Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 12-14, 18,19, 22, 25, 27,28, 30is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan et al. (U.S. 2019/0200212 A1) in view of Damnjanovic et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0285775 A1)
1, Quan teaches a method for processing terminal device capability information, performed by a terminal device and comprising: receiving a second message transmitted by a network-side device [par 0004, In RRC information that needs to be processed by the PDCP layer, an important type of information is UE capability information. The UE capability information refers to a radio access capability that the UE has and a wireless function feature that can be supported by the UE. The UE capability information is used to provide reference for a network side device to perform wireless configuration on the UE. When the network side device needs to obtain the UE capability information, the network side device sends a UE capability request (also called UE Capability Enquiry) message to UE in a connected state],
wherein the second message comprises second information, the second information is used to indicate, to the terminal device, a reporting manner of reporting-al capability information of the terminal device in a radio resource control (RRC) message segmentation manner [par 0062, Optionally, when a network side device needs the UE capability information, the network side device sends a first request message to UE which is in connected mode and connected to the network side device, where the first request message is also referred to as a UE Capability Enquiry message or an RRC message. The first request message may be a system broadcast message, or may be a dedicated RRC message. The first request message is used to notify the UE of UE capability information that needs to be selected for reporting]
and the RRC message segmentation manner is to divide the capability information into a plurality of segments and transmit each segmented capability information by using one PDCP SDU [par 0025, 0037, According to the UE provided in this aspect, a function of determining and segmenting the size of the UE capability information by an RRC layer of the UE and a mechanism of reporting for a plurality of times when the UE capability information is excessively large are added, so as to avoid affecting a reporting process of the UE capability information when a data packet transmitted to the PDCP layer exceeds the maximum tolerance];
transmitting a first message to the network-side device when a size of the capability information of the terminal device is greater than a maximum size of a packet data aggregation protocol PDCP service data unit SDU [par 0016, 0063, 0064, the reporting at least one piece of split part UE capability information to a network side device includes: receiving and buffering, by an RLC layer of the UE, all the split part UE capability information in a data packet form; segmenting and concatenating data packets of all the part UE capability information to form to-be-transmitted data packets; and reporting the to-be-transmitted data packets to the network side device by using an RRC message. In this implementation of this aspect, the UE side combines all the part UE capability information processed by the PDCP layer, and then reports all the part UE capability information to a base station/the network side device at a time. Determine whether a size of the UE capability information exceeds a maximum tolerance that can be processed by a PDCP layer of the UE. Generally, a maximum tolerance of data packets that can be processed by the PDCP layer of the UE is 8188 octets, that is, a maximum PDCP SDU is 8188 octets. In step S302, the UE determines whether the UE capability information generated by the UE exceeds 8188 octets],
wherein the first message comprises first information and a segment of the capability information of the terminal device, and the first information comprises information used for indicating that the terminal device has remaining capability information that has not been reported [par 0070, Optionally, the first RRC message further includes indication information. The indication information is used to indicate to or notify the base station/the network side device whether there is remaining part UE capability information that needs to be reported, and/or how many pieces of part UE capability information remain, and/or which part UE capability information remains, and/or how many parts the UE capability information is split and which part is currently reported, or of a proportion of the currently reported first part UE capability information in total UE capability information, or the like];
wherein the capability information of the terminal device is transmitted by using at least one PDCP SDU based on the second information [par 0063, 0064, 0066, Generally, a maximum tolerance of data packets that can be processed by the PDCP layer of the UE is 8188 octets, that is, a maximum PDCP SDU is 8188 octets. In step S302, the UE determines whether the UE capability information generated by the UE exceeds 8188 octets. Octet is a computer term and means that an octet is used in an Internet standard. In a binary digital concept, 1 byte is 8 bits. Specifically, if it is determined that the UE capability information exceeds 8188 octets, the UE capability information is split according to a radio access technology (RAT) system division principle, or split according to UE capability importance, or split according to a UE capability reporting priority, or split according to a protocol version sequence principle, or split according to a principle of a smallest quantity of times of reporting to the network side device],
wherein capability information carried by any one of the at least one PDCP SDU is partial capability information of the terminal device [par 0015,0064, 0065, the splitting the UE capability information into at least two pieces of part UE capability information includes: splitting, by an RRC layer or the PDCP layer of the UE, the UE capability information into at least two parts. Step S303: If the size of the UE capability information exceeds the maximum tolerance that can be processed by the PDCP layer of the UE, split the UE capability information into at least two pieces of part UE capability information, where each piece of split part UE capability information does not exceed the maximum tolerance that can be processed by the PDCP layer].
Quan fail to show wherein the second message further carries capability request information; wherein the second message further carries a RRC message segmentation configuration parameter, and the RRC message segmentation configuration parameter comprises a segment number and a segment length.
In an analogous art Damnjanovic show wherein the second message further carries capability request information; wherein the second message further carries a RRC message segmentation configuration parameter [par 0086, 0087, 0094, The receiver 705 may also receive signaling information, such as RRC configuration information, that may configure a format of BSR that the UE 115-c is to generate and transmit. BSR reporting may provide enhanced scheduling flexibility to a base station, as allocations may be made for certain, or all, BSR segments while maintaining the ability for the UE to transmit integer numbers of packets. In some examples, a segmented BSR may include information about packet sizes and a number of packets for each BSR segment. In other examples, different BSR segments may be configured that correspond to packet size bins, and a UE may report the number of packets to be transmitted that fall into each bin. The network may configure how such a segmented BSR is reported by the UE. For example, a number of parameters may be specified to be reported by a UE. Such a configuration may be signaled to the UE, for example, in RRC configuration information, such that the parameters to be reported may be semi-statically set by the base station],
and the RRC message segmentation configuration parameter comprises a segment number and a segment length [par 0094,0095, 0100, 0101, a BSR that identifies the segmented parts and a size for each part. The receiver 705 may also receive signaling information, such as RRC configuration information, that may configure a format of BSR that the UE 115-c is to generate and transmit. For example, data segmentation module 810 may determine a number of PDCP packets associated with the data, and may determine PDCP packet sizes for the data, as described above with reference to FIGS. 2-6. In some examples, the data segmentation module 810 may determine a number of PDCP packets associated with one or more segments of data, along with a size of the PDCP packets. The BSR generation module 815 may segment the BSR corresponding to a number of PDCP packets, and generate an indication of a number of bits for each segment corresponding to the PDCP packet size].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Quan and Damnjanovic because this may provide for transmission of integer numbers of data packets and thus reduce or eliminate the need for segmentation, and associated reassembly, at the RLC layer. [Damnjanovic par 0050]
6. Quan and Damnjanovic provides the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message is a connection configuration complete message; or the first message is a message that is transmitted in response to capability request information transmitted by the network-side device; or the first message is an auxiliary message transmitted by the terminal device to the network-side device [Quan, par 016, 0071, In this implementation of this aspect, the UE side combines all the part UE capability information processed by the PDCP layer, and then reports all the part UE capability information to a base station/the network side device at a time. Because the UE capability information needs to be reported only once, frequent signaling exchanging with a network due to a plurality of times of reporting is avoided, and network overheads are reduced].
7. Quan and Damnjanovic disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information further comprises at least one of the following: the size of the capability information of the terminal device; information used for indicating that the terminal device supports radio resource control RRC message segmentation [par 0016, RLC layer of the UE, all the split part UE capability information in a data packet form; segmenting and concatenating data packets of all the part UE capability information to form to-be-transmitted data packets; and reporting the to-be-transmitted data packets to the network side device by using an RRC message];
or a size of the remaining capability information, wherein the remaining capability information is capability information other than the reported capability information in the capability information of the terminal device [Quan par 0018, if the UE has the remaining part UE capability information or the UE is further required to report the part UE capability information, generating and sending a second request message to the UE; or if the UE does not have the remaining part UE capability information or the UE is not required to report the part UE capability information].
8. Quan demonstrate a method for processing terminal device capability information, performed by a network-side device and comprising: receiving a first message transmitted by a terminal device, wherein the first message comprises first information and a segment of the capability information of the terminal device [par 0016, 0063, 0064, the reporting at least one piece of split part UE capability information to a network side device includes: receiving and buffering, by an RLC layer of the UE, all the split part UE capability information in a data packet form; segmenting and concatenating data packets of all the part UE capability information to form to-be-transmitted data packets; and reporting the to-be-transmitted data packets to the network side device by using an RRC message. In this implementation of this aspect, the UE side combines all the part UE capability information processed by the PDCP layer, and then reports all the part UE capability information to a base station/the network side device at a time. Determine whether a size of the UE capability information exceeds a maximum tolerance that can be processed by a PDCP layer of the UE. Generally, a maximum tolerance of data packets that can be processed by the PDCP layer of the UE is 8188 octets, that is, a maximum PDCP SDU is 8188 octets. In step S302, the UE determines whether the UE capability information generated by the UE exceeds 8188 octets],
and the first information comprises information used for indicating that the terminal device has remaining capability information that has not been reported [par 0016, 0018, the UE side combines all the part UE capability information processed by the PDCP layer, and then reports all the part UE capability information to a base station/the network side device at a time. Because the UE capability information needs to be reported only once, frequent signaling exchanging with a network due to a plurality of times of reporting is avoided, and network overheads are reduced];
wherein capability information carried by any one of the at least one PDCP SDU is partial capability information of the terminal device[par 0015,0064, 0065, the splitting the UE capability information into at least two pieces of part UE capability information includes: splitting, by an RRC layer or the PDCP layer of the UE, the UE capability information into at least two parts. Step S303: If the size of the UE capability information exceeds the maximum tolerance that can be processed by the PDCP layer of the UE, split the UE capability information into at least two pieces of part UE capability information, where each piece of split part UE capability information does not exceed the maximum tolerance that can be processed by the PDCP layer],
before the receiving capability information of the terminal device that is transmitted by the terminal device by using at least one PDCP SDU based on a reporting manner [par 0064, Generally, a maximum tolerance of data packets that can be processed by the PDCP layer of the UE is 8188 octets, that is, a maximum PDCP SDU is 8188 octets. In step S302, the UE determines whether the UE capability information generated by the UE exceeds 8188 octets. Octet is a computer term and means that an octet is used in an Internet standard. In a binary digital concept, 1 byte is 8 bits]
the method further comprises: transmitting a second message to the terminal device, wherein the second message comprises second information[par 0004, In RRC information that needs to be processed by the PDCP layer, an important type of information is UE capability information. The UE capability information refers to a radio access capability that the UE has and a wireless function feature that can be supported by the UE. The UE capability information is used to provide reference for a network side device to perform wireless configuration on the UE. When the network side device needs to obtain the UE capability information, the network side device sends a UE capability request (also called UE Capability Enquiry) message to UE in a connected state],
the second information is used to indicate, to the terminal device, the reporting manner of reporting capability information of the terminal device in a radio resource control (RRC) message segmentation manner[par 0025, 0037, According to the UE provided in this aspect, a function of determining and segmenting the size of the UE capability information by an RRC layer of the UE and a mechanism of reporting for a plurality of times when the UE capability information is excessively large are added, so as to avoid affecting a reporting process of the UE capability information when a data packet transmitted to the PDCP layer exceeds the maximum tolerance];
and the RRC message segmentation manner is to divide the capability information into a plurality of segments and transmit each segmented capability information by using one PDCP SDU par 0016, 0063, 0064, the reporting at least one piece of split part UE capability information to a network side device includes: receiving and buffering, by an RLC layer of the UE, all the split part UE capability information in a data packet form; segmenting and concatenating data packets of all the part UE capability information to form to-be-transmitted data packets; and reporting the to-be-transmitted data packets to the network side device by using an RRC message. In this implementation of this aspect, the UE side combines all the part UE capability information processed by the PDCP layer, and then reports all the part UE capability information to a base station/the network side device at a time. Determine whether a size of the UE capability information exceeds a maximum tolerance that can be processed by a PDCP layer of the UE. Generally, a maximum tolerance of data packets that can be processed by the PDCP layer of the UE is 8188 octets, that is, a maximum PDCP SDU is 8188 octets. In step S302, the UE determines whether the UE capability information generated by the UE exceeds 8188 octets].
Quan fail to show wherein the second message further carries capability request information; wherein the second message further carries a RRC message segmentation configuration parameter, and the RRC message segmentation configuration parameter comprises a segment number and a segment length.
In an analogous art Damnjanovic show wherein the second message further carries capability request information; wherein the second message further carries a RRC message segmentation configuration parameter [par 0086, 0087, BSR reporting may provide enhanced scheduling flexibility to a base station, as allocations may be made for certain, or all, BSR segments while maintaining the ability for the UE to transmit integer numbers of packets. In some examples, a segmented BSR may include information about packet sizes and a number of packets for each BSR segment. In other examples, different BSR segments may be configured that correspond to packet size bins, and a UE may report the number of packets to be transmitted that fall into each bin. The network may configure how such a segmented BSR is reported by the UE. For example, a number of parameters may be specified to be reported by a UE. Such a configuration may be signaled to the UE, for example, in RRC configuration information, such that the parameters to be reported may be semi-statically set by the base station],
and the RRC message segmentation configuration parameter comprises a segment number and a segment length [par 0094,0095, 0100, 0101, a BSR that identifies the segmented parts and a size for each part. The receiver 705 may also receive signaling information, such as RRC configuration information, that may configure a format of BSR that the UE 115-c is to generate and transmit. For example, data segmentation module 810 may determine a number of PDCP packets associated with the data, and may determine PDCP packet sizes for the data, as described above with reference to FIGS. 2-6. In some examples, the data segmentation module 810 may determine a number of PDCP packets associated with one or more segments of data, along with a size of the PDCP packets. The BSR generation module 815 may segment the BSR corresponding to a number of PDCP packets, and generate an indication of a number of bits for each segment corresponding to the PDCP packet size].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Quan and Damnjanovic because this may provide for transmission of integer numbers of data packets and thus reduce or eliminate the need for segmentation, and associated reassembly, at the RLC layer. [Damnjanovic par 0050]
12. Quan and Damnjanovic convey the method according to claim 8, wherein before the receiving a first message transmitted by a terminal device, the method further comprises: transmitting capability request information to the terminal device, wherein
the first message is a message transmitted in response to the capability request information[Quan, par 016, 0071, In this implementation of this aspect, the UE side combines all the part UE capability information processed by the PDCP layer, and then reports all the part UE capability information to a base station/the network side device at a time. Because the UE capability information needs to be reported only once, frequent signaling exchanging with a network due to a plurality of times of reporting is avoided, and network overheads are reduced].
13. Quan and Damnjanovic provide the method according to claim 8, wherein the first information further comprises at least one of the following: the size of the capability information of the terminal device; information used for indicating that the terminal device supports radio resource control RRC message segmentation; or a size of the remaining capability information, wherein the remaining capability information is capability information other than the reported capability information in the capability information of the terminal device [Quan par 0016, RLC layer of the UE, all the split part UE capability information in a data packet form; segmenting and concatenating data packets of all the part UE capability information to form to-be-transmitted data packets; and reporting the to-be-transmitted data packets to the network side device by using an RRC message];
14, Qi demonstrate a terminal device, comprising: a processor, a memory, and a
program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor[par 0138, These computer program instructions may be provided for a general-purpose computer, a dedicated computer, an embedded processor, or a processor of any other programmable data processing device to generate a machine, so that the instructions executed by a computer or a processor of any other programmable data processing device generate an apparatus for implementing a specific function in one or more processes in the flowcharts and/or in one or more blocks in the block diagrams],
wherein the program is executed by the processor to perform the steps of:
receiving a second message transmitted by a network-side device[par 0004, In RRC information that needs to be processed by the PDCP layer, an important type of information is UE capability information. The UE capability information refers to a radio access capability that the UE has and a wireless function feature that can be supported by the UE. The UE capability information is used to provide reference for a network side device to perform wireless configuration on the UE. When the network side device needs to obtain the UE capability information, the network side device sends a UE capability request (also called UE Capability Enquiry) message to UE in a connected state],
wherein the second message comprises second information, the second information is used to indicate, to the terminal device, a reporting manner of reporting capability information of the terminal device in a radio resource control (RRC) message segmentation manner[par 0062, Optionally, when a network side device needs the UE capability information, the network side device sends a first request message to UE which is in connected mode and connected to the network side device, where the first request message is also referred to as a UE Capability Enquiry message or an RRC message. The first request message may be a system broadcast message, or may be a dedicated RRC message. The first request message is used to notify the UE of UE capability information that needs to be selected for reporting];
and the RRC message segmentation manner is to divide the capability information into a plurality of segments and transmit each segmented capability information by using one PDCP SDU[par 0025, 0037, According to the UE provided in this aspect, a function of determining and segmenting the size of the UE capability information by an RRC layer of the UE and a mechanism of reporting for a plurality of times when the UE capability information is excessively large are added, so as to avoid affecting a reporting process of the UE capability information when a data packet transmitted to the PDCP layer exceeds the maximum tolerance];
transmitting a first message to the network-side device when a size of the capability information of the terminal device is greater than a maximum size of a packet data aggregation protocol PDCP service data unit SDU[par 0016, 0063, 0064, the reporting at least one piece of split part UE capability information to a network side device includes: receiving and buffering, by an RLC layer of the UE, all the split part UE capability information in a data packet form; segmenting and concatenating data packets of all the part UE capability information to form to-be-transmitted data packets; and reporting the to-be-transmitted data packets to the network side device by using an RRC message. In this implementation of this aspect, the UE side combines all the part UE capability information processed by the PDCP layer, and then reports all the part UE capability information to a base station/the network side device at a time. Determine whether a size of the UE capability information exceeds a maximum tolerance that can be processed by a PDCP layer of the UE. Generally, a maximum tolerance of data packets that can be processed by the PDCP layer of the UE is 8188 octets, that is, a maximum PDCP SDU is 8188 octets. In step S302, the UE determines whether the UE capability information generated by the UE exceeds 8188 octets],
wherein the first message comprises first information and a segment of the capability information of the terminal device, and the first information comprises information used for indicating that the terminal device has remaining capability information that has not been reported[par 0070, Optionally, the first RRC message further includes indication information. The indication information is used to indicate to or notify the base station/the network side device whether there is remaining part UE capability information that needs to be reported, and/or how many pieces of part UE capability information remain, and/or which part UE capability information remains, and/or how many parts the UE capability information is split and which part is currently reported, or of a proportion of the currently reported first part UE capability information in total UE capability information, or the like];
the capability information of the terminal device is transmitted by using at least one PDCP SDU based on the second information[par 0063, 0064, 0066, Generally, a maximum tolerance of data packets that can be processed by the PDCP layer of the UE is 8188 octets, that is, a maximum PDCP SDU is 8188 octets. In step S302, the UE determines whether the UE capability information generated by the UE exceeds 8188 octets. Octet is a computer term and means that an octet is used in an Internet standard. In a binary digital concept, 1 byte is 8 bits. Specifically, if it is determined that the UE capability information exceeds 8188 octets, the UE capability information is split according to a radio access technology (RAT) system division principle, or split according to UE capability importance, or split according to a UE capability reporting priority, or split according to a protocol version sequence principle, or split according to a principle of a smallest quantity of times of reporting to the network side device],
wherein capability information carried by any one of the at least one PDCP SDU is partial capability information of the terminal device [par 0015,0064, 0065, the splitting the UE capability information into at least two pieces of part UE capability information includes: splitting, by an RRC layer or the PDCP layer of the UE, the UE capability information into at least two parts. Step S303: If the size of the UE capability information exceeds the maximum tolerance that can be processed by the PDCP layer of the UE, split the UE capability information into at least two pieces of part UE capability information, where each piece of split part UE capability information does not exceed the maximum tolerance that can be processed by the PDCP layer].
Quan fail to show wherein the second message further carries capability request information; wherein the second message further carries a RRC message segmentation configuration parameter, and the RRC message segmentation configuration parameter comprises a segment number and a segment length.
In an analogous art Damnjanovic show wherein the second message further carries capability request information; wherein the second message further carries a RRC message segmentation configuration parameter [par 0086, 0087, BSR reporting may provide enhanced scheduling flexibility to a base station, as allocations may be made for certain, or all, BSR segments while maintaining the ability for the UE to transmit integer numbers of packets. In some examples, a segmented BSR may include information about packet sizes and a number of packets for each BSR segment. In other examples, different BSR segments may be configured that correspond to packet size bins, and a UE may report the number of packets to be transmitted that fall into each bin. The network may configure how such a segmented BSR is reported by the UE. For example, a number of parameters may be specified to be reported by a UE. Such a configuration may be signaled to the UE, for example, in RRC configuration information, such that the parameters to be reported may be semi-statically set by the base station],
and the RRC message segmentation configuration parameter comprises a segment number and a segment length [par 0094,0095, 0100, 0101, a BSR that identifies the segmented parts and a size for each part. The receiver 705 may also receive signaling information, such as RRC configuration information, that may configure a format of BSR that the UE 115-c is to generate and transmit. For example, data segmentation module 810 may determine a number of PDCP packets associated with the data, and may determine PDCP packet sizes for the data, as described above with reference to FIGS. 2-6. In some examples, the data segmentation module 810 may determine a number of PDCP packets associated with one or more segments of data, along with a size of the PDCP packets. The BSR generation module 815 may segment the BSR corresponding to a number of PDCP packets, and generate an indication of a number of bits for each segment corresponding to the PDCP packet size].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Quan and Damnjanovic because this may provide for transmission of integer numbers of data packets and thus reduce or eliminate the need for segmentation, and associated reassembly, at the RLC layer. [Damnjanovic par 0050]
18. Quan and Damnjanovic display the terminal device according to claim 14, wherein the first information further comprises at least one of the following: the size of the capability information of the terminal device; information used for indicating that the terminal device supports radio resource control RRC message segmentation[par 0016, RLC layer of the UE, all the split part UE capability information in a data packet form; segmenting and concatenating data packets of all the part UE capability information to form to-be-transmitted data packets; and reporting the to-be-transmitted data packets to the network side device by using an RRC message];
or a size of the remaining capability information, wherein the remaining capability information is capability information other than the reported capability information in the capability information of the terminal device[Quan par 0018, if the UE has the remaining part UE capability information or the UE is further required to report the part UE capability information, generating and sending a second request message to the UE; or if the UE does not have the remaining part UE capability information or the UE is not required to report the part UE capability information].
19. Quan and Damnjanovic disclose the terminal device according to claim 14, wherein the second message is a UECapabilityEnquiry message [Quan, par 0004, When the network side device needs to obtain the UE capability information, the network side device sends a UE capability request (also called UE Capability Enquiry) message to UE in a connected state. After receiving the capability request message, the UE reports UE capability information to the network side device, so that the network side device learns of a capability of the UE and further serves the UE better].
22. Quan and Damnjanovic disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information further comprises at least one of the following: the size of the capability information of the terminal device; or information used for indicating that the terminal device supports RRC message segmentation [Quan, par 0016, RLC layer of the UE, all the split part UE capability information in a data packet form; segmenting and concatenating data packets of all the part UE capability information to form to-be-transmitted data packets; and reporting the to-be-transmitted data packets to the network side device by using an RRC message];
25. Quan and Damnjanovic teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the first information further comprises at least one of the following: the size of the capability information of the terminal device; or information used for indicating that the terminal device supports radio resource control RRC message segmentation[Quan, par 0016, RLC layer of the UE, all the split part UE capability information in a data packet form; segmenting and concatenating data packets of all the part UE capability information to form to-be-transmitted data packets; and reporting the to-be-transmitted data packets to the network side device by using an RRC message];
27. Quan and Damnjanovic provide the terminal device according to claim 14, wherein
the first message is a connection configuration complete message; or the first message is a message that is transmitted in response to capability request information transmitted by the network-side device; or the first message is an auxiliary message transmitted by the terminal device to the network-side device[Quan, par 016, 0071, In this implementation of this aspect, the UE side combines all the part UE capability information processed by the PDCP layer, and then reports all the part UE capability information to a base station/the network side device at a time. Because the UE capability information needs to be reported only once, frequent signaling exchanging with a network due to a plurality of times of reporting is avoided, and network overheads are reduced].
28. Quan and Damnjanovic create the terminal device according to claim 14, wherein the first information further comprises at least one of the following: the size of the capability information of the terminal device; or information used for indicating that the terminal device supports RRC message segmentation[Quan par 0016, RLC layer of the UE, all the split part UE capability information in a data packet form; segmenting and concatenating data packets of all the part UE capability information to form to-be-transmitted data packets; and reporting the to-be-transmitted data packets to the network side device by using an RRC message].
30. Quan and Damnjanovic define the method according to claim 1, wherein the capability information of the terminal device is all capability information that needs to be reported by the terminal device [Quan, par 0016, In this implementation of this aspect, the UE side combines all the part UE capability information processed by the PDCP layer, and then reports all the part UE capability information to a base station/the network side device at a time. Because the UE capability information needs to be reported only once, frequent signaling exchanging with a network due to a plurality of times of reporting is avoided, and network overheads are reduced].
Claim(s) 21, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan et al. (U.S. 2019/0200212 A1) in view of Damnjanovic et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0285775 A1) in further view of Xiao et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0327607 A1).
21, Quan and Damnjanovic show the method according to claim 1, Quan and Damnjanovic fail show wherein the first message is a connection configuration complete message; or the first message is an auxiliary message transmitted by the terminal device to the network-side device
In an analogous art Xiao show wherein the first message is a connection configuration complete message; or the first message is an auxiliary message transmitted by the terminal device to the network-side device [Xiao, par 0022,0050, the UE uses for multi-connection transmission; and sending to the base station an RRC connection reconfiguration completed message, the RRC connection reconfiguration completed message being used to confirm a success of the RRC connection reconfiguration].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Quan, Damnjanovic, and Xiao because this provide how to report, by UE, a multi-connection transmission capability supported by the UE, how a base station (for example, a gNB or 5G radio access network (5G-RAN), or an eNB or evolved universal terrestrial radio access network (E-UTRAN)) configures for the UE a multi-connection transmission manner
24. Quan and Damnjanovic demonstrate the method according to claim 8, Quan and Damnjanovic fail to show wherein the first message is a connection configuration complete message; or the first message is an auxiliary message transmitted by the terminal device to the network-side device.
In an analogous art Xiao show wherein the first message is a connection configuration complete message; or the first message is an auxiliary message transmitted by the terminal device to the network-side device[Xiao, par 0022,0050, the UE uses for multi-connection transmission; and sending to the base station an RRC connection reconfiguration completed message, the RRC connection reconfiguration completed message being used to confirm a success of the RRC connection reconfiguration].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Quan, Damnjanovic, and Xiao because this provide how to report, by UE, a multi-connection transmission capability supported by the UE, how a base station (for example, a gNB or 5G radio access network (5G-RAN), or an eNB or evolved universal terrestrial radio access network (E-UTRAN)) configures for the UE a multi-connection transmission manner.
Response to Arguments
With respect to "wherein the second message further carries a RRC message segmentation configuration parameter, and the RRC message segmentation configuration parameter comprises a segment number and a segment length" which are previously recited in claim 29 and now recited in claim 1, the Examiner admits that Quan and Yi fail to disclose the foregoing limitations, and appeals to Zhang to remedy this deficiency and asserts that Zhang discloses the foregoing limitations (see page 23 in the Final office action dated November 25, 2026).
The examiner response the applicant argument is moot in view of newly rejected claims.
The present application is a continuation application of International Application No. PCT/CN2019/108516 filed on September 27, 2019, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 201811132639.X, filed in China on September 27, 2018. Therefore, the effective filing date of the present application is September 27, 2018. The earliest filing date of Zhang is November 5, 2018, which is later than the effective filing date of the present application (i.e., September 27, 2018); therefore, Zhang cannot used as a prior art against the present application.
The examiner applicant canceled claims that Zhang was used to anticipate but therefore applicant argument is moot.
Without Zhang, Quan and Yi do not disclose or teach all limitations of amended claim 1. Xiao does not remedy the deficiencies of Quan and Yi with respect to independent claim 1.
The applicant argument is moot in view of new rejected claims.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468