Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This action is in response to the applicant’s request for continued examination filed on 18 June 2026. Claims 1-5, and 7-20 are pending and examined. Claim 1 is currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Rejection of claims 1-5, and 7-20 under AIA 35 U.S.C. §112b rejection is withdrawn due to amendment and arguments.
Applicant’s argument as to the rejection of claim 1 under AIA 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryan et al., US 2013/0328277 (A1) has been carefully considered. Applicant argued that Ryan does not teach the following limitations:
“an in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) and vehicle suspension system” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ryan teaches “an in-vehicle infotainment (IVI)” (Ryan: controller 26 that is coupled to a visual display unit 28 of Fig. 1, ¶41) and vehicle suspension system (Ryan: “using E-Adjust system to integrate adjustable shock with a user interface with wired or wireless connection, ¶26, 37, 50, 51).
“at least one sensor to generate sensor information about a vehicle”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ryan teaches (Ryan: “electronically adjustable by any means. In one embodiment, electronically adjustable damper 14 may be electronically adjustable by including at least one electronically controlled valve 20 and a linear velocity displacement transducer (LVDT) sensor 24. In this embodiment, the electronically controlled valve 20 may be manipulated to open and close the bleed path in damper 14 in response to signals provided by the LVDT sensor 24”, ¶27).
“evaluate said sensor information”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ryan teaches a controller receives information from sensor (Ryan: ¶36-37), and
“automatically generate a modification to said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly based on said evaluation of said sensor information”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ryan teaches a controller adjust damping using active valve, (Ryan: ¶36-37),
“automatically change a suspension setting from a first suspension setting to a
second suspension setting when said suspension control application generates a terrain-based suspension setting”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ryan teaches “said modification to said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly based on said evaluation of said sensor information about said vehicle can occur during use of said vehicle” (Ryan: “In operation, the electronically adjustable dampers 14 of the instant invention, as shown in FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 2C, are designed to vary damping at different positions in the stroke of the shaft. As the shock absorber changes its lengths 32 due to chassis or terrain inputs the controller 26 in conjunction with the LVDT sensor 24 can determine its position and alter the damping to a prescribed setting throughout its entire stroke in compression and extension. These settings can be looped in macros to offer a user many variations for different conditions. The electronically adjustable dampers 14 may be equipped with many different sensors, including, but not limited to, load, stroke, velocity, pressure, temperature, acceleration, etc., the like, and various combinations thereof. These various sensors and combinations of sensors may offer a multitude of input for different configurable closed loop options.” Finally Ryan teaches the new limitation “said at least one active shock assembly configured to automatically modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly based upon said evaluation of said sensor information pertaining to said vehicle” (“This remote connection may allow the typical passive damper to be transformed to a semi-active or even active damper system by remote control, such as through various remote electronic devices 28, like computers, cell phones, laptops, tablets, etc. In one embodiment, an application in the system 10 may be programmed to respond accordingly to various parameters like vehicle parameters/conditions, terrain parameters, acceleration and/or GPS location inputs. This feature of system 10 may be useful for vehicles that have to perform in a wide range of terrain/conditions, or for vehicles on a race track that encounter different types of handling conditions where changes to the damper are necessary either for safety, speed and/or comfort.”, ¶22, “Damper 14 may be electronically adjustable by any means. In one embodiment, electronically adjustable damper 14 may be electronically adjustable by including at least one electronically controlled valve 20 and a linear velocity displacement transducer (LVDT) sensor 24.”, ¶27).
“automatically change a suspension setting from a first suspension setting to a
second suspension setting when said suspension control application generates a terrain-based suspension setting”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ryan teaches (Ryan: “In one embodiment, an application in the system 10 may be programmed to respond accordingly to various parameters like vehicle parameters/conditions, terrain parameters, acceleration and/or GPS location inputs. This feature of system 10 may be useful for vehicles that have to perform in a wide range of terrain/conditions, or for vehicles on a race track that encounter different types of handling conditions where changes to the damper are necessary either for safety, speed and/or comfort.”, ¶22).
“wherein said IVI system collects data during use of said vehicle and utilizes said data to provide a suggested upgrade for at least one component of said vehicle to a user of said IVI system”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ryan teaches (Ryan: “Referring to FIG. 3B, in another embodiment the user friendly interface 36 may include prescribed settings 34 for the vehicle 12 that system 10 is installed on. In this embodiment, the electronically adjustable damper system 10 may set the ideal damper prescribed settings 34 using simple vehicle parameters 38 and/or terrain parameters 40, or other desired parameters, The prescribed settings 34 may include any predetermined or calculated settings, including, but not limited to, various vehicle parameters 38 (examples: full load, partial load, empty, ride height lowering, etc.) and/or various terrain parameters 40 (examples: highway, cross country, mud, sand, snow, rocks, etc.) or other desired settings not shown in the Figure like GPS location, time, temperature, etc. In this embodiment, when the electronically adjustable dampers change their length 32 due to chassis or terrain inputs, the controller 26 in conjunction with the LVDT sensor 24 determining its position and altering the damping to a prescribed setting 34 throughout its entire stroke in compression and extension. The prescribed setting 34 may also be looped in macros to offer a user many variations for different conditions.”, ¶39)
As to dependent claims 2-5, and 7-20, there is no argument for dependent claims other than their dependency on the independent claim 1. Because independent claim 1 is not allowable, dependent claims 2-5, and 7-20 are not allowable.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryan et al., US 2013/0328277 (A1).
As to claim 1, Ryan teaches an in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) (controller 26 that is coupled to a visual display unit 28 of Fig. 1, ¶41) and vehicle suspension system (“using E-Adjust system to integrate adjustable shock with a user interface with wired or wireless connection, ¶26, 37, 50, 51) comprising:
a vehicle suspension system, said vehicle suspension system (“using E-Adjust system to integrate adjustable shock with a user interface with wired or wireless connection, ¶26, 37, 50, 51) comprising:
at least one active shock assembly (“at least one electronically adjustable damper 14” in Fig. 1 and 2);
an in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) system (controller 26 that is coupled to a visual display unit 28 of Fig. 1, ¶41) coupled with said vehicle suspension system (Fig. 1 shows controller 26 coupled with a visual display unit 28 is connected to at least one electronically adjustable damper 14, ¶41);
a mobile device communicatively coupled with said IVI system, wherein said mobile device is configured to identify a user to said IVI system (Figs. 3A-C and related text teaches a remote electronic device 29 communicates with the computer 42 and controller 26 in which the home screen of the electronic 29 has a home screen with login to identify for the user as shown Fig. 4A; ¶39-41),
wherein said IVI system further includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer-readable and computer-executable instructions stored thereon for causing said IVI system to operate a suspension control application, said suspension control application to cause said IVI system to send a signal to said at least one active shock assembly, said signal to modify a damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly (“In one embodiment, an application in the system 10 may be programmed to respond accordingly to various parameters like vehicle parameters/conditions, terrain parameters, acceleration and/or GPS location inputs. This feature of system 10 may be useful for vehicles that have to perform in a wide range of terrain/conditions, or for vehicles on a race track that encounter different types of handling conditions where changes to the damper are necessary either for safety, speed and/or comfort.”, ¶22), said IVI system further configured to cause said IVI system to operate said suspension control application based upon instructions received from said mobile device (“the user could adjust the dampers in anticipation of these inputs to make the system more "active". In one embodiment of electronically adjustable system 10, the user of the device may have access to their own personal account which would contain saved damper settings and other proprietary information which may be valuable to the user”, ¶53),
at least one sensor to generate a sensor information about a vehicle (“electronically adjustable by any means. In one embodiment, electronically adjustable damper 14 may be electronically adjustable by including at least one electronically controlled valve 20 and a linear velocity displacement transducer (LVDT) sensor 24. In this embodiment, the electronically controlled valve 20 may be manipulated to open and close the bleed path in damper 14 in response to signals provided by the LVDT sensor 24”, ¶27);
said IVI system to receive said sensor information about said vehicle (controller receives information from sensor, ¶36-37); and
said suspension control application (“Controller 26 may be any device or computer capable of controlling the electronically controlled valves 20. Controller 26 may include any desired software or applications for controlling electronically adjustable dampers 14 via their electronically controlled valves 20. “, ¶37) configured to:
obtain said sensor information received at said IVI system (controller receives information from sensor, ¶36-37),
evaluate said sensor information (controller receives information from sensor, ¶36-37),
automatically generate a modification to said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly based on said evaluation of said sensor information (controller adjust damping, ¶36-37), wherein
said modification to said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly based on said evaluation of said sensor information about said vehicle occurs during use of said vehicle (“In operation, the electronically adjustable dampers 14 of the instant invention, as shown in FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 2C, are designed to vary damping at different positions in the stroke of the shaft. As the shock absorber changes its lengths 32 due to chassis or terrain inputs the controller 26 in conjunction with the LVDT sensor 24 can determine its position and alter the damping to a prescribed setting throughout its entire stroke in compression and extension. These settings can be looped in macros to offer a user many variations for different conditions. The electronically adjustable dampers 14 may be equipped with many different sensors, including, but not limited to, load, stroke, velocity, pressure, temperature, acceleration, etc., the like, and various combinations thereof. These various sensors and combinations of sensors may offer a multitude of input for different configurable closed loop options.”, ¶48), said at least one active shock assembly configured to automatically modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly based upon said evaluation of said sensor information pertaining to said vehicle (“This remote connection may allow the typical passive damper to be transformed to a semi-active or even active damper system by remote control, such as through various remote electronic devices 28, like computers, cell phones, laptops, tablets, etc. In one embodiment, an application in the system 10 may be programmed to respond accordingly to various parameters like vehicle parameters/conditions, terrain parameters, acceleration and/or GPS location inputs. This feature of system 10 may be useful for vehicles that have to perform in a wide range of terrain/conditions, or for vehicles on a race track that encounter different types of handling conditions where changes to the damper are necessary either for safety, speed and/or comfort.”, ¶22, “Damper 14 may be electronically adjustable by any means. In one embodiment, electronically adjustable damper 14 may be electronically adjustable by including at least one electronically controlled valve 20 and a linear velocity displacement transducer (LVDT) sensor 24.”, ¶27);
automatically change a suspension setting from a first suspension setting to a
second suspension setting when said suspension control application generates a terrain-based suspension setting (Ryan: “In one embodiment, an application in the system 10 may be programmed to respond accordingly to various parameters like vehicle parameters/conditions, terrain parameters, acceleration and/or GPS location inputs. This feature of system 10 may be useful for vehicles that have to perform in a wide range of terrain/conditions, or for vehicles on a race track that encounter different types of handling conditions where changes to the damper are necessary either for safety, speed and/or comfort.”, ¶22), and;
wherein said IVI system collects data during use of said vehicle and utilizes said data to provide a suggested upgrade for at least one component of said vehicle to a user of said IVI system (Ryan: “Referring to FIG. 3B, in another embodiment the user friendly interface 36 may include prescribed settings 34 for the vehicle 12 that system 10 is installed on. In this embodiment, the electronically adjustable damper system 10 may set the ideal damper prescribed settings 34 using simple vehicle parameters 38 and/or terrain parameters 40, or other desired parameters, The prescribed settings 34 may include any predetermined or calculated settings, including, but not limited to, various vehicle parameters 38 (examples: full load, partial load, empty, ride height lowering, etc.) and/or various terrain parameters 40 (examples: highway, cross country, mud, sand, snow, rocks, etc.) or other desired settings not shown in the Figure like GPS location, time, temperature, etc. In this embodiment, when the electronically adjustable dampers change their length 32 due to chassis or terrain inputs, the controller 26 in conjunction with the LVDT sensor 24 determining its position and altering the damping to a prescribed setting 34 throughout its entire stroke in compression and extension. The prescribed setting 34 may also be looped in macros to offer a user many variations for different conditions.”, ¶39)
As to claim 2, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system wherein said vehicle suspension system comprises:
an electronic vehicle suspension system (“at least one electronically adjustable damper 14” in Fig. 1 and 2).
As to claim 3, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system further comprising:
said at least one active shock assembly (“at least one electronically adjustable damper 14” in Fig. 1 and 2) comprising:
at least one active valve (“In one embodiment, electronically adjustable damper 14 may be electronically adjustable by including at least one electronically controlled valve 20”, ¶27).
As to claim 4, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system further comprising:
said IVI system to send said signal to said at least one active valve, said signal to adjust said at least one active valve to modify said damping characteristic of said active shock assembly (“In one embodiment, electronically adjustable damper 14 may be electronically adjustable by including at least one electronically controlled valve 20 and a linear velocity displacement transducer (LVDT) sensor 24. In this embodiment, the electronically controlled valve 20 may be manipulated to open and close the bleed path in damper 14 in response to signals provided by the LVDT sensor 24.”, ¶27, 46).
As to claim 5, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system wherein said vehicle suspension system comprises:
a plurality of active shock assemblies, at least one of said plurality of active shock assemblies located at each suspension location of a vehicle (“at least one electronically adjustable damper 14” in Fig. 1 and 2).
As to claim 7, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system wherein said at least one sensor is selected from a group of sensors consisting of: an inertial gyroscope, an accelerometer, a magnetometer, a steering wheel turning sensor, a single or multi spectrum camera, a lidar, and a radar (acceleration sensors, ¶36).
As to claim 8, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system further comprising:
at least one vehicle information monitor communicatively coupled with said IVI system (Figs. 3A-4 and related text);
said at least one vehicle information monitor to provide vehicle information to said IVI system, said vehicle information for a vehicle (Figs. 3A-4 and related text); and
said suspension control application configured to:
obtain said vehicle information provided to said IVI system (Figs. 3A-4 and related text),
evaluate said vehicle information (Figs. 3A-4 and related text), and
generate a modification to said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly based on said evaluation of said vehicle information (Figs. 3A-4 and related text).
As to claim 9, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system wherein said vehicle information is selected from a group consisting of: a vehicle stats and clearances, a tire information, a suspension information, a lift information, and accessory information (Figs. 3A-4 and related text shows suspension information, rollover danger, mode setting).
As to claim 11, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system further comprising:
a mobile suspension control application operating on said mobile device, said mobile suspension control application to cause said mobile device to send a suspension adjustment signal to said suspension control application operating on said IVI system, said suspension adjustment signal to modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly (Fig. 4 and related text, ¶40); and
said suspension control application to receive said suspension adjustment signal and cause said IVI system to send said signal to said at least one active shock assembly, said signal to modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly (Fig. 4 and related text, ¶40).
As to claim 12, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system further comprising:
a mobile suspension control application operating on said mobile device, said mobile suspension control application to cause said mobile device to send a suspension adjustment signal to said at least one active shock assembly, said suspension adjustment signal to modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly (Fig. 4 and related text, ¶40).
As to claim 14, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system further comprising:
said suspension control application (Figs. 3A-3C; ¶37) configured to:
receive a manual modification input to said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly (Figs. 3A-3C; ¶37); and
automatically generate said signal to modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly based on said manual modification input (Figs. 3A-3C; ¶37).
As to claim 16, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system further comprising:
a suspension tune uploaded to said IVI system, said suspension tune for said vehicle suspension system (¶22); and
said suspension control application configured to automatically generate said signal to modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly of said vehicle suspension system to conform with said suspension tune (¶22).
As to claim 17, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system further comprising:
a plurality of suspension tunes uploaded to said IVI system, said plurality of suspension tunes for said vehicle suspension system (¶22);
a navigation system to provide location information to said IVI system, said location information comprising: altitude information and a location (Figs. 3A-4 and related text);
said suspension control application configured to: obtain said location information from said IVI system (Figs. 3A-4 and related text);
evaluate said location information in light of said plurality of suspension tunes; select one suspension tune from said plurality of suspension tunes based on said evaluation (Figs. 3A-4 and related text); and
automatically generate said signal to modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly of said vehicle suspension system to conform with said one suspension tune (Figs. 3A-4 and related text).
As to claim 20, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system further comprising:
a plurality of suspension tunes uploaded to said IVI system (Figs. 3A-4 and related text);
at least one user specific identifier stored at a memory of said IVI system, said user specific identifier selected from a group consisting of a key fob and a mobile device, said user specific identifier linked with a user specific suspension tune of said plurality of suspension tunes (Figs. 3A-4 and related text); and
said suspension control application configured to automatically generate said signal to modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly of said vehicle suspension system to conform with said user specific suspension tune when said user specific identifier is recognized by said IVI system (Figs. 3A-4 and related text)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Ryan et al., US 2013/0328277 (A1) in view of Edren et al., US 2020/0094645 (A1).
As to claim 10, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system wherein said suspension control application uses said vehicle information to calculate at least one vehicle dynamic property (Ryan: “various parameters like vehicle parameters/conditions, terrain parameters, acceleration and/or GPS location inputs”, ¶22),
Ryan does not explicitly teach that said at least one vehicle dynamic property comprising a center of gravity of said vehicle.
However, Edren teaches a “suspension system may include a pneumatic spring at each wheel of a vehicle. The suspension system may be configured to determine and achieve a pressure set point in each of the pneumatic springs and a target ride height at each wheel of the vehicle. The pressure set point may be determined based on a load at each of the wheels and the center of gravity of the vehicle.” (Edren: abs). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic adjustable damper of Ryan to include dynamic property like a center of gravity of said vehicle as taught by Edren to improve safety, speed and/or comfort (Ryan: ¶22).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Ryan et al., US 2013/0328277 (A1) in view of Coombs, US 2018/0186208 (A1).
As to claim 13, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system wherein said suspension control application (Ryan: ¶22),
Ryan does not explicitly teach that said suspension control application configured to:
Ryan teaches said suspension control application configured to:
automatically monitor said at least one active shock assembly of said vehicle suspension system to obtain a real-time operating data for said at least one active shock assembly;
automatically obtain sensor information provided from at least one sensor to said IVI system;
automatically obtain vehicle information stored at a memory of said IVI system;
automatically evaluate said sensor information in conjunction with said vehicle information and said real-time operating data for said at least one active shock assembly;
automatically generate a modification to said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly based on a result of said automatic evaluation; and
automatically generate said signal to modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly and automatically.
However, Coombs teaches a system and method for vehicle load management via validation of measurement data that:
automatically monitor said at least one active shock assembly of said vehicle suspension system to obtain a real-time operating data for said at least one active shock assembly (Coombs: “suspension height based on real-time conditions”, ¶41);
automatically obtain sensor information provided from at least one sensor to said IVI system (Coombs: sensor information, ¶41);
automatically obtain vehicle information stored at a memory of said IVI system the planned route (Coombs: “retrieved from a database”, ¶41);
automatically evaluate said sensor information in conjunction with said vehicle information and said real-time operating data for said at least one active shock assembly (Coombs: optimizing vehicle height¶41);
automatically generate a modification to said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly based on a result of said automatic evaluation (Coombs: increasing the percentage of the load borne by the driven axle, ¶41); and
automatically generate said signal to modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly and automatically (Coombs: increasing the stiffness of the suspension supporting the driven axle relative to the stiffness of the suspension supporting the non-driven axle”, ¶41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic adjustable damper of Ryan to include automatically monitor said at least one active shock assembly of said vehicle suspension system to obtain a real-time operating data for said at least one active shock assembly; automatically obtain sensor information provided from at least one sensor to said IVI system; automatically obtain vehicle information stored at a memory of said IVI system; automatically evaluate said sensor information in conjunction with said vehicle information and said real-time operating data for said at least one active shock assembly; automatically generate a modification to said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly based on a result of said automatic evaluation; and automatically generate said signal to modify said damping characteristic of said at least one active shock assembly and automatically as taught by Coombs to improve safety, speed and/or comfort (Ryan: ¶22).
As to claim 15, Ryan teaches the IVI and vehicle suspension system wherein said suspension control application (Ryan: ¶22),
Ryan does not explicitly teach that said suspension control application configured to:
authenticate said at least one active shock assembly; and
automatically monitor said authenticated said at least one active shock assembly of said vehicle suspension system to obtain a real-time operating data for said at least one active shock assembly.
However, Coombs teaches a IVI and vehicle suspension system and method for vehicle load management via validation of measurement data such as real-time vehicle operating parameter to the vehicle suspension system (Coombs: ¶30, 52). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic adjustable damper of Ryan to include authenticating said at least one active shock assembly; and automatically monitoring said authenticated said at least one active shock assembly of said vehicle suspension system to obtain a real-time operating data for said at least one active shock assembly as taught by Coombs to improve safety, speed and/or comfort (Ryan: ¶22).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Ryan et al., US 2013/0328277 (A1) in view of Anderson et al., US 2018/0154723 (A1).
As to claim 18, Ryan does not explicitly teach further comprising:
an IVI system upgrade; and
a communication device to deliver said IVI system upgrade to said IVI system to generate an updated IVI system.
However, Anderson teaches a fully active suspension system with dynamic software parameter that is updatable in real time via a controller (Anderson: ¶56). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic adjustable damper of Ryan to include an IVI system upgrade; and a communication device to deliver said IVI system upgrade to said IVI system to generate an updated IVI system as taught by Anderson to improve safety, speed and/or comfort (Ryan: ¶22).
. As to claim 19, Ryan does not explicitly teach further comprising:
an upgrade for said suspension control application; and
a communication device to deliver said upgrade for said suspension control application to said IVI system to generate an updated suspension control application.
However, Anderson teaches a fully active suspension system with dynamic software parameter that is updatable in real time via a controller (Anderson: ¶56). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic adjustable damper of Ryan to include an upgrade for said suspension control application; and a communication device to deliver said upgrade for said suspension control application to said IVI system to generate an updated suspension control application as taught by Anderson to improve safety, speed and/or comfort (Ryan: ¶22).
Examiner’s Note
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Examiner’s Request
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support must be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, the applicant is requested to indicate support for amended claim language and newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). (MPEP 2163 I. B. New or Amended Claims). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Inquiry
/YUEN WONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667