DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 21, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1, applicant asserts that:
“However, Uhlemann does not disclose routing the traffic by an Access Point (AP) associated with the Wi-Fi device via a different network path in a mesh network configuration. Thus, Uhlemann fails to remedy the defect.”; and that:
“Thus, Hashemi does not disclose routing the traffic by an Access Point (AP) associated with the Wi-Fi device via a different network path in a mesh network configuration. Thus, Hashemi fails to remedy the defect.”
The examiner, however, disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Uhlemann discloses routing the traffic by an Access Point (AP) 104 and/or 106 (see at least figure 8) associated with the Wi-Fi device 116 via a different network path (see paragraphs [0037], [0104]) which disclose WiFi network used in home or office) that exposes RF energy on an animate object 810 so as to reduce RF energy exposure on the animate object 810 (see paragraphs [0100], [0101], [0108], [0109], and [0118]).
Hashemi discloses routing traffic of devices 278, 274 (see at least figure 26) via a different network path (see a different path including devices 272, 278, 276, and 274 in figure 27) in a mesh network configuration (see paragraphs [0019], [0093]).
Accordingly, the combination of Uhlemann and Hashemi, as a whole, would result routing the traffic by an Access Point (AP) associated with the Wi-Fi device via a different network path in a mesh network configuration.
Regarding independent claims 9, 17, and dependent claims 2-8, 10-13, 18-24, they are discussed for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
For the foregoing reasons, the examiner contends that the rejections to claims 1-13, and 17-24 are proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, 17-21, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katz (US 2016/0327634) in view of Uhlemann (US 2019/0005317), and Hashemi (US 2020/0221367).
As to claim 1, Katz discloses an apparatus 102 (see at least figures 1, 10), comprising: a memory 1020; and processor circuitry 1010 coupled with the memory 1020, wherein the processor circuitry 1010 is to: obtain an environment map of a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) device, based on Wi-Fi sensing by a detecting module of the Wi-Fi device (see paragraphs [0037], [0042], [0043], [0051], [0063], [0077]); estimate a distance between the Wi-Fi device and an animate object within the environment map and/or a location of the animate object (see paragraphs [0034], [0035], [0044], [0085]); and adapt, based on the distance and/or the location, a communication parameter of the Wi-Fi device to reduce RF energy exposure on the animate object (see paragraphs [0035], [0044], [0089]), and wherein the memory is to store the environment map (see figure 8 which shows map 804 stored in memory 808).
Katz fails to disclose triggering, based on the distance and/or the location, a network-level adaptation to route, by an Access Point (AP) associated with the Wi-Fi device via a different network path, traffic of the Wi-Fi device that exposes RF energy on the animate object so as to reduce RF energy exposure on the animate object. Uhlemann discloses triggering, based on the distance and/or the location, a network-level adaptation to route, by an Access Point (AP) 104 and/or 106 (see at least figure 8) associated with a Wi-Fi device 116 via a different network path, traffic of the Wi-Fi device 116 (see paragraphs [0037], [0104]) which disclose WiFi network used in home or office) that exposes RF energy on an animate object 810 so as to reduce RF energy exposure on the animate object 810 (see paragraphs [0100], [0101], [0108], [0109], and [0118]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Uhlemann to Katz, in order to further reduce RF energy exposure on the animate object, as well as increase the coverage communication areas.
The combination of Katz and Uhlemann fails to disclose triggering, based on the distance and/or the location, a network-level adaptation to route, via a different network path in a mesh network configuration, traffic of the Wi-Fi device. Hashemi discloses triggering, based on distance and/or location (see location of human body disclosed at paragraph [0169], figures 24, 26, 27), a network-level adaptation to route (see paragraphs [0174], [0175], [0176]), via a different network path (see a different path including devices 272, 278, 276, and 274 in figure 27) in a mesh network configuration (see paragraphs [0019], [0093]), traffic of devices 278, 274 (see at least figure 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Hashemi to the combination of Katz and Uhlemann, because mesh network has advantages such as ensuring consistent and reliable speeds.
As to claims 2, 18, Katz discloses the environment map further includes an inanimate object 112 (see figure 1), and wherein the processor circuitry 1010 is further to: discriminate the animate object 110 from the inanimate object 112. See paragraphs [0034], [0035], [0053], [0071].
As to claims 3, 13, 19, Katz discloses the processor circuitry 1010 is further to: update the environment map periodically (see paragraph [0028]).
As to claims 4, 20, Katz discloses the processor circuitry is further to: decrease a transmitting power of the Wi-Fi device to reduce the RF energy exposure on the animate object. See paragraphs [0044], [0089]).
As to claims 5, 21, Katz discloses the processor circuitry is further to: change an antenna setting of the Wi-Fi device to reduce the RF energy exposure on the animate object. See paragraphs [0044], [0089], [0091]).
As to claims 7, 23, the combination of Katz and Uhlemann discloses determining that the distance is less than a threshold (see Uhlemann, paragraphs [0035], [0101], [0109], [0127]); and trigger the network-level adaptation (see Uhlemann, paragraphs [0100], [0101], [0108], [0109]).
As to claims 8, 24, the combination of Katz and Uhlemann discloses determining that the animate object 110 is located at a line-of-sight (LoS) path between the Wi-Fi device 102 and another Wi-Fi device 202 (see Katz, paragraphs [0026], [0040], [0058]; see also figure 2 which shows animate object 110 is located at a line-of-sight (LoS) path between the Wi-Fi device 102 and another Wi-Fi device 202; see also Uhlemann, paragraph [0041]); and trigger the network-level adaptation (see Uhlemann, paragraphs [0100], [0101], [0108], [0109]).
As to claim 9, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
As to claim 10, Katz discloses the object includes an animate object (see paragraphs [0034], [0035]).
As to claim 17, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. In addition, Katz discloses a computer-readable medium 1020 (see paragraph [0095]).
Claims 6, 12, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katz in view of Uhlemann, and Hashemi as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, and further in view of Rimini (US 2021/0055385).
As to claims 6, 12, 22, Katz fails to disclose estimating the location of the animate object by comparing consecutive sensing results of the animate object. Rimini discloses estimating location of an animate object by comparing consecutive sensing results of the animate object (see paragraphs [0064], [0096], [0120]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Rimini to Katz, in order to estimate location of the animate object more accurately.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katz in view of Uhlemann, and Hashemi as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 2019/0271774).
As to claim 11, Katz fails to disclose detecting, based on a coarse sensing procedure, the object for a movement of the object; and detecting the object based on a fine sensing procedure, if the movement is detected. Zhang discloses detecting, based on a coarse sensing procedure, an object for a movement of the object; and detecting the object based on a fine sensing procedure, if the movement is detected. See paragraph [0142]. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Zhang to Katz, in order to reduce battery consumption, because the fine sensing procedure is only active when needed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGUYEN T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646