DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant's submission filed on 21 April 2026 [hereinafter Response] has been entered, where:
Claims 1, 11, and 16 have been amended.
Claims 2-7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 21 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 8, 11, 14, 16, 19, 22, and 23 are pending.
Claims 1, 8, 11, 14, 16, 19, 22, and 23 are rejected.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112
3. The rejection to claims 1, 8, 11, 14, 16, 19, 22, and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention is WITHDRAWN in view of the Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
7. Claims 1, 8, 11, 14, 16, 19, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 20200351283 to Salunke et al. [hereinafter Salunke] in view of Tepić et al., “AutoSec: Multidimensional Timing-Based Anomaly Detection for Automotive Cybersecurity,” IEEE (2020) [hereinafter Tepić], and US Patent 6597777 to Ho [hereinafter Ho].
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 16, Salunke teaches [a] non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon, the instructions, when executed, causing one or more processors to perform operations (Salunke ¶ 0200 teaches “a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprises instructions which, when executed by one or more hardware processors, causes performance of any of the operations described herein and/or recited in any of the claims. [(that is, non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory)]”) of claim 1, [a] method (Salunke ¶ 0002 teaches “anomaly detection systems and methods”) of claim 11, and a system comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon; and one or more processors, that when executing the instructions, are caused to perform (see above Salunke ¶¶ 0002, 0200) of claim 16, the instructions comprising instructions to:
[(a)] receive entity function data (Salunke, Fig. 1, teaches “an example anomaly detection system [Examiner annotations in dashed-line text boxes]:”
Salunke ¶ 0047 teaches “systems described herein capture time series signals from multiple entities of an application”), the entity function data indicating a time-based metric (Salunke, Abstract, teaches “detects a first set of anomalies in a first time series that tracks a first metric and assigns a different respective range of time to each anomaly [(that is, ”indicating a time-based metric . . . of a function performed by an entity)]”) . . . and a type of a function performed by an . . . entity (Salunke ¶ 0055 teaches “agents 114 a-j may be configured to capture topology metadata that identifies relationships between different targets. For instance, the topology metadata may identify functional dependencies between different targets. . . . Topology metadata may capture such information, including metadata that identifies each individual resource that is deployed, the respective type of resource, and the respective functional dependencies of the resource [(that is, each “time series” is a type of function performed by an . . . entity)]”),
[(a.1)] the time-based metric measuring the performance of the function by the entity with respect to a time measurement (Salunke ¶ 0044 teaches “an anomaly region may correspond to different metrics exhibiting different combinations of anomalous high values, anomalous low values, and/or values within an expected range [(that is, time-based metrics measuring the performance of the function)]”; with regard to time measurement, Salunke ¶ 0057 teaches “[d]ata collector 120 may collect or generate timestamps for sample values in a time series. A timestamp for a sample value indicates the date and time at which the sample value was measured or otherwise observed. For example, CPU performance on a target host that is sampled every five minutes may have a sequence of timestamps as follows for the collected samples: August 16, 11:50 p.m., August 16, 11:55 p.m., August 17, 12:00 a.m., and August 17, 12:05 a.m. [(that is, “metrics exhibiting . . . values” is the time-based metric measuring the performance of the function by the entity with respect to a time measurement)]”), . . . ,
[(a.3)] the type categorizing the function among a plurality of . . . functions performed by the . . . entity (Salunke ¶ 0104 teaches “[t]he training process may form the feature vectors by fetching and extracting values for features used to determine similarity [(that is, “similarity” is categorizing the function among a plurality of . . . functions)]. Example features may include, but are not limited to: entity type indicating the type of software or hardware resource on which the anomalous behavior occurred (e.g., database host, middleware, load balancer, web server, etc.); metric identifier indicating what metric was exhibiting the anomalous behavior (e.g., active sessions, memory performance, CPU utilization, page hits per minute, I/O throughput, etc.); lifecycle type (e.g., archival, test, production, etc.); and/or time (e.g., hour of day, day of the week), when the anomaly occurred {(that is, “entity type,” “metric identifier,” “lifecycle type” is categorizing the function among a plurality of functions performed by the . . . entity)]”);
[(b)] provide the entity function data including both the time-based metric . . . and the type of the function performed by the . . . entity into a supervised machine learning model (Salunke ¶ 0061 teaches “[e]valuation analytic 132 evaluates incoming data [(that is, provide the entity function data)] provided by data collector 120 against models trained by training analytic 131 to monitor targets 112 a-j for anomalous behavior”; Salunke ¶ 0035 teaches “[a] supervised machine learning process may then train the model by inferring a function from the labeled training data. The trained model may be used to classify new examples as anomalous or unanomalous; further, Salunke ¶ 0104 teaches that in “the machine-assisted supervised mode, the training process generates a set of feature vectors for data points labeled as anomalous (operation 502). . . . Example features may include, but are not limited to: entity type indicating the type of software or hardware resource [(that is, “entity type” is the type of the function)] on which the anomalous behavior occurred (e.g., database host, middleware, load balancer, web server, etc.); metric identifier [(that is, the time-based metric)] indicating what metric was exhibiting the anomalous behavior (e.g., active sessions, memory performance, CPU utilization, page hits per minute, I/O throughput, etc.) [(that is, the “incoming data” and “trained model” is to provide the entity function data including both the time-based metric . . . and the type of the function performed by the . . . entity into a supervised machine learning model into a supervised machine learning model)]”),
[(b.1)] the supervised machine learning model trained using two or more labeled clusters (Salunke ¶ 0104 teaches “In the machine-assisted supervised mode, the training process generates a set of feature vectors for data points labeled as anomalous”; Salunke ¶ 0110 teaches “[o]nce the clusters have been formed, the training process identifies a cluster having at least one data point with a user-set label (operation 506). For example, the training process may identify a cluster having a data point explicitly labeled as anomalous or unanomalous by the user [(that is, “labeled anomalous or unanomalous” is the supervised machine learning model trained using two or more labeled clusters)]”) to apply a label to the entity function data (Salunke ¶ 0130 teaches that “[o]nce trained, an anomaly detection model may be used to make predictions against new data to monitor for anomalies [(that is, to apply a label to the entity function data)]”),
[(b.2)] wherein a labeled cluster of the two or more labeled clusters is identified as an outlier cluster (Salunke ¶ 0110 teaches “[o]nce the clusters have been formed, the training process identifies a cluster having at least one data point with a user-set label (operation 506). For example, the training process may identify a cluster having a data point explicitly labeled as anomalous [(that is, “identifies a cluster” as an outlier cluster)] or unanomalous by the user [(that is, wherein a labeled cluster of the two or more labeled clusters is identified as an outlier cluster)]”) . . . , and
[(b.3)] wherein the label indicates a classification of the entity function data into one of two or more clusters including the outlier cluster (Salunke ¶ 0061 teaches “evaluation analytic 132 may output a set of data that indicates which sample data points within a given time series are anomalous and/or which sample data points are un-anomalous”; Salunke ¶ 0133 teaches “the evaluation process may use the trained classifiers to map incoming data points to a positive class or a negative class [(that is, “negative class“ is the outlier cluster)]. Further, the evaluation process may determine the anomaly boundary region(s) where the incoming data points fall [(that is, wherein the label indicates a classification of the entity function data into one of two or more clusters including the outlier cluster)]”); and
[(c)] transmit a notification of the classification to a client device (Salunke ¶ 0065 teaches “[p]resentation engine 135 may render user interface elements and receive input via user interface elements. Examples of interfaces include a GUI, a command line interface (CLI), a haptic interface, a voice command interface, and an API [(that is, transmit a notification of the classification to the client device)]”).
Though Salunke teaches a system identifies a plurality of time series that track different metrics over time for a set of one or more computing resources; Salunke, however, does not explicitly teach that the entity is an “automotive entity,” and that the plurality of functions are a “plurality of automotive functions. Also, Salunke does not explicitly teach –
* * *
[(a) receive entity function data . . . indicating a time-based metric] in connection with performance of an automotive task and a type of function performed by an automotive entity, . . . [the type categorizing the function] among a plurality of automotive functions performed by the automotive entity;
[(b) provide the entity function data into a supervised machine learning model . . . , wherein a labeled cluster of the two or more labeled clusters is identified as an outlier cluster] reflecting outlier performance of the automotive task, . . . ; and
* * *
But Tepić teaches that the entity is an “automotive entity,” (Tepić, left column of p. 1, “I. Introduction,” first paragraph, teaches the implementation by the automotive industry, which is an automotive entity) and that the plurality of functions are a “plurality of automotive functions (Tepić, left column of p. 3, “A. System Architecture,” second paragraph, teaches to collect the various timing parameters of the legitimate [automotive] code. The collected traces are then used as an input to a clustering algorithm which generates a number of clusters, thus forming the timing model [(that is, “collect timing codes” and “generate a timing model” are a plurality of automotive functions)]).
Tepić also teaches –
* * *
[(a) receive entity function data . . . indicating a time-based metric] in connection with performance of an automotive task (Tepić, Fig. 2, teaches a tracing algorithm of legitimate automotive code [Examiner annotations in dashed-line text boxes]:
Tepić, left column of p. 2, “I. Introduction,” first paragraph, teaches “we introduce AutoSec, a multidimensional anomaly detection algorithm which relies on observing the timing parameters of the real-time software components running on various electronic control units (ECUs) [(that is, “observing the timing parameters on ECUs” is [receiving entity function data . . . indicating a time-based metric] in connection with performance of an automotive task)]”) . . . ;
[(b) provide the entity function data into a supervised machine learning model . . . , wherein a labeled cluster of the two or more labeled clusters is identified as an outlier cluster] reflecting outlier performance of the automotive task (Tepić, Fig. 3, teaches representing abnormal execution timings [Examiner annotations in dashed-line text boxes]:
Tepić, right column of p. 3, “A. System Architecture,” first paragraph, teaches “Figure 3 illustrates an example of such a timing model where it visualizes the various clusters. In this example, the executions – marked in black dots-located inside the boundaries of a certain cluster represents a class of legitimate code with normal behavior. Whereas, the black dots - surrounded by red circles in Figure 3 – represents the abnormal executions which have been annotated as anomalies [(that is, reflecting outlier performance of the automotive task)]), . . . ; and
* * *
Salunke and Tepić are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Salunke teaches anomaly analysis of time-series metrics. Tepić teaches a host-based anomaly detection algorithm which relies on observing four timing parameters of the executed software components to accurately detect malicious behavior on the operating system level. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify Salunke pertaining to anomaly analysis of time-series metrics with the task of detecting anomalistic executions via collected timing traces over an automotive CAN bus as a clustering problem of Tepić.
The motivation to do so is because, in autonomous driving and driver assistance applications, it is “highly crucial to identify any misbehavior of the software components which might occur owing to either [remotely-launched attack] threats or even software/hardware malfunctioning.” (Tepić, Abstract).
Though Salunke and Tepić teach a system identifies a plurality of time series that track different metrics over time for a set of one or more computing resources of an automotive task, the combination of Salunke and Tepić; however, does not explicitly teach -
[(a) receive entity function data,] . . .
[(a.2)] the time-based metric comprising a difference between current entity function data and a forecasted value of the entity function data, . . . ;
* * *
But Ho teaches –
[(a)] receive entity function data], . . .
[(a.2)] the time-based metric comprising a difference between current entity function data and a forecasted value of the entity function data (Ho 2:66 to 3:9 teaches an “objective function, using current real-time data, is directly correlated with the particular anomalies, which the network monitor is trying to detect. That objective function, generated from current data [(that is, current entity function data)], is then compared [(that is, “compared” pertains to a difference)] with that same objective function as predicted from historical performance data [(that is, the “historical performance data” is a forecasted value of the entity function data)] to determine anomalies in the objective function generated from the current data which probabilistically signify a potential fault. Through such a real time comparison, alarms can be generated when anomalies are detected in the objective function generated from the current data”; Ho 9:1-4 teaches “the upper/lower thresholds and the baselines of the temporal traffic intensity for a service class can be predicted from historical network data from that service class [(that is, “predicted from historical network data” is a forecasted value of the entity function data)]”;
[Examiner notes that the plain meaning of the claim term “forecasted” is to predict based on available information. In this respect, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term “forecasted value” covers a prediction, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111). Thus, the claim phrase “forecasted value of the entity function data” covers the teachings of Ho pertaining to an “objective function, generated from current data, is then compared with that same objective function as predicted from historical performance data to determine anomalies”]); . . .
* * *
Salunke, Tepić, and Ho are from the same or similar field of endeavor. Salunke teaches anomaly analysis of time-series metrics. Tepić teaches a host-based anomaly detection algorithm which relies on observing four timing parameters of the executed software components to accurately detect malicious behavior on the operating system level of an automotive task. Ho teaches measure and analyze network performance in real time from which an anomaly can be detected before an actual failure occurs so that corrective actions can be executed in time to avert failures. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to modify the combination of Salunke and Tepić pertaining to anomaly analysis of time-series metrics based on a task of detecting anomalistic executions via collected timing traces over an automotive CAN bus with the historical thresholds with comparison analysis of real-time network performance data of Ho.
The motivation to do so is for “proactive and automatic detection of network failures and performance degradations is achieved by first converting real-time network performance data into a performance-based objective function.” (Ho 2:62-66).
Regarding claim 8 and 19, the combination of Salunke, Tepić, and Ho teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 16, respectively, as described above in detail.
Salunke teaches -
further comprising:
in response to receiving user input rejecting the classification, re-training the supervised machine learning model (Salunke ¶ 0120 teaches “[a]s the user is reviewing other data points assigned to the new cluster, the training process may recommend the same user-set label. If the user again specifies a different label then what is recommend (that is, “specifies a different label than what is recommended” is in response to receiving user input rejecting the classification)], the process may again re-cluster to account for the user feedback in an attempt to incorporate the newly learned patterns and facilitate the labeling process [(that is, “re-cluster” is re-training the supervised machine learning model )]”) to reduce a corresponding likelihood that a function monitor field is generated on a function monitor (Salunke ¶ 0065 teaches “[p]resentation engine 135 may render user interface elements and receive input via user interface elements. Examples of interfaces include a GUI, a command line interface (CLI), a haptic interface, a voice command interface, and an API”; Salunke ¶ 0067 & Fig. 1 teaches “[c]lients 150 a-k represent one or more clients that may access anomaly management services 130 to generate, view, and navigate summaries. Additionally or alternatively, clients 150 a-k may invoke responsive actions and/or configure automated triggers via the interfaces described herein [(that is, a function monitor field)]”; Salunke ¶¶ 0176-77 teaches “[m]icroservices may be managed and updated separately, written in different languages, and be executed independently from other microservices. Microservices provide flexibility in managing and building applications. . . . Microservices may provide monitoring services that notify a microservices manager (such as If-This-Then-That (IFTTT), Zapier, or Oracle Self-Service Automation (OSSA)) when trigger events from a set of trigger events exposed to the microservices manager occur [(that is, reduce a corresponding likelihood that a function monitor field is generated on a function monitor)]”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Salunke, Tepić, and Ho teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as described above in detail.
Salunke teaches -
further comprising, in response to receiving a user input comprising a rejection of the classification (Salunke ¶ 0120 teaches “[a]s the user is reviewing other data points assigned to the new cluster, the training process may recommend the same user-set label. If the user again specifies a different label then what is recommend (that is, “specifies a different label than what is recommended” is in response to receiving user input rejecting the classification)], the process may again re-cluster to account for the user feedback in an attempt to incorporate the newly learned patterns and facilitate the labeling process [(that is, “re-cluster” is re-training the supervised machine learning model )]”), weakening an association between the label and the entity function data by:
reducing a likelihood that the entity function data will be classified into the outlier cluster (Salunke ¶ 0120 teaches “[a]s the user is reviewing other data points assigned to the new cluster, the training process may recommend the same user-set label. If the user again specifies a different label then what is recommend, the process may again re-cluster to account for the user feedback in an attempt to incorporate the newly learned patterns and facilitate the labeling process [(that is, “re-cluster” is reducing a likelihood that the entity function data will be classified into the outlier cluster)]”); and
reducing a corresponding likelihood that a function monitor field will be generated on a function monitor (Salunke ¶ 0065 teaches “[p]resentation engine 135 may render user interface elements and receive input via user interface elements. Examples of interfaces include a GUI, a command line interface (CLI), a haptic interface, a voice command interface, and an API”; Salunke ¶ 0067 & Fig. 1 teaches “[c]lients 150 a-k represent one or more clients that may access anomaly management services 130 to generate, view, and navigate summaries. Additionally or alternatively, clients 150 a-k may invoke responsive actions and/or configure automated triggers via the interfaces described herein [(that is, “invoke responsive actions” is a function monitor field)]”; Salunke ¶¶ 0176-77 teaches “[m]icroservices may be managed and updated separately, written in different languages, and be executed independently from other microservices. Microservices provide flexibility in managing and building applications. . . . Microservices may provide monitoring services that notify a microservices manager (such as If-This-Then-That (IFTTT), Zapier, or Oracle Self-Service Automation (OSSA)) when trigger events from a set of trigger events exposed to the microservices manager occur [(that is, reducing a corresponding likelihood that a function monitor field will be generated on a function monitor)]”).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Salunke, Tepić, and Ho teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as is described above in detail.
Salunke teaches -
wherein the instructions further comprise instructions to
train an unsupervised machine learning model to identify outliers in training data including metric and type information (Salunke ¶ 0036 teaches “[w]hen operating in an unsupervised manner, the anomaly detection system may train a model with little to no input from a user. In particular, the anomaly detection system may train the anomaly detection model without receiving any user-set labels for the training data. The unsupervised stage may instead train an anomaly detection model as a function of labels that have been automatically assigned. Operating in an unsupervised manner allows the system to provide nearly instantaneous anomaly detection which is generally not achievable with a purely supervised approach [(that is, train an unsupervised machine learning model to identify outliers in training data including metric and type information)]”).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Salunke, Tepić, and Ho teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above in detail.
Salunke teaches -
wherein the instructions further comprise instructions to
retrain the supervised machine learning model based on a user input comprising one of an affirmation or a rejection of the classification (Salunke ¶ 0120 teaches “[a]s the user is reviewing other data points assigned to the new cluster, the training process may recommend the same user-set label. If the user again specifies a different label then what is recommend (that is, “specifies a different label than what is recommended” is based on a user input comprising one of an affirmation or a rejection of the classification)], the process may again re-cluster [(that is, retrain the supervised machine learning model)] to account for the user feedback in an attempt to incorporate the newly learned patterns and facilitate the labeling process [(that is, “re-cluster” is retrain the supervised machine learning model )]”).
Response to Arguments
8. Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments, and responds below, accordingly.
Claim Rejections -35 U.S.C. § 103
9. Independent claims 1, 11, and 16 are amended as follows:
* * *
[(a) receive entity function data, the entity function data indicating a time-based metric in connection with performance of an automotive task and a type of a function performed by an automotive entity,
[(a.1)] the time-based metric measuring the performance of the function by the entity with respect to a time measurement,
[(a.2)] the time-based metric comprising a difference between current entity function data and a forecasted value of the entity function data,
[(a.3)] the type categorizing the function among a plurality of automotive functions performed by the automotive entity;
[(b)] providing the entity function data including both the time-based metric in connection with performance of the automative task and the type of the function performed by the automotive entry into a supervised machine learning model trained using two or more labeled clusters to apply a label to the entity function data,
[(b.1)] the supervised machine learning model trained using two or more labeled clusters to apply a label to the entity function data,
[(b.2)] wherein a labeled cluster of the two or more labeled clusters is identified as an outlier cluster reflecting outlier performance of the automotive task, and
[(b.3)] wherein the label indicates a classification of the entity function data into one of two or more clusters including the outlier cluster; and
* * *
(claim 1).
Applicant submits that “Independent claims 1, 11, and 16 are amended to recite a portion of previously pending claim 9,
[(a) receive entity function data], . . .
[(a.2)] the time-based metric comprising a difference between current entity function data and a forecasted value of the entity function data, . . .
* * *
In rejecting claim 9, the Office action pointed to Ho's discussion relating to historical network performance data. This discussion in Ho is silent on a metric comprising a difference between current entity function data and a forecasted value of the entity function data. Accordingly, Independent claims 1, 11, and 16 are patentable, as are the remaining claims at least by virtue of their dependencies. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection is therefore respectfully requested.” (Response at pp. 7-8 (emphasis added by Examiner)).
Examiner’s Response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Ho teaches a difference obtained by an objective function, generated from current data, that is compared with that same objective function as predicted from historical performance data. Ho teaches:
objective function, using current real-time data, is directly correlated with the particular anomalies, which the network monitor is trying to detect. That objective function, generated from current data [(that is, current entity function data)], is then compared [(that is, “compared” pertains to a difference)] with that same objective function as predicted from historical performance data [(that is, the “historical performance data” is a forecasted value of the entity function data)] to determine anomalies in the objective function generated from the current data which probabilistically signify a potential fault. Through such a real time comparison, alarms can be generated when anomalies are detected in the objective function generated from the current data.
(Ho 2:66 to 3:9). Ho also teaches the use of thresholds relating to a “temporal traffic intensity,” where such thresholds a based on predictions from historical network data. Ho teaches a
upper/lower thresholds and the baselines of the temporal traffic intensity for a service class can be predicted from historical network data from that service class [(that is, “predicted from historical network data” is a forecasted value of the entity function data)]”); . . .
(Ho 9:1-4).
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term “forecasted value” covers a prediction, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111). Thus, the claim phrase “forecasted value of the entity function data” covers the teachings of Ho pertaining to an “objective function, generated from current data, is then compared with that same objective function as predicted from historical performance data to determine anomalies, as is set out above in detail.
Moreover, the rejections hereinabove clearly sets forth which claim limitations are taught by each of the prior art references, and the reason why it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to combine their teachings, and Applicant has not explained why the cited prior art references cannot be combined in the manner set forth in the rejection.
Generally, the instant claims do not provide further detail or specifics to the limitation of “transmit a notification of the classification to a client device.”
To advance the prosecution of the application, Applicant may opt to further clarify the interplay with the “client device” beyond “transmitting a notification,” where an interaction may occur. For example, the disclosure recites “[r]ecords stored within payload database 205 may include other information associated with payload requests in addition or alternative to size and type. In some embodiments, a payload routing request may be associated with a duration of active status. For example, the duration of a payload routing request may be measured by the time between the generation of a payload routing request by client device 131b and a validation decision by client device 131a,” (Specification ¶ 0045), or feedback by a client device 13a and 131b for model retraining, (Specification ¶ 0054), etc.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
(US Patent 12327199 to Jagota) teaches Time series forecasting is the use of models to predict future time series values based on previously observed values. The implementation of a computerized database system that can correctly, reliably, and efficiently implement such methods and forecasts must be specialized for processing time series values. Proactive analyses of metrics can forecast potential problems before the problems actually occur. For example, the response time of a particular service may start degrading significantly before subsequently being followed by the disruption of the service.
(US Published Application 20170006135 to Siebel et al.) teaches an IoT Platform as a platform as a service (PaaS) for the design, development, deployment, and operation of next generation cyberphysical software applications and business processes. The applications apply advanced data aggregation methods, data persistence methods, data analytics, and machine learning methods, embedded in a unique model driven architecture type system embodiment to recommend actions based on real-time and near real-time analysis of petabyte-scale data sets, numerous enterprise and extraprise data sources, and telemetry data from millions to billions of endpoints. The IoT Platform disclosed herein also provides a suite of pre-built, cross-industry applications, developed on its platform, that facilitate IoT business transformation for organizations in energy, manufacturing, aerospace, automotive, chemical, pharmaceutical, telecommunications, retail, insurance, healthcare, financial services, the public sector, and others.
(Zhu et al., “Deep and Confident Prediction for Time Series at Uber,” arXiv (2017)) teaches a novel end-to-end Bayesian deep model that provides time series prediction along with uncertainty estimation. We provide detailed experiments of the proposed solution on completed trips data, and successfully apply it to large-scale time series anomaly detection at Uber.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, KAKALI CHAKI can be reached on 571-272-3719. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/K.L.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/KAKALI CHAKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122