DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, 21-22, 24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 1 recites the broad limitation “wherein Q1 to Q3 are identical to or different from each other and are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6-C50 aromatic hydrocarbon ring or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C50 heteroaromatic ring” and the claim also recites the limitation that Q1 is presented by one of Structures 1 to 8, i.e.
,
which is a narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 21 recites the broad limitation “wherein Q1 to Q3 are identical to or different from each other and are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6-C50 aromatic hydrocarbon ring or a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C50 heteroaromatic ring”, and the claim also recites the limitation that for Formula A-1 Q2 and Q3 are represented by one of Structures 10 to 13, i.e.
,
and that for Formula A-2, Q2 and Q3 are represented Structures 9 to 13
,
,
which is a narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 21-24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 2023/0096132).
Regarding claim 1, discloses the following organic electroluminescent element, i.e. an organic electroluminescent device ([0178] – Figure 1):
,
where the positive electrode (102) corresponds to the recited first electrode; the negative electrode (108) corresponds to the recited second electrode; and layer 105 corresponds to the recited light emitting layer ([0178]).
The light emitting layer comprises the following polycyclic aromatic compound as a dopant ([0116], [0196]-[0197], [0113], and Page 22 – Formula 2-6):
,
where R1 to R11 are hydrogen or an aryl such as a benzene ([0104] and [0083]-[0084]), and where the aryl, e.g. benzene, is fused with a cycloalkane ([0032] and [0036]); Y1 is B, P, or P=O ([0033]); X1 and X2 are C(-R)2 ([0115]), where R is hydrogen ([0034]).
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by recited Formula (A-2):
,
where Q1 and Q3 are benzene rings, i.e. unsubstituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon rings; X1 and X2 are B, P or P=O; Y1, Y2, Y3 and Y4 are CR8R9, where R8 and R9 are H; and R1 to R6 are H, where one (1) of R1 to R6 is a benzene with a fused cycloalkane, i.e. one (1) of R1 to R6 is substituted C6 aryl.
Q1 is represented by Structure 5:
,
where Z2 CR”, and R” is H.
The light emitting layer further comprises the following compound as a host compound ([0200], [0202], and Page 513 – Compound 3-79):
.
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by Formula B of the claims, i.e.
,
where R12 to R19 are hydrogen, L1 is a single bond; the integer n is one (1); Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl; and Ar2 is an unsubstituted C12 heteroaryl.
Alternatively, the reference discloses the following anthracene-based host compound (Page 512 – Compound 3-58):
.
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by Formula B of the claims, i.e.
,
where R12 to R19 are hydrogen, L1 is an unsubstituted C6 arylene; the integer n is one (1); Ar1 is a substituted C6 aryl; and Ar2 is an unsubstituted C10 aryl.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed organic electroluminescent device nor can the claimed organic electroluminescent device be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed organic electroluminescent device and the organic electroluminescent device disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compounds which are both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the polycyclic aromatic compound of the reference Q2 and Q3 are benzene, thereby corresponding to Structure 9 of the claims, i.e.
,
where Z2 is CR”, and R” is H.
Regarding claim 4, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the light emitting layer comprises the following anthracene-based compound as a host:
.
This compound corresponds to Formula (B-1) of the claims, i.e.
,
where R21 to R36 are H; Z is O; L2 is a single bond; Ar3 is a benzene group; and the integer m is one (1).
Regarding claim 6, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following host compound:
,
corresponding to Compound 7.
Regarding claim 7, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the compound:
,
corresponding to Compound 222 of the claims.
Regarding claim 8, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the compound corresponding to recited Formula (A-1) as a dopant and the compound corresponding to recited Formula (B) as a host.
Regarding claim 9, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the device disclosed by the reference, i.e.
,
comprises a hole injection layer (103), a hole transport layer (104), an electron transport layer (106), and an electron injection layer (107), corresponding to the recited additional layer ([0178]).
Regarding claim 10, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the layers are formed by vapor deposition, i.e. a deposition process ([0483]).
Regarding claim 11, Hatakeyama ‘115 teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the device is used is a flat panel display ([0547]).
Regarding claim 21, discloses the following organic electroluminescent element, i.e. an organic electroluminescent device ([0178] – Figure 1):
,
where the positive electrode (102) corresponds to the recited first electrode; the negative electrode (108) corresponds to the recited second electrode; and layer 105 corresponds to the recited light emitting layer ([0178]).
The light emitting layer comprises the following polycyclic aromatic compound as a dopant ([0116], [0196]-[0197], [0113], and Page 22 – Formula 2-5-3):
,
where R1 to R11 are hydrogen or an aryl such as a benzene ([0104] and [0083]-[0084]), and where the aryl, e.g. benzene, is fused with a cycloalkane ([0032] and [0036]); Y1 is B, P, or P=O ([0033]); and X1 is N-R ([0034]), where R is an unsubstituted C3-14 cycloalkyl ([0020] and [0034]).
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by recited Formula (A-1):
,
where Q is a benzene ring, i.e. unsubstituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon ring; X1 and X2 are B, P or P=O; Y1, Y2, Y3 and Y4 are N-R, where R is an unsubstituted C3-14 cycloalkyl; and R1 to R6 are H, where one (1) of R1 to R6 is a benzene with a fused cycloalkane, i.e. one (1) of R1 to R6 is substituted C6 aryl.
In Formula 2-5-3, rings Q2 and Q3 are benzene rings and therefore do no correspond to Structures 11-13 recited in the present claims. However, the formula disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment and attention is directed to Formula (1) ([0016]):
,
where rings A and C can be heteroaryl rings such as dibenzofuran ([0085]-[0086]):
.
This corresponds to Structures 11 to 13 of the claims:
,
where Z1 is O and Z2 CR”, and R” is H.
Alternatively, the light emitting layer comprises the following polycyclic aromatic compound as a dopant ([0116], [0196]-[0197], [0113], and Page 22 – Formula 2-6):
,
where R1 to R11 are hydrogen or an aryl such as a benzene ([0104] and [0083]-[0084]), and where the aryl, e.g. benzene, is fused with a cycloalkane ([0032] and [0036]); Y1 is B, P, or P=O ([0033]); X1 and X2 are C(-R)2 ([0115]), where R is hydrogen ([0034]).
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by recited Formula (A-2):
,
where Q1 and Q3 are benzene rings, i.e. unsubstituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon rings represented by Structure 9:
,
where Z2 is CR”, and R” is H.
In Formula 2-6, Q1 is an unsubstituted C10 aromatic hydrocarbon ring X1 and X2 are B, P or P=O; Y1, Y2, Y3 and Y4 are CR8R9, where R8 and R9 are H; and R1 to R6 are H, where one (1) of R1 to R6 is a benzene with a fused cycloalkane, i.e. one (1) of R1 to R6 is substituted C6 aryl.
The light emitting layer further comprises the following compound as a host compound ([0200], [0202], and Page 513 – Compound 3-79):
.
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by Formula B of the claims, i.e.
,
where R12 to R19 are hydrogen, L1 is a single bond; the integer n is one (1); Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl; and Ar2 is an unsubstituted C12 heteroaryl.
Alternatively, the reference discloses the following anthracene-based host compound (Page 512 – Compound 3-58):
.
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by Formula B of the claims, i.e.
,
where R12 to R19 are hydrogen, L1 is an unsubstituted C6 arylene; the integer n is one (1); Ar1 is a substituted C6 aryl; and Ar2 is an unsubstituted C10 aryl.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed organic electroluminescent device nor can the claimed organic electroluminescent device be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed organic electroluminescent device and the organic electroluminescent device disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compounds which are both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 22, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the polycyclic aromatic compound of the reference:
Q1 is benzene, thereby corresponding to Structure 2 of the claims, i.e.
,
where Z2 CR”, and R” is H.
Furthermore, in the disclosed formula:
,
Q1 corresponds to Structure 5:
,
where Z2 CR”, and R” is H.
Regarding claim 24, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the light emitting layer comprises the following anthracene-based compound as a host:
.
This compound corresponds to Formula (B-1) of the claims, i.e.
,
where R21 to R36 are H; Z is O; L2 is a single bond; Ar3 is a benzene group; and the integer m is one (1).
Regarding claim 26, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following host compound:
,
corresponding to Compound 7.
Regarding claim 27, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the compound corresponding to recited Formula (A-1) as a dopant and the compound corresponding to recited Formula (B) as a host.
Regarding claim 28, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the device disclosed by the reference, i.e.
,
comprises a hole injection layer (103), a hole transport layer (104), an electron transport layer (106), and an electron injection layer (107), corresponding to the recited additional layer ([0178]).
Regarding claim 29, Hatakeyama teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the layers are formed by vapor deposition, i.e. a deposition process ([0483]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Hatakeyama et al fails to disclose the compound as recited in amended claims 1 and 21, i.e. the reference does not disclose a compound where Q1 corresponds to one of recited structures in claim 1 or a compound where Q2 and Q3 corresponds to one of the recited structures. However, regarding claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above the reference discloses the following formula:
,
where R1 to R11 are hydrogen or an aryl such as a benzene ([0104] and [0083]-[0084]), and where the aryl, e.g. benzene, is fused with a cycloalkane ([0032] and [0036]); Y1 is B, P, or P=O ([0033]); X1 and X2 are C(-R)2 ([0115]), where R is hydrogen ([0034]).
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by recited Formula (A-2):
,
where Q1 and Q3 are benzene rings, i.e. unsubstituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon rings; X1 and X2 are B, P or P=O; Y1, Y2, Y3 and Y4 are CR8R9, where R8 and R9 are H; and R1 to R6 are H, where one (1) of R1 to R6 is a benzene with a fused cycloalkane, i.e. one (1) of R1 to R6 is substituted C6 aryl.
Q1 is represented by Structure 5:
,
where Z2 CR”, and R” is H.
Furthermore, regarding claim 21, as discussed in the rejections above the reference discloses the following compound:
,
where R1 to R11 are hydrogen or an aryl such as a benzene ([0104] and [0083]-[0084]), and where the aryl, e.g. benzene, is fused with a cycloalkane ([0032] and [0036]); Y1 is B, P, or P=O ([0033]); and X1 is N-R ([0034]), where R is an unsubstituted C3-14 cycloalkyl ([0020] and [0034]).
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by recited Formula (A-1):
,
where Q is a benzene ring, i.e. unsubstituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon ring; X1 and X2 are B, P or P=O; Y1, Y2, Y3 and Y4 are N-R, where R is an unsubstituted C3-14 cycloalkyl; and R1 to R6 are H, where one (1) of R1 to R6 is a benzene with a fused cycloalkane, i.e. one (1) of R1 to R6 is substituted C6 aryl.
In Formula 2-5-3 rings Q2 and Q3 are benzene rings and therefore do no correspond to Structures 11-13 recited in the present claims. However, the formula disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment and attention is directed to Formula (1) ([0016]):
,
where rings A and C can be heteroaryl rings such as dibenzofuran ([0085]-[0086]):
.
This corresponds to Structures 11 to 13 of the claims:
,
where Z1 is O and Z2 CR”, and R” is H.
Alternatively, the light emitting layer comprises the following polycyclic aromatic compound as a dopant ([0116], [0196]-[0197], [0113], and Page 22 – Formula 2-6):
,
where R1 to R11 are hydrogen or an aryl such as a benzene ([0104] and [0083]-[0084]), and where the aryl, e.g. benzene, is fused with a cycloalkane ([0032] and [0036]); Y1 is B, P, or P=O ([0033]); X1 and X2 are C(-R)2 ([0115]), where R is hydrogen ([0034]).
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by recited Formula (A-2):
,
where Q1 and Q3 are benzene rings, i.e. unsubstituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon rings represented by Structure 9:
,
where Z2 is CR”, and R” is H.
In Formula 2-6, Q1 is an unsubstituted C10 aromatic hydrocarbon ring X1 and X2 are B, P or P=O; Y1, Y2, Y3 and Y4 are CR8R9, where R8 and R9 are H; and R1 to R6 are H, where one (1) of R1 to R6 is a benzene with a fused cycloalkane, i.e. one (1) of R1 to R6 is substituted C6 aryl.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786