DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “a second conductive tab electrically coupled with the terminal second surface of the second electrode terminal” (italics added for emphasis). Appropriate correction is required to withdraw this objection. The examiner suggests amending claim 1 so that this limitation recites “a second conductive tab electrically coupled with the second terminal surface of the second electrode terminal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamada et al (US 2010/0216015 A1). This reference cited as Kamada hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Kamada discloses a battery system (Fig. 1; “FIG. 1 is an exploded perspective view of a battery pack 1” [0073]) comprising:
a battery (2 Fig. 1; “FIG. 1 shows a unit cell 2” [0073]) including a first electrode terminal (6 Fig. 1; “a positive terminal 6” [0074]) having a first terminal surface facing a first direction (Fig. 10 shows that positive terminal 6 has a top surface that faces the +Z direction of the battery that it’s a component of) and a second electrode terminal (5 Fig. 1; “a negative terminal 5” [0074]) having a second terminal surface facing a second direction that is at a transverse angle to the first direction (Fig. 10 shows that negative terminal 5 protrudes in the +Z direction from the top surface of positive terminal 6 such that it comprises of side surfaces that face in both the +/-X and +/-Y directions); and
a module electrically coupled with the battery (all the elements shown between elements 18, “an exterior cover 18 ( exterior member)” [0077], and unit cell 3 shown in Fig. 1, expounded upon in [0074]-[0076]), the module comprising:
a circuit board (15 Fig. 3; “board-like protective circuit 15” [0076]) characterized by a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (protective circuit 15 has a longitudinal top and bottom surface shown in Fig. 3 that are opposite from each other in the vertical direction);
a mold (9 Figs. 1 and 3; “A resin-made frame 9” [0074]) extending from the first surface of the circuit board (frame 9 shown in Fig. 3 extends from the longitudinal bottom surface of frame 9, corresponding to the first surface of the circuit board and of the module of the claimed invention) toward the battery (frame 3 shown in Fig. 3 extends through its thickness to unit cell 2);
a first conductive tab electrically coupled with the first terminal surface of the first electrode terminal (comprised of 17 and 11 shown in Fig. 1; “a positive lead 11 is bonded to the positive terminal 6 by welding” [0075] and “A lead 17 of the protective circuit 15 is bonded to the positive lead 11 by welding” [0076]) to electrically couple the module with the first electrode terminal (“leads for electrical connections are welded to its terminal portions” [0002]); and
a second conductive tab electrically coupled with the second terminal surface of the second electrode terminal (comprised of 14, 12, 13 and 10 shown in Fig. 1; “A negative lead 10 is bonded to the negative terminal 5 by welding … A one-end terminal 13 of a protective element 12 is bonded to the negative lead 10.” [0075] and “The other-end terminal 14 of the protective element 12 is bonded to a terminal 16 of the board-like protective circuit 15 by welding” [0076]) to electrically couple the module with the second electrode terminal (“leads for electrical connections are welded to its terminal portions” [0002]), wherein the second conductive tab extends across the mold (negative lead 10 of the second conductive tab corresponding to the one of the claimed invention extends across the length of frame 9 shown in Fig. 5) substantially parallel to the first surface of the circuit board (the direction of extension of negative lead 10 is parallel to the bottom surface of protective circuit 15 shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein a flexible coupling is seated against the circuit board (23 Fig. 3; “contact pad 23” [0079]) along a first surface of the flexible coupling (the front surface of contact pad 23 shown in Fig. 3 is seated against the front surface of protective circuit 15), and wherein the flexible coupling comprises one or more electrical feedthroughs extending through the flexible coupling (24 Fig. 3; “openings 24” [0079]).
Regarding claim 3, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 2 above, and wherein the second conductive tab extends across a second surface of the flexible coupling opposite the first surface of the flexible coupling (negative lead 10 shown in Fig. 5, and in comparison to Fig. 3, has a length that extends across a length of the back surface of contact pad 23 shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 3 above, and wherein the second conductive tab is adhered to the flexible coupling along second surface of the flexible coupling (“The frame 9 supports the protective circuit 15. On the protective circuit 15, various electrical parts are mounted. Further to the protective circuit 15, a contact pad 23 is fitted.” [0079] and “The negative lead 10 is engaged to an engagement portion 33 formed in the frame 9” [0083]).
Regarding claim 5, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the first electrode terminal is accessible along a first surface of the battery (the top surface of positive terminal 6 shown in Fig. 10) and the second electrode terminal is accessible along a second surface of the battery different than the first surface (Fig. 10 shows that negative terminal 5 protrudes in the +Z direction from the top surface of positive terminal 6 such that the top surface of negative terminal 5 is a different surface of the battery from the top surface of positive terminal 6).
Regarding claim 6, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 5 above, and wherein the second conductive tab extends orthogonally to the first surface of the battery towards the second electrode terminal (other-end terminal 14 of the protective element 12 shown in Fig. 1 extends down toward the plane that positive terminal 6 is disposed in).
Regarding claim 7, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the first electrode terminal extends proud of the first surface of the battery towards the first surface of the circuit board (negative terminal 5 shown in Fig. 1 protrudes out of the plane that positive terminal 6 is disposed in, and extends vertically toward the bottom surface of protective circuit 15), and wherein the first conductive tab extends past a plane of the second surface of the circuit board to couple with the first electrode terminal (17 shown in Fig. 1, “A lead 17 of the protective circuit 15 is bonded to the positive lead 11 by welding” [0076], extends past the top surface of protective circuit 15).
Regarding claim 8, Kamada discloses a battery system (Fig. 1; “FIG. 1 is an exploded perspective view of a battery pack 1” [0073]) comprising:
a battery (2 Fig. 1; “FIG. 1 shows a unit cell 2” [0073]) including a first electrode terminal (6 Fig. 1; “a positive terminal 6” [0074]) accessible along a first surface of the battery (the top surface of positive terminal 6 that faces the +Z direction shown in Figs. 7 and 10) and a second electrode terminal (5 Fig. 1; “a negative terminal 5” [0074]) accessible along a second surface of the battery (the side surfaces of negative terminal 5 that face the +/- Y direction shown in Figs. 6 and 10), wherein the first surface is transverse to the second surface of the battery (the +Z direction described of the top surface of positive terminal 6 is transverse to the +/-Y direction described of the side surfaces of negative terminal 5 shown in Fig. 10); and
a module electrically coupled with the battery (all the elements shown between elements 18, “an exterior cover 18 ( exterior member)” [0077], and unit cell 3 shown in Fig. 1, expounded upon in [0074]-[0076]), the module comprising:
a circuit board (15 Fig. 3; “board-like protective circuit 15” [0076]) characterized by a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (protective circuit 15 has a longitudinal top and bottom surface shown in Fig. 3 that are opposite from each other in the vertical direction);
a mold (9 Figs. 1 and 3; “A resin-made frame 9” [0074]) extending from the first surface of the circuit board (frame 9 shown in Fig. 3 extends from the longitudinal bottom surface of frame 9, corresponding to the first surface of the circuit board and the module of the claimed invention) toward the battery (frame 3 shown in Fig. 3 extends through its thickness to unit cell 2);
a first conductive tab electrically coupling the module with the first electrode terminal (comprised of 17 and 11 shown in Fig. 1; “a positive lead 11 is bonded to the positive terminal 6 by welding” [0075] and “A lead 17 of the protective circuit 15 is bonded to the positive lead 11 by welding” [0076]); and
a second conductive tab electrically coupling the module with the second electrode terminal (comprised of 14, 12, 13 and 10 shown in Fig. 1; “A negative lead 10 is bonded to the negative terminal 5 by welding … A one-end terminal 13 of a protective element 12 is bonded to the negative lead 10.” [0075] and “The other-end terminal 14 of the protective element 12 is bonded to a terminal 16 of the board-like protective circuit 15 by welding” [0076]), wherein the second conductive tab extends across the mold (negative lead 10 of the second conductive tab corresponding to the one of the claimed invention extends across the length of frame 9 shown in Fig. 5) substantially parallel to the first surface of the circuit board (the direction of extension of negative lead 10 is parallel to the bottom surface of protective circuit 15 shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein the battery further comprises a port positioned proximate a lateral edge of the first surface of the battery (24 Fig. 3 shown to be on the right edge on the top surface of protective circuit 15; “openings 24” [0079]), wherein the second conductive tab extends between the mold and the port (negative lead 10 of the second conductive tab corresponding to the one of the claimed invention extends across the length of frame 9 shown in Fig. 5, and negative lead 10 shown in Fig. 5, and in comparison to Fig. 3, has a length that extends across a length of the back surface of contact pad 23 shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 9 above, and further comprising a first adhesive positioned between the second conductive tab and the mold proximate the port (8 Fig. 1; “double-sided tape 8” [0074], is shown in the figure to have a righthanded end that is beneath the contact pad 23, and positioned between negative lead 10 and the righthanded end of frame 9 along the length direction of the battery pack 1).
Regarding claim 14, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein the circuit board extends substantially parallel to the first surface of the battery to a location proximate the first electrode terminal (protective circuit 15 has a length that spans over positive terminal 6 shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 8 above, and further comprising an adhesive extending across the module (8 Fig. 1; “double-sided tape 8” [0074]), and wherein a first end of the adhesive and a second end of the adhesive are coupled with the battery (the whole length of tape 8 shown in Fig. 10 is between the frame 9 and the top surface of unit cell 52).
Regarding claim 16, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 15 above, and wherein the adhesive comprises an insulation along a portion of the adhesive (“double-sided tape” is well-known in the art to be made of rubber and/or acrylic, which both materials have strong insulating properties), and wherein the insulation extends from a first end of the adhesive across the first electrode terminal (tape 8 shown in Fig. 1 has a width that extends across the width of positive terminal 6).
Regarding claim 17, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 8 above, and further comprising a flexible coupling extending from the module (23 Fig. 3 extends from protective circuit 15; “contact pad 23” [0079]) and comprising a board-to-board connector at a distal end of the flexible coupling (24 Fig. 3; “contact pad 23 has openings 24 formed therein, and external-connection terminals are to be fitted at the positions of the openings 24” [0079], and is shown in Fig. 3 to be formed at the front end of the contact pad 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamada (US 2010/0216015 A1) in view of Kwak et al (US 2010/0203363 A1). The latter reference cited as Kwak hereinafter.
Regarding claim 11, Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein the first conductive tab extends beyond a first lateral edge of the module (the right edge of protective circuit 15 shown in Fig. 1 that 17, “lead 17 of the protective circuit 15” [0076], extends from), and wherein the second conductive tab extends beyond a second lateral edge of the module opposite the first lateral edge of the module (the left edge of protective circuit 15 shown in Fig. 1 that 14 of 12, “The other-end terminal 14 of the protective element 12” [0076], extends from).
Kamada does not disclose wherein the first conductive tab and the second conductive tab extend from the second surface of the module.
However, Kwak discloses a battery system (100 Fig. 1, “battery pack” [0019]) comprising:
a battery (110 Fig. 1; “bare cell 110” [0019]) that includes a first electrode terminal (117 Fig. 1; “electrode terminal” [0021]) accessible along a first surface of the battery (consisting of 113 and 115 represented in Fig. 1; “third … side … 113” and “fifth … side… 115” [0021]) and a second electrode terminal (“an outer surface of the bare cell 110” [0047]); and
a module (Fig. 1 – comprising of 120 and 160, “protection circuit board” [0019] and “holder case” [0020]) electrically coupled with the battery (“protection circuit board 120 in electrical connection with the bare cell 110 to control charge/discharge of the bare cell 110” [0019]), the module comprising:
a circuit board (120 Fig. 1; “protection circuit board” [0019]) characterized by a first surface (Fig. 1 – the surface of 120 that is facing towards bare cell 110, which from the figure’s perspective is the bottom surface that is disposed directly on holder case 160) and a second surface opposite the first surface (Fig. 1 – the surface of 120 that is not facing towards bare cell 110, which from the figure’s perspective is the top surface that holds elements 122, 130 and 150);
a mold extending from the first surface of the circuit board toward the battery (Fig. 1 – holder case 160 has a thickness that extends from the protection circuit board 120),
a first conductive tab electrically coupling the module with the first electrode terminal (125 Fig. 1, which is indicated to couple with 117; “first … lead plate” [0023], “the first lead plate 125 of the protection circuit board 120 is electrically connected to the electrode terminal 117 of the bare cell 110” [0047]), and
a second conductive tab electrically coupling the module with the second electrode terminal (126 Fig. 1, which is indicated to couple with side 116 of bare cell 110; “second lead plate” [0023]).
Kwak teaches wherein the first conductive tab and the second conductive tab extend from the second surface of the module (first and second lead plates 125 and 126 extend from the top surface of protection circuit board 120 shown in Fig. 3), and that the conductive tab extension following this configuration insulates the conductive tabs from the outside ([0051] and [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the module of Kamada in view of Kwak wherein the first conductive tab and the second conductive tab extend from the second surface of the module, in order to achieve insulation of the first and second conductive tabs from the outside while the module is electrically connected to the battery.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 11 above, and wherein the second conductive tab extends about the second lateral edge of the module and wraps across the mold towards the second electrode terminal (Kamada other-end terminal 14 of the protective element 12 shown in Fig. 1 extends left from the protective circuit 15 and then wraps down and toward the right to connect with negative lead 10 that “is bonded to the negative terminal 5 by welding” [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 11 above, and wherein the first electrode terminal extends proud of the first surface of the battery towards the first surface of the circuit board (Kamada negative terminal 5 shown in Fig. 1 protrudes out of the plane that positive terminal 6 is disposed in, and extends vertically toward the bottom surface of protective circuit 15), and wherein the first conductive tab extends past a plane of the second surface of the circuit board to couple with the first electrode terminal (Kamada 17 shown in Fig. 1, “A lead 17 of the protective circuit 15 is bonded to the positive lead 11 by welding” [0076], extends past the top surface of protective circuit 15).
Regarding claim 18, Kamada discloses a battery system (Fig. 1; “FIG. 1 is an exploded perspective view of a battery pack 1” [0073]) comprising:
a battery (2 Fig. 1; “FIG. 1 shows a unit cell 2” [0073]) characterized by a first surface, a second surface, and a third surface (unit cell 2 shown in Fig. 1 has three distinct surfaces: top, front and back surfaces), wherein the second surface and the third surface are substantially parallel to one another (the front and back surfaces of the unit cell 2 shown in Fig. 1 are extend parallel to one another), wherein the first surface of the battery extends between the second surface and the third surface (the top surface of the unit cell 2 shown in Fig. 1 extend between the front and back surfaces of the unit cell along the width of the unit cell 2), and wherein the first surface comprises a first electrode terminal (6 Fig. 1; “a positive terminal 6” [0074]) and a second electrode terminal (5 Fig. 1; “a negative terminal 5” [0074]);
a module coupled with the first surface of the battery (all the elements shown between elements 18, “an exterior cover 18 ( exterior member)” [0077], and unit cell 3 shown in Fig. 1, expounded upon in [0074]-[0076]) and comprising a circuit board (15 Fig. 3; “board-like protective circuit 15” [0076]) characterized by a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (protective circuit 15 has a longitudinal top and bottom surface shown in Fig. 3 that are opposite from each other in the vertical direction), wherein the module comprises:
a mold (9 Figs. 1 and 3; “A resin-made frame 9” [0074]) extending from the first surface of the circuit board toward the battery (frame 9 shown in Fig. 3 extends from the longitudinal bottom surface of frame 9, corresponding to the first surface of the circuit board and the module of the claimed invention),
a first conductive tab extending to the first electrode terminal (comprised of 17 and 11 shown in Fig. 1; “a positive lead 11 is bonded to the positive terminal 6 by welding” [0075] and “A lead 17 of the protective circuit 15 is bonded to the positive lead 11 by welding” [0076]),
a second conductive tab extending to the second electrode terminal (comprised of 14, 12, 13 and 10 shown in Fig. 1; “A negative lead 10 is bonded to the negative terminal 5 by welding … A one-end terminal 13 of a protective element 12 is bonded to the negative lead 10.” [0075] and “The other-end terminal 14 of the protective element 12 is bonded to a terminal 16 of the board-like protective circuit 15 by welding” [0076]); and
a flexible coupling (23 Fig. 3 extends from protective circuit 15; “contact pad 23” [0079]) including a first portion extending from the second surface of the circuit board (the inner surface of contact pad 23 shown in Fig. 3 extends from the top surface of protective circuit 15) and a second portion opposite the first portion (the outer surface of contact pad 23 shown in Fig. 3).
Kamada does not disclose the first conductive tab extending from the second surface of the circuit board,
the second conductive tab extending from the second surface of the circuit board, and
wherein at least a portion of the first conductive tab is disposed between the first portion and the second portion.
However, Kwak discloses a battery system (100 Fig. 1, “battery pack” [0019]) comprising:
a battery (110 Fig. 1; “bare cell 110” [0019]) that includes a first electrode terminal (117 Fig. 1; “electrode terminal” [0021]) accessible along a first surface of the battery (consisting of 113 and 115 represented in Fig. 1; “third … side … 113” and “fifth … side… 115” [0021]) and a second electrode terminal (“an outer surface of the bare cell 110” [0047]); and
a module (Fig. 1 – comprising of 120 and 160, “protection circuit board” [0019] and “holder case” [0020]) electrically coupled with the battery (“protection circuit board 120 in electrical connection with the bare cell 110 to control charge/discharge of the bare cell 110” [0019]), the module comprising:
a circuit board (120 Fig. 1; “protection circuit board” [0019]) characterized by a first surface (Fig. 1 – the surface of 120 that is facing towards bare cell 110, which from the figure’s perspective is the bottom surface that is disposed directly on holder case 160) and a second surface opposite the first surface (Fig. 1 – the surface of 120 that is not facing towards bare cell 110, which from the figure’s perspective is the top surface that holds elements 122, 130 and 150);
a mold extending from the first surface of the circuit board toward the battery (Fig. 1 – holder case 160 has a thickness that extends from the protection circuit board 120),
a first conductive tab electrically coupling the module with the first electrode terminal (125 Fig. 1, which is indicated to couple with 117; “first … lead plate” [0023], “the first lead plate 125 of the protection circuit board 120 is electrically connected to the electrode terminal 117 of the bare cell 110” [0047]), and
a second conductive tab electrically coupling the module with the second electrode terminal (126 Fig. 1, which is indicated to couple with side 116 of bare cell 110; “second lead plate” [0023]).
Kwak teaches the first conductive tab extending from the second surface of the circuit board, and
the second conductive tab extending from the second surface of the circuit board (first and second lead plates 125 and 126 extend from the top surface of protection circuit board 120 shown in Fig. 3), and that the conductive tab extension following this configuration insulates the conductive tabs from the outside ([0051] and [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the first conductive tab and the second conductive tab of the module of Kamada with the first conductive tab and the second conduction tab of the module taught by Kwak where the first conductive tab extends from the second surface of the circuit board, and
the second conductive tab extends from the second surface of the circuit board, in order to achieve insulation of the first and second conductive tabs from the outside while the module is electrically connected to the battery.
The examiner recognizes that this configuration also inherently achieves the feature wherein at least a portion of the first conductive tab is positioned between the first portion and the second portion of the flexible coupling because the first conductive tab is disposed between the first portion and the second portion of the flexible coupling after the modification as annotated of Kamada Fig. 3 below as the dashed line to the solid line of protective circuit 15.
Regarding claim 19, modified Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 18 above, and wherein the mold extends laterally parallel with the first surface of the battery (Kamada frame 9 extends along the length of the bottom surface of protective circuit 15 shown in Figs. 1 and 3), wherein the first electrode terminal of the battery extends from the first surface of the battery (achieved from the modification of Kamada in view of Kwak outlined in rejection of claim 18 above), and wherein the mold is maintained between the first electrode terminal of the battery and a lateral edge of the battery (Kamada Fig. 5 shows that frame 9 has a length that extends past lead 11 and is shorter than the length of unit cell 2).
Regarding claim 20, modified Kamada discloses the battery system with all features set forth in claim 18 above, and wherein the second conductive tab extends about a lateral edge of the module and wraps across the mold towards the second electrode terminal (Kamada other-end terminal 14 of the protective element 12 shown in Fig. 1 extends left from the protective circuit 15 and then wraps down and toward the right to connect with negative lead 10 that “is bonded to the negative terminal 5 by welding” [0075]).
Conclusion
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721