Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 rejections of claim(s) 6, 8-13, and 25-41 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
Applicant has amended claim 6 to recite “a segmented ramp base shape”. In response to Applicant’s amendment Examiner has added reference Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8-13, 25-26, 29, 31, 33-38, and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argal (US Pub No.: 2015/0359625) in view of Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020), Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013) and Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189).
Regarding claim 6, Argal (US Pub No.: 2015/0359625) would teach an intraocular lens (see abstract) comprising: a central optical zone (the inner most zone 14 in figure 2A, part 14 defined as a zone in [0096]), wherein, when the IOL is implanted in a patient's eye (implanting per se disclosed in [0118]), a first plurality of light rays incident on an anterior surface of the central optical zone passes through the central optical zone to form an image on a retina (as the device is an intraocular lens in the abstract, with a light transmission disclosed in areas like [0067], a light would need to pass through on an anterior surface 12a that would lead to the formation of an image on a retina as this would be the function of the IOL); a first region integrated with and surrounding the central optical zone (being the part 14 in figure 2a that is next to the centermost part 14), wherein, when the IOL is implanted in the patient's eye (implanting per se disclosed in [0118]), a second plurality of light rays incident on a first anterior surface of the first region is widely dispersed by the first region downstream from the IOL towards and across the retina (as the zones part 14 have a different refraction and diffraction of light, as per [0097], a dispersion of light is occurring. As the location of the first region is different from the central region, a different set of light rays, being a second plurality of light rays, would pass through the lens), such that the image comprises an extended depth-of-field (in [0013]-[0014], a creation of axially separated images would create an image with a depth-of-field. As Argal is a multifocal lens as per the abstract, a creation of a depth-of-field in an image is occurring); and a second region comprising at least one haptic for positioning the IOL within the eye (the second region being the end regions in figure 1B where part 36 is attached to), wherein the second region is separated from the central optical zone by at least the first region (as the first region circles the central optical zone and as the second region is at the edge of the IOL with the haptics is at the outermost edge of figure 1B, the first region would be between the central optical zone and the second region) and a transition region of variable width between the first region and the central optical zone (being part 16 that would be between the inner most part 14 and the next zone in figure 2b. Part 16 is the slanted steps in figure 2B as per [0096]-[0098]. Zones 14 and transition areas 16 are depicted as being of variable width in figure 2B, with step 16 having variable widths as per [0105] and [0109]).
However, Argal does not teach an instance wherein the first region comprises a profile that is symmetric in an azimuthal direction.
Instead, Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020) would teach an instance wherein the first region comprises a profile that is symmetric in an azimuthal direction (shown in figures 12-14 and [0076]-[0077]).\ It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the azimuthal zones of Zhao into Argal for the purpose of providing an arrangement of an intraocular lens into the first region of Argal that would provide for a treatment of an astigmatism (astigmatism treatment in [0074]-[0076]).
Argal in view of Zhao also does not teach the profile comprises a segmented ramp base shape.
Instead, Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013) teaches wherein the profile comprises a segmented ramp base shape (ramp ridge zone 112 with edge 116. Figure 3 and [0069] define an optical power profile 300 that is a ramp in figure 3, with regions 304 and 306 comprising different segments of said optical power profile. Tilted surface optical power profile also in [0068]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the power profile of Lindacher into the combination involving Argal and Zhao for the purpose of providing an optical zone that can vary on the order of several diopters in [0028] that can be used to treat a plurality of vision problems as per [0028].
From here, Argal in view of Zhao do not teach an oblong-shaped central optical zone.
Instead, Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189) does teach an oblong-shaped central zone (being labeled as the central portion that is depicted as being oblong in figure 4 of Getman). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the shape of the central portion of Getman into the central zone of Argal in view of Zhao for the purpose of providing an alternate design of a central zone of an intraocular lens known in the art where the central portion of Getman is able to focus a light between to points E1 and E2.
Regarding claim 8, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches teach the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses the transition region comprises a first anterior transition surface (being the surface facing side 12a), and further wherein the first anterior transition surface comprises zero-order and first-order continuity with both an anterior optical surface of the central optical zone and an anterior surface of the first region (a zeroth order and first order diffractive power for said steps are disclosed in [0098]).
Regarding claim 9, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 8, wherein Argal teaches that the transition region comprises a first posterior transition surface (being the surface closest to part 12b in figure 2B), and further wherein the first posterior transition surface comprises zero-order and first-order continuity with both a posterior optical surface of the central optical zone and a posterior surface of the first region (a zeroth order and first order diffractive power for step parts 16 are disclosed in [0098]).
Regarding claim 10, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, with Argal further comprising a transition region between the first region and the second region (as part 16 in figure 2B is between each part 14, and as the first and second regions would be different part 14s, a part 15 would act as a transition region between the first and second region).
Regarding claim 11, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 10, wherein Argal discloses that the transition region comprises an anterior transition surface (being the surface facing side 12a), and further wherein the anterior transition surface comprises zero-order and first-order continuity with both an anterior surface of the first region and an anterior surface of the second region (a zeroth order and first order diffractive power for said steps are disclosed in [0098]).
Regarding claim 12, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses that the central optical zone comprises a monofocal or bifocal or multifocal lens portion (a multifocal lens is disclosed in the abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses that the intraocular lens is for implantation into a phakic eye or an aphakic eye (as a treatment that involves a replacement of a lens is disclosed in [0008], an aphakic eye treatment is provided in Argal).
Regarding claim 25, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches that the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses that at least one of the first anterior surface of the first region and a posterior surface of the first region comprises one or more of a conic, a polynomial, a rational spline, or a diffractive profile to widely disperse the second plurality of light rays downstream from the intraocular lens towards and across the retina (as surface 1a is depicted as being conic in figure 2B and is defined by a conic constant as per [0080]-[0082], and as the first region is along surface 12a, the first region is taken to be part of a conic profile).
Regarding claim 26, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses that each of the first anterior surface of the first region and a posterior surface of the first region comprises one or more of a conic, a polynomial, a rational spline, or a diffractive profile to widely disperse the second plurality of light rays downstream from the intraocular lens towards and across the retina (as part 12b, shown in figures 1A and 2B, is defined to have a toric profile in [0078], with 12a being an aspheric profile with a conic constant k in [0080-[0082], both surfaces disperse light rays downstream toward a retina of a natural eye. Also, as the device is an IOL, the anterior surface would be taken to disperse light rays downstream across a retina as this would be the function of an IOL device).
Regarding claim 29, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses that the central optical zone forms the image on a central portion of the retina when the IOL is implanted in the eye (as Argal discloses that an IOL would form an image on the retina as per [0004], it is implied that the IOL of Argal which includes the central portion of Argal, would form an image on the retina of the patient).
Regarding claim 31, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses a diameter of the IOL is 6 mm (as Argal states a typical IOL would have a diameter of 5-7 mm and remains silent on a specific diameter for the provided IOL, it stands to reason that the IOL of Argal would be 5-7 mm).
Regarding claim 33, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses the IOL reduces a monochromatic aberration in the image (reduction of aberrations disclosed in [0072]).
Regarding claim 34, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses that the IOL reduces a chromatic aberration in the image (reduction of aberrations disclosed in [0072]. While chromatic aberration is not specifically mentioned here, a mitigation of aberrations as a whole is disclosed here which would include chromatic aberrations).
Regarding claim 35, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses that the IOL reduces a higher-order aberration in the image (reduction of higher order aberrations in [0072]).
Regarding claim 36, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 35, wherein Argal discloses that the IOL reduces a spherical aberration in the image (reduction of aberrations disclosed in [0072]).
Regarding claim 37, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches that the IOL of claim 36, wherein Argal discloses the IOL comprises a conic profile (in [0080]-[0082], where a conic constant is disclosed for the surface 12a, that is depicted as being conic in figure 2B) at least one surface of the IOL to reduce the spherical aberration in the image (reduction of aberration in [0072]).
Regarding claim 38, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses that the IOL reduces an aberration in the image due to varying focus with wavelength across the visible spectrum (as per [0088]-[0089], the diffractive pattern 13 would adjust the focus power of the IOL to correct an aberration).
Regarding claim 40, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses that the IOL controls for spherical aberration in the image (as the IOL is disclosed to correct aberrations in [0072], the IOL would control a spherical aberration).
Regarding claim 41, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6, wherein Argal discloses that the IOL provides toric correction (as per [0072], with surface 12B also being disclosed as a toric surface in [0094]-[0095]. The toric surface would provide a toric profile as per [0083] that would then provide a toric correction).
Claim(s) 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argal (US Pub No.: 2015/0359625) in view Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020), Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013) and Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189) in further view of Purchase (US Pub No.: 2012/0277857).
Regarding claim 27, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6. However, Argal in view of Zhao does not teach an instance wherein at least one of the first anterior surface of the first region and a posterior surface of the first region comprises one of a prism profile or a negative lens profile.
Instead, Purchase (US Pub No.: 2012/0277857) would teach an instance wherein at least one of the first anterior surface of the first region and a posterior surface of the first region comprises one of a prism profile or a negative lens profile (being the Fresnel prism array in the abstract that create a constant profile in one direction and a modulated profile in an orthogonal direction in [0062]. This is taken to teach a prism profile in an intraocular lens that could then be incorporated in the first anterior surface and posterior surface of the first region of Argal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the prism profile of Purchase into Argal for the purpose of creating a lens that can reduce the effects of age-related macular degeneration.
Regarding claim 28, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher, Getman and Purchase teaches the IOL of claim 27, wherein Purchase would teach that each of the first anterior surface of the first region and the posterior surface of the first region comprises one of a prism profile or a negative lens profile (being the Fresnel prism array in the abstract that create a constant profile in one direction and a modulated profile in an orthogonal direction in [0062]. This is taken to teach a prism profile in an intraocular lens that could then be incorporated in the first anterior surface and posterior surface of the first region of Argal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the prism profile of Purchase into Argal for the purpose of creating a lens that can reduce the effects of age-related macular degeneration.
Claim(s) 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argal (US Pub No.: 2015/0359625) in view of Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020), Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013) and Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189) in further view of Lindacher 2 (US Pub No.: 2009/0051870) and Webb (US Pub No.: 2014/0131905).
Regarding claim 30, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6. However, Argal in view of Zhao does not teach an instance wherein a diameter of the central optical zone is 3 mm and a width of the first region is 1.5 mm. Instead, Lindacher 2 (US Pub No.: 2009/0051870) wherein a diameter of the central optical zone is 3 mm (as per figure 1, where a diameter range of part 10, defined as the central optical zone in [0024] is a range between 2.0-4.0 mm which would include a diameter of 3.0 mm in [0025]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the diameter presented in Lindacher into Argal for the purpose of defining the central region of Argal such that the central optical zone can provide a sufficient range of ADD power as per [0027]-[0029].
From here, Webb (US Pub No.: 2014/0131905) would teach an instance wherein a width of the first region is 1.5 mm (as per [0062], the diameter of 2100 in figure 3A is between 3-6 mm with [0066] teaching that the center aperture 2128 can have a diameter of up to 2.2mm. As such, in an instance where 2100 has a diameter of 3mm with 2128 having a diameter of 1.5mm would cause 2108 to have a diameter of 1.5mm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the dimensions of the device of Webb into the device of Argal as Argal remains silent on the dimensions of the specific elements within the IOL presented in the figures.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argal (US Pub No.: 2015/0359625) in view of Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020), Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013) and Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189) in further view of Boehm (US Patent No.: 6,485,516).
Regarding claim 32, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6. However, Argal in view of Zhao would not teach an instance wherein a posterior surface of the haptic comprises a square edge to inhibit cell growth when the IOL is implanted in the eye.
Instead, Boehm would teach an instance wherein a posterior surface of the haptic comprises a square edge to inhibit cell growth when the IOL is implanted in the eye (as per column 2 line 30-37, Boehm would teach a spring haptic that is “large square stone shaped.” As an inhibition of cell growth is taken to be a function of the square edge, the square edge of Boehm would be taken to inhibit cell growth despite not being explicitly claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the square stone shaped haptics of Boehm in place of the haptics and shape of Argal for the purpose of providing a haptic that would secure the IOL within the capsular bag during an expansion after implantation, as disclosed in column 2 lines 30-37.
Claim(s) 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argal (US Pub No.: 2015/0359625) in view of Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020), Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013) and Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189) in further view of Wildsmith (US Pub No.: 2014/0055744).
Regarding claim 39, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teaches the IOL of claim 6. However, Argal in view of Zhao would not teach an instance wherein the IOL provides sphere, cylinder and axis correction.
Instead, Wildsmith would teach an instance wherein the IOL provides sphere, cylinder and axis correction (as per [0123], Wildsmith teaches a correction of low order optical aberrations, earlier disclosed in [0118] to include a correction of sphere power, cylinder power, and cylinder axis. Here, as Argal does teach a treatment of aberrations in [0072], it is taken that this specific correction could be incorporated within the lens of Argal).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the correction of sphere power, cylinder power, and cylinder axis of Wildsmith into the device of Argal for the purpose of providing a more specific type of aberration correction than what is provided in [0072].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Simpson (US Pub No.: 2008/0269890) for an IOL that would have a first optical zone 66a. Pinto (US Pub No.: 2016/0193037) considered for optical power details in [0030] and [0096].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AREN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774