DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4-7, 11, 14, 15, 18-21, 25, 28-30 have been amended. Claims 33 and 34 have been added. Claim 8 and 31 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 10, 14, 15, 16, 18-21, 24, 28, 29, 30, 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20220394810) in view of Chatterjee et al. (WO2018145074) further in view of Zhang et al.(US20240073932).
Regarding claim 1, 15, 29, 30, Hong teaches A wireless communication device for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories ([0434] “the method according to the present embodiments may be implemented in the form of an apparatus, a procedure, or a function for performing the functions or operations described above. Software code may be stored in a memory unit, and may be driven by the processor. The memory unit may be provided inside or outside the processor, and may exchange data with the processor by any of various well-known means”), configured to:
receive a set of sidelink communications on a sidelink, wherein the set of sidelink communications includes a grant and a plurality of sidelink packets received on a resource identified by the grant (Fig. 16 “3 SCI, PSCCH”, [0248] “The SL transmission UE transmits sidelink control information (SCI) through the PSCCH. The SCI may include one or more information of the SL HARQ information for SL reception UE and PSCCH/PSFCH resource information for the SL reception UE to transmit, to the SL transmission UE, feedback for the SL HARQ transmission indicated through the SCI. The SL transmission UE transmits data (TB) to the SL reception UE through the PSSCH. If the SL reception UE fails to receive data in the corresponding TB, the SL reception UE may transmit acknowledge (NACK) information (HARQ feedback information) therefor to the SL transmission UE, Fig. 11 “PSSCH1-3”, [0143] “when a transmitter UE UE1 transmits three data transmissions to a receiver UE UE2, and then the receiver UE generates HARQ ACK/NACK information in response to the transmissions, this may be bundled and transmitted over a PSCCH. FIG. 10 illustrates that HARQ ACK/NACK is transmitted over the PSCCH”, (Examiner’s Note: SCI is equivalent to the Grant),
and transmit, on the sidelink, and based at least in part on a bundling configuration, at least one feedback message acknowledging the set of sidelink communications (Fig. 11 “HARQ 3bit”, [0143] “when a transmitter UE UE1 transmits three data transmissions to a receiver UE UE2, and then the receiver UE generates HARQ ACK/NACK information in response to the transmissions, this may be bundled and transmitted over a PSCCH. FIG. 10 illustrates that HARQ ACK/NACK is transmitted over the PSCCH”),
the at least one feedback message including a single bundled feedback message corresponding to the plurality of sidelink packets received on the resource scheduled by the grant (Fig. 11 “HARQ 3bit”, [0143] “when a transmitter UE UE1 transmits three data transmissions to a receiver UE UE2, and then the receiver UE generates HARQ ACK/NACK information in response to the transmissions, this may be bundled and transmitted over a PSCCH. FIG. 10 illustrates that HARQ ACK/NACK is transmitted over the PSCCH”),
Hong does not explicly teach wherein the grant comprises a multi-stage grant, or a multi-packet grant,
wherein the plurality of sidelink packets comprises a first packet that is to be decoded and one or more second packets identifiying a resource for the first packet;
wherein the single bundled feedback message is a single acknowledgement message or a single negative acknowledgement message.
Chatterjee teaches
wherein the single bundled feedback message is a single acknowledgement message or a single negative acknowledgement message([0107] “In one example, the UE 401 includes an ACK in the HARQ feedback only if the number of decoded downlink grants/subframes/TBs corresponds to the bundle equals a number of TBs in Bundle field, which can be provided in the bundling configuration. Otherwise, the UE 401 can send a NACK for the bundle”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate Chatterjee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improves the efficiency of the system by minimizing interruption.
Chatterjee does not teach wherein the grant comprises a multi-stage grant, or a multi-packet grant,
wherein the plurality of sidelink packets comprises a first packet that is to be decoded and one or more second packets identifiying a resource for the first packet.
Zhang teaches wherein the grant comprises a multi-stage grant, or a multi-packet grant ([0143] “At a first instance 710, CUEi performs a transmission in a configured grant transmission resource (that may have been configured as described above with reference to FIG. 6 ) and with a configured redundant signal version (Ri 1) having a particular modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for a 1st data transmission. The transmission may be transmitted via unicast, broadcast or group-cast depending on the CUE-TUE configuration relationship types as described in FIG. 5A, 5B, 5C or 5D. The particular format or transmission mode (e.g., group-cast) can be predefined, pre-configured or configured by configured grant transmission. A HARQ ID of the transmission can be determined implicitly by the TUE based on the configured transmission resources used for the transmission (e.g., time or/and frequency domain resources). For a first redundant transmission of the packet 712, CUEi will perform transmission in the configured grant transmission resource and with configured redundant signal version (Ri 2) and with a particular MCS for the 2nd data transmission. The transmission can be transmitted via unicast, broadcast or group-cast, which can be predefined, pre-configured or GF configured”),
wherein the plurality of sidelink packets comprises a first packet that is to be decoded and one or more second packets identifiying a resource for the first packet ([0133] “Then when the gNB 510 forwards packets by group-cast or broadcast intended for TUE5 or TUE6 on the Uu link, CUE1, CUE2, CUE3 and CUE4 receive the packets and whichever of the CUEs is able to correctly decode the packets forwards the packets to TUE5 or TUE6 on the SL link”, [0042] “receiving, by the TUE, configuration information including: an indication of resources for a sidelink (SL) transmission and a redundancy parameter for the SL transmission, the SL transmission for the at least one CUE to forward a packet intended for the TUE; receiving, by the TUE, the packet intended for the TUE, the packet including: for up to a maximum number of configured repetitions N, n=1 to N, an nth signal version having a respective modulation and coding scheme (MCS); and decoding, by the TUE, the packet using one or more received repetitions of the packet from one or more CUEs”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hong, Chatterjee to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improves cooperation between UE and minimize interference.
Regarding claim 2, 16, Hong teaches wherein the one or more processors ([0434] “the method according to the present embodiments may be implemented in the form of an apparatus, a procedure, or a function for performing the functions or operations described above. Software code may be stored in a memory unit, and may be driven by the processor. The memory unit may be provided inside or outside the processor, and may exchange data with the processor by any of various well-known means”), to receive the set of sidelink communications (Fig. 32 “3213” “Receiver UE”, Fig. 30A “3003”, [0270] “In 3002 , the transmitter UE also transmits data in PSSCH as indicated in the SA . A receiver UE can receive the SA from PSCCH resource m at slott and then decode the SCI in 3003, [0203] “with some sidelink resource grants and then the UE can use those configured sidelink grants for sidelink transmission . In one embodiment , a UE can be first configured with a set of sidelink resources , including the slot locations”), are configured to:
Hong and Chatterjee does not explictly teach receive a first stage of the multi-stage grant from a first wireless node, and receive a second stage of the multi-stage grant from a second wireless node.
Zhang teaches receive a first stage of the multi-stage grant from a first wireless node ([0143] “At a first instance 710, CUEi performs a transmission in a configured grant transmission resource (that may have been configured as described above with reference to FIG. 6 ) and with a configured redundant signal version (Ri 1) having a particular modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for a 1st data transmission. The transmission may be transmitted via unicast, broadcast or group-cast depending on the CUE-TUE configuration relationship types as described in FIG. 5A, 5B, 5C or 5D. The particular format or transmission mode (e.g., group-cast) can be predefined, pre-configured or configured by configured grant transmission. A HARQ ID of the transmission can be determined implicitly by the TUE based on the configured transmission resources used for the transmission (e.g., time or/and frequency domain resources). For a first redundant transmission of the packet 712, CUEi will perform transmission in the configured grant transmission resource and with configured redundant signal version (Ri 2) and with a particular MCS for the 2nd data transmission. The transmission can be transmitted via unicast, broadcast or group-cast, which can be predefined, pre-configured or GF configured”); and receive a second stage of the multi-stage grant from a second wireless node ([0133] “Then when the gNB 510 forwards packets by group-cast or broadcast intended for TUE5 or TUE6 on the Uu link, CUE1, CUE2, CUE3 and CUE4 receive the packets and whichever of the CUEs is able to correctly decode the packets forwards the packets to TUE5 or TUE6 on the SL link … The packets received at the TUEs from the CUEs can be from a single CUE or combined from multiple CUEs as appropriate”,
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hong, Chatterjee to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improves cooperation between UE and minimize interference.
Regarding claim 4, 18, Hong teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the at least one feedback message, are configured to: transmit a plurality of feedback messages based at least in part on the plurality of sidelink packets ([0248-250] “The SL transmission UE transmits sidelink control information (SCI) through the PSCCH. The SCI may include one or more information of the SL HARQ information for SL reception UE and PSCCH/PSFCH resource information for the SL reception UE to transmit, to the SL transmission UE, feedback for the SL HARQ transmission indicated through the SCI. The SL transmission UE transmits data (TB) to the SL reception UE through the PSSCH. If the SL reception UE fails to receive data in the corresponding TB, the SL reception UE may transmit acknowledge (NACK) information (HARQ feedback information) therefor to the SL transmission UE.
…The transmission UE transmits SCI through the PSCCH. The SL transmission UE transmits data (TB) to the SL reception UE through the PSSCH. If the SL reception UE succeeds in receiving data in the TB, the SL reception UE may transmit acknowledge (ACK) information thereabout to the SL transmission UE. The SL transmission UE transmits a ACK to the base station”), .
Regarding claims 5, 19, Hon teaches wherein the single bundled feedback message corresponds to a plurality of sidelink packets(Fig. 11 “HARQ 3bit”, [0143] “when a transmitter UE UE1 transmits three data transmissions to a receiver UE UE2, and then the receiver UE generates HARQ ACK/NACK information in response to the transmissions, this may be bundled and transmitted over a PSCCH. FIG. 10 illustrates that HARQ ACK/NACK is transmitted over the PSCCH”).
Regarding claim 6, 20, Hong teaches wherein the single bundled feedback message indicates whether the plurality of sidelink packets is successfully decoded (Fig. 11 “HARQ 3bit”, [0143] “when a transmitter UE UE1 transmits three data transmissions to a receiver UE UE2, and then the receiver UE generates HARQ ACK/NACK information in response to the transmissions, this may be bundled and transmitted over a PSCCH. FIG. 10 illustrates that HARQ ACK/NACK is transmitted over the PSCCH”).
Regarding claim 7, 21, Hong, Chatterjee does not teach wherein the plurality of sidelink packets is associated with a common stage of the multi-stage grant.
Zhang teaches wherein the plurality of sidelink packets is associated with a common stage of the multi-stage grant ([0133] “Then when the gNB 510 forwards packets by group-cast or broadcast intended for TUE5 or TUE6 on the Uu link, CUE1, CUE2, CUE3 and CUE4 receive the packets and whichever of the CUEs is able to correctly decode the packets forwards the packets to TUE5 or TUE6 on the SL link”, [0042] “receiving, by the TUE, configuration information including: an indication of resources for a sidelink (SL) transmission and a redundancy parameter for the SL transmission, the SL transmission for the at least one CUE to forward a packet intended for the TUE; receiving, by the TUE, the packet intended for the TUE, the packet including: for up to a maximum number of configured repetitions N, n=1 to N, an nth signal version having a respective modulation and coding scheme (MCS); and decoding, by the TUE, the packet using one or more received repetitions of the packet from one or more CUEs”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hong, Chatterjee to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improves cooperation between UE and minimize interference.
Regarding claim 10, 24, Hong does not teach wherein a feedback codebook for the single bundled feedback message is dynamic based at least in part on a quantity of present packets.
Chatterjee teaches wherein a feedback codebook for the single bundled feedback message is dynamic based at least in part on a quantity of present packets ([0145] “With reference to FIGs. 4 and 5, some examples of statically and/or dynamically configuring HARQ-ACK bundling pattern(s) are provided,[0150] “For SD Alt 3, the size of the bundling configuration can depend on the number of bundles + a size of each bundle”, [0156] “ It is noted that the bundling configuration here describes the HARQ-ACK feedbacks for which set of PDSCH transmissions need be bundled, if these PDSCH subframes are transmitted. It may or may not imply how many PDSCH subframes are actually transmitted, ”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate Chatterjee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improves the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claims 9, Hong, does not teach wherein a feedback codebook for the single bundled feedback message is semi-static.
Chatterjee teaches wherein a feedback codebook for the single bundled feedback message is semi-static([0145] “With reference to FIGs. 4 and 5, some examples of statically and/or dynamically configuring HARQ-ACK bundling pattern(s) are provided”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate Chatterjee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improves the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 14, 28, Hong teaches wherein the at set of sidelink communications includes the plurality of sidelink packets, wherein the plurality of sidelink packets correspond to one or more relaying communications associated with relaying sidelink packets received from a first wireless node (Fig. 16 “3 SCI, PSCCH”, [0248] “The SL transmission UE transmits sidelink control information (SCI) through the PSCCH. The SCI may include one or more information of the SL HARQ information for SL reception UE and PSCCH/PSFCH resource information for the SL reception UE to transmit, to the SL transmission UE, feedback for the SL HARQ transmission indicated through the SCI. The SL transmission UE transmits data (TB) to the SL reception UE through the PSSCH. If the SL reception UE fails to receive data in the corresponding TB, the SL reception UE may transmit acknowledge (NACK) information (HARQ feedback information) therefor to the SL transmission UE, Fig. 11 “PSSCH1-3”, [0143] “when a transmitter UE UE1 transmits three data transmissions to a receiver UE UE2, and then the receiver UE generates HARQ ACK/NACK information in response to the transmissions, this may be bundled and transmitted over a PSCCH. FIG. 10 illustrates that HARQ ACK/NACK is transmitted over the PSCCH”, (Examiner’s Note: SCI is equivalent to the Grant);
and wherein the at least one feedback message includes at least one of: an acknowledgement of receipt of the one or more relaying communications (Fig. 11 “HARQ 3bit”, [0143] “when a transmitter UE UE1 transmits three data transmissions to a receiver UE UE2, and then the receiver UE generates HARQ ACK/NACK information in response to the transmissions, this may be bundled and transmitted over a PSCCH. FIG. 10 illustrates that HARQ ACK/NACK is transmitted over the PSCCH”), an acknowledgement of successful relaying of the one or more relaying communications to a second wireless node, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 32, Hong does not teach further comprising: communicating a sidelink assignment index comprising an indication of a quantity of packets being acknowledged.
Chatterjee teaches communicating a sidelink assignment index comprising an indication of a quantity of packets being acknowledged([0107] “In one example, the UE 401 includes an ACK in the HARQ feedback only if the number of decoded downlink grants/subframes/TBs corresponds to the bundle equals a number of TBs in Bundle field, which can be provided in the bundling configuration. Otherwise, the UE 401 can send a NACK for the bundle”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate Chatterjee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improves the efficiency of the system by minimizing interruption.
Regarding claim 33, 34, Hong, Chatterjee does not teach wherein the multi-stage grant comprises more than two stages.
Zhang teaches wherein the multi-stage grant comprises more than two stages ([0133] “Then when the gNB 510 forwards packets by group-cast or broadcast intended for TUE5 or TUE6 on the Uu link, CUE1, CUE2, CUE3 and CUE4 receive the packets and whichever of the CUEs is able to correctly decode the packets forwards the packets to TUE5 or TUE6 on the SL link … The packets received at the TUEs from the CUEs can be from a single CUE or combined from multiple CUEs as appropriate”.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hong, Chatterjee to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improves cooperation between UE and minimize interference.
Claim(s) 3, 11,17, 25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Chatterjee, Zhang further in view of Panteleev et al.(US 20180206176).
Regarding claim 3, 17, Hong teaches wherein the one or more processors to transmit the at least one feedback message(Fig. 11 “HARQ 3bit”, [0143] “when a transmitter UE UE1 transmits three data transmissions to a receiver UE UE2, and then the receiver UE generates HARQ ACK/NACK information in response to the transmissions, this may be bundled and transmitted over a PSCCH. FIG. 10 illustrates that HARQ ACK/NACK is transmitted over the PSCCH”),
Hong, Chatterjee, Zhang does not explicitly teach are configured to: transmit a first feedback message to a first wireless node;
and transmit a second feedback message to a second wireless node.
However, Panteleev teaches are configured to: transmit a first feedback message to a first wireless node; and transmit a second feedback message to a second wireless node ([0154] “According to the arrangements of FIG . 76 - 7d the HARQ ACKNACK may be sent to both eNB 102 and Relay UE 104”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hong, Chatterjee, Zhang to incorporate Panteleev. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claims 11, 25, Hong, Chatterjee, Zhang does not teach wherein a configuration of the single bundled feedback message is based at least in part on at least one of: a quantity of hops in a multi-hop communication, a quantity of alternate routes for the multi-hop communication, a quantity of sources for the plurality of sidelink packets, or a combination thereof.
However, Panteleev teaches wherein a configuration of the single bundled feedback message is based at least in part on at least one of: a quantity of hops in a multi-hop communication, a quantity of alternate routes for the multi-hop communication, a quantity of sources for the plurality of sidelink packets, or a combination thereof ([0153] “FIG . 7a illustrates a communication path by which HARQ ACK / NACKs may be sent to the eNB 102 by the remote UE 106 . According to the arrangement of FIG . 7a the HARQ ACK / NACK may be sent to eNB 708 ( Reported by Remote UE directly to eNB 102 in PUSCH / PUCCH ) . This option may be possible when the Relay UE 104 does not do any data reordering , segmentation and multiplexing and just repeats the received data in the SL . In case of NACK , the data may be resent on both hops 702 , 704”, [0154] “FIG . 75 - 7d illustrates further communication paths by which HARQ ACK / NACKs may be sent to the eNB 102 by the remote UE 106 . According to the arrangements of FIG . 76 - 7d the HARQ ACKNACK may be sent to both eNB 102 and Relay UE 104 . According to some embodi ments , this may be achieved in a number of different ways”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hong, Chatterjee, Zhang to incorporate Panteleev. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Claim(s) 12,13, 26, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Chatterjee, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Baldemair et al (US 20200228257).
Regarding claim 12, 26, Hong, Chatterjee, Zhang does not teach wherein a quantity of the at least one feedback message is indicated via a first stage of the multi-stage grant.
Baldemair teaches wherein a quantity of the at least one feedback message is indicated via a first stage of the multi-stage grant ([0071] “where a UE is scheduled in subsequent slots with SL transmissions . Due to lack of PUCCH or PSSCH opportu nities ( e.g. no UL or SL opportunities ) , HARQ feedback for all shown transmissions is requested in slot n + 3 . In particu lar , FIG . 2 shows a scenario in which a device ( UE ) is scheduled multiple times ( for downlink data ) and should send HARQ feedback for all transmissions in slot n + 3”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hong, Chatterjee, Zhang to incorporate Baldemair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the performance of the system.
Regarding claim 13, 27, Hong, Chatterjee does not explicitly teach wherein bits of the at least one feedback message are jointly encoded using a common codebook or separately encoded using separate sidelink feedback channel resources.
Baldemair teaches wherein bits of the at least one feedback message are jointly encoded using a common codebook ([0073] “The PUCCH / PSCCH format ( as example of a signaling format ) must be capable to carry multiple bits in different substructures . Accordingly , HARQ feedback of multiple SL transmissions is transmitted on a single PUCCH / PSCCH transmission / message , respectively is jointly encoded / modulated ( PUCCH / PSSCH is com pletely transmitted in slot n + 3 )”) or separately encoded using separate sidelink feedback channel resources.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hong, Chatterjee to incorporate Baldemair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the performance of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument
Applicant states HONG and CHATTERJEE do not disclose at least "receiving a set of sidelink communications on a sidelink, wherein the set of sidelink communications includes a grant and a plurality of sidelink packets received on a resource identified by the grant, wherein the grant comprises a multi-stage grant or a multi- packet grant, wherein the plurality of sidelink packets comprises a first packet that is to be decoded and one or more second packets identifying a resource for the first packet," as recited in amended claim 1. Independent claim 1 has been amended to incorporate features of previously presented dependent claim 8.
Examiner’s Response
See updated rejection new reference Zhang was added to teach the newly amended claims. The combination of Hong in view of Chatterjee further in view of Zhang teaches receiving a set of sidelink communications on a sidelink, wherein the set of sidelink communications includes a grant and a plurality of sidelink packets received on a resource identified by the grant, wherein the grant comprises a multi-stage grant or a multi- packet grant, wherein the plurality of sidelink packets comprises a first packet that is to be decoded and one or more second packets identifying a resource for the first packet.
More specifically, Zhang is relied upon to show wherein the grant comprises a multi-stage grant or a multi- packet grant, wherein the plurality of sidelink packets comprises a first packet that is to be decoded and one or more second packets identifying a resource for the first packet in [042], [0133], [0143].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.T.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411