DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments that primary reference HEYNE does not disclose the amended recitation “the further energy supply unit charges the motor vehicle faster than the energy supply unit charges the motor vehicle”, it is submitted that Applicant has not commented on or argued against the relevant portions of HEYNE relied upon in the rejection to teach this recitation. For example, paragraphs 0038, 0045, and 0049 of HEYNE disclose the “further energy supply unit” 14 provides “rapid charging” and “a charging current that is high”, while “energy supply unit” 18 is disclosed as providing a low voltage, implying the “further energy supply unit” 14 charges “faster” as recited. It is submitted that HEYNE teaches the amended recitation within the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended recitation “the further energy supply unit… provides alternating current” in claim(s) 1 and 7-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. TADDEO is relied upon to teach the amended recitation as described in the rejection below. It is noted that the amended recitation lacks criticality, as the specification discloses the further energy supply unit may supply either direct current or alternating current (see page 5, lines 12-16 of the specification as originally filed). It is therefore submitted that HEYNE as modified by FARBER and TADDEO teaches the energy supply device of claim 1, the method for operating an energy supply device of claim 7, the method for producing energy supply devices of claim 8, and the energy supply arrangement of claim 9 as described in the rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/10/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEYNE (US PG Pub 2019/0106003; cited in previous office action) in view of FARBER (US PG Pub 2019/0152335; cited in previous office action) and TADDEO (US Pub. No. 2013/0020993; cited on form PTO-892 with date 4/5/2024).
Regarding claim 1, HEYNE discloses an energy supply device (10, Fig. 1; ¶ 0035: FIGURE shows a charging station 10) for providing electrical energy for a motor vehicle (12; abstract; ¶ 0035: charging station 10 is connected to a vehicle 12), the energy supply device comprising:
an energy supply unit (18; ¶ 0040: charging station 10 further comprises an electrical low-voltage provision device 18 and a separate low-voltage connection terminal 20 for connection to the low-voltage on-board electrical system of the vehicle 12) arranged in a housing (¶ 0035, 0038: a housing is implied to hold the components); and
a further energy supply unit arranged in the housing (14; ¶ 0045: control device 32 is….configured to control the high-voltage provision device 14 for providing the DC voltage for the rapid charging of the high-voltage energy storage of the vehicle 12), wherein the energy supply unit (18) is different from the energy supply unit (as shown in Figure 1, energy supply unit 18 and further energy supply unit 14 are different units);
a control unit (32) arranged in the housing and coupled to the energy supply unit (¶ 0045: charging station 10 has a control device 32 that is configured to control the supply of electrical energy to the low-voltage connection terminal 20; ¶ 0049: the electrical low-voltage provision device 18 is set, in accordance with the operation, of the operating device 36, to provide a DC voltage of 12 V, 24 V, 48 V and/or less than 60 V. The low voltage is thus adjusted at the low-voltage connection terminal 20 in accordance with the operation),
wherein the energy supply unit (18) is electrically connected to an energy source (26; ¶ 0042) and to [a first connection] (20/30),
wherein the [first connection], in operation, is connected to a transmission device (connection between energy supply unit 18 and first connection 20/30 can be considered a “transmission device”) configured to be electrically connected to the motor vehicle (¶ 0044: The low-voltage connection terminal 20 comprises electrical contacts 30 for contacting electrical terminals for connection to the low-voltage on-board electrical system of the vehicle 12. The low voltage provided by the low-voltage provision device 18 is present at the contacts 30);
wherein the further energy supply unit (14) arranged separately from the energy supply unit (18) in the housing (as shown in Figure 1, further energy supply unit 14 and energy supply unit 18 are arranged separately); and
wherein the energy supply unit is configured to establish a safety extra-low voltage connection to the motor vehicle (¶ 0040; ¶ 0049: the electrical low-voltage provision device 18 is set, in accordance with the operation, of the operating device 36, to provide a DC voltage of 12 V, 24 V, 48 V and/or less than 60 V);
wherein the control unit, in operation, controls the energy supply unit to output a first electrical voltage (¶ 0045: charging station 10 furthermore has a control device 32 that is configured to control the supply of electrical energy to the low-voltage connection terminal 20; ¶ 0049: the electrical low-voltage provision device 18 is set, in accordance with the operation, of the operating device 36, to provide a DC voltage of 12 V, 24 V, 48 V and/or less than 60 V), and
wherein the control unit, in operation, controls the further energy supply unit to output a second electrical voltage (¶ 0045: control device 32 is furthermore configured to control the high-voltage provision device 14 for providing the DC voltage for the rapid charging of the high-voltage energy storage of the vehicle 12) that is greater than the first electrical voltage (¶ 0038: high-voltage provision device 14 is configured to provide a charging voltage of several hundred volts and a charging current that is likewise high), and
wherein, in operation, the further energy supply unit charges the motor vehicle faster than the energy supply unit charges the motor vehicle (¶ 0038, 0045, 0049: see above; the “further energy supply unit” 14 provides “rapid charging” and “a charging current that is high”, and is implied as charging “faster” than the “energy supply unit” 18, which provides a low voltage).
HEYNE fails to disclose a plurality of plug connectors, including a first plug connector and a second plug connector that is electrically in parallel with the first plug connector; the energy supply unit is electrically connected to the plurality of plug connectors, wherein the first plug connector, in operation, is connected to a transmission device.
FARBER discloses a plurality of plug connectors (3, Fig. 1; ¶ 0009: the respective connections of the charging column, for example, in the simplest case, may involve plug sockets), including a first plug connector and a second plug connector (there are multiple plug connectors 3 shown in Fig. 1) that is electrically in parallel with the first plug connector (the “plug connectors” 3 shown in Fig. 1 are connected “electrically in parallel” to charging control 5);
the energy supply unit (5, Fig. 1) is electrically connected to the plurality of plug connectors (¶ 0026: charging control 5 charges the simultaneously connected electric vehicles 4 exclusively individually in this case; ¶ 0031: charging control 5 in this case is equipped for the purpose of charging an electric vehicle 4 connected at this connection 3 with lower priority than the electric vehicles 4 connected at the remaining connections 3),
wherein the first plug connector, in operation, is connected to a transmission device (vehicles use cables and plugs as shown in Fig. 1; ¶ 0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the plurality of plug connectors of FARBER into the energy supply device of HEYNE to produce an expected result of an energy supply device including a plurality of plug connectors. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to efficiently utilize energy supply devices (FARBER, ¶ 0006).
HEYNE fails to disclose the control unit has a communication device which, in operation, communicates with a communication counterpart of the motor vehicle,
wherein the communication device, in operation, receives at least one energy supply parameter from the motor vehicle,
wherein the control unit, in operation, controls the energy supply unit to output a first electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device, and
wherein the control unit, in operation, controls the further energy supply unit to output a second electrical voltage that is greater than the first electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device; and
wherein the further energy supply unit, in operation, provides alternating current to the motor vehicle.
TADDEO discloses the control unit (214, Fig. 2) has a communication device (130, Fig. 2) which, in operation, communicates with a communication counterpart (232, Fig. 2) of the motor vehicle (224, Fig. 2; ¶ 0038: Controller input 128 may include instructions or data related to the charging event, and… may be automated as a form of interaction with the EV. Automated input 128 may include preprogrammed instructions for the controller 112 of the charging station....The subject matter of the controller input 128 may include data, such as, for example, the target second DC signal 108 or AC signal 122; ¶ 0039: a compatible/matching transceiver may be placed on… EVs for which the charging station 100 is compatible (see, e.g., FIGS. 2 and 3 at transceiver 232) to allow the controller to monitor the charge transferred to the EV and determine whether there are any faults in the charging system or the EV; ¶ 0049: computer 230 may also send information about the EV 224 or other EV systems to a transceiver 130, antenna, or other communication device that can relay that information to the transceiver 130 of a charging station 200 or other monitoring computer or server. In one embodiment, this is advantageous because the controller 214 may be instructed to only provide a certain amount of kilowatts to the EV 224 or is instructed to turn off charging via the connectors 220 and 222 when the temperature of the EV battery 228 exceeds safe limits. In another embodiment the EV 224 may communicate its location and charging requirements to the controller 214 and the controller may set the converter 204 and inverter 210 for optimal compatibility with the EV 224 systems),
wherein the communication device, in operation, receives at least one energy supply parameter from the motor vehicle (¶ 0038-0039, 0049; see above),
wherein the control unit, in operation, controls the further energy supply unit (210, Fig. 2) to output a second electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device (¶ 0038-0039, 0049; see above; ¶ 0040: converter 204 and inverter 210 of the station send and receive signals to and from a controller 214 which may receive input 128 or send and receive signals from a transceiver 130. The AC EVSE 212 and DC EVSE 208 are connected to an AC connector 220 and a DC connector 222, respectively, that provide charge to an EV 224 when connected to a corresponding charging port 226, thereby energizing an EV battery 228),
wherein the further energy supply unit, in operation, provides alternating current to the motor vehicle (¶ 0043: AC charging via the DC-AC inverter 210 and AC EVSE 212).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the control unit to also control the energy supply unit of HEYNE to output a first electrical voltage as recited based on the at least one energy supply parameter as disclosed in TADDEO.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the communication device and the control unit controlling the energy supply based on at least one energy supply parameter as disclosed in TADDEO into the energy supply device of HEYNE to produce an expected result of an energy supply device including a communication device and the control unit controlling the energy supply based on at least one energy supply parameter. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide automated output voltage provisioning to mitigate the risk of incorrect voltage application, thereby enhancing device safety and user convenience.
Regarding claim 3, HEYNE discloses the further energy supply unit is electrically connected to a further transmission device designed for a low-voltage connection (¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 4, HEYNE discloses the energy supply unit and the further energy supply unit are electrically connected to a common energy connection of the housing separately from one another (as shown in Figure 1, energy supply unit 18 and further energy supply unit 14 are directly connected to AC source 26).
Regarding claim 7, HEYNE discloses a method for operating an energy supply device (10, Fig. 1; ¶ 0035: FIGURE shows a charging station 10) for providing electrical energy for a motor vehicle (12; abstract; ¶ 0035: charging station 10 is connected to a vehicle 12), the energy supply device comprising an energy supply unit (18; ¶ 0040: charging station 10 further comprises an electrical low-voltage provision device 18 and a separate low-voltage connection terminal 20 for connection to the low-voltage on-board electrical system of the vehicle 12) arranged in a housing (¶ 0035, 0038: a housing is implied to hold the components), a further energy supply unit arranged in the housing (14; ¶ 0045: control device 32 is….configured to control the high-voltage provision device 14 for providing the DC voltage for the rapid charging of the high-voltage energy storage of the vehicle 12), wherein the energy supply unit (18) is different from the energy supply unit (as shown in Figure 1, energy supply unit 18 and further energy supply unit 14 are different units), and a control unit (32) arranged in the housing and coupled to the energy supply unit (¶ 0045: charging station 10 has a control device 32 that is configured to control the supply of electrical energy to the low-voltage connection terminal 20; ¶ 0049: the electrical low-voltage provision device 18 is set, in accordance with the operation, of the operating device 36, to provide a DC voltage of 12 V, 24 V, 48 V and/or less than 60 V. The low voltage is thus adjusted at the low-voltage connection terminal 20 in accordance with the operation), the method comprising:
electrically connecting the energy supply unit (18) to an energy source (26; ¶ 0042) and to [a first connection] (20/30),
wherein the [first connection], in operation, is connected to a transmission device (connection between energy supply unit 18 and first connection 20/30 can be considered a “transmission device”) configured to be electrically connected to the motor vehicle (¶ 0044: The low-voltage connection terminal 20 comprises electrical contacts 30 for contacting electrical terminals for connection to the low-voltage on-board electrical system of the vehicle 12. The low voltage provided by the low-voltage provision device 18 is present at the contacts 30), and
wherein the energy supply unit (18) is configured to establish a safety extra-low voltage connection to the motor vehicle (¶ 0040; ¶ 0049: the electrical low-voltage provision device 18 is set, in accordance with the operation, of the operating device 36, to provide a DC voltage of 12 V, 24 V, 48 V and/or less than 60 V);
electrically connecting the further energy supply unit (14) to the energy source (26) and the motor vehicle (12; as shown in Fig. 1 and explained in ¶ 0045);
controlling the energy supply unit by the control unit to output a first electrical voltage (¶ 0045: charging station 10 furthermore has a control device 32 that is configured to control the supply of electrical energy to the low-voltage connection terminal 20; ¶ 0049: the electrical low-voltage provision device 18 is set, in accordance with the operation, of the operating device 36, to provide a DC voltage of 12 V, 24 V, 48 V and/or less than 60 V); and
controlling the further energy supply unit by the control unit to output a second electrical voltage (¶ 0045: control device 32 is furthermore configured to control the high-voltage provision device 14 for providing the DC voltage for the rapid charging of the high-voltage energy storage of the vehicle 12) that is greater than the first electrical voltage (¶ 0038: high-voltage provision device 14 is configured to provide a charging voltage of several hundred volts and a charging current that is likewise high), and
wherein the further energy supply unit charges the motor vehicle faster than the energy supply unit charges the motor vehicle (¶ 0038, 0045, 0049: see above; the “further energy supply unit” 14 provides “rapid charging” and “a charging current that is high”, and is implied as charging “faster” than the “energy supply unit” 18, which provides a low voltage).
HEYNE fails to disclose a plurality of plug connectors, including a first plug connector and a second plug connector that is electrically in parallel with the first plug connector; electrically connecting the energy supply unit to the plurality of plug connectors, wherein the first plug connector, in operation, is connected to a transmission device.
FARBER discloses a plurality of plug connectors (3, Fig. 1; ¶ 0009: the respective connections of the charging column, for example, in the simplest case, may involve plug sockets), including a first plug connector and a second plug connector (there are multiple plug connectors 3 shown in Fig. 1) that is electrically in parallel with the first plug connector (the “plug connectors” 3 shown in Fig. 1 are connected “electrically in parallel” to charging control 5);
electrically connecting the energy supply unit (5, Fig. 1) to a plurality of plug connectors (¶ 0026: charging control 5 charges the simultaneously connected electric vehicles 4 exclusively individually in this case; ¶ 0031: charging control 5 in this case is equipped for the purpose of charging an electric vehicle 4 connected at this connection 3 with lower priority than the electric vehicles 4 connected at the remaining connections 3),
wherein the first plug connector, in operation, is connected to a transmission device (vehicles use cables and plugs as shown in Fig. 1; ¶ 0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the plurality of plug connectors of FARBER into the method for operating an energy supply device of HEYNE to produce an expected result of a method for operating an energy supply device including a plurality of plug connectors. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to efficiently utilize energy supply devices (FARBER, ¶ 0006).
HEYNE fails to disclose receiving, by a communication device, at least one energy supply parameter from the motor vehicle;
controlling the energy supply unit by the control unit to output a first electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device from the motor vehicle; and
controlling the further energy supply unit by the control unit to output a second electrical voltage that is greater than the first electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device from the motor vehicle, and
wherein the further energy supply unit provides alternating current to the motor vehicle.
TADDEO discloses receiving, by a communication device (130, Fig. 2), at least one energy supply parameter from the motor vehicle (224, Fig. 2; ¶ 0038: Controller input 128 may include instructions or data related to the charging event, and… may be automated as a form of interaction with the EV. Automated input 128 may include preprogrammed instructions for the controller 112 of the charging station....The subject matter of the controller input 128 may include data, such as, for example, the target second DC signal 108 or AC signal 122; ¶ 0039: a compatible/matching transceiver may be placed on… EVs for which the charging station 100 is compatible (see, e.g., FIGS. 2 and 3 at transceiver 232) to allow the controller to monitor the charge transferred to the EV and determine whether there are any faults in the charging system or the EV; ¶ 0049: computer 230 may also send information about the EV 224 or other EV systems to a transceiver 130, antenna, or other communication device that can relay that information to the transceiver 130 of a charging station 200 or other monitoring computer or server. In one embodiment, this is advantageous because the controller 214 may be instructed to only provide a certain amount of kilowatts to the EV 224 or is instructed to turn off charging via the connectors 220 and 222 when the temperature of the EV battery 228 exceeds safe limits. In another embodiment the EV 224 may communicate its location and charging requirements to the controller 214 and the controller may set the converter 204 and inverter 210 for optimal compatibility with the EV 224 systems);
controlling the further energy supply unit (210, Fig. 2) by the control unit (214, Fig. 2) to output a second electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device from the motor vehicle (¶ 0038-0039, 0049; see above; ¶ 0040: converter 204 and inverter 210 of the station send and receive signals to and from a controller 214 which may receive input 128 or send and receive signals from a transceiver 130. The AC EVSE 212 and DC EVSE 208 are connected to an AC connector 220 and a DC connector 222, respectively, that provide charge to an EV 224 when connected to a corresponding charging port 226, thereby energizing an EV battery 228),
wherein the further energy supply unit provides alternating current to the motor vehicle (¶ 0043: AC charging via the DC-AC inverter 210 and AC EVSE 212).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the control unit to also control the energy supply unit of HEYNE to output a first electrical voltage as recited based on the at least one energy supply parameter as disclosed in TADDEO.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the communication device and the control unit controlling the energy supply based on at least one energy supply parameter as disclosed in TADDEO into the method for operating the energy supply device of HEYNE to produce an expected result of a method for operating an energy supply device including a communication device and the control unit controlling the energy supply based on at least one energy supply parameter. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide automated output voltage provisioning to mitigate the risk of incorrect voltage application, thereby enhancing device safety and user convenience.
Regarding claim 8, HEYNE discloses a method for producing energy supply devices (10, Fig. 1; ¶ 0035: FIGURE shows a charging station 10) for providing electrical energy for a motor vehicle (12; abstract; ¶ 0035: charging station 10 is connected to a vehicle 12), wherein each of the energy supply devices has an energy supply unit (18; ¶ 0040: charging station 10 further comprises an electrical low-voltage provision device 18 and a separate low-voltage connection terminal 20 for connection to the low-voltage on-board electrical system of the vehicle 12) arranged in a housing (¶ 0035, 0038: a housing is implied to hold the components), a further energy supply unit arranged in the housing (14; ¶ 0045: control device 32 is….configured to control the high-voltage provision device 14 for providing the DC voltage for the rapid charging of the high-voltage energy storage of the vehicle 12), wherein the energy supply unit (18) is different from the energy supply unit (as shown in Figure 1, energy supply unit 18 and further energy supply unit 14 are different units), and a control unit (32) arranged in the housing and coupled to the energy supply unit (¶ 0045: charging station 10 has a control device 32 that is configured to control the supply of electrical energy to the low-voltage connection terminal 20; ¶ 0049: the electrical low-voltage provision device 18 is set, in accordance with the operation, of the operating device 36, to provide a DC voltage of 12 V, 24 V, 48 V and/or less than 60 V. The low voltage is thus adjusted at the low-voltage connection terminal 20 in accordance with the operation), the method comprising:
for one of the energy supply devices, electrically connecting the energy supply unit (18) to an energy source (26; ¶ 0042) and to [a first connection] (20/30),
wherein the [first connection] is configured to be connected to a transmission device (connection between energy supply unit 18 and first connection 20/30 can be considered a “transmission device”) that is configured to be electrically connected to the motor vehicle (¶ 0044: The low-voltage connection terminal 20 comprises electrical contacts 30 for contacting electrical terminals for connection to the low-voltage on-board electrical system of the vehicle 12. The low voltage provided by the low-voltage provision device 18 is present at the contacts 30), and
electrically connecting the further energy supply unit (14) that is arranged separately from the energy supply unit (14 and 18 are arranged separately as shown in Fig. 1) in the housing (as shown in Fig. 1) to the energy source (26) and the motor vehicle (12; as shown in Fig. 1 and explained in ¶ 0045),
wherein the control unit is configured to control the energy supply unit to output a first electrical voltage (¶ 0045: charging station 10 furthermore has a control device 32 that is configured to control the supply of electrical energy to the low-voltage connection terminal 20; ¶ 0049: the electrical low-voltage provision device 18 is set, in accordance with the operation, of the operating device 36, to provide a DC voltage of 12 V, 24 V, 48 V and/or less than 60 V); and
wherein the control unit is configured to control the further energy supply unit to output a second electrical voltage (¶ 0045: control device 32 is furthermore configured to control the high-voltage provision device 14 for providing the DC voltage for the rapid charging of the high-voltage energy storage of the vehicle 12) that is greater than the first electrical voltage (¶ 0038: high-voltage provision device 14 is configured to provide a charging voltage of several hundred volts and a charging current that is likewise high), and
wherein, in operation, the further energy supply unit charges the motor vehicle faster than the energy supply unit charges the motor vehicle (¶ 0038, 0045, 0049: see above; the “further energy supply unit” 14 provides “rapid charging” and “a charging current that is high”, and is implied as charging “faster” than the “energy supply unit” 18, which provides a low voltage).
HEYNE fails to disclose a plurality of plug connectors, including a first plug connector and a second plug connector that is electrically in parallel with the first plug connector; electrically connecting the energy supply unit to the plurality of plug connectors, wherein the first plug connector is configured to be connected to a transmission device.
FARBER discloses a plurality of plug connectors (3, Fig. 1; ¶ 0009: the respective connections of the charging column, for example, in the simplest case, may involve plug sockets), including a first plug connector and a second plug connector (there are multiple plug connectors 3 shown in Fig. 1) that is electrically in parallel with the first plug connector (the “plug connectors” 3 shown in Fig. 1 are connected “electrically in parallel” to charging control 5);
electrically connecting the energy supply unit (5, Fig. 1) to the plurality of plug connectors (¶ 0026: charging control 5 charges the simultaneously connected electric vehicles 4 exclusively individually in this case; ¶ 0031: charging control 5 in this case is equipped for the purpose of charging an electric vehicle 4 connected at this connection 3 with lower priority than the electric vehicles 4 connected at the remaining connections 3),
wherein the first plug connector is configured to be connected to a transmission device (vehicles use cables and plugs as shown in Fig. 1; ¶ 0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the plurality of plug connectors of FARBER into the method for producing energy supply devices of HEYNE to produce an expected result of a method for producing energy supply devices including a plurality of plug connectors. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to efficiently utilize energy supply devices (FARBER, ¶ 0006).
HEYNE fails to disclose the one of the energy supply devices includes the control unit that includes a communication device configured to receive at least one energy supply parameter from the motor vehicle,
wherein the control unit is configured to control the energy supply unit to output a first electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device from the motor vehicle; and
wherein the control unit is configured to control the further energy supply unit to output a second electrical voltage that is greater than the first electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device; and
wherein the further energy supply unit, in operation, provides alternating current to the motor vehicle.
TADDEO discloses the one of the energy supply devices includes the control unit (214, Fig. 2) that includes a communication device (130, Fig. 2) configured to receive at least one energy supply parameter from the motor vehicle (224, Fig. 2; ¶ 0038: Controller input 128 may include instructions or data related to the charging event, and… may be automated as a form of interaction with the EV. Automated input 128 may include preprogrammed instructions for the controller 112 of the charging station....The subject matter of the controller input 128 may include data, such as, for example, the target second DC signal 108 or AC signal 122; ¶ 0039: a compatible/matching transceiver may be placed on… EVs for which the charging station 100 is compatible (see, e.g., FIGS. 2 and 3 at transceiver 232) to allow the controller to monitor the charge transferred to the EV and determine whether there are any faults in the charging system or the EV; ¶ 0049: computer 230 may also send information about the EV 224 or other EV systems to a transceiver 130, antenna, or other communication device that can relay that information to the transceiver 130 of a charging station 200 or other monitoring computer or server. In one embodiment, this is advantageous because the controller 214 may be instructed to only provide a certain amount of kilowatts to the EV 224 or is instructed to turn off charging via the connectors 220 and 222 when the temperature of the EV battery 228 exceeds safe limits. In another embodiment the EV 224 may communicate its location and charging requirements to the controller 214 and the controller may set the converter 204 and inverter 210 for optimal compatibility with the EV 224 systems),
wherein the control unit is configured to control the further energy supply unit (210, Fig. 2) to output a second electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device from the motor vehicle (¶ 0038-0039, 0049; see above; ¶ 0040: converter 204 and inverter 210 of the station send and receive signals to and from a controller 214 which may receive input 128 or send and receive signals from a transceiver 130. The AC EVSE 212 and DC EVSE 208 are connected to an AC connector 220 and a DC connector 222, respectively, that provide charge to an EV 224 when connected to a corresponding charging port 226, thereby energizing an EV battery 228); and
wherein the further energy supply unit, in operation, provides alternating current to the motor vehicle (¶ 0043: AC charging via the DC-AC inverter 210 and AC EVSE 212).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the control unit to also control the energy supply unit of HEYNE to output a first electrical voltage as recited based on the at least one energy supply parameter as disclosed in TADDEO.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the communication device and the control unit controlling the energy supply based on at least one energy supply parameter as disclosed in TADDEO into the method for producing energy supply devices of HEYNE to produce an expected result of a method for producing energy supply devices including a communication device and the control unit controlling the energy supply based on at least one energy supply parameter. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide automated output voltage provisioning to mitigate the risk of incorrect voltage application, thereby enhancing device safety and user convenience.
Regarding claim 9, HEYNE discloses an energy supply arrangement (abstract), comprising:
a motor vehicle (12; abstract; ¶ 0035: charging station 10 is connected to a vehicle 12);
an energy supply device (10, Fig. 1; ¶ 0035: FIGURE shows a charging station 10) which, in operation, provides electrical energy for the motor vehicle (abstract, ¶ 0035);
wherein the energy supply device (10) includes an energy supply unit (18; ¶ 0040: charging station 10 further comprises an electrical low-voltage provision device 18 and a separate low-voltage connection terminal 20 for connection to the low-voltage on-board electrical system of the vehicle 12) arranged in a housing (¶ 0035, 0038: a housing is implied to hold the components), a further energy supply unit (14) arranged separately from the energy supply unit (14 and 18 are arranged separately as shown in Fig. 1), the energy supply unit being different from the energy supply unit (as shown in Figure 1, energy supply unit 18 and further energy supply unit 14 are different units), and a control unit (32) arranged in a housing (¶ 0035, 0038: a housing is implied to hold the components);
wherein the energy supply unit (18) is electrically connected to an energy source (26; ¶ 0042) and to [a first connection] (20/30),
wherein the [first connection], in operation, is connected to a transmission device (connection between energy supply unit 18 and first connection 20/30 can be considered a “transmission device”) configured to be electrically connected to the motor vehicle (12; ¶ 0044: The low-voltage connection terminal 20 comprises electrical contacts 30 for contacting electrical terminals for connection to the low-voltage on-board electrical system of the vehicle 12. The low voltage provided by the low-voltage provision device 18 is present at the contacts 30),
wherein the control unit (32) is configured to control the further energy supply unit (¶ 0045: control device 32 is configured to control the high-voltage provision device 14 for providing the DC voltage for the rapid charging of the high-voltage energy storage of the vehicle 12) that is arranged separately from the energy supply unit (18) in the housing (14 and 18 are arranged separately as shown in Fig. 1) and electrically connected to the energy source (26) and to the motor vehicle (12; as shown in Fig. 1 and explained in ¶ 0045);
wherein the energy supply unit (18) is configured to establish a safety extra-low voltage connection to the motor vehicle (¶ 0040; ¶ 0049: the electrical low-voltage provision device 18 is set, in accordance with the operation, of the operating device 36, to provide a DC voltage of 12 V, 24 V, 48 V and/or less than 60 V),
wherein the control unit, in operation, controls the energy supply unit to output a first electrical voltage (¶ 0045: charging station 10 furthermore has a control device 32 that is configured to control the supply of electrical energy to the low-voltage connection terminal 20; ¶ 0049: the electrical low-voltage provision device 18 is set, in accordance with the operation, of the operating device 36, to provide a DC voltage of 12 V, 24 V, 48 V and/or less than 60 V), and
wherein the control unit, in operation, controls the further energy supply unit to output a second electrical voltage that is greater than the first electrical voltage (¶ 0045: control device 32 is furthermore configured to control the high-voltage provision device 14 for providing the DC voltage for the rapid charging of the high-voltage energy storage of the vehicle 12) that is greater than the first electrical voltage (¶ 0038: high-voltage provision device 14 is configured to provide a charging voltage of several hundred volts and a charging current that is likewise high), and
wherein, in operation, the further energy supply unit charges the motor vehicle faster than the energy supply unit charges the motor vehicle (¶ 0038, 0045, 0049: see above; the “further energy supply unit” 14 provides “rapid charging” and “a charging current that is high”, and is implied as charging “faster” than the “energy supply unit” 18, which provides a low voltage).
HEYNE fails to disclose a plurality of plug connectors, the plurality of plug connectors including a first plug connector and a second plug connector that is electrically in parallel with the first plug connector; the energy supply unit is electrically connected to the plurality of plug connectors, wherein the first plug connector, in operation, is connected to a transmission device.
FARBER discloses a plurality of plug connectors (3, Fig. 1; ¶ 0009: the respective connections of the charging column, for example, in the simplest case, may involve plug sockets), the plurality of plug connectors including a first plug connector and a second plug connector (there are multiple plug connectors 3 shown in Fig. 1) that is electrically in parallel with the first plug connector (the “plug connectors” 3 shown in Fig. 1 are connected “electrically in parallel” to charging control 5);
the energy supply unit (5, Fig. 1) is electrically connected to the plurality of plug connectors (¶ 0026: charging control 5 charges the simultaneously connected electric vehicles 4 exclusively individually in this case; ¶ 0031: charging control 5 in this case is equipped for the purpose of charging an electric vehicle 4 connected at this connection 3 with lower priority than the electric vehicles 4 connected at the remaining connections 3),
wherein the first plug connector, in operation, is connected to a transmission device (vehicles use cables and plugs as shown in Fig. 1; ¶ 0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the plurality of plug connectors of FARBER into the energy supply arrangement of HEYNE to produce an expected result of an energy supply arrangement including a plurality of plug connectors. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to efficiently utilize energy supply devices (FARBER, ¶ 0006).
HEYNE fails to disclose the control unit has a communication device which, in operation, communicates with a communication counterpart of the motor vehicle,
wherein the communication device, in operation, receives at least one energy supply parameter from the motor vehicle,
wherein the control unit, in operation, controls the energy supply unit to output a first electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device, and
wherein the control unit, in operation, controls the further energy supply unit to output a second electrical voltage that is greater than the first electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device; and
wherein the further energy supply unit, in operation, provides alternating current to the motor vehicle.
TADDEO discloses the control unit (214, Fig. 2) has a communication device (130, Fig. 2) which, in operation, communicates with a communication counterpart (232, Fig. 2) of the motor vehicle (224, Fig. 2; ¶ 0038: Controller input 128 may include instructions or data related to the charging event, and… may be automated as a form of interaction with the EV. Automated input 128 may include preprogrammed instructions for the controller 112 of the charging station....The subject matter of the controller input 128 may include data, such as, for example, the target second DC signal 108 or AC signal 122; ¶ 0039: a compatible/matching transceiver may be placed on… EVs for which the charging station 100 is compatible (see, e.g., FIGS. 2 and 3 at transceiver 232) to allow the controller to monitor the charge transferred to the EV and determine whether there are any faults in the charging system or the EV; ¶ 0049: computer 230 may also send information about the EV 224 or other EV systems to a transceiver 130, antenna, or other communication device that can relay that information to the transceiver 130 of a charging station 200 or other monitoring computer or server. In one embodiment, this is advantageous because the controller 214 may be instructed to only provide a certain amount of kilowatts to the EV 224 or is instructed to turn off charging via the connectors 220 and 222 when the temperature of the EV battery 228 exceeds safe limits. In another embodiment the EV 224 may communicate its location and charging requirements to the controller 214 and the controller may set the converter 204 and inverter 210 for optimal compatibility with the EV 224 systems,
wherein the communication device, in operation, receives at least one energy supply parameter from the motor vehicle (¶ 0038-0039, 0049; see above),
wherein the control unit, in operation, controls the further energy supply unit (210, Fig. 2) to output a second electrical voltage based on the at least one energy supply parameter received by the communication device (¶ 0038-0039, 0049; see above; ¶ 0040: converter 204 and inverter 210 of the station send and receive signals to and from a controller 214 which may receive input 128 or send and receive signals from a transceiver 130. The AC EVSE 212 and DC EVSE 208 are connected to an AC connector 220 and a DC connector 222, respectively, that provide charge to an EV 224 when connected to a corresponding charging port 226, thereby energizing an EV battery 228); and
wherein the further energy supply unit, in operation, provides alternating current to the motor vehicle (¶ 0043: AC charging via the DC-AC inverter 210 and AC EVSE 212).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the control unit to also control the energy supply unit of HEYNE to output a first electrical voltage as recited based on the at least one energy supply parameter as disclosed in TADDEO.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the communication device and the control unit controlling the energy supply based on at least one energy supply parameter as disclosed in TADDEO into the energy supply arrangement of HEYNE to produce an expected result of an energy supply arrangement including a communication device and the control unit controlling the energy supply based on at least one energy supply parameter. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide automated output voltage provisioning to mitigate the risk of incorrect voltage application, thereby enhancing device safety and user convenience.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEYNE in view of FARBER and TADDEO as applied to claims 1, 3-4, and 7-9 above, and further in view of BRILL (DE102011079430A1; cited in previous office action; cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 5, HEYNE as modified by FARBER and TADDEO teaches the energy supply device as applied to claim 4 but HEYNE fails to disclose the energy supply unit and the further energy supply unit are electrically connected to the common energy connection by a common rectifier.
BRILL discloses the energy supply unit and the further energy supply unit are electrically connected to the common energy connection by a common rectifier (e.g., AC/DC converter 110 can be considered a rectifier and is a common energy connection for various DC/DC converters 212, 222 and vehicle connections 211, 221 as shown in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the common rectifier of BRILL into the energy supply device of HEYNE to produce an expected result of an energy supply device including a common rectifier. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce parts/space by providing a single rectifier for a plurality of energy supply units.
Regarding claim 6, HEYNE as modified by FARBER, TADDEO, and BRILL teaches the energy supply unit is electrically connected to the common rectifier by a DC-to-DC converter (BRILL, e.g., 212, Fig. 1) and the further energy supply unit is electrically connected to the common rectifier by a further DC-to-DC converter (BRILL, e.g., 222, Fig. 1; it is noted that HEYNE also discloses two converters 14 and 18 in Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEYNE in view of FARBER and TADDEO as applied to claims 1, 3-4, and 7-9 above, and further in view of SIM (US PG Pub 2016/0339791; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 10, HEYNE as modified by FARBER and TADDEO teaches the energy supply arrangement as applied to claim 9 but HEYNE fails to disclose the motor vehicle is electrically connected to the transmission device by a relocatable current collector and/or has an energy storage device for intermediate storage of electrical energy, which is electrically connected to the current collector by a DC-to-DC converter.
SIM discloses the motor vehicle is electrically connected to the transmission device by a relocatable current collector (¶ 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the relocatable current collector of SIM into the energy supply arrangement of HEYNE to produce an expected result of an energy supply arrangement including a relocatable current collector. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased user convenience.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 3/11/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859