DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filings dated September 25, 2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 26-28, 30-42, and 44-53 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's remarks and amendments filed September 25, 2025. Claims 1-25, 29, and 43 were previously canceled.
Applicants elected without traverse a formulation comprising (1) prednisolone PO4 about 1%, moxifloxacin HCL about 0.5%, and bromfenac about 0.075 as the elected formulation species and care after cataract surgery as the elected ocular condition in the reply filed on August 23, 2021. The requirement is still deemed proper. Examination was expanded to encompass a composition comprising boric acid in view of the disclosure of the cited art in the Office Action dated February 23, 2023.
In order to accelerate prosecution, examination has been expanded to the following species: care after LASIK surgery, care for a retina of the eye after cataract surgery, care for a retina of the eye after retina surgery, in preparation for an intraocular procedure, or during the intraocular procedure, because care after LASIK surgery, care for a retina of the eye after cataract surgery, care for a retina of the eye after retina surgery, in preparation for an intraocular procedure, or during the intraocular procedure were identified during the prior art search.
Claims 26-28, 30-42, and 44-53 are presently under examination as they relate to the elected species: a formulation comprising (1) prednisolone PO4 about 1%, moxifloxacin HCL about 0.5%, and bromfenac about 0.075 and the expanded formulation species further comprising boric acid and care after cataract surgery and the expanded species care after LASIK surgery, care for a retina of the eye after cataract surgery, care for a retina of the eye after retina surgery, in preparation for an intraocular procedure, or during the intraocular procedure.
Priority
The present application claims benefit of US Provisional Application No. 63/037,171 filed on June 10, 2020. The effective filing date of the instant application is June 10, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 25, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn Objections and/or Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 26-28, 30-42, and 44-53 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Maintained Objections and/or Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-28, 31-42, and 45-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiley et al (US 2019/0111045 A1, published April 18, 2019, cited in the IDS filed May 6, 2025) in view of Sampietro et al (US 2018/0318319 A1, cited in the IDS filed July 29, 2021).
Regarding claims 26-28, 36, 40-42, and 50, Wiley teaches a method for treating an ophthalmological disease, condition or pathology in a mammalian subject in need of such treatment comprising: (a) performing a keratomileusis surgery on the subject; and (b) administering to the subject a composition (claim 17); wherein the keratomileusis surgery is LASIK surgery (claims 18 and 19); wherein the composition is administered via drops after the surgery (claim 20); wherein the pharmaceutical composition formulated as a suspension that consists of (a) a dispersed phase consisting of solid particles consisting of a therapeutically effective quantity of a corticosteroid, including prednisolone; (b) a dispersion medium consisting of: (b1) a therapeutically effective quantity of at least one anti-bacterial agent including a fluorinated quinolone; (b4) optionally, a therapeutically effective quantity of at least one non-steroid anti-inflammatory drug including bromfenac (claim 1); wherein the fluorinated quinolone is moxifloxacin (claims 3-6). Moreover, Wiley teaches preparing a pharmaceutical composition containing NSAID Bromfenac, comprising prednisolone acetate, moxifloxacin hydrochloride, and bromfenac sodium, and boric acid [0112-0125]; and the composition obtained can then be administered to a patient by ordinarily skilled ophthalmologists as eye drops after performing a keratomileusis surgery such as LASIK surgery, e.g. as follow-up care [0125].
Wiley does not teach that the prednisolone is prednisolone phosphate.
However, Sampietro teaches a method for treating an ocular condition of an eye; wherein the method comprises a step of administering a pharmaceutical composition at, in, or around the eye via a deliver device and per a predetermined dosing regimen (claim 1) wherein the ocular condition is care after LASIK surgery (claim 2); wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises prednisolone PO4 1% and bromfenac 0.07% with a pH of 8.3 to 8.5 (claim 3). Sampietro also teaches the use of a pharmaceutical composition comprising moxifloxacin HCl 0.5% (claim 3), wherein the composition is preservative free (claim 6). Thus, Sampietro also teaches that prednisolone phosphate, moxifloxacin hydrochloride, and bromfenac are useful in a method of treating an ocular condition, care after LASIK surgery.
Since Wiley teaches a method of treating a method of treating an ocular condition, care after LASIK surgery comprising administering prednisolone acetate, moxifloxacin hydrochloride, and bromfenac sodium, and since Sampietro teaches a composition comprising prednisolone and bromfenac and a composition comprising moxifloxacin hydrochloride are useful in a method of treating an ocular condition, care after LASIK surgery, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one functional equivalence (any prednisolone based compound) for another (prednisolone PO4) with an expectation of success, since the prior art establishes that both function in similar manner.
Regarding the limitations wherein the delivery device is a multidose eye dropper (instant claims 26 and 40), wherein the multidose eye dropper is a sterile ophthalmic dropper bottle (instant claims 27 and 41), wherein the sterile ophthalmic dropper bottle is a drop-tainer (instant claims 28 and 42), Wiley teaches a method of compounding prednisolone, moxifloxacin hydrochloride, and bromfenac sodium and administering and that the composition can be administered to a patient by ordinarily skilled ophthalmologists as eye drops after performing a keratomileusis surgery such as LASIK surgery, e.g. as follow-up care. Thus, Wiley suggests administering the combination in a drop formulation. Wiley does not teach the composition is administered via a delivery device wherein the delivery device is a multidose eye dropper.
However, Sampietro teaches wherein the delivery device is an eye dropper (claims 9 and 19). Moreover, Sampietro teaches it would be desirable if such different packaged medications could be formulated to exist in a single package or delivery device, which may be improve patient compliance and reduce costs to the patient; dosing from a single container (that combines APIs) as opposed to multiple containers where the APIs are in separate and different containers, also exposes the patient to fewer preservatives; it would also be desirable if such a combined single packaging or delivery device, also increased efficacy and/or minimized side-effects [0006]. Sampietro further teaches the prednisolone PO4 1% and the bromfenac 0.07% pharmaceutical composition may be delivered to the eyes of a patient via use eye drops from an eye dropper, on some embodiments, a fill volume of 4 mL of this pharmaceutical composition may be contained within a 10 mL ophthalmic dropper (e.g., droptainer or the like) [0186] and a method of compounding the pharmaceutical composition and transferring to a final delivery device, e.g., a sterile ophthalmic dropper bottle [0188].
Moreover, Sampietro teaches in some embodiments, a pharmaceutical composition may comprise at least three active ingredients (APIs), prednisolone PO4, gatifloxacin and bromfenac [0197] and a method of compounding the pharmaceutical composition and transferring to a final delivery device, e.g., a sterile ophthalmic dropper bottle [0205]. As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the combination of prednisolone PO4 about 1%, moxifloxacin HCL about 0.5%, and bromfenac 0.07% rendered obvious by Wiley and Sampietro in a compounded composition and transferred to a final delivery device as suggested by Sampietro, since Sampietro teaches formulating the compositions into a single delivery device improves patient compliance, reduces costs to patient, exposes the patient to fewer preservatives and may also increase efficacy and/or minimize side-effects. A final delivery device, a sterile ophthalmic dropper bottle reads on a drop-tainer as evidenced by the instant application (see [0032] which teaches a final delivery device, e.g., a sterile ophthalmic dropper bottle (e.g., a “drop-tainer”).
Regarding claims 40, Example 5 of Wiley does not contain benzalkonium. This reads on, a composition comprising 0% benzalkonium.
Regarding claims 33, 34, 47, and 48, the composition of Example 5 contains boric acid.
Taken together, all this would result in the practice of the method of claims 26-28, 31, 33, 34, 36, 40-42, 47, 48, and 50 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 31 and 45, Sampietro teaches wherein the predetermined dosing regimen is selected from: once per day, twice per day, three times per day, once every other day, once per week, once every other week, or once monthly (claims 10 and 20).
Regarding the claimed amounts of prednisolone, moxifloxacin, and bromfenac of instant claims 32 and 46, Wiley teaches preparing a pharmaceutical composition containing NSAID Bromfenac, comprising about 10.0 g of prednisolone acetate, 5.454 g of moxifloxacin hydrochloride, and 1.035 g of bromfenac sodium, and about 1 L of sterile water [0112-0121]. This reads on a composition comprising 1% prednisolone acetate, 0.5454% moxifloxacin hydrochloride, and 0.1035% bromfenac sodium. Moreover, Sampietro teaches a composition comprising moxifloxacin HCl 0.5% and a composition comprising prednisolone PO4 1% and bromfenac 0.07%. MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Taken together, all this would result in the practice of the method of claims 31, 32, 45, and 46 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 35, 37-39, 49, and 51-53, as set forth above, Wiley and Sampietro teach method for treating an ophthalmological disease, condition or pathology in a mammalian subject in need of such treatment comprising administering a composition comprising prednisolone PO4, moxifloxacin hydrochloride, and bromfenac sodium, including care after Lasik surgery. Wiley does not explicitly teach the ocular condition is care after cataract surgery, care for a retina of the eye after cataract surgery, care for a retina of the eye after retina surgery, in preparation for an intraocular procedure, or during the intraocular procedure. However, Sampietro teaches the ocular condition is one or more of: glaucoma, care after cataract surgery, care after LASIK surgery, care for a retina of the eye after cataract surgery, dry eyes disease, in preparation of an intraocular procedure, during the intraocular procedure. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the method of treating ocular conditions comprising administering prednisolone PO4, moxifloxacin hydrochloride, and bromfenac sodium in view of the cited art, since the prior art teaches the same or very similar components are useful in a method of treating glaucoma, care after cataract surgery, care after LASIK surgery, care for a retina of the eye after cataract surgery, dry eyes disease, in preparation of an intraocular procedure, during the intraocular procedure.
Taken together, all this would result in the practice of the method of claims 35, 37-39, 49, and 51-53 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 30 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiley et al (US 2019/0111045 A1, published April 18, 2019, cited in the IDS ) in view of Sampietro et al (US 2018/0318319 A1, cited in the IDS filed July 29, 2021) as applied to claims 26-28, 31-42, and 45-53 above, and further in view of Painchaud et al (US 2011/0155770 A1, cited in a previous Office Action).
Wiley and Sampietro teach all the limitations of claims 30 and 44 (see above 103 rejection), except wherein the multidose eye dropper is a dropper bottle comprising a non-return position preventing the liquid from flowing back into the dropper bottle.
However, Painchaud teaches a device for dispensing predetermined metered quantities of liquid while also improving the sterility of the dispensed liquid [0004]; device includes a sealing member than can take up a liquid release position, allowing liquid to flow out of the device, and a non-return position preventing liquid from flowing back into the device, wherein the sealing member is provided with a metering means for metering out the liquid to be dispensed [0005]; generally the predetermined metered quantities of liquid are drops of liquid [0006]; penetration of liquid into undesired zones is a source of contamination, in particular through development of bacteria; in order to avoid such a risk, it is necessary to provide specific means for procuring sealing [0007]; incorporating the metering means into the sealing member makes it easier to reduce any "dead volume" that might contain contaminated liquid; such dead volume corresponds to the volume situated between the sealed zone and the metering means for metering out the drops [0008]; the device makes it possible to dispense predetermined metered quantities of liquid, and more particular drops of liquid, for eye [0023].
As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the combination of prednisolone PO4, moxifloxacin HCL, and bromfenac suggested by Wiley and Sampietro in the eye dropper device comprising a non-return position preventing liquid from flowing back into the device since the prior art teaches it is desirable to prevent backflow of liquid into the source/reservoir of the composition to prevent contamination, thus resulting in the practice of the method of claims 4 and 14 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
Specifically, the Office alleges that Wiley provides a pharmaceutical composition that comprises prednisolone acetate (Office Action, pg. 8), while conceding that "Wiley does not teach that the prednisolone salt is prednisolone phosphate." The instant claims require "prednisolone phosphate or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof'. As evidenced by the FDA packaging insert for prednisolone phosphate submitted in an IDS alongside this response, the phosphate group is not a counterion that forms a salt. Further, as evidenced by the FDA packaging insert for prednisolone acetate submitted in an IDS alongside this response, the acetate group is not a counterion that forms a salt. Rather, the acetate group forms part of the covalent structure of prednisolone acetate. These FDA packaging inserts thus prove that prednisolone phosphate and prednisolone acetate are two distinct covalent structures, not alternative salts of a common active pharmaceutical ingredient. The Office Action bases the rejection on the premise that it would be obvious, "to substitute one functional equivalence (any pharmaceutically acceptable salt) for another (prednisolone phosphate) with an expectation of success ... ." Based on the facts proven above, that prednisolone phosphate and prednisolone acetate are not salts of a common active pharmaceutical ingredient, this premise is applicable to the instant claims and the cited art. This reasoning does not lead to a prima facie case of obviousness.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
Prednisolone acetate and prednisolone phosphate are structurally similar compounds which are also structurally similar compounds to prednisolone:
Prednisolone
[AltContent: oval]
Prednisolone Acetate
[AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: oval]Prednisolone Phosphate
differing only in the position denoted by the dashed circles. Prednisolone acetate and phosphate are clearly prednisolone modified compounds. Prednisolone, prednisolone acetate and prednisolone phosphate are each taught as useful for treating an ocular condition, care after LASIK surgery. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one functional equivalence (any prednisolone based compound) for another (prednisolone PO4) with an expectation of success, since the prior art establishes that both function in similar manner.
Applicant argues:
Even if, arguendo, the position were taken that the prednisolone acetate of Wiley
provides functional equivalence to the prednisolone phosphate of the claims, the declaration of Amy Frost, of record, overcomes this argument. The declaration of Amy Frost presented evidence that combining prednisolone, bromfenac, and moxifloxacin provides a composition that passed an Antimicrobial Effectiveness assay and exhibited a lack of fungal growth. The cited references do not describe the ability or inability of any drug combination to pass an Antimicrobial Effectiveness assay. The references provide no predictability of any drug formulation, especially one of the instant claims, to pass an Antimicrobial Effectiveness assay. No reference provides the formulation of the instant claims. Thus, no reference can establish the shelf stability of the claimed formulation. A person of ordinary skill in the art cannot predict the results presented in the Amy Frost declaration based on the cited references. Applicant also notes that the argument presented here and in the Amy Frost declaration is based on the Antimicrobial Effectiveness assay, which is a measure of shelf stability. The argument is not based on therapeutic efficacy of prednisolone phosphate or prednisolone acetate. Any argument directed towards the obviousness of the claims based on alleged therapeutic equivalence of prednisolone phosphate and prednisolone acetate does not address the merits of the Amy Frost declaration, particularly the inability of a person of ordinary skill in the art to predict the success of the claimed formulation in the Antimicrobial Effectiveness assay.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
With regard to the alleged unexpected properties of increased stability, the Examiner acknowledges that the Declarant provides data that may support improved stability of the combination of prednisolone PO4, moxifloxacin, and bromfenac compared to the combination of moxifloxacin alone and prednisolone PO4/bromfenac combination.
However, MPEP 716.02(e) states:
An affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979). "A comparison of the claimed invention with the disclosure of each cited reference to determine the number of claim limitations in common with each reference, bearing in mind the relative importance of particular limitations, will usually yield the closest single prior art reference." In re Merchant, 575 F.2d 865, 868, 197 USPQ 785, 787 (CCPA 1978) (emphasis in original). Where the comparison is not identical with the reference disclosure, deviations therefrom should be explained, In re Finley, 174 F.2d 130, 81 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1949), and if not explained should be noted and evaluated, and if significant, explanation should be required. In re Armstrong, 280 F.2d 132, 126 USPQ 281 (CCPA 1960) (deviations from example were inconsequential). In the instant case, Wiley teaches a method for treating an ophthalmological disease, condition or pathology in a mammalian subject in need of such treatment comprising: wherein the condition includes follow-up care after LASIK surgery comprising administering a composition comprising prednisolone acetate, moxifloxacin hydrochloride, and bromfenac sodium, and boric acid; and the composition obtained can then be administered to a patient by ordinarily skilled ophthalmologists as eye drops after performing a keratomileusis surgery such as LASIK surgery, e.g. as follow-up care.
The difference between the composition of the prior art and the instant claims is that the composition of the prior art comprises the prednisolone compound, prednisolone acetate, while the instant composition comprises prednisolone compound, prednisolone phosphate. Thus, the method of Wiley is considered the closest prior art. The data provided in the previously submitted affidavit does not provide a comparison to the closest prior art. Thus, the data is not found to be persuasive in view of the rejection of record.
Applicant argues:
Claims 30 and 44 depend from claims 26 and 40, respectively, and are not obvious for the reasons that claims 26 and 40 are not obvious.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
Applicant has not independently argued the merits of this rejection. Arguments regarding claims 26 and 40 have been addressed above. Therefore, the rejection is maintained for the reasons set forth on the record and for those set forth in the response to the arguments above.
Conclusion
Claims 26-28, 30-42, and 44-53 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Rayna Rodriguez/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628