DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-17 and 35-37 are pending:
Claims 1-4 and 35-37 are rejected.
Claims 5-17 have been withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 12/29/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been entered. Arguments were fully considered.
On pgs. 6-8 of Applicant’s Arguments, Applicant argues that:
A. Claims 1-2 and 4 are not obvious over Smirnov in view of Johnson.
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being obvious over US 6,022,479 by Smirnov in view of US 5,635,059 by Johnson.
Prior to amendment, Applicant respectfully maintains that increasing Smirnov's volume from 1 liter (about a quart) to 2,000-3,000 gallons is not merely an obvious change in size but rather provides an inventive step at least for the reasons discussed in the Smirnov declaration, the expected dampening effect of liquid when increasing the volume approximately 7-12 thousand fold as previously explained; and that Johnson's water treatment is limited to a narrowed venturi or choke point rather than thousands of gallons in a tank.
Nonetheless, without acquiescing to the refusal, claim 1 is further amended to require a switch for each tank that determines when the corresponding tank is full, wherein each switch is operably connected to a controller with a control panel that instructs a corresponding valve to close when receiving a stop signal from the switch for the corresponding tank, thereby stopping the flow of water into the corresponding tank when full. Neither feature is disclosed in Smirnov or Johnson.
For completeness, new claim 35 adds that the controller is configured to instruct activation of the activation assembly automatically upon receiving the stop signal to begin water activation; new claim 36 adds that that the control panel includes a filling indicator activated when filling the tank(s), and an in-2 KSR International Co. v. TeleflexInc. et al. 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741(2007) (an obvious analysis must determine "whether there was an apparent reason to combine the known elements in the fashion claimed by the patent at issue") citing In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988 (Fed. Cir. 2006) ("Rejections on obviousness grounds cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness").3 MPEP 2143.01, III and IV; see also KSR, supra at 1740-1741; Ex parte Levengood, 28 U.S.P.Q.2d 1300 (BPAI 1993). 4In re Hedges, 783 F.2d 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1986) process indicator; and new claim 37 adds a media life indicator that indicates when servicing is suggested for the activation assembly. None of these features are taught or suggested in Smirnov in view of Johnson.
B. Claim 3 is not obvious over Smirnov in view of Johnson and further in view of Wolf
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being obvious over Smirnov in view of Johnson and US 2013/0313191. Claim 3 depends from claim 1, and therefore includes all of the limitations of claim 1. However, the addition of Wolf fails to correct the deficiency of the rejection of claim 1 as demonstrated above; and alternatively in new claims 35-37.
This argument is moot because amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a means for powering and operating the system” recited in claim 1. The means for powering and operating the system per the instant specification corresponds to power supply 114 (see ¶72 of the instant specification) and a control panel 200 (see ¶73 of the instant specification); therefore, this structure or equivalent structure thereof capable of powering and operating the system meets the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smirnov (USPN 6,022,479) in view of Johnson (USPN 5,635,059) and further in view of Scalf (USPN 10,941,978).
Regarding claim 1, Smirnov teaches a large-scale system (corresponds to the system shown in Fig. 1; “large scale” does not impart additional structure) for the activation of water (this limitation is recited as an intended use), the system comprising:
…activation tank (reservoir 4)…
a switch for each tank that determines when the corresponding tank is full, wherein each switch is operably connected to a controller with a control panel that instructs a corresponding valve to close when receiving a stop signal from the switch for the corresponding tank, thereby stopping the flow of water into the corresponding tank when full;
C) an activation assembly (device 2) operably connected to …for direct exposure to the water (the limitation “direct exposure” is construed broadly to mean that there is no intervening structural barrier isolating the water from the exposure and because the device 2 emits low frequency oscillations toward the water 22 this limitation is met because the device 2 provides direct exposure by applying oscillations to the water without intervening this exposure),
activation tank (i.e. reservoir 4), …activation assembly (i.e. device 2) comprising:
i. a solenoid (electromagnets 34, see C4/L35-45; the electromagnet comprises a solenoid (or coil of wire)) comprising a column (column 10) …wherein the solenoid is configured to generate a magnetic field between 2,500 and 25,000 Oersteds (electromagnets 34 generating a magnetic field in the range of 2,500-25,000 Oserteds, see C4/L25-55);
ii. a polymeric composition (polymeric composition/body 12) held within the column (polymeric composition filling said interior of said column, see claim 1) and exposed to the magnetic field (the light radiation emitted from the diodes 16 and the magnetic field to which the polymer and materials are simultaneously subjected, see C5/L1-10), the polymeric composition comprising a polymer having a linear chain length of at least 38 monomer units, and dispersed within the polymeric composition is a mixture having between 0.04 -30 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of polymer (see claim 1; Smirnov anticipates the claimed ranges for linear chain length and mixture composition parts),
at least two of:
a) one or more of a metal, metal oxide, metal nitrate and a metal sulfate (metals and metal salts, see claim 1),
b) an inorganic acid (see claim 1), and
c) an aminoaldehyde (see claim 1);
iii. a cluster of light emitted diodes (LEDs) (light emitting member comprising diodes 16) (there are a plurality of diodes which corresponds to a cluster of LEDs) emitting at the polymer composition (the light radiation emitted from the diodes 16 and the magnetic field to which the polymer and materials are simultaneously subjected, see C5/L1-10), an emission wavelength between 540nm and 560 nm (range of 400-800 nm, see claim 1; Smirnov fully encompasses the claimed range), the cluster of LEDS configured to flash at a frequency between 7.2 Hz and 8.2 Hz (see claim 1; Smirnov anticipates the claimed range for frequency); and
C) a means (battery and electronics circuit) for powering and operating the system (the battery and electronics circuit are capable of powering and operating the system, see C8/L20-45).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 400-800 nm completely encompasses the claimed range of 540-560 nm. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Smirnov does not teach (1) having the activation tank is configured for storing at least 2000 gallons of water, (2) the system having two activation tanks such that each tank has an activation assembly; and (3) does not explicitly teach the column is wrapped in wiring of the solenoid; and (4) a switch for each tank that determines when the corresponding tank is full, wherein each switch is operably connected to a controller with a control panel that instructs a corresponding valve to close when receiving a stop signal from the switch for the corresponding tank, thereby stopping the flow of water into the corresponding tank when full.
In a related field of endeavor, Johnson teaches a method and apparatus for water treatment (see ABS) comprising two identical treatment units (see Fig. 6) and a column wrapped in wiring of the solenoid (coils 74) (coil 74 of wire helically wrapped along the length of the tube, see C9/L10-20 and Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation tank and activation assembly of Smirnov by duplicating said tank and assembly to provide two identical treatment units as disclosed by Johnson because multiple treatment units increase treatment efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wiring of solenoid and column of Smirnov by arranging the wiring of solenoid around the column as disclosed by Johnson because it achieves the predictable result of defining an exposure zone within a tube (i.e. column) (Johnson, see C9/L14-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation tank of Smirnov (as modified by Johnson) to adjust the size of the tank, including a size of at least 2,000 gallons because doing so achieves the predictable result of accommodating large quantities and adapting to different applications. The size of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237(CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
In a related field of endeavor, Scalf teaches a refrigerator fluid dispenser (see ABS) comprising a switch (control panel 18 includes switches, see C5/L25-35) for a tank that determines when the corresponding tank is full (characteristics of the water may include status, e.g. full, see C7/L5-15), wherein each switch is operably connected to a controller (water level sensor may generate a signal that is communicated to a controller to enable the controller to determine a water level in the receptacle, see C7/L28-35) with a control panel (i.e. control panel 18) that instructs a corresponding valve to close when receiving a stop signal from the switch for the corresponding tank, thereby stopping the flow of water into the corresponding tank when full (Each of valves 106, 114 and sensors 108, 112 is additionally coupled to a controller 118 to enable the controller to control dispensing valve 114 to dispense fluid from fluid storage receptacle 102, to control fill valve 106 to fill receptacle 102, see C10/L40-50; in the event that dispensing is occurring when receptacle fill valve 106 is closed, the determined volume is based on the change in fluid level in the receptacle, see C10/L55-65; the combination of C10/L40-50 and C10/L55-65 implies the claimed limitation is met).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify each tank of Smirnov (as modified by Johnson) by incorporating a control panel with controller, switch and valve as disclosed by Scalf because it is the simple addition of known devices for the benefit of controlling the levels within a receptacle (Scalf, see C11/L45-56).
Regarding claim 2, Smirnov, Johnson and Scalf teach the system of claim 1.
Smirnov does not particularly limit the size of the device as it can be constructed in any convenient size (Smirnov, see C8/L15-25); Smirnov further discloses in an alternative embodiment the liquid volume in the reservoir is 1 liter (Smirnov, see C8/L15-25); and two LEDs on the electrical circuit (Smirnov, see Fig. 5); having a column of 102.91 cm3 (Smirnov, calculated based on diameter of 1” and height of 8”, see C8/L15-25; therefore, the polymeric composition is <102.91 cm3).
However, Smirnov does not teach wherein each activation tank is 3000 gallons and the activation assembly comprises 7 LEDs; and wherein the polymeric composition has a volume of about 32,000 cm3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation tank of Smirnov (as modified by Johnson) to adjust the size of the tank, including a size of 3,000 gallons because doing so achieves the predictable result of accommodating large quantities and adapting to different applications. The size of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237(CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
It would have been further obvious to modify the activation assembly of Smirnov (as modified by Johnson) to adjust the number of LEDS to include 7 LEDs and adjust the size of the column, including a size of 32,000 cm3 in order to obtain a higher light intensity and enhanced activation capacity for the benefit of efficiently treating larger quantities and optimizing the overall treatment process. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, Smirnov, Johnson and Scalf teach a method of water activation (see ABS), comprising the steps of:
a) providing the system of claim 1 (the combination of Smirnov and Johnson teaches the claimed system);
b) filling each of two activation tanks with water (Smirnov, “the reservoir 4 is largely filled with liquid 22”, see C3/L65-67 therefore the step of filling took place) (Smirnov as modified by Johnson teaches the claimed limitation);
c) activating the activation assembly to produce magnetic field between 2,500 and 25,000 Oersteds (Smirnov, electromagnets 34 generating a magnetic field in the range of 2,500-25,000 Oserteds, see C4/L25-55); and
flashing the LEDs a frequency (Smirnov, flashes of light, see C2/L35-45) between 7.2 Hz and 8.2 Hz (Smirnov, see claim 1; Smirnov anticipates the claimed range) for …about 1 hour (a period of time usually 30-45 minutes, see C8/L35-45; the fall as disclosed by Smirnov overlaps with the claimed range at an end-point; about 1 hour is interpreted to mean +/- 15 minutes), thereby inducing low frequency oscillations of 0.5 to 5.0 Hz (Smirnov, see C6/L1-5; Smirnov anticipates the claimed range).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 30-45 minutes overlaps the claimed range of 45 minutes – 1 at an end point. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smirnov (USPN 6,022,479) in view of Johnson (USPN 5,635,059) in view of Scalf (USPN 10,941,978) and further in view of Wolf (US 2013/0313191).
Regarding claim 3, Smirnov, Johnson and Scalf teach the system of claim 1.
The combination of references does not teach a reverse osmosis system upstream of each activation assembly.
In a related field of endeavor, Wolf teaches a water treatment system and method (see ABS) comprising a reverse osmosis system (HP membrane subsystem 920 can include one or more reverse osmosis filters, see ¶169) upstream of the liquid activator assembly (UV 922) (see Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify each activation assembly of Smirnov by incorporating an upstream reverse osmosis system as disclosed by Wolf because it provides the benefit of removing salt and other ionic species thereby allowing the system to operate in an efficient and reliable manner (Wolf, see ¶169).
Claims 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smirnov (USPN 6,022,479) in view of Johnson (USPN 5,635,059) in view of Scalf (USPN 10,941,978) and further in view of Ruffin (WO 2020/231435).
Regarding claim 35, Smirnov, Johnson and Scalf teach the system of claim 1.
The combination of references does not teach where the controller is configured to instruct activation of the activation assembly automatically upon receiving the stop signal to begin water activation.
In a related field of endeavor, Ruffin teaches a water filtration system (see ABS) comprising controller (controller 1010) is configured to instruct activation of the activation assembly automatically upon receiving the signal to begin water activation (controller 1010 configured to activate the light source upon sensing a signal from one or more of an switch/actuator 1020, timer 1030 and flow sensor, see pg. 13, lines 6-11 and claim 8; the controller 1010 may activate the light source 490 based upon a predetermined volume of water flowing into and/or out of the filter 300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller configured to a stop signal of Smirnov (as modified by Scalf) by configuring to instruct activation of activation assembly automatically upon receiving the signal to begin water activation as disclosed by Ruffin because it allows for automatic purification of the water. (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 36, Smirnov, Johnson, Scalf and Ruffin teach the system of claim 35, wherein the control panel comprises a filling indicator activated when filling the tank(s) (Scalf, fill indicators, see C7/L15-25 and indicating that the receptacle is full, see C11/L45-55), and an in-process indicator (Scalf, light indicator, see C7/L15-25 and user displays 82 including various indicators, see C9/L1-10).
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smirnov (USPN 6,022,479) in view of Johnson (USPN 5,635,059) in view of Scalf (USPN 10,941,978) and further in view of Guess (US 2012/0318723).
Regarding claim 37, Smirnov, Johnson and Scalf teach the system of claim 1.
The combination of references does not teach wherein the control panel comprises a media life indicator that indicates when servicing is suggested for the activation assembly.
In a related field of endeavor, Guess teaches a water dispensing (see ABS) comprising control panel (control panel 24) comprises a media life indicator that indicates when servicing is suggested for the activation assembly (user control panel 24 includes a numbers of indicators 42 configured to provide feedback to the user, the indicators 42 may be embodied as light-emitting diodes that are activated to alert the user to a condition of the water dispensing system 10, e.g. expired water filter, see ¶31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control panel of Smirnov (as modified by Scalf) by incorporating a media life indicator as disclosed by Guess because it is the simple addition of a known indicator to a known control device obviously resulting in achieving the predictable result of alerting a user of a condition of the water dispending system (Guess, see ¶31) with an expectation of success. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Conclusion
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1778