DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The following is a Final Office Action in response to communication filed on 3/9/2026. Claims 1, 5-7, 9-11, and 16-19 are pending in this office action.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 11,and 18 are acknowledged. Applicant’s cancellation of claims 2-4, 8, and 12-15 are acknowledged. Applicant’s addition of new claim 19 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Based on Applicant’s amendments and remarks on page 14, the previous 112 second/b rejections have been withdrawn.
On remarks pages 16-17 with respect to the 101 rejection, Applicant argues the claims are similar to the finding in the Desjardins decision. Applicant cites paragraphs 0004, 0179, 0181, and 0210 of Applicant’s specification for support of this argument. The Examiner has carefully considered Applicant’s arguments, claims, specification, and the Desjardins decision. However the Examiner does not find the current claims are similar to the Desjardins decision. Here the specification recites certain method of organizing human activities of verifying formation like certificates and transferring ownership between entities, where the specific information that is being verified or transferred is different types of renewable energy, and recording details of transactions like transfers in ownership and certifications in various logs or records. Further the specification discusses subtracting the remaining unused amount and reselling it, which again here are certain method of organizing human activities, therefore part of the abstract idea. The additional elements that this is being implemented via blockchain technology (specifically blockchain networks and smart contracts as argued and recited in Applicant’s argued sections) merely results in apply it level recitation as specifically discussed in further detail in the updated 101 rejection in view of Applicant’s amendments below. Here there are no improvements to blockchain like improvements in smart contracts rather the claims are merely using the additional elements at the apply it level to implement the abstract idea of tracking renewable energy, which are limitations previously found to not be enough to qualify as a practical application and or significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h)).
On Remarks page 18 with respect to the 101 rejection, Applicant argues Applicant’s amendments of “Claim 1 recites that the first transaction information "functions as a command of generation of the first asset information by assigning to identification information and setting transaction type automatically." This is not a limitation a human could perform. Rather, it is an automated blockchain operation in which the transaction information itself serves as a machine-executable command that drives automatic asset information generation.” The Examiner has carefully considered Applicant’s arguments here however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As broadly recited here it is a mental of organizing human activities to generate after verification of a product certificate a command to record transaction information like supplier information, transaction information, available amount of energy, owner information, type and identification information, as claimed. It is a human activity to generate information and follow commands, therefore this is part of the abstract idea as broadly recited in the claims. The additional elements that this is being performed “automatically” and the certification is “electronic” as broadly recited in the claims merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed in the updated 101 rejection below.
6. On remarks page 18-19 with respect to the 101 rejection, Applicant argues Applicants’ amendments of “Similarly, Claim 1 recites that the second transaction information "functions as a first command for updating the first asset information and a second command for generating third transaction information." This dual-command functionality, where a single transaction information block automatically triggers both an update operation and a generation operation, is a specific technical mechanism of the blockchain system, not something a human could reasonably perform by writing in a paper log.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees it is a method of organizing human activity as broadly recited in the claims generate a command to update first asset information (transaction information) and generate a command to generate third asset information (other transaction information) as recited in the claims. It is a human activity to generate information and follow commands, therefore this is part of the abstract idea, as detailed in the 101 rejection below. The additional element that this is being performed “automatically” merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed in the updated 101 rejection below.
7. On Remarks page 18 with respect to the 101 rejection, Applicant argues the amended limitation of “based on a smart contract of the blockchain network.” Here Applicant argues “A smart contract is a self-executing program stored on the blockchain that automatically enforces predetermined rules, it is not a traditional contract that a human reviews and executes. The smart contract determines the contents and format of the supplier information through contract automation, ensuring consistency and integrity across the decentralized network The Office Action's assertion that "a
human can receive information, make determinations, transmit information to another, verify information, provide certificates, record information in multiple logs or records" (see Office Action, pages 16-17) reduces these specific automated blockchain operations to their most abstract functional descriptions, which is precisely the type of "overbroad reasoning" the Dejardins Panel held fails to apply the "clear teachings of Enfish" Desjardins, Appeal No. 2024-000567, page 9-10.”
While the Examiner understands Applicant’s arguments here as recited the claims merely recite receiving information based on a “a smart contract of the blockchain network.” It is a certain method of organizing human activity to receive information related to a sale like certificates, suppliers, and amount of information like energy as claimed. Therefore this is part of the abstract idea. The additional element that this information is received “based on a smart contract” merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h) as detailed in the 101 rejection below). It is noted here there is no claimed improvement to blockchain smart contracts or how information is received from smart contracts as claimed, rather the additional element of a “smart contract” is recited as a result oriented solution that uses of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea, which as defined in MPEP 2106.05(f) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.
8. On Remarks page 21, Applicant argues the office action’s conclusion that the smart meter, blockchain apparatus, and intermediary server are merely apply it and argues that the office action makes the same error as in Desjardins. As detailed above the Examiner does not interpret the claims as similar to the Desjardins decision. Further the Examiner respectfully disagrees that the Examiner did not adequately explain why these components are merely apply it.
For reference the analysis for claim 1, from the Non-Final Office Action is provided below:
The additional elements that these limitations that could be reasonably and practically performed by a human or humans are instead recited as being performed by computers ( specifically smart meter that includes circuitry and memory, apparatuses that include memory and circuitry, servers that include memory), automatically, the certificate is electronic, and the record or logs are blockchain (specifically as recited in the claims a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, a chain of transaction information blocks, smart contracts), merely result in apply it.
Specifically here the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g. to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Further the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome, i.e. the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The claim limitation that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Specifically here the claims recite a result oriented solution and lack details as to how the computer perform the modifications which is equivalent to the words “apply it.” Specifically here Applicant does not recite an improvement to the recited computers, electronic certificates, or blockchain, rather as recited Applicant is merely using these additional elements to implement the abstract idea.
Further limitations that could be performed by a human or humans that instead recite them being performed by a high level by computers ( specifically smart meter that includes circuitry and memory, apparatuses that include memory and circuitry, servers that include memory), the certificate is electronic, automatically, and the record or logs are blockchain (specifically as recited in the claims a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, a chain of transaction information blocks, smart contracts), merely result in generally linking it to the field of computers.
As to Applicant’s arguments with respect to smart contract automation, command-driven transaction processing and distributed ledger synchronization the Examiner has updated the below 101 rejection to reflect Applicant’s amendments. Further it is noted the Examiner has previously addressed arguments towards these amendments in the previous response to arguments section above.
Therefore the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
9. As to Applicant’s arguments with respect to the technical improvement, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as detailed previously above in claim 4.
10. Applicant’s arguments on page 22 with respect to the 101 are acknowledged. The Examiner maintains that the present application is not similar to Desjardins as detailed above. Further it is noted that Applicant’s arguments do not reflect USPTO 101 examination guidance regarding the Desjardins decision, see USPTO Memorandum dated 12/5/2025 Advance notice of change to the MPEP in light of Ex Parte Desjardins. Specifically the Memorandum states “These updates are not intended to announce any new USPTO practice or procedure and are meant to be consistent with existing USPTO guidance. Indeed, the Ex Parte Desjardins decision analyzed eligibility in terms of whether the claims were directed to an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field under longstanding Federal Circuit precedent in Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016) and McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See also MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(l) and 2106.05(a).” Therefore the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
11. On Remarks pages 22-23, Applicant argues non conventional arrangement of parts (where transaction information serves as self-executing commands that drive asset generation, ownership transfer, and surplus tracking across a distributed network) and cites BASCOM for support of this argument. It is noted that the claims do not recite self executing commands rather the claims just recite commands. Here the argued limitations above recite recording a transaction, transferring ownership, tracking transactions and ownerships in a log, and tracking and selling surplus supplies in a system. This is part of the abstract idea The additional elements that the log is a “blockchain network” (distributed network) and the certain methods of organizing human activity above functions above are performed “automatically” as claimed merely result in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as detailed in the updated 101 rejection below in view of Applicant’s amendments.
12. On Remarks page 25, Applicant argues the prior art rejection. Here Applicant argues that Gokhale does not teach an intermediary server. The Examiner respectfully and strongly disagrees. A server under broadest reasonable interpretation is a device that communicates with other devices. Gokhale clearly teaches in paragraphs 0070-0073 a computer (in various forms) communicating with other nodes (e.g. computers) to perform the operations related to the energy exchange (buying and selling) on the distributed ledger (blockchain). Therefore the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
13. On remarks page 25 with respect to the prior art, Applicant argues “Gokhale does not describe or reasonably suggest the specific data payload claimed: "an asset identifier for the first asset information, a new owner, and a used amount of energy." The Examiner respectfully disagrees as recited here the claims merely recite performing a transaction of selling energy which the previously cited paragraphs in the Non-Final Office Action corresponding to the argued limitation Gokhale teaches. Here amount of energy used could be merely that purchased, there is no recitation for how such data is determined or calculated. Therefore the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
14. On Remarks page 25, Applicant argues “Furthermore, Gokhale does not teach generating "first transaction information" that explicitly functions as a command to automatically generate a distinct "first asset information" object In Gokhale, transactions are recorded, hut there is no disclosure or suggestion of a mechanism where the storage of a transaction log entry mechanically triggers the generation of a separate asset state object based on command data embedded within that transaction. Amended Claim l distinguishes between the history/command log ("transaction information") and the current state ("asset information") and links them via a specific automated execution process, which Gokhale lacks.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., storage of a transaction log entry mechanically triggers the generation of a separate asset state object based on command data embedded within that transaction) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The commands are interpreted in Gokhale to be the storing and updating of transaction data in a blockchain node and or other blockchain nodes based on transactions of energy through smart contracts.
15. On Remarks pages 25-26 with respect to the prior art, Applicant argues Sun does not teach the server, however Gokhale as discussed above is relied upon to teach the server. Applicant further argues Sun does not each the first and second commands, however Gokhale is relied upon to teach this. Specifically Gokhale teaches the commands as Gokhale teaches storing of transaction data in a blockchain node and or other blocks nodes based on transactions of energy through smart contracts (see the prior art cited with respect to Applicant’s amendments below). It is noted though in the efforts of compact prosecution Sun does teach performing electricity services transactions based on processing of smart contracts (see paragraph 0090), where electricity services transactions can be for purchasing a surplus of power from another transaction (see Figure 10 and paragraph 0113). Therefore the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
17. Claims 1, 5-7, 9-11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-10, and 19 recite a machine as the claims recite a machine with a smart meter, apparatus, servers, and circuitry. Claims 11 and 16-17 recite a process as the claims recite a method. Claim 18 recite an article of manufacture as the claims recite a non-transitory computer readable medium being executed by a processor to perform a method.
The claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9-11, and 16-19 recite(s) verifying information like certificates and transferring ownership between entities, where the specific information in the claims is being verified or transferred is different types of renewable energy, and recording details of transactions like transfers in ownership and certifications in various logs or records. This information is concepts related to commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations), which is certain methods of organizing human activities.
Certain methods of organizing human activities are in the groupings of enumerated abstracts ideas, and hence the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely recite limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application in that the claims merely recite:
(1) Adding the words “apply it” ( or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and or (2) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Specifically as recited in the claims:
Examiner notes limitations that are bolded and underlined for distinction are considered additional elements. Limitations that are not bolded and underlined are considered a part of the abstract idea.
Claim 1. A system, comprising:
a smart meter including a first memory and first circuitry;
an apparatus of a plurality of apparatuses operating in a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, wherein the apparatus includes a second memory and second circuitry;
and an intermediary server including third circuitry, wherein
the first circuitry configured to:
measure energy which is supplied from a power generator of a supplier to a power grid;
and transmit a request to the apparatus every predetermined time, wherein the request is for generating first asset information related to the energy, and the request includes an electronic certificate of the supplier, supplier information indicating the supplier of the energy and an available amount of the energy based on a smart contract of the blockchain network,
the second circuitry is configured to:
receive the request from the smart meter;
verify the electronic certificate included in the request;
upon verification of the electronic certificate, in response to the request,
generate first transaction information that functions as a command of generation of the first asset information by assigning to identification information and setting transaction type automatically, the first transaction information includes the supplier information, a transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, and information indicating that an owner of the energy is an intermediary agent and information indicating generation of the first asset information;
store the first transaction information in the second memory;
in response to storage of the first transaction information, generate the first asset information, by setting the supplier information, the transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, and information indicating that the owner of the energy is the intermediary agent, included in the first transaction information, automatically based on the transaction information;
store the first asset information in the second memory; and
distribute the first transaction information to the plurality of apparatuses operating in the blockchain network to store in each of the plurality of apparatuses ;
the first circuitry is further configured to:
receive a response, indicating whether or not generation of the first asset information is successful, transmitted from the apparatus in response to the request transmitted from the smart meter; and
store in response in the first memory;
the third circuitry is configured to:
transmit a request for changing asset information to the apparatus when receiving consumption information from a consumer; and
the second circuitry is further configured to:
receive, from the intermediary server, the request for changing asset information, the request comprising an asset identifier for the first asset information, a new owner, and a used amount of energy;
determine whether the used amount of energy is less than the available amount of energy indicated by the first asset information;
in response to receiving the request for changing asset information from the intermediary server, generate second transaction information indicating at least updated the new owner information and the used amount of the energy, automatically wherein the second transaction information functions as a first command for updating the first asset information and a second command for generating third transaction information;
store the second transaction information in the second memory in a chain of transaction information blocks and attached to the first transaction information;
in response to storage of the second transaction information, update the first asset information stored in the second memory by changing a value of the available amount in the first asset information to a value of the used amount of the energy and changing ownership of the energy from the intermediary agent to the new owner automatically based on the first command;
based on the second command, generate the third transaction information for generating second asset information, the second asset information indicating a remaining available amount of the energy obtained by subtracting the used amount of the energy from the available amount of the energy indicated by the first asset information prior to the update;
and distribute the second transaction information and the third transaction information, when generated, to the plurality of apparatuses for addition to a chain of transformation transaction information blocks stored at each apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses,
Claim 5. The system of claim 1,
wherein the second circuitry is further configured to generate the first asset information that indicates, as the production method of the energy, one of production of energy using a renewable source, production of energy using fossil fuels, and production of energy using nuclear power.
Claim 6. The system of claim 5,
wherein when the production method of the energy is production of energy using the renewable source, the second circuitry is further configured to generate the first asset information indicating that the renewable source is one of solar light or solar heat, wind power, biomass, geothermal power, hydropower, heat in the atmosphere, or a combination thereof.
Claim 7. The system of claim 1,
wherein the second circuitry is further configured to receive the supplier information from the supplier.
Claim 9. The system of claim 1,
wherein another apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses intermediates transfer of ownership of the energy between the supplier and the user using the chain of transaction information blocks.
Claim 10. The system of claim 9,
wherein in response to the supplier information included in the request, the second circuitry is configured to generate the first asset information which indicates that the owner of the energy is an intermediary agent managing an intermediary server.
Claim 11. A method for an apparatus in a system of a smart meter and a plurality of apparatuses operating in a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, the smart meter including a first memory and the apparatus including a second memory, the method comprising:
receiving a request from the smart meter, wherein the smart meter measures energy which is supplied from a power generator of a supplier to a power grid, the request is for generating first asset information related to the energy, and the request includes an electronic certificate of the supplier, supplier information indicating the supplier of the energy, an available amount of the energy, based on a smart contract of the blockchain network;
verifying the electronic certificate included in the request;
upon verification of the electronic certificate, in response to the request, generating first transaction information that functions as a command of generation of the first asset information by assigning to identification information and setting transaction type automatically, wherein the first transaction information includes the supplier information, a transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, and information indicating that an owner of the energy is an intermediary agent and information indicating generation of the first asset information;
storing the first transaction information in the second memory;
in response to storage of the first transaction information, generating the first asset information, by setting the supplier information, the transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, and the information indicating that the owner of the energy is the intermediary agent included in the first transaction information automatically based on the transaction information;
storing the first asset information in the second memory;
distributing the first transaction information to the plurality of apparatuses operating in the blockchain network to store in each of the plurality of apparatus;
sending a response indicating whether or not generation of the first asset information is successful, to the smart meter in response to the request transmitted from the smart meter, wherein the response is stored in the first memory;
receiving, from the intermediary server, a request for changing asset information when consumption information is received from a consumer, the request comprising an asset identifier for the first asset information, a new owner, and a used amount of energy;
determining whether the used amount of the energy is less than the available amount of energy indicated by the first asset information;
in response to receiving the request for changing asset information from the intermediary server, generating second transaction information indicating at least the new owner information and the used amount of energy, and automatically, wherein the second transaction information functions as a first command for updating the first asset information and a second command for generating third transaction information;
storing the second transaction information in the memory in a chain of transaction information blocks and attached to the first transaction information;
in response to storage of the second transaction information, updating the first asset information stored in the second memory by changing a value of the available amount in the first asset information to a value of the used amount of the energy and changing ownership of the energy from the intermediary agent to the new owner automatically based on the first command;
based on the second command, generating the third transaction information for generating second asset information, the second asset information indicating a remaining available amount of the energy obtained by subtracting the used amount of the energy from the available amount of the energy indicated by the first asset information prior to the update;
and distributing the second transaction information and the third transaction information, when generated, to the plurality of apparatuses
Claim 16. The method of claim 11,
further comprising receiving the supplier information from the supplier.
Claim 17. The method of claim 16,
wherein in response to the supplier information included in the request, the method further comprises generating the first asset information which indicates that the owner of the energy is an intermediary agent managing an intermediary server.
Claim 18. A non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with computer-readable instructions that, when executed by a processor of an apparatus in a system of a smart meter and a plurality of apparatuses operating in a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, the smart meter including a first memory and the apparatus including a second memory, cause the processor to perform a method comprising:
receiving a request from the smart meter, wherein the smart meter measures energy which is supplied from a power generator of a supplier to a power grid, the request is for generating first asset information related to the energy, and the request includes an electronic certificate of the supplier, supplier information indicating the supplier of the energy and an available amount of the energy based on a smart contract of the blockchain network
verifying the electronic certificate included in the request;
upon verification of the electronic certificate, in response to the request, generating first transaction information that functions as a command of generation of the first asset information by assigning to identification information and setting transaction type automatically, wherein, the first transaction information includes the supplier information, a transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, and information indicating that an owner of the energy is an intermediary agent and information indicating generation of the first asset information;
storing the first transaction information in the second memory;
in response to storage of the first transaction information, generating the first asset information, by setting the supplier information, the transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, and the information indicating that the owner of the energy is the intermediary agent, included in the first transaction information, automatically based on the transaction information;
storing the first asset information in the second memory;
distributing the first transaction information to the plurality of apparatuses operating in the blockchain network to store in each of the plurality of apparatuses;
sending a response indicating whether or not generation of the first asset information is successful, to the smart meter in response to the request transmitted from the smart meter, wherein the response is stored in the first memory;
receiving, from the intermediary server, a request for changing asset information when consumption information is received from a consumer, the request comprising an asset identifier for the first asset information, a new owner, and a used amount of energy;
determining, whether the used amount of energy is less than the available amount of energy indicated by the first asset information;
in response to receiving the request for changing asset information from the intermediary server, generating second transaction information indicating at least updated the new owner information and the used amount of energy, and automatically, wherein the second transaction information functions as a first command for updating the first asset information and a second command for generating third transaction information;
storing the second transaction information in the memory in a chain of transaction information blocks and attached to the first transaction information;
in response to storage of the second transaction information, updating the first asset information stored in the second memory by changing a value of the available amount in the first asset information to a value of the used amount of the energy and changing ownership of the energy from the intermediary agent to the new owner automatically based on the first command;
based on the second command, generating the third transaction information for generating second asset information, the second asset information indicating a remaining available amount of the energy obtained by subtracting the used amount of the energy from the available amount of the energy indicated by the first asset information prior to the update;
and distributing the second transaction information and the third transaction information, when generated, to the plurality of apparatuses for addition to a chain of transformation transaction information blocks stored at each apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses
Claim 19. The system of claim 1, wherein
the asset information further includes a production method of the energy, and the second circuity is further configured to:
read the first transaction information, the second transaction information and the asset information from the second memory, and
Transmit the first transaction information and second transaction information and asset information to the intermediary server; and
The third circuitry is further configured to generate application data of certificate for the production method of the energy based on the first transaction information, the second transaction information and the asset information.
As per claim 1, the claims recite limitations that are recited at such a high level of abstraction that they recite limitations or activities a human or humans could reasonably and practically perform. Specifically a human can receive information, make determinations, transmit information to another, verify information, provide certificates, record information in multiple logs or records, make calculations like remaining energy based on subtraction, record information related to a transfer in ownership for a product or service, generate multiple commands, and provide records of purchases or transactions to another entities or people.
The additional elements that these limitations that could be reasonably and practically performed by a human or humans are instead recited as being performed by computers ( specifically smart meter that includes circuitry and memory, apparatuses that include memory and circuitry, servers that include memory), automatically, the certificate is electronic, and the record or logs are blockchain (specifically as recited in the claims a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, a chain of transaction information blocks, smart contracts), merely result in apply it.
Specifically here the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g. to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Further the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome, i.e. the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The claim limitation that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Specifically here the claims recite a result oriented solution and lack details as to how the computer perform the modifications which is equivalent to the words “apply it.” Specifically here Applicant does not recite an improvement to the recited computers, electronic certificates, or blockchain, rather as recited Applicant is merely using these additional elements to implement the abstract idea.
Further limitations that could be performed by a human or humans that instead recite them being performed by a high level by computers ( specifically smart meter that includes circuitry and memory, apparatuses that include memory and circuitry, servers that include memory), the certificate is electronic, automatically, and the record or logs are blockchain (specifically as recited in the claims a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, a chain of transaction information blocks, and or smart contracts), merely result in generally linking it to the field of computers.
As per claim 5, the claims recite limitations that are recited at such a high level of abstraction that they recite limitations or activities a human or humans could reasonably and practically perform. Specifically a human can generate asset information related to production of different energy using a renewable source, production of fossil fuels, or energy using nuclear power, e.g. by writing it down in a record. The additional element that this limitation that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by a computer (the second circuitry) merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above.
As per claim 6, the claims recite limitations that are recited at such a high level of abstraction that they recite limitations or activities a human or humans could reasonably and practically perform. Specifically a human generate asset information related to renewable sources like solar light or solar heat, wind power, geothermal power, hydropower, heat in the atmosphere, or a combination thereof, by writing it down in a record for example. The additional element that this limitation that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by a computer (the second circuitry) merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above.
As per claim 7, the claims recite limitations that are recited at such a high level of abstraction that they recite limitations or activities a human or humans could reasonably and practically perform. Specifically a human can receive information from a supplier. The additional element that this limitation that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by a computer (the second circuitry) merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above.
As per claim 9, the claims recite limitations that are recited at such a high level of abstraction that they recite limitations or activities a human or humans could reasonably and practically perform. Specifically a human can act as an intermediary between to users buying and sellers selling energy and record that information in a record. The additional elements that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by a computer (apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses) and the records is blockchain (the chain of transaction information blocks) merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above.
As per claim 10, the claims recite limitations that are recited at such a high level of abstraction that they recite limitations or activities a human or humans could reasonably and practically perform. Specifically a human can generate or record information which indicates the owner of the energy is an intermediary agent. The additional elements that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by a computer (the secondary circuitry) and the intermediary manages a server merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above.
As per claim 11, the claims recite limitations that are recited at such a high level of abstraction that they recite limitations or activities a human or humans could reasonably and practically perform. Specifically a human can receive information, make determinations, transmit information to another, verify information, provide certificates, record information in multiple logs or records, make calculations like remaining energy based on subtraction, record information related to a transfer in ownership for a product or service, generate multiple commands, and provide records related to purchases or transfers to another entities or people. The additional elements that these limitations that could be reasonably and practically performed by a human or humans are instead recited as being performed by computers ( specifically smart meter that includes circuitry and memory, apparatuses that include memory and circuitry, servers that include memory), the certificate is electronic, automatically, and the record or logs are blockchain (specifically as recited in the claims a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, a chain of transaction information blocks, and or smart contracts), merely result in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed in claim 1 above.
As per claim 16, the claims recite limitations that are recited at such a high level of abstraction that they recite limitations or activities a human or humans could reasonably and practically perform. Specifically a human can receive information from a supplier. There are no additional elements beyond the limitations recited above.
As per claim 17, the claims recite limitations that are recited at such a high level of abstraction that they recite limitations or activities a human or humans could reasonably and practically perform. Specifically a human can generate or record information which indicates the owner of the energy is an intermediary agent. The additional elements that the intermediary manages a server merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above.
As per claim 18, the claims recite limitations that are recited at such a high level of abstraction that they recite limitations or activities a human or humans could reasonably and practically perform. Specifically a human can receive information, make determinations, transmit information to another, verify information, provide certificates, record information in multiple logs or records, make calculations like remaining energy based on subtraction, record information related to a transfer in ownership for a product or service, generate commands, and provide records relating to purchases or transfers in ownership to another entities or people. The additional elements that these limitations that could be reasonably and practically performed by a human or humans are instead recited as being performed by computers ( specifically smart meter that includes memory, apparatuses that include memory, servers that include memory, and “a non-transitory computer readable medium encoded with computer readable instructions that, when executed by a processor of an apparatus in a system….cause the processor to perform a method comprising”), the certificate is electronic, automatically, and the record or logs are blockchain (specifically as recited in the claims a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, a chain of transaction information blocks, and or smart contracts), merely result in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed in claim 1 above.
As per claim 19, the claims recite certain methods of organizing human activities of asset information includes a production method of energy, collecting (reading) information from a memory, transmitting the information to another entity, and generating a certification of the production method of the energy based on the collected and aggregated data. This is part of the abstract idea. The additional elements that these certain methods of organizing human activities are instead recited as being performed by computers (“ second circuitry”, “third circuity), information is sent to a “server”, and information is stored in a “memory”, merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed in the above claims.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims merely recite limitations that are not indicative of an inventive concept (“significantly more”) in that the claims merely recite:
(1) Adding the words “apply it” ( or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) And (2) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), as discussed above under the practical application step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
20. Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9-11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GoKhale et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization WIPO (WO 2019/141511)) further in view of Sun et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2019/0172159).
As per claim 1, Gokhale teaches A system, comprising: (see title, Examiner’s note: system and method for managing energy distribution using a distributed ledger).
a smart meter including a first memory and first circuitry; (see paragraphs 0012, 0029, and 0068-0069, Examiner’s note: smart meter monitoring the amount of energy produced by the DER (see paragraph 0012). Further teaches implementation by memory storing software running on a computer (see paragraphs 0068-0069). Further teaches information may be stored on multiple devices connected to the distributed ledger network (see paragraph 0029)).
an apparatus of a plurality of apparatuses operating in a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, wherein the apparatus includes a second memory and second circuitry; (see paragraphs 0023, 0025, 0029, and 0068-0069, Examiner’s note: system implemented by software stored in memory executing on a computer (See paragraph 0068-0069). Further teaches computers implementing the blockchain (see paragraph 0023, 0025, and 0029)
and an intermediary server including third circuitry, wherein (see paragraphs 0070-0074, Examiner’s note: further teaches a computer communicating with other nodes (e.g. computers )over a network to perform operations related to energy and the distributed ledger).
the first circuitry configured to: measure energy which is supplied from a power generator of a supplier to a power grid; (see paragraph 0012, Examiner’s note: teaches a smart meter monitoring an amount of energy produced by the DER).
and transmit a request to the apparatus every predetermined time, wherein the request is for generating first asset information related to the energy, and the request includes an electronic certificate of the supplier, supplier information indicating the supplier of the energy, and available amount of the energy based on a smart contract of the blockchain network (see paragraph 0023, 0028, 0035, and 0041, Examiner’s note: exchange of energy between buyers and sellers where the information can include user defined preferences like urgency, price, reliability, or the green content of energy (see paragraphs 0023 and 0028). Further teaches all nodes in the distributed leger know the energy availability, supply and demand status of every other node (see paragraph 0035). Further teaches issuing certificates based on information like 1kwhr (see paragraph 0041). Further teaches transactions are executed using smart contracts (see paragraph 0023)).
the second circuitry is configured to: receive the request from the smart meter; verify the electronic certificate included in the request; upon verification of the electronic certificate, in response to the request, generate first transaction information that functions as a common of generation of the first asset information by assigning to identification information and setting transaction type automatically, wherein the first transaction information includes the supplier information, a transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, and information indicating that an owner of the energy is an intermediary agent and information indicating generation of the first asset information; store the first transaction information in the second memory; in response to storage of the first transaction information, generate the first asset information, by setting the supplier information, the transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, and the information indicating that the owner of the energy is the intermediary agent included in the first transaction information, automatically based on the transaction information; store the first asset information in the second memory; and distribute the first transaction information to the plurality of apparatuses operating in the blockchain network to store in each of the plurality of apparatus ;(see paragraph 0029, 0032, 0040-0041, 0059, 0061, and 0064, Examiner’s note: smart contract acts as the escrow for buying and selling. Specifically when it is determined that the right style and quality of energy has been sent the funds are released (see paragraph 0029). Further teaches each node includes an identical copy of the information associated with the distributed ledger and is updated upon completion of each transactions in each ledger (see paragraph 0032). Further teaches information may be held in escrow while the transfer of energy takes place (see paragraphs 0061, 0064). Further teaches issuing certificates for renewable energy (see paragraph 0040-0041). Further teaches time tables for delivery (see paragraph 0059)).
The first circuitry is further configured to: receive a response, indicating whether or not generation of the first asset information is successful, transmitted from the apparatus in response to the request transmitted from the smart meter; and store the response in the first memory; (see paragraphs 0026-0029, Examiner’s note: teaches executing smart contracts to perform energy transfer transactions (see paragraphs 0026-0028). Further paragraph 0029 teaches that this data provided by energy suppliers or sellers and their consumers or buyers may be stored in a variety of locations including supplier and consumer sties on devices connected to distributed ledger network. Further teaches an energy seller’s smart meter verifies that they sent the right style and quality of energy to the grid, and then finds are released).
The third circuitry is configured to: transmit a request for changing asset information to the apparatus when receiving consumption from a consumer; (see paragraph 0029, Examiner’s note: this could merely recite another user requesting to buy energy as recited in paragraph 0029).
The second circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the intermediary server, a request for changing asset information, a request comprising an asset identifier for the first asset information, a new owner, and a used amount of energy; in response to receiving the request for changing asset information from the intermediary server, generate second transaction information indicating at least updated the new owner information and the used amount of the energy automatically, wherein the second transaction information functions as a first command for updating the first asset information and a second command for generating third transaction information; store the second transaction information in the second memory in a chain of transaction information blocks and attached to the first transaction information; in response to storage of the second transaction information, update the first asset information stored in the second memory by changing a value of the available amount in the first asset information to a value of the used amount of the energy and changing ownership of the energy from the intermediary agent to the new owner automatically based on the first command; (see paragraph 0013, 0025, 0027-0028, 0052, 0041, and 0061, Examiner’s note: smart contract to selectively permit or prevent a transfer of energy and record energy transaction executed at the node according to the smart contract with a distributed ledger. Discusses recording transfers in the distributed ledger (see paragraph 0027-0028, 0052, 0061). Transfers can include information like 1kw-hr (see paragraph 0041). Further teaches every record on ledger has a relationship with a preceding or subsequent record (See paragraph 0025 and 0027)).
Gokhale does not expressly teach determining that there is a surplus of energy to be sold and storing those records on the blockchain or more specifically as recited in the claims determine whether the used amount of the energy is less than the available amount of energy indicated by the first asset information; based on the second command, generating the third transaction information for generating second asset information, the second asset information indicating a remaining available amount of the energy obtained by subtracting the used amount of energy from the available amount of the energy indicated by the first asset information prior to the update; and distribute the second transaction and the third transaction information, when generated, to the plurality of apparatuses for addition to a chain of transaction blocks stored at each apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses.
However, Sun which is in the art of facilitating electricity services by matching providers and receivers and storing that information on the blockchain (see abstract and paragraphs 0020 and 0026), teaches determining that there is a surplus of energy to be sold and storing those records on the blockchain or more specifically as recited in the claims determine whether the used amount of the energy is less than the available amount of energy indicated by the first asset information; based on the second command, generating the third transaction information for generating second asset information, the second asset information indicating a remaining available amount of the energy obtained by subtracting the used amount of energy from the available amount of the energy indicated by the first asset information prior to the update; and distribute the second transaction and the third transaction information, when generated, to the plurality of apparatuses for addition to a chain of transaction blocks stored at each apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses (see paragraph 0079, 00858-0086, 0090, 0113, and Figure 10, Examiner’s note: energy surplus can be used by being claimed by a different receiving party such a through an additional electricity services transaction for purchasing the surplus power (see Figure 10 and paragraph 0113). Blockchain used for accounting for electricity services transactions (see paragraphs 0079 and 0085-0086). And processing energy transactions through smart contracts (see paragraph 0090) ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Gokhale with the aforementioned teachings from Sun et al. with the motivation of providing a way to sell surplus energy in an energy exchange network (see Sun et al. paragraph 0079, 00858-0086, 0113, and Figure 10), when Gokhale already teaches providing a way to sell supply and providing information related to supply in the energy exchange network is known (see Gokhale paragraph 0035).
As per claim 5, Gokhale teaches
wherein the second circuitry is further configured to generate the first asset information that indicates, as the production method of the energy, one of production of energy using a renewable source, production of energy using fossil fuels, and production of energy using nuclear power (see paragraphs 0035, Examiner’s note: renewable source/green energy or nonrenewable sources. Further teaches supplies may be traditional like fossil fuels (see paragraph 0024). Only one is required in the claims based on the recited “one of”).
As per claim 6, Gokhale teaches
wherein when the production method of the energy is production of energy using the renewable source, the second circuitry is further configured to generate the first asset information indicating that the renewable source is one of solar light or solar heat, wind power, biomass, geothermal power, hydropower, heat in the atmosphere, or a combination thereof. (see paragraphs 0035, Examiner’s note: renewable source/green energy or nonrenewable sources. Different types of renewable sources can be solar, wind, hydroelectric, geothermal, etc. It is note only one is required by the claims).
As per claim 7, Gokhale teaches
wherein the second circuitry is further configured to receive the supplier information from the supplier (see paragraph 0012, 0023, and 0028-0029, Examiner’s note: smart meter monitoring an amount of energy produced by the DER; buyers and sellers provide preferences (see paragraphs 0023 and 0028-0029)).
As per claim 9, Gokhale teaches
wherein another apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses intermediates transfer of ownership of the energy between the supplier and the user using the chain of transaction information blocks (see paragraphs 0013, 0025, 0032, 0035, 0027, and 0052, Examiner’s note: teaches every record on ledger has a relationship with a preceding or subsequent record (See paragraph 0025 and 0027). Teaches all nodes in the distributed leger know the energy availability, supply and demand status of every other node (see paragraph 0035). Further teaches transactions may be recorded in the blockchain and provided to each node (see paragraph 0013, 0027, 0032, 0052).
As per claim 10, Gokhale teaches
wherein in response to the supplier information included in the request, the second circuitry is configured to generate the first asset information which indicates that the owner of the energy is an intermediary agent managing an intermediary server. (see paragraph 0029, 0032, 0040-0041, 0061, and 0064, Examiner’s note: smart contract acts as the escrow for buying and selling. Specifically when it is determined that the right style and quality of energy has been sent the funds are released (see paragraph 0029). Further teaches each node includes an identical copy of the information associated with the distributed ledger and is updated upon completion of each transactions in each ledger (see paragraph 0032). Further teaches information may be held in escrow while the transfer of energy takes place (see paragraphs 0061, 0064). Further teaches issuing certificates for renewable energy (see paragraph 0040-0041)).
As per claim 11, Gokhale teaches A method for (see title, Examiner’s note: method for managing energy distribution using a distributed ledger).
an apparatus in a system of a smart meter (see paragraph 0012, 0029, 0068-0069, Examiner’s note: smart meter monitoring the amount of energy produced by the DER (see paragraph 0012). Further teaches implementation by memory storing software running on a computer (see paragraphs 0068-0069). Further teaches information may be stored on multiple devices connected to the distributed ledger network (see paragraph 0029)).
and a plurality of apparatuses operating in a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, (see paragraphs 0023, 0025, 0029, and 0068-0069, Examiner’s note: system implemented by software stored in memory executing on a computer (See paragraph 0068-0069). Further teaches computers implementing the blockchain (see paragraph 0023, 0025, 0029)
the smart meter including a first memory (see paragraph 0012, 0029, 0068-0069, Examiner’s note: smart meter monitoring the amount of energy produced by the DER (see paragraph 0012). Further teaches implementation by memory storing software running on a computer (see paragraphs 0068-0069). Further teaches information may be stored on multiple devices connected to the distributed ledger network (see paragraph 0029)).
and the apparatus including a second memory, the method comprising: (see paragraphs 0023, 0025, 0029, and 0068-0069, Examiner’s note: system implemented by software stored in memory executing on a computer (See paragraph 0068-0069). Further teaches computers implementing the blockchain (see paragraph 0023, 0025, 0029)
receiving a request from the smart meter, wherein the smart meter measures energy which is supplied from a power generator of a supplier to a power grid, (see paragraph 0012, Examiner’s note: teaches a smart meter monitoring an amount of energy produced by the DER).
the request is for generating first asset information related to the energy, and the request includes an electronic certificate of the supplier, supplier information indicating the supplier of the energy, an available amount of the energy, based on a smart contract of the blockchain network; (see paragraph 0023, 0028, 0035, and 0041, Examiner’s note: exchange of energy between buyers and sellers where the information can include user defined preferences like urgency, price, reliability, or the green content of energy (see paragraph 0023, 0028). Further teaches all nodes in the distributed leger know the energy availability, supply and demand status of every other node (see paragraph 0035). Further teaches issuing certificates based on information like 1kwhr (see paragraph 0041). Further teaches energy and financial exchanges are through smart contracts (see paragraph 0026)).
verifying the electronic certificate included in the request; upon verification of the electronic certificate, in response to the request, generating first transaction information that functions as a command of generation of the first asset information, by assigning to identification information and setting transaction type automatically, wherein the first transaction information includes the supplier information, a transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, and information indicating that an owner of the energy is an intermediary agent and information indicating generation of the first asset information; storing the first transaction information in the second memory; in response to storage of the first transaction information, generating the first asset information by setting the supplier information, the transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, and the information indicating that the owner of the energy is the intermediary agent, included in the first transaction information, automatically based on the transaction information; storing the first asset information in the second memory; distributing the first transaction information to the plurality of apparatuses operating in the blockchain network to store in each of the plurality of apparatuses; (see paragraph 0029, 0032, 0040-0041, 0059, 0061, and 0064, Examiner’s note: smart contract acts as the escrow for buying and selling. Specifically when it is determined that the right style and quality of energy has been sent the funds are released (see paragraph 0029). Further teaches each node includes an identical copy of the information associated with the distributed ledger and is updated upon completion of each transactions in each ledger (see paragraph 0032). Further teaches information may be held in escrow while the transfer of energy takes place (see paragraphs 0061, 0064). Further teaches issuing certificates for renewable energy (see paragraph 0040-0041). Further teaches time tables for delivery (see paragraph 0059)).
Sending a response, indicating whether or not generation of the first asset information is successful, to the smart meter in response to the request transmitted from the smart meter, wherein the response is stored in the first meter; (see paragraphs 0026-0029, Examiner’s note: teaches executing smart contracts to perform energy transfer transactions (see paragraphs 0026-0028). Further paragraph 0029 teaches that this data provided by energy suppliers or sellers and their consumers or buyers may be stored in a variety of locations including supplier and consumer sties on devices connected to distributed ledger network. Fuhrer teaches an energy seller’s smart meter verifies that they sent the right style and quality of energy to the grid, and then finds are released).
receiving, from the intermediary server, a request for changing asset information when consumption information is received from a consumer, the request comprising an asset identifier for the first asset information, a new owner, and a used amount of energy; in response to receiving the request for changing asset information from the intermediary server, generating second transaction information indicating at least the new owner information and the used amount of energy, and automatically, wherein the second transaction information functions as a first command for updating the first asset information and a second command for generating third transaction information; storing the second transaction information in the memory in a chain of transaction information blocks and attached to the first transaction information; in response to storage of the second transaction information, updating the first asset information stored in the second memory by changing a value of the available amount in the first asset information to a value of the used amount of the energy and changing ownership of the energy from the intermediary agent to the new owner automatically based on the first command; (see paragraph 0013, 0025, 0027-0029, 0052, 0041, and 0061, Examiner’s note: smart contract to selectively permit or prevent a transfer of energy and record energy transaction executed at the node according to the smart contract with a distributed ledger. Discusses recording transfers in the distributed ledger (see paragraph 0027-0028, 0052, 0061), where a user requests an energy transaction, e.g. request to consume energy (see paragraph 0029). Transfers can include information like 1kw-hr (see paragraph 0041). Further teaches every record on ledger has a relationship with a preceding or subsequent record (See paragraph 0025 and 0027)).
Gokhale does not expressly teach that determining that there is a surplus of energy to be sold and storing those records on the blockchain or more specifically as recited in the claims determining whether the used amount of the energy is less than the available amount of energy indicated by the first asset information; based on the second command, generating the third transaction information for generating second asset information, the second asset information indicating a remaining available amount of the energy obtained by subtracting the used amount of the energy from the available amount of the energy indicated by the first asset information prior to the update; and distributing the second transaction information and the third transaction information when generated, to the plurality of apparatuses for addition to a chain of transaction information blocks stored at each apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses.
However, Sun which is in the art of facilitating electricity services by matching providers and receivers and storing that information on the blockchain (see abstract and paragraphs 0020 and 0026), teaches determining whether the used amount of the energy is less than the available amount of energy indicated by the first asset information; based on the second command, generating the third transaction information for generating second asset information, the second asset information indicating a remaining available amount of the energy obtained by subtracting the used amount of the energy from the available amount of the energy indicated by the first asset information prior to the update; and distributing the second transaction information and the third transaction information when generated, to the plurality of apparatuses for addition to a chain of transaction information blocks stored at each apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses (see paragraph 0079, 0085-0086, 0090, 0113, and Figure 10, Examiner’s note: energy surplus can be used by being claimed by a different receiving party such a through an additional electricity services transaction for purchasing the surplus power (see Figure 10 and paragraph 0113). Blockchain used for accounting for electricity services transactions (see paragraphs 0079 and 0085-0086), and processing energy transactions through smart contracts (see paragraph 0090)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Gokhale with the aforementioned teachings from Sun et al. with the motivation of providing a way to sell surplus energy in an energy exchange network (see Sun et al. paragraph 0079, 00858-0086, 0113, and Figure 10), when Gokhale already teaches providing a way to sell supply and providing information related to supply in the energy exchange network is known (see Gokhale paragraph 0035).
As per claim 16, Gokhale teaches
further comprising receiving the supplier information from the supplier. (see paragraph 0012, Examiner’s note: smart meter monitoring an amount of energy produced by the DER; buyers and sellers provide preferences (see paragraphs 0023 and 0028-0029)).
As per claim 17, Gokhale teaches
wherein in response to the supplier information included in the request, the method further comprises generating the first asset information which indicates that the owner of the energy is an intermediary agent managing an intermediary server. (see paragraph 0029, 0032, 0040-0041, 0061, and 0064, Examiner’s note: smart contract acts as the escrow for buying and selling. Specifically when it is determined that the right style and quality of energy has been sent the funds are released (see paragraph 0029). Further teaches each node includes an identical copy of the information associated with the distributed ledger and is updated upon completion of each transactions in each ledger (see paragraph 0032). Further teaches information may be held in escrow while the transfer of energy takes place (see paragraphs 0061, 0064). Further teaches issuing certificates for renewable energy (see paragraph 0040-0041)).
As per claim 18, Gokhale teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with computer-readable instructions that, when executed by a processor of an apparatus in a system of (see paragraphs 0069-0070, Examiner’s note: software running on a computer to perform functions).
a smart meter (see paragraph 0012, 0029, 0068-0069, Examiner’s note: smart meter monitoring the amount of energy produced by the DER (see paragraph 0012). Further teaches implementation by memory storing software running on a computer (see paragraphs 0068-0069). Further teaches information may be stored on multiple devices connected to the distributed ledger network (see paragraph 0029)).
and a plurality of apparatuses operating in a blockchain network of a decentralized ledger system, (see paragraphs 0023, 0025, 0029, and 0068-0069, Examiner’s note: system implemented by software stored in memory executing on a computer (See paragraph 0068-0069). Further teaches computers implementing the blockchain (see paragraph 0023, 0025, 0029)
the smart meter including a first memory (see paragraph 0012, 0029, 0068-0069, Examiner’s note: smart meter monitoring the amount of energy produced by the DER (see paragraph 0012). Further teaches implementation by memory storing software running on a computer (see paragraphs 0068-0069). Further teaches information may be stored on multiple devices connected to the distributed ledger network (see paragraph 0029)).
and the apparatus including a second memory, cause the processor to perform a method comprising: (see paragraphs 0023, 0025, 0029, and 0068-0069, Examiner’s note: system implemented by software stored in memory executing on a computer (See paragraph 0068-0069). Further teaches computers implementing the blockchain (see paragraph 0023, 0025, 0029)
receiving a request from the smart meter, wherein the smart meter measures energy which is supplied from a power generator of a supplier to a power grid, (see paragraph 0012, Examiner’s note: teaches a smart meter monitoring an amount of energy produced by the DER).
the request is for generating first asset information related to the energy, and the request includes an electronic certificate of the supplier, supplier information indicating the supplier of the energy and an available amount of the energy based on a smart contract of the blockchain (see paragraph 0023, 0028, 0035, and 0041, Examiner’s note: exchange of energy between buyers and sellers where the information can include user defined preferences like urgency, price, reliability, or the green content of energy (see paragraph 0023, 0028). Further teaches all nodes in the distributed leger know the energy availability, supply and demand status of every other node (see paragraph 0035). Further teaches issuing certificates based on information like 1kwhr (see paragraph 0041). Further teaches energy and financial exchanges are through smart contracts (see paragraph 0026)).
verifying the electronic certificate included in the request; upon verification of the electronic certificate, in response to the request, generating first transaction information that functions as a command of generation of the first asset information by assigning to identification information and setting transaction type automatically, wherein, the first transaction information includes the supplier information, a transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, information indicating that an owner of the energy is an intermediary agent and information indicating generation of the first asset information; storing the first transaction information in the second memory; in response to storage of the first transaction information, generating the first asset information by setting the supplier information, the transaction identifier of the first transaction information, the available amount of the energy, and the information indicating that and owner of the energy is the intermediary agent, included in the first transaction information, automatically based on the transaction information; storing the first asset information in the second memory; distributing the first transaction information to the plurality of apparatuses operating in the blockchain network to store in each of the plurality of apparatuses; (see paragraph 0029, 0032, 0040-0041, 0059, 0061, and 0064, Examiner’s note: smart contract acts as the escrow for buying and selling. Specifically when it is determined that the right style and quality of energy has been sent the funds are released (see paragraph 0029). Further teaches each node includes an identical copy of the information associated with the distributed ledger and is updated upon completion of each transactions in each ledger (see paragraph 0032). Further teaches information may be held in escrow while the transfer of energy takes place (see paragraphs 0061, 0064). Further teaches issuing certificates for renewable energy (see paragraph 0040-0041). Further teaches time tables for delivery (see paragraph 0059)).
Sending a response, indicating whether or not generation of the first asset information is successful, to the smart meter in response to the request transmitted from the smart meter, wherein the response is stored in the first memory; (see paragraphs 0026-0029, Examiner’s note: teaches executing smart contracts to perform energy transfer transactions (see paragraphs 0026-0028). Further paragraph 0029 teaches that this data provided by energy suppliers or sellers and their consumers or buyers may be stored in a variety of locations including supplier and consumer sties on devices connected to distributed ledger network. Fuhrer teaches an energy seller’s smart meter verifies that they sent the right style and quality of energy to the grid, and then finds are released).
receiving, from the intermediary server, a request for changing asset information when consumption information is received from a consumer the request comprising an asset identifier for the first asset information, a new owner, and a used amount of energy; in response to receiving the request for changing asset information from the intermediary server, generating second transaction information indicating at least the new owner information and the used amount of energy, and automatically, wherein the second transaction information functions as a first command for updating the first asset information and a second command for generating third transaction information; storing the second transaction information in the memory in a chain of transaction information blocks and attached to the first transaction information; in response to storage of the second transaction information, updating the first asset information stored in the second memory by changing a value of the available amount in the first asset information to a value of the used amount of the energy and changing ownership of the energy from the intermediary agent to the new owner automatically based on the first command; (see paragraph 0013, 0025, 0027-0029, 0052, 0041, and 0061, Examiner’s note: smart contract to selectively permit or prevent a transfer of energy and record energy transaction executed at the node according to the smart contract with a distributed ledger. Discusses recording transfers in the distributed ledger (see paragraph 0027-0028, 0052, 0061), where a user requests an energy transaction, e.g. request to consume energy (see paragraph 0029). Transfers can include information like 1kw-hr (see paragraph 0041). Further teaches every record on ledger has a relationship with a preceding or subsequent record (See paragraph 0025 and 0027)).
Gokhale does not expressly teach that determining that there is a surplus of energy to be sold and storing those records on the blockchain or more specifically as recited in the claims determining whether the used amount of the energy is less than the available amount of energy indicated by the first asset information; based on the second command, generating the third transaction information for generating second asset information the second asset information indicating a remaining available amount of the energy obtained by subtracting the used amount of the energy from the available amount of the energy indicated by the first asset information prior to the update; and distributing the second transaction information and the third transaction information, when generated, to the plurality of apparatuses for addition to a chain of transaction information blocks stored at each apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses.
However, Sun which is in the art of facilitating electricity services by matching providers and receivers and storing that information on the blockchain (see abstract and paragraphs 0020 and 0026), teaches determining that there is a surplus of energy to be sold and storing those records on the blockchain or more specifically as recited in the claims determining whether the used amount of the energy is less than the available amount of energy indicated by the first asset information prior to the update; based on the second command, generating the third transaction information for generating second asset information the second asset information indicating a remaining available amount of the energy obtained by subtracting the used amount of the energy from the available amount of the energy indicated by the first asset information prior to the update; and distributing the second transaction information and the third transaction information, when generated, to the plurality of apparatuses for addition to a chain of transaction information blocks stored at each apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses (see paragraph 0079, 00858-0086, 0113, and Figure 10, Examiner’s note: energy surplus can be used by being claimed by a different receiving party such a through an additional electricity services transaction for purchasing the surplus power (see Figure 10 and paragraph 0113). Blockchain used for accounting for electricity services transactions (see paragraphs 0079 and 0085-0086). And processing energy transactions through smart contracts (see paragraph 0090) ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Gokhale with the aforementioned teachings from Sun et al. with the motivation of providing a way to sell surplus energy in an energy exchange network (see Sun et al. paragraph 0079, 00858-0086, 0113, and Figure 10), when Gokhale already teaches providing a way to sell supply and providing information related to supply in the energy exchange network is known (see Gokhale paragraph 0035).
As per claim 19, Gokhale teaches
the asset information further includes a production method of the energy, and the second circuitry is further configured to: (see paragraph 0023, Examiner’s note: green content of energy (i.e. the property of energy that is produced via renewable resources)).
read the transaction information, the second transaction information and the asset information from the second memory; and transmit the first transaction information and the second transaction information and asset information to the intermediary server; and the third circuity is further configured to generate application data of certification for the production method of the energy based on the first transaction information, the second transaction information and the asset information (see paragraphs 0026-0029 and 0072, Examiner’s note: teaches software running on a computer to register consumption and transmission of energy associated with at least one distributed leger node in the blockchain network (see paragraph 0072), further teaches this information is stored on each node of the blockchain in paragraphs 0026-0029)
Conclusion
21. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
22. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Forbes, JR et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2017/0358041) teaches a financial settlement for energy networks for blockchain platforms (see abstract)
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KIERSTEN V SUMMERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626