Response to Amendment
This is a final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 06/26/2025. Claims 1 – 3 5, 9, 11 – 12, 14, and 17 – 18 are amended. Claims 19 – 20 are new. Claims 1 – 20 are pending review in the current Office action.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 4. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN109473729A, Machine translation provided) in view of Kim (US PG Pub 2010/0310912 A1 – cited in previous Office action mailed 04/04/2025).
Regarding Claim 1, modified Zheng discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zheng discloses an electrode assembly (wound core structure; Fig. 10; [09];[80]), comprising a first electrode plate (first pole piece; Fig. 10, 1003 and 1004; [53];[55];[80]); a second electrode plate (second pole piece; Fig. 10, 1001 and 1002; [53];[55];[80]); a separator arranged between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (isolation film; refer to dotted line shown between the electrodes in Fig. 10; [09];[44]), the electrode assembly being formed by winding the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate, that is Zheng teaches that the battery core structure is wound ([80]), which one with ordinary skill in that art would recognize to be a structure formed by winding the electrode plates and separator.
Annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing corresponding electrode plate winding terminating ends.
Zheng further discloses wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first current collector (aluminum foil; Fig. 10, 1003; [55];[80]) and a first active material layer (lithium cobalt oxide layer; Fig. 10, 1004; [53];[80]), the first active material layer is arranged on a surface of the first current collector (Refer to arrangement of the lithium cobalt oxide layer 1004 and the aluminum foil 1003 in Fig. 10), and a winding terminating end of the first electrode plate is positioned on an outer side of a winding terminating end of the second electrode plate facing away from a winding core (Refer to the arrangement of the winding terminating ends shown in annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 above); the first active material layer completely covers the winding terminating end of the first electrode plate on only one surface of the first current collector facing toward the second electrode plate (Refer to arrangement of the lithium cobalt oxide layer 1004 on the winding end of aluminum foil 1003 in Fig. 10); an outer surface of the electrode assembly includes a first plane surface (straight section; Fig. 10, 1007; [80]), a second plane surface (straight section; Fig. 10, 1008; [80]), a first arc surface (bent section; Fig. 10, 1009; [80]) and a second arc surface (bent section; Fig. 10, 1010; [80]); the first plane surface and the second plane surface are arranged opposite to each other along a thickness direction of the electrode assembly (Refer to arrangement of straight sections 1007 and 1008 in Fig. 10), and the first arc surface and the second arc surface are arranged opposite to each other along a width direction of the electrode assembly (Refer to arrangement of bent sections 1009 and 1010 in Fig. 10).
Annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing adhesive structure in Zheng.
Zheng does not explicitly label the structure; however, in Fig. 10, on the bent section 1009, Zheng appears to show including a structure on the corresponding winding end of the first electrode plate and attached to the first arc surface {i.e. bent section 1009} (Refer to annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing adhesive structure above), and the structure further covers directly at least a part of the uncoated surface of the first current collector at the winding terminating end of the first electrode plate (Refer to placement of the adhesive structure on the winding terminating end of the electrode plate in annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing adhesive structure above). Due to the structure being included on the winding end of the wound electrode assembly, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the structure to specifically be an adhesive structure, because, as evidenced by Kim, it is known in the art to include an adhesive layer on a winding end of the electrode assembly to prevent the electrode from unwinding (Kim: [0008]).
Zheng does not disclose the particulars of the adhesive structure, and therefore, does not explicitly disclose an adhesive structure with a thickness of 15 – 25 µm.
Kim teaches wound electrode structures with varying finishing tape lengths and widths (Figs. 2 – 5; [0008];[0034]). Kim further teaches using finishing tape with a thickness of 15 – 19 µm to fix wound electrode assemblies ([0026 – 0027]). Thicknesses of 19 µm or less are taught by Kim to allow for reduced electrode thicknesses that permit the inclusion of additional electrolyte in the battery can, while thicknesses of 15 µm or more are taught by Kim to be a technical practicality, as thicknesses less than 15 µm are taught to tear and make it difficult to effectively fasten and prevent the electrode assembly from unwinding ([0026 – 0027]). Increases in battery thickness are taught by Kim to hinder the formation of high capacity secondary batteries ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the thickness of Zheng’s adhesive structure be within the range taught by Kim, and thus within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving an adhesive member with a thickness capable of providing an increase in battery capacity by reducing the electrode assembly thickness and capable of effectively fastening and preventing the unwinding of the electrode assembly.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Zheng discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zheng further discloses wherein the winding terminating end of the separator {i.e. isolation films represented by dotted lines in Fig. 10} extends out of the winding terminating end of the second electrode plate along the winding direction, and is attached to an inner surface of the adhesive structure (Refer to how the isolation films, represented by the dotted lines in Fig. 10, extend out past the corresponding winding terminal end of the second electrode plate and are included on an inner side of the adhesive structure in annotated and enlarged fig. 10 below).
Annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing winding terminating end structure of Zheng.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Zheng discloses all limitations as set forth above. Based on the annotated and enlarged fig. 10 below showing the corresponding boundary between the first plane surface and the first arc surface, Zheng further shows wherein the winding terminating end plate is positioned at a boundary between the first plane surface and the first arc surface.
Annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing corresponding boundary between the first plane surface and the first arc surface.
Claim(s) 7 – 10, 13, and 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN109473729A) and Kim (US PG Pub 2010/0310912 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Machida (US PG Pub. 2014/0342205 A1 – cited in previous Office action mailed 04/04/2025).
Annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing corresponding first and second tab structure in Zheng.
Regarding Claims 6 – 7, modified Zheng discloses all limitations as set forth above. While not labeled, Zheng further appears to include tab structure in the central portion of the wound electrode assembly that does not include active material, that is, the tab structure show in annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 above, is similar in structure to the tab configuration taught by Machida, a prior art also directed toward wound electrode assembly structures (Machida: Fig. 3; [0027]). Therefore, by including two tabs, with one tab attached to the aluminum foil {i.e. positive electrode collector} and the other tab attached to the copper foil {i.e. negative electrode collector}, Zheng necessarily further discloses the claimed structure of wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a first tab and a second tab, the first tab is connected to the first electrode plate, and the second tab is connected to the second electrode plate (Claim 6).
Furthermore, by not including any active material on the foil portions including the tabs, Zheng further includes the claimed structure of wherein a winding starting end of the first electrode plate is provided with a first plain foil area, a winding starting end of the second electrode plate is provided with a second plain foil area, the first tab is arranged in the first plain foil area, and the second tab is arranged in the second plain foil area (Claim 7).
Regarding Claims 8 – 9, modified Zheng discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zheng teaches including insulating portions on the electrode assembly to achieve an improvement in electrochemical performance ([49]).The insulating portions are not, however, included in the central portion of the electrode assembly; therefore, modified Zheng does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first insulating structure, the first insulating structure being arranged in the first plain foil area and covering the first tab (Claim 8).
Machida teaches a wound electrode assembly including insulating members in the central area of the electrode assembly that includes the tabs (Fig. 3; [0027 – 0028]). In Fig. 3, Machida teaches having two insulating members 16a on the positive electrode plate 12, one insulating member 16a is included around the positive electrode tab and the other, longer, insulating member 16a is included in the exposed portion of the positive electrode collector above the negative electrode winding start end (Fig. 3, [0027]). Machida further teaches an alternative embodiment, where, instead of the positive electrode, it is the negative electrode {which corresponds to the claimed first electrode} that includes the 16a insulating members (Fig. 4B; [0029]). The inclusion of the insulators on the electrodes is taught to prevent short-circuiting from occurring in the inner side of the battery, prevent abnormal heat generation of the battery, and reduce battery deformation ([0042]).
Since Zheng has a tab-structure similar to Machida, and is concerned with preventing heat accumulation in the electrode assembly ([44]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electrode assembly in Zheng by including the insulating member structure taught by Machida, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving reduced short-circuiting risks as well as abnormal heat generation prevention and reduced battery deformation.
The insulator configuration of modified Zheng reads on the claimed configuration of wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first insulating structure being arranged in the first plain foil area and covering the first tab (Claim 8) and further wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a second insulating structure, and the second insulating structure covers an end portion of the first plain foil area (Claims 9), because, based on the positions of 16a in Fig. 3 of Machida, in modified Zheng, a first, short insulting portion would be covering the first tab {i.e. positive electrode tab}, and a second, longer insulating portion would be covering the exposed aluminum foil area {which corresponds to the claimed first plain foil area} that faces the second electrode plate (Refer to annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 below for the tab location and exposed foil areas in Zheng).
Annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing tab and winding structure in Zheng.
Furthermore , one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, because the winding starts of the electrode plates extend in opposite directions, the second plain foil area, which is included on the winding start end of the second electrode plate, necessarily extends out of the first plain foil area, which is included on the winding start end of the first electrode plate (Refer to winding start ends shown in annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 above). Therefore, modified Zheng further provides the claimed structure of wherein the second plain foil area extends out of the first plain foil area (Claim 9 cont.).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Zheng discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zheng further teaches a battery comprising a package (housing; [09][44]), and the electrode assembly being accommodated in the package ([09];[44]).
However, Zheng does not teach/show the particulars of the housing; therefore modified Zheng does not particularly disclose wherein the tabs of the electrode assembly extend out of the package.
Machida teaches including a wound electrode structure similar to Zheng in a housing to form a battery and further shows the tabs of the electrode assembly extending out the housing (Fig. 1A – 1B and 2; [0026];[0027]).
Therefore, while not explicitly disclosed/shown by Zheng, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the battery of modified Zheng to have tabs that extend out from the housing, because, as evidenced by Machida, it is known in the art, when housing wound electrode assemblies, to have the tabs of the electrode assembly extend out of the battery housing.
Annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing corresponding first and second tab structure in Zheng.
Regarding Claims 15 – 16, modified Zheng discloses all limitations as set forth above. While not labeled, Zheng further appears to include tab structure in the central portion of the wound electrode assembly that does not include active material, that is, the tab structure show in annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 above, is similar in structure to the tab configuration taught by Machida, a prior art also directed toward wound electrode assembly structures (Machida: Fig. 3; [0027]). Therefore, by including two tabs, with one tab attached to the aluminum foil {i.e. positive electrode collector} and the other tab attached to the copper foil {i.e. negative electrode collector}, Zheng necessarily further discloses the claimed structure of wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a first tab and a second tab, the first tab is connected to the first electrode plate, and the second tab is connected to the second electrode plate (Claim 15).
Furthermore, by not including any active material on the foil portions including the tabs, Zheng further includes the claimed structure of wherein a winding starting end of the first electrode plate is provided with a first plain foil area, a winding starting end of the second electrode plate is provided with a second plain foil area, the first tab is arranged in the first plain foil area, and the second tab is arranged in the second plain foil area (Claim 16).
Regarding Claim 17 – 18, modified Zheng discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zheng teaches including insulating portions on the electrode assembly to achieve an improvement in electrochemical performance ([49]).The insulating portions are not, however, included in the central portion of the electrode assembly; therefore, modified Zheng does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first insulating structure, the first insulating structure being arranged in the first plain foil area and covering the first tab (Claim 17).
Machida teaches a wound electrode assembly including insulating members in the central area of the electrode assembly that includes the tabs (Fig. 3; [0027 – 0028]). In Fig. 3, Machida teaches having two insulating members 16a on the positive electrode plate 12, one insulating member 16a is included around the positive electrode tab and the other, longer, insulating member 16a is included in the exposed portion of the positive electrode collector above the negative electrode winding start end (Fig. 3, [0027]). Machida further teaches an alternative embodiment, where, instead of the positive electrode, it is the negative electrode {which corresponds to the claimed first electrode} that includes the 16a insulating members (Fig. 4B; [0029]). The inclusion of the insulators on the electrodes is taught to prevent short-circuiting from occurring in the inner side of the battery, prevent abnormal heat generation of the battery, and reduce battery deformation ([0042]).
Since Zheng has a tab-structure similar to Machida, and is concerned with preventing heat accumulation in the electrode assembly ([44]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electrode assembly in Zheng by including the insulating member structure taught by Machida, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving reduced short-circuiting risks as well as abnormal heat generation prevention and reduced battery deformation.
The insulator configuration of modified Zheng reads on the claimed configuration of wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first insulating structure being arranged in the first plain foil area and covering the first tab (Claim 17) and further wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a second insulating structure, and the second insulating structure covers an end portion of the first plain foil area (Claims 18), because, based on the positions of 16a in Fig. 3 of Machida, in modified Zheng, a first, short insulting portion would be covering the first tab {i.e. positive electrode tab}, and a second, longer insulating portion would be covering the exposed aluminum foil area {which corresponds to the claimed first plain foil area} that faces the second electrode plate (Refer to annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 below for the tab location and exposed foil areas in Zheng).
Annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing tab and winding structure in Zheng.
Furthermore , one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, because the winding starts of the electrode plates extend in opposite directions, the second plain foil area, which is included on the winding start end of the second electrode plate, necessarily extends out of the first plain foil area, which is included on the winding start end of the first electrode plate (Refer to winding start ends shown in annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 above). Therefore, modified Zheng further provides the claimed structure of wherein the second plain foil area extends out of the first plain foil area (Claim 18 cont.).
Claim(s) 2 – 3 and 11 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN109473729A), Kim (US PG Pub 2010/0310912 A1), and Machida (US PG Pub. 2014/0342205 A1), as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Maeda. (US PG Pub. 2017/0346130 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 07/03/2024), hereinafter Maeda.
Annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing adhesive structure in Zheng.
Regarding Claims 2 – 3 and 11 – 12, modified Zheng discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zheng further discloses wherein the adhesive structure is adhered to the winding terminating end of the first electrode plate and the outer surface of the electrode assembly (Refer to placement of adhesive structure shown in annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 above).
Furthermore, established above, the thickness of Modified Zheng’s tape is 15 – 19 µm (Kim: [0026 – 0027]).
Modified Zheng does not explicitly disclose the adhesive structure being a hot melt adhesive (Claim 2 and 11).
Maeda teaches a double sided tape for fixing a wound electrode body ([0022]). The tape prevents the overall unwinding of the electrode body while simultaneously fixing the electrode body to its outer casing even when an external force, such as vibration, is applied [[0010];[0022]]. The tape is comprised of base substrate material with one surface having a heat-sensitive adhesive layer and the another, opposite surface having a pressure sensitive adhesive layer ([0023]). The thickness of the substrate is taught to range from 10 – 100 µm in view of easiness of handling ([0029]). The thickness of the heat-sensitive layer is taught to preferably range from 1 – 10 µm and the thickness of the pressure-sensitive layer is taught to preferably range from 2 to 10 µm ([0059]).
Since the adhesive structure of modified Zheng has a thickness within the scope of Maeda’s tape, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the tape of modified Zheng, have the structure/composition taught by Maeda, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a tape structure/composition suitable to fix Zheng’s wound electrode assembly.
As established above, modified Zheng’s tape has the composition/structure of Maeda’s tape; therefore, modified Zheng includes a double-sided tape comprised of a base substrate material with one surface having a heat-sensitive adhesive layer and the another, opposite surface having a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (Maeda: [0023]). The heat-sensitive adhesive layer does not exhibit adhesiveness or has low adhesiveness at normal temperatures; therefore, the tape of modified Zheng is necessarily a hot melt adhesive since the heat-sensitive layer allows it to function as one (Maeda: [0031]).
Maeda further teaches having thermal fusion occur at a temperature equal to or lower the than the tape substrate melting point and at pressure of 0.5 MPa – 2 MPa ([0040 – 0041]). In example 1 of Maeda, the tape was particularly disclosed to be pasted with a heat press machine a 1 MPa and 80°C ([0154]); therefore, modified Zheng’s adhesive tape, which is Maeda’s tape, has a hot melting temperature of 80°C, which is within the claimed range of the less than or equal to 120°C, and a hot melting pressure of 1 MPa, which is within the claimed range of is less than or equal to 3 MPa (Claims 3 and 12).
Claim(s) 4, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN109473729A), Kim (US PG Pub 2010/0310912 A1), and Machida (US PG Pub. 2014/0342205 A1), as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Inui (JP2548464B2, cited in previous Office action mailed 04/04/2025).
Annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 showing corresponding electrode plate winding terminating ends.
Regarding Claims 4, 14 and 19, modified Zheng discloses all limitations as set forth above. As shown annotated and enlarged Fig. 10 above, the winding terminating end of the second electrode plate in Zheng extends out of/beyond the winding terminating end of the first electrode plate along the winding direction of the electrode plate.
Modified Zheng does not explicitly disclose; however, an extension length greater than or equal to 2 mm.
Inui teaches a spirally wound electrode assembly where the outer electrode, electrode plate 2, covers part of the outer surface of the electrode assembly and the winding terminating end of the inner electrode, electrode plate 1, extends out of the winding terminating end 2a of the outer electrode 2 along the winding direction (Fig. 2; [0010 – 0011]). Inui further teaches specifically extending the terminating end 2a at a position of approximately 45° to 135° in the direction opposite to the winding direction from the positive electrode terminating end 1a ([0012]). Inui teaches such a configuration to allow for the negative electrode rate-limiting reaction to partially progress, so, at the end of discharge, the outermost negative electrode and innermost negative electrode no longer maintain electrical connection and internal short circuits can be prevented ([0008];[0013]). The specific range of 45° to 135° ensures the prevention of internal short circuit without negatively impacting other battery characteristics such as discharge capacity ([0012]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to, when forming the electrode assembly of Zheng, to specifically select an extension length that corresponds to a negative electrode terminating end position within Inui’s taught range of 45° to 135°, and thus within/overlapping/ encompassing the claimed extension length range, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving a prevention in internal short circuits.
Furthermore, selection of a length within in the claimed range {i.e. greater than or equal to 2 mm} would have been obvious to further ensure that internal short circuiting is prevented without negatively impacting the discharge capacity of modified Zheng’s electrode assembly, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 10/20/2025