DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Response to Office Action mailed 8 August 2025, filed 23 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lim (US 2020/0112709 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-13, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammou et al. (US 2019/0087979 A1) in view of Pauly et al. (US 9165318 B1), Lux et al. (US 2016/0140689 A1), Lim (US 2020/0112709 A1), and Shimura (US 2016/0335861 A1)
Regarding Claims 1, 10, and 18, Mammou discloses a method implemented by a video encoder/decoder device, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of coded sequences of point cloud coding (PCC) frames, wherein the plurality of coded sequences of PCC frames represent one or more PCC attributes, wherein the PCC attributes supported include each of material identifier, [and] reflectance, [Mammou: ¶ [0360]: Point cloud data are associated with geometry information as well as other attributes, e.g. texture, color, reflectance information, etc.; given the lack of description of “material identifier” in the instant application ¶ [0084], Examiner has read at least Mammou’s “color” to be material information as required by the claims], wherein each coded PCC frame is represented by one or more PCC network abstraction layer (NAL) units [Mammou: ¶ [0392]], wherein the one or more PCC NAL units include a reflectance NAL unit containing the reflectance [Mammou: ¶ [0360]]; parsing [Mammou: ¶ [0401]] the bitstream to obtain an indication for each of the PCC NAL units that indicates whether each of the PCC NAL units belongs to a corresponding one of the PCC attributes [Mammou: ¶ [0426]: when an encoded PCC bit stream is received at the decoder, the decoder may start parsing PCCNAL unit headers. Using information in the headers, a decoder can jump through the bit stream to collect synced occupancy-geometry-texture data], and to which of the PCC attributes including material identifier, [and] the reflectance [Mammou: ¶ [0360]], the PCC NAL unit belongs when the PCC NAL unit belongs to the corresponding PCC attribute [Mammou: ¶ [0426]: Such process can permit the compressed point cloud data to be properly decoded and then reconstructed, e.g. by determining which frame in the geometry and attribute video signals correspond to the same point cloud frame and could be used for its reconstruction]; and decoding the bitstream based on the indications [Mammou: ¶ [0003]: Various types of sensors, such as light detection and ranging (LIDAR) systems, 3-D-cameras, 3-D scanners, etc. may capture data indicating positions of points in three dimensional space, for example positions in the X, Y, and Z planes. Also, such systems may further capture attribute information in addition to spatial information for the respective points, such as color information (e.g. RGB values), texture information, intensity attributes, reflectivity attributes, motion related attributes, modality attributes, or various other attributes. In some circumstances, additional attributes may be assigned to the respective points, such as a time-stamp when the point was captured. Points captured by such sensors may make up a “point cloud” comprising a set of points each having associated spatial information and one or more associated attributes].
Mammou may not explicitly discloses wherein the PCC attributes supported include each of transparency, and normal; and each of a transparency NAL unit containing the transparency, and a normal NAL unit containing the normal; parsing the bitstream to obtain a fourth syntax element that indicates an identifier of a codec used to code each PCC attribute for an indicated PCC profile at a specific PCC level, wherein the fourth syntax element is in a range of 0 to 255, inclusive.
However, Pauly discloses a method implemented by a video encoder/decoder device, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of coded sequences of point cloud coding (PCC) frames [Pauly: Col. 4, ll. 4-5: The 3D data 114 may comprise a depth map, point cloud, vector mapping, and so forth], wherein the plurality of coded sequences of PCC frames represent one or more PCC attributes, wherein the PCC attributes supported include each of material identifier, [and] reflectance [Pauly: Col. 6, ll. 21-29: The material data 206 includes a material identifier 206(1). The material identifier 206(1) may comprise a number or string that uniquely identifies a particular grouping of material data 206 associated with a particular material. The material data 206 may include one or more of material appearance 206(2), material characteristics 206(3), and so forth. The material appearance 206(2) provides information as to visual characteristics of the material, such as color, luster, reflectivity, internal reflectance, and so forth], wherein each coded PCC frame is represented by one or more PCC network abstraction layer (NAL) units, and wherein the one or more PCC NAL units include each of a reflectance NAL unit containing the reflectance [Pauly: Col. 6, ll. 21-29].
Pauly may not explicitly disclose a method implemented by a video encoder/decoder, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of coded sequences of point cloud coding (PCC) frames, wherein the plurality of coded sequences of PCC frames represent one or more PCC attributes, wherein the PCC attributes supported include each of material identifier, transparency, and normal; and each of a transparency NAL unit containing the transparency, and a normal NAL unit containing the normal; parsing the bitstream to obtain a fourth syntax element that indicates an identifier of a codec used to code each PCC attribute for an indicated PCC profile at a specific PCC level, wherein the fourth syntax element is in a range of 0 to 255, inclusive.
However, Lux discloses a method implemented by a video encoder/decoder, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of coded sequences of point cloud coding (PCC) frames [Lux: ¶ [0007]: The data set may include point cloud… data], wherein the plurality of coded sequences of PCC frames represent one or more PCC attributes, wherein the PCC attributes supported include each of material identifier [Lux: ¶ [0025]: the graphics data is point cloud data, where each point in the point cloud is associated with a vector that identifies the location of the point in a model space. The point may also be associated with one or more attributes, such as a color], transparency [Lux: ¶ [0025]: the graphics data is point cloud data, where each point in the point cloud is associated with a vector that identifies the location of the point in a model space. The point may also be associated with one or more attributes, such as a… transparency, and the like], and normal [Lux: ¶ [0025]: where each primitive of the mesh may include primitive attributes as well as a plurality of vertices, each vertex having one or more vertex attributes (e.g., color, texture coordinates, normal vector, etc.], wherein each coded PCC frame is represented by one or more PCC network abstraction layer (NAL) units, and wherein the one or more PCC NAL units include each of a transparency NAL unit containing the transparency [Lux: ¶ [0025]], and a normal NAL unit containing the normal [Lux: ¶ [0025]].
Lux may not explicitly disclose parsing the bitstream to obtain a fourth syntax element that indicates an identifier of a codec used to code each PCC attribute for an indicated PCC profile at a specific PCC level, wherein the fourth syntax element is in a range of 0 to 255, inclusive.
However, Shimura discloses parsing the bitstream to obtain a fourth syntax element that indicates an identifier of a codec used to code each PCC attribute, wherein the fourth syntax element is in a range of 0 to 255, inclusive [Shimura: ¶ [0192]: Moreover, a codec ID may be additionally defined later in addition to the types of codecs from 0 to 13 indicated in FIG. 13. Thus, codec IDs 14 to 255 are secured as reserved regions. In the case of adding codec information later, the codec IDs 14 to 255 are used and a type of a codec is newly defined].
Shimura may not explicitly disclose fourth syntax element that indicates an identifier of a codec used to code each PCC attribute for an indicated PCC profile at a specific PCC level (emphasis added).
However, Lim discloses fourth syntax element that indicates an identifier of a codec used to code each PCC attribute for an indicated PCC profile at a specific PCC level [Lim: ¶ [0065]: The “PCCLevelIndication” variable can contain a level_idc of the PCC standard].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the image processing based on attributes of Mammou with the attributes used in processing Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura in order to improve computational accuracy and efficiency by improving classification of data to be processed.
Regarding Claims 2, 11, and 19, Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura discloses all the limitations of Claims 1, 10, and 18, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura discloses wherein each coded sequence of PCC frames is associated with a sequence-level data unit containing sequence-level parameters [Mammou: ¶ [0377]], and wherein the sequence- level data unit comprises a first syntax element indicating a number of PCC attributes carried in the coded sequence of PCC frames and a second syntax element indicating each of the PCC attributes [Mammou: ¶ [0411]-[0412]].
Regarding Claims 3-4, 12-13, and 20, Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura discloses all the limitations of Claims 2, 11, and 19 respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura discloses wherein the second syntax element is an attribute type element contained in a group of frames header in the bitstream [Mammou: ¶ [0340]; and ¶ [0414]], and wherein the first syntax element is a number of attributes element contained in a group of frames header in the bitstream [Mammou: ¶ [0411]-[0412]].
Regarding Claim 9, Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura discloses all the limitations of Claim 2, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura discloses further comprising forwarding a decoded sequence of PCC frames from the bitstream toward a display for presentation [Mammou: ¶ [0075]].
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, and further in view of Yim et al. (US 2014/0160238 A1).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura discloses all the limitations of Claims 2 and 11, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura may not explicitly disclose wherein a group of frames header in the bitstream comprises a third syntax element indicating a number of streams for each of the PCC attributes.
However, Yim discloses wherein a group of frames header in the bitstream comprises a third syntax element indicating a number of streams for each of the PCC attributes [Yim: ¶ [0061]: Table 1].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the image processing of Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura with the processing of Yim in order to improve parallel processing speeds.
Claim(s) 6-7, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, and further in view of LeLeannec et al. (US 2009/0278956 A1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura discloses all the limitations of Claims 2 and 22, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura may not explicitly discloses wherein a group of frames header in the bitstream comprises an attributes first ordering flag set to indicate PCC network abstraction layer units for each of the PCC attributes are included in stream order within a corresponding PCC access unit.
However, LeLeannec discloses wherein a group of frames header in the bitstream comprises an attributes first ordering flag set to indicate PCC network abstraction layer units for each of the PCC attributes are included in stream order within a corresponding PCC access unit [LeLeannec: ¶ [0005]].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the processing of Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura with the processing of LeLeannec in order to provide more efficient parallel processing.
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura discloses all the limitations of Claims 2 and 11, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, and Shimura may not explicitly disclose wherein a group of frames header in the bitstream comprises an attributes first ordering flag set to indicate PCC network abstraction layer units for each of the PCC attributes are included in attribute order within a corresponding PCC access unit.
However, LeLeannec discloses wherein a group of frames header in the bitstream comprises an attributes first ordering flag set to indicate PCC network abstraction layer units for each of the PCC attributes are included in attribute order within a corresponding PCC access unit [LeLeannec: ¶ [0005]].
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, Shimura, and LeLeannec as applied to claims 6 and 15 above, and further in view of Tran (US 2014/0300758 A1).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, Shimura, and LeLeannec discloses all the limitations of Claims 6 and 15, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, Shimura, and LeLeannec may not explicitly disclose wherein each PCC access unit includes zero to four attribute streams for each of the PCC attributes, and wherein at least one of the attribute streams includes a non-constant frame rate.
However, Tran discloses wherein each PCC access unit includes zero to four attribute streams for each of the PCC attributes, and wherein at least one of the attribute streams includes a non-constant frame rate [Tran: ¶ [0385]].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the variable frame rate of Tran with the processing of Mammou in view of Pauley, Lux, Lim, Shimura, and LeLeannec in order to provide processing of multiple types of input.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN R MESSMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482