DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 30-35 are directed to an invention that is independent ordistinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
I. Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, and 17-24 are directed to a system for monitoring, by a second end user, the speed a vehicle driven by a first end user.
II. Claims 30-35 are directed to a system for detecting a kidnapping event in real-time.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presentedinvention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation forprosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 30-35 are withdrawn from considerationas being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP §821.03.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/10/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of new discovered prior art reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, and 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dedes et al US 20120290146 (hereinafter Dedes) in view of Gurusamy Sundaram US 20110106375 (hereinafter Sundaram) and Strickland US 20190098953.
Regarding claim 1, Dedes discloses a system for measuring event parameters to detect anomalies in real-time (see figs. 1), comprising:
an event monitoring unit (IMU sensors with accelerometers, see [0004], [0010]-[0011]) configured to measure one or more event parameters (position and orientation of the host vehicle, see [0004], [0013]) and detect one or more anomalies of one or more events that occur to a first end user (crashes, impending accidents, lane departures, road departures, sliding, and any other types of collisions or accidents, and speed limits, see [0014], [0027]);
the event monitoring unit comprising:
one or more accelerometers configured to detect a change in acceleration of the first end user (acceleration and orientation rate information of the vehicle, see [0020]);
one or more gyroscope sensors configured to measure an orientation and an angular velocity of the first end user (MEMS IMU sensor for determining speed and orientation of the vehicle, see [0021], [0027]);
a GPS module configured to track a live location of the first end user (GPS/IMU device, see [0010], [0013]); and
one or more safe speed trackers that are configured in conjunction with the GPS module to track a velocity of the first end user (fusion processor computes position and speed of the vehicle, and determine if the driver drives the vehicle safely, see [0027]),
wherein the event monitoring unit is further configured to send a notification over a network to a second end user (neighboring vehicles or infrastructure, see [0017]) when one or more anomalies are detected (Vehicle-2-Vehicle communication module and Vehicle-2-Infrastructure-module transmitting safety warning and additional information to neighboring vehicles and infrastructure, see [0012], [0017]).
Dedes does not disclose wherein at least one of the one or more anomalies are detected using one or more safe speed trackers that compare the tracked velocity with a speed limit, and wherein the speed limit is configured to be set by the second end user.
In the same field of endeavor, Sundaram discloses a system for measuring event parameters to detect anomalies in real-time (see figs. 1 and 2), comprising:
one or more safe speed trackers (in-vehicle computer 104 and sensors, see figs. 1 and 2), wherein at least one of the one or more anomalies (D2 driving beyond a certain speed, D1 exceeds a set speed limit, see [0018]-[0019]) are detected using the one or more safe speed trackers that compare the tracked velocity with a speed limit (in-vehicle computer fetches speed limit of a road and compares it to current speed to determine if a speed limit is exceeded, see figs. 1 and 2, [0017]-[0019]), and wherein the speed limit is configured to be set by the second end user (D1 defines settings of vehicle 102…, the speed limit for D2 will be set, see [0018]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Sundaram with Dedes with an equal expectation of success, by detecting of a speed limit violation by a vehicle based on a driver, for the benefit of alerting an owner of the vehicle that the current user is speeding.
The combination of Dedes and Sundaram does not specifically disclose a first end user of the event monitoring unit.
In a similar field of endeavor, Strickland discloses a first end user of an event monitoring unit, the event monitoring unit comprising one or more accelerometers configured to detect a change in acceleration of the first end user, one or more gyroscopes sensors configured to measure an orientation and an angular velocity of the first end user, and a GPS module configured to track a live location of the first end user (motorcycle operator 106, with a helmet 108, the helmet comprising position determination unit 144 comprising accelerometer, gyroscope, and GPS, see figs. 1A and 1C, [0036], [0051]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Strickland with the combination of Dedes as modified by Sundaram with a reasonable expectation of success by installing a accelerometer, gyroscope, and GPS in the helmet of a user, as taught by Strickland, for the benefit of tracking the position and orientation of the helmet in order to properly detect a target vehicle(s) around the helmet user.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, the combination of Dedes, Sundaram, and Strickland disclose the claimed invention. Strickland further discloses an event monitoring unit integrated in a helmet, headband, or apparel of an end user (see figs. 1A-1C, [0037], [0047], [0051]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Dedes further discloses a first computing device and a second computing device (host vehicle, neighboring vehicles/infrastructure, see, [0010]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 1, Dedes further discloses a central database configured to store the one or more event parameters measured by the event monitoring unit (determining safety from speed limits and trajectory consistency requires a database, see [0027]).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 1, Dedes further discloses wherein the one or more event parameters comprises a current location, velocity, speed limit, distance, an acceleration and a perimeter range, a mode of transport, and a network connectivity (see [0014], [0027]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 1, Dedes further discloses wherein the event monitoring unit is an inertial measurement unit (see fig. 1, [0010], [0012]).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 1, Dedes further discloses wherein the event monitoring unit further comprises a compass (see fig. 1, claims 1, 2, and 4, [0004]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 5, Dedes further discloses wherein the first computing device is operated by the first end user, and wherein the second computing device is operated by the second end user (host vehicle, neighboring vehicles/infrastructure, inherently managed by different users, see, [0010]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 19, Dedes further discloses wherein the first and second computing devices comprise an event reporting module configured to receive the event parameters from the event monitoring unit (processor receives data, see [0013]-[0014], [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 21 as applied to claim 20, Dedes further discloses wherein the event reporting module is configured to detect the one or more anomalies based on the received event parameters (see [0014]).
Regarding claim 22 as applied to claim 1, the combination of Dedes and Sundaram discloses the claimed invention. Sundaram further discloses wherein the second end user can set different speed limits for each of a plurality of locations (see [0017]-[0019]).
Regarding claim 23 as applied to claim 1, the combination of Dedes and Sundaram discloses the claimed invention. Sundaram further discloses wherein GPS data is used to determine a set speed limit at a location of the plurality of locations for comparing to the tracked velocity (see [0017]-[0019], [0021], [0037], [0039]).
Regarding claim 24 as applied to claim 1, Dedes further discloses wherein the notification comprises location and/or tracked velocity data from the event monitoring unit (Vehicle-2-Vehicle communication module and Vehicle-2-Infrastructure-module transmitting safety warning and additional information to neighboring vehicles and infrastructure, see [0012], [0017]-[0018]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iqbal et al US 10,373,257 discloses detecting that a mobile device in a vehicle is moving at a speed greater than a predetermined threshold.
Jedlicka et al US 20120028624 discloses a speed control feature that restricts operations based on the speed at which a target handset is travelling.
White et al CA 2641694 A discloses a method and system for controlling a vehicle given to a third party.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648