DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The rejection under section 103 is withdrawn in favor of the following new ground of rejection, which was necessitated by Applicant’s amendments:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, 14, 16, 19 and 20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20050089519 based on an application by Kipriyanov et al. (Kipriyanov) in view of:
Arruebo et al., Journal of Nanomaterials, Volume 2009, January 2009, Article No.: 37, pp 1–24, previously cited (Arruebo).
Kipriyanov teaches multivalent multimeric antibodies comprising at least two binding sites specific for the human B cell marker CD19 and human Fc gamma receptor III (CD16). Also described are polynucleotides encoding said antibodies as well as vectors comprising said polynucleotides, host cells transformed therewith and their use in the production of said antibodies. Finally, compositions are described comprising any of above mentioned antibodies, polynucleotides or vectors. The pharmaceutical compositions are useful for immunotherapy, preferably against B cell malignancies such as non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, see Abstract.
Kipriyanov may fail to explicitly teach conjugation to nanoparticles. However, the therapeutic benefits of conjugating antibodies to the recited nanoparticles were known, see Arruebo:
In this way, those of ordinary skill could have applied anti-CD19/anti-CD18 antibodies to nanoparticles in the manner required and in a predictable fashion for the purposes of obtaining the recited conjugates. As outlined above, Kipriyanov teaches multivalent multimeric antibodies comprising at least two binding sites specific for the human B cell marker CD19 and human Fc gamma receptor III (CD16). Arruebo is added for the proposition that antibody-modified nanoparticles are applicable to these antibodies. Specifically, Arruebo teaches that the technique of conjugating multi-specific antibodies to nanoparticles was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to multispecific antibodies, such as anti-CD19/anti-CD18 antibody taught by Kipriyanov, would have yielded predictable results. Accordingly, conjugating anti-CD19/anti-CD18 antibodies to nanoparticles for the purposes of providing the instant conjugates would have been prima facie obvious.
Claims 15 and 18 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2005089519 based on an application by Kipriyanov et al. (Kipriyanov) in view of:
Arruebo et al., Journal of Nanomaterials, Volume 2009, January 2009, Article No.: 37, pp 1–24, previously cited (Arruebo); in further view of:
“Chemotherapy of Neoplastic Diseases” in Goodmann & Gilman's Manual of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, 2008, McGraw-Hill Medical 2008, previously cited (Goodmann & Gilman's).
The primary and secondary references may fail to explicitly teach that the additional therapeutic agents. However, it is for that proposition that the examiner joins Goodmann & Gilman's, which teaches that anti-cancer regimens are optimized with combination therapies in order to avoid common mechanisms of resistance:
In this way, those of ordinary skill could have applied combination therapy in a predictable fashion for the purposes of treating the recited cancers. Specifically, Goodman & Gilman’s teaches that the particular known technique of combination therapy was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to the recited conjugates would have yielded predictable results, see MPEP 2144 (“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In reKerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980)”). Accordingly, including the recited conjugates in combination therapy for the purpose of treating cancer would have been prima facie obvious.
Applicant has argued that the references do not teach nanoparticles conjugated with two different antibodies or fragments thereof, with one binding CD16 on NK cells and the other binding tumor cell. In the context of the above references, Applicant may argue that the bispecific anti-CD19/CD16 antibodies taught by Kipriyanov are not two different antibodies or fragments thereof, with one binding CD16 on NK cells and the other binding CD19 or CD 20 on a tumor cell. However, the claims only require that the first binding moiety is a first antibody or a fragment thereof and the second binding moiety is a second antibody or a fragment thereof, which does not exclude the bispecific anti-CD19/CD16 antibodies taught by Kipriyanov. Therefore, the claims remain rejected over the grounds of rejection outlined above.
The double patenting rejections remain outstanding:
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 13-16, 18-20 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
Claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11000603;
Claims 11-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11525009;
Claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10758625.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims also cover nanoparticle conjugates, wherein the conjugate comprises a first and second binding moieties connected by a nanomaterial which is a biodegradable nanomaterial. In this manner, the conflicting claims anticipate the scope of the instant claims.
Alternatively, the difference between the conflicting claims and the claimed inventions is that the conflicting claims may not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the instant conjugates with sufficient guidance and particularity, based on the structure of the recited bispecific antibody. In this manner, the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
In particular, the bispecific antibody conjugates of US 11525009 read on instant nanoparticle conjugates comprising a first and second binding moieties.
US 11525009:
US 10758625:
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646