DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references as used in the current rejection.
In response to the amended limitation of “such that the different outgoing circulator signals exit the circulator traveling in different non-parallel directions”, reference Rezk et al (20200124711) is looked to for this limitation. As seen in Fig. 4 of Rezk at least, outgoing circulator signals to detector ref. 304 form a cone shape which defines multiple paths of signals and implies non-parallel paths as the signals are reflected by different parts of the PBS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 8-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diaz (US 20200333441) in view of Rezk et al (US 20200124711) in view of Feng et al (US 20210055388).
In regards to claim 1, Diaz discloses a LIDAR system, comprising:
a circulator configured to concurrently output multiple different outgoing circulator signals (general system of Fig. 1 ref. 100, [0028] “the described system 100 includes at least one light source 102 configured to provide outgoing light 120 at one or more wavelength channels”);
Diaz not expressly disclose as taught by Rezk:
such that the different outgoing circulator signals exit the circulator traveling in different non-parallel directions (as seen in Fig. 4 at least, outgoing signals to circulator ref. 304, cone shape of the path of signals implies non-parallel as the signals are reflected by different parts of the PBS);
the circulator configured to receive multiple different circulator return signals that enter the circulator from different directions. Rezk teaches a circulator receiving return signal entering from different directions (as seen in Fig. 4, dotted lines indicate return signals which take different directions/paths from ref. 310 to ref. 306, which is considered a circulator, similar to ref. 100 of the instant application comprising a beam splitter, seen in figure below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Diaz with Rezk by providing the means for
the different outgoing circulator signals exit the circulator traveling in different non-parallel directions and for the circulator to receive multiple different circulator return signals from the scanning system entering the circulator from different directions so as to provide multiple data points during a single time interval and accordingly, fewer rotations of the fast scanning mirrors may provide additional data.
Diaz as combined further discloses:
each of the circulator return signals including light that was included in one of the outgoing circulator signals and was reflected by one or more objects located outside of the LIDAR system (Diaz outgoing signal/light reflected from external object ref. 120);
the circulator configured to output multiple circulator output signals (Diaz as seen Fig. 3A, ref. 130A, 130Z), each of the circulator output signals including light from one of the circulator return signals (Diaz as seen in Fig. 3A, return signal/light ref. 135);
while Diaz discloses a processing unit, ref. 105, Diaz does not expressly disclose: electronics configured to use the circulator output signals to generate one or more LIDAR data results selected from a group consisting a distance and a radial velocity between the LIDAR system and the one or more objects
Feng teaches electronics system to determine in [0037] discloses electronics to generate LIDAR results, “the distance between the LIDAR system and the reflecting object can be determined...to determine the radial velocity between the LIDAR chip and the reflecting object”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Diaz with Feng by providing the electronics configured to use the circulator output signals to generate one or more LIDAR data results selected from a group consisting a distance and a radial velocity between the LIDAR system and the one or more objects in order to increase accuracy of measurement s from an object.
In regards to claim 8, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 1, the LIDAR system is configured to output multiple system output signals (Diaz Fig. 1, [0028], Feng [0087], discloses multiple output signals) and each of the system output signals consists essentially of light from one of the outgoing circulator signals (Diaz abstract discloses LIDAR which consist essentially of light from the circulator).
In regards to claim 9. The system of claim 1, wherein each of the outgoing circulator signals carries a different channel and the different channels are each at a different wavelength (Diaz [0028] “provide outgoing light 120 at one or more wavelength channels”, paths of light beams considered channels).
In regards to claim 10, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each of the outgoing circulator signals carries a different channel and the different channels are each at the same wavelength (Diaz claim 1 “a light source configured to provide outgoing light at selected one or more of multiple wavelength channels”, “Feng [0032] discloses same wavelength for outgoing LIDAR signal, “the laser cavity is operated so as to output an outgoing LIDAR signal (and accordingly a LIDAR output signal) with a wavelength of 1550 nm”).
In regards to claim 11, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the circulator is configured to receive circulator input signals (Diaz Fig. 3A,3B, ref. 120 [0053] input signals/light) and each of the outgoing circulator signals includes light from a different one of the circulator input signals (Diaz 125, through ref. 306B).
In regards to claim 12, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the multiple circulator input signals enter the circulator traveling in different directions (Diaz Fig. 3B ref. 120Z, 120A).
In regards to claim 13, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the different directions are non-parallel (Diaz Fig. 3b ref. 302A. C non-parallel lines).
In regards to claim 14, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the circulator receives the circulator input signals from a lens (Diaz as combined, Rezk, Fig. 4, discloses plurality of signals passing through lens ref. 310 as input to circulator ref. 306).
In regards to claim 15, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the circulator input signals each travels a different non-parallel direction away from the lens (Rezk Fig. 4 ref. light signals traveling through 310, dotted lines).
In regards to claim 16, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the circulator includes multiple different optical components (Diaz ref. 300, seen at least in Fig. 3A),
a first port through which the circulator input signals enter the circulator (Diaz Fig. 3A ref. 306C, Fig. 3B refs. 306A, 306Z lines indicated input, [0025] discloses ports on circulator), and
a second port through which the outgoing circulator signals exit the circulator (Diaz ref. 306B, [0025] discloses ports on circulator); and
light from each of the circulator input signals being processed by the same selection of the optical components as the light from each of the circulator input signals travels on a different pathway from the first port to the second port (Diaz, ref. 302A, components being different as the signals are routed to different light detectors).
In regards to claim 17, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the optical components include multiple polarization beam splitters (Diaz ref. 302, [0040]) and multiple polarization rotators (Diaz [0040] polarization rotator).
In regards to claim 18, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 16,
wherein the optical components are arranged with a polarization beam splitter between a first assembly of the components and a second assembly of the components (Diaz Fig. 3A ref. 302),
the first assembly and the second assembly each having the same construction and being interchangeable (Diaz seen at least in Figs. 3A display modular/separate components which may be interchangeable),
Diaz as combined does not expressly disclose: the first assembly and the second assembly each including a polarization beam splitter and a polarization rotator. However, it would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to substitute the component arrangement of Diaz as combined circulator for the first assembly and the second assembly each having the same construction and being interchangeable in order to reduce complexity, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
In regards to claim 19, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each of the outgoing circulator signals travels away from the circulator in a different non-parallel direction (Rezk Fig. 4 discloses outgoing signals past ref. 310 travel away in a non-parallel direction, seen also in figure above).
Claim 2-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diaz, Rezk, Feng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marquardt et al (US 20100280765).
In regards to claim 2, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 1,
wherein a portion of the circulator output signals are first circulator output signals and a portion of the circulator output signals are second circulator output signals (Diaz ref. 130Z, 130A),
while Diaz suggests, Diaz as combined does not expressly disclose as taught by Marquardt: the first circulator output signals include primarily light that was reflected by the one or more objects in a first polarization state, and the second circulator output signals include primarily light that was reflected by the one or more objects in a second polarization state (Marquardt ref. 113, [0010] “The system receives the scattered electromagnetic energy and measures the power of the received scattered electromagnetic energy at two or more polarization states”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Diaz as combined with Marquardt by providing the first circulator output signals include primarily light that was reflected by the one or more objects in a first polarization state, and the second circulator output signals include primarily light that was reflected by the one or more objects in a second polarization state in order for the device to separate the signal.
In regards to claim 3, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the first polarization state and the second polarization state are linear polarization states (Marquardt [0034] “linear polarizers”).
In regards to claim 4, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 3, wherein each of the circulator output signals consists essentially of light in a polarization state selected from the group consisting of the first polarization state and the second polarization state (Feng [0016], [0074], Diaz [0042] “The optical circulator 300 may be used in one of two ways. In a first use, as illustrated in FIG. 3A, the port 306C is an input port for receiving outgoing light 120 containing any polarisation state”, Marquardt).
In regards to claim 5, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the circulator is configured to receive multiple circulator input signals (Diaz, Fig. 1 the circulator may receive return signals which may contain multiple returns) and the circulator includes multiple different optical components (Diaz Fig. 3A, 3B disclose multiple elements of ref. 300), a second port through which the outgoing circulator signals exit the circulator (Diaz Fig. 4, [0053] as detailed below), a third port through which the first circulator output signals exit the circulator (Diaz Fig. 4 not referenced, [0053] “The transition to and from free space is at the bidirectional port(s) of the optical circulator”, [0025]),
light from each of the circulator return signals being processed by a first selection of the optical components as the light from each of the circulator input signals travels on a different pathway from the second port to the third port (Diaz Fig. 4), and light from each of the circulator return signals being processed by a second selection of the optical components as the light from each of the circulator input signals travels on a different pathway from the second port to the third port (Diaz Fig. 4), the second selection of the optical components being different from the first selection of the optical components (Diaz components being different as they are routed to different light detectors).
In regards to claim 6, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the circulator is configured to receive circulator input signals (Diaz [0010], multiple input signals from outside environment and source), each of the outgoing circulator signals consists essentially of light from a different one of the circulator input signals (Diaz as combined, Fig. 3A, 3B ingoing light to circulator exits), and each of the circulator input signals consists essentially of light in a polarization state selected from the group consisting of the first polarization state and the second polarization state (Diaz [0036] “send the received reflected light 208 which has component oriented at a second polarisation 208′ different to the first polarisation, for example orthogonal to the first polarisation 206′ (e.g. an e-beam), to the detector”).
In regards to claim 7, Diaz as combined discloses the system of claim 2,
wherein the circulator output signals include multiple pairs, each pair of circulator output signals including one of the first circulator output signals and one of the second circulator output signals (Diaz as combined, as the LIDAR scans and sweeps and area/object multiple signals, are returned to the device, these signals forming pairs), and the first circulator output signal and the second circulator output signal in each of the pairs including primarily light from the same circulator return signal (Diaz as combined, Diaz [0053] “Light returned from the environment is directed to one of the two light detectors by their associated optical circulator 302 in the optical circulator”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642