DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Please see response to arguments below in the present Office action.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same reference(s) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to the applicant's argument that " Additionally, FIGS. 2 and 3 clearly illustrate this structural arrangement where the thermoelectric element extends in the optical axis direction between the substrate and the forwardmost lens…Reconsideration of the specification is respectfully requested," the Examiner traverses. The as-filed specification describes "[0029] FIG. 3 is a cross-sectional diagram taken along line I-I in FIG 1,” which is not consistent nor accurate with respect to the structural details shown in the drawings. Figure 3 of the present invention is not a cross-sectional diagram taken along line I-I in figure 1, for the forwardmost lens 122 diameter is shown to be exactly the same as the diameter of the lens assembly 120, the thermoelectric element 121, and its unit thermoelectric elements 121a, 121b. See specification and drawing objections in the present Office action and previous Office action (dated 23 October 2025) for further detail.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (e.g., “That is, in Kim, the electrode (310) is not disposed on the substrate together with the image sensor (410)”), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Kim in view of Shimada teaches a Peltier module integrated with a heat spreader ([0017-99]; fig. 1-7), wherein p-type thermoelectric elements 2 and n-type thermoelectric elements 3 are disposed on a surface of an insulating thin film 9 of metal substrate 7 ([0033]; as seen in fig. 1). Moreover, an electrode 5 is disposed on a surface of an insulating thin film 9 of metal substrate 7, between a surface of an insulating thin film 9 of metal substrate 7 and a bottom surface of p-type thermoelectric elements 2 and n-type thermoelectric elements 3 ([0033]; as seen in fig. 1). See § 103 rejections below for further detail.
In response to the applicant's argument that " Shimada merely illustrates the specific structure of a thermoelectric element (1) and cannot be considered to disclose anything regarding the positional relationship among the thermoelectric element, the electrode, and the image sensor," the Examiner traverses. Argument is moot since new ground(s) of rejection now relies on Kim in view of Shimada and Kong. See § 103 rejections below for further detail. Examiner also reminds the applicant that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references (e.g., “Accordingly, since Kim does not disclose the positional relationship among the thermoelectric element, the electrode, and the image sensor, such a relationship would not be readily derived even by combining Kim with other cited references”), the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the camera module of Kim to include the technical features of a thermoelectric element disposed on a substrate and an electrode disposed between a substrate and a thermoelectric element, for the purpose of a producing a Peltier module with a structure in which the electric circuit, formed by the electrodes, the p-type semiconductor element, and the n-type semiconductor element, is interposed in a sandwich manner between two metal substrates with insulating thin films being formed on their surfaces, as taught by Shimada ([0033]).
Kim in view of Shimada does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation wherein the electrode surrounds the image sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kong teaches an image sensor module, camera module including the same and electronic device including the camera module (fig. 1), wherein an electrode 127 is disposed on a substrate 111 and surrounds an image sensor 110 within an image sensor module 100 ([0059-64]; as seen in fig. 1). The electrode 127 is also connected to both a bonding pad 125 and an external terminal 121 ([0069]; fig. 1). Kong further teaches a light receiver 113 arranged on the central portion of the image sensor 110 and surrounded by bonding pads 125 in connection with electrodes 127 ([0073-78]; as seen in fig. 1-2). An entire area of a variable thickness member 130 moves in the same direction by a same distance with respect to the image sensor 110 according to a driving signal applied to electrodes 127 ([0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Kim in view of Shimada to include the technical features of an electrode surrounding a light receiver within an image sensor and applying voltage to a variable thickness element, for the purpose of achieving automatic adjustability of focus within an image sensor and optimal resolution by a distance change between a lens and an image sensor, as taught by Kong ([0084]). See § 103 rejections below for further detail.
In response to the applicant's argument that "when taken in the context of claim 1. In view of the above discussions regarding the actual disclosures of Kim, Shimada, and Hokodate, it is respectfully submitted that neither Kim, Shimada, Hokodate, nor their combination would disclose or suggest all the features of claim 15," the Examiner traverses. Argument is moot since new ground(s) of rejection now relies on Kim in view of Shimada and Kong. See § 103 rejections below for further detail.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The as-filed specification describes "[0029] FIG. 3 is a cross-sectional diagram taken along line I-I in FIG 1,” which is not consistent nor accurate with respect to the structural details shown in the drawings. See drawing objection below for further detail. Examiner reminds the applicant that “[t]he specification must set forth the precise invention for which a patent is solicited” See 37 CFR 1.71 and MPEP § 608.01.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show "[0029] FIG. 3 is a cross-sectional diagram taken along line I-I in FIG 1" as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Examiner notes that figure. 3 of the present application is not a cross-sectional diagram taken along line I-I in figure 1, for the structural components of the forwardmost lens 122, the lower surface 122a, the lens assembly 120, and the thermoelectric element 121 do not appear to align at all. Figures 1 and 2 illustrate a forwardmost lens 122 and its lower surface 122a being placed directly on top of an inner diameter of a lens assembly 120, the thermoelectric element 121, and its unit thermoelectric element 121a. These figures further illustrate that the thermoelectric element 121 and its unit thermoelectric element 121a have an outer diameter greater than the diameters of both the forwardmost lens 122 and its lower surface 122a. Therefore, figure 3 of the present invention is not a cross-sectional diagram taken along line I-I in figure 1, for the forwardmost lens 122 diameter is shown to be exactly the same as the diameter of the lens assembly 120, the thermoelectric element 121, and its unit thermoelectric elements 121a, 121b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 20180188636 A1 in view of Shimada et al. US 20020162338 A1 (herein after "Shimada") and Kong US 20090194668 A1.
With respect to Claim 1, Kim discloses a camera module ([0028-33], & [0048]; figures 1-7), comprising:
a substrate (image sensing unit 400; [0048]) including an image sensor (image sensor 410; [0051]) disposed on a first surface of the substrate (image sensor 410 disposed on image sensing unit 400 as seen in fig. 3);
a thermoelectric element (thermoelectric element 500; [0048]);
an electrode (pattern electrode 310; [0043]);
a first lens (lens unit 100; [0030]) disposed foremost from an object side (as seen in fig. 3; [0030-34]) and farthest from the substrate (lens unit 100 farthest away from image sensing unit 400 as seen in fig. 3, portion of lens unit 100 exposed to outside; [0030-34]), among a plurality of lenses (lens unit 100 including a plurality of lenses arranged in optical axis direction; [0032]), and directly contact a second surface of the thermoelectric element by being disposed on the second surface of the thermoelectric element (upper side surface of thermoelectric 500, where lens unit 100 is disposed and in contact with 500; see examiner annotated fig. 3 below; [0034] & [0061]), and
wherein the first (lower surface of stepped portion/small diameter part 540 of 500, lower surface of the thermoelectric element 500; [0047]; fig. 3) and second (upper side surface of 500; [0061]; fig. 3) surfaces are on opposing ends of the thermoelectric element (lower surface part 540 of 500 and upper side surface of 500 are positioned on opposing ends of thermoelectric element 500, as seen in annotated fig. 3 below; [0047] & [0061]) along an optical center of the first lens (see annotated fig. 3; [0030-32]).
Kim does not appear to teach the following limitations wherein the thermoelectric element is disposed on a first surface of the substrate; and the electrode disposed on the first surface of the substrate between the first surface of the substrate and a first surface of the thermoelectric element.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Shimada teaches a Peltier module integrated with a heat spreader ([0017-99]; fig. 1-7), wherein p-type thermoelectric elements 2 and n-type thermoelectric elements 3 are disposed on a surface of an insulating thin film 9 of metal substrate 7 ([0033]; as seen in fig. 1). Moreover, an electrode 5 is disposed on a surface of an insulating thin film 9 of metal substrate 7, between a surface of an insulating thin film 9 of metal substrate 7 and a bottom surface of p-type thermoelectric elements 2 and n-type thermoelectric elements 3 ([0033]; as seen in fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the camera module of Kim to include the technical features of a thermoelectric element disposed on a substrate and an electrode disposed between a substrate and a thermoelectric element, for the purpose of a producing a Peltier module with a structure in which the electric circuit, formed by the electrodes, the p-type semiconductor element, and the n-type semiconductor element, is interposed in a sandwich manner between two metal substrates with insulating thin films being formed on their surfaces, as taught by Shimada ([0033]).
Kim in view of Shimada does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation wherein the electrode surrounds the image sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kong teaches an image sensor module, camera module including the same and electronic device including the camera module (fig. 1), wherein an electrode 127 is disposed on a substrate 111 and surrounds an image sensor 110 within an image sensor module 100 ([0059-64]; as seen in fig. 1). The electrode 127 is also connected to both a bonding pad 125 and an external terminal 121 ([0069]; fig. 1). Kong further teaches a light receiver 113 arranged on the central portion of the image sensor 110 and surrounded by bonding pads 125 in connection with electrodes 127 ([0073-78]; as seen in fig. 1-2). An entire area of a variable thickness member 130 moves in the same direction by a same distance with respect to the image sensor 110 according to a driving signal applied to electrodes 127 ([0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Kim in view of Shimada to include the technical features of an electrode surrounding a light receiver within an image sensor and applying voltage to a variable thickness element, for the purpose of achieving automatic adjustability of focus within an image sensor and optimal resolution by a distance change between a lens and an image sensor, as taught by Kong ([0084]).
With respect to Claim 2, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 1, wherein the thermoelectric element (500; [0034]; Kim) is configured to cool the image sensor (cooling image sensor within image sensor unit; [0048-49], & [0053]; Kim) and heat the first lens ([0034]; figure 3; Kim) when a voltage of a first polarity is applied to the thermoelectric element through the electrode ([0027], [0062], & [0083]; fig. 1; Kim).
With respect to Claim 4, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 1, further comprising: a second lens (“plurality of lenses” [0032]; Kim), wherein the thermoelectric element includes a penetrating portion (above small diameter part 540; Kim) configured to accommodate the second lens ([0041]; Kim).
With respect to Claim 5, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 4, wherein the second lens includes a plurality of second lenses (“plurality of lenses” [0032]; figure 2 & 3; Kim).
With respect to Claim 6, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 1, wherein the substrate includes a heat transfer member (substrate component of image sensing unit 400, casing 800, and support part 220; [0050-51] & [0058]; see figure 2; Kim) disposed below the image sensor (figure 2; [0053]; Kim).
With respect to Claim 7, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 1, wherein the thermoelectric element (thermoelectric element 500; Kim) includes a plurality of unit thermoelectric elements (two 500 elements, facing each other in optical axis direction; see both 500 elements in figure 2; Kim).
Kim does not appear to teach the following limitation wherein the thermoelectric element includes a plurality of unit thermoelectric elements stacked in an optical axis direction.
However, Shimada further teaches a plurality of p-type thermoelectric elements 2 and n-type thermoelectric elements 3 stacked (temperature control member includes a Peltier module comprising thermoelectric elements in which plural p-type and n-type thermoelectric elements are alternately arranged in optical axis direction parallel to a first lens 13 and second lens 14; [0044-47]) in an optical axis direction (optical axis direction; [0047-48]; see Peltier module 1; fig. 1 & 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the camera module to include the technical feature of having a plurality of thermoelectric elements stacked along an optical axis direction, for the purpose of placing electrodes in both ends of the thermoelectric elements in order to connect the thermoelectric elements in series, as taught by Shimada ([0044]).
With respect to Claim 8, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 7, further comprising: at least one second lens (“plurality of lenses” [0032]; Kim), wherein the thermoelectric element includes a penetrating portion (above small diameter part 540; Kim) configured to accommodate the at least one second lens ([0041]; Kim; figure 2).
With respect to Claim 9, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 8, wherein each of the unit thermoelectric elements (thermoelectric element units 500 of Kim in fig. 2 modified by p-type thermoelectric elements 2 and n-type thermoelectric elements 3 of Shimada in fig. 1) includes a penetrating portion (above small diameter part 540; Kim), and the at least one second lens (“plurality of lenses” [0032]; Kim) is accommodated in at least one of the penetrating portions of the plurality of unit thermoelectric elements ([0041]; Kim).
With respect to Claim 10, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 9, wherein at least one stepped portion (small diameter part 540; Kim) is formed between the plurality of unit thermoelectric elements (thermoelectric element units 500 of Kim in fig. 2 modified by p-type thermoelectric elements 2 and n-type thermoelectric elements 3 of Shimada in fig. 1), and the at least one second lens (“plurality of lenses” [0032]; Kim) is partially supported by the stepped portion ([0039-41]; Kim).
With respect to Claim 11, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 1, wherein the electrode has a positive electrode and a negative electrode ([0066-68]; Kim), and the positive electrode and the negative electrode are electrically connected to corresponding terminals (terminals 311 and 312 of pattern electrode 310; [0075-76]; fig. 6; Kim) provided in the thermoelectric element ([0075-76]; fig. 6; Kim).
With respect to Claim 12, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 11, wherein the positive electrode (p) and the negative electrode (n) have an arc shape centered on the image sensor (positive and negative electrodes having arc shape while lens unit 100 covers image sensor 410 in diagram; figures 4-6; [0016-18]; Kim).
With respect to Claim 13, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 1, wherein the thermoelectric element (thermoelectric element 500; Kim) has a cylindrical shape configured to accommodate the image sensor (hollow/cylindrical shape & circumferential; [0039]; thermoelectric element 500 shape and all other surrounding elements accommodating an image sensor to be placed on substrate as seen in fig 2 & 3; Kim), one end of the thermoelectric element in a length direction is in contact with the electrode (element 500 in length direction is in contact with electrode 310; fig. 3; [0045]; Kim), and another end of the thermoelectric element in the length direction is in contact with the lens (element 500 in length direction is in side end contact with lens unit 100; fig. 2 & 3; [0061]; Kim).
With respect to Claim 14, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 13, wherein the thermoelectric element (thermoelectric element 500; Kim) includes at least one P-type semiconductor (510; Kim) and at least one N-type semiconductor (520; Kim) alternately circumferentially disposed (figures 4-6; [0065] & [0085]; Kim).
With respect to Claim 15, Kim discloses a camera module ([0048]; figure 2), comprising:
a substrate (image sensing unit 400; [0048] and with support part 220; [0050]) including an image sensor (image sensor 410; [0051]) disposed on a first surface of the substrate (image sensor 410 disposed on image sensing unit 400 as seen in fig. 3);
a thermoelectric element (500; fig. 3) having a first end electrically connected to an electrode (pattern electrode 310; figure 3; [0045]); and
a lens (lens unit 100; [0030]) disposed foremost from an object side (as seen in fig. 3; [0030-34]) and farthest from the substrate (lens unit 100 farthest away from image sensing unit 400 as seen in fig. 3, portion of lens unit 100 exposed to outside; [0030-34]), among a plurality of lenses (lens unit 100 including a plurality of lenses arranged in optical axis direction; [0032]), and directly in contact with a second end of the thermoelectric element (upper side surface of thermoelectric 500, where lens unit 100 is disposed and in contact with 500; see examiner annotated fig. 3 below; [0034] & [0061]), and
wherein the first end or the second end of the thermoelectric element is configured to absorb or release heat based on a voltage applied through the electrode ([0027-29], [0045], & [0062]), and the first (lower surface of stepped portion/small diameter part 540 of 500, lower surface of the thermoelectric element 500; [0047]; fig. 3) and second ends (upper side surface of 500; [0061]; fig. 3) of the thermoelectric element (500) are spaced apart and oppose each other along an optical center of the first lens (see annotated fig. 3 below; [0030-32]).
Kim does not appear to teach the following limitations wherein an electrode is disposed on a first surface of the substrate, and the electrode is disposed between the first surface of the substrate and the first end of the thermoelectric element.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Shimada teaches a Peltier module integrated with a heat spreader ([0017-99]; fig. 1-7), wherein p-type thermoelectric elements 2 and n-type thermoelectric elements 3 are disposed on a surface of an insulating thin film 9 of metal substrate 7 ([0033]; as seen in fig. 1). Moreover, an electrode 5 is disposed on a surface of an insulating thin film 9 of metal substrate 7, between a surface of an insulating thin film 9 of metal substrate 7 and a bottom surface of p-type thermoelectric elements 2 and n-type thermoelectric elements 3 ([0033]; as seen in fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the camera module of Kim to include the technical features of a thermoelectric element disposed on a substrate and an electrode disposed between a substrate and a thermoelectric element, for the purpose of a producing a Peltier module with a structure in which the electric circuit, formed by the electrodes, the p-type semiconductor element, and the n-type semiconductor element, is interposed in a sandwich manner between two metal substrates with insulating thin films being formed on their surfaces, as taught by Shimada ([0033]).
Kim in view of Shimada does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation wherein the electrode surrounds the image sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kong teaches an image sensor module, camera module including the same and electronic device including the camera module (fig. 1), wherein an electrode 127 is disposed on a substrate 111 and surrounds an image sensor 110 within an image sensor module 100 ([0059-64]; as seen in fig. 1). The electrode 127 is also connected to both a bonding pad 125 and an external terminal 121 ([0069]; fig. 1). Kong further teaches a light receiver 113 arranged on the central portion of the image sensor 110 and surrounded by bonding pads 125 in connection with electrodes 127 ([0073-78]; as seen in fig. 1-2). An entire area of a variable thickness member 130 moves in the same direction by a same distance with respect to the image sensor 110 according to a driving signal applied to electrodes 127 ([0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Kim in view of Shimada to include the technical features of an electrode surrounding a light receiver within an image sensor and applying voltage to a variable thickness element, for the purpose of achieving automatic adjustability of focus within an image sensor and optimal resolution by a distance change between a lens and an image sensor, as taught by Kong ([0084]).
With respect to Claim 16, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 15, wherein the thermoelectric element (500; Kim) is electrically connected to the substrate (image sensing unit 400 and with support part 220; [0042-50]; Kim), and wherein the thermoelectric element (500) is further configured to cool the image sensor (image sensor within image sensor unit; [0048-49], & [0053]; Kim) and to heat the lens (lens unit 100; [0034]; figure 3; Kim) when a voltage of a first polarity is applied to the thermoelectric element ([0027], [0062], & [0083]; figure 1; Kim).
Claims 3, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 20180188636 A1 in view of Shimada et al. US 20020162338 A1 (herein after "Shimada") and Kong US 20090194668 A1 as applied to Claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Hokodate et al. US 6353203 B1 (herein after "Hokodate").
With respect to Claims 3 and 17, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong teaches the camera module of Claim 2.
However, Kim in view of Shimada and Kong does not explicitly teach the following limitation wherein the thermoelectric element is configured to cool the first lens/the lens when a voltage of a second polarity, different from the first polarity, is applied to the thermoelectric element through the electrode.
In a related field of endeavor, Hokodate teaches a laser machining apparatus comprising a lens and temperature controlling unit as a Peltier thermoelectric element (column 7, lines 38- 67; figures 1, 5, & 8), wherein the thermoelectric element (Peltier element 43; column 21, lines 43-48) is configured to cool a lens (converging lens 20) when a voltage of a second polarity, different from the first polarity, is applied to the thermoelectric element through the electrode (i.e., as according to the direction of a power supply column 21, lines 49-54; figure 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the thermoelectric element of the camera module of Kim in view of Shimada and Kong to include technical features of cooling the lens element according to teachings of Hokodate, for the purpose of maintaining the temperature of the lens to prevent shifting of optical elements and changes in ambient temperature within an apparatus, as taught by Hokodate (column 7, lines 38-51).
With respect to Claim 18, Kim in view of Shimada-Kong-Hokodate teaches the camera module of Claim 17, further comprising a second lens (“plurality of lenses” [0032]; Kim) being accommodated in the thermoelectric element (500; [0041]; Kim).
With respect to Claim 19, Kim in view of Shimada-Kong-Hokodate teaches the camera module of Claim 18, wherein the second lens includes a plurality of second lenses (“plurality of lenses” [0032]; figure 2 & 3; Kim).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Tseng et al. TW 200840333 A discloses an image sensor package and imaging device therewith similar to that of the claimed invention. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K MUHAMMAD whose telephone number is (571)272-4210. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 1:00pm - 9:30pm EDT.
/K MUHAMMAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10 February 2026
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872