DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a Final office action in response to application Serial No. 17/197,209. Claim(s) 1-7 have been examined and fully considered.
Claim(s) 1-7 are pending in Instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments/Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/04/2025, with respect to Claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Per remarks, Applicants states that the prior art fails to disclose: a signal processor configured to sample a processing target signal corresponding to the reception wave and acquire a difference signal based on a difference between a value of the processing target signal for at least one sample corresponding to a reception wave received at a certain detection timing and an average value of values of the processing target signals for a plurality of samples corresponding to a reception wave received in at least one of a first period and a second period respectively.
Furthermore, BRI, it is interpreted that the difference between the first beam pattern created by the first beam emission and the second beam pattern created by the second beam emission to create and compare multiple cross section of detected objects near the vehicle. The resulting comparison of the radar cross sections function as the difference signal which is based on the difference between the first beam pattern and the second beam pattern. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in addition to Choi, in view of Sugae (Pub . No .: US 2019/0377074).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama et al. (Pub. No.: US 2010/0220550; previously recorded), hereinafter, referred to as “Akiyama” in view of Choi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0155304; previously recorded), hereinafter, referred to as “Choi”; and in view of Moriuchi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0247180), hereinafter, referred to as “Moriuchi” and in view of Surge (Pub . No .: US 2019/0377074).
Regarding [claim 1], Akiyama discloses an object detection system (see at least Paragraph [0027]: “FIGS. 1 to 5. FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing an electric connection of an obstacle detection apparatus 1”), comprising:
a transmitter (“an ultrasonic transmitter (transmission unit) 4”) configured to transmit a transmission wave (see at least Paragraph [0028]: “The transmission and reception device 3 includes an ultrasonic transmitter (transmission unit) 4 for transmitting an ultrasonic wave as a sensing wave”); a receiver (“ultrasonic receiver 5”) configured to receive a reception wave which is the transmission wave reflected and returned by an object (see at least Paragraph [0027]: “a transmission and reception device 3.”; and [0028]: “an ultrasonic receiver (reception unit) 5 for receiving a ultrasonic wave returning as a reflective wave. The ultrasonic transmitter 4 and the ultrasonic receiver 5 are individual components integrated into one sensor body. The integrated ultrasonic transmitter 4 and the ultrasonic receiver 5 are configured to transmit an ultrasonic wave to a detection area and receive the ultrasonic wave, which reflects on a detected object to return as a reflective wave from the detection area”); at least one processor (see at least Paragraph [0027]: “an electronic control unit (ECU) 2”) configured to implement:
a signal processor (“a transmission signal generating unit 2a”)…
a detection processor (“an obstacle detection device”) configured to detect, based on a value of the difference signal, a distance to the object at the detection timing a plurality of times with a lapse of time (see at least Paragraph [0028]: “The ultrasonic transmitter 4 is configured to output the sensing wave repeatedly at a predetermined interval.”; and [0030]: “Subsequently, a detecting operation of an obstacle will be described with reference to FIGS. 3, 4. FIG. 3 shows a processing of an obstacle recognition program executed by the ECU 2… FIGS. 4A to 4C shows an operation of the obstacle recognition program in detail. Specifically, FIG. 4A shows a case where an obstacle is a near road-surface obstacle P, which is close to a road Surface. Such as a wheel stopper and a curbstone. FIG. 4B shows a case where an obstacle is another obstacle Q other than the near road-surface obstacle P. such as a wall and a pole. FIG. 4C shows detection signals being different in response to the kind of the obstacles P and Q.” [0031]-[0033]: “Subsequently, at S3, the ECU 2 causes the obstacle recognition unit (object determination unit) 2e to determine whether the calculated value of the peak value difference is a negative value. When the peak value difference is a negative value, S3 makes a positive determination. In this case, at S4. the obstacle recognition unit 2e determines that the detected object, which generates the reflective wave, is a near-road Surface obstacle P Such as a wheel stopper and a curbstone. Alternatively, when the peak value difference is a positive value, S3 makes a negative determination.”); and an identification processor (“an obstacle recognition unit 2e”) configured to identify the object based on a transition, with the lapse of time, between a distance to the object and a value of the processing target signal at a first detection timing at which the distance to the object is detected (see at least Paragraph [0033]-[0034] and [0042]: “the ECU 2 is provided with a function to detect a reception time T between transmission of the transmitted signal and reception of a reflective wave, in addition to the function to detect a peak value using the peak value detecting unit 2b. Further, as shown in FIG. 7, the obstacle recognition unit 2e calculates a horizontal distanced in accordance with a relationship between a linear distance D, which is obtained from the reception time T, and a height H of the position of the transmission and reception device”); and a distance to the object and a value of the processing target signal at a second detection timing occurring at the lapse of time after the first detection timing at which the distance to the object is again detected (see at least Paragraph [0038]: “when the automobile 10 moves to a position closer than the distance dB, the change in the peak values becomes different from each other. When the peak value difference is a negative value, the peak value become Smaller. In this case, the obstacle can be recognized to be a near-road-surface obstacle P. Alternatively, when the peak value difference is a positive value, the peak-value become larger. In this case, the obstacle can be recognized to be another obstacle Q.”; and [0039]: “FIG. 5 shows a result obtained by an actual measurement. In FIG. 5, a horizontal axis indicates a horizontal distance from an obstacle, and a vertical axis indicates a peak value of a reflective wave. For example, when the distances to obstacles P, Q, which are detected objects, become small from 0.9 m to 0.6 m, both the peak values substantially become large. Thereafter, as the distances to the obstacles P, Q become further Small, the peak value in case of a near-road-surface obstacle P becomes Smaller, and the peak value in case of another obstacle Q Substantially continues to become larger. Thereby, when the automobile 10 moves backward closer to a detected object by a distance of 0.5 m, the detected object can be determined to be a near-road-surface. obstacle Por another obstacle Q.” wherein, the distance to the object and the value of the processing target signal at the first detection timing correspond to a first distance to the object and a first value of the processing target signal (see at least Paragraphs [0028]: “The ultrasonic transmitter 4 is configured to output an ultrasonic wave as a sensing wave at a predetermined frequency in a range of 20 to 100 kHz. The ultrasonic transmitter 4 is configured to output a sensing wave including continuous ten to several tens of pulses at one time. The ultrasonic transmitter 4 is configured to output the sensing wave repeatedly at a predetermined interval. The ultrasonic transmitter 4 is configured to output an ultrasonic wave in a predetermined angular range in a direction of a transmission plane. The ultrasonic receiver 5 is configured to receive a reflective wave from a detection area S in a predetermined angle range C. in a direction of a reception plane”; [0030]: “FIGS. 4A to 4C shows an operation of the obstacle recognition program in detail. Specifically, FIG. 4A shows a case where an obstacle is a near road-surface obstacle P, which is close to a road surface. Such as a wheel stopper and a curbstone. FIG. 4B shows a case where an obstacle is another obstacle Q other than the near road-surface obstacle P. such as a wall and a pole. FIG. 4C shows detection signals being different in response to the kind of the obstacles P and Q” and [0037]: “a component of a reflective wave received by the ultrasonic receiver 5 of the transmission and reception device 3 is rapidly decreased, and hence the obtained peak value is also lowered. On the other hand, even when the automobile 10 moves closer to the other obstacle Q, the other obstacle Q exists inside of the detection area S. Therefore, even when the automobile 10 approaches from the distance dA to the distance dC, the obtained peak value of a reflective wave is still a large value.”; [0038]: “Consequently, as shown in FIG. 4C, change in the peak values show a difference therebetween according to the horizontal distanced between the transmission and reception device 3 and one of the near-road-surface obstacle P and the other obstacle Q. Specifically, when the automobile 10 moves to a position closer than the distance dB, the change in the peak values becomes different from each other. When the peak value difference is a negative value, the peak value become smaller. In this case, the obstacle can be recognized to be a near-road-surface obstacle P. Alternatively, when the peak value difference is a positive value, the peak-value become larger. In this case, the obstacle can be recognized to be another obstacle Q”), respectively, the distance to the object and the value of the processing target signal at the second detection timing correspond to a second distance to the object and a second value of the processing target signal (see at least Paragraph [0035]: “In FIG. 4A, at the position of the automobile 10A, the near-road-surface obstacle P exists at a distance dA in the detection area SA of the transmission and reception device 3. At the position of the automobile 10B, the near-road-surface obstacle P exists at a distance dB and located in a boundary of the detection area SB. At the position of the automobile 10C. the near-road-surface obstacle P exists at a distance dC and located outside of the detection area SC. On the other hand, in FIG. 4B, at any of the positions of the automobile 10A to 10C. the other obstacle Q, which is a pole, exists in the corresponding detection areas SA to SC of the transmission and reception device”; and [0059]: “FIG. 14A shows the automobile 10 located at a position 10B at a horizontal distance dB from a near-road surface obstacle P. At this time, the detection area FB of the ultrasonic receiver 20 located at the low position is in a range in which the ultrasonic receiver 20 is capable of receiving a reflective wave from a near-road-surface obstacle P. The transmission and reception device 3 has not determined a kind of a detected object”), respectively, and the identification processor identifies the object based on the transition, with the lapse of time, between the first distance and the second distance and between the first value of the processing target signal and the second value of the processing target signal (see at least Paragraph [0064]: “reception device 210 instead of the transmission and reception device 3 and configured to detect an obstacle behind the automobile 10 in the horizontal direction. The transmission and reception device 210 includes the ultrasonic transmitter 4 and two ultrasonic receivers 22, 23. The two ultrasonic receivers 22, 23 are at a distance w from each other in the horizontal direction. The distance w is equivalent to a half-wave length (w/2) of a transmitted ultrasonic wave.”; and [0064]: “The ECU 2 detects a phase difference Acp of a reflective wave received by the two ultrasonic receivers 22, 23. Further, one or two of the ultrasonic receivers 22, 23 detects a peak value of a reflective wave to recognize a kind of a detected object” and [0068]-[0069]: “Alternatively, when the ECU 2 determines a detected object to be another obstacle Q, at S12, the ECU 2 calculates the azimuth angled from the formula (1) based on the phase difference Ap detected by the two ultrasonic receivers 22, 23. FIG. 18 is a graph showing a correlation between the horizontal phase difference Acp and the horizontal azimuth angle d corrected with the vertical angle 0 of 30° and a correlation between the horizontal phase difference Ap and the horizontal azimuth angled without consideration of the vertical angle 0”). a signal processor (“a transmission signal generating unit 2a”) is disclosed in the primary reference, Akiyama, however, the reference does not expressly disclose where the signal processor configured to sample a processing target signal corresponding to the reception wave and acquire a difference signal based on a difference between a value of the processing target signal for at least one sample corresponding to a reception wave received at a certain detection timing and an average value of values of the processing target signals for a plurality of samples corresponding to a reception wave received in at least one of a first period and a second period respectively existing before and after the detection timing and having a predetermined time length…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi, teaches
a signal processor (see at least Paragraph [0059]: “multiple processors which process the received signals”) configured to sample a processing target signal corresponding to the reception wave (see at least Paragraphs [0086] and [0087]; disclosing sending and receiving the transmission signal, which constitutes sampling a reception wave) and acquire a difference signal based on a difference between a value of the processing target signal for at least one sample corresponding to a reception wave received at a certain detection timing and an average value of values of the processing target signals for a plurality of samples corresponding to a reception wave received (see at least Paragraph [0086] *** Examiner notes that sending out the first emission signal which is used as the processing target signal. This is used to create a first radar cross section using detected data from the first beam pattern***; [0093]*** Examiner notes that emitting a plurality of second receive signals which when returned, creates a second beam pattern consisting of values detected from the second emission wave*** and [0101] ***Examiner notes using the difference between the first beam pattern created by the first beam emission and the second beam pattern created by the second beam emission to create and compare multiple cross section of detected objects near the vehicle. The resulting comparison of the radar cross sections function as the difference signal which is based on the difference between the first beam pattern and the second beam pattern***) in at least one of a first period and a second period respectively existing before and after the detection timing and having a predetermined time length (see at least Paragraph [0120] *** Examiner notes that for the sending and receiving of a transmission wave as described above, there is a fixed period of time used to determine the difference between the first and second period. The predetermined time is used to calculate the distance to the object and is based on the difference between the two time periods***)…
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify signal processor configured to sample a processing target signal corresponding to the reception wave and acquire a difference signal as taught by Choi, and by combining an obstacle detection apparatus as taught by Akiyama. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey improve the accuracy of the determination of a vehicle ' s path in a confined space (see at least Choi, Paragraph [0121]).
Alternatively/Additionally, Moriuchi teaches
…
where the signal processor configured to sample a processing target signal corresponding to the reception wave and acquire a difference signal based on a difference between a value of the processing target signal for at least one sample corresponding to a reception wave received at a certain detection timing and an average value of values of the processing target signals for a plurality of samples corresponding to a reception wave received in at least one of a first period and a second period respectively existing before and after the detection timing and having a predetermined time length (see, Abstract; Paragraphs [0074]-[0076] ; [0079]; [0083]; [0089]-[0091]; and [0117]-[0118]: “After the radar apparatus 1 is mounted on the vehicle CR, when the signal processing unit 18 derives the target information, it derives a Mahalanobis distance with an equation (4) by using the three parameter values of all combinations of the peak signals of the UP section and the peak signals of the DOWN section of the peaks signals of the FFT data acquired in this time processing and the average values for each of the three parameters of the plurality of normal-paired data. The signal processing unit 18 derives, as the normal paired data, paired data of this time processing having a minimum Mahalanobis distance. That is, the smaller the Mahalanobis distance, a probability of the normal-paired data becomes higher.”);
…
As Choi teaches emitting a signal from within or outside the autonomous vehicle , receives the reflected emitted signal , and analyzes the received signal to detect a range, angle, and / or velocity of objects within the vicinity of the vehicle, while determining the distance between vehicle and the object detected. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate that the object detection device which detects a nearby object by transmitting a probing wave and receiving a reflected wave from the object as taught by Moriuchi. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey the time transverse distance and the predicted transverse distance
of the object moving target is changed so that a reflection amount of this time transverse distance is increased in comparison to before the change. Thereby, it is possible to securely derive the object moving target and to perform the appropriate vehicle control for a target that is to be controlled (see, Paragraph [0030]).
Additionally, Sugae teaches
…
wherein ,the distance to the object and the value of the processing target signal at the first detection timing correspond to a first distance to the object and a first value of the processing target signal (see, Paragraphs [0244]: “According to this configuration , even in a case where the distance between the object detection system ( vehicle 1b ) and the object is rapidly changed , the distance up to the object can be prevented from deviating from the detectable range of each object detection device 100b at each detection timing . That is , the object detection system (vehicle 1b) can continuously detect the object without losing sight of the object detected once.” [0245]: “In addition, in a case where the next time distance Dnxt is the first value , the adjustment unit that can be included in each object detection device 1000 or the ECU 2006 sets the second value , as the number of bursts or the burst period of the transmission signal to be transmitted at the subsequent detection timing . In a case where the next time distance Dnxt is the third value greater than the first value , the adjustment unit sets the fourth value greater than the second value , as the number of bursts or the burst period of the transmission signal to be transmitted at the subsequent detection timing”), respectively, the distance to the object and the value of the processing target signal at the second detection timing correspond to a second distance to the object and a second value of the processing target signal, respectively, and the identification processor identifies the object based on the transition, with the lapse of time, between the first distance and the second distance and between the first value of the processing target signal and the second value of the processing target signal (see, Abstract; Paragraphs [0261]: “an estimation unit that estimates a second distance serving as the distance up to the object at a transmission timing of a second transmission signal to be transmitted subsequently to the first transmission signal , based on the first distance and the relative speed , and an adjustment unit that adjusts the number of waves or a transmission time of the second transmission signal , based on the second distance”; [0269]: “In the object detection system, the transmission/reception unit may perform encoding for assigning identification information to each of the plurality of transmission signals. In a case where the second distance is a fifth value, the adjustment unit may set a sixth value, as a code length of the identification information to be assigned to the second transmission signal, and in a case where the second distance is a seventh value greater than the fifth value, the adjustment unit may set an eighth value greater than the sixth value, as the code length of the identification information to be assigned to the second transmission signal.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further implement an object detection device includes a second distance to the object at a transmission timing of a second transmission signal to be transmitted as taught by Sugae. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey it is possible to improve accuracy in specifying the reception signal (see, Paragraph [0116]).
As to [claim 2], the combination of Akiyama, Choi, Moriuchi and Sugae teaches the object detection system according to claim 1. Akiyama further discloses wherein the identification processor is configured to identify the object depending on whether the transition shows a first tendency in which the value of the processing target signal increases as the distance to the object decreases to a predetermined distance or less or shows a second tendency in which the value of the processing target signal decreases as the distance to the object decreases to the predetermined distance or less (see at least Figure 4A-4B; and Paragraph [0035]: “In FIG. 4A, at the position of the automobile 10A, the near-road-surface obstacle P exists at a distance dA in the detection area SA of the transmission and reception device 3. At the position of the automobile 10B, the near-road-surface obstacle P exists at a distance dB and located in a boundary of the detection area SB. At the position of the automobile 10C. the near-road-surface obstacle P exists at a distance dC and located outside of the detection area SC. On the other hand, in FIG. 4B, at any of the positions of the automobile 10A to 10C. the other obstacle Q, which is a pole, exists in the corresponding detection areas SA to SC of the transmission and reception device 3.”; and [0038]: “Specifically, as shown in FIG. 4A, when the automobile 10 moves to a distance Smaller than the distance dB, the near road-surface obstacle P, which is low in height, is outside of the detection area SA. Accordingly, a component of a reflective wave received by the ultrasonic receiver 5 of the transmission and reception device 3 is rapidly decreased, and hence the obtained peak value is also lowered. On the other hand, even when the automobile 10 moves closer to the other obstacle Q, the other obstacle Q exists inside of the detection area S. Therefore, even when the automobile 10 approaches from the distance dA to the distance dC, the obtained peak value of a reflective wave is still a large value”).
As to [claim 3], the combination of Akiyama, Choi, Moriuchi and Sugae teaches the object detection system according to claim 2. Akiyama does not expressly disclose wherein the identification processor is configured to determine whether the transition shows the first tendency or the second tendency based on a comparison result between the transition and a predetermined threshold value related to a correspondence relationship between the distance to the object and the value of the processing target signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches
wherein the identification processor is configured to determine whether the transition shows the first tendency or the second tendency based on a comparison result between the transition and a predetermined threshold value related to a correspondence relationship between the distance to the object and the value of the processing target signal (see at least Paragraph [0105] ***The citation discloses using the radar cross section value to determine a radar cross section trajectory. If the object deviates from the determined radar cross section trajectory by showing either of the first or second tendencies, it is likely an error in the wave transmissions, and the object is identified as a ghost object. The comparison between the radar cross section value and the determined radar cross section trajectory functions as the comparison between the transmission and a threshold value***).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify the identification processor that determine whether the transition shows the first tendency or the second tendency based on a comparison result between the transition and a predetermined threshold value as taught by Choi, and by combining an obstacle detection apparatus as taught by Akiyama. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey improve the accuracy of the determination of a vehicle ' s path in a confined space (see at least Choi, Paragraph [0121]).
As to clam 4, the combination of Akiyama, Choi, Moriuchi and Sugae teaches the object detection system according to claim 3. Choi further discloses wherein the identification processor is configured to determine whether the transition shows the first tendency or the second tendency based on a plurality of comparison results between the transition and the threshold value (see at least Paragraph [0100] *** teaches creating a radar cross section value for each beam pattern*** [0086] ***teaches plurality of transmitters exists on the vehicle creating a plurality of beam patterns for the first and second emissions***; [0105] *** teaches the comparison process is completed for each beam pattern, which creates a plurality of comparisons of the process***; [0105]-[0107] *** teach completing the process described in claim 3 multiple times leading to a plurality of comparisons overall***).
As to [claim 5], the combination of Akiyama, Choi, Moriuchi and Sugae teaches the object detection system according to claim 2. Akiyama teaches wherein the transmission transmitter and the reception receiver are mounted on a vehicle (see at least Paragraph [0051] *** teaches both the transmission unit and the reception unit are mounted on the vehicle***), and the identification processing processor is configured to identify a height of the object in front of the vehicle in a traveling direction depending on whether the transition shows the first tendency or the second tendency (see at least Paragraphs [0040]; [0042]: “Further, as shown in FIG. 7, the obstacle recognition unit 2e calculates a horizontal distanced in accordance with a relationship between a linear distance D, which is obtained from the reception time T, and a height H of the position of the transmission and reception device 3” and [0067]: “It is noted that, as shown in FIG. 17, when a near road-surface obstacle P is recognized as a detected object, a reflective wave reaches not from a point in the X-Z plane but from a reflecting point m. The reflecting point misatan angle 0 relative to the X-Z plane in a direction of the y-axis, i.e., in the vertical direction. Therefore, when the azimuth angle do is calculated according to the formula (1), a detection error occurs due to the difference in the transmission paths, compared with a case where a reflective wave reaches from a point in the X-Z plane. The angle 0 in the vertical direction can be calculated based on a linear distance D and a height H to a detected object.”).
As to claim 6, the combination of Akiyama, Choi, Moriuchi and Sugae teaches the object detection system according to claim 2. Akiyama discloses wherein the transmitter and the receiver are mounted on a vehicle (see at least Paragraph [0010]: “a transmission and reception device of the obstacle detection apparatus mounted to a vehicle”) the identification processor is configured to identify a position of the object with respect to the vehicle (see at least Paragraphs [0028]: “The ultrasonic transmitter 4 is configured to output the sensing wave repeatedly at a predetermined interval. The ultrasonic transmitter 4 is configured to output an ultrasonic wave in a predetermined angular range in a direction of a transmission plane. The ultrasonic receiver 5 is configured to receive a reflective wave from a detection area S in a predetermined angle range C. in a direction of a reception plan”) in the traveling direction depending on whether the transition shows the first tendency or the second tendency (see at least Paragraph [0031]: “Thereby, the ultrasonic transmitter 4 transmits an ultrasonic wave signal as a sensing wave toward the detection area S. More specifically, the ultrasonic transmitter 4 repeatedly out puts an ultrasonic wave at the predetermined frequency and including ten to several tens of pulses as one transmission signal. For example, the detection area S is set at a front side of the position of the transmission and reception device 3 to spread in an angular range C.”; and [0035]: “In FIG. 4A, at the position of the automobile 10A, the near-road-surface obstacle P exists at a distance dA in the detection area SA of the transmission and reception device 3. At the position of the automobile 10B, the near-road-surface obstacle P exists at a distance dB and located in a boundary of the detection area SB. At the position of the automobile 10C. the near-road-surface obstacle P exists at a distance dC and located outside of the detection area SC. On the other hand, in FIG. 4B, at any of the positions of the automobile 10A to 10C. the other obstacle Q, which is a pole, exists in the corresponding detection areas SA to SC of the transmission and reception device 3.”).
As to clam 7, the combination of Akiyama, Choi, Moriuchi and Sugae teaches the object detection system according to claim 1. Akiyama further discloses wherein the transmitter and the receiver are mounted on a vehicle (see at least Paragraph [0051] ***the transmission unit and the reception unit are mounted on the vehicle.***), and the object detection system further comprising: a travelling control processor configured to control a traveling state of the vehicle depending on an identification result of the identification processor (see at least Paragraph [0040]: “the ECU 2 is capable of determining whether a detected object is a near-road-surface obstacle P or another obstacle Q by calculating the peak value difference in a detected reflective wave. Further, the determination result can be effectively used as information for performing a driving Support. For example, the determination result can be used as guide information when the automobile 10 is being parked. In addition, the determination result can be used as information for controlling a driving operation according to a determination result of a kind of an obstacle. Thus, the determination result can be applicable to an applied technology for avoiding a defect such as collision”; and [0048]: “The ECU 2 executes the obstacle recognition program and performs an information operation according to a determination result when determining that a detected object is a near-road-surface obstacle P or another obstacle Q. In the information operation, the speaker 17 causes sound differently in accordance with a notification pattern shown in FIG. 9, for example, so as to inform a kind of a detected object.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 07/03/2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3663