Response to Amendment
The office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/10/2026. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-7, 10-12,14, 16-17, 19-20 are amended. Claim 22 is new. Claims 1-22 are pending for examination.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C § 112 (a) Rejection:
Applicant did not provided argument for the rejections under 35 U.S.C § 112(a). Nonetheless, claims 1-22 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C § 112 (a).
Regarding the 35 U.S.C § 112 (b) Rejection:
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9 filed 04/10/2026, with respect to claim 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C § 112 (b) has been withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C § 103:
APLLICANT ARGUMENT:
Applicant argues, claim 1 is amended and none of the cited references teaches or suggests these limitations. “Therefore, no combination of the cited references can teach or suggest each and every limitation of amended claim 1... Additionally, each of amended independent claims 11, 19, and 20 recite features that are similar to the features of allowable claim 1, discussed above. Therefore, amended claims 11, 19, and 20, and all claims dependent thereon, respectively, are in condition for allowance for at least the reasons set forth herein”. Lastly applicant argues that none of the cited references teaches or suggests the limitations of new claim 21.
EXAMINER RESPONSE: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Independent claim 1 lines 14-19 recites “…wherein the training engine generates the second set of training data based on the first set of training data and the one or more transformed predicted enjoyment signals” (emphasis added). However, the Abstract of the instant application teaches “generating, based on the first set of training data and the predicted enjoyment signal, a second set of training data” and paragraphs [0025], [0060], [0072] teaches the second training data is being generated by “combining the transformed predicted enjoyment signal(s) with existing ranking weight(s)”. Thus, while the specification indicates that the second set of training data can be generated based on the first set of training data in one case, and that it can be generated based on the transformed predicted enjoyment signals in a different case, there is no description of using a combination of both the first set of training data and the transformed predicted enjoyment signals together as a basis for generating the second set of training data.
Claim 20 line 8-15 recites “...wherein the second training data set is generated based on the initial training data set and one or more transformed predicted enjoyment signal signals” (emphasis added). While paragraphs[0025], [0060], [0072] of the specification indicates that the second set of training data can be generated based on the first set of training data in one case, and that it can be generated based on the transformed predicted enjoyment signals in a different case, there is no description of using a combination of both the initial training data set and the transformed predicted enjoyment signals together as a basis for generating the second set of training data.
Independent claims 11 and 19 recites similar limitation to those of claim 1, thus are rejected for reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2-10, 12-18 and 21-22 are dependent on claims 1 and 11 and thus are rejected for reasons set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 11.
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 lines 14-19 recites “…wherein the training engine generates the second set of training data based on the first set of training data and the one or more transformed predicted enjoyment signals”. Nonetheless, the specification does not teach how to generate the second set of training data based on a combination of both the first set of training data and the transformed predicted enjoyment signal, and it is therefore unclear exactly what is included, or not included, within the scope of this limitation.
Claim 20 line 8-15 recites “...wherein the second training data set is generated based on the initial training data set and one or more transformed predicted enjoyment signal signals”. However, similar to claim 1, the specification does not teach how to generate the second set of training data based on a combination of both the initial training data set and the transformed predicted enjoyment signal, and it is therefore unclear exactly what is included, or not included, within the scope of this limitation.
Independent claims 11 and 19 recites similar limitation to those of claim 1, thus are rejected for reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2-10, 12-18 and 21-22 are dependent on claims 1 and 11 and thus are rejected for reasons set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhart et al. US 2020/0320382 A1 (hereinafter Burkhart) in view of Deng et al. US 2019/0114509 A1 (hereinafter Deng) in view of Li et al. US 2021/0264106 A1 (hereinafter Li) in further view of Joachims et al. Unbiased Learning-to-Rank with Biased Feedback (hereinafter Joachims).
Regarding claim 1:
Burkhart teaches A computer-implemented method (Fig. 1, element 102, "Computing Device"),
the method comprising: training, a personalized prediction model using a first set of training data comprising one or more training examples, the personalized prediction model comprising a first machine learning model, (Note examiner is interpreting the second training data set in Burkhart reference as the “first set of training data”. Burkhart [0060] teaches the second training data set includes training data specific to the digital experience such as samples (i.e., examples), “each sample of training data in the training data set also includes known ratings (the ground truths) for multiple movies that the ensemble deep learning model 124 is generating a prediction for”. Furthermore, Burkhart Fig. 3 and [0062] teaches an estimator ensemble – element 202 (i.e., prediction machine learning model) being trained using the second training data set – element 308).
generating, by a trained version of the personalized prediction model, one or more predicted enjoyment signals associated with playback of a digital content item; (Burkhart [0016] the digital experience generation system leverages an ensemble deep learning model (i.e., personalized prediction model ) that generates recommendations to enhance the digital experience (i.e., predicted enjoyment signals). In particular, [0018] teaches in order to generate recommendation, each sample of training data in the training data include past ratings for movies and [0132] teaches the enhancement/recommendation of the digital experience can take various form such as rating for the content item, thus the rating of the movies in the training data set can be considerate to be equivalent to the “predicted enjoyment signals”).
training, a personalized ranking model using a second set of training data,
generates the second set of training data based on the one or more predicted enjoyment signals (Burkhart disclosed [0062] in which a second training data set (i.e., first training data set) is input to the estimators in the estimator ensemble to generate an estimator output value (i.e., a second set of training data) for each sample of training data, the estimator output values are input to the neural network (i.e., personalized ranking model) and for each sample of training data in the second training data set the neural network generates a “digital experience enhancement recommendation based on based on the estimator output values generated by the estimators in the estimator ensemble from the second training data set”. Further, Burkhart teaches [0063] “the first stage 302 and the second stage 306 can be fed with samples from the first training data set 304 and the second training data set 308 in various batch sizes”. The examiner is interpreting the second training data set as the “first set of training data” and the estimator output value as the “second set of training data”, which in combination are being used as input to the neural network. Therefore, this shows how the estimator output values (second set of training data) are based on the second training data (first set of training data). In addition, Burkhart [0124] teaches how the estimator output values are generated form sample of training data, and [0059-0060] teaches how training data set contain sample (training examples) such as data for multiple users and training features such as “ratings that the user gave movies in the past).
While Burkhart teaches training a personalized prediction model, generating one or more predicted enjoyment signals associated with playback of a digital content item and training a personalized ranking model. Burkhart does not explicitly disclose …wherein the training engine re-weights the one or more training examples using an inverse propensity weight that is based on a frequency of a content feedback behavior; transforming, by a weight transform module comprising a second machine learning model, one or more parameters of the one or more predicted enjoyment signals to generate one or more transformed predicted enjoyment signals; and training, by the training engine, a personalized ranking model using a second set of training data, wherein the training engine generates the second set of training data based on the first set of training data and the one or more transformed predicted enjoyment signals.
Nonetheless, Deng teaches the following:
training, a personalized prediction model using a first set of training data comprising one or more training examples, the personalized prediction model comprising a first machine learning model,… (Deng [0041] teaches a first training data includes a first plurality of training parameter sets (i.e., training examples); Fig. 6 and [0042] teaches a first stage algorithm (i.e., first machine learning model) correspond to a neural network module (i.e.., personalized prediction model) for which a first training data is input to the NN).
generating, by a trained version of the personalized prediction model, one or more predicted signals associated (Deng Fig. 6 element and [0043] teaches the neural network module (i.e.., personalized prediction model) generating to an output – element 605a (i.e., predicted signals)).
transforming, by a weight transform module comprising a second machine learning model, one or more parameters of the one or more predicted signals to generate one or more transformed predicted signals; and ( Paragraph 0056] of the instant application recites “Weight transform module 230 includes any technically feasible machine learning model. In some embodiments, weight transform module 230 includes …decision trees”, for which Deng [0046-47] teaches a decision tree module (i.e., weight transform module) may be trained during the second stage algorithm (i.e., second machine learning model) and [0049-50] teaches coupling the output of the first stage algorithm to the decision tree in order to refine (transform) an estimate of the click probability (i.e., predicted signals ) generated by neural network module (i.e.., personalized prediction model). Thus, this suggest the decision tree will generate a transformed estimate of the click probability by transforming the parameter/value of the estimate of the click probability (i.e., predicted signals )).
Deng is also in the same field of endeavor as Burkhart (machine learning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of a first machine learning model and second machine learning model used to transform parameter/value of the predicted signal to generate a transformed predicted signal as being disclosed and taught by Deng, in the system taught by Burkhart to yield the predictable results of “provide techniques for configuring and training an ensemble predictor that combines multiple machine learning models to improve the accuracy of click probability prediction and other output variables “ (see Deng [0004] & [0038]).
Neither Burkhart or Deng teach or suggest …wherein the training engine re-weights the one or more training examples using an inverse propensity weight that is based on a frequency of a content feedback behavior; training, by the training engine, a personalized ranking model using a second set of training data, wherein the training engine generates the second set of training data based on the first set of training data and the one or more transformed predicted enjoyment signals.
Nonetheless, Li teaches the following:
training, by a training engine, a personalized prediction model using a first set of training data comprising one or more training examples,… ( Li Fig. 4 and [0048] teaches the training data set - element 455 being provided to the training mechanism - element 430 (i.e., training engine) which is then used to train the teacher models, since the training data set is received by the training mechanism this will inheritably generate the first training data to train each teacher models. Therefore, the training mechanism generates the first training data. In addition, Fig. 4 and [0041] teaches a training mechanism that is used for training each teacher model (i.e., personalized prediction model). See annotated Fig 4 Below
).
training, by the training engine, a personalized ranking model using a second set of training data, wherein the training engine generates the second set of training data based on the first set of training data and the one or more transformed predicted enjoyment ( Li [0020] teaches using machine learning models, which generally includes various algorithms that automatically build and improve over time. “The foundation of these algorithms is generally built on mathematics and statistics” that can be employed to predict, classify, diagnose. Li Fig. 4 teaches the training mechanism (i.e., training engine) generates the second set of training data. Further, Li Fig. 5 and [0047] teaches using a teacher model to generate outputs – element 520 which can be seen as predicted enjoyment signal based on the provided training data set - element 510 (i.e., first training data set) and teaches generating a second training data that is “The output may then be used by an inference mechanism to infer soft labeled soft labeled training data” - element 525. Moreover, Li [0048] teaches “once all required data has been provided, the data may be used to train the student model (i.e., personalized ranking model)).
Li is also in the same field of endeavor as Burkhart and Deng (machine learning for content recommendation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of generating a second training data based on the first training data and output of the prediction model as being disclosed and taught by Li, in the system taught by Burkhart and Deng to yield the predictable results of improve accuracy of recommendation models such that by using knowledge distillation techniques it enables to provide “an improved method of training ML models to increase accuracy and efficiency” (see Li [0018]).
Neither Burkhart, Deng nor Li specifically disclose ...wherein the feedback training engine re-weights the one or more training examples using an inverse propensity weight that is based on a frequency of a content feedback.
However, Joachims teaches the following:
…wherein the training engine re-weights the one or more training examples using an inverse propensity weight that is based on a frequency of a content feedback behavior; ( Examiner notes, Inverse Propensity Scoring (IPS) and Inverse Probability Weighting (IPW) are used herein interchangeably. Joachims Abstract teaches a counterfactual inference framework (i.e., training engine) and pg. 3, sec: 4 Partial-Info Learning to Rank, left col., para 4 & right col., para 1 teaches the inverse propensity scoring being used to reweight the training examples, in the following function:
. In particular, the inverse propensity scoring is used to reweight training examples based on estimated probabilities that a particular feedback (i.e., click) was observed. In addition, Joachims pg. 8, sec: 7.6 Real-World Experiment, para. 2, teaches a ratio of observed click-through rates is used as to estimate the propensity, thus suggesting the inverse propensity weight is derived from observed feedback frequency).
Joachims is also in the same field of endeavor as Burkhart, Deng and Li (machine learning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of inverse propensity score, as being disclosed and taught by Joachims, in the system taught by Burkhart, Deng and Li to yield the predictable results of provide a learning method that is “highly effective in dealing with biases, that it is robust to noise and propensity model misspecification, and that it scales efficiently” (Joachims Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3:
Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Burkhart specifically teaches further comprising: generating, based on a second weight, a transformed predicted enjoyment signal (Burkhart [0121] “The neural network 402 includes an input layer 404, a hidden layer 406, and an output layer 408”, & [0020] “The neural network includes various filters or nodes with weights that are tuned (e.g., trained)”. Further, Burkhart teaches a transformed predicted enjoyment signal [0039] “The estimator ensemble 202 uses various different estimators to generate estimation values, illustrated as estimator output values 210. The neural network 204 uses the estimator output values 210 to generate the digital experience enhancement recommendation 206” and Fig. 1 element 104 teaches the digital generating system with a computer device to process and transform content. Which is then rendered in a user interference for output by the digital experience generation system).
Regarding Claim 5:
Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims teach the computer-implemented method of claim 3. Burkhart specifically teaches wherein generating the second set of training data further comprises combining the transformed predicted enjoyment signal with a first ranking weight used to generate a second ranking weight (Burkhart [0020] teaches the predicted enjoyment signal and weights of the neural network “the estimator output values generated by the estimators in the estimator ensemble from the second training data set. The neural network includes various filters or nodes with weights that are tuned”, the weights of the neural networks can be “a raking weight”).
Regarding Claim 6:
Burkhart, Li, and Joachims teach the computer-implemented method of claim 5. Burkhart specifically teaches, further comprising generating, using the personalized ranking model, one or more content recommendations based on the second ranking weight (Burkhart Fig. 2 teaches an “ensemble deep learning model” element 124, receiving an “enhancement request” element 208, to then produce “digital experience recommendation” element 206. Burkhart [0020] teaches the neural network includes various filters or nodes with weights that are tuned”, thus the weights of the neural networks include a “second ranking weight” that is used to provide content recommendations).
Regarding Claim 7:
Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Burkhart specifically teaches wherein the one or more predicted enjoyment signals are associated with a probability that a user who did not provide user feedback enjoyed the playback of the digital content item (Burkhart [0082] teaches the “implicit preference a user gives to an item through the act of using the item (e.g., if the item is a movie, then watching and rating the movie)”, & [0107] teaches “A probability distribution can be used by the digital experience generation system” to provide the probability of a movie being rated).
Regarding Claim 9:
Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Burkhart specifically teaches further comprising: determining a loss function based on the second set of training data; and determining, based on the loss function, whether a threshold condition is achieved (Burkhart [0041] teaches that any of a variety of loss functions or algorithms can be used to train the machine learning systems).
Regarding claim 10:
Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims teach The computer-implemented method of claim 9. Burkhart teaches further comprising: updating one or more parameters of the personalized ranking model to reduce at least one of: mean square error, mean absolute error, smooth mean absolute error, log-cosh loss, quantile loss associated with the loss function ( Examiner will like to emphasize, the claim as presented recites updating one or more parameters of the content ranking machine learning model to reduce at least one of: mean square error... (emphasizes added), for which Burkhart [0048] teaches updating the parameter of the neural network (i.e., personalized ranking model) using Adam optimizer, and teaches the Mean Square Error (MSE) is used as the objective function to minimize during training).
Regarding claim 11: it is rejected under the same rationality as claim 1. Claim 11 only recites the additional element of One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of... for which for which Burkhart Fig. 8 element 806 and [0143] teaches the computer-readable storage media.
Regarding Claim 12:
Burkhart, Li and Liu teach The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, further storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of:... (and thus the rejection of Claim 11 is incorporated).
Burkhart specifically teaches updating one or more parameters of the model based on the first set of training data (Burkhart [0084] teaches “For all parameter updates, the Adam optimizer is used”, & [0004] teaches “The estimators in an estimator ensemble are each trained, using the first training data set”).
Neither Burkhart nor Joachims teach how parameter can be updated using the Adam optimizer though it does not specifically disclose the personalized prediction model being updated.
However, Li teaches the following:
...updating the personalized prediction model based on the first set of training data ( Li [0022] teaches how the training data (first training data set) can be continually updated, and one or more of the ML models (such as the personalized prediction model) used by the system can be regenerated (updated) to reflect the updates to the training data).
Regarding claim 13: it is rejected under the same ration as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 14:
Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims teach The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13. Burkhart specifically teaches wherein the second weight is associated with a monotonic function configured to optimize a range of the transformed predicted enjoyment signal (Burkhart [0020] teaches weights included with a neural network and Burkhart [0121] teaches “mapping and normalization layer 410, which maps the logits L to a mapped value using the function
1
1
+
e
-
L
These mapped values are normalized to produce probabilities for one of multiple (e.g., 5) potential item values”).
Regarding claim 15: it is rejected under the same rationality as claim 5.
Regarding claim 16: it is rejected under the same rationality as claim 6.
Regarding claim 17: it is rejected under the same rationality as claim 7.
Regarding claim 18: it is rejected under the same rationality as claim 8.
Regarding claim 19: it is rejected under the same rationality as claim 1. Claim 19 only recites the additional element of A system, comprising: a memory storing one or more software applications; and a processor that, when executing the one or more software applications, is configured to perform the steps of... for which Burkhart Fig. 8 element 804 and [0143] teaches a processing system.
Regarding claim 20:
Burkhart teaches A computer-implemented method (Fig. 1, element 102, "Computing Device"),
generating, by a trained version of the personalized prediction model, one or more predicted enjoyment signals associated with playback of a digital content item; (Burkhart [0016] the digital experience generation system leverages an ensemble deep learning model (i.e., personalized prediction model ) that generates recommendations to enhance the digital experience (i.e., predicted enjoyment signals). In particular, [0018] teaches in order to generate recommendation, each sample of training data in the training data include past ratings for movies and [0132] teaches the enhancement/recommendation of the digital experience can take various form such as rating for the content item, thus the rating of the movies in the training data set can be considerate to be equivalent to the “predicted enjoyment signals”).
training, by a training engine, the personalized prediction model using a training data set, (Burkhart Fig. 3 teaches an estimator ensemble – element 202 (i.e., personalized prediction model) trained with Training Data Set 2 – element 308 (i.e., training data set)).
processing one or more attributes associated with a given user using a personalized ranking model to identify a set of content items, wherein the personalized ranking is trained on the training data set; and ( Burkhart [0020] teaches “for each sample of training data in the second training data set, the neural network generates a digital experience enhancement recommendation”. The digital experience recommendation can be seen as the content items identified such that can be presented to the user. Further, Fig. 3 teaches the neural network - element 204 (i.e., content ranking machine learning model) is trained using the estimator output values - element 210 (training data set)).
presenting at least a subset of the set of content items to the given user ( Burkhart [0028] teaches a “digital experience” is used to display different data (i.e., at least a subset of the set of content items) in different manners. Further, [0034] and Fig. 1 element 116 teaches the use of a display device used to display content items – element 106 to the user, such content “can take various forms, such as image content, video content, mixed media content, and so forth”).
While Burkhart teaches training a personalized prediction model, generating one or more predicted enjoyment signals associated with playback of a digital content item and training a personalized ranking model. Burkhart does not explicitly disclose transforming, by a weight transform module comprising a second machine learning model, one or more parameters of the one or more predicted enjoyment signals; and wherein the training engine re-weights one or more training examples of an initial training data set using an inverse propensity weight that is based on a frequency of a content feedback behavior.
Nonetheless, Deng teaches the following:
generating, by a trained version of the personalized prediction model, one or more predicted signals associated (Deng Fig. 6 element and [0043] teaches the neural network module (i.e.., personalized prediction model) generating to an output– element 605a (i.e., predicted signals)).
training, a personalized prediction model using a training data set,… (Deng Fig. 6 and [0042] teaches a first stage algorithm (i.e., first machine learning model) correspond to a neural network module (i.e.., personalized prediction model) for which a first training data set is input to the NN).
transforming, by a weight transform module comprising a second machine learning model, one or more parameters of the one or more predicted signals; and ( Paragraph 0056] of the instant application recites “Weight transform module 230 includes any technically feasible machine learning model. In some embodiments, weight transform module 230 includes …decision trees”, for which Deng [0046-47] teaches a decision tree module (i.e., weight transform module) may be trained during the second stage algorithm (i.e., second machine learning model) and [0049-50] teaches coupling the output of the first stage algorithm to the decision tree in order to refine (transform) an estimate of the click probability (i.e., predicted signals ) generated by neural network module (i.e.., personalized prediction model). Thus, this suggest the decision tree will generate a transformed estimate of the click probability by transforming the parameter/value of the estimate of the click probability (i.e., predicted signals )).
Deng is also in the same field of endeavor as Burkhart (machine learning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of a first machine learning model and second machine learning model used to transform parameter/value of the predicted signal to generate a transformed predicted signal as being disclosed and taught by Deng, in the system taught by Burkhart to yield the predictable results of “provide techniques for configuring and training an ensemble predictor that combines multiple machine learning models to improve the accuracy of click probability prediction and other output variables “ (see Deng [0004] & [0038]).
Neither Burkhart or Deng specifically disclose the training data set been generated and wherein the training data set is generated based on the initial training data set and one or more transformed predicted enjoyment signal signals;... wherein the training engine re-weights one or more training examples of an initial training data set using an inverse propensity weight that is based on a frequency of a content feedback behavior.
Nevertheless, Li teaches the following:
...generate the training data set, and wherein the training data set is generated based on the initial training data set and one or more transformed predicted enjoyment signal signals; ( Li Fig. 1 teaches models being trained by a training mechanism – element 430 (i.e., feedback training engine) and [0005] teaches utilizing the training data set to train a machine learning model ( i.e., a prediction machine learning model). Further, Li Fig. 5 and [0047] teaches using a teacher model to generate outputs – element 520 which can be seen as predicted enjoyment signal based on the provided training data set - element 510 further teaches generating a training data that is “The output may then be used by an inference mechanism to infer soft labeled soft labeled training data” - element 525. Therefore, the training data set is based on the initial training data set and a predicted enjoyment signal).
Li is also in the same field of endeavor as Burkhart and Deng (machine learning for content recommendation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of generating a second training data based on the first training data and output of the prediction model as being disclosed and taught by Li, in the system taught by Burkhart and Deng to yield the predictable results of improve accuracy of recommendation models such that by using knowledge distillation techniques it enables to provide “an improved method of training ML models to increase accuracy and efficiency” (see Li [0018]).
Neither Burkhart, Deng nor Li specifically disclose wherein the training engine re-weights one or more training examples of an initial training data set using an inverse propensity weight that is based on a frequency of a content feedback behavior.
However, Joachims teaches the following:
…wherein the training engine re-weights one or more training examples of an initial training data set using an inverse propensity weight that is based on a frequency of a content feedback behavior... ( Examiner notes, Inverse Propensity Scoring (IPS) and Inverse Probability Weighting (IPW) are used herein interchangeably. Joachims Abstract teaches a counterfactual inference framework (i.e., training engine) and pg. 3, sec: 4 Partial-Info Learning to Rank, left col., para 4 & right col., para 1 teaches the inverse propensity scoring being used to reweight the training examples, in the following function:
. In particular, the inverse propensity scoring is used to reweight training examples based on estimated probabilities that a particular feedback (i.e., click) was observed. In addition, Joachims pg. 8, sec: 7.6 Real-World Experiment, para. 2, teaches a ratio of observed click-through rates is used as to estimate the propensity, thus suggesting the inverse propensity weight is derived from observed feedback frequency).
Joachims is also in the same field of endeavor as Burkhart, Deng and Li (machine learning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of inverse propensity score, as being disclosed and taught by Joachims, in the system taught by Burkhart, Deng and Li to yield the predictable results of provide a learning method that is “highly effective in dealing with biases, that it is robust to noise and propensity model misspecification, and that it scales efficiently” (Joachims Abstract).
Regarding claim 22:
Burkhart , Deng, Li and Joachims teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Deng explicitly teaches wherein transforming the one or more parameters controls one or more of a range of the one or more predicted enjoyment signals, a spread of the one or more predicted enjoyment signals, or a strength of the one or more predicted enjoyment signals (Examiner will like to emphasize, the claim as presented recites “wherein transforming the one or more parameters controls one or more of a range of the one or more predicted enjoyment signals, a spread of the one or more predicted enjoyment signals, or a strength of the one or more predicted enjoyment signals” (emphasis added). Deng [0028] teaches applying an activation function such as a sigmoid function to the combined result of nodes (element 320.1-320.M) in Fig. 3, which appears to be the same as the nodes (element 620.1-620.M) of the neural network module 610 in Fig. 6. Thus, this teach the output (element 605a) will be transformed by a sigmoid function (i.e., transforming the one or more parameters controls one or more of a range of the one or more predicted enjoyment signals). A person skilled in the relevant art will recognize “sigmoid functions” are used to controls one or more of a range of output, specially by arrange any value into a constrained range between 0 and 1).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims in further view of Fang et al. US 2019/0251446 A1 (hereinafter Fang).
Regarding claim 2:
Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims teach The computer-implemented method of claim 1. Burkhart [0062] and Fig. 3 specifically teaches a neural network (i.e., personalized ranking model) and similar Li [0048] teaches training a student model (i.e., personalized ranking model).
Neither Burkhart, Deng, Li, nor Joachims disclose updating one or more parameter of the personalized ranking model by the feedback training engine for the training.
Nevertheless, Fang teaches the following:
...wherein one or more parameters of the personalized ranking model is updated by the training engine for the training ( Fang [0075] teaches a “personalized ranking model” that is used to generate personalized ranking items for a user. Further, [0024] teaches a fashion recommendation system (i.e., training engine) is being implemented to train the personalized ranking model and [0078] teaches the fashion recommendation system can train “the personalized ranking model 230 for one or more iterations”. As would be familiar to one skilled in the art, if a model such as the “personalized ranking model” is being trained for one or more iteration, this will inheritably involve updating the model internal parameter (like weights and biases) with each iteration).
Fang is also in the same field of endeavor as Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims (machine learning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of update the parameters of a ranking model using the training engine, as being disclosed and taught by Fang, in the system taught by Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims to yield the predictable results of “provide benefits and/or solve one or more of the foregoing or other problems in the art with systems, computer media, and methods for effectively providing personalized fashion recommendations to users using deep learning visually-aware techniques trained using implicit user feedback” (see Fang [0008]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims in further view of Anatomise Biostats Transforming Skewed Data: How to choose the right transformation for your distribution (hereinafter Anatomise).
Regarding claim 4:
Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims teach The computer-implemented method of claim 3. Burkhart specifically teaches wherein the second weight is associated with a monotonic function of a probability of positive feedback, and the monotonic function is configured to optimize a range of the transformed predicted enjoyment signal (Burkhart [0020] teaches weights included with a neural network and Burkhart [0121] teaches “mapping and normalization layer 410, which maps the logits L to a mapped value using the function
1
1
+
e
-
L
These mapped values are normalized to produce probabilities for one of multiple (e.g., 5) potential item values”).
Neither Burkhart, Deng, Li, nor Joachims teach the monotonic function is configured to increase a spread of weights in an instance in which the probability of positive feedback is greater than a threshold value.
Nevertheless, Anatomise teaches the following:
the monotonic function is configured to... increasing a spread of weights in an instance in which the probability of positive feedback is greater than a threshold value ( Anatomise pg. 1, para. 2, line 1 & pg. 2, para. 1, lines 1-3, teaches monotonic transformation such as square root, natural log, log base 10 and inverse transformation, which are a specific application of a monotonic function, that can increase the spread of weights related to for positively skewed data that is >0).
Anatomise is also in the same field of endeavor as Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims (artificial intelligence). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of monotonic transformations as being disclosed and taught by Anatomise, in the system taught by Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims to yield the predictable results of “improve normality, homogeneity of variance or both” (Anatomise pg. 1, para. 1, line 4 ).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims in further view of Wang et al. Learning to Rank with Selection Bias in Personal Search (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 8:
Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims teach The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
While Joachims teaches the inverse propensity weight, neither Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims specifically teach wherein the inverse propensity weight is generated based on a probability of one or more users providing user feedback associated with the playback of the digital content item.
Nonetheless, Wang teaches:
wherein the inverse propensity weight is generated based on a probability of one or more users providing user feedback associated with the playback of the digital content item ( Wang pg. 3, right col., sec: 3.3 Inverse Propensity Weighting, para. 2 teaches the “ inverse propensity weighting,
P
^
Q
is known as the propensity score of
Q
”, specifically teaches the inverse propensity weights
w
Q
=
P
Q
∕
P
^
Q
is the ratio between the probability of a query
Q
appearing in the data set
U
and the probability
Q
that actually appears in the sample
S
. Thus suggesting the inverse propensity weight is based on a probability that a user feedback (e.g. clicks) is associated with the playback of the digital content).
Wang is also in the same field of endeavor as Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims (machine learning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of inverse propensity weight based on a probability that a user feedback interaction with content, as being disclosed and taught by Wang, in the system taught by Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims to yield the predictable results of providing a theoretical framework for eliminating selection bias in personal search and providing an extensive empirical evaluation using large-scale live experiments (Wang pg. 2, left col. para. 1).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims in further view of Jeong et al. WO 2021/089863 A1 (hereinafter Jeong).
Regarding claim 21:
Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims teach The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Neither Burkhart, Deng, Li, nor Joachims teach wherein the inverse propensity weight is further based on one or more distribution differences between training data and inference data.
Nevertheless, Jeong teaches the following:
wherein the inverse propensity weight is further based on one or more distribution differences between training data and inference data ( Jeong [0015] teaches using the inverse propensity scoring (i.e., inverse propensity weight) to correct for distribution unbalance between a baseline policy and a target policy. Thus, Jeong teaches the inverse propensity scoring applies to address distribution differences between the baseline policy (i.e., training data) and the target policy (i.e., inference data)).
Jeong is also in the same field of endeavor as Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims (machine learning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of inverse propensity scoring for mitigate distribution differences, as being disclosed and taught by Jeong, in the system taught by Burkhart, Deng, Li, and Joachims to yield the predictable results of improve the process for training and deploying a model (Jeong [0016]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McInerney et al. Counterfactual Evaluation of Slate Recommendations with Sequential Reward Interactions (2020).
Ma et al. Off-policy Learning in Two-stage Recommender Systems (2020).
/G.G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2127
/JEREMY L STANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2127