Response to Amendment
Amendments to the application and a granted petition for revival of an unintentionally abandoned application were entered 29 June, 2025. Claims 1-4, and 6 are amended. The specification has been amended at paragraphs 3, 32, 40, 42, 44-45, 50, 53, 58-59, 62-63, 67-73, 76, 82, 86, 90-91, 98, and 101.
The amendments to the specification address the previously set forth objections to the drawings and the specification, which are therefore withdrawn.
The amendments to the claims address the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and the objection of claim 1, which are therefore withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 29 June, 2025, with respect to the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered (pages 25 of response filed 29 June 2025).
The applicant’s argument is persuasive insofar as the previously cited references do not clearly teach all features of claim 1 as amended. Therefore, the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in view of the amendment to independent claim 1. However, after reconsideration of the claims in view of the amendment to claim 1—which significantly modifies the scope of the claims—new grounds of rejection for claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. are set forth below. The new grounds of rejection relies on the combination of Dobrinsky et al. (US 20170100494 A1) and Owen et al. (US 2013/0323128 A1) to establish the obviousness of the claimed temperature sensor, determination circuitry, and control and regulation circuitry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobrinsky et al. (US 20170100494 A1) in view of Owen et al. (US 2013/0323128 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dobrinsky teaches a structure (ultraviolet treatment system 10, 56 for treating a biological fluid in a medical instrument 12 such as a catheter or similarly sized instruments including medical tubing, needles, syringes, or the like—Figs. 1A-B, [0042], and Fig. 3, [0070]) comprising:
A hollow cylinder (medical instrument 12 such as a catheter—Fig. 1A-1B, [0042]), wherein said cylinder is fabricated from a material that is at least 50% UV-C transparent (medical instrument 12 should have a transparency to ultraviolet light, and can be formed from a fluoropolymer material having a high transparency to ultraviolet light—[0050]; system 10/56 includes ultraviolet radiation sources 44 emitting at preferred wavelengths of 250-290 nm—[0050]—which includes the UV-C range; it is thus fairly implied medical instrument 12 includes is at least 50% UV-C transparent).
Dobrinsky teaches a housing (14) which wraps around the medical tubing (housing 14 encloses a portion of medical instrument 12—[0043]), the housing including UV-C LEDs (set of ultraviolet radiation sources include UV LEDs—[0048]—preferably emitting light within the wavelength range of 250 nm to 290 nm—[0051]—which is within the UV-C spectrum) which are arranged facing toward the medical instrument (ultraviolet radiation sources 44 emit ultraviolet radiation towards a surface of the medical instrument 12—[0047], see Figs. 1A-B and Fig. 2).
Dobrinsky teaches an embodiment of the system (56) (see Fig. 3 below) wherein the housing (58) is configured as a flexible sleeve (embodiment of ultraviolet treatment system 56 includes a housing 58 in the form of a flexible sleeve that is configured to wrap around the medical instrument—[0070]), the flexible embodiment of the system (56) including like components to the embodiment (10) of Figs. 1A-1B (ultraviolet treatment system 56 can include a power source 56, ultraviolet radiation sources 44, control unit 46, sensors 48, and any other component like those mentioned above that can be used to effectuate an ultraviolet treatment of the biological fluid—[0071]).
The flexible sleeve (58) includes embedded and interconnected electronic components (ultraviolet radiation sources 44, control unit 46, and sensors 48 are arranged in an internal portion of the sleeve—[0070]), and thus the sleeve (58) fairly defines a flexible circuit board because it serves as a flexible support for a circuit. Thus, Dobrinsky teaches:
a flexible circuit board (58) including a plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes (44) (see [0048], [0051], and [0070],), wherein said flexible circuit board is wrapped around said hollow cylinder with said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes facing towards said hollow cylinder (see [0047], [0070] and Figs. 1A-B and Fig. 3).
Dobrinsky further teaches at least one temperature sensor (48) that monitors the temperature of a surface of said hollow cylinder (sensors 48 can include a temperature sensor that detects the temperature of the surface of the medical device—[0057]).
Dobrinsky further teaches a control unit (46) comprising determination circuitry that determines intensity for each of said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes (transparency sensor can evaluate the transparency of the biological fluid within the medical instrument and enable the control unit 46 to invoke a feedback electrical control module that can determine the intensity levels of the ultraviolet radiation sources based on the transparency of the fluid—[0057]).
The control unit (46) further includes control and regulation circuitry that independently controls intensity of each of said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes based on said determination circuitry (control unit 46 can control the ultraviolet radiation sources 44 to operate at a target wavelength and intensity for a duration that is designed for the disinfection of bacteria and/or viruses of the biological fluid—[0059]; control unit 46 can adjust characteristics of ultraviolet radiation based on the conditions detected by the sensors 48—[0062]).
It is emphasized that Dobrinsky is capable of independent control of each UV-C light emitter (control unit 46 can turn on or off each of the ultraviolet radiation sources 4 via an actuator, and can adjust one or more of the ultraviolet radiation characteristics emitted from any of the ultraviolet radiation sources 44—[0062]).
Claim 1 further recites that the control and regulation circuitry is operable to increase a temperature of said working substance to provide increased sterilization of said working substance. Dobrinsky does not explicitly describe the recited functional capability. However, Dobrinsky fairly implies that regular operation of the UV-C LEDs can increase the temperature of the tube (12) and the liquid therein (the control unit 46 can be configured to interrupt the operation of the ultraviolet radiation sources 44 in response to receiving temperature signals from a temperature sensor and determining that the temperature of the ultraviolet treatment has exceeded the maximum temperature. The control unit 46 can resume the ultraviolet treatment after a predetermined cooling time has elapsed—[0062]; paragraph [0066] further implies that operation of the device generates heat; it is thus understood that operation of the UV sources generates heat that is transferred to and increases the temperature of the tube and the liquid therein). Thus, the device of Dobrinsky is operable to increase the temperature of the working substance. Also, the recited increased sterilization of said working substance is interpreted as an inherent effect of the broadly recited heating function, and thus the device of Dobrinsky is further operable to provide increased sterilization of said working substance due to the transfer of heat from the circuitry to the working substance.
Dobrinsky is not clear that the temperature sensor detects the temperature of the working substance flowing through the tube, instead describing the sensor as detecting a temperature of the surface of the tube (temperature sensor can detect the temperature within the housing 14 and/or the temperature of the surface of the medical device 12—[0057]), wherein said temperatures are not necessarily identical (although they would be expected to be similar in many instances due to the direct contact between the tube and the fluid therein).
However, in the analogous art of the ultraviolet treatment of fluids (title, abstract), Owen teaches an apparatus for the treatment of fluids with ultraviolet light (title, abstract), which includes ultraviolet LEDs that direct UV light toward a fluid flowing through a transparent tube (photoreactor 300 includes cylindrical walls 320, 324, 328 which are transparent tubes that define chambers 340, 344, and 348—Fig. 6, [0057]—and a fluid flows through the chambers 340, 344, and 348—[0058]; a plurality of UV LEDs are disposed in tubing 490, 492, and the tubing is wrapped about walls 320 and 324—[0060]—so that they deliver UV light to fluid moving through the chambers defined by the tubes—Fig. 6A, [0061]). Owen further teaches that a temperature sensor (640) can be provided within the photoreactor to detect a temperature of the fluid moving therethrough, and a controller (700) which receives signals of the detected temperature and controls the power delivered to the light sources based on the detected temperature ([0069]; temperature sensor monitors temperature of fluid treated by light sources—[0113]). Additionally, Owen recognized that photochemical processes—wherein photochemical processes fairly includes the degradation of DNA with UV light to inactivate microorganisms ([0013])—generally proceed more rapidly at higher temperatures ([0064]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Dobrinsky such that the temperature sensor is configured to detect the temperature of the fluid flowing through the tube—as substantially seen in Owen ([0113], [0069])—for the benefit of allowing the temperature of the fluid to be maintained at a temperature at which photochemical processes proceed more rapidly (Owen at [0064]) without exceeding a temperature that could damage components of the device (see Owen at [0069], [0113]).
Regarding claim 5, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. The hollow cylinder (medical instrument 12, such as a catheter, medical tubing, needle, or syringe—[0042]) of Dobrinsky has a high transparency to ultraviolet light ([0050]), and Dobrinsky identified fused silica—which is similar to quartz—as an ultraviolet transparent material ([0077]). Nonetheless, Dobrinsky does not explicitly suggest that the hollow cylinder is formed of quartz.
However, Owen explicitly discloses quartz tubes as an ultraviolet light transmissive material ([0053], [0061], [0106], claim 9). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the hollow cylinder (medical instrument 12) of Dobrinsky such that at least a tube portion of the cylinder is formed of quartz for the benefit of providing an ultraviolet transparent material (Dobrinsky indicates medical instrument 12 should have a high UV transparency—[0050]; Owen indicates that quartz has a high UV transparency—[0053], [0061], [0106], claim 9) which allows the emitted UV light to enter the tube and disinfect the fluid therein (see Dobrinsky at [0050]).
Regarding claim 7, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. Dobrinsky teaches that the plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes comprises at least six UV-C light emitting diodes (Fig. 3 depicts ten UV light sources 44).
Also, Dobrinsky indicates that any number of ultraviolet radiation sources may be appropriate ([0049]), and a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that providing more LEDs will generally increase a total output and coverage of ultraviolet radiation within the hollow cylinder. Thus, it would be obvious to provide any number of UV LEDs to achieve a desired UV intensity and coverage within the hollow cylinder. See MPEP 2144.04(VI.)(B.) regarding the prima facie obviousness of the duplication of parts which does not produce a new and unexpected result.
Regarding claim 8, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. Dobrinsky depicts ten UV LEDs (44) in Fig. 3; however, as discussed with respect to claim 7 above, Dobrinsky indicates any number of UV LEDs (44) may be appropriate ([0049]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Dobrinsky to include at least twelve UV-C light emitting diodes for the benefit of increasing the total UV intensity and/or coverage within the hollow cylinder. See MPEP 2144.04(VI.)(B.) as discussed with respect to claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 9, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. Dobrinsky depicts ten UV LEDs (44) in Fig. 3; however, as discussed with respect to claims 7 and 8 above, Dobrinsky indicates any number of UV LEDs (44) may be appropriate ([0049]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Dobrinsky to include at least fifteen UV-C light emitting diodes for the benefit of increasing the total UV intensity and/or coverage within the hollow cylinder.
Regarding claim 10, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. Dobrinsky indicates that the UV-C light emitting diodes emit light at wavelengths within a preferred range of 250 nm to 290 nm, or 260 nm to 310 nm ([0010], [0051]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 260 and 280 nm. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Owen such that at least one of said UV-C light emitting diodes provides UV-C light having a wavelength within the overlapping portion of the claimed range (260-280 nm) and the prior art range (effectively 250-310 nm) for the benefit of facilitating the disinfection or sterilization of biological fluids (see Dobrinsky at [0010]). See MPEP 2144.05(I.) regarding the obviousness of overlapping, approaching, and similar ranges.
Regarding claim 11, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. As discussed with respect to claim 10 above Dobrinsky indicates that the UV-C light emitting diodes emit light at wavelength within a preferred range of 250 nm to 290 nm, or 260 nm to 310 nm ([0010], [0051]); this overlaps with the claimed range of 260 to 265 nanometers. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Owen such that at least one of said UV-C light emitting diodes provides UV-C light having a wavelength within the overlapping portion of the claimed range (260-265 nm) and prior art (effectively 250-310 nm) for the benefit of facilitating the disinfection or sterilization of biological fluids (see Dobrinsky at [0010]).
Regarding claim 12, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. For substantially the same reasons discussed with respect to claim 10 and 11 above, it would be obvious to modify the system of Dobrinsky such that at least one of said UV-C light emitting diodes provides UV-C light between 250 and 260 nanometers for the benefit of facilitating the disinfection or sterilization of biological fluids (Dobrinsky recognizes an effective range of 250-310 nm as being suitable for disinfection or sterilization—[0010], [0051]—which overlaps with the claimed range of 250-260 nanometers).
Regarding claim 13, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. For substantially the same reasons discussed with respect to claim 10-12 above, it would be obvious to modify the system of Dobrinsky such that at least one of said UV-C light emitting diodes provides UV-C light between 200 and 280 nanometers for the benefit of facilitating the disinfection or sterilization of biological fluids (Dobrinsky recognizes an effective range of 250-310 nm as being suitable for disinfection or sterilization—[0010], [0051]—which overlaps with the claimed range of 200-280 nanometers, such that it would be obvious to select wavelengths within the overlapping portion of the ranges, i.e., between 250 and 280 nanometers).
Regarding claim 14, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. As discussed with respect to claim 7 above, Dobrinsky teaches that said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes comprises at least six UV-C light emitting diodes (Fig. 3 depicts 10 UV LEDs 44, which is greater than 6). Dobrinsky further suggests embodiments wherein that the wavelengths of said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes is the same (ultraviolet radiation sources 44 can function in a coordinated manner, operating at the same wavelengths and intensities for the same duration—[0052]).
Regarding claim 15, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. Dobrinsky suggests embodiments wherein the wavelengths of said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes is the same (ultraviolet radiation sources 44 can function in a coordinated manner, operating at the same wavelengths and intensities for the same duration—[0052]). Furthermore, as discussed with respect to claim 8 above, Dobrinsky fairly teaches embodiments wherein said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes comprises at least twelve UV-C light emitting diodes (although Fig. 3 only depicts ten UV-C light sources 44, paragraph [0049] explicitly indicates that any number of sources 44 may be appropriate and it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide additional LEDs to yield at least 12 total UV-C LEDs if additional UV intensity or coverage within the hollow cylinder is desired).
Regarding claim 16, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. Dobrinsky teaches said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes comprises at least six UV-C light emitting didoes (Fig. 3 depicts ten ultraviolet light sources 44). Dobrinsky further indicates that the plurality of UV LEDs (44) can be grouped into first and second sets which operate at different target wavelengths to facilitate the disinfection of different types of pathogens (a first set of ultraviolet radiation sources 44 can operate at a target wavelength and intensity that is designed for the disinfection of one type of bacteria and/or viruses, while a second set of ultraviolet radiation sources 44 can operate at a different target wavelength and intensity that is designed for disinfection of a different type of bacteria and/or viruses—[0052]). Thus, Dobrinsky teaches an embodiment wherein the wavelengths of at least two of said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes are different.
Regarding claim 17, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. Dobrinsky further teaches that said circuit board further comprises at least one UV-B light emitting diode (control unit 46 can manage the amount of time that the ultraviolet radiation sources radiate int the UV-C range versus the UV-B range—[0058]; thus, the ultraviolet light sources 44 are evidently capable of emitting light in the UV-B range and accordingly at least one of the ultraviolet light sources 44 fairly defines a UV-B light emitting diode). It is noted that Dobrinsky recognized UV-B light as being germicidal, with certain portions of the UV-B spectrum providing good germicidal effectiveness (paragraph [0039] recognizes that UV-B radiation is germicidal, and identifies ranges of 260-310 nm and 250-290 nm—which overlap with the UV-B range—as being particularly suitable for germicidal effectiveness; [0038] defines the UV-B range from 280-315 nm).
Regarding claim 18, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. Dobrinsky indicates that a control unit (46) of the flexible circuit board (56) can generate a user output in the form of a visible light ([0061]; see control unit 46 in Fig. 3). Thus, Dobrinsky teaches said circuit board further comprises at least one visual spectrum light source, although the embodiment does not explicitly indicate that the visible light source is an LED. In a related embodiment, Dobrinsky recognizes that an LED can be a suitable output device for providing status information to a user ([0103]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the visible indicator light of Dobrinsky as an LED for the benefit of providing a user with an indication of the status of the ultraviolet treatment (see [0064] and [0103]).
Regarding claim 19, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. Dobrinsky further teaches a heat sink associated with heat generated from at least one of said plurality of UV-C light emitting didoes (system 10 includes a heat dissipating component, such as a heat sink, which allows electronic componentry associated with the UV sources, control unit 46, and sensors 48 to operate efficiently without overheating—[0066]).
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobrinsky et al. (US 20170100494 A1) in view of Owen et al. (US 2013/0323128 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Donhowe et al. (US 2022/0088240 A1, with PCT filed 07 February, 2020).
Regarding claim 2, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. Dobrinsky teaches applying a reflective material to the inner surface of the housing (14/58) (housing 14 can include an internal surface with an ultraviolet reflective property through deposition of aluminum—[0046]; at least a portion of the inner surface of housing 14 has an ultraviolet reflective layer—[0053]). Thus, although Dobrinsky suggest a UV-C reflective material coated on a surface to reflect UVC-light emitted from at least one of said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes ([0046], [0053]), Dobrinsky does not particularly suggest positioning the coating of UV-C reflective material on at least a portion of the hollow cylinder (12).
However, in the analogous art of ultraviolet light disinfecting systems (title), Donhowe teaches a an assembly comprising a transparent tube (9) with a reflective material (reflective tube 2) applied to its outer surface, and a UV-LED array (15) arranged over the reflective layer and configured to direct light from UV LEDs (5) through openings (6) in the reflective layer toward a fluid flowing through the inner tube (9) ([0065] discusses how a transparent inner tube 9 is surrounded by a reflective tube 2 and the tubes are joined by either an adhesive, heat set process, or other method, and subsequently a UV-LED 15 array is attached over the outer reflective tube 2 with LEDs 5 arranged over openings 6 in tube 2; see Fig. 10). In the cited embodiment of Donhowe (Fig. 10, [0065]), the reflective material (reflective tube 2) fairly defines a reflective material coated on at least a portion of said hollow cylinder (9) (adhering or heat setting the reflective tube 2 over the transparent tube 9 fairly forms a coating of the reflective tube material on the transparent tube—see [0065]). To emphasize the analogousness to the claimed invention, it is noted that the UV-LED array (15) comprises a flexible printed circuit board (UV-LED array 125 includes a substrate 10 to support and provide power to the UV-LEDs 5, the substrate 10 being a flexible printed circuit board—[0066]), the UV-LEDs (5) emit light within the UVC range (250 nm to 280 nm range—[0091]), the transparent hollow tube (9) has a transparency of 80% or more to UV light ([0064]), and the reflective material of the reflective tube (2) is greater than 90% reflective to UV light ([0048], [0051]-[0052], claim 1).
Donhowe recognized that the reflective coating serves to disperse UV light across the surfaces of the pipe and through the fluid therein, promoting a more consistent radiation intensity across the diameter of the pipe for an improved disinfecting effect (see abstract, [0040], [0045]-[0046], [0089]).
It is thus evident that arranging the reflective coating material of Dobrinsky on an outer surface of the hollow cylinder (12) of Dobrinsky instead of the inner surface of the flexible circuit board (housing 14/56) achieves the same result of improving the distribution of UV light throughout the fluid within the cylinder (Dobrinsky discusses how reflective layer allows recycling of UV radiation—[0053], [0074]; related embodiments of Dobrinsky use UV reflective materials to redirect optical path of light emitted from sources to attain a fuller treatment of a biological fluid—see [0082], [0085]; as discussed above Donhowe establishes that positioning reflective material on a surface of the transparent tube achieves similar results of improving the distribution of UV light throughout the tube—see [0040], [0045]-[0046], and [0089]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the reflective coating of Dobrinsky—embodiments of which comprise an aluminum coating (surface with an ultraviolet reflective property through the deposition of aluminum—[0046]; polished aluminum coating—[0091])—onto a surface of the hollow cylinder (medical instrument 12) for the benefit of improving the distribution of UV light through the hollow cylinder. In view of Donhowe, the coating should include openings (6) to allow the passage of UV light from UV LEDs into the hollow cylinder (Donhowe at Fig. 10, [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. See the rejection of claim 2 above regarding how it would be obvious to further modify Dobrinsky in view of Donhowe such that the reflective aluminum coating of Dobrinsky is positioned on a surface of said hollow cylinder for the benefit of achieving an improved distribution of UV light through the hollow cylinder (see the rejection of claim 2 above). Thus modified, the invention of Dobrinsky comprises a UV-C reflective material coated on at least a portion of said hollow cylinder to reflect UVC-light emitted from at least one of said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes, wherein said UV- C reflective material comprises aluminum (see the rejection of claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 4, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. See the rejection of claim 2 above regarding how it would be obvious to further modify Dobrinsky in view of Donhowe such that the reflective aluminum coating of Dobrinsky is positioned on a surface of said hollow cylinder for the benefit of improved distribution of UV light through the hollow cylinder (see rejection of claim 2 above). Dobrinsky indicates the ultraviolet reflective layer has a reflectivity of at least 50% ([0053]). Thus, Dobrinsky, Owen and Donahoe teach a UV-C reflective material coated on at least a portion of said hollow cylinder to reflect UVC-light emitted from at least one of said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes, wherein said UV- C reflective material is at least 50% UV reflective.
The cited references do not explicitly indicate the reflectivity of the material of Dobrinsky is at least 70% reflective to UV-C light, as required by claim 4. However, aluminum materials, especially polished aluminum materials ([0092] of Dobrinsky suggest a polished aluminum coating), are well known to be highly reflective to UV light, and it is evidently advantageous to maximize the reflectivity of the coating to UV-C light to improve the recycling of UV radiation within the hollow cylinder (consider Dobrinsky at [0053] suggesting a reflection coefficient of at least 50% to enable recycling of ultraviolet radiation from UV sources 44). Therefore, the aluminum coating material of modified Dobrinsky would fairly be expected to demonstrate a UV-C reflectivity of at least 70%, and it would otherwise be obvious to modify the aluminum material of Dobrinsky to achieve a UV-C reflectivity of at least 70% for the benefit of improving the recycling of UV radiation within the hollow cylinder.
Regarding claim 6, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. As discussed with respect to claim 5 above, it would be obvious to further modify Dobrinsky in view of Owen such that said [UV-transparent] material [of the hollow cylinder] is quartz for the benefit of providing an appropriately UV-transmissive material. Additionally, as discussed with respect to claims 2 and 3 above, it would be obvious to modify Dobrinsky such that the a UV-C reflective material is coated on at least a portion of said hollow cylinder to reflect UVC-light emitted from at least one of said plurality of UV-C light emitting diodes, wherein said UV-C reflective material comprises aluminum, for the benefit of improving the distribution of UV light throughout the cylinder and the recycling of UV radiation (see the rejection of claims 2 and 3 above).
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobrinsky et al. (US 20170100494 A1) in view of Owen et al. (US 2013/0323128 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilson (US 2015/0084214 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Dobrinsky in view of Owen teaches the structure of claim 1. Dobrinsky teaches a temperature sensor (sensors 48 includes a temperature sensor—[0057]). Dobrinsky does not teach a flow sensor and a humidity sensor.
However, Owen teaches a flow sensor (flow sensor 670) which is advantageously configured to shut off UV light sources when a flow rate is too low in order to prevent the buildup of heat (flow sensor 670 provides signal corresponding to the detected flow rate…controller 700 may shut off lights when flow rate drops to zero to prevent buildup of heat under low flow situation, paragraph 70, lines 8-18). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to configure the system of Dobrinsky to include a flow sensor for the benefit of detecting when a fluid within the hollow cylinder is not flowing so that the UV sources can be deactivated to prevent the buildup of heat (see Owen at paragraph 70, lines 8-18).
Neither Dobrinsky nor Owen teach a humidity sensor.
However, Wilson, in the analogous art of ultraviolet airflow devices (humidifying apparatus wherein water in a chamber is irradiated by ultraviolet light and airflow is generated over the water to humidify the air, abstract), discloses a humidity sensor (the user interface may comprise a second LED 272 which is illuminated by the drive circuit 94 when an output from the humidity sensor 270 indicates that the relative humidity of the air flow entering the humidifying apparatus 10, HD, is at or above the desired relative humidity level, HS, set by the user). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the invention of Dobrinsky to include the humidity sensor of Wilson because Wilson recognized that a humidity sensor enables an ultraviolet flow device to be controlled to promote user comfort (a humidifying apparatus for generating a flow of moist air and a flow of air for dispersing the moist air within a domestic environment…the appliance may include a sensor for detecting the relative humidity of the air in the environment…the sensor outputs a signal indicative of the detected relative humidity to a drive circuit, which controls the transducer to maintain the relative humidity of the air in the environment around a desired level…paragraphs 2-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wyatt et al. (US 2015/0329810 A1) teaches a bioreactor modular comprising a tubular flow path having a transparent segment of tube (410) encircled by a lighting device (420), wherein in certain embodiments the lighting device (420) is a flexible sheet of micro-LEDs wrapped around a tube segment (Figs. 22-23, [0097]). The lighting device may emit ultraviolet light ([0075]). Wyatt further suggests a temperature sensor (claim 9; temperature sensor—[0011], [0080]; sensor manifold 250, 360 with a temperature sensor—[0089], [0095]) which detects a temperature of an aqueous culture of microorganisms flowing through the bioreactor system ([0080]). Additionally, Wyatt teaches a control system which receives data from the sensors and controls system operation based on the sensor data, including controlling lighting device and a heat exchanger ([0086]).
Boodaghians et al. (US 9,376,333 B2) teaches an inline UV LED water disinfection and heating device (title) comprising a water line tube (12) with openings (16) through with UV LEDs (18) are positioned to irradiate light into the tube, wherein the heat put off by the LEDs is used to warm the water and prevent freezing (column 4, lines 40-54). The interior of the tube can include reflective portions (column 6, lines 9-14), and the tube should otherwise be transparent to allow UV light from the LEDs to penetrate through the tube for treatment of the water therein (column 5, lines 30-32).
Oestergaard et al. (US 2014/0271353 A1) teaches a treatment device for disinfecting a fluid comprising a conduit having a reflective inner surface and apertures sealed by a UV transparent material, wherein UV LEDs are positioned in the apertures to emit UV light into the conduit for disinfection of a fluid therein ([0013]-[0017]). The circuitry for operation of the UV LEDs is located around an external surface of the device, preferably as a flexible printed circuit board wrapped around the device ([0022]-[0023]).
Donhowe et al., US 2021/0213147 A1 (with PCT filed 11 December, 2017) teaches a UV light generation sheet (805) comprising a plurality of UV LEDs which is wrapped around a tubular structure (815) which is transparent to UV light and defines a fluid path (825) (Figs. 8A-B, [0063]).
Rasooly (US 2014/0334974 A1) teaches an embodiment of an apparatus for disinfecting a catheter connector device (title, abstract) comprising a quartz tube which receives a medical connector, and a flexible circuit comprising UV-LEDs which wraps around the quartz tube ([0080]).
Norman et al. (US 20150037016 A1) teaches a warming system comprising a temperature sensor (38) which detects the temperature of a warming fluid ([0031]), the warming fluid being contained within a UV transparent outer bag (16) of a liner bag (12), and the linger bag being disposed within a container (34) ([0007]-[0009], [0024], [0028]-[0029]). Ultraviolet light sources (36) comprising a plurality of UVC LEDs are positioned in a bottom (50) of the container and are configured to heat and sterilize the warming fluid ([0039]). A controller (40) adjusts operation of the ultraviolet light sources (38) based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor (38) in order to maintain the warming fluid within a preferred temperature range ([0033]). Thus, Norman demonstrates that it was known to use the emission of UVC light to achieve the heating of a fluid to a preferred range.
Bettles et al. (US 20150297768 A1) teaches a flexible ultraviolet device (title) comprising a flexible printed circuit board (2) ([0027]) on which ultraviolet LEDs (18) are mounted ([0028]), the flexible circuit board being further including an ultraviolet reflective surface and being incorporated into an enclosure and arranged to disinfect an item therein ([0024]). A feedback component (20) of the device includes sensors (38) and is configured to provide data corresponding to an environment within the enclosure for processing by a monitoring and/or control system (16). The sensors (38) include a humidity sensor, an ethylene sensor, a temperature sensor, and/or the like, and the control system (16) can adjust one or more aspects of ultraviolet radiation emitted within the enclosure using the environment data ([0037]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADY C PILSBURY/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797