DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed December 16, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 18, 35, and 52 have been amended.
Claims 1-68 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 15, 16, 18, 19, 32, 33, 35, 36, 49, 50, 52, 53, 66, and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0123857 A1) in view of ZHANG (hereinafter Zhang3) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0131560 A1), and further in view of WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0330300 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 18, 35, and 52, Zhang teaches and discloses a method and apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (terminal device, figures 5-6) having a plurality of transmit antennas (transmit ANTs, figure 2; 601, figure 6) shared between a first network connection (such as LTE or NR network connection) and a second network connection (such as NR or LTE network connection) in a dual connectivity mode (dual-network connected state; abstract), comprising: a memory (609, figure 6); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (610, figure 6), the at least one processor configured to:
report a first sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna-switching capability to a network node ([0037]; “…the terminal device sends, to the base station, information used to indicate the first transmit mode, to notify the base station of an SRS antenna switching capability of the terminal device, and may determine the SRS antenna switching capability based on the first transmit mode…”; teaches reporting a first SRS antenna switching capability), the first SRS antenna-switching capability associated with a first quantity of transmit antennas of the plurality of transmit antennas (plurality of antennas, figure 2) usable for communication via the second network connection ([0036]; “…the first transmit mode may indicate whether the second network supports the SRS antenna switching, and a mode of the SRS antenna switching supported by the second network, such as 1T (transmit) 4R (receive) SRS antenna switching, or 1T2R SRS antenna switching. The first transmit mode includes a quantity of antennas for the SRS antenna switching…”; [0037]; “…the terminal device sends, to the base station, information used to indicate the first transmit mode, to notify the base station of an SRS antenna switching capability of the terminal device, and may determine the SRS antenna switching capability based on the first transmit mode…”; [0046]; [0054]; [0055]; teaches the first set of antennas includes a first quantity of transmit antennas of a plurality of transmit antennas (ANT2/ANT3) usable by the second network, such as NR or LTE networks, associated with the SRS antenna switching capability);
transmit, based on at least in part on the UE operating in the dual connectivity mode ([0011]; “…the dual-network connected state is that the terminal device is simultaneously connected to the first network and the second network…”; [0032]; [0067]; teaches that the terminal device is in a dual-network connected state), an SRS to the network node when the first network connection has priority over the second network connection ([0036]; “…When the SRS antenna switching is performed, all switched antennas send SRSs to the base station…”; [0054]; “…When LTE receive/transmit 0 selects to connect to ANT2, because LTE has a higher priority than NR, transmission on the NR band can only be switched between ANT1, ANT3, and ANT4…”; [0055]; [0065]; “…when performing the transmit antenna switching, a switching priority of the first network is greater than a switching priority of the second network, and the first network may switch the transmit antenna to a transmit antenna that is being used by the second network…”; [0067]; teaches transmitting an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability associated with a first network which has priority over the second network), wherein the second SRS antenna-switching capability is reduced with respect to the first SRS antenna-switching capability reported to the network node ([0078]; “…When the LTE band and the NR band contend for transmit antenna resources, an SRS antenna switching capability of the NR band can be reduced, to ensure a normal communication requirement of the LTE band…”; teaches the antenna switching capability is reduced with respect to another antenna switching capability).
However, Zhang may not explicitly disclose transmitting, within an uplink transmission time interval for the first network, one or more signals via the first network connection using one or more transmit antennas, wherein the one or more transmit antennas are selected from the plurality of transmit antennas based at least in part on a prioritization between the first network connection and the second network connection; transmitting, during the uplink transmission time interval utilized for transmission of the one or more signals via the first network connection in accordance with the dual connectivity mode, an SRS to the network node via the second network connection and in accordance with a second SRS antenna-switching capability, the second SRS antenna-switching capability associated with a second quantity of transmit antennas of the plurality of transmit antennas that is less than the first quantity of transmit antennas, wherein the second SRS antenna-switching capability is selected based at least in part on the one or more transmit antennas used to communicate the one or more signals.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang3 teaches and suggests transmitting, within an uplink transmission time interval for the first network (time slot, figure 3), one or more signals via the first network connection using one or more transmit antennas, wherein the one or more transmit antennas are selected from the plurality of transmit antennas based at least in part on a prioritization between the first network connection and the second network connection ([0044]; [0045]; [0066]; [0067]; [0104]; [0105]; teaches transmitting one or more signals via an uplink time slot for a first network (such as NR or LTE) using the transmit antennas wherein the transmit antennas are selected based on a priority between the NR or LTE network); transmitting, during the uplink transmission time interval utilized for transmission of the one or more signals via the first network connection in accordance with the dual connectivity mode (time slot, figure 3; [0044]; [0066]), an SRS (SRS; [0044]) to the network node via the second network connection and in accordance with a second SRS antenna-switching capability, the second SRS antenna-switching capability associated with a second quantity of transmit antennas of the plurality of transmit antennas (transmit antennas, figure 5) that is less than the first quantity of transmit antennas, wherein the second SRS antenna-switching capability is selected based at least in part on the one or more transmit antennas used to communicate the one or more signals ([0044]; [0045]; [0066]; [0067]; [0104]; [0105]; teaches transmitting the SRS, during a time slot for transmitting or more signals via a first network, such as LTE, when in double-connection mode, and a first and second SRS antenna switching capability for LTE or NR connection where the quantity of transmit antennas for one network is less than the quantity of transmit antenna for the other network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate transmitting the SRS, during a time slot for transmitting or more signals via a first network, such as LTE, when in double-connection mode, and a first and second SRS antenna switching capability for LTE or NR connection where the quantity of transmit antennas for one network is less than the quantity of transmit antenna for the other network as taught by Zhang3 with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang for the purpose of improving communication quality and reducing conflict during transmission antenna switching, as suggested by Zhang3.
However, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3, does not explicitly disclose reducing capability by masking at least one transmit antenna of the one or more transmit antennas used to communicate the one or more signals.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches and suggests reducing capability by masking at least one transmit antenna of the one or more transmit antennas used to communicate the one or more signals ([0048]; “…using the mask selected by the antenna group so as to implement the function of dynamically indicating the antenna group…”; [0049]; teaches applying a masking procedure in order to dynamically indicate and enable the antenna group based on the UE antenna switching configuration and capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying a masking procedure in order to dynamically indicate and enable the antenna group based on the UE antenna switching configuration and capabilities as taught by Wang with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to apply SRS antenna switching based on antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3, for the purpose of enabling antenna switching configuration in order to reduce conflict during transmission antenna switching, as suggested by Wang
Regarding claims 2, 19, 36, and 53, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, further teaches transmitting the SRS via the first SRS antenna-switching capability when the second network connection has priority over the first network connection ([0054]; [0055]; [0065]; [0067]; teaches transmitting an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability).
Regarding claims 15, 32, 49, and 66, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, further teaches prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization when the first network connection comprises critical traffic or critical control signaling ([0054]; [0055]; [0065]; [0067]; teaches transmitting an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability based on traffic criteria).
Regarding claims 16, 33, 50, and 67, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, further teaches wherein the first network connection comprises a long term evolution (LTE) connection and the second network connection comprises a fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) connection, or wherein the first network connection comprises a first 5G NR connection and the second network connection comprises a second 5G NR connection ([0005]; [0033]; NR and LTE).
Claims 3, 4, 9, 20, 21, 26, 37, 38, 43, 54, 55, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0123857 A1) in view of ZHANG (hereinafter Zhang3) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0131560 A1) and WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0330300 A1), and further in view of MURPHY et al. (hereinafter Murphy) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2017/0245176 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 20, 37, and 54, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization when the first network connection comprises a high-priority call type, or when uplink activity of the first network connection is greater than a threshold.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Murphy teaches and suggests prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization when the first network connection comprises a high-priority call type, or when uplink activity of the first network connection is greater than a threshold ([0021]; [0093]; claim 18; teaches prioritizing cells/connection of the network based on the network characteristics such as a call type characteristic and call priority level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritizing cells/connection of the network based on the network characteristics as taught by Murphy with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, for the purpose of improving and optimizing a network performance, as suggested by Murphy.
Regarding claims 4, 21, 38, and 55, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the high-priority call type comprises an E-911 call, an internet protocol (IP) multimedia-system (IMS) call, a voice over internet protocol (VoIP) call, a voice over long-term evolution (VoLTE) call, a voice over 5G NR (VoNR) call, a video telephony call, or any combination thereof.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Murphy further teaches and suggests wherein the high-priority call type comprises an E-911 call, an internet protocol (IP) multimedia-system (IMS) call, a voice over internet protocol (VoIP) call, a voice over long-term evolution (VoLTE) call, a voice over 5G NR (VoNR) call, a video telephony call, or any combination thereof ([0021]; [0093]; claim 18; teaches prioritizing cells/connection of the network based on the network characteristics such as an emergency call).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritizing cells/connection of the network based on the network characteristics such as an emergency call as taught by Murphy with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3, Wang, and Murphy, for the purpose of improving and optimizing a network performance, as suggested by Murphy.
Regarding claims 9, 26, 43, and 60, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first call, the second call, or both, comprises an E-911 call, an internet protocol (IP) multimedia-system (IMS) call, a voice over internet protocol (VoIP) call, a voice over long-term evolution (VoLTE) call, a voice over 5G NR (VoNR) call, a video telephony call, or any combination thereof.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Murphy further teaches and suggests wherein the first call, the second call, or both, comprises an E-911 call, an internet protocol (IP) multimedia-system (IMS) call, a voice over internet protocol (VoIP) call, a voice over long-term evolution (VoLTE) call, a voice over 5G NR (VoNR) call, a video telephony call, or any combination thereof ([0021]; [0093]; claim 18; teaches prioritizing cells/connection of the network based on the network characteristics such as an emergency call).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritizing cells/connection of the network based on the network characteristics such as an emergency call as taught by Murphy with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3, Wang, and Murphy, for the purpose of improving and optimizing a network performance, as suggested by Murphy.
Claims 5, 22, 39, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0123857 A1) in view of ZHANG (hereinafter Zhang3) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0131560 A1) and WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0330300 A1), and further in view of Faniuolo et al. (hereinafter Faniuolo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2008/0049772 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 22, 39, and 56, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization when a control channel downlink grant rate of the first network connection is greater than a first threshold, or when a control channel uplink grant rate of the first network connection is greater than a second threshold.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Faniuolo teaches and suggests prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization when a control channel downlink grant rate of the first network connection is greater than a first threshold, or when a control channel uplink grant rate of the first network connection is greater than a second threshold ([0003]; [0017]; [0019]; teaches prioritizing based on the rate grant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritizing based on the rate grant as taught by Faniuolo with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, for the purpose of improving scheduling in a packet network based on prioritization, as suggested by Faniuolo.
Claims 7, 24, 41, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0123857 A1) in view of ZHANG (hereinafter Zhang3) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0131560 A1) and WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0330300 A1), and further in view of Stern-Berkowitz et al. (hereinafter Stern-Berkowitz) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0368574 A1).
Regarding claims 7, 24, 41, and 58, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization when a random access message one fail count of the first network connection is greater than a first threshold, when a random access message three fail count of the first network connection is greater than a second threshold, or when a scheduling request fail count of the first network connection is greater than a third threshold.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Stern-Berkowitz teaches and suggests prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization when a random access message one fail count of the first network connection is greater than a first threshold ([0260]; teaches prioritizing connection of the network based on a PRACH fail counter being greater than a limit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritizing connection of the network based on a fail count being greater than a limit as taught by Stern-Berkowitz with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, for the purpose of improving and optimizing a network performance.
Claims 8, 25, 42, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0123857 A1) in view of ZHANG (hereinafter Zhang3) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0131560 A1) and WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0330300 A1), and further in view of ZHANG (hereinafter Zhang2) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0131636 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 25, 42, and 59, Zhang discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based at least in part on a timing conflict between a first set of transmit occasions associated with a first call performed over the first network connection and a second set of transmit occasions associated with a second call performed over the second network connection.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang2 teaches and suggests prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based at least in part on a timing conflict between a first set of transmit occasions associated with a first call performed over the first network connection and a second set of transmit occasions associated with a second call performed over the second network connection ([0027]; [0060]; teaches prioritizing the network based on timing conflicts between SRS switching).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritizing the network based on timing conflicts between SRS switching as taught by Zhang2 with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, for the purpose of improving and optimizing communication quality, as suggested by Zhang2.
Claims 12-14, 29-31, 46-48, and 63-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0123857 A1) in view of ZHANG (hereinafter Zhang3) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0131560 A1) and WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0330300 A1), and further in view of Marupaduga et al. (hereinafter Marupaduga) (U.S. Patent # 10,873,954 B1).
Regarding claims 12, 29, 46, and 63, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based on the one or more transmit antenna selected from the plurality of transmit antennas by a transmit antenna-switch diversity feature for the first network connection, a timing conflict between the first network connection and the second network connection, or a combination thereof.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Marupaduga teaches and suggests prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based on one or more transmit antenna selected from the plurality of transmit antennas by a transmit antenna-switch diversity feature for the first network connection, a timing conflict between the first network connection and the second network connection, or a combination thereof (column 8, lines 27-32; claim 9; claim 11; teaches prioritizing based on antenna diversity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritizing based on antenna diversity as taught by Marupaduga with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, for the purpose of incorporating antenna diversity for increasing the quality and reliability of a communication link, as suggested by Marupaduga.
Regarding claims 13, 30, 47, and 64, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose semi-statically prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based on the one or more transmit antenna selected by the transmit antenna-switch diversity feature.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Marupaduga further teaches and discloses semi-statically prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based on the one or more transmit antenna selected by the transmit antenna-switch diversity feature (column 8, lines 27-32; claim 9; claim 11; teaches prioritizing based on antenna diversity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritizing based on antenna diversity as taught by Marupaduga with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3, Wang, and Marupaduga, for the purpose of incorporating antenna diversity for increasing the quality and reliability of a communication link, as suggested by Marupaduga.
Regarding claims 14, 31, 48, and 65, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose dynamically prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based on the transmit antenna selected by the transmit antenna-switch diversity feature and one of a subframe timing of the first network connection or activity timing of the first network connection.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Marupaduga further teaches and discloses dynamically prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based on the transmit antenna selected by the transmit antenna-switch diversity feature and one of a subframe timing of the first network connection or activity timing of the first network connection (column 8, lines 27-32; claim 9; claim 11; teaches prioritizing based on antenna diversity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritizing based on antenna diversity as taught by Marupaduga with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3, Wang, and Marupaduga, for the purpose of incorporating antenna diversity for increasing the quality and reliability of a communication link, as suggested by Marupaduga.
Claims 10, 11, 27, 28, 44, 45, 61, and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0123857 A1) in view of ZHANG (hereinafter Zhang3) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0131560 A1) and WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0330300 A1), and further in view of Papasakellariou et al. (hereinafter Papasakellariou) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0124599 A1).
Regarding claims 10, 27, 44, and 61, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based at least in part on a first discontinuous reception procedure associated with the first network connection and a second discontinuous reception procedure associated with the second network connection.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Papasakellariou teaches and suggests prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based at least in part on a first discontinuous reception procedure associated with the first network connection and a second discontinuous reception procedure associated with the second network connection ([0108]; “…as MeNB 102 and SeNB 103 can configure different Discontinuous Reception (DRX) patterns for UE 116, where UE 116 does not transmit or receive signaling while on DRX mode…”; teaches prioritizing connection of the network based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritizing connection of the network based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern as taught by Papasakellariou with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, for the purpose of improving and optimizing a network performance.
Regarding claims 11, 28, 45, and 62, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based at least in part on a timing conflict between a first on duration of the first discontinuous reception procedure and a second on duration of the second discontinuous reception procedure.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Papasakellariou further teaches and suggests prioritizing the first network connection over the second network connection in accordance with the prioritization based at least in part on a timing conflict between a first on duration of the first discontinuous reception procedure and a second on duration of the second discontinuous reception procedure ([0108]; “…when SeNB 103 uses TDD and the SF overlaps with two DL SFs in SeNB 103. Therefore, based on information from SeNB 103 to MeNB 102 of a UL/DL configuration used by SeNB 103 (possibly of multiple UL/DL configurations if UE 116 communicates in multiple respective cells of SeNB 103) over a backhaul link, MeNB 102 can use this information in scheduling UE…MeNB 102 and SeNB 103 can configure different Discontinuous Reception (DRX) patterns for UE 116, where UE 116 does not transmit or receive signaling while on DRX mode…”; teaches prioritizing connection of the network based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritizing connection of the network based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern as taught by Papasakellariou with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, for the purpose of improving and optimizing a network performance.
Claims 17, 34, 51, and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0123857 A1) in view of ZHANG (hereinafter Zhang3) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0131560 A1) and WANG et al. (hereinafter Wang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0330300 A1), and further in view of Schlub et al. (hereinafter Schlub) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2013/0241800 A1).
Regarding claims 17, 34, 51, and 68, Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, discloses a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS 3antenna switching capability, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the second SRS antenna-switching capability is selected based at least in part on one or more antenna cross-switches shared at the UE across the first network connection and the second network connection.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Schlub further teaches and suggests wherein the second SRS antenna-switching capability is selected based at least in part on one or more antenna cross-switches shared at the UE across the first network connection and the second network connection ([0048]; figure 3; teaches the primary and secondary antenna is based on one or more cross-bar switches shared at the UE between a first and second network connection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the primary and secondary antenna is based on one or more cross-bar switches shared at the UE between a first and second network connection as taught by Schlub with the method and apparatus for a terminal operating in a dual-network connection state to transmit an SRS to the base station via the prioritized SRS antenna switching capability as disclosed by Zhang, as modified by Zhang3 and Wang, for the purpose of improving flexibility and overhead of signaling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 23, 40, and 57 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-68 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
March 5, 2026