DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/29/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 8-21, 23-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Saito (Pub No 20130121295) further in view of Tsai (Pub No 20230371039), newly cited portions of Sun (Pub No 20180124753), and newly cited Zhao (EP 3706482 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitation.
The examiner relies on newly cited portions of Sun which teach mapping of the first portion of DCI and second portion of DCI including a starting resource element. The examiner relies on newly cited Zhao to teach using a starting resource and offset to indicate the location instead of Sun which just indicates starting resource.
Regarding claim 3,
Applicant argues that the DCI portions is not transmitted in a symbol.
However the examiner disagrees because Sun teaches a symbol having a plurality of Res (see fig. 3, REs 304 in 1 symbol). Sun also indicates in fig. 3 that the first 2 slots are used for control information (e.g. PDCCH). Now referring to Sun Fig. 7. Sun teaches transmitting the first DCI portion within the first symbol of the PDCCH, see DCI-1 in fig. 7). Hence the DCI portion is transmitted within the first symbol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 11-13, 15, 20, 25-16, 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (Pub No 20130121295) further in view of Tsai (Pub No 20230371039), Sun (Pub No 20180124753), and Zhao (EP 3706482 A1)
Regarding claim 1 and 29,
Saito teaches A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a control message for downlink control information within a set of downlink shared channel resources of a downlink shared channel occasion; (interpreted as The base station also transmits allocation control information (i.e., L1/L2 control information) for the notification of the result of resource allocation of downlink data and uplink data to the terminal. As this allocation control information, Downlink Control Information (DCI) which is downlink allocation control information is transmitted, see para [0004]. Also see para [0005-0012])
determining a multiplexing configuration for the downlink control information over the set of downlink channel resources based at least in part on the control message; and (interpreted as RF receiving section 202 configures a reception band based on band information received from configuration information receiving section 206, see para [0141]. Also see FDM configuration, see para [0048] Also see multiplexing section 110 multiplies DCI information and a PDSCH signal or the like in an R-PDCCH region for a terminal using DM-RSs as reference signals for demodulation, see para [0128])
monitoring the downlink shared channel occasion for the downlink control information in accordance with the frequency multiplexing configuration. (interpreted as received signals may include a PDSCH signal, DCI, and upper-layer control information including configuration information and search space information. The DCI (allocation control information) for terminal 200 is allocated to a common search space (C-SS) configured for terminal 200 and other terminals or to a specific search space (UE-SS) configured for terminal 200, see para [0141])
However Saito does not teach the system being performed by using a processor and memory;
The multiplexing configuration being a frequency multiplexing configuration; the DCI being multiplexed in a symbol of the PDSCH resource.
Tsai teaches one or more processors; one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors; instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: (para [0202])
Frequency multiplexing configuration (see configuration para [0091]) for a plurality of the portions of the downlink control information to be multiplexed in one or more symbols of the set of downlink shared channel resources; (interpreted as For example, the 2nd part DCI can be multiplexed with the 1st DMRS symbol for PDSCH mapping type (e.g., type A), see para [0092]. Also see DCI present in the PDSCH resource fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the DCI multiplexing taught by Saito with the DCI multiplexing over PDSCH resources as taught by Tsai with the motivation being to specify a known in the art resource such as a symbol for multiplexing data.
However Saito in view of Tsai do not frequency multiplexing indicated via the control message;
receiving a message that indicates allocation information for one or more portions of the downlink control information, the allocation information associated with a type of information included in the one or more portions of the downlink control information;
Sun teaches frequency multiplexing indicated via the control message; (interpreted as first DCI portion may also include piggyback control information providing information about the second DCI portion, see para [0084]. Also see the resource assignment and scheduling circuitry 541 may time division multiplex and/or frequency division multiplex the second DCI portion with downlink user data traffic within the downlink traffic region of the slot, see para [0091])
receiving a message that indicates allocation information for one or more portions of the downlink control information, the allocation information associated with a type of information included in the one or more portions of the downlink control information; (interpreted as scheduling circuitry 541 may time division multiplex and/or frequency division multiplex the second DCI portion with downlink user data traffic within the downlink traffic region of the slot, see para [0091]. Also see the DCIs included in the second DCI portion may be non-time critical (e.g., uplink grants, see para [0092])
indicating a starting resource element for multiplexing (the piggyback control information may further indicate the location (e.g., starting resource element), see para [0114])
wherein the frequency multiplexing configuration comprises a first portion of the plurality of portions of the downlink control information being mapped to the starting resource element and a second portion of the plurality of portions being mapped to a second resource element; (interpreted as map the first DCI portion to resource elements within a downlink control region of a slot (e.g., the DL burst or PDCCH region of a DL-centric slot) and to map the second DCI portion to resource elements within a downlink traffic region of the slot (e.g., the PDSCH region of the DL-centric slot), see para [0089]. Also see The piggyback control information may further indicate the location (e.g., starting resource element) and code rate of the second DCI portion, see para [0084])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the DCI multiplexing taught by Saito in view of Tsai with the multiplexing of DCI type as taught by Sun with the motivation being to send non-time-critical data later.
However Saito in view of Tsai and Sun does not teach that is offset from the starting resource element in accordance with the resource element offset.
Zhao teach that is offset from the starting resource element in accordance with the resource element offset. (interpreted as uplinkdata being in transmission, determine a frequency-domain and a position foreach of physical-layer resources that a HARQ-ACK modulation symbol is mapped to, wherein thefrequency-domain offset is for one of a plurality of () that different HARQ-ACKmodulation symbols are mapped to; and a first mapping module 92, configured to map each HARQ-ACK modulation symbol to a corresponding according to the starting position and the frequency-domain offset determined by the first determination module 91., see pg 17 line 30-45)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the mapping of first DCI and second DCI portions including a starting RE taught by Saito in view of Tsai and Sun with the starting RE and offset RE for different portions in multiplexing as taught by Zhao with the motivation being to perform the same function of indicating location of the resource.
Regarding claim 20 and 30,
Saito teaches A method for wireless communications at a base station, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a control message that downlink control information within a set of downlink shared channel resources of a downlink shared channel occasion for the UE (interpreted as The base station also transmits allocation control information (i.e., L1/L2 control information) for the notification of the result of resource allocation of downlink data and uplink data to the terminal. As this allocation control information, Downlink Control Information (DCI) which is downlink allocation control information is transmitted, see para [0004]. Also see para [0005-0012]
determining a frequency multiplexing configuration for the downlink control information over the set of downlink channel resources based at least in part on the control message; and (interpreted as Furthermore, multiplexing section 110 maps the PDCCH signals and the data signals (PDSCH signals) on the basis of the downlink resource allocation information inputted from control section 102. Multiplexing section 110 may also map the configuration information and search space information onto the PDSCH, see para [0128] Also see FDM configuration, see para [0048]))
transmitting the downlink control information over the set of downlink shared channel resources in accordance with the frequency multiplexing configuration. (interpreted as Furthermore, multiplexing section 110 maps the PDCCH signals and the data signals (PDSCH signals) on the basis of the downlink resource allocation information inputted from control section 102. Multiplexing section 110 may also map the configuration information and search space information onto the PDSCH. [0129] IFFT sections 110-1 and 111-2, CP (Cyclic Prefix) adding sections 112-1 and 112-2 and RF transmitting sections 113-1 and 113-2 are provided for antennas 114-1 and 114-2 correspondingly, see para [0128] and [0129]).
However Saito does not teach the system being performed by using a processor and memory;
The multiplexing configuration being a frequency multiplexing configuration; the DCI being multiplexed in a symbol of the PDSCH resource.
Tsai teaches one or more processors; one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors; instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: (para [0202])
Frequency multiplexing configuration (see configuration para [0091]) for a plurality of the portions of the downlink control information to be multiplexed in one or more symbols of the set of downlink shared channel resources; multiplexing for the downlink control message; (interpreted as For example, the 2nd part DCI can be multiplexed with the 1st DMRS symbol for PDSCH mapping type (e.g., type A), see para [0092]. Also see DCI present in the PDSCH resource fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the DCI multiplexing taught by Saito with the DCI multiplexing over PDSCH resources as taught by Tsai with the motivation being to specify a known in the art resource such as a symbol for multiplexing data.
However Saito in view of Tsai do not frequency multiplexing indicated via the control message;
receiving a message that indicates allocation information for one or more portions of the downlink control information, the allocation information associated with a type of information included in the one or more portions of the downlink control information;
Sun teaches frequency multiplexing indicated via the control message; (interpreted as first DCI portion may also include piggyback control information providing information about the second DCI portion, see para [0084]. Also see the resource assignment and scheduling circuitry 541 may time division multiplex and/or frequency division multiplex the second DCI portion with downlink user data traffic within the downlink traffic region of the slot, see para [0091])
receiving a message that indicates allocation information for one or more portions of the downlink control information, the allocation information associated with a type of information included in the one or more portions of the downlink control information; (interpreted as scheduling circuitry 541 may time division multiplex and/or frequency division multiplex the second DCI portion with downlink user data traffic within the downlink traffic region of the slot, see para [0091]. Also see the DCIs included in the second DCI portion may be non-time critical (e.g., uplink grants, see para [0092])
indicating a starting resource element for multiplexing (the piggyback control information may further indicate the location (e.g., starting resource element), see para [0114])
wherein the frequency multiplexing configuration comprises a first portion of the plurality of portions of the downlink control information being mapped to the starting resource element and a second portion of the plurality of portions being mapped to a second resource element; (interpreted as map the first DCI portion to resource elements within a downlink control region of a slot (e.g., the DL burst or PDCCH region of a DL-centric slot) and to map the second DCI portion to resource elements within a downlink traffic region of the slot (e.g., the PDSCH region of the DL-centric slot), see para [0089]. Also see The piggyback control information may further indicate the location (e.g., starting resource element) and code rate of the second DCI portion, see para [0084])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the DCI multiplexing taught by Saito in view of Tsai with the multiplexing of DCI type as taught by Sun with the motivation being to send non-time-critical data later.
However Saito in view of Tsai and Sun does not teach that is offset from the starting resource element in accordance with the resource element offset.
Zhao teach that is offset from the starting resource element in accordance with the resource element offset. (interpreted as uplinkdata being in transmission, determine a frequency-domain and a position foreach of physical-layer resources that a HARQ-ACK modulation symbol is mapped to, wherein thefrequency-domain offset is for one of a plurality of () that different HARQ-ACKmodulation symbols are mapped to; and a first mapping module 92, configured to map each HARQ-ACK modulation symbol to a corresponding according to the starting position and the frequency-domain offset determined by the first determination module 91., see pg 17 line 30-45)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the mapping of first DCI and second DCI portions including a starting RE taught by Saito in view of Tsai and Sun with the starting RE and offset RE for different portions in multiplexing as taught by Zhao with the motivation being to perform the same function of indicating location of the resource.
Regarding claim 3,
Saito teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: determining a number of the portions of the downlink control information to be multiplexed in a first symbol of the set of downlink shared channel resources based at least in part on a number of resource elements per symbol, a number of available resource element locations in the set of downlink shared channel resources, a content of the downlink control information to be multiplexed in the first symbol, or any combination thereof, wherein monitoring the downlink shared channel occasion for the downlink control information is based at least in part on the number of the portions of the downlink control information
Sun teaches determining a number of the portions of the downlink control information to be multiplexed in a first symbol of the set of downlink shared channel resources based at least in part on a number of resource elements per symbol, a number of available resource element locations in the set of downlink shared channel resources, a content of the downlink control information to be multiplexed in the first symbol, or any combination thereof, wherein monitoring the downlink shared channel occasion for the downlink control information is based at least in part on the number of the portions of the downlink control information (interpreted as The DL traffic and control channel generation and transmission circuitry 542 may operate in coordination with the resource assignment and scheduling circuitry 541 to map the first DCI portion to resource elements within a downlink control region of a slot (e.g., the DL burst or PDCCH region of a DL-centric slot) and to map the second DCI portion to resource elements within a downlink traffic region of the slot (e.g., the PDSCH region of the DL-centric slot). In an aspect of the disclosure, the resource assignment and scheduling circuitry 541 may further map a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) at the beginning of the downlink traffic region of the slot and locate the second DCI portion immediately after the DMRS, see Sun para [0089]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the slots taught by Saito with resource elements and symbols as taught by Sun with the motivation being to schedule resources for communications.
Regarding claim 4,
Saito teaches The method of claim 3, however does not teach further comprising: determining mapping locations for the number of the portions of the downlink control information to be multiplexed in the first symbol based at least in part on the number of the portions and the frequency multiplexing configuration.
Sun teaches further comprising: determining mapping locations for the number of the portions of the downlink control information to be multiplexed in the first symbol based at least in part on the number of the portions and the frequency multiplexing configuration (interpreted as For example, the resource assignment and scheduling circuitry 541 may time division multiplex and/or frequency division multiplex the second DCI portion with downlink user data traffic within the downlink traffic region of the slot, see Sun para [0091]. Also see the first two symbols include downlink control reference signals and downlink control information, which may be the same as the control information 208 and/or 216 described above, see Sun para [0066])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the slots taught by Saito with resource elements and symbols as taught by Sun with the motivation being to schedule resources for communications.
Regarding claim 5,
Saito teaches The method of claim 4, however they do not teach wherein determining the mapping locations comprises: determining a first mapping location for the first portion of the plurality of portions of the downlink control information based at least in part on a starting resource element index in the first symbol; and determining a second mapping location for the second portion of the downlink control information based at least in part on an offset and the first mapping location, the first mapping location corresponding to the starting resource element.
Sun teaches wherein determining the mapping locations comprises: determining a first mapping location for the first portion of the plurality of portions of the downlink control information based at least in part on a starting resource element index in the first symbol; and determining a second mapping location for the second portion of the downlink control information based at least in part on an offset and the first mapping location, the first mapping location corresponding to the starting resource element. (interpreted as map the first DCI portion to resource elements within a downlink control region of a slot (e.g., the DL burst or PDCCH region of a DL-centric slot) and to map the second DCI portion to resource elements within a downlink traffic region of the slot (e.g., the PDSCH region of the DL-centric slot), see para [0089]. Also see The piggyback control information may further indicate the location (e.g., starting resource element) and code rate of the second DCI portion, see para [0084])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the slots taught by Saito with resource elements and symbols as taught by Sun with the motivation being to schedule resources for communications.
Regarding claim 6,
Saito teaches The method of claim 5, however they do not teach wherein the frequency multiplexing configuration comprises an indication of the first mapping location and the offset.
Sun teaches wherein the frequency multiplexing configuration comprises an indication of the first mapping location and the offset (interpreted as In some examples, the piggyback control information may indicate the number of resource elements (size) of the second DCI portion. The piggyback control information may further indicate the location (e.g., starting resource element) and code rate of the second DCI portion. In some examples, a plurality of second DCI portion formats may be maintained, for example, in memory 505, where each format indicates a size and code rate of the second DCI portion, see Sun para [0084])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the slots taught by Saito with resource elements and symbols as taught by Sun with the motivation being to schedule resources for communications.
Regarding claim 11 and 26,
Saito teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: receiving, in a first symbol of the set of downlink shared channel resources, one or more reference signals, wherein the one or more reference signals are dedicated for the downlink control information, the set of downlink shared channel resources, or both; and performing channel estimation for the symbol based at least in part on the one or more reference signals.
Sun teaches further comprising: receiving, in a first symbol of the set of downlink shared channel resources, one or more reference signals, wherein the one or more reference signals are dedicated for the downlink control information, the set of downlink shared channel resources, or both; and performing channel estimation for the symbol based at least in part on the one or more reference signals. (interpreted as Following the DL burst, the slot 306 may include a traffic region carrying downlink or uplink traffic reference signals and traffic information, which may be the same as the user data traffic 206, 210, and/or 214 described above. In both the DL burst and traffic region of the illustrated slot, REs that carry reference signals (RS) are interleaved with REs that carry data. These RSs can provide for channel estimation by a receiving device. In addition, one or more of the RSs in the uplink or downlink may include a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), which may be used to enable coherent signal demodulation at the receiver. In some examples, the DMRS may be transmitted from a scheduled entity to a scheduling entity at the beginning of the traffic region in an UL-centric slot to enable the scheduling entity to demodulate the subsequently transmitted uplink user data traffic, see para [0067])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the DM-RS taught by Saito with a channel estimation for RS taught by Sun with the motivation being to perform channel estimation to determine channel characteristics to better communications.
Regarding claim 12,
Saito teaches The method of claim 11, however does not teach further comprising: performing channel estimation for a second symbol of the set of downlink shared channel resources based at least in part on the one or more reference signals.
Sun teaches further comprising: performing channel estimation for a second symbol of the set of downlink shared channel resources based at least in part on the one or more reference signals. (interpreted as In the non-limiting example illustrated in FIG. 3, the first two symbols include downlink control reference signals and downlink control information, which may be the same as the control information 208 and/or 216 described above. Accordingly, these symbols may be referred to as the DL burst. Any suitable region of resources in the time, frequency, and space dimensions may be utilized as a DL burst, not necessarily limited to the first two symbols. Moreover, a DL burst need not necessarily be contiguous, and may be included in one, two, or any suitable number of separate regions, see Sun para [0066])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the DM-RS taught by Saito with a channel estimation for RS taught by Sun with the motivation being to perform channel estimation to determine channel characteristics to better communications.
Regarding claim 13,
Saito teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving one or more reference signals in one or more resource elements in at least one portion of the downlink control information, wherein the one or more reference signals are dedicated for the downlink control information, the set of downlink shared channel resources, or both; and performing channel estimation for the downlink control information based at least in part on the one or more reference signals. (interpreted as The base station also transmits allocation control information (i.e., L1/L2 control information) for the notification of the result of resource allocation of downlink data and uplink data to the terminal. As this allocation control information, Downlink Control Information (DCI) which is downlink allocation control information is transmitted, see Saito para [0004]. Also see Saito para [0005-0012]. Also see Saito DM-RS fig. 2 ).
Regarding claim 15,
Saito teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a first set of reference signals dedicated for the downlink control information on a first set of resource elements in one or more portions of the downlink control information; and performing channel estimation for the downlink control information based at least in part on the first set of reference signals. (interpreted as The base station also transmits allocation control information (i.e., L1/L2 control information) for the notification of the result of resource allocation of downlink data and uplink data to the terminal. As this allocation control information, Downlink Control Information (DCI) which is downlink allocation control information is transmitted, see Saito para [0004]. Also see Saito para [0005-0012]. Also see Saito DM-RS fig. 2 ).
Regarding claim 25,
Saito teaches The method of claim 23, further comprising: transmitting an indication that the one or more reference signals are located in an initial set of time resources of the set of downlink shared channel resources, each symbol of the set of downlink shared channel resources, or both. (interpreted as The base station also transmits allocation control information (i.e., L1/L2 control information) for the notification of the result of resource allocation of downlink data and uplink data to the terminal. As this allocation control information, Downlink Control Information (DCI) which is downlink allocation control information is transmitted, see Saito para [0004]. Also see Saito para [0005-0012]. Also see Saito DM-RS fig. 2 ).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (Pub No 20130121295) further in view of Tsai (Pub No 20230371039), Sun (Pub No 20180124753), Zhao (EP 3706482 A1), and Yum (Pub No 20190245603).
Regarding claim 2,
Saito teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a frequency span for the downlink control information, for multiplexing of the downlink control information within the set of downlink shared channel resources, wherein monitoring the downlink shared channel occasion for the downlink control. (interpreted as A dynamic PDSCH or PUSCH transmission can be repeated a number of times per RRC configuration or per DCI indication, wherein the repetition can be on a slot basis (a.k.a., slot aggregation or repetition Type-1) or on a shorter time scale/duration a repetition Type-2, see Saito para [0108]).
However Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao does not teach the frequency span corresponding to a number of resource elements per symbol.
Yum teaches the frequency span corresponding to a number of resource elements per symbol. (interpreted as In this case, when a CSI-RS resource set is selected by the bitmap, one or more of the foregoing factors (the number of CSI-RS symbols, the number of CSI-RS REs per symbol per RB, the number of RBs in which a CSI-RS is defined, the number of TXUs at the eNB, the size of a CSI-RS indication field in DCI, and the length/direction of OCC) may be applied as constraints, see Yum para [0264]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the slots taught by Saito with resource elements and symbols as taught by Yum since it would have been a simple substitution of one measurement of resources for another to achieve scheduling resources for communications.
Claim(s) 8, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (Pub No 20130121295) further in view of Tsai (Pub No 20230371039) , Sun (Pub No 20180124753), Zhao (EP 3706482 A1), and Gong (Pub no 20180192405)
Regarding claim 8 and 23,
Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: receiving one or more reference signals associated with the downlink control information within the set of downlink shared channel resources; and performing channel estimation for the downlink control information based at least in part on the one or more reference signals.
Gong teaches further comprising: receiving one or more reference signals associated with the downlink control information within the set of downlink shared channel resources; and performing channel estimation for the downlink control information based at least in part on the one or more reference signals. (interpreted as a transmission mode used to transmit the DCI message, a reference signal (RS) structure used for channel estimation for the DCI message, see para [0031]. Also see In any one of the preceding examples, or in another example, the first configuration parameters and the second configuration parameters each comprises a reference signal (RS) structure, see para [0024])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system taught by Saito with a channel estimation taught by Gong since it is known in the art to perform channel estimation to determine channel characteristics to better communications.
Claim(s) 9-10, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (Pub No 20130121295) further in view of Tsai (Pub No 20230371039) , Sun (Pub No 20180124753), Zhao (EP 3706482 A1), Gong (Pub no 20180192405), and Manolakos (Pub No 20200154465).
Regarding claim 9 and 24,
Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao teaches the The method of claim 8, however does not teach wherein at least one reference signal of the one or more reference signals is located in a first set of frequency resources of the set of downlink shared channel resources that is non-overlapping the second set of resources of the set of downlink shared channel resources used for the downlink control information or overlapping with a second set of resources of the set of downlink shared channel resources used for the downlink control information.
Manolakos teaches wherein at least one reference signal of the one or more reference signals is located in a first set of frequency resources of the set of downlink shared channel resources that is non-overlapping with a second set of resources of the set of downlink shared channel resources used for the downlink control information or overlapping the second set of resources of the set of downlink shared channel resources used for the downlink control information. (interpreted as In some aspects, based at least in part on determining that a threshold quantity of symbols of the occasion of the P-CSI-RS overlaps with the PDSCH, UE 120 may determine that the PDSCH is scheduled in the same set of symbols as the occasion of the P-CSI-RS. In some aspects, UE 120 may determine that an occasion of the P-CSI-RS does not overlap with the PDSCH unless the occasion of the P-CSI-RS and the PDSCH have a common TCI state, see para [0080])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the DM-RS taught by Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao with a taught by Manolakos since it is known in the art to determine overlaps to determine how to process the information thereby reducing a likelihood of dropped signals and improving network performance.
Regarding claim 10,
Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao teaches The method of claim 8, however do not teach further comprising: receiving an indication that the one or more reference signals are located in each symbol of the set of downlink shared channel resources.
Manolakos teaches further comprising: receiving an indication that the one or more reference signals are located in each symbol of the set of downlink shared channel resources (interpreted as UE 120 may determine whether the PDSCH is scheduled in the same set of symbols as an occasion of the P-CSI-RS based at least in part on a scheduling constraint. For example, UE 120 may determine that either all of the symbols of the occasion of the P-CSI-RS overlap with the PDSCH, see para [0080])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the DM-RS taught by Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao with a taught by Manolakos since it is known in the art to determine overlaps to determine how to process the information thereby reducing a likelihood of dropped signals and improving network performance.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (Pub No 20130121295) further in view of Tsai (Pub No 20230371039) , Sun (Pub No 20180124753), Zhao (EP 3706482 A1), and Wu (Pat No 20220278726).
Regarding claim 14,
Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao teaches The method of claim 13, however does not teach wherein performing channel estimation comprises: interpolating between the at least one portion and at least one other portion in which the one or more reference signals are received to obtain a set of interpolated reference signals, wherein the channel estimation is performed based at least in part on the set of interpolated reference signals.
Wu teaches wherein performing channel estimation comprises: interpolating between the at least one portion and at least one other portion in which the one or more reference signals are received to obtain a set of interpolated reference signals, wherein the channel estimation is performed based at least in part on the set of interpolated reference signals. (interpreted as For example, the indication information may be carried in RRC signaling. For example, when a usage element in the RRC signaling is set to interpolation, it indicates that an antenna port of the terminal corresponding to an RS port included in the second RS is at least partially the same as an antenna port of the terminal corresponding to an RS port included in the first RS. In a frequency hopping case, when usage is configured as interpolation, it further indicates that the first RS and the second RS meet the formula 1 or the equivalent variation of the formula 1, see para [0160]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the measurements taught by Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao with measurements using interpolation as taught by Wu with the motivation being to use interpolation as a way to determine the most optimal
Claim(s) 16 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (Pub No 20130121295) further in view of Tsai (Pub No 20230371039), Sun (Pub No 20180124753), Zhao (EP 3706482 A1), and Gao (Pub No 20210076373).
Regarding claim 16 and 27,
Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao teaches The method of claim 15, however does not teach further comprising: receiving a second set of reference signals dedicated for the downlink control information on a second set of resource elements of the set of downlink shared channel resources, wherein the channel estimation is performed based at least in part on the first set of reference signals and the second set of reference signals.
Gao teaches further comprising: receiving a second set of reference signals dedicated for the downlink control information on a second set of resource elements of the set of downlink shared channel resources, wherein the channel estimation is performed based at least in part on the first set of reference signals and the second set of reference signals. (interpreted as More generally, in a L-symbol-based TTI, the number of DMRS (K, K>=0) may be configured dynamically, for example, by downlink control information (DCI) and/or semi-statically, for example, by higher layer signaling; and L-K symbols are configured for data/control information. Alternatively, in a TTI, DMRS can be sparse and multiplexed with data/control information in frequency domain. In some implementations, different TTIs or TTI groups may have independent number of DMRS. For example, TTI groups may be consecutive TTIs or periodic TTIs with different period and/or offset, see para [0057]. Also see first DMRS and second DMRS, Gao claim 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the measurements taught by Saito with measurements using multiple reference signals as taught by Gao with the motivation being to provide better measurements by using multiple signals.
Claim(s) 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (Pub No 20130121295) further in view of Tsai (Pub No 20230371039), Sun (Pub No 20180124753), Zhao (EP 3706482 A1), and Bae (Pub No 20220264608)
Regarding claim 18 and 21,
Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: receiving a second message that indicates frequency hopping is activated for the downlink control information;
determining an offset for a frequency multiplexing pattern for the frequency multiplexing configuration; and monitoring for the downlink control information based at least in part on the offset.
Bae teaches further comprising: receiving a second message that indicates frequency hopping is activated for the downlink control information; determining an offset for a frequency multiplexing pattern for the frequency multiplexing configuration; and monitoring for the downlink control information based at least in part on the offset. (interpreted as The UE may receive RRC parameter(s) for each of a plurality of DCI formats from the BS (S1001). For example, the UE may receive higher layer parameters indicating a frequency resource allocation type to be applied to a DCI format, a …. a frequency hopping method of the physical shared channel scheduled by the DCI format, ..and/or beta-offset for the physical shared channel scheduled by the DCI format, through RRC signaling, see para [0222])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the DCI taught by Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao with the various parameters for DCI as taught by Bae with the motivation being to indicate the allocated resources for data transmission.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (Pub No 20130121295) further in view of Tsai (Pub No 20230371039), Sun (Pub No 20180124753), Zhao (EP 3706482 A1), and Einhaus (Pub No 20170332368)
Regarding claim 19,
Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: receiving each portion of the downlink control information according to a respective set of precoding parameters of one or more sets of precoding parameters, wherein each of the respective sets of precoding parameters is different; and receiving respective sets of reference signals for each portion of the downlink control information based at least in part on the one or more sets of precoding parameters.
Einhaus teaches further comprising: receiving each portion of the downlink control information according to a respective set of precoding parameters of one or more sets of precoding parameters, wherein each of the respective sets of precoding parameters is different; and receiving respective sets of reference signals for each portion of the downlink control information based at least in part on the one or more sets of precoding parameters. (interpreted as it is important that the UE has the corresponding information, which at least comprises knowledge about which of the resource elements carrying the PDSCH data are precoded differently and which of them are precoded “normally” (i.e., as indicated by the PMI in the DCI, or indirectly indicated by the DMRS), and also the different precoding(s) that shall be applied, see para [0200])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the measurements taught by Saito in view of Tsai, Sun, and Zhao with measurements using multiple reference signals as taught by Gao with the motivation being to enable the UE to estimate and feedback the channel state information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 and 28 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 17 and 28, the prior art of record does not teach the first and second set of reference signals received according to “first reference signal density, a first uniform spacing, and a first set of precoding parameters, and the second set of reference signals is received according to a second reference signal density, a second uniform spacing, and a second set of precoding parameters”. The examiner believes that the limitations of claims above with all of the claims it depends upon would not be taught in the art.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461