DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed on December 3, in response to the Office action on November 19, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 4 are pending and under examination in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Rejection of Claims 1 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Rejection of Claims 1 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Smith (US Patent Application Publication US 2015/0328305) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US Patent Application Publication US 2015/0328305) in view of Apostolico et al. (Frontiers in Immunology, 2019, p. 1-12).
Smith in view of Apostolico render the present claims obvious because Smith teaches a method of treating a viral outbreak and/or pandemic comprising vaccinating individuals with a liposomal vaccine comprising multiple immunostimulatory agents incorporated into a liposome, wherein the agents are poly IC, poly ICLC, ssRNA, CpG-ODN, and MPL-A (see claims 1-19), paragraphs [0014], [0017], [0018], [0039-0042] and [0063]). Smith disclose an antigen from a virus that causes a pandemic such as an influenza virus (see paragraphs [0057-0062]). Smith discloses a booster/second injection of the vaccine (see claims 1-5 and paragraph [0019]). Smith discloses alum adjuvant (see paragraph [0015]).
Apostolico teaches that poly IC, poly ICLC, ssRNA, CpG-ODN, and MPL-A potentiate T cell immunity in an antigen independent manner, including triggering of the costimulatory molecules to induce type I IFN production by dendritic cells (see Introduction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use poly IC, poly ICLC, ssRNA, CpG-ODN, and MPL-A, alone without the viral antigen, in a method of preventing a viral outbreak, because Smith and Apostolico teach that poly IC, poly ICLC, ssRNA, CpG-ODN, and MPL-A potentiate T cell immunity in an antigen independent manner, including triggering of the costimulatory molecules to induce type I IFN production by dendritic cells.
Applicant amended the claims to recite a closed language with regard to the immune stimulatory molecules. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to choose the four immune stimulatory molecules because they all have been known to act as adjuvants in vaccines. Applicant did not provide any unexpected results showing that poly IC, poly ICLC, ssRNA, CpG-ODN, and MPL-A together have any synergistic effect when compared to a different combination of molecules.
One would have been motivated to use poly IC, poly ICLC, ssRNA, CpG-ODN, and MPL-A, alone without the viral antigen, because it has been well known in the prior art that poly IC, poly ICLC, ssRNA, CpG-ODN, and MPL-A, stimulate the immune response without the need of the antigen being present.
Thus, the present invention would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made.
Double Patenting
Rejection of Claims 1 and 4 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No.11,590,078 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment and arguments.
Contact Information
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AGNIESZKA BOESEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1648