DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 11/5/2025. Currently, claims 1, 5, 6, 10 and 13 are pending in the application. Claims 2-4, 7-9, 11 and 12 are cancelled by Applicant. New claim 13 is added by Applicant.
Response to Arguments
The amendment to the drawings is sufficient to overcome the previous objection to the drawings.
The amendment to the abstract is sufficient to overcome the previous objection to the specification.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 is not sufficient to overcome all previous objections to claim 1. Claim 1, therefore, remains objected to as detailed below.
Applicant failed to amend claim 5 to overcome the previous objection to claim 5. Claim 5, therefore, remains objected to as detailed below.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 6 is not wholly sufficient to overcome all previous objections to claim 6. Claim 6, therefore, remains objected to for the reason(s) below.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 is sufficient to overcome all previous rejections of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 5 is not sufficient to overcome all previous rejections of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. Claim 5, therefore, remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as detailed below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection(s) of claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract includes legal phraseology, which is not permitted. The term “comprises” should be removed from the abstract to avoid this error. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “the fine cover may have graphical imagery to directs an observer's gaze” should be amended to recite ---the fine cover may have graphical imagery to direct an observer's gaze--- in order to correct a grammatical error. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6 “microbes adhere to the material” should read —microbes adhere to the material in use-- or —microbes are capable of adhering to the material--.
Claim 1, lines 7-8 “a first component extending a first material” should read —a first component being a first material--.
Claim 1, lines 9-10 “a second component extending a second material” should read —a second component being a second material--.
Claim 1, line 19, “pivot means” should read —a pivot means--.
Claim 1 recites “a first material to cover a first area of the facemask,” which is a claim limitation lacking proper antecedent basis in the specification; Applicant should amend the specification to include the cited language to avoid this error.
Claim 1 recites “a second material to cover a second area of the facemask,” which is a claim limitation lacking proper antecedent basis in the specification; Applicant should amend the specification to include the cited language to avoid this error.
Claim 5, line 1, “where to configure” should read—wherein--.
Claim 6, lines 3 and 6, “fine-cover” should read—fine cover--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
For claim 1, “pivot means” in line 14 is a generic placeholder and utilizes the word “means” and has the functional language “pivots by the pivot means”. No sufficient structure is provided in the claims. As such, the term “pivot means” is being interpreted under 112f. This term is not defined in the specification and will be interpreted with the broadest reasonable interpretation. As such, the examiner will interpret this term to be any structure that allows a pivoting motion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites “at least one attachment for securing the fine cover to the facemask.” No support is provided for this claim limitation in Applicant’s specification as originally filed. Applicant’s original disclosure only teaches the attachments (extensions 227, for instance) functioning to “attach the fine cover 201 to the wearer” (and not to the facemask, as claimed) (see [0073] of the publication of the present application, for instance). Claims 5, 6, 10 and 13 depend on claim 1 and therefore, include the same error.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites “the pivot means reduces perimeter tension in the adjacent structural relationship to prevent energy deformation.” No support is provided for this claim limitation in Applicant’s specification as originally filed. While Applicant’s original disclosure teaches this functioning of the present invention, it does not teach the pivot means, specifically, being responsible for the function, as claimed. Claims 5, 6, 10 and 13 depend on claim 1 and therefore, include the same error.
Claims 13 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 13 recites “the first component pivots by the pivot means over a top of at least the second component.” No support is provided for this claim limitation in Applicant’s specification as originally filed. Applicant’s original disclosure does not teach that the first component can pivot via the pivot means over infinite structures in addition to the second component (as permitted by Applicant’s recitation of “at least”). Rather, Applicants disclosure teaches “at least one of the first components pivots by the pivot means over the top of at least one of the second components” (see Applicant’s original claim 1). Claim 6 depends on claim 13 and therefore, includes the same error.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, it recites “the wearer’s face” in line 4. This limitation lacks antecedent basis. It should read—a wearer’s face--. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret this limitation as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward (US 4,628,927 A) in view of Gray et al. (US 9,901,128 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Ward teaches in Figures 1-8, the abstract, claim 1, column 1, lines 57-63, column 3, lines 14-17 and column 4, lines 9-13 and 52-53
a body (filter 15) comprising a plurality of components (center portion of filter 15 and outer portions 15A, 15B and 15C), each one of the plurality of components (center portion of filter 15 and outer portions 15A, 15B and 15C) comprising:
at least one perimeter (filter outer edge 16 and fold lines shown in Figure 8) defining the components shape (as shown in Figure 8, the center portion of filter 15 and outer portions 15A, 15B and 15C are each defined by fold lines; Figure 8 teaches that each of the outer portions 15A, 15B and 15C is defined by filter outer edge 16);
a material that is light-weight and breathable (claim 1 teaches the device, which includes the filter 15, being a “breathing mask;” column 4, lines 52-53 teaches “the filter may be of felt or paper construction,” which are two light-weight materials; Applicant should note that what material is considered “light-weight” is dependent upon the material of comparison);
at least one (outer portion 15A) of the plurality of components (center portion of filter 15 and outer portions 15A, 15B and 15C) is a first component (outer portion 15A) extending a first material (material forming outer portion 15A) to cover a first area of (Figure 5 teaches the outer portion 15A covering a first area of the main mask member 1) the facemask (main mask member 1; column 3, lines 14-17 teaches “the reference numeral 1 indicates a main mask member shaped at its outer edge 1A to fit over the user's nose and jaw of the lower face in an airtight manner”);
at least one (center portion of filter 15) of the plurality of components (center portion of filter 15 and outer portions 15A, 15B and 15C) is a second component (center portion of filter 15) extending a second material (material forming center portion of filter 15) to cover a second area of (Figure 2 teaches the center portion of filter 15 covering a second, central portion of the main mask member 1) the facemask (main mask member 1);
the first component (outer portion 15A) and the second component (center portion of filter 15) are configured to isolate (inasmuch as the material forming outer portion 15A and the material forming center portion of filter 15 are physically separated in space, as shown in Figure 8) the first material (material forming outer portion 15A) from the second material (material forming center portion of filter 15), to prevent energy deformation transmission between components (as shown in Figure 8, the outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15 are connected via a fold line; therefore, the outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15 are each capable of pivoting about said fold line independently, without effecting the state of the other portion; thus, energy deformation transmission is prevented);
at least one attachment (inwardly folded liner 11) for securing (column 4, lines 9-13 teaches “cutouts 17 permit filter portions to be turned inwardly to underlie and be positioned between the main body member and its inwardly folded liner 11 terminating along an edge 11C”) the fine cover (filter 15) to the facemask (main mask member 1);
at least a portion of the perimeter of the first component (outer portion 15A) is in an adjacent structural relationship with (Figure 8 teaches the perimeters of outer portion 15A and center portion of filter 15 connecting at a fold line) at least a portion of the perimeter of the second component (center portion of filter 15);
pivot means (fold line between outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15) in the adjacent structural relationship (Figure 8 teaches the perimeters of outer portion 15A and center portion of filter 15 connecting at a fold line) are operatively configured (as shown in Figure 8);
when the fine cover (filter 15) is removed (column 1, lines 57-63 teaches “the mesh member has an outer margin which overlies a marginal area of the main mask member and forms a bite therewith in which is removably confined the filter element” and “the continuous bite area of the mask member opens away from the filter when the mask is turned inside out to facilitate filter removal and replacement;” the abstract teaches “filter removal”), the pivot means (fold line between outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15) reduces perimeter tension in the adjacent structural relationship (Figure 8 teaches the perimeters of outer portion 15A and center portion of filter 15 connecting at a fold line) to prevent energy deformation (as shown in Figure 8, the outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15 are connected via a fold line; therefore, the outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15 are each capable of pivoting about said fold line independently, without effecting the perimeter tension of the other portion; thus, energy deformation transmission is prevented).
Ward does not teach that microbes adhere to the material; and adhered microbes cannot be dislodged from the material.
However, Gray et al. teaches in the abstract and column 5, lines 39-41 an analogous device (column 5, lines 39-41 teaches “the antimicrobial system described herein may be used in a typical face mask”) wherein microbes adhere to the material (the abstract teaches “the fabric has as a coating is created with on at least the outer surface and through at least 25% of the thickness of the fabric a moisture-sensitive antimicrobial composition, wherein the antimicrobial moisture-sensitive composition comprises an antimicrobially active compound and a carrier, the carrier by hydrophilic and able to absorb sufficient moisture from exhaled breath from the human as to maintain a wet surface on the carrier to which viral particles will adhere more strongly than to a dry surface of the same carrier”); and adhered microbes cannot be dislodged from the material (inasmuch as adhered microbes are secured in place and therefore, would not be dislodged).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the material of Ward to provide that microbes adhere to the material; and adhered microbes cannot be dislodged from the material as taught by Gray et al. because this element is known to function “for catching and holding the virus particles” to aid in “controlling the spread of pathogens and infectious diseases,” as Gray et al. teaches in column 1, lines 18-19 and column 16, lines 5-6.
Regarding claim 13, Ward and Gray et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Ward teaches in Figure 8, the abstract and column 1, lines 57-63 that when the fine cover (filter 15) is removed (column 1, lines 57-63 teaches “the mesh member has an outer margin which overlies a marginal area of the main mask member and forms a bite therewith in which is removably confined the filter element” and “the continuous bite area of the mask member opens away from the filter when the mask is turned inside out to facilitate filter removal and replacement;” the abstract teaches “filter removal”): the first component (outer portion 15A) pivots by the pivot means (fold line between outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15) over a top of at least (the outer portion 15A is capable of pivoting about the fold line between outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15 such that the outer portion 15A extends over a top surface of the center portion of filter 15) the second component (center portion of filter 15), and an outer surface of the second component (center portion of filter 15) is configured to be covered (the outer portion 15A is capable of pivoting about the fold line between outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15 such that the outer portion 15A covers an outer surface of the center portion of filter 15); the fine cover (filter 15) is closed (the outer portion 15A is capable of being pivoted about the fold line between outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15 and brought into contact with a surface of the center portion of filter 15 to close the filter 15).
Ward does not teach does not teach that adhered microbes cannot be dislodged from the outer surface of the second component.
However, Gray et al. teaches in the abstract and column 5, lines 39-41 an analogous device (column 5, lines 39-41 teaches “the antimicrobial system described herein may be used in a typical face mask”) wherein adhered microbes (the abstract teaches “the fabric has as a coating is created with on at least the outer surface and through at least 25% of the thickness of the fabric a moisture-sensitive antimicrobial composition, wherein the antimicrobial moisture-sensitive composition comprises an antimicrobially active compound and a carrier, the carrier by hydrophilic and able to absorb sufficient moisture from exhaled breath from the human as to maintain a wet surface on the carrier to which viral particles will adhere more strongly than to a dry surface of the same carrier”) cannot be dislodged from the outer surface of the component (inasmuch as adhered microbes are secured in place and therefore, would not be dislodged from the outer surface).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the second component of Ward as modified by to provide that adhered microbes cannot be dislodged from the outer surface of the second component as taught by Gray et al. because this element is known to function “for catching and holding the virus particles” to aid in “controlling the spread of pathogens and infectious diseases,” as Gray et al. teaches in column 1, lines 18-19 and column 16, lines 5-6.
Regarding claim 6, Ward and Gray et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1 and 13. Ward teaches in Figure 8, the abstract and column 1, lines 57-63 that when the fine cover (filter 15) is removed (column 1, lines 57-63 teaches “the mesh member has an outer margin which overlies a marginal area of the main mask member and forms a bite therewith in which is removably confined the filter element” and “the continuous bite area of the mask member opens away from the filter when the mask is turned inside out to facilitate filter removal and replacement;” the abstract teaches “filter removal”): the fine-cover (filter 15) is closed when at least the first component (outer portion 15A) has a first outer surface facing inward (the outer portion 15A is capable of being pivoted about the fold line between outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15 such that a first outer surface of the outer portion 15A is facing inward toward an outer surface of the center portion of filter 15 and brought into contact with a surface of the center portion of filter 15 to close the filter 15), and at least the second component (center portion of filter 15) has the outer surface that is covered by the first outer surface (the outer portion 15A is capable of being pivoted about the fold line between outer portion 15A and the center portion of filter 15 such that a first outer surface of the outer portion 15A is facing inward toward an outer surface of the center portion of filter 15 and brought into contact with a surface of the center portion of filter 15 to close the filter 15); the closed fine-cover (filter 15) can be placed in a bag for disposal or cleaning (the filter 15 is capable of being placed in a bag for disposal or cleaning when closed as discussed above).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward (US 4,628,927 A), in view of Gray et al. (US 9,901,128 B2) and further in view of Houde (WO 2017/184798 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ward and Gray et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Ward and Gray et al. do not teach where to configure: at least one of the plurality of components, at the material surrounded by the at least one perimeter: at least a portion of the material includes a heat reflective layer or liner adapted to prevent temperature increase of the wearer's face.
However, Houde (facing the same challenge of heat accumulation in a facial covering) teaches an analogous fine cover (face mask 100, Fig. 1, p. 20 para. 2, it is capable of being placed on top of another face mask due to the body portion 102 and the tie straps 104 to enable tying of the face mask 100 to a head of an individual and would secure it in place) comprising: a body (body portion 102, Fig. 1, p. 20 para. 2) comprising one or more components (please see Annotated Fig. C below adapted from Fig. 1, it shows two components on the one side of the face mask 100) each comprising: one or more perimeters defining the component's shape (Annotated Fig. C below shows the perimeters of the two components on the one side of the face mask 100); at least one of the plurality of components, at the material surrounded by the at least one perimeter: at least a portion of the material includes a heat reflective layer or liner adapted to prevent temperature increase of the wearer's face (p. 50 para. 2 and p. 51 para. 1 states that thermally conductive materials or structures are incorporated into one or more layers of the material used to form the face mask where the materials can be metal particles, fibers, or inks including aluminum, gold, copper, silver, etc., conductive polymers, carbon, or any other material that can be used to increase thermal conductivity can be incorporated, p. 51 para. 1 also states the use of such materials can facilitate the dissipation of heat from the inside of the face mask to the outside preventing the buildup of heat, thus this is incorporated in the body portion 102 and thus the components).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to have provided the fine cover disclosed by Ward as modified by Gray et al. with the heat reflective layer or liner adapted to prevent temperature increase of the wearer's face as taught by Houde in order to provide an improved fine cover with a reflective layer or liner adapted to prevent temperature increase of the wearer's face in order to prevent the buildup of heat in the dead space and minimizing user discomfort (Houde, p. 51 para. 1), thus mitigating the amount of people not complying with PPE protocols (Houde, p. 3 para. 1).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward (US 4,628,927 A), in view of Gray et al. (US 9,901,128 B2) and further in view of Grinvald et al. (US 10,974,084 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Ward and Gray et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Ward and Gray et al. do not teach that the material is selected from the group consisting of: microfiber, cellulose fiber, modal fabric, micromodal fabric, silk, linen, mesh, tricot, soutache, cotton, hemp, synthetic fibers, and combinations thereof.
However, Grinvald et al. teaches in column 5, lines 56-58 an analogous device wherein the material is selected from the group consisting of: microfiber, cellulose fiber, modal fabric, micromodal fabric, silk, linen, mesh, tricot, soutache, cotton, hemp, synthetic fibers, and combinations thereof (column 5, lines 56-58 teaches “filter 13 comprises at least a non-woven layer, a meltblown cloth layer, an electrostatic cotton layer, and a bactericidal layer”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to modify the material of Ward as modified by Gray et al. to be selected from the group consisting of: microfiber, cellulose fiber, modal fabric, micromodal fabric, silk, linen, mesh, tricot, soutache, cotton, hemp, synthetic fibers, and combinations thereof as taught by Grinvald et al. because this element is known in the art to be a suitable filtration material for a filter, as Grinvald et al. teaches in column 5, lines 56-58.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA HICKS FISHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 2/5/2026