DETAILED ACTIONS
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments/arguments submitted by the Applicant(s) on 04/07/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6, and 8-21 are pending.
Claims 1, 12, and 18 are amended.
Claim 7 cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant’s arguments see remarks page 8-12, filed 04/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claims under 35 U.S.C.§103 have been fully considered but are moot because the newly found prior art is used for a new ground of rejections, and please see the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences
between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a
whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention
to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5 and 8- 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frank Pedersen. (US 2019/0294603 A1, hereinafter, previously cited) and in view of Partani et al. (US 2008/0201501 A1, hereinafter Partani)
Regarding claim 1, Pedersen teaches,
A method comprising:
(a) connecting a data logger to a sterilizer via a serial data input circuit, l; (Pedersen, Figure 1A,6,8, [0018] The data logger 10 includes a data connector cable 16 that connects the data logger 10 to the corresponding dental or medical autoclave 12 / sterilizer).,
wherein the data logger is configured to receive and process incoming wired serial data from the sterilizer formatted in a first data transfer protocol, (Pedersen, [0019], The data connector cable 16 connects to the printed circuit board 22 for transmitting data from the autoclave 12 to the microprocessor 20)
(b) performing a sterilizing cycle by the sterilizer (Pedersen, Figure 1, Figure 7-8, The data logger 10 is designed to electronically record and display sterilization cycles from medical and dental sterilizers, is configured for use with a dental or medical autoclave 12);
(c) prior to transmitting a data stream from the sterilizer to the data logger and prior to completing the sterilization cycle, automatically determining whether an error occurred during the sterilizing cycle (Pedersen, [0019], “The data transmitted to the microprocessor 20 from the autoclave 12 relates to information associated with the various sterilization cycles that occur during regular operation of the autoclave such as, for example, data relating to the temperature and/or pressure achieved during a particular cycle, the duration of each cycle or stage of cycle, etc. Also see Figure 7 steps 36-step 46”. Figure 7,[0024], “the incoming data is received by the microprocessor 20 and is saved to the corresponding data file in the memory 26 and/or SD memory card 28 at step 42. As the data is being received and saved to the memory, the data is also simultaneously displayed on the visual display screen 18 at step 44. The receiving, saving and displaying of data continues until the microprocessor 20 operates via the operating software 32 to determine whether the cycle is complete at step 46”. [0034], when the autoclave has concluded a sterilization cycle the operator will be prompted by visual indicators on the touchscreen to verify that the critical parameters have been met (typically that a minimum temperature and pressure have been reached for a minimum required length of time”. NOTE: the data associated with a sterilization cycle is transmitted after the sterilization cycle is complete. The sterilization process is an automatic process and continue until the sterilization cycle is complete. It is understood that the sterilization data associated with the sterilization cycles related to the sterilization cycles of a dental or medical autoclave or sterilizer consists of both standard parameters and incomplete cycle or sterilization error data which are generated at the autoclave when the standard parameters are not met, before transmitting data to microprocessor of the data logger. Examiner interpreted that an error occurs when critical parameters minimum values are not met and the display shows the errors as color code i.e. the parameter values in the form of data/ visual colored data),”;
(d) prior to completing the sterilization cycle and in response to determining that the error occurred, including an error descriptor in the data stream (Pedersen, [0034], when the autoclave has concluded a sterilization cycle the operator will be prompted by visual indicators on the touchscreen to verify that the critical parameters have been met (typically that a minimum temperature and pressure have been reached for a minimum required length of time”. NOTE: Examiner interpreted that a descriptor is a parameter value or threshold value color coded displayed on the screen and types of parameters such as temperature, pressure or Time. These data automatically generated during the sterilization process) , the error descriptor including a cause for the error Pedersen, Figure 1A,6,8, [0019], “The data transmitted to the microprocessor 20 from the autoclave 12 relates to information associated with the various sterilization cycles that occur during regular operation of the autoclave such as, for example, data relating to the temperature and/or pressure achieved during a particular cycle, the duration of each cycle or stage of cycle, etc.” NOTE: Examiner interpreted that a descriptor is a parameter value or threshold value and types of parameters such as temperature, pressure or Time. it is interpreted by the examiner that the data transmitted from the autoclave includes both parameters value which did not met the standard requirement are error data and transmitted to the data logger. Any automatic sterilization process generates all sets of data including standard data and data not meeting the required standard /errors are known in the industry.);
(e) presenting the error descriptor to a user; (Pedersen, [0034] In this embodiment touchscreen 101 serves the dual purpose of displaying information from data logger 10 and also acting as a means through which information and data can be input and stored into memory. For example, when the autoclave has concluded a sterilization cycle the operator will be prompted by visual indicators on the touchscreen to verify that the critical parameters have been met (typically that a minimum temperature and pressure have been reached for a minimum required length of time”. visual color or other indicators are presented to the operator to alert if the parameters are met or exceeded, see [0034],)
(f) after the sterilizing cycle, transmitting the data stream, including the error descriptor if present, from the sterilizer to the data logger via the serial data input circuit, wherein the data stream is formatted in the first data transfer protocol, . (Pedersen, [0018]” The data logger 10 includes a data connector cable 16 that connects the data logger 10 to the corresponding dental or medical autoclave 12”, [0019], “Alternately, both the autoclave and the microprocessor may be fitted with wireless communication means (eg Bluetooth, etc) top permit a wireless transmission of data”. [0036] “In a further embodiment of the invention, data logger 10 may include a barcode seamier 102 as well as, in some instances”. NOTE: It is known in the field of art that Communication protocols are required to exchange information between computers/ microcontrollers and instruments. Examiner interpreted that at least a first protocol is used by the prior art during data transfer from the autoclaves).
Pedersen teaches a Data logger with The data logger 10 includes a data connector cable 16 that connects the data logger 10 to the corresponding dental or medical autoclave 12. The data logger 10 receive data from the autoclave 12. It is known in the art that a data logger receiving data from an external device comprises with a receiver, transmitter and the data transfer follows a communication protocol. See [[0018], [0019]. This is an inherent circuit configuration. However, prior art Pedersen did not disclose the detail circuit configuration.
Pedersen is silent on and wherein the data logger is configured to receive and process incoming wired serial data from the sterilizer formatted in a second data transfer protocol, And
wherein the serial data input circuit comprises a protocol detector configured to detect whether the wired data stream is formatted in the first data transfer protocol or the second data transfer protocol,
a first receiver configured to receive the wired data stream formatted in the first data transfer protocol, a second receiver configured to receive the wired data stream formatted in the second data transfer protocol, and
a multiplexer configured to selectively output, based on an output of the protocol detector, data from one of the first receiver and the second receiver to a processor of the data logger;
However, Partani teaches wherein the data logger is configured to receive and process incoming wired serial data from the sterilizer formatted in a second data transfer protocol, (Partani, FThe integrated intelligent server management chip includes first universal asynchronous receiver transmitter (UART) to couple to a host, a second virtual UART to couple to a remote computer system, a serial input/output interface to couple to the serial communication port, and a selective serial communication connection coupled between the first UART, the second virtual UART, and the serial input/output interface.”. NOTE: it is known in the art that UART is a peripheral device for asynchronous serial communication for data transfer speeds are controlled or configured based on application and coupled with a host device. The common signal levels used are RS232 and TTL. Based on the applications the signal levels can be adjusted either as RS232 or TTL. used. Examiner interpreted that first, second data transfer protocol could be selected with RS232 or TTL protocol. It is a design choice).
wherein the serial data input circuit comprises a protocol detector configured to detect whether the wired data stream is formatted in the first data transfer protocol or the second data transfer protocol (Partani, Figure 3,[0018] The method in a monolithic integrated circuit includes selectively decoupling a serial input of a serial communication port of a server from a serial input of a first universal
asynchronous receiver transmitter (UART); selectively coupling the serial input of the first UART to the serial output of a second UART to provide remote terminal services at a remote computer system over a network; synchronizing a
serial communication data rate of the second UART to a serial communication data rate of the first UART; and serially communicating data between the first UART and the second UART in response to the synchronized serial communication data rate. [0051] One of the UARTs 341 of the super I/O subsystem 304 may be selectively coupled to the virtual UART 318 of the BMC & KYMS subsystem 302 by means of a selective serial communication connection 330 so that the host system may communicate using a serial communication protocol with one of the remote computer systems 104”. NOTE” the selective serial communication protocol can be first data protocol and second data protocol transfer. It is a design choice.).
a first receiver configured to receive the wired data stream formatted in the first data transfer protocol, a second receiver configured to receive the wired data stream formatted in the second data transfer protocol, (Partani, [0017] In one embodiment of the invention, a monolithic integrated circuit includes a first universal asynchronous receiver transmitter (UART), a second UART, and a multiplexer. The first universal asynchronous receiver transmitter (UART) has a first parallel input/output interface to couple to a host system to receive and transmit parallel data and a first serial input/output interface. The first UART to convert parallel input data into serial output data and to convert serial input data into parallel output data. The second universal asynchronous receiver transmitter (UART) has a second parallel input/output interface and a second serial input/output interface to couple to the first serial input/output interface of the first UART. The second UART converts parallel input data into serial output data and to covert serial input data into parallel output data”). and a multiplexer configured to selectively output, based on an output of the protocol detector, data from one of the first receiver and the second receiver to a processor of the data logger (Partani, [0018] The multiplexer has an output coupled to the serial input of the first UART, a first input coupled to the
serial output of the second UART, a second input to couple to a serial input of a serial communication port, and a select input coupled to a virtual UART control signal. The virtual UART control signal selectively couples the serial interfaces of the first UART and the second UART together to provide remote terminal services at a remote computer system over a network” Data logger is the host device);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pedersen system with a pair of universal asynchronous receiver transmitters (UARTS) as taught by Partani. to incorporate multiple transmission protocol with serial communication with the benefit of connecting different equipment with different transmission protocols to collect data as taught by Partani with the benefits of high reliability of communication data transmission real-time, correctness on communication succession, data frame format. the reduced time delay of communication data transmission and, provides improvement in speed that directly correlates to cost savings and problem correction (Partani,Abstract, [0003]-[0005]) .
Regarding claim 2, combination of Pedersen and Partani teaches the method of
claim 1,
Pedersen further teaches further comprising storing at least a portion of the data
stream on a first memory device connected to a first memory holder of the data logger
(Pedersen, Figure 1 A, [0020] “The microprocessor 20 interacts with other
subsystems of the data logger 10 such as a memory 26 which stores the data
transmitted from the autoclave 12”).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Pedersen and Partani teaches the method of
claim 2,
Pedersen further teaches wherein the first memory device comprises a micro SD card (Pedersen, [0021] “the memory 26 is in the form of a secure digital (SD) memory card 28 that is removably mounted within a corresponding memory card receiving slot or opening 30 disposed in the casing 12 as shown, for instance in FIGS. 1 and 5”).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Pedersen and Partani teaches the method of
claim 2,
Pedersen further teaches comprising:(a) detecting whether a second memory device is connected to a second memory holder of the data logger; and (b) upon determining the second memory device is connected to the second memory holder, transferring at least a portion of the data stream stored on the first memory device to the second memory device (Pedersen, [0021], Figure 5, “The SD memory card 28 stores the data transmitted from the autoclave 12 and can be removed from the data logger 10 so that the data can be transferred to a different computer or a back-up storage device and re-inserted or replaced for use with the data logger 10, as needed. Other forms of memory devices are also contemplated and include hard drives, removable hard drives, USB sticks, etc. Removable memory in the form of an SD card etc. permits data to be transferred to a computer or other data storage device for long term storage”).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Pedersen and Partani teaches the method of
claim 4,
Pedersen further teaches wherein the second memory device comprises a USB stick. (Pedersen, [0021], Figure 5, “Other forms of memory devices are also
contemplated and include hard drives, removable hard drives, USB sticks, etc”).
Regarding claim 8, combination of Pedersen and Coyle teaches the method of claim 7,
Pedersen further teaches further comprising:(a) in response to determining the error has not occurred in the sterilizing cycle, prompting a user to accept or reject a record of the sterilizing cycle; and (b) in response to the user accepting the record of the
sterilizing cycle, including an acceptance descriptor in the data stream (Pedersen,
Figures 1 A, 7-8,(0025], [0026] [0025] “If the cycle is determined to be complete at
step 46, the data file stored by the memory and/or on the SD memory card 28 is
closed and the microprocessor 20 operates to return the system to step 36 to
check for incoming data from the autoclave 12.” [0026] If, at step 46, it is
determined that the cycle is not complete, the system continues to check for
incoming data at step 36. If incoming data is detected and it is determined
that the incoming data from the autoclave 12 is part of a current sterilization cycle
that already has an assigned cycle number and file name at step 38, the system
then operates to receive and save the incoming data to the memory 26 an/or
SD memory card 28 to the same cycle number and file number created based on
the cycle number and to update the visual display screen 18 to the current data
related to the sterilization cycle associated with the same cycle number at
steps 42 and 44. Accordingly, at any one time during the sterilization process, the
specific cycle number and data associated with the specific stage of the
sterilization process can be viewed on the visual display screen 18”).
Regarding claim 9, combination of Pedersen and Partani teaches the method of claim 8,
Pedersen further teaches further comprising:(a) in response to the user accepting the
record of the sterilizing cycle, prompting the user to enter a personal identifier; and (b)
including the personal identifier in the data stream. (Pedersen, [0034], Figure 1 A, 7-8,
when the autoclave has concluded a sterilization cycle the operator will be
prompted by visual indicators on the touchscreen to verify that the critical
parameters have been met following which the operator can input his or her name
or other identifier into the touchscreen so that the individual verifying the
sterilization cycle can be tracked. In that manner, the date and time of the
sterilization cycle, the sterilization parameters, the fact that the sterilization has
been verified, and an indication of the individual who conducted the verification,
can all be stored together for later access if necessary).
Regarding claim 10, combination of Pedersen and Partani teaches the method of claim 8,
Pedersen further teaches further comprising inserting the data logger into a slot defined
by the sterilizer (Pedersen, 0017] Referring now to FIGS. 1-8, there is shown a data
logger 10 according to an example embodiment of the present disclosure. The
data logger 10 is designed to electronically record and display sterilization cycles
from medical and dental sterilizers, is configured for use with a dental
or medical autoclave 12, and is mounted externally to the autoclave 12 as shown
in FIG. 8. lt is a design choice how to attach the data logger).
Regarding claim 11, combination of Pedersen and Partani teaches the method of claim 1,
Pedersen is silent on use of a specific protocol such as a TTL protocol for serial
communication or a RS-232 protocol for serial communication.
However, Partani teaches the standard data transfer protocol used for serial
communication. wherein the first data transfer protocol is a TTL protocol for serial communication, wherein the second data transfer protocol is a RS-232 protocol for serial communication (Partani, [0020] The local communication connection 108,109 to the server farm 102 may be a local area network connection (LAN) or a serial communication connection, such as RS232 or universal serial bus (USB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pedersen system with a pair of universal asynchronous receiver transmitters (UARTS) as taught by Partani. to incorporate multiple transmission protocol with serial communication with the benefit of connecting different equipment with different transmission protocols to collect data as taught by Partani with the benefits of high reliability of communication data transmission real-time, correctness on communication succession, data frame format. the reduced time delay of communication data transmission and, provides improvement in speed that directly correlates to cost savings and problem correction (Partani, Abstract, [0003]-[0005]) .
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen and in view of Partani as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Coyle et al. (US 6,789,030 B1, hereinafter Coyle, previously cited).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Pedersen and Partani teaches the method of claim 1,
Pedersen teaches a sterilizer connected to a data logger (Pedersen, Figure 6)
and Pedersen is silent on connecting a second sterilizer to the data logger.
However, Coyle teaches a portable data logger which can be connected to any measurement instrument. Examiner interpreted that Coyle”s portable data collector can be connected to any number of sterilizers/ instrument. Therefore, “a second sterilizer” is another instrument the data collector of Coyle can connect to and collect sterilizer cycle data.
Coyle teaches, further comprising:(b) connecting the data logger (Coyle, Figure 78, connect host/instrument) to a second sterilizer (Coyle, Instrument) via the serial data input circuit (Coyle, Figure 9, serial input/output circuitry 250);(c) performing a second sterilizing cycle by the second sterilizer (Pedersen teaches sterilization cycles); and(d) after the second sterilizing cycle, transmitting a second data stream from the second sterilizer to the data logger via the serial data input circuit, wherein the second data stream is formatted in the second data transfer protocol ((Coyle, Figure 9, serial input/output circuitry 250”;Col, 14, lines 10-13, Ethernet, UART, auto-point ID, and 20 MHz clock circuitry 248;. Coyle, Figures 16-18, and Figure 22, Col. 19, Lines 55-58, “Ethernet Controller, UART and Auto-Point ID These interfaces are controlled by the SCC2 serial communications controller of the microcontroller 280 (please see FIGS. 16 through 18). This can be configured to implement several different serial communication protocols”. Figure 1, Col 20. Lines 47-49, “The portable data collector and analyzer apparatus 10 also include an RS232 interface that preferably provides three transmit and five receive channels for RS232C signals”. Figure 1, Col 20. Lines 61-67, “Auto-point Identification The portable data collector and analyzer apparatus 10 includes an auto-point identification circuit which is preferably comprised of a very simple 5 V TTL compatible 65 interface connectable to an external barcode reader or some other form of automatic identification with a serial data stream output” NOTE: any of the above protocol could referred as second protocol.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pedersen system with the potable data collector /data logger of Coyle to incorporate multiple transmission protocol with serial communication with the benefit of connecting different equipment with different transmission protocols to collect data as taught by Coyle (Coyle, Figure 1, 22, 16, 18, 22, and Col 19, lines 50-60, Col 20 lines 61-67, Figures 72—74) with the benefits of high reliability of communication data transmission real-time, correctness on communication succession, data frame format. the reduced time delay of communication data transmission and, provides improvement in speed that directly correlates to cost savings and problem correction (Coyle, Col 6, Lines 45-63).
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen and i in further view of Coyle et al. (US 6,789,030 B1, hereinafter Coyle, previously cited).
Regarding Claim 12, Pedersen teaches
A method comprising:(a) connecting a data logger to a first sterilizer (Pedersen, Figure 1A,6,8, [0018] “The data logger 10 includes a data connector cable 16 that connects the data logger 10 to the corresponding dental or medical autoclave 12 / sterilizer”).;
(b) performing a sterilizing cycle by the first sterilizer (Pedersen, Figure 1, Figure 7-8, The data logger 10 is designed to electronically record and display sterilization cycles from medical and dental sterilizers, is configured for use with a dental or medical autoclave 12);
(c) after the sterilizing cycle,
(i) prior to transmitting a first data stream from the first sterilizer to the data logger, automatically sending a query from the data logger to the first sterilizer to determine whether an error has occurred in the sterilizing cycle, and to determine whether an error has occurred in the sterilizing cycle (Pedersen, [0019], “The data transmitted to the microprocessor 20 from the autoclave 12 relates to information associated with the various sterilization cycles that occur during regular operation of the autoclave such as, for example, data relating to the temperature and/or pressure achieved during a particular cycle, the duration of each cycle or stage of cycle, etc. Also see Figure 7 steps 36-step 46”. Figure 7,[0024], “the incoming data is received by the microprocessor 20 and is saved to the corresponding data file in the memory 26 and/or SD memory card 28 at step 42. As the data is being received and saved to the memory, the data is also simultaneously displayed on the visual display screen 18 at step 44. The receiving, saving and displaying of data continues until the microprocessor 20 operates via the operating software 32 to determine whether the cycle is complete at step 46” NOTE: the data associated with a sterilization cycle is transmitted after the sterilization cycle is complete. The sterilization process is an automatic process and continue until the sterilization cycle is complete. It is understood that the sterilization data associated with the sterilization cycles related to the sterilization cycles of a dental or medical autoclave or sterilizer consists of both standard parameters and incomplete cycle or sterilization error data which are generated at the autoclave when the standard parameters are not met, Examiner interpreted that an error occurs when display screen shows that critical parameters minimum values are not met and transferred data after sterilization is complete. It is known in the art that a data logger automatically monitor and record environmental conditions and parameters via their sensor components, then storing the resulting data in their internal memory.)
And
(ii, ) transmitting the first data stream from the first sterilizer to the data logger via a serial data input circuit Pedersen, [0018]” The data logger 10 includes a data connector cable 16 that connects the data logger 10 to the corresponding dental or medical autoclave 12”, [0019], “Alternately, both the autoclave and the microprocessor may be fitted with wireless communication means (eg Bluetooth, etc) top permit a wireless transmission of data”. [0036] “In a further embodiment of the invention, data logger 10 may include a barcode seamier 102 as well as, in some instances”. NOTE: It is known in the field of art that Communication protocols are required to exchange information between computers/ microcontrollers and instruments. Examiner interpreted that at least a first protocol is used by the prior art during data transfer from the autoclaves)
wherein the first data stream includes an error descriptor if an error occurred in the sterilizing cycle (Pedersen, Figure 1A,6,8, [0019], “The data transmitted to the microprocessor 20 from the autoclave 12 relates to information associated with the various sterilization cycles that occur during regular operation of the autoclave such as, for example, data relating to the temperature and/or pressure achieved during a particular cycle, the duration of each cycle or stage of cycle, etc.” NOTE: it is interpreted by the examiner that the data transmitted from the autoclave includes both parameters value which met the standard requirement and parameters value which did not met the standard requirement. Any automatic sterilization process generates all sets of data including errors are known in the industry.),
, Pedersen is silent on
wherein the first data stream is formatted in a TTL protocol for serial communication
(d) disconnecting the data logger from the first sterilizer;
(e) after disconnecting the data logger from the first sterilizer connecting the data logger to a second sterilizer, the second sterilizer being different from the first sterilizer;
(f) performing a second sterilizing cycle by the second sterilizer;
and(g) after the second sterilizing cycle,,
(ii) transmitting a second data stream from the second sterilizer to the data logger via the serial data input circuit, wherein the second data stream is formatted in a RS-232 protocol for serial communication, wherein the second data stream includes an error descriptor if an error occurred in the second sterilizing cycle.
Pedersen teaches a sterilizer connected to a data logger (Pedersen, Figure 6)
and Pedersen is silent on connecting a second sterilizer to the data logger.
However, Coyle teaches a portable data logger which can be connected to any measurement instrument. Examiner interpreted that Coyle”s portable data collector can be connected to any number of sterilizers/ instrument. Therefore, “a second sterilizer” is another instrument the data collector of Coyle can connect to and collect sterilizer cycle data.
Coyle teaches, wherein the first data stream is formatted in a TTL protocol for serial communication. (Coyle Col 20. Lines 61-67, “Auto-point Identification The portable data collector and analyzer apparatus 10 includes an auto-point identification circuit which is preferably comprised of a very simple 5 V TTL compatible 65 interface connectable to an external barcode reader or some other form of automatic identification with a serial data stream output”)
(d) disconnecting the data logger (Coyle, Figure 78, Disconnect host/instrument ) from the first sterilizer(Pedersen teaches sterilization NOTE: instrument is interpreted as sterilizer);:(e) after disconnecting the data logger from the first sterilizer connecting the data logger (Coyle, Figure 78, connect host/instrument) to a second sterilizer (Coyle, Instrument) via the serial data input circuit (Coyle, Figure 9, serial input/output circuitry 250); (f) performing a second sterilizing cycle by the second sterilizer; (Pedersen teaches sterilization cycles); and(g) after the second sterilizing cycle, (Pedersen teaches sterilization cycles); (ii) transmitting a second data stream from the second sterilizer to the data logger via the serial data input circuit, wherein the second data stream is formatted in a RS-232 protocol for serial communication, wherein the second data stream includes an error descriptor if an error occurred in the second sterilizing cycle..((Coyle, Figure 9, serial input/output circuitry 250”;Col, 14, lines 10-13, Ethernet, UART, auto-point ID, and 20 MHz clock circuitry 248;. Coyle, Figures 16-18, and Figure 22, Col. 19, Lines 55-58, “Ethernet Controller, UART and Auto-Point ID These interfaces are controlled by the SCC2 serial communications controller of the microcontroller 280 (please see FIGS. 16 through 18). This can be configured to implement several different serial communication protocols”. Figure 1, Col 20. Lines 47-49, “The portable data collector and analyzer apparatus 10 also include an RS232 interface that preferably provides three transmit and five receive channels for RS232C signals”.” NOTE: RS232C protocol could refer as second protocol.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pedersen system with the potable data collector /data logger of Coyle to incorporate multiple transmission protocol with serial communication with the benefit of connecting different equipment with different transmission protocols to collect data as taught by Coyle (Coyle, Figure 1, 22, 16, 18, 22, and Col 19, lines 50-60, Col 20 lines 61-67, Figures 72—74) with the benefits of high reliability of communication data transmission real-time, correctness on communication succession, data frame format. the reduced time delay of communication data transmission and, provides improvement in speed that directly correlates to cost savings and problem correction (Coyle, Col 6, Lines 45-63).
Regarding claim 13, Combination of Pedersen and Coyle teaches the method of
claim 12,
Pedersen further teaches further comprising storing at least a portion of the first
data stream and the second data stream on a first memory device connected to a first
memory holder of the data logger (Pedersen, Figure 1 A, 0020] The microprocessor
20 interacts with other subsystems of the data logger 10 such as a memory 26
which stores the data transmitted from the autoclave 12).
Regarding claim 14, Combination of Pedersen and Coyle teaches the method of claim 13,
Pedersen is silent on further comprising:(a) upon receiving the first data stream from the first sterilizer, standardizing the first data stream into a standardized data stream format; and(b) upon receiving the second data stream from the second sterilizer, standardizing the second data stream into the standardized data stream format.
However, Coyle teaches further comprising:(a) upon receiving the first data stream from the first sterilizer, standardizing the first data stream into a standardized data stream format; and(b) upon receiving the second data stream from the second sterilizer, standardizing the second data stream into the standardized data stream format. .(Coyle, Col 19, lines 50-60, “ Ethernet Controller, UART and Auto-Point ID
FIG. 22 shows a detailed schematic of the Ethernet, UART and Auto-Point ID circuitry 248 shown in HG. 9. FIG. 14B shows a schematic view of an Ethernet connector for the Ethernet circuitry. These interfaces are controlled by the SCC2 serial communications controller of the microcontroller 280 (please see FIGS. 16 through 18). This can be configured to implement several different serial communication protocols. The SCC2 does not include the physical interface, but is the logic that formats and manipulates the data obtained from the physical interface”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pedersen system with the potable data collector /data logger of Coyle to incorporate multiple transmission protocol with serial communication with the benefit of connecting different equipment with different transmission protocols to collect data as taught by Coyle (Coyle, Figure 1, 22, 16, 18, 22, and Col 19, lines 50-60, Col 20 lines 61-67, Figures 72—74) with the benefits of high reliability of communication data transmission real-time, correctness on communication succession, data frame format. the reduced time delay of communication data transmission and, provides improvement in speed that directly correlates to cost savings and problem correction (Coyle, Col 6, Lines 45-63).
Regarding claim 15, Combination of Pedersen and Coyle teaches the method of
Pedersen further teaches comprising:(a) detecting whether a second memory
device is connected to a second memory holder of the data logger; and (b) upon
determining a second memory device is connected to the second memory holder,
storing at least a portion of the first data stream and the second data stream on the
second memory device. (Pedersen, [0021], Figure 5, The SD memory card 28
stores the data transmitted from the autoclave 12 and can be removed from the
data logger 10 so that the data can be transferred to a different computer or a
back-up storage device and re-inserted or replaced for use with the data logger
10, as needed. Other forms of memory devices are also contemplated and include
hard drives, removable hard drives, USB sticks, etc. Removable memory in the
form of an SD card etc. permits data to be transferred to a computer or other data
storage device for long term storage).
Regarding claim 16, Combination of Pedersen and Coyle teaches the method of
claim 15,
Pedersen further teaches wherein the second memory device comprises a USB
stick (Pedersen, [0021], Figure 5, Other forms of memory devices are also
contemplated and include hard drives, removable hard drives, USB sticks, etc).
Regarding claim 17, Combination of Pedersen and Coyle teaches the method of
claim 12,
Pedersen further teaches further comprising:(a) prior to transmitting the data
stream from the first sterilizer to the data logger, prompting a user to accept or reject a
record of the sterilizing cycle; and (b) in response to the user accepting the record of the
sterilizing cycle, including a personal identifier of the user in the first data stream
(Pedersen, Figure 7-8, (0034], [0035] when the autoclave has concluded a
sterilization cycle the operator will be prompted by visual indicators on the
touchscreen 101 to verify that the critical parameters have been met following
which the operator can input the date and time of the sterilization cycle, the
sterilization parameters, the fact that the sterilization has been verified, and an
indication of the individual who conducted the verification, can all be stored
together for later access if necessary (please see figure 7 step 40-46). In some
instances local requirements or practices require that sterilization indicators
accompany instruments that are loaded into an autoclave. Commonly such
indicators change color or are otherwise modified to provide a visual
confirmation that sterilization parameters have been met or exceeded. In such
instances, the operator may be prompted to also verify the condition of any such
indicator as a further or secondary check to ensure that the sterilization
parameters have been met).
Regarding claim 18, Pedersen teaches
A data logger (Pedersen, Figure 1A,6,8, [0018] “The data logger 10 includes a data connector cable 16 that connects the data logger 10 to the corresponding dental or medical autoclave 12 / sterilizer”) comprising:
(a) a serial data input circuit configured to receive a wired data stream from a sterilizer (Pedersen, [0019], Figure 1A,“The data connector cable 16 connects to the printed circuit board 22 for transmitting data from the autoclave 12 to the microprocessor 20”).
wherein the wired data stream comprises one of an error descriptor and an acceptance descriptor, wherein the error descriptor is automatically selectively embedded into the wired data stream prior to the wired data stream being transferred from the sterilizer to the serial data input circuit, wherein the error descriptor includes a cause for an error of the sterilizer, wherein the acceptance descriptor is manually selectively embedded into the wired data stream prior to the wired data stream being transferred from the sterilizer to the serial data input circuit to thereby be embedded before being received by a processor ( Pedersen, [0019], “The data transmitted to the microprocessor 20 from the autoclave 12 relates to information associated with the various sterilization cycles that occur during regular operation of the autoclave such as, for example, data relating to the temperature and/or pressure achieved during a particular cycle, the duration of each cycle or stage of cycle, etc. Also see Figure 7 steps 36-step 46”. Figure 7 [0034], when the autoclave has concluded a sterilization cycle the operator will be prompted by visual indicators on the touchscreen to verify that the critical parameters have been met (typically that a minimum temperature and pressure have been reached for a minimum required length of time) following which the operator can input his or her name or other identifier into the touchscreen so that the individual verifying the sterilization cycle can be tracked. In that manner, the date and time of the sterilization cycle, the sterilization parameters, the fact that the sterilization has been verified, and an indication of the individual who conducted the verification, can all be stored together for later access if necessary. ” NOTE: Examiner interpreted that acceptance descriptor is a parameter value or threshold value that met the required standard parameter value and error descriptor are parameter value that did not meet the required standard value. color coded displayed on the screen and types of parameters such as temperature, pressure or Time. These data automatically generated during the sterilization process. A descriptor is a parameter value or threshold value and types of parameters such as temperature, pressure or Time);
(b) a first memory holder configured to receive a first memory device; and (c) the processor, wherein the processor is configured to receive data from the serial data input circuit and store the data on the first memory device via the first memory holder.
(Pedersen, Figure 1 A, 0020] The microprocessor 20 interacts with other
subsystems of the data logger 10 such as a memory 26 which stores the data
transmitted from the autoclave 12).
Pedersen is silent on wherein the data stream comprises one of a first data transfer protocol and a second data transfer protocol
However, Coyle teaches wherein the data stream comprises one of a first data transfer protocol and a second data transfer protocol (Coyle, Figures 16-18, and Figure 22, Col. 19, Lines 55-58, “Ethernet Controller, UART and Auto-Point ID These interfaces are controlled by the SCC2 serial communications controller of the microcontroller 280 (please see FIGS. 16 through 18). This can be configured to implement several different serial communication protocols”. Figure 1, Col 20. Lines 47-49, “The portable data collector and analyzer apparatus 10 also include an RS232 interface that preferably provides three transmit and five receive channels for RS232C signals”. Figure 1, Col 20. Lines 61-67, “Auto-point Identification The portable data collector and analyzer apparatus 10 includes an auto-point identification circuit which is preferably comprised of a very simple 5 V TTL compatible 65 interface connectable to an external barcode reader or some
other form of automatic identification with a serial data stream output”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pedersen system with the potable data collector /data logger of Coyle to incorporate multiple transmission protocol with serial communication with the benefit of connecting different equipment with different transmission protocols to collect data as taught by Coyle (Coyle, Figure 1, 22, 16, 18, 22, and Col 19, lines 50-60, Col 20 lines 61-67, Figures 72—74) with the benefits of high reliability of communication data transmission real-time, correctness on communication succession, data frame format. the reduced time delay of communication data transmission and, provides improvement in speed that directly correlates to cost savings and problem correction (Coyle, Col 6, Lines 45-63).
Regarding claim 19, Combination of Pedersen and Coyle teaches the method of
claim 18,
Pedersen further teaches further comprising a second memory holder configured to receive a second memory device, wherein the processor is configured to determine
whether the second memory device is present in the second memory holder, wherein
the processor is configured receive data from data input circuit and store the data on the
second memory device via the second memory holder if the processor determines the
second memory device is present in the second memory holder (Pedersen, (Pedersen,
[0021], Figure 5, The SD memory card 28 stores the data transmitted from the
autoclave 12 and can be removed from the data logger 10 so that the data can be
transferred to a different computer or a back-up storage device and re-inserted or
replaced for use with the data logger 10, as needed. Other forms of memory
devices are also contemplated and include hard drives, removable hard drives,
USB sticks, etc. Removable memory in the form of an SD card etc. permits data to
be transferred to a computer or other data storage device for long term storage).
Even though Pedersen teaches data transmit between the microprocessor and
the sterilizer via input module, Pedersen is silent on use of a serial data input circuit.
However, Coyle teaches the standard data transfer protocol used for serial
communication.
A data serial input circuit communication (Coyle, Figure 9, serial input/output circuitry 250).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pedersen system with the potable data collector /data logger of Coyle to incorporate multiple transmission protocol with serial communication with the benefit of connecting different equipment with different transmission protocols to collect data as taught by Coyle (Coyle, Figure 1, 22, 16, 18, 22, and Col 19, lines 50-60, Col 20 lines 61-67, Figures 72—74) with the benefits of high reliability of communication data transmission real-time, correctness on communication succession, data frame format. the reduced time delay of communication data transmission and, provides improvement in speed that directly correlates to cost savings and problem correction (Coyle, Col 6, Lines 45-63).
Regarding claim 20, Combination of Pedersen and Coyle teaches the method of
claim 18,
Pedersen is silent on use of a specific protocol such as a TTL protocol for serial
communication or a RS-232 protocol for serial communication.
However, Coyle teaches the standard data transfer protocol used for serial
communication. wherein the first data transfer protocol is a TTL protocol for serial communication, wherein the second data transfer protocol is a RS-232 protocol for serial communication (Coyle, Figures 16-18, and Figure 22, Col. 19, Lines 55-58, “Ethernet Controller, UART and Auto-Point ID These interfaces are controlled by the SCC2 serial communications controller of the microcontroller 280 (please see FIGS. 16 through 18). This can be configured to implement several different serial communication protocols”. Figure 1, Col 20. Lines 47-49, “The portable data collector and analyzer apparatus 10 also include an RS232 interface that preferably provides three transmit and five receive channels for RS232C signals”. Figure 1, Col 20. Lines 61-67, “Auto-point Identification The portable data collector and analyzer apparatus 10 includes an auto-point identification circuit which is preferably comprised of a very simple 5 V TTL compatible 65 interface connectable to an external barcode reader or some other form of automatic identification with a serial data stream output”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pedersen system with the potable data collector /data logger of Coyle to incorporate multiple transmission protocol with serial communication with the benefit of connecting different equipment with different transmission protocols to collect data as taught by Coyle (Coyle, Figure 1, 22, 16, 18, 22, and Col 19, lines 50-60, Col 20 lines 61-67, Figures 72—74) with the benefits of high reliability of communication data transmission real-time, correctness on communication succession, data frame format. the reduced time delay of communication data transmission and, provides improvement in speed that directly correlates to cost savings and problem correction (Coyle, Col 6, Lines 45-63).
Regarding claim 21, Combination of Pedersen and Coyle teaches the method of
claim 12,
Pedersen further teaches further comprising:(a) in response to determining the error has not occurred in the sterilizing cycle, prompting a user to accept or reject a record of the sterilizing cycle; and(b) in response to the user accepting the record of the sterilizing cycle, including an acceptance descriptor in the data stream. (Pedersen, Figure 7, [0024], “the incoming data is received by the microprocessor 20 and is saved to the corresponding data file in the memory 26 and/or SD memory card 28 at step 42. As the data is being received and saved to the memory, the data is also simultaneously displayed on the visual display screen 18 at step 44. The receiving, saving and displaying of data continues until the microprocessor 20 operates via the operating software 32 to determine whether the cycle is complete at step 46”. [0028] The re-play mode is triggered at the end of each recorded sterilization cycle and the parameters such as temperature, pressure and time, are replayed on the display screen in a continuous loop until the next cycle is selected or started. The loop replays back in an accelerated mode allowing all the parameters to be displayed in about 15-20
seconds. This feature allows the operator to visual verify that the sterilization parameters where completed successfully in accordance with the requirements of predetermined standards. This information is also recorded to the SD card under year and month folders).
Conclusions
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Oh et al. (US 2018/0083765 A1) recites “Techniques to operate circuitry in an integrated circuit are provided. The circuitry may include a receiver circuit and
one of the provided techniques includes receiving a data stream at the receiver circuit. The receiver circuit may include a detector circuit that is used to determine the data
rate of the received data stream. A controller block in the receiver circuit may accordingly configure a deserializer circuit in the receiver circuit based on the data rate of the received data stream. The circuitry may further include a transmitter circuit for transmitting data streams. The transmitter circuit may be configured during runtime based on the data rate of a data stream that is being transmitted. In some
instances, irrespective of the data rate of the data stream being transmitted, a constant reference clock may be used in the transmitter circuit” (Abstract)
Bradshaw et al. (US 2008/0040765 A1) discloses “A method provides a bidirectional communication protocol for data communication between a first device and a second device. The method includes: during a first time interval, transmitting data from the first device to the second device; and during a second time interval, (a) after the occurrence of a first event, (i) suspending data transmission from the first device to the second device; and (ii) transmitting control data from the second device to the first device; and (b) after the occurrence of a second event, transmitting control data from the first device to the second device” (abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
supervisor, EMAN ALKAFAWI can be reached on (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DILARA SULTANA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
06/05/2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 6/10/2026