DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In the amendment dated July 22, 2025, the following has occurred:
Claims 1, 55 and 66 are amended,
Claims 4-6, 8-10, 15-16, 22-35, 47-48, 61-63, 65, 69-70, 72, 74, and 77-79 are cancelled, and
Claims 1-3, 7, 11-14, 21, 36-46, 49-60, 64, 66-68, 71, 73-76 and 80-82 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
In regard to applicant’s first argument, applicant first states that Jianping teaches that the stimulation is delivered and applied to the brain site after the oscillatory behavior of neural activity of the brain site is determined to be in the abnormal state, but does not teach or mention how to deliver the stimulation to the brain site, such as the time and amplitude of delivering the stimulation. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As can be seen in para [0045]-[0049], para [0051], [0059], and para [0024]- first sentence and the following sentence: “The IMD may deliver stimulation to alter the state from an abnormal state to a normal state. The stimulation (e.g., electrical stimulation or drug delivery) may be continuous, intermittent series of stimulations, or a single electrical pulse or drug dose.” Jianping does teach how to deliver stimulation to the brain site (such as the time needed and amplitude needed) for stimulation to the brain.
In regard to applicant’s second argument stating that De Ridder does not teach at least one of the duration or amplitude/peak of the stimulation signal is positively correlated with the intensity of the detected physiological activity signal, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
As can be seen in para [0015]-[0016], para [0045]-[0046], and para [0080]-[0081], De Ridder does teach an amplitude/peak of the stimulation signal that is positively correlated with the intensity of the detected physiological activity signal, which is supported by para [0069]-[0070] of applicant’s specification.
In regard to all subsequent arguments concerning the same subject matter, the arguments are considered moot as Jianping and De Ridder does teach some of the information disclosed in the now amended claim 1 concerning the time and amplitude needed for stimulation and the positive correlation of the detected activity signal.
In regard to applicant’s arguments regarding the previous 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection and all subsequent arguments stating that Jianping nor De ridder, Hamner, Patel, or Linde does not explicitly teach the predetermined time interval after the implantable electrode stops the electrical stimulation is used for charge balancing, and wherein the implantable electrode device detects the physiological activity signal of the brain region to determine whether or not the stimulation needs to be reapplied, this argument is found to be persuasive. Therefore, the 101 rejection has been withdrawn. However, after further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection have been made in view of applicant’s arguments as can be further seen below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 11-21, 36, 40-41, 49-52, 55, 59-60, 64, 66-68, 71, 73-76 and 80-82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0319962 A1 to Jianping et al. (hereinafter “Jianping”) in view of US 2022/0062643 A1 to De Ridder and US 2014/0081348 A1 to Fischell et al. (hereinafter “Fischell”).
Regarding claims 1, 55, and 66, Jianping discloses method and a device comprising;
and comprising a non-transitory storage medium, a processor, and an implantable electrode device, wherein the non-transitory storage medium has an instruction executable by the processor (pars. [0006]-[0007]), and the instruction is run to perform the following steps:
detecting a physiological activity signal of each brain region in at least one brain region of a patient through an implantable electrode device (Fig. 1B and pars. [0022]: …two or more lead electrodes may be utilized to obtain two or more bioelectrical signals associated with neural activity, [0039]: …the sensing electrode combination may be used to monitor brain neural network activities such as, for example, oscillatory behavior in bioelectrical brain signals);
comparing the detected physiological activity signal of each brain region with a preset detection condition to determine whether the detected physiological activity signal of each brain region belongs to an abnormal physiological activity signal (par. [0056]: Processor 40 may compare the determined oscillatory behavior to a normal or stable behavior associated with the brain site to determine whether the determined behavior deviates from the normal or stable behavior…);
and,
in response to a determination result that the detected physiological activity signal of the each brain region belongs to the abnormal physiological activity signal, controlling to apply an electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region for a duration through the implantable electrode device (seen in para [0045]-[0051], [0059], and para [0024]- first sentence and the following sentence: “The IMD may deliver stimulation to alter the state from an abnormal state to a normal state. The stimulation (e.g., electrical stimulation or drug delivery) may be continuous, intermittent series of stimulations, or a single electrical pulse or drug dose.”— the claim amendment “for a duration” is addressed here for the current claim and all subsequent claims containing this statement as discussed below), but does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the duration for applying the electrical stimulation signal or an amplitude of the electrical stimulation signal is positively correlated with an intensity of the detected physiological activity signal.
However, De Ridder, which is in the same field of endeavor: neuromodulatory method for treating neurological disorders, discloses wherein at least one of the duration for applying the electrical stimulation signal or an amplitude of the electrical stimulation signal is positively correlated with an intensity of the detected physiological activity signal (seen in para [0015]-[0016], para [0045]-[0046], and para [0080]-[0081], which teaches an amplitude/peak of the stimulation signal that is positively correlated with the intensity of the detected physiological activity signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jianping with the teachings of positive correlation system of De Ridder to arrive at the claimed invention. Such modification would improve the system by completely eliminating the neurological disease/disorder with a protocol that maintains treatment efficacy over long periods of time while preventing habituation or adaptation.
Although De Ridder teaches the positive correlation system previously disclosed above, Jianping nor De Ridder teach wherein a predetermined time interval after the implantable electrode device stops applying the electrical stimulation signal is used for charge balancing,
and detecting, through the implantable electrode device, the physiological activity signal of each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient after the charge balancing.
However, Fischell, which is in the same field of endeavor: Neuromodulation devices and methods for delivering a stimulation signal to tissue (see abstract, first sentence and para [0004]) teaches wherein a predetermined time interval after the implantable electrode device stops applying the electrical stimulation signal is used for charge balancing,
and detecting, through the implantable electrode device, the physiological activity signal of each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient after the charge balancing (para [0004]- last two sentences, para [0017]-last three sentences, para [0046] - last sentence, para [0048], and para [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the modified system of Jianping with the charge balancing system of Fischell to arrive at the claimed invention, since such modification would improve the system by preventing unwanted stimulation delivery while also completely eliminating the neurological disease/disorder with a protocol that maintains treatment efficacy over long periods of time while preventing habituation or adaptation.
Regarding claims 2, 59 and 67 the Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1 and the device of claims 55, 58 and 66, wherein the preset detection condition comprises an abnormal state mode (Jianping, par. [0022]: … the signals are obtained during an abnormal state (e.g., during a period when the patient is showing signs of an abnormal state…), wherein the abnormal state mode comprises a change in at least one parameter of an abnormal physiological activity signal of each of the at least one brain region over time (Jianping, pars. [0024]: The effects of timing and characteristics of the stimulation (e.g., intensity, amplitude, duration, pulse width, frequency, and the like) relative to the oscillations of the neural brain network activity may be monitored. In some examples, the abnormal state may exhibit oscillatory behavior, and the normal state may be a fixed or stable point. In other examples, the abnormal state may exhibit oscillatory behavior at a first frequency, and the normal state may exhibit oscillatory behavior at a second frequency, [0035]: While the neural activity exhibits an abnormal behavior, i.e., on circle 2, the IMD may provide variable stimulation (e.g., at different timings in terms of location on circle 2, different stimulation parameter values) to determine how application of different stimulations affects the neural activity behavior, and the observed behavior may be also measured by electrodes X and Y).
wherein the abnormal state mode is generated based on a preset abnormal state mode (Jianping, par. [0065]: Processor 74 may also select one or more stimulation electrode combinations to provide DBS to sites in the brain that may require therapy to correct a condition such as, for example, a sensed abnormal oscillatory pattern).
Regarding claims 3, 60 and 68, the Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 2, the device of claim 59 and the device of claim 67, wherein the at least one parameter of the abnormal physiological activity signal comprises at least one of an intensity of the abnormal physiological activity signal or a characteristic frequency of the abnormal physiological activity signal (Jianping, par. [0027]: In the example where applying the stimulation shifts the neural activity behavior from an abnormal oscillatory state (circle 2) to a normal oscillatory state (circle 4), the applied stimulation may be shifting the signal of the neural behavior from a low frequency path or rhythm to a high frequency path or rhythm).
Regarding claims 7, 64 and 71, the Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 2, the device of claim 59 and the device of claim 67, wherein comparing the detected physiological activity signal of the each brain region with the preset detection condition comprises: performing a similarity comparison between a change in at least one parameter of the detected physiological activity signal of the each brain region over time and the change in the at least one parameter of the abnormal physiological activity signal of the each brain region over time comprised in the abnormal state mode (Jianping, par. [0072]: As measurements are obtained over time, a model for the limit cycle of the oscillatory behavior may be monitored and analyzed to determine whether the neural network exhibits a normal/stable behavior or an abnormal behavior (108). In one example, if the pattern associated with the relationship between X and Y is similar to that of an abnormal behavior of neural activity).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising periodically controlling to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the implantable electrode device at a predetermined time interval (par. [0056]), and controlling the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the implantable electrode device (par. [0056]), wherein the predetermined time interval is 0.01 milliseconds to 1 hour (see para [0044]-[0049]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein applying the electrical stimulation to the brain region is for 1 second to 1 hour.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the electrical stimulation to the brain region for 1 second to 1 hour since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 13 and 73, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1 and the device of claim 66, wherein controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region for a duration through the implantable electrode device comprises:
controlling the implantable electrode device to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region for a duration and controlling the amplitude of the applied electrical stimulation signal (Jianping, para [0045]-[0051] and para [0056]: …processor 40 may control therapy delivered by stimulation electrode combinations by, at least in part, sensing bioelectrical brain signals with one or more of the sense electrode combinations associated with a respective one of the stimulation electrode combinations and analyzing a frequency domain characteristic of the sensed bioelectrical brain signals).
Regarding claim 14, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the duration and amplitude of the applied electrical stimulation signal are positively correlated with the detected physiological activity signal (Jianping, par. [0056]: …processor 40 may determine an oscillatory behavior of neural activity of a brain site based on frequency domain characteristic, e.g., phase, or based on time domain characteristic, e.g., frequency or voltage amplitude, based on bioelectrical signals sensed by two or more sense electrodes, and compare the relative values of the signals sensed by a plurality of sense electrode combinations…).
Regarding claims 15 and 74, the Jianping and DeRidder combination discloses the method of claim 1 and the device of claim 66, wherein controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the implantable electrode device comprises: intermittently applying the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the implantable electrode device (Jianping, par. [0024]: The IMD may deliver stimulation to alter the state from an abnormal state to a normal state. The stimulation….may be…intermittent series of stimulations...).
Regarding claim 17, the Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein an amplitude range of the electrical stimulation signal is 0.5 V to 10 V (Jianping par. [0047]: 2. Voltage Amplitude: …between approximately 0.5 volts and approximately 20 volts, or approximately 5 volts).
Regarding claim 18, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the physiological activity signal of the each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient through the implantable electrode device comprises: detecting the physiological activity signal of the each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient through at least one detection contact of the implantable electrode device (Jianping, Fig. 1B and pars. [0022]: …two or more lead electrodes may be utilized to obtain two or more bioelectrical signals associated with neural activity, [0028]: …the pairs of electrodes may be electrodes 0 and 1, 1 and 2, and 2 and 3); and controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the implantable electrode device comprises: controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through at least one stimulation contact of the implantable electrode device (par. [0056]: …if the determined oscillatory behavior deviation is indicative of a condition that requires correction, processor 40 may control stimulation generator 44 to deliver stimulation via the appropriate stimulation electrode combinations to deliver therapy to the brain site associated with the condition, to shift the associated behavior from the abnormal state to the normal or stable state).
Regarding claims 19 and 75, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 18 and the device of claim 66, wherein the at least one detection contact comprises a plurality of detection contacts (Jianping, par. [0073]: Two or more spatially-distinct DBS electrodes may be defined as sensing electrodes and used to monitor neural activity signals from a particular brain site. One electrode may be selected from a plurality of available electrodes…), and the at least one stimulation contact comprises a plurality of stimulation contacts (Jianping, Fig. 3 (24) (26) and par. [0036]: …electrodes 24, 26 of leads 20A, 20B are positioned to deliver electrical stimulation to a tissue site within brain 28…some of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to sense bioelectrical brain signals and others of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to deliver electrical stimulation to brain 28…all of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to both sense bioelectrical brain signals and deliver electrical stimulation to brain 28, as needed).
Regarding claims 20 and 76, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 19 and the device of claim 75, wherein a number of the plurality of detection contacts is the same as a number of the plurality of stimulation contacts (Jianping, par. [0036]: …electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to sense bioelectrical brain signals and others of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to deliver electrical stimulation to brain 28), and a range of a brain region detected by each of the plurality of detection contacts overlaps a range of a brain region affected by a respective one of the plurality of stimulation contacts corresponding to the each of the plurality of detection contacts (Jianping, par. [0042]: … corresponding sense and stimulation electrode combinations may comprise some or all of the same electrodes).
Regarding claim 21, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 19, wherein a number of the plurality of detection contacts is the same as a number of the plurality of stimulation contacts, and a range of a brain region detected by each of the plurality of detection contacts does not overlap a range of a brain region affected by a respective one of the plurality of stimulation contacts corresponding to the each of the plurality of detection contacts (Jianping, par. [0042]: …however, …all of the electrodes in corresponding sense and stimulation electrode combinations may be different).
Regarding claim 36, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the physiological activity signal of the each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient through the implantable electrode device comprises: detecting the physiological activity signal of the each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient through a plurality of groups of implantable electrodes of the implantable electrode device (Jianping, Fig. 1B and pars. [0022]: …two or more lead electrodes may be utilized to obtain two or more bioelectrical signals associated with neural activity, [0028]: …the pairs of electrodes may be electrodes 0 and 1, 1 and 2, and 2 and 3), and controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the implantable electrode device based on the determination result of the physiological activity signal of the each brain region comprises: controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the plurality of groups of implantable electrodes based on the determination result of the physiological activity signal of the each brain region (Jianping, par. [0056]: …if the determined oscillatory behavior deviation is indicative of a condition that requires correction, processor 40 may control stimulation generator 44 to deliver stimulation via the appropriate stimulation electrode combinations to deliver therapy to the brain site associated with the condition, to shift the associated behavior from the abnormal state to the normal or stable state), wherein at least one group of implantable electrodes comprises a detection contact and a stimulation contact (Fig. 3 (24) (26) and par. [0036]: …electrodes 24, 26 of leads 20A, 20B are positioned to deliver electrical stimulation to a tissue site within brain 28…some of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to sense bioelectrical brain signals and others of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to deliver electrical stimulation to brain 28…).
Regarding claims 40 and 41, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the electrical stimulation signal is used for the treatment of mental and behavioral disorders (Jianping, par. [0033]: …deep brain stimulation (DBS) system 10 that manages a medical condition of patient 12. The medical condition may be, for example, a movement disorder, neurodegenerative impairment, a mood disorder, or a seizure disorder of patient 12); and
wherein the mental and behavioral disorders comprises addiction, obsessive compulsive disorders, depressive disorders, anxiety disorders (Jianping, par. [0033]: ...therapy system 10 may provide therapy to manage symptoms of other patient conditions, such as, but not limited to,…mood (or psychological) disorders (e.g., major depressive disorder (MDD), bipolar disorder, anxiety disorders, …and obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)), or Alzheimer's disease).
Regarding claim 49, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the implantable electrode device comprises: controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through a plurality of stimulation contacts of the implantable electrode device (par. [0050] Accordingly, in some examples, stimulation generator 44 generates electrical stimulation signals in accordance with the electrical stimulation parameters…Stimulation generator 44 may shift the delivery of stimulation energy between two therapy programs, and processor 40 of IMD 16 may provide instructions that cause stimulation generator 44 to time-interleave stimulation energy between the electrode combinations of the two therapy programs). Jianping also discloses controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through a plurality of stimulation contacts of the implantable electrode device (par. [0050]), but does not expressly disclose that the plurality of stimulation contacts apply the same electrical stimulation signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to try and apply the same stimulation signal parameters to the plurality of electrode combinations since there are a finite number of solutions on how to apply stimulation parameters to each electrode (either each contact applies the same electrical stimulation signal or each contact applies a different stimulation signal) each having reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 50, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the implantable electrode device comprises: controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through a plurality of stimulation contacts of the implantable electrode device, wherein the plurality of stimulation contacts apply different electrical stimulation signals (Jianping, par. [0050] Accordingly, in some examples, stimulation generator 44 generates electrical stimulation signals in accordance with the electrical stimulation parameters…Stimulation generator 44 may shift the delivery of stimulation energy between two therapy programs…).
Regarding claims 51 and 80, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1 and the device of claim 66, wherein controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the implantable electrode device comprises: controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through a plurality of stimulation contacts of the implantable electrode device, wherein at least one parameter of the electrical stimulation signal applied by the plurality of stimulation contacts is associated with each other (Jianping, par. [0050] Accordingly, in some examples, stimulation generator 44 generates electrical stimulation signals in accordance with the electrical stimulation parameters…processor 40 of IMD 16 may provide instructions that cause stimulation generator 44 to time-interleave stimulation energy between the electrode combinations of the two therapy programs).
Regarding claims 52 and 81, Jianping discloses the method of claim 1 and the device of claim 66, wherein controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the implantable electrode device comprises: controlling whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through a plurality of stimulation contacts of the implantable electrode device, wherein each of the plurality of stimulation contacts corresponds to at least one detection contact, the each of the plurality of stimulation contacts and the at least one detection contact corresponding to the each of the plurality of stimulation contacts constitute a detection-stimulation group, and each detection- stimulation group independently detects the physiological activity signal and applies the electrical stimulation signal (Jianping, Fig. 3 (24) (26) and pars. [0036]: …electrodes 24, 26 of leads 20A, 20B are positioned to deliver electrical stimulation to a tissue site within brain 28…In other examples, all of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to both sense bioelectrical brain signals and deliver electrical stimulation to brain 28, as needed, [0037]: The subset of electrodes 24, 26 that is used to deliver electrical stimulation to patient 12, and, in some cases, the polarity of the subset of electrodes 24, 26, may be referred to as a stimulation electrode combination or configuration. The subset of electrodes 24, 26 that is used to sense bioelectrical brain signals may be referred to as a sensing electrode combination or configuration).
Regarding claim 82, Jianping as modified discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein a processor executes the program to perform the method for neuro-stimulation of claim 1 (Jianping, Fig. 3 and pars. [0041], [0043]: …memory 42 stores therapy programs 54, sense electrode combinations and associated stimulation electrode combinations 56, operating instructions 58, and algorithm 60 in separate memories within memory 42 or separate areas within memory 42…).
Claims 42-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianping in view of De Ridder and Fischell as applied to claims 1-3, 7, 11-21, 36, 40-41, 49-52, 55, 59-60, 64, 66-68, 71, 73-76 and 80-82 above, and further in view of US 2022/0233860 A1 to Hamner et al. (hereinafter “Hamner”).
Regarding claims 42-44, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 41, except wherein the addiction comprises substance addiction or non- substance addiction;
wherein the substance addiction comprises drug addiction, alcohol addiction, nicotine addiction, or caffeine addiction; and
wherein the drug addiction comprises legal drug addiction or illegal drug addiction;
the legal drug addiction comprises hallucinogen addiction, inhalant drug addiction, anesthetic drug addiction, sedative drug addiction, hypnotic drug addiction, anxiolytic drug addiction, or stimulant drug addiction; the illegal drug addiction comprises: opioid drug addiction, cannabis addiction, methamphetamine addiction, or lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD) addiction.
However Hamner, in the same field of endeavor: wearable nerve stimulation for the treatment of diseases, discloses wherein the addiction comprises substance addiction or non- substance addiction (par. [0302]: …examples of disorders that may be treated by any of the methods disclosed herein…Substance-related disorders include substance dependence, substance addiction, substance-induced anxiety disorder, and substance-induced mood disorder);
the substance addiction comprises drug addiction, alcohol addiction, nicotine addiction, or caffeine addiction (par. [0302]: …examples of disorders that may be treated by any of the methods disclosed herein…Substance-related disorders include substance dependence, substance addiction, substance-induced anxiety disorder, and substance-induced mood disorder. Substance dependence and addiction can occur with a variety of substances, including but not limited to, alcohol, nicotine…caffeine), and the non-substance addiction comprises gambling addiction, sexual behavior disorder/addiction, or gaming disorder (par. [0302]: …examples of disorders that may be treated by any of the methods disclosed herein…methods provided can be used to treat subjects experiencing intermittent excessive behaviors (IEB). IEB characterize a variety of disorders including…aberrant sexual conduct, and compulsive gambling), wherein the drug addiction comprises legal drug addiction or illegal drug addiction;
the legal drug addiction comprises hallucinogen addiction, inhalant drug addiction, anesthetic drug addiction, sedative drug addiction, hypnotic drug addiction, anxiolytic drug addiction, or stimulant drug addiction; the illegal drug addiction comprises: opioid drug addiction, cannabis addiction, methamphetamine addiction, or lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD) addiction (par. [0302]: …examples of disorders that may be treated by any of the methods disclosed herein…Substance-related disorders include substance dependence, substance addiction, substance-induced anxiety disorder, and substance-induced mood disorder. Substance dependence and addiction can occur with a variety of substances, including but not limited to…cocaine, opioids, narcotics, hallucinogens, amphetamines, phencyclidines, phencyclidine-like substances, inhalants, and sedatives) to provide the benefit of treating conditions with a neurological component (par. [0302]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the method and device for neuro-stimulation of the brain region to treat mental and behavioral disorders, as taught by the modified system of Jianping with treating for non-substance, substance, legal and illegal substance abuse, as taught by Hamner, in order to treat conditions with a neurological component.
Regarding claims 45 and 46, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the electrical stimulation signal is used for the treatment of drug addiction, obsessive compulsive disorders, or depressive disorders (par. [0033]: ...therapy system 10 may provide therapy to manage symptoms of other patient conditions, such as, but not limited to,…mood (or psychological) disorders (e.g., major depressive disorder (MDD)…and obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD))…), but does not disclose wherein the electrical stimulation signal is used for the treatment of drug addiction, and the electrical stimulation signal inhibits drug addition of the patient.
However, Hamner discloses the electrical stimulation signal is used for the treatment of drug addiction, and the electrical stimulation signal inhibits drug addition of the patient (par. [0302]: …examples of disorders that may be treated by any of the methods disclosed herein…Substance-related disorders include substance dependence, substance addiction…) to provide the benefit of treating conditions with a neurological component (par. [0302]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the method and device for neuro-stimulation of the brain region to treat mental and behavioral disorders, as taught by the modified system of Jianping, and treating for non-substance, substance, legal and illegal substance abuse, as taught by Hamner, in order to treat conditions with a neurological component.
Claims 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianping in view of De Ridder and Fischell as applied to claims 1-3, 7, 11-21, 36, 40-41, 49-52, 55, 59-60, 64, 66-68, 71, 73-76 and 80-82 above, and further in view of US 2021/0085962 A1 to Patel and US 2008/0183098 A1 to Denison et al. (hereinafter, “Denison”).
Regarding claim 37, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the physiological activity signal of the each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient through the implantable electrode device comprises: detecting the physiological activity signal of the each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient through at least one detection contact of the implantable electrode device (Jianping, Fig. 3 (24) (26) and par. [0036]: …electrodes 24, 26 of leads 20A, 20B are positioned to deliver electrical stimulation to a tissue site within brain 28…some of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to sense bioelectrical brain signals and others of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to deliver electrical stimulation to brain 28…), wherein a frequency range of the physiological activity signal is 0.5 Hz to 150 Hz (par. [0046] 1. Frequency…approximately 130 Hz), but does not disclose wherein a diameter range of each of the at least one detection contact is 0.1 mm to 3 mm; and
an amplitude range of a physiological activity signal acquired by each of the at least one detection contact is 5 uV to 12.5 mV.
However, Patel, which is in the same field of endeavor: method and device for deep brain stimulation, discloses a diameter range of each of the at least one detection contact is 0.1 mm to 3 mm (par. [0108] The electrode lead…an outer diameter of the electrode lead may be around 1.3 mm or less) for the purpose of dimensioning for insertion into the user's brain (par. [0108]), but does not disclose wherein an amplitude range of a physiological activity signal acquired by each of the at least one detection contact is 5 uV to 12.5 mV.
Yet Denison, which is in the same field of endeavor: instrumentation for impedance measurement, discloses an amplitude range of a physiological activity signal acquired by each of the at least one detection contact is 5 uV to 12.5 mV (paras. [0036]: …useful as an instrumentation…monitoring of brain signals, and other physiological monitoring applications that require micro power systems for precision sensor measurements, [0043]: …instrumentation …can provide …physiological signals…requiring a supply voltage of …less than or equal to approximately 1.5 volts.) to achieve stable measurement at low frequency with very low power (par. [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the physiological sensing contact of the modified system of Jianping and an electrode diameter of 1.3 mm or less of Patel, as well as a physiological monitoring amplitude of less than 1.5 volts of Denison in order to dimension for insertion into the user's brain, and to achieve stable measurement at low frequency with very low power.
Regarding claim 38, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the physiological activity signal of the each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient through the implantable electrode device comprises: detecting the physiological activity signal of the each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient through at least one detection contact of the implantable electrode device (Jianping, Fig. 3 (24) (26) and par. [0036]: …electrodes 24, 26 of leads 20A, 20B are positioned to deliver electrical stimulation to a tissue site within brain 28…some of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to sense bioelectrical brain signals and others of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to deliver electrical stimulation to brain 28…), wherein a frequency range of the physiological activity signal is 150 Hz to 30000 Hz (Jianping, par. [0046] 1. Frequency: between approximately 100 Hz and approximately 500 Hz, such as approximately 130 Hz), but does not disclose
a diameter range of each of the at least one detection contact is 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm; and
an amplitude range of a physiological activity signal acquired by each of the at least one detection contact is 5 uV to 10 mV.
However, Patel discloses a diameter range of each of the at least one detection contact is 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm (par. [0108] The electrode lead may be dimensioned for insertion into the user's brain…an outer diameter of the electrode lead may be around 1.3 mm or less) for the purpose of dimensioning for insertion into the user's brain (par. [0108]), but the modified system of Jianping and the system of Patel does not disclose an amplitude range of a physiological activity signal acquired by each of the at least one detection contact is 5 uV to 10 mV.
However, Denison discloses an amplitude range of a physiological activity signal acquired by each of the at least one detection contact is 5 uV to 10 mV (pars. [0036]: …useful as an instrumentation…monitoring of brain signals, and other physiological monitoring applications that require micro power systems for precision sensor measurements, [0043]: …instrumentation…can provide …physiological signals …requiring a supply voltage of …less than or equal to approximately 1.5 volts.) to achieve stable measurement at low frequency with very low power (par. [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the physiological sensing contact of the modified system of Jianping and an electrode diameter of 1.3 mm or less of Patel, and a physiological monitoring amplitude of less than 1.5 volts of Denison in order to dimension for insertion into the user's brain, and to achieve stable measurement at low frequency with very low power.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianping in view of De Ridder and Fischell as applied to claims 1-3, 7, 11-21, 36, 40-41, 49-52, 55, 59-60, 64, 66-68, 71, 73-76 and 80-82 above, and further in view of Patel.
Regarding claim 39, Jianping as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the physiological activity signal of the each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient through the implantable electrode device comprises: detecting the physiological activity signal of the each brain region in the at least one brain region of the patient through at least one detection contact of the implantable electrode device (Jianping, Fig. 3 (24) (26) and par. [0036]: …electrodes 24, 26 of leads 20A, 20B are positioned to deliver electrical stimulation to a tissue site within brain 28…some of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to sense bioelectrical brain signals and others of electrodes 24, 26 may be configured to deliver electrical stimulation to brain 28…), but does not disclose wherein a diameter range of each of the at least one detection contact is 5 um to 100 um.
However, Patel discloses a diameter range of each of the at least one detection contact is 5 um to 100 um (par. [0108] The electrode lead may be dimensioned for insertion into the user's brain…an outer diameter of the electrode lead may be around 1.3 mm or less) for the purpose of dimensioning for insertion into the user's brain (par. [0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the physiological sensing contact of the modified system of Jianping, and an electrode diameter of 1.3 mm or less of Patel in order to dimension for insertion into the user's brain.
Claims 53, 54, and 56-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianping in view of De Ridder and Fischell as applied to claims 1-3, 7, 11-21, 36, 40-41, 49-52, 55, 59-60, 64, 66-68, 71, 73-76 and 80-82 above, and further in view of WO 2021081097 A1 to Linde et al. (hereinafter “Linde”).
Regarding claims 53 and 54, Jianping as modified discloses all of the method of claim 52, except wherein a time when each detection-stimulation group performs physiological activity signal detection is not synchronized with a time when at least one detection- stimulation group performs physiological activity signal detection, and a time when the each detection-stimulation group applies the electrical stimulation signal is not synchronized with a time when the at least one detection-stimulation group applies the electrical stimulation signal.
wherein different detection-stimulation groups perform physiological activity signal detection synchronously, and different detection-stimulation groups perform electrical stimulation signal application synchronously.
However Linde, in the same field of endeavor: multi-target adaptive neurostimulation therapy control, discloses a time when each detection-stimulation group performs physiological activity signal detection is not synchronized with a time when at least one detection- stimulation group performs physiological activity signal detection (pars. [0091], [0093]: In some examples, the state machine may define a control policy algorithm for controlling the delivery of therapy based on sensed and/or classified physiological states of patient 14.), and a time when the each detection-stimulation group applies the electrical stimulation signal is not synchronized with a time when the at least one detection-stimulation group applies the electrical stimulation signal (Fig. 2 and par. [0092] To control IMD 16 to deliver electrical stimulation therapy, processor 32 may cause stimulation generator 36 to deliver electrical stimulation therapy to one or more tissue sites of brain 12 of patient 14 via lead 18. In some cases, processor 32 may subdivide electrodes 20 into different subsets of electrodes and cause each of the different subsets of electrodes to deliver electrical stimulation to a respective one of a plurality of target tissue sites. For example, processor 32 may cause stimulation generator 36 to deliver electrical stimulation to a first target tissue site via a first subset of electrodes 20 (e.g., electrodes 20 located on lead segment 28) in a first stimulation mode and to deliver electrical stimulation to a second target area via a second subset of electrodes 20 (e.g., electrodes 20 located on lead segment 30) in a second stimulation mode).
wherein different detection-stimulation groups perform physiological activity signal detection synchronously, and different detection-stimulation groups perform electrical stimulation signal application synchronously (par. [0092]: The electrical stimulation that is delivered via each of the subsets of electrodes 20 may be controlled independently and may be controlled and delivered either simultaneously or alternately in time) for the purpose of obtaining and subsequently classifying the patient's state (par. [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the method and device for neuro-stimulation of the brain region with different electrode sensing and stimulating groups, as taught by Jianping and De Ridder, synchronously and asynchronously performing stimulation, as taught by Linde, in order to stimulate based on obtained and subsequently classified the patient's state.
Regarding claims 56, 57 and 58, Jianping as modified discloses the device of claim 55, wherein the implantable electrode device comprises a first implantable electrode (Jianping, Fig. 2 (24)) and a second implantable electrode (Jianping, Fig. 2 (26)), and wherein the brain regions comprises the nucleus accumbens and the anterior limb of internal capsule (paras. [0055]: …deep brain…implantation is employed in some embodiments, [0057]: …brain tissue can include subcortical targets…nucleus accumbens…internal capsula, anterior… Further, in addition to grey matter, also white matter tracts may be targeted, such as the anterior limb of the interior capsula…),
but does not disclose wherein the first implantable electrode is configured to be implanted into a first brain region of the patient and detect a physiological activity signal of the first brain region;
and the second implantable electrode is configured to be implanted into a second brain region of the patient and detect a physiological activity signal of the second brain region;
wherein the controller is configured to control whether to apply the electrical stimulation signal to the at least one brain region through the implantable electrode device in the following manner: controlling the first implantable electrode and the second implantable electrode to synchronously or asynchronously apply the electrical stimulation signal to the first brain region and the second brain region; and
wherein the electrical stimulation signal applied to the first brain region and the electrical stimulation signal applied to the second brain region differ from each other in at least one of parameters: a duration, an amplitude, a frequency, or a pulse width.
However, Linde discloses the first implantable electrode is configured to be implanted into a first brain region of the patient (Fig. 2 (28)) and detect a physiological activity signal of the first brain region; and the second implantable electrode is configured to be implanted into a second brain region of the patient (Fig. 2 (30)) and detect a physiological activity signal of the second brain region (par. [0089]: The state machine may generate one or more therapy decisions based on one or more sensed states of patient 14. The state machine may have a structure that is defined at least in part by one or more programmable state parameters); and
the electrical stimulation signal applied to the first brain region and the electrical stimulation signal applied to the second brain region differ from each other in at least one of parameters: a duration, an amplitude, a frequency, or a pulse width (par. [0101]: Each program may specify a set of stimulation parameters, such as amplitude, pulse width and pulse rate, if applicable and may specify one or more stimulation patterns (e.g., cycling, randomized, staircase, etc.)…parameters may include amplitude and frequency. In addition, each program may specify a particular electrode combination for delivery of stimulation, and an electrode configuration in terms of the polarities and regulated/unregulated status of the electrodes. Again, the electrode combination may specify particular electrodes in a single array or multiple arrays, and on a single lead or among multiple leads) for the purpose of obtaining and subsequently classifying the patient's state (par. [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the method and device for neuro-stimulation of the brain region with different electrode sensing and stimulating groups, as taught by Jianping and De Ridder, synchronously and asynchronously performing stimulation, as taught by Linde, in order to stimulate based on obtained and subsequently classified the patient's state.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dou US 2016/0089532 A1 teaches a lead system for providing deep brain stimulation to a patient (see abstract).
/K.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/NIKETA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792