CTFR 17/206,333 CTFR 89357 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/18/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-13, 15, 31, 33-36, 38, 45, 47-48, 50 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee (Pub No 20210168861) further in view of Babaei (Pub No 20210218503) and Loehr (WO/2019/155282). Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitation. The examiner relies on newly cited Babaei (Pub No 20210218503) to teach the limitations. Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the motivation for combination of Lee with the transmission time intervals of Loehr is not taught. The examiner includes the motivation in the new grounds of rejection made in view of Lee (Pub No 20210168861) further in view of Babaei (Pub No 20210218503) and Loehr (WO/2019/155282).. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15, 31, 34-36, 38, 45, 47-48, 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (Pub No 20210168861) further in view of Babaei (Pub No 20210218503) and Loehr (WO/2019/155282) . Regarding claim 1 and 13 and 31 and 36 and 45 and 48, Lee teaches a method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: A non-transitory computer readable medium; (see para [0273]) One or more processor, and one or more memory coupled with the processor, the processor configured to: (see para [0273]) monitoring a first symbol of a set of symbols for sidelink communications between the first UE and a second UE for a reservation signal from a third UE (see external devices such as other AI devices (e.g., 100x, 200, 400 of FIG. 23) for reservation of one or more symbols within the set of symbols; (interpreted as Referring to FIG. 15, in step S1510, a UE may measure a resource during a first time duration to determine a threshold (also referred to as a CCA threshold), see para [0148]. Also see CCA includes carrier sense (CCA-CS) and energy detection (CCA-ED). When a receiver detects and decodes a preamble signal to detect another preamble signal, the CCA-CS is a method of reporting the received frame to an upper layer in a busy state with a length as long as a length field of a physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) header indicates, see para [0141]) Selecting, based at least in part on the monitoring, a sidelink channel resource configuration from a first resource configuration and a second resource configuration, (interpreted as According to the proposed rule, for example, if current traffic increases excessively, the UE may replace the CCA threshold (i.e., the dynamic CCA threshold) pre-determined to be low based on a history with a CCA threshold having a greater value between the two values. Therefore, the UE may select a candidate group of an occupied resource, based on the configured CCA threshold, and there may be an increase in the candidate group that can be selected by the UE see para [0190]) wherein the sidelink channel resource configuration is for sidelink communications, the first UE and a second UE, between a first resource configuration comprising a single first transmission time interval spanning the set of symbols; (interpreted as In step S1530, the UE may select a resource for V2X communication in the second time duration, based on the determination result, see para [0148]. Also see Here, shortening of a time length between units may mean that transmission TTIs are reduced together (e.g., 0.5 symbol TTIs), see para [0181]. OFDM symbols in the time domain)) transmitting/receiving the data transmission to the second UE according to the selected sidelink channel resource configuration (interpreted as In step S1530, the UE may select a resource for V2X communication in the second time duration, based on the determination result, see para [0148]) However Lee does not teach the first configuration being slot-based and the second configuration being subslot-based and selecting based on priority or data type. Babaei teaches selecting the channel resource configuration being one of a slot-based resource configuration or a subslot-based resource configuration based at least on one of the parameters for the second UE, a priority associated with the data transmission or a type of the data transmission; (interpreted as The at least two HARQ feedback codebooks may be for different traffic/service types for the wireless device and/or for different priorities, see para [0216]. Also see two HARQ-ACK codebooks with different priorities to be simultaneously constructed, including the scenarios where one is slot-based, and one is sub-slot-based, see para [0237]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration taught by Lee with the priority for the configuration as taught by Babaei for the benefit of the UE selecting the most optimal resource configuration/pool. However Lee in view of Babaei does not teach comprising communications/transmitting via a first component carrier and second component carrier; a single first transmission time interval spanning the set of symbols; Second resource configuration comprising two or more second transmission time intervals spanning the set of symbols; the two or more second transmission time intervals each being shorter in length than the single first transmission time interval; Loehr teaches comprising communications/transmitting via a first component carrier and second component carrier; (interpreted as Here, the first component carrier is configured with a slot-length TTI (e.g., 7 OFDM symbols in duration) and the second component carrier 330 is configured with subslot-length TTI (e.g., 2 or 3 OFDM symbols in duration; here in a“2-2-3” pattern, such that every three sTTIs add up to 7 OFDM symbols), see para [0073]. Also see transmissions on CC1 and CC2 para [0100]) comprising a single first transmission time interval spanning the set of symbols; (interpreted as e.g., 7 OFDM symbols in duration) and the second component carrier 330 is configured with subslot-length TTI (e.g., 2 or 3 OFDM symbols in duration; here in a“2-2-3” pattern, such that every three sTTIs add up to 7 OFDM symbols), see para [0073]) Second resource configuration comprising two or more second transmission time intervals spanning the set of symbols; the two or more second transmission time intervals each being shorter in length than the single first transmission time interval; (interpreted as multiple sTTIs on the second component carrier 330 fit within a single sTTI on the first component carrier 320. In the depicted embodiment, one sTTI of the first component carrier 320 overlaps with three sTTIs of the second component carrier 330., see para [0073]) One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would combine the short TTI (Lee para [0181]) as taught as taught by Lee in view of Babaei with the usage of the shorten TTis as taught by Loehr with the motivation being to improve traffic efficiency. Regarding claim 4 and 15 and 34, Lee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: failing to detect the reservation signal from the third UE during the first symbol of the set of symbols based at least in part on the monitoring, wherein selecting the one sidelink channel resource configuration comprises selecting the second resource configuration based at least in part on failing to detect the reservation signal from the third UE. (interpreted as According to the proposed rule, for example, if current traffic increases excessively, the UE may replace the CCA threshold (i.e., the dynamic CCA threshold) pre-determined to be low based on a history with a CCA threshold having a greater value between the two values. Therefore, the UE may select a candidate group of an occupied resource, based on the configured CCA threshold, and there may be an increase in the candidate group that can be selected by the UE, see para [0190]) However Lee does not teach slot-based resources and subslot-based resource; Babaei teaches slot-based resources and subslot-based resource; (interpreted as The at least two HARQ feedback codebooks may be for different traffic/service types for the wireless device and/or for different priorities, see para [0216]. Also see two HARQ-ACK codebooks with different priorities to be simultaneously constructed, including the scenarios where one is slot-based, and one is sub-slot-based, see para [0237]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration taught by Lee with the priority for the configuration as taught by Babaei for the benefit of the UE selecting the most optimal resource configuration/pool. Regarding claim 5 and 35 and 38 and 47 and 50, Lee the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a base station, control signaling indicating the first resource configuration or the second resource configuration for the set of symbols, wherein selecting the one sidelink channel resource configuration comprises selecting the indicated first resource configuration or the indicated second resource configuration. (interpreted as According to the proposed rule, for example, if current traffic increases excessively, the UE may replace the CCA threshold (i.e., the dynamic CCA threshold) pre-determined to be low based on a history with a CCA threshold having a greater value between the two values. Therefore, the UE may select a candidate group of an occupied resource, based on the configured CCA threshold, and there may be an increase in the candidate group that can be selected by the UE, see para [0190]) However Lee does not teach slot-based resources and subslot-based resource; Babaei teaches slot-based resources and subslot-based resource; (interpreted as The at least two HARQ feedback codebooks may be for different traffic/service types for the wireless device and/or for different priorities, see para [0216]. Also see two HARQ-ACK codebooks with different priorities to be simultaneously constructed, including the scenarios where one is slot-based, and one is sub-slot-based, see para [0237]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration taught by Lee with the priority for the configuration as taught by Babaei for the benefit of the UE selecting the most optimal resource configuration/pool. Regarding claim 6, Lee the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a base station, control signaling indicating the first resource configuration and the second resource configuration for the set of symbols. (interpreted as For example, the specific count N or the specific ratio R may be pre-defined for the UE. Alternatively, for example, a base station may configure the specific count N or the specific ratio R for the UE. Alternatively, for example, the base station may pre-configure the specific count N or the specific ratio R for the UE. For example, the specific count N or the specific ratio R may be a common configuration which is commonly used by all UEs in the resource pool. For example, the specific count N or the specific ratio R may be a dedicated configuration which is configured individually for each UE, see para [0204]) However Lee does not teach slot-based resources and subslot-based resource; Babaei teaches slot-based resources and subslot-based resource; (interpreted as The at least two HARQ feedback codebooks may be for different traffic/service types for the wireless device and/or for different priorities, see para [0216]. Also see two HARQ-ACK codebooks with different priorities to be simultaneously constructed, including the scenarios where one is slot-based, and one is sub-slot-based, see para [0237]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration taught by Lee with the priority for the configuration as taught by Babaei for the benefit of the UE selecting the most optimal resource configuration/pool. Regarding claim 8, Lee teach The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise are further associated with a geographic location of the first UE (the examiner rejects upon being an alternative limitation since claim 1 list the parameters being “OR” limitations) Regarding claim 9, Lee teach The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the data transmission to the second UE comprises: transmitting, based at least in part on the one or more parameters associated with the sidelink communications, a first message or a second message based at least in part on respective priorities of the first message and the second message, respective lengths of the first message and the second message, or a combination thereof. (interpreted as For example, the specific count N or the specific ratio R may be a dedicated configuration which is configured individually for each UE. In addition, for example, the specific count N or the specific ratio R may be related to an importance (e.g., a ProSe Per-Packet Priority (PPPP), a ProSe Per-Packet Reliability (PPPR), or a latency requirement)) of a packet to be transmitted. For example, the specific count N or the specific ratio R may be configured to different values according to the importance (e.g., the PPPP, the PPPR, or the latency requirement) of the packet to be transmitted by the transmitting UE, see para [0204]) Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the two or more second transmission time intervals comprise a first second transmission time interval spanning a first quantity of the set of symbols and another second transmission time interval spanning a second quantity of the set of symbols different than the first quantity. Loehr teaches wherein the two or more second transmission time intervals comprise a first second transmission time interval spanning a first quantity of the set of symbols and a second transmission time interval spanning a second quantity of the set of symbols different than the first quantity. (interpreted as Here, the first component carrier is configured with a slot-length TTI (e.g., 7 OFDM symbols in duration) and the second component carrier 330 is configured with subslot-length TTI (e.g., 2 or 3 OFDM symbols in duration; here in a“2-2-3” pattern, such that every three sTTIs add up to 7 OFDM symbols), see para [0073]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the sidelink configuration as taught by Lee with the symbols for sidelink transmissions as taught by Loehr for the benefit of using known resources for communications. Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the single first transmission time interval and each of the two or more second transmission time intervals each comprise a first symbol associated with automatic gain control, one or more second symbols associated with a physical sidelink control channel, one or more third symbols associated with a physical sidelink data channel, a fourth symbol associated with a gap symbol, or a combination thereof. (interpreted as After transmitting sidelink control information (SCI) to UE2 via physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), UE1 may transmit data based on the SCI via physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). In case of an LTE sidelink, transmission mode 1 may be applied to a general sidelink communication, and transmission mode 3 may be applied to a V2X sidelink communication, see para [0114]. Also see TTI symbols para [0181]) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (Pub No 20210168861) further in view of Babaei (Pub No 20210218503), Loehr (WO/2019/155282), and Ryu (Pub No 20210014831) Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Babei and Loehr teaches The method of claim 9, however does not teach wherein the one or more parameters associated with the sidelink communications comprise a first set of resources associated with the first message at least partially overlapping with a second set of resources associated with the second message, a power scaling procedure for the sidelink communications performed by the first UE, the first UE receiving the reservation signal from a third UE, or a combination thereof. Ryu teaches wherein the one or more parameters associated with the sidelink communications comprise a first set of resources associated with the first message at least partially overlapping with a second set of resources associated with the second message, a power scaling procedure for the sidelink communications performed by the first UE, the first UE receiving the reservation signal from a third UE, or a combination thereof. (interpreted as When sidelink resources of the selected resource pool (for example, resource pool A) overlaps sidelink resources of another resource pool (for example, resource pool B) on a time axis, the UE may give up on transmission of sidelink control information and data information or feedback information transmitted in resource pool B. Alternatively, the UE may give up on sidelink transmission in a resource pool having a lower priority based on a priority provided by a higher layer. In the case of the same priority, the UE may randomly select transmission of sidelink control information and data information or feedback information, see Ryu para [0198]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the sidelink parameter as taught by Lee in view of Lee in view of Babei and Loehr with the sidelink parameter as taught by Ryu for the benefit of adjusting the system based on different changes in the network . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 16-18, 20-30, 39-41, 43-44, 51-55 are allowed. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 3, 33 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 3 and 33, The prior art does not teach The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting the reservation signal from the third UE during the first symbol of the set of symbols based at least in part on the monitoring, the reservation signal indicating a second data transmission within a second symbol of the set of symbols transmitted from the third UE to the second UE according to the first resource configuration, wherein selecting the one sidelink channel resource configuration comprises selecting the first resource configuration based at least in part on detecting the reservation signal from the third UE. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BAO G NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-7732. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10pm - 6:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Vu can be reached on 571-272-3155. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461 /HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461 Application/Control Number: 17/206,333 Page 2 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 17/206,333 Page 3 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 17/206,333 Page 4 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 17/206,333 Page 5 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 17/206,333 Page 6 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 17/206,333 Page 7 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 17/206,333 Page 8 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 17/206,333 Page 9 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 17/206,333 Page 10 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 17/206,333 Page 11 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 17/206,333 Page 12 Art Unit: 2461