DETAILED ACTION
All outstanding objections and rejections, except for those maintained below, are withdrawn in light of applicant's amendment filed on 5/27/2026.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 5/27/2026. In particular, the subject matter of original Claims 1 and 21 has been narrowed from that previously presented, and therefore, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 21-22, 24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the light emitting layer comprises the compound represented by A-1 as a dopant” which renders the scope of clam indefinite for the following reasons. Claim 8 depends from claim 1, and claim 1 recites Formula A-2 and not Formula A-1. Accordingly, it is unclear to what formula claim 8 is referring to.
Claim 21 recites Formula A-2 as:
;
However, the claim does not recite the chemical groups and/or species encompassed by variable Q1, thereby rendering the scope of the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, 21-22, 24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 2023/0096132).
Regarding claim 1, discloses the following organic electroluminescent element, i.e. an organic electroluminescent device ([0178] – Figure 1):
,
where the positive electrode (102) corresponds to the recited first electrode; the negative electrode (108) corresponds to the recited second electrode; and layer 105 corresponds to the recited light emitting layer ([0178]).
The light emitting layer comprises the following polycyclic aromatic compound as a dopant ([0116], [0196]-[0197], [0113], and Page 22 – Formula 2-5-3):
,
where:
R1 to R11 are hydrogen or an aryl such as a benzene ([0104] and [0083]-[0084]), and where the aryl, e.g. benzene, is fused with a cycloalkane ([0032] and [0036]);
Y1 is B, P, or P=O ([0033]); and
X1 and X2 are C(R)2 ([0115]), where R is hydrogen ([0034]).
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by recited Formula (A-2):
,
where:
Q1 and Q3 are benzene rings, i.e. unsubstituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon rings;
X1 and X2 are B, P or P=O;
Y1, Y2, Y3, and Y4 are CR8R9, where R8 and R9 are H; and
R1 to R6 are H, where one (1) of R1 to R6 is a benzene with a fused cycloalkane, i.e. one (1) of R1 to R6 is a substituted C6 aryl.
In the above compound disclosed by the reference Q1 is a benzene, and therefore, Q1 does not correspond to Structure 5:
,
as recited in the present claims. However, the formula disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment, and attention is directed to Paragraph [0112] which discloses that for a multimer of the polycyclic aromatic compound having a plurality of unit structures presented by general formula (1):
,
the unit structures are bonded to one another with a linking group such as benzene or naphthylene group. A multimer possessing a naphthylene linking group is exemplified as (Page 22 – Formula 2-6):
,
i.e. units represented by General Formula (1) are linked by ring b, where ring b is a naphthylene group. Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where in Formula 2-5-3 of the reference ring b is naphthylene group corresponding to Structure 5 of the claims:
,
where Z2 is CR”, and R” is H.
The light emitting layer further comprises the following compound as a host compound ([0200], [0202], and Page 513 – Compound 3-79):
.
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by Formula B of the claims, i.e.
,
where:
R12 to R19 are hydrogen;
L1 is a single bond;
the integer n is one (1);
Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl; and
Ar2 is an unsubstituted C12 heteroaryl.
Alternatively, the reference discloses the following anthracene-based host compound (Page 512 – Compound 3-58):
.
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by Formula B of the claims, i.e.
,
where:
R12 to R19 are hydrogen;
L1 is an unsubstituted C6 arylene;
the integer n is one (1);
Ar1 is a substituted C6 aryl; and
Ar2 is an unsubstituted C10 aryl.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed organic electroluminescent device nor can the claimed organic electroluminescent device be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed organic electroluminescent device and the organic electroluminescent device disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compounds which are both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the polycyclic aromatic compound of the reference Q2 and Q3 are benzene, thereby corresponding to Structure 9 of the claims, i.e.
,
where Z2 is CR”, and R” is H.
Regarding claim 4, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the light emitting layer comprises the following anthracene-based compound as a host:
.
This compound corresponds to Formula (B-1) of the claims, i.e.
,
where:
R21 to R36 are H;
Z is O;
L2 is a single bond;
Ar3 is a benzene group; and
the integer m is one (1).
Regarding claim 6, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following host compound:
,
corresponding to Compound 7.
Regarding claim 7, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the compound:
,
corresponding to Compound 222 of the claims.
Regarding claim 8, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the compound corresponding to recited Formula (A-1) as a dopant and the compound corresponding to recited Formula (B) as a host.
Regarding claim 9, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the device disclosed by the reference, i.e.
,
comprises a hole injection layer (103), a hole transport layer (104), an electron transport layer (106), and an electron injection layer (107), corresponding to the recited additional layer ([0178]).
Regarding claim 10, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the layers are formed by vapor deposition, i.e. a deposition process ([0483]).
Regarding claim 11, Hatakeyama ‘115 teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the device is used is a flat panel display ([0547]).
Regarding claim 21, discloses the following organic electroluminescent element, i.e. an organic electroluminescent device ([0178] – Figure 1):
,
where the positive electrode (102) corresponds to the recited first electrode; the negative electrode (108) corresponds to the recited second electrode; and layer 105 corresponds to the recited light emitting layer ([0178]).
The light emitting layer comprises the following polycyclic aromatic compound as a dopant ([0116], [0196]-[0197], [0113], and Page 22 – Formula 2-6):
,
where:
R1 to R11 are hydrogen or an aryl such as a benzene ([0104] and [0083]-[0084]), and where the aryl, e.g. benzene, is fused with a cycloalkane ([0032] and [0036]); Y1 is B, P, or P=O ([0033]);
X1 and X2 are C(R)2 ([0115]), where R is hydrogen ([0034]); and
Q is a naphthylene group.
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by recited Formula (A-2):
,
where:
Q1 is an unsubstituted C10 aromatic hydrocarbon ring;
X1 and X2 are B, P or P=O;
Y1, Y2, Y3, and Y4 are CR8R9, where R8 and R9 are H; and
R1 to R6 are H, where one (1) of R1 to R6 is a benzene with a fused cycloalkane, i.e. one (1) of R1 to R6 is a substituted C6 aryl.
In the compound disclosed by the reference Q2 and Q3 are benzene rings, and therefore, do not correspond to Structure 10 recited in the present claims:
.
However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment an attention is directed to Formula (1) ([0016]):
,
where rings A and C can be heteroaryl rings such as benzothiophene ([0085]-[0086]) and which is exemplified in Compound 1-3349 (Page 259):
.
Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where Q2 and Q3 correspond to recited Structure 10:
,
where Z2 is CR”; R” is H; and Z1 is S.
The light emitting layer further comprises the following compound as a host compound ([0200], [0202], and Page 513 – Compound 3-79):
.
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by Formula B of the claims, i.e.
,
where:
R12 to R19 are hydrogen;
L1 is a single bond;
the integer n is one (1);
Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl; and
Ar2 is an unsubstituted C12 heteroaryl.
Alternatively, the reference discloses the following anthracene-based host compound (Page 512 – Compound 3-58):
.
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by Formula B of the claims, i.e.
,
where:
R12 to R19 are hydrogen;
L1 is an unsubstituted C6 arylene;
the integer n is one (1);
Ar1 is a substituted C6 aryl; and
Ar2 is an unsubstituted C10 aryl.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed organic electroluminescent device nor can the claimed organic electroluminescent device be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed organic electroluminescent device and the organic electroluminescent device disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compounds which are both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 22, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, Q1 is naphthylene, thereby corresponding to Structure 5 of the claims, i.e.
,
where Z2 CR”, and R” is H.
Regarding claim 24, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the light emitting layer comprises the following anthracene-based compound as a host:
.
This compound corresponds to Formula (B-1) of the claims, i.e.
,
where:
R21 to R36 are H;
Z is O;
L2 is a single bond;
Ar3 is a benzene group; and
the integer m is one (1).
Regarding claim 26, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following host compound:
,
corresponding to Compound 7.
Regarding claim 27, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the compound corresponding to recited Formula (A-1) as a dopant and the compound corresponding to recited Formula (B) as a host.
Regarding claim 28, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the device disclosed by the reference, i.e.
,
comprises a hole injection layer (103), a hole transport layer (104), an electron transport layer (106), and an electron injection layer (107), corresponding to the recited additional layer ([0178]).
Regarding claim 29, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the layers are formed by vapor deposition, i.e. a deposition process ([0483]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
Applicants argue that Hatakeyama et al fails to disclose the compound as recited in amended claims 1 and 21. However, regarding claim 1, as discussed above, the reference discloses the following compound:
.
Ring b is a benzene ring, and therefore, does not correspond to Structure 5:
;
however, Paragraph [0112] discloses linking groups that can be present in the disclosed multimers. Specifically, Paragraph [0112] discloses that for a multimer of the polycyclic aromatic compound having a plurality of unit structures presented by general formula (1):
,
the unit structures are bonded to one another with a linking groups such as naphthylene group. Such a multimer is exemplified as (Page 22 – Formula 2-6):
,
i.e. the units represented by General Formula (1) are linked by ring b, where ring b is a naphthylene group. Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where in Formula 2-5-3 of the reference ring b is naphthylene group corresponding to Structure 5 of the claims:
,
where Z2 CR”, and R” is H.
Regarding claim 21, the reference discloses the following compound:
,
where Q2 and Q3 are benzene rings, and therefore, do not correspond to Structure 10 recited in the present claims:
.
However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment an attention is directed to Formula (1) ([0016]):
,
where rings A and C can be heteroaryl rings such as benzothiophene ([0085]-[0086]) and which is exemplified in Compound 1-3349 (Page 259):
.
Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where Q2 and Q3 correspond to recited Structure 10:
,
where Z2 is CR”, and R” is H; and Z1 is S.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786