DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 9-10 recite dependency from claim 6. However, each of these claims include materials that are not within the scope of claim 6. For example, Claim 9 includes compounds E-130 to E-132 and claim 10 include C-171, C-172, C-182, C-256 to C-263 none of which are within the scope of claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 2-5 and 7-11 depend from claim 6 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2023/0086039) (Kim) in view of Ji et al (US 2019/0036059) (Ji).
In reference to claims 2-9 and 11, Kim teaches a compound shown below (Kim p. 268) for use in a light emitting layer of an organic electronic device as a host material with a second host material.
Kim does not expressly teach that the second host material is the material instantly claimed.
With respect to the difference, Ji teaches, in analogues art, compounds of formula as shown below (Ji [0087]) as a host material (Ji [0072] [0103]) in an emissive layer that can also include other hosts (Ji [0109] [0112]) that has high triplet energy and good thermal properties (Ji [0072]).
For example, wherein in the formula above, Y1 is NR, Y2 is O, X1 to X8 are each CH or CD and R is phenyl.
Ji discloses the compound above that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula above, Y1 is NR, Y2 is O, X1 to X8 are each CH or CD and R is phenyl. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Ji are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of Ji.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound above to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Ji and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, the substitution of the host compound of Ji for the second host of Kim absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of providing a material with high triplet energy and thermal properties. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to the outstanding rejections under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that the amended claims no longer include the materials of Kim and Ji. This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing. As set forth above herein, Kim and Ji teach the claimed materials and devices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786