et al. US 20180141450 A1, (hereinafter Oh) in view of Sponheimer et al. US 20190315242 A1, (hereinafter Sponheimer) in view of Reynders et al. US 10791446 B2, (hereinafter Reynders) in view of Kimura et al. US 20220163342 A1, (hereinafter Kimura).
As to independent claim 1, Oh teaches:
A method for aligning a vehicle to be charged relative to a vehicle charging station (See Fig. 1 with [0012] charging station and autonomous vehicle), comprising:
acquiring, by the processing circuitry and via one or more cameras arranged on an exterior of the vehicle, an image of the vehicle charging station (See [0014] – “For example, the vehicle control system can detect charging station 140 using a camera (e.g., an optical camera),”);
detecting, by a processing circuitry and within the image of the vehicle charging station, one or more parameters corresponding to one or more charging units supported by the vehicle charging station respectively (See [0014] – “For example, the vehicle control system can detect charging station 140 using a camera (e.g., an optical camera)”, then see [0015] which recites a parameter i.e. the detected distance parameters within the camera image as recited in [0015] – “In some embodiments, the vehicle control system determines the distance between a charging arm of charging station 140 and vehicle 110 using a camera (e.g., an optical camera)”), each charging unit comprising a different charging mechanism (See [0018] – “As another example, the vehicle control system can determine whether a type of charging station 140 correlates to a type of vehicle 110… In some embodiments, the vehicle control system determines the type of charging station 140 using wireless communication (e.g., NFC) between vehicle 110 and charging station 140, information stored internally in or externally to vehicle 110 (e.g., a database indicating the type of charging stations near vehicle 110), or the like”), wherein the detecting comprises:
detecting one or more parameters (See [0014] and as explained above, a camera is used to detect distance parameters within image of the camera),
detecting coordinates (This limitation is an optional limitation since the claim recites “one or more”, thus the detecting could only comprise of detecting distance parameters, thus making coordinates an optional limitation. However, for purpose of compact prosecution, see [0037] – “the one or more position parameters can include coordinates of the charging arm or a portion thereof”, thus Oh does teach detecting coordinate parameters although they are not obtained from a matrix barcode), and
detecting angulations (This limitation is an optional limitation since the claim recites “one or more”, thus the detecting could only comprise of detecting distance parameters, thus making angulations an optional limitation. However, for purpose of compact prosecution, see [0038] – “one or more orientation parameters for the charging arm of the charging station can be obtained using one or more scanners”, thus Oh does teach detecting angulation parameters although they are not obtained from a matrix barcode).;
determining, by the processing circuitry and using the one or more parameters, locations of the one or more charging units relative to the vehicle, and types of the one or more charging units (See [0015] as explained above and also see [0042] – “On-board computer 510 can be capable of receiving the image data from the camera, outputs from the sensors 507, GPS 508, and/or scanners 509. The on-board computer 510 can be capable of, for example, determining whether a charging station is available to charge the vehicle, obtaining position parameters, and generating commands to control the motion of the charging arm to couple the charging arm to the vehicle to charge the vehicle, as described in this disclosure.”, in other words determine by using the position parameters to find the location of the charging arm.
In regards to claimed “determining…types of the one or more charging units”, see [0018] – “As another example, the vehicle control system can determine whether a type of charging station 140 correlates to a type of vehicle 110… In some embodiments, the vehicle control system determines the type of charging station 140 using wireless communication (e.g., NFC) between vehicle 110 and charging station 140, information stored internally in or externally to vehicle 110 (e.g., a database indicating the type of charging stations near vehicle 110), or the like”);
selecting, by the processing circuitry a compatible one of the one or more charging units (In regards to claimed “based on a selection of a compatible one of the one or more charging units”, see Fig. 2 with [0021] which teaches the graphical user interface allows the user to make a selection of a compatible charging unit); and
determining a target charging position of the vehicle corresponding to the selected compatible charging unit (See [0012] which mentions the vehicle can be an autonomous vehicle and see [0020] – “For example, if the vehicle control system determines that that distance between vehicle 110 and charging station 140 is greater than a threshold distance such that charging station 140 is not accessible to vehicle 110, it can re-position vehicle 110 to be within the threshold distance to charging station 140.”, in other words the vehicle can automatically park on the charging station, in other words determining, by the processing circuitry, a parking position [i.e., claimed target charging position of the vehicle]);
generating, by the processing circuitry and based on the target charging position of the vehicle, a vehicle movement for maneuvering the vehicle between a current position of the vehicle and the target charging position of the vehicle (See [0012] which mentions the vehicle can be an autonomous vehicle and see [0020] – “For example, if the vehicle control system determines that that distance between vehicle 110 and charging station 140 is greater than a threshold distance such that charging station 140 is not accessible to vehicle 110, it can re-position vehicle 110 to be within the threshold distance to charging station 140.”, in other words reposition the vehicle is the claimed generating a vehicle movement).
Oh does not explicitly teach that the generating a vehicle movement involves generating a vehicle trajectory, in other words Oh does not teach: generating, by the processing circuitry and based on the target charging position of the vehicle, a vehicle trajectory for maneuvering the vehicle between a current position of the vehicle and the target charging position of the vehicle.
Sponheimer teaches: generating, by the processing circuitry and based on the target charging position of the vehicle, a vehicle trajectory for maneuvering the vehicle between a current position of the vehicle and the target charging position of the vehicle (See [0043] – “The motor vehicle 30 starts, for example, independently at a time established by the charging method control unit 2 and autonomously drives to the provided destination position of the charging station 4 via a route trajectory determined by an internal-vehicle navigation system”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic parking to a charging station that generates movement to move the vehicle into a parking spot as taught by Oh to include the generating a vehicle trajectory as taught by Sponheimer. Motivation to do so would be for an effective and ubiquitous solution to automatically park a vehicle, for the purpose of “The comfort is enhanced for a motor vehicle having a driver” (See Sponheimer [0018]).
Oh teaches detecting within an image of the vehicle charging station, via image analysis, multiple parameters including position parameters (i.e., coordinates) and orientation parameters (i.e., angulations) to determine the locations of the one or more charging units relative to the vehicle, and determining a type of a charging unit via NFC communication between vehicle and charging station as cited above, but Oh as modified does not teach that within the image of the vehicle charging station, there are graphical matrix barcodes that provide these parameters without the need for image analysis upon an image and also provide the type of charging unit as well. In other words, Oh as modified does not teach:
detecting, by a processing circuitry and within an image of the vehicle charging station, one or more graphical matrix barcodes corresponding to one or more charging units…wherein the detecting comprises detecting one or more graphical matrix barcodes which are disposed on the vehicle charging station, coordinates of the one or more graphical matrix barcodes, and angulations of the one or more graphical matrix barcodes;
Determining, by the processing circuitry and using information encoded in the one or more graphical matrix barcodes, locations of the one or more charging units relative to the vehicle, and types of the one or more charging units.
Reynders teaches: detecting, by a processing circuitry and within an image of the vehicle charging station, one or more graphical matrix barcodes corresponding to one or more charging units (First see Abstract which mentions the system can include either a gas station or charging station. Then see Fig. 38 which shows user device 3770 scans/interact with charging station ID 3816, and see this with Col. 45 lines 5-15 – “In another embodiment, the identity of the gas pump or charging station 3800 may be captured from a QR code or barcode printed on the gas pump or charging station 3800. The user may capture the QR code or barcode with the user device 3770 which then forwards the identification data to the IoT cloud service 3720, along with the identification data for the automotive IoT device 3401.”. In other words user device 3770 camera detects within an image of the camera, the QR code of a charging unit) …wherein the detecting comprises:
detecting one or more graphical matrix barcodes which are disposed on the vehicle charging station (See Fig. 38, QR code 3816 is disposed on charging unit 3800, which is one of many within a charging station),
coordinates of the one or more graphical matrix barcodes (Since the claim limitation recites “one or more”, coordinates is found to be an optional limitation), and
angulations of the one or more graphical matrix barcodes (Since the claim limitation recites “one or more”, angulations is found to be an optional limitation);
Determining, by the processing circuitry and using information encoded in the one or more graphical matrix barcodes, information about the one or more charging units (See Col. 45 lines 5-15 which mentions identification data of the particular charging station 3800 is captured from a QR code by the user device 3770. Thus, the user device 3770 is able to determine information about the charging unit, in this case its ID.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic parking to a charging station that analyzes a camera image to obtain parameters that discloses the location of a vehicle charging unit relative to the vehicle, and also utilizes NFC communication to identify the type of charging unit as taught by Oh to include QR codes that are able to communication information about the one or more charging units as taught by Reynders; the combination would result in QR codes that communicate information about the type of charging unit, as well as communicate parameters that discloses the relative location of the charging station. Motivation to do so would be for the benefits of using QR codes, including security and low cost.
Oh as modified does not teach: a plurality of graphical matrix barcodes;
A plurality of charging units;
Selecting, by the processing circuitry, a compatible charging unit from among the plurality of charging units based on the type of charging mechanism determined for the compatible charging unit;
Determining a target charging position of the vehicle corresponding to the selected compatible charging unit, where the target charging position is dependent on the type of charging mechanism determined for the compatible charging unit.
Kimura teaches: A plurality of charging units (See Fig. 1 DC charger 50 and AC charger 60 and Non-Contact Charger 40. See Fig. 2 Charging Mode Selection unit 114. See Fig. 3 with [0044] there are 12 spaces, and some of the 12 spaces are equipped with a certain number of chargers.);
Selecting, by the processing circuitry, a compatible charging unit from among the plurality of charging units based on the type of charging mechanism determined for the compatible charging unit (See [0051] – “In FIG. 3, when a power receiving request is received from the electric vehicles 20A, 20B at about the same time, the server device 10 selects charging spaces based on the charging mode information on the electric vehicles 20A, 20B and guides the electric vehicles 20A, 20B to the selected charging spaces.”, in other words the server selects a charging space containing a specific type of charger based on vehicle charging info);
Determining a target charging position of the vehicle corresponding to the selected compatible charging unit, where the target charging position is dependent on the type of charging mechanism determined for the compatible charging unit (See [0051] – “In FIG. 3, when a power receiving request is received from the electric vehicles 20A, 20B at about the same time, the server device 10 selects charging spaces based on the charging mode information on the electric vehicles 20A, 20B and guides the electric vehicles 20A, 20B to the selected charging spaces.”, in other words determine a charging space [i.e., target charging position] corresponding to the server device 10 selected charging space [i.e., selected compatible charging unit], where the target charging position is dependent on the charging mode information on the electric vehicles 20A, 20B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic parking to a charging station as taught by Oh to include a plurality of charging units where one charging unit is selected to cause a determination of a target charging position as taught by Kimura. Motivation to do so would be for “In view of the problem described above, the present disclosure provides a navigation server, a navigation program, and a navigation system that can reduce the waiting time before the battery of a vehicle is charged.” (See [0005] Kimura), in other words by having multiple chargers to choose from, waiting time for a vehicle to get charged is reduced.
As to dependent claim 5, Oh as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as cited above.
Oh further teaches: determining, by the processing circuitry, compatibility between each of the charging units supported by the vehicle charging station and an at least one charging mechanism of the vehicle (See [0035] – “Upon detecting the charging station, whether the charging station satisfies one or more pre-configured conditions for charging can be determined. For example, the pre-configured conditions can include…a capacity condition regarding a capacity of the charging station; a type condition regarding the corrections of a type of charging station with respect to the type of vehicle;… In some embodiments, in accordance with a determination that the charging station satisfies one or more pre-configured conditions for charging, the charging station is determined to be available for charging”); and
generating, by the processing circuitry and when it is determined there are no vehicle compatible charging mechanisms supported by the vehicle charging station, a notification that the vehicle charging station cannot be used for charging the vehicle (See [0018] – “As another example, the vehicle control system can determine whether a type of charging station 140 correlates to a type of vehicle 110. A type of charging station 140 indicates, for example, the type of the charging arm, the type of the charging adaptor, the manufacturer of the charging stations, the charging voltage, the charging current, the type of power supply (e.g., single phase or three phase), and/or any other information associated with charging station 140. In some embodiments, the vehicle control system can determine whether the type of charging station 140 and type of vehicle 110 match with each other. In some embodiments, if the type of charging station 140 and type of vehicle 110 do not match with each other (e.g., a mismatch between the size of the charging adaptor of charging station 140 and the size of the charging port of vehicle 110), the vehicle control system determines that the charging of vehicle 110 may not be carried out or may not be completed in an acceptable period of time.”, in other words determine non-compatibility.
In regards to claimed “generating a notification”, see [0020] – “In some embodiments, in accordance with a determination that the charging station does not satisfy one or more pre-configured conditions for charging as described above, the vehicle control system can make adjustments and/or alert the user”, in other words alerting the user is seen as generating a notification.).
As to dependent claim 9, Oh as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as cited above.
Oh as modified further teaches: wherein the detecting the graphical matrix barcode within the image of the vehicle charging station includes applying, by the processing circuitry, a computer vision algorithm to the image of the vehicle charging station (See Oh [0029] – “For example, using a local motion model fitting algorithm, the vehicle control system can estimate capacity and one or more parameters of a charging arm motion model (e.g., a pose estimation). In some examples, based on the estimation, the vehicle control system can estimate the motion of the charging arm of charging station 140. For example, the vehicle control system can estimate the quantity of movement that the charging arm (e.g., including charging adaptor 350) is required to move to couple to vehicle 110”, in other words apply the computer vision algorithm to detect identifiers such as pose of the charging station’s charging arm and the distance of movement required for the charging arm. In regards to the computer vision algorithm being applied to the image, see [0015] – “In some embodiments, the vehicle control system determines the distance between a charging arm of charging station 140 and vehicle 110 using a camera (e.g., an optical camera),”, in other words the mentioned distance in [0015] and [0029] are associated. See Reynder for graphical matrix barcode).
As to independent claim 11, it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 as cited above.
As to dependent claim 15, it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 5 as cited above.
As to independent claim 20, it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 as cited above.
Claims 2-3, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Oh et al. US 20180141450 A1, (hereinafter Oh) in view of Sponheimer et al. US 20190315242 A1, (hereinafter Sponheimer) in view of Reynders et al. US 10791446 B2, (hereinafter Reynders) in view of Kimura et al. US 20220163342 A1, (hereinafter Kimura) in view of Yang Yang et al. CN 209627049 U, (hereinafter Yang Yang).
As to dependent claim 2, Oh as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as cited above.
Oh as modified does not teach: wherein the plurality of charging units comprises at least two compatible charging units, and
The selecting comprises selecting, by the processing circuitry, one of the at least two compatible charging units based on a charging efficiency factor of each of the at least two compatible charging units.
Yang Yang teaches: wherein the plurality of charging units comprises at least two compatible charging units (See Abstract which mentions a solar powered charging unit and an alternating current charging unit), and
The selecting comprises selecting, by the processing circuitry, one of the at least two compatible charging units based on a charging efficiency factor of each of the at least two compatible charging units (See Abstract – “That is, the reference voltage AC end if the voltage generated by the solar panel is less than the determined, the utility model will select the 220v AC voltage is transformed to charge the storage battery, the rest state selecting solar to charge. Therefore, this utility model can keep stable charge the storage battery.”, in other words selecting the alternating current charger because it has higher charging efficiency factor than the solar powered charging unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control system taught by Oh to include a method of choosing the strongest charging unit out of a plurality of charging units as taught by Yang Yang. Motivation to do so would be for “Therefore, this utility model can keep stable charge the storage battery”, in other words for stable charging.
As to dependent claim 3, Oh as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as cited above.
Oh further teaches: displaying, by the processing circuitry and via a display of a user interface, the at least one compatible charging units supported by the vehicle charging station (See Fig. 2 with [0021] a detected charging station prompt is displayed to the user) and
wherein the selection of the compatible charging units supported by the vehicle charging station comprises receiving, by the processing circuitry, a user selection of a charging unit (See Fig. 2 with [0021] a detected charging station prompt is displayed to the user and user selects yes to initiate charging for the detected charging station).
Oh does not teach: at least two compatible charging units.
However as cited above in claim 1, Oh as modified by Kimura teaches: at least two compatible charging units (See Kimura Fig. 1 and as explained above in claim 1 with DC and AC chargers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic parking to a charging station as taught by Oh to include a plurality of charging units where one charging unit is selected to cause a determination of a target charging position as taught by Kimura. Motivation to do so would be for “In view of the problem described above, the present disclosure provides a navigation server, a navigation program, and a navigation system that can reduce the waiting time before the battery of a vehicle is charged.” (See [0005] Kimura), in other words by having multiple chargers to choose from, waiting time for a vehicle to get charged is reduced.
As to dependent claim 12, it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 2 as cited above.
As to dependent claim 13, it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 3 as cited above.
Claims 4, 14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Oh et al. US 20180141450 A1, (hereinafter Oh) in view of Sponheimer et al. US 20190315242 A1, (hereinafter Sponheimer) in view of Reynders et al. US 10791446 B2, (hereinafter Reynders) in view of Kimura et al. US 20220163342 A1, (hereinafter Kimura) in view of Reiche et al. US 20210166043 A1, (hereinafter Reiche).
As to dependent claim 4, Oh as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as cited above.
Oh further teaches: wherein the determining a location of each of the charging units relative to the vehicle comprises:
estimating, by the processing circuitry, a location of each of the charging units using a first computer vision algorithm (See [0029] – “In some examples, in accordance with the correlation, the vehicle control system can estimate the motion of the charging arm of charging station 140. For example, using a local motion model fitting algorithm, the vehicle control system can estimate capacity and one or more parameters of a charging arm motion model (e.g., a pose estimation). In some examples, based on the estimation, the vehicle control system can estimate the motion of the charging arm of charging station 140. For example, the vehicle control system can estimate the quantity of movement that the charging arm (e.g., including charging adaptor 350) is required to move to couple to vehicle 110”, in other words the local motion model fitting algorithm is a first computer vision algorithm that estimates the motion required to couple the charging arm to the vehicle and thus estimates the location of the charging arm relative to the vehicle);
Oh as modified does not teach: the determining the type of each of the charging unit comprises estimating a type of each of the charging units using the estimated location of each of the charging units and a second computer vision algorithm which is different from the first computer vision algorithm.
the determining the type of each of the charging unit comprises estimating a type of each of the objects using the estimated location of each of the objects and a second computer vision algorithm which is different from the first computer vision algorithm (See [0012] – “an object recognition or an algorithm for object recognition may be carried out on the image data”, in other words a second computer vision algorithm is used to determine the type of object. In regards to claimed “using the estimated at least one location”, the Abstract as explained above uses distance values from the vehicle camera to the object location, and this distance value is indicative of the location of the object relative to the vehicle. Thus, Reiche teaches a method of determining/estimating a type of an object using the estimated object location relative to the vehicle and an object recognition algorithm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control system that determines the type of charging station and charging unit near the vehicle based on either wireless communication with the charging station or information from a database as taught by Oh to include a vehicle control system that determines the type of object near the vehicle based on identifying from a captured image the distance value between the vehicle camera and the object as taught by Reiche. Motivation to do so would be for making use of image recognition technology which is built-into the vehicle instead of using wireless communication or external database which both rely upon computer systems outside of the vehicle, for the benefits of a stand-alone solution; the benefits including simplicity from just one computer system and damage control from being isolated from outside computer systems which could get compromised.
As to dependent claim 14, it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 4 as cited above.
Claims 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Oh et al. US 20180141450 A1, (hereinafter Oh) in view of Sponheimer et al. US 20190315242 A1, (hereinafter Sponheimer) in view of Reynders et al. US 10791446 B2, (hereinafter Reynders) in view of Kimura et al. US 20220163342 A1, (hereinafter Kimura) in view of Jeong et al. US 20200410860 A1, (hereinafter Jeong).
As to dependent claim 6, Oh as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as cited above.
Oh further teaches: wherein the selected compatible charging unit is a robotic arm-based charging unit (See Title and Abstract for a robotic arm charging station).
Oh teaches the target charging position of the vehicle as cited above but Oh as modified does not teach: and the generating the vehicle trajectory includes displaying, by the processing circuitry and via a display of a user interface, an option to a user to modify, within a predefined range, coordinates of the target charging position of the vehicle,
receiving, by the processing circuitry and via the user interface, an instruction from the user regarding the option to modify the coordinates of the target charging position of the vehicle, and
generating, by the processing circuitry, the vehicle trajectory for maneuvering the vehicle to the modified target charging position of the vehicle.
Jeong teaches: and the generating the vehicle trajectory includes displaying, by the processing circuitry and via a display of a user interface, an option to a user to modify, within a predefined range, coordinates of the target position of the vehicle (See Fig. 3 S108, S109, S110, with Fig. 4D with [0088], user selects via graphical user interface an option to realign [i.e., modify], within the boundaries of a parking space, the vehicle according to the selected option such as options for proximity parking, center alignment parking, driver convenience parking, and passenger convenience parking),
receiving, by the processing circuitry and via the user interface, an instruction from the user regarding the option to modify the coordinates of the target position of the vehicle (See [0088] receive selection), and
generating, by the processing circuitry, the vehicle trajectory for maneuvering the vehicle to the modified target position of the vehicle (See [0089] perform parking control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic parking at a charging station as taught by Oh to include the automatic parking realignment as taught by Jeong. Motivation to do so would be for parking that is optimal to the user and based on user tendencies (See Jeong [0005]).
As to dependent claim 16, it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 6 as cited above.
Claims 10, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Oh et al. US 20180141450 A1, (hereinafter Oh) in view of Sponheimer et al. US 20190315242 A1, (hereinafter Sponheimer) in view of Reynders et al. US 10791446 B2, (hereinafter Reynders) in view of Kimura et al. US 20220163342 A1, (hereinafter Kimura) in view of Marek et al. US 20220274588 A1, (hereinafter Marek).
As to dependent claim 10, Oh as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as cited above.
Oh teaches the vehicle charging station as cited above but Oh as modified does not teach: wherein the vehicle trajectory is determined by
acquiring, by the processing circuitry, a three-dimensional map of an environment of the vehicle charging station, and
determining, by the processing circuitry and using the three-dimensional map of the environment, the vehicle trajectory in the free space between the vehicle and the charging unit.
Marek teaches: wherein the vehicle trajectory is determined by
acquiring, by the processing circuitry, a three-dimensional map of an environment of the vehicle parking spot (See Abstract and [0022] and [0023] for overview of the invention. Marek teaches a method of automatic parking using vehicle trajectory data, wherein the vehicle trajectory data is obtained with an acquired 3D image data. Specifically see [0023] – “In some examples, the image data may be configured with a 3D point cloud for a large number of points along the trajectory for each point of the trajectory. The 3D point cloud may be ascertained by means of the imaging sensors, for example in coordination with a laser measuring device”, in other words acquired 3D image data/map), and
determining, by the processing circuitry and using the three-dimensional map of the environment, the vehicle trajectory in the free space between the vehicle and the parking spot (See [0023] – “In some examples, the image data may be configured with a 3D point cloud for a large number of points along the trajectory for each point of the trajectory”, in other words the vehicle trajectory is determined using the 3D image map. Also see [0030] trajectory shown on map).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic parking at a charging station as taught by Oh to include the method of using 3D point cloud image data to determine the vehicle trajectory as taught by Marek. Motivation to do so would be for “…and with a smaller file size still constitutes a detailed representation of the surroundings with a high level of information” (See Marek [0023]), in other words using 3D image data is more detailed representation with high level of information.
As to dependent claim 19, it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 10 as cited above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and argument pertaining to the previous 103 rejection has been considered but are rendered moot in view of the new ground of rejection cited above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID V LUU/Examiner, Art Unit 2171
/KIEU D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2171