Response to Amendments
The amendment filed 10th July 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-12, 21-22, and 24-32 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 14th April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9-11, 21 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raptopoulos et al. (US 2017/0129603) in view of Wartofsky (US 2020/0043347).
Regarding claim 1, Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) a payload transportation system (100) (Para 0045), comprising:
a ground/UAV station (140s) for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (130s) (Para 0045) comprising:
a landing platform (144s) (Para 0053);
an exchange station (146s) configured to receive payloads from and send payloads to the UAV positioned upon the landing platform (Para 0053); and
a processor (202) configured to:
receive data representing position of an object (752) in an airspace (0062-0063, 0214-0217; object intruding landing platform fence (750) is detected by one or more sensors i.e., position of an object within the landing platform fence (750); sensors provide detection data to landing platform (144) which is communicated to the UAV (130) and the user’s portable electronic device via. a network (110); processor controls the overall operation of the portable electronic device (102); area above the landing platform is an airspace; );
authorize takeoff and landing operations of the UAV based on data representing position of the object (752) in the airspace (Para 0062-0063, 0214-0217); and
cancel the takeoff and landing operations of the UAV based on the data representing positions of the object (752) in the airspace (Para 0062-0063, 0214; processor is in communication with landing platform and UAV via network (110)).
Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 further teaches (figure. 1) a payload transportation system (100) using one or more UAVs (130A-C) (Para 0045) but it is silent about the payload transportation system wherein an object is one or more of other UAVs and/or aircraft and wherein the airspace is not limited by the dimension of the landing platform.
Wartofsky ‘347 teaches a method comprising receiving, with at least one monitoring processor, real-time aircraft traffic data for the plurality of aircraft in the monitored airspace (Para 0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to incorporate the teachings of Wartofsky ‘347 to configure the payload transportation system wherein an object is one or more of other UAVs and/or aircraft and wherein the airspace is not limited by the dimension of the landing platform (position data of other UAVs are also actively monitored based on which processor either authorizes or cancels the takeoff and landing operations).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance safety.
Regarding claim 9, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) wherein the landing platform (144s) defines an opening and the exchange station (146s) is configured to receive the payloads from and send the payloads to the UAV through the opening (Para 0053).
Regarding claim 10, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) wherein the exchange station (146s) is further configured to receive a battery from and send a battery to the UAV through the opening (Para 0053).
Regarding claim 11, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) further comprising:
one or more doors/covers configured to open and close to allow the entry of the UAV into an interior of the ground/UAV station (140s), wherein the landing platform (144s) is disposed within the interior of the ground/UAV station (140s) (Para 0057).
Regarding claim 21, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) further comprising a plurality of sensors, wherein a subset of the plurality of sensors are configured to monitor and scan the airspace surrounding the ground station for obstacles (Para 0211-0215; sensors detect intruding objects).
Regarding claim 7, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) wherein the obstacles are flying objects/birds within the airspace (Para 0202, 0212).
Regarding claim 32, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) wherein the landing platform is further configured to engage and hold the UAV in place when landing therewith (landing platform accommodates the UAV).
Claim(s) 4-6, 8, 12, 22 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raptopoulos et al. (US 2017/0129603) and Wartofsky (US 2020/0043347) as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of O’Brien et al. (US 2019/0263538).
Regarding claim 12, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) as recited in claim 1 but it is silent about the payload transportation system wherein the processor is housed with the ground station.
O’Brien et al. ‘538 teaches (figure 1) storage system (10) comprising shelf area/station (13A, 13B) with a data transfer and storage system/processor (18A, 18B) (Para 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to incorporate the teachings of O’Brien et al. ‘538 to configure the payload transportation system wherein the processor is housed with the ground station.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would put the station and the processor together and ensure effective communication.
Regarding claim 22, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) wherein the subset is a first subset, and the payload transportation system (100) comprising a second subset of the plurality of sensors (Para 0211-0214; plurality of sensors are present which can be divided into first and second subsets of plurality of sensors)
but it is silent about the payload transportation system wherein a second subset of the plurality of sensors is configured to capture one or more images of the UAV positioned upon the landing platform.
O’Brien et al. ‘538 teaches (figures 1-2) the storage system (10) with various detection systems including visualization cameras to inspect the structure or components of the UAV (14A-B) (Para 0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to incorporate the teachings of O’Brien et al. ‘539 to configure the payload transportation system wherein a second subset of the plurality of sensors is configured to capture one or more images of the UAV positioned upon the landing platform (camera captures images).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to visually inspect the UAV after landing and before takeoff.
Regarding claim 4, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) wherein one or more sensors of the second subset of the plurality of sensors comprises a macro lens /visualization cameras (as modified by O’Brien et al. ‘538).
Regarding claim 5, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) as recited in claim 22 but it is silent about the payload transportation system wherein the plurality of sensors comprises an x-ray imaging device configured to capture images of the UAV for detection of stress fractures or micro-cracking.
O’Brien et al. ‘538 teaches (figures 1-2) the storage system (10) with various detection systems including x-ray system to inspect the structure or components of the UAV (14A-B) (Para 0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to incorporate the teachings of O’Brien et al. ‘539 to configure the plurality of sensors comprises an x-ray imaging device configured to capture images of the UAV for detection of stress fractures or micro-cracking (x-ray system can detect stress fractures or micro-cracking).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to check the overall health of the UAV before the takeoff operation to ensure safe flight.
Regarding claim 6, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) wherein the ground station further comprises a centering mechanism configured to position the UAV in a central region of the landing platform such that the UAV is within a field of view of the second subset of the plurality of sensors (Para 0210).
Regarding claim 8, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) wherein the second subset of the plurality of sensors is configured to capture images of only a first portion of the UAV (camera captures images of the only portion of the UAV which is directly in view of the camera).
Regarding claim 28, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) wherein the processor is further configured to issue instructions to cancel the takeoff of the UAV (Para 0214)
but it is silent about the payload transportation system wherein the processor is further configured to issue instructions to cancel the takeoff of the UAV in response to the processor determining that the one or more images captured by the second subset of the plurality of sensors show damage to the UAV.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to not to launch the damaged UAV to avoid accidents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to configure the payload transportation system wherein the processor is further configured to issue instructions to cancel the takeoff of the UAV in response to the processor determining that the one or more images captured by the second subset of the plurality of sensors show damage to the UAV.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would prevent the UAV accident.
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raptopoulos et al. (US 2017/0129603) and Wartofsky (US 2020/0043347) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pick (US 2016/0318615).
Regarding claims 24-26, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) wherein the processor (202) is further configured to disable the control switch on the user interface (346) based on the data representing positions of the one or more other UAVs and/or aircraft in the airspace, and
wherein disabling the control switch on the user interface is in response to cancelling the takeoff operation (Para 0214)
but it is silent about the payload transportation system wherein the processor is further configured to issue an alert based on the data representing positions one or more other UAVs and/or aircraft in the airspace,
wherein the alert is responsive to cancelling the takeoff or landing operation, and
wherein the alert is communicated to a flight director.
Pick ‘615 teaches a flight sensor (20) in communication with an audible alarm system (80) and when the flight sensor (20) detects an emergency condition and produces an emergency signal, flight sensor (20) transmit the emergency signal to audible alarm system (80) such that audible alarm system produces an audible sound/alert which alert the operator of the emergency condition (Para 0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to incorporate the teachings of Pick ‘615 to configure the payload transportation system wherein the processor is further configured to issue an alert based on the data representing positions one or more other UAVs and/or aircraft in the airspace,
wherein the alert is responsive to cancelling the takeoff or landing operation, and
wherein the alert is communicated to a flight director.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance situational awareness.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raptopoulos et al. (US 2017/0129603), Wartofsky (US 2020/0043347) and Pick (US 2016/0318615) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Marcos (US 2019/0063448).
Regarding claim 27, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) of claim 24 but it is silent about the payload transportation system (100) wherein the alert includes a request for input from a flight director.
Marcos ‘448 teaches providing an option/request to a pilot/operator to abort/input takeoff of the aircraft or to override/input an alert (Para 0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to incorporate the teachings of Marcos ‘448 to configure the payload transportation system (100) wherein the alert includes a request for input from a flight director.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable operator to make a decision.
Claim(s) 29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raptopoulos et al. (US 2017/0129603), and Wartofsky (US 2020/0043347) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bauer et al. (US 2018/0246503).
Regarding claim 29, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) of claim 1 but it is silent about the payload transportation system wherein the data representing positions of the one or more other UAVs and/or aircraft in an airspace includes flight route information of the one or more other UAVs and/or aircraft.
Bauer et al. ‘503 teaches (figure 1) a flight control center/processor (11) monitors the position of the aerial vehicles (10) and manages orders for the aerial transport of workpieces (4) carried by the aerial vehicle (10) from starting to destination stations/flight route information (Para 0044-0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to incorporate the teachings of Bauer et al. ‘503 to configure the payload transportation system wherein the data representing positions of the one or more other UAVs and/or aircraft in an airspace includes flight route information of the one or more other UAVs and/or aircraft.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance safety.
Regarding claim 31, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) of claim 1 but it is silent about the payload transportation system wherein the ground station and the processor are further configured to:
receive data representing headings of the one or more other UA Vs and/or aircraft in the airspace;
authorize takeoff and landing operations of the U AV based on the data representing positions and headings of the one or more other UAVs and/or aircraft in the airspace; and
cancel the takeoff and landing operations of the UA V based on the data representing positions and headings of the one or more other UAVs and/or aircraft in the airspace.
Bauer et al. ‘503 teaches (figure 1) a flight control center/processor (11) monitors the position of the aerial vehicles (10) and manages orders for the aerial transport of workpieces (4) carried by the aerial vehicle (10) from starting to destination stations/flight route information (Para 0044-0046; route information provides data representing headings of the aerial vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to incorporate the teachings of Bauer et al. ‘503 to configure the payload transportation system wherein the ground station and the processor are further configured to:
receive data representing headings of the one or more other UA Vs and/or aircraft in the airspace;
authorize takeoff and landing operations of the U AV based on the data representing positions and headings of the one or more other UAVs and/or aircraft in the airspace; and
cancel the takeoff and landing operations of the UA V based on the data representing positions and headings of the one or more other UAVs and/or aircraft in the airspace.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure safe takeoff of the UAV by ensuring the one or more other UAVs are not heading towards the landing platform.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raptopoulos et al. (US 2017/0129603), Wartofsky (US 2020/0043347) and O’Brien et al. (US 2019/0263538) as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Bauer et al. (US 2018/0246503).
Regarding claim 30, modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 1-9D) the payload transportation system (100) of claim 1 but it is silent about the payload transportation system wherein a flight route information includes positional information and destination information.
Bauer et al. ‘503 teaches (figure 1) a flight control center/processor (11) monitors the position of the aerial vehicles (10) and manages orders for the aerial transport of workpieces (4) carried by the aerial vehicle (10) from starting to destination stations/flight route information (Para 0044-0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to incorporate the teachings of Bauer et al. ‘503 to configure the payload transportation system wherein a flight route information includes positional information and destination information.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10th July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument regarding Wartofsky ‘347 reference, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
As explained in the rejection above, Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches a processor (202) configured to either authorize or cancel takeoff and landing operations of the UAV based on monitoring of an object in the airspace, and is silent about monitoring other UAVs and/or aircraft to either authorize or cancel takeoff and landing operations of the UAV.
Wartofsky ‘347 teaches actively monitoring aircraft traffic/UAVs in the airspace.
Thus, teaching of Wartofsky ‘347 to actively monitor aircraft traffic/other UAVs in the airspace is incorporated into teaching of Raptopulos et al. ‘603 to either authorize or cancel takeoff and landing operations of the UAV which enhances airspace safety i.e., without teaching of Wartofsky ‘347, Raptopulos et al. ‘603 monitors object (752) to either authorize or cancel takeoff and landing operations of the UAV, however, with teaching of Wartofsky ‘347, Raptopulos et al. ‘603 monitors aircraft traffic/other UAVs to either authorize or cancel takeoff and landing operations of the UAV.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642