Response to Arguments
Claims 1-6, 8-18,20-25 are pending with Claims 7 and 19 previously cancelled. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Remarks Pg. 12-13 state the following:
“Furthermore, regarding Fig. 6 of the cited reference Hiroyuki (as shown below), while cover 12 thereof corresponds to cover 180 of the application, the specification of the Hiroyuki reference indicates that cover 12 serves solely to prevent sound interference within housing 2 (as evidenced in paragraph 2 of page 3 of the English version of the Hiroyuki specification), whereas sound waves generated by speaker 5 can still be transmitted from the housing to the exterior through openings in the housing. The cited reference Hiroyuki fails to disclose the feature of the application wherein "the cover prevents the sound wave generated by the speaker from being transmitted out of the second sound chamber."
Therefore, even if cover 12 from the cited reference Hiroyuki were to be applied to the cited reference Shen (i.e., positioning cover 12 from Hiroyuki on the side of plate A and first stage (IS) opposite to the conical acoustic reflector in Shen to cover the speaker), a person having ordinary skill in the art would merely understand that openings exist between the first sound chamber and the second sound chamber, thereby permitting mutual sound transmission therebetween. Such combination would not provide the technical teaching to arrive at the amended technical feature of the application: "wherein the first sound chamber and the second sound chamber are respectively located at two opposite sides of the plate and the first stage, the first sound chamber and the second sound chamber are separated from each other by the plate and the first stage, thereby preventing the sound wave in the second sound chamber from being transmitted to the first sound chamber."
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Prior art Hiroyuki is only used to teach the feature of second sound chamber formed from cover 12 with its placement below the speaker. Therefore, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki teaches the amended features. Previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn. Rejections of all claims have been updated due to amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 11,317,183 B2) in view of Hiroyuki (JP H03123153)
Regarding Claim 1, Shen et al. discloses a speaker structure (100; Col. 3, Lines 24-40; Fig. 1,5-8), disposed in a housing (110), comprising: a plate (A in Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 7), a speaker (120), a conical acoustic reflector (Reflector 130 with 130a conical surface; Col. 3, Lines 38-60; Fig. 3), wherein the plate, the speaker, the conical acoustic reflector are assembled in the housing (See Fig. 1-2); wherein
the speaker structure comprises a speaker grille, a first stage and a second stage, wherein the first stage and the second stage extend toward an interior of the housing and the speaker grille is disposed at the housing and is formed by a plurality of openings surrounding an axis, and the speaker grille is located between the first stage the second stage (Grill with openings in area 110b between first stage marked as IS and connecting portion/second stage 110c within interior of housing 110; Col. 4, Lines 55-67; Fig. 7c,8c);
the plate is assembled to the first stage (See plate A in Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 7 connected to first stage IS);
the speaker is disposed at a through hole of the plate to be assembled to the plate (Speaker 120’s diaphragm above rectangular plate A in Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 7 infers placement in through hole); and
the conical acoustic reflector is disposed on the second stage (Reflector 130 disposed on second stage 110c through 130b; Fig. 8), wherein the conical acoustic reflector and the speaker are disposed along the axis and face each other, each of the speaker and the conical acoustic reflector is symmetrical about the axis (See Fig. 7), and a sound wave generated by the speaker is transmitted out of the housing from the speaker grille after being reflected via the conical acoustic reflector (Reflection shown as D1, D2 to outside of housing; Col. 3, Lines 45-55; Fig. 3), wherein the first stage (IS), the second stage (110c), the plate (A in Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 7), the speaker (120), and the conical acoustic reflector (130) form a first sound chamber of the speaker in the housing (First sound chamber as between when 130 is installed to 110; Fig. 7).
Shen et al. fails to explicitly disclose a cover assembled in the housing (110; Fig. 7); the cover is sealed to the plate (Plate A in Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 7) and encloses the speaker (120) to form a second sound chamber of the speaker, wherein the cover prevents the sound wave generated by the speaker from being transmitted out of the second sound chamber, and wherein the first sound chamber and the second sound chamber are respectively located at two opposite sides of the plate and the first stage, the first sound chamber and the second sound chamber are separated from each other by the plate and the first stage, thereby preventing the sound wave in the second sound chamber from being transmitted to the first sound chamber.
However, Hiroyuki teaches a cover assembled in the housing; the cover is sealed to the plate and encloses the speaker to form a second sound chamber of the speaker, wherein the cover prevents the sound wave generated by the speaker from being transmitted out of the second sound chamber (Hiroyuki: Cover 12 sealed to similarly located plate 7 (below plate A in in Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 7) encloses speaker 1 from below forming a second chamber to block internal sound from below the speaker; Description Pg. 3, Lines 1-6; Fig. 5-6), and wherein the first sound chamber and the second sound chamber are respectively located at two opposite sides of the plate and the first stage, the first sound chamber and the second sound chamber are separated from each other by the plate and the first stage, thereby preventing the sound wave in the second sound chamber from being transmitted to the first sound chamber (Follows from modifying Shen in view of Hiroyuki, as first chamber is above plate A with second chamber below plate A). Hiroyuki and Shen et al. are in similar fields comprising speaker devices. Modifying Shen et al. with teachings of Hiroyuki would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein a cover assembled in the housing; the cover is sealed to the plate and encloses the speaker to form a sound chamber of the speaker, wherein the cover prevents the sound wave generated by the speaker from being transmitted out of the sound chamber for the purpose of isolating sound to minimize acoustic coupling due to internal sound of the speaker (Hiroyuki: Description Pg. 3, Lines 1-6).
Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 7
Regarding Claim 2, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki discloses the speaker structure according to Claim 1, wherein the plurality of openings are disposed to surround the first sound chamber (See area inward of openings 110b; Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 3, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki discloses the speaker structure according to Claim 1, wherein the first stage and the plate form a plane, and the plane faces the conical acoustic reflector and the second stage (See first stage IS and plate A in Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 7 opposite to reflector 130 and second stage 110c).
Regarding Claim 4, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki discloses the speaker structure according to Claim 1, wherein the second stage and a conical reflection surface of the conical acoustic reflector form a smooth surface and the smooth surface faces the plate and the first stage (See second stage 110c mate to rim 130b of reflector 130 having a smooth surface 130a facing plate A in Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 8 and first stage IS; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki discloses the speaker structure according to Claim 1, wherein a direction in which the plate is assembled to the first stage and a direction in which the conical acoustic reflector is assembled to the second stage are opposite to each other, the first stage and the plate form a plane, the second stage and a conical reflection surface of the conical acoustic reflector form a smooth surface, and the plane and the smooth surface face each other (Plate A in Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 7 appears assembled to first stage IS from direction below/above. Reflector 130 assembled to second stage 110c from above. See first stage IS and plate A opposite to reflector 130 and second stage 110c. 130a of 130 appears smooth in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki discloses the speaker structure according to Claim 5, wherein the conical acoustic reflector is locked to the second stage through at least one screw, and the at least one screw used to lock the conical acoustic reflector is not located on the smooth surface (In Fig. 2: Reflector 130 locked to second stage 110c through screw 130c, screw 130c on opposite side of smooth surface 130a; Fig. 3).
Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki fails to explicitly disclose the plate is locked to the first stage through at least one screw (Plate A in Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 7 connected to first stage IS. Screws shown on plate A to mounted to unknown object), However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the plate is locked to the first stage through at least one screw for the purpose of being a commonly known method for reliably securing components together.
Regarding Claim 8, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki discloses the speaker structure according to Claim 1. wherein an aperture ratio of the speaker grille at the annular region is at least greater than 15% (Apertures of grille 110b appears to be approximately 50%; Fig. 7).
Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki fails to explicitly disclose wherein the annular region (Region of 110b; Fig. 7) is made of a metal material with a thickness of 1 mm. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the annular region is made of a metal material for the purpose of being sturdy and widely available to manufacture, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Moreover, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the annular region is made with a thickness of 1mm for the purpose of being compact and cost effective, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Regarding Claim 9, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki discloses the speaker structure according to Claim 1, wherein an aperture ratio of the speaker grille at the annular region is at least greater than 20% (Apertures of grille 110b appears to be approximately 50%; Fig. 7).
Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki fails to explicitly disclose wherein the annular region (Region of 110b; Fig. 7) is made of a plastic material with a thickness of 2 mm. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the annular region is made of a plastic material for the purpose of being an inexpensive and light material to source and manufacture, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
Moreover, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the annular region is made with a thickness of 2mm for the purpose of being compact and cost effective, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Regarding Claim 24, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki discloses wherein the housing has an annular region surrounding the first stage, the second stage, the speaker, the plate, and the conical reflector, the speaker grille is located at the annular region of the housing (Follows from exterior of housing 11 being an annular region Fig. 7. Annular region as location grille 110b), and an orthographic projection range of each one of the plurality of openings on the axis is aligned with an orthographic projection range of each one of the plurality of openings on the axis is aligned with an orthographic projection of the first stage and an orographic projection of the second stage on the axis, so that a range of each one of the plurality of openings along the axis is corresponding to a reflection range of the sound wave reflected by the conical acoustic reflector (Reflection range shown as D2 a radial direction of cylindrical housing 110 through openings 110b; Col. 3, Lines 45-55; Fig. 2-3).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 11,317,183 B2) in view of Hiroyuki (JP H03123153) and Yingyi et al. (CN 208285527 U)
Regarding Claim 10, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki discloses the speaker structure according to Claim 1. Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki fails to explicitly disclose wherein the speaker structure further comprises an acoustically transparent fabric, disposed outside the housing (110) and covering the speaker grille (110b). However, Yingyi et al. teaches wherein the speaker structure further comprises an acoustically transparent fabric, disposed outside the housing and covering the speaker grille (Yingyi: See 700 outside of housing 500 in Fig. la-le; Para. 0019, 0149). Yingyi et al., Hiroyuki, and Shen et al. are in similar fields comprising speaker devices. Modifying Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki with teachings of Yingyi et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the speaker structure further comprises an acoustically transparent fabric, disposed outside the housing and covering the speaker grille for the purpose of preventing dust (Yingyi: Para. 0149).
Regarding Claim 11, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki discloses the speaker structure according to Claim 1. Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki fails to explicitly disclose wherein a projection module and the conical acoustic reflector (130) disposed in the housing (110) are located at opposite sides of the plate and the projection module is located outside the second sound chamber (Shen: Conical acoustic reflector 130 disposed in housing 110 located at opposite side of plate A in Examiner Annotated Shen Fig. 7. Hiroyuki: Second sound chamber between cover 12 and similarly located plate 7; Fig. 5-6). However, Yingyi et al. teaches wherein a projection module and the conical acoustic reflector disposed in the housing are located at opposite sides of the plate and the projection module is located outside the second sound chamber (Yingyi: "Light transmitting component 40 and I.ED light" (Para. 0140) and conical acoustic reflector 150 are at opposite sides of collectively plates 741 outside of chamber 457; Para. Fig. 1 c-d. The structure of "light transmitting component 40 and LED light" projects light; i.e. a projection module). Yingyi et al., Hiroyuki, and Shen et al. are in similar fields comprising speaker devices. Modifying Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki with teachings of Yingyi et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein a projection module and the conical acoustic reflector disposed in the housing are located at opposite sides of the plate and the projection module is located outside the second sound chamber for the purpose of light visibility for a user.
Claim(s) 12-18,20-21, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 11,317,183 B2) in view of Hiroyuki (JP H03123153) and Endo et al. (JP 2003195886 A)
Regarding Claim 12, please note the rejection set forth above with respect to Claim 1. Claim 12 is rejected for similar reasons as Claim 1, but Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki fails to explicitly disclose a smart robot comprising the speaker structure and housing. However, Endo et al. teaches a smart robot comprising the speaker structure and housing (Endo: Robot 1 with speaker 18 within housing as head 10; Para. 0029-0030; Fig. 1). Endo et al., Hiroyuki, and Shen et al. are in similar fields comprising speakers. Modifying Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki with teachings of Endo et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein a smart robot comprises the speaker structure and housing for the purpose of mimicking human communication with voice output (Endo: Para. 0093).
Regarding Claim 13, please note the rejection set forth above with respect to Claim 2. Claim 13 is rejected for similar reasons as Claim 2; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding Claim 14, Shen et al. as modified by Hiroyuki and Endo et al. discloses the smart robot according to Claim 12, the housing is a head and a neck of the smart robot and the speaker grille is located at the neck of the smart robot (Endo: Head housing 10 and upper neck with speaker 18; Para. 0049,0051,0086. See grille of 18 in Fig. 1,4).
Regarding Claim 15, please note the rejection set forth above with respect to Claim 3. Claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons as Claim 3; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding Claim 16, please note the rejection set forth above with respect to Claim 4. Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons as Claim 4; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding Claim 17, please note the rejection set forth above with respect to Claim 5. Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons as Claim 5; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding Claim 18, please note the rejection set forth above with respect to Claim 6. Claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons as Claim 6; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding Claim 20, please note the rejection set forth above with respect to Claim 8. Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons as Claim 8; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding Claim 21, please note the rejection set forth above with respect to Claim 9. Claim 21 is rejected for similar reasons as Claim 9; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding Claim 25, please note the rejection set forth above with respect to Claim 24. Claim 25 is rejected for similar reasons as Claim 24; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 11,317,183 B2) in view of Hiroyuki (JP H03123153), Endo et al. (JP 2003195886 A), and Yingyi et al. (CN 208285527 U)
Regarding Claims 22-23, please note the rejection set forth above with respect to Claims 10-11. Claims 22-23 is rejected for similar reasons as Claims 10-11, respectively; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER B OLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/FORREST M PHILLIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837