DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 8-13, 32-35, 39-44, 63-64 and 67-68 are pending in the current application.
The Claims 1-4, 32-35, 63 and 67 are Allowed.
The Claims 14-31, 45-62, 65-66 and 69-70 are Withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “means for” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder that is merely a substitute for the term "means" coupled with functional language “to” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) (63 and 64) has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Limitation
Corresponding structure
receiving, from a network node, a no-delay scheduled location…
Fig. 4: 312 & ¶s [0126]
determining, at time T1, that a location of the UE is not yet known…
Fig. 6: 606 & ¶ [0116]
determining location information for the UE, the location information comprising a location measurement
Fig. 4: 332 & ¶s [0135]
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, 39-41, 64 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Cawse et al Patent No. :( US 9,538,334 B2) hereinafter referred as Cawse, in view of Vutukuri et al US Patent No.:( US 10,936,990 B2) hereinafter referred as Vutukuri.
For claim 8, Cawse teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network node, a no-delay scheduled location request that identifies a future time T1 for reporting, at time t1, a location of the UE at time t1 ( see Figure 7b showing the actual mobile device position “no-delay schedule location” and t2equivalent to t1 which is the future position) ( column 12, lines 17-25);
determining, at time T1, that a location of the UE is not yet known (column 2, lines 38-42), ( column 10, lines 62-67) -( column 11, lines 1-9), ( column 11, lines 23-28) and ( column 12, lines 11-16 disclosing the misalignment over the time “t2’ of the mobile device between the actual mobile device position where the position is not yet known fig 8a). However, Cawse disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of reporting an error to the network node as recited in claim 8.
Vutukuri from the same or analogous art teaches the reporting an error to the network node (Colum 16, lines 39-54). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the reporting an error to the network node as taught by Vutukuri into the time difference of arrival positioning of a mobile device of Cawse.
The reporting an error to the network node can be modify/implemented by combining the reporting an error to the network node with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Vutukuri into the time difference of arrival positioning of a mobile device of Cawse. As disclosed in Vutukuri, the motivation for the combination would be to use the initial location information in one initial time considered as the time information and report this location information to the base station becoming the method/device more efficient and reliable for a better communication connection.
For claim 9, Cawse teaches the method, wherein the no-delay scheduled location request comprises a scheduled location request having a response quality of service (QoS) attribute indicating no delay ( column 17, lines 1-18)
For claim 10, Cawse teaches the method, wherein reporting an error with the network node with zero delay further comprises providing, to the network node, one or more reasons for the error ( column 12, lines 17-25)
For claim 39, Cawse teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory (704 fig. 7);
a communication interface (710 fig. 7); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the communication interface (702 fig. 7), the at least one processor configured to:
receive, via the communication interface, from a network node, a no-delay scheduled location request that identifies a future time T1 for reporting, at time t1, a location of the UE at time t1 ( see Figure 7b showing the actual mobile device position “no-delay schedule location” and t2equivalent to t1 which is the future position) ( column 12, lines 17-25);
determine, at time T1, that a location of the UE is not yet known (column 2, lines 38-42), ( column 10, lines 62-67) -( column 11, lines 1-9), ( column 11, lines 23-28) and ( column 12, lines 11-16 disclosing the misalignment over the time “t2’ of the mobile device between the actual mobile device position where the position is not yet known fig 8a). However, Cawse disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of reporting an error to the network node as recited in claim 39.
Vutukuri from the same or analogous art teaches the reporting an error to the network node (Colum 16, lines 39-54). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the reporting an error to the network node as taught by Vutukuri into the time difference of arrival positioning of a mobile device of Cawse.
The reporting an error to the network node can be modify/implemented by combining the reporting an error to the network node with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Vutukuri into the time difference of arrival positioning of a mobile device of Cawse. As disclosed in Vutukuri, the motivation for the combination would be to use the initial location information in one initial time considered as the time information and report this location information to the base station becoming the method/device more efficient and reliable for a better communication connection.
For claim 40, Cawse teaches the UE, wherein the no-delay scheduled location request comprises a scheduled location request having a response quality of service (QoS) attribute indicating no delay ( column 17, lines 1-18).
For claim 41, Cawse teaches the UE, wherein the at least one processor being configured to report an error with the network node with zero delay comprises the at least one processor being configured to provide, to the network node, one or more reasons for the error ( column 12, lines 17-25)
For claim 64, Cawse teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising
means for receiving, from a network node, a no-delay scheduled location request that identifies a future time T1 for reporting , at time t1, a location of the UE at time t1 ( see Figure 7b showing the actual mobile device position “no-delay schedule location” and t2equivalent to t1 which is the future position) ( column 12, lines 17-25);
means for determining, at time T1, that a location of the UE is not yet known (column 2, lines 38-42), ( column 10, lines 62-67) -( column 11, lines 1-9), ( column 11, lines 23-28) and ( column 12, lines 11-16 disclosing the misalignment over the time “t2’ of the mobile device between the actual mobile device position where the position is not yet known fig 8a). However, Cawse disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of reporting an error to the network node as recited in claim 64.
Vutukuri from the same or analogous art teaches the reporting an error to the network node (Colum 16, lines 39-54). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the reporting an error to the network node as taught by Vutukuri into the time difference of arrival positioning of a mobile device of Cawse.
The reporting an error to the network node can be modify/implemented by combining the reporting an error to the network node with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Vutukuri into the time difference of arrival positioning of a mobile device of Cawse. As disclosed in Vutukuri, the motivation for the combination would be to use the initial location information in one initial time considered as the time information and report this location information to the base station becoming the method/device more efficient and reliable for a better communication connection.
For claim 68, Cawse teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a UE, cause the UE to:
receive, from a network node, a no-delay scheduled location request that identifies a future time T1 for reporting a location of the UE ( see Figure 7b showing the actual mobile device position “no-delay schedule location” and t2equivalent to t1 which is the future position) ( column 12, lines 17-25);
determine, at time T1, that a location of the UE is not yet known (column 2, lines 38-42), ( column 10, lines 62-67) -( column 11, lines 1-9), ( column 11, lines 23-28) and ( column 12, lines 11-16 disclosing the misalignment over the time “t2’ of the mobile device between the actual mobile device position where the position is not yet known fig 8a). However, Cawse disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of reporting an error to the network node as recited in claim 68.
Vutukuri from the same or analogous art teaches the reporting an error to the network node (Colum 16, lines 39-54). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the reporting an error to the network node as taught by Vutukuri into the time difference of arrival positioning of a mobile device of Cawse.
The reporting an error to the network node can be modify/implemented by combining the reporting an error to the network node with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Vutukuri into the time difference of arrival positioning of a mobile device of Cawse. As disclosed in Vutukuri, the motivation for the combination would be to use the initial location information in one initial time considered as the time information and report this location information to the base station becoming the method/device more efficient and reliable for a better communication connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 32-35, 63 and 67 are Allowed.
Claims 11-13, 42-44 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642