DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s RCE with amendment/remarks filed 07/07/2026. Claims 1, 3, 15, 17, and 23 have been amended. No claims have been newly added and claims 2 and 16 have been cancelled. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-4, 8, 11-13, 15, 17-19, 21, and 23-28 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11 filed 07/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the independent claims under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, since the newly added amendments are not captured in the prior art on record. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wu et al. US20190150357A1 (henceforth Wu), in view of Vollath et al. US20120229332A1 (henceforth Vollath). See the new 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 11-13, 15, 18-19, 21, 23, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. US20190150357A1 (henceforth Wu), in view of Vollath et al. US20120229332A1 (henceforth Vollath).
Regarding claim 1,
Wu discloses:
A mobile agricultural machine, comprising: substance application subsystem configured to apply a substance to a surface in an environment in which the mobile agricultural machine performs an operation; (See at least Para. 0007 and Fig. 2, “agricultural vehicle towing a fluid tank carrying an articulated spray boom.”)
A sensor that detects a geographic location of a weed in the environment and generates a sensor signal indicative of the geographic location;
(See at least Para. 0098, “the spray vehicle releases herbicide from the spray nozzle that is associated with the image sensor (e.g. camera) unit 50 and processor that flagged or identified a weed”, wherein a camera sensor detects a geographic location of a weed via an image. Further see Para. 0168.)
One or more processors, and a data store storing computer executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the mobile agricultural machine to: control the substance application subsystem to perform a targeted substance application operation in which the substance application subsystem applies the substance to the geographic location of the weed in the environment based on the sensor signal, (See at least Para. 0103, “ In some embodiments, anomalies 11 in a crop row 12 are sprayed with herbicide. To avoid needless spray (e.g. crop residue, twig), such objects are calibrated out by void pattern instructions performed on an image captured.” An image is used to perform a targeted substance application operation.)
Access data indicative of a plurality of different characteristics that can affect an ability of the mobile agricultural machine to perform the target substance application operation, Generate a confidence level value indicative of a confidence in an ability of the mobile agricultural machine to perform the targeted substance application operation, based on the data indicative of the plurality of different characteristics; compare the confidence level value to a confidence level value threshold indicative of a desired confidence level value and Control, based on the comparison of the confidence level value to the confidence level value threshold, the substance application subsystem to change the operation of the mobile agricultural machine from the targeted substance application to a broadcast substance application.
(See at least Para. 0118, “In parts of the field where there is not a row pattern (e.g. near the edge of the field) and the location of the plant leaves is not readily calculated, one example procedure includes spraying that entire section (e.g. if there appears to be many weeds to the operator). The central computer controller can be programmed to automatically release the spray in that area of the field. For example, where the crop location is not calculable, a flag can be set in the computer memory, and this flag triggers full spraying from all the spray nozzles or the portion of the spray nozzles covering that region.” A broadcast substance application (i.e. full spraying from all the spray nozzles covering a region) is done when a target substance application cannot be met (i.e. the location of the plant leaves is not readily calculated), and therefore the entire section is sprayed. Therefore, when a confidence level (from not being able to calculate the crop location) indicates that the machine cannot perform the targeted application operation, the operation changes to a broadcast substance application.
The plurality of different characteristics include “a part of the field that is not a row pattern and wherein the location of the plant leave is not readily calculated”, which are two different characteristics.)
In another embodiment, see Para. 0168-0170, the agricultural machine determines a confidence for a spray envelop and adjusts the spray fan angle (i.e. narrowing (targeted) or widening (broadcast)). This includes going from a targeted substance application (i.e. narrow fan angle) to a broadcast substance application (i.e. wide fan angle) based on a desired confidence level (i.e. from a predicted vs a detected spray drift calculation). The plurality of different characteristics include a wind velocity (i.e. an environmental characteristics) and cone geometry (i.e. a pre-existing characteristic).
Examiner Note: The claim limitations such as a “target substance application” and a “broadcast substance application” are not defined in the claim and are deemed broad. The term “broadcast substance application” can have two different meanings, such as an application operation that sprays an entire target area and can also mean spraying over a larger (i.e. a wide fan angle) vs spraying at a target area (i.e. a narrow fan angle). Both of these definitions are included in the Wu reference.)
control an interface mechanism of the mobile agricultural machine, accessible to an operator of the mobile agricultural machine, to generate a display.
(See at least Fig. 7 and Para. 0111, wherein a display is generated that is accessible to an operator of the mobile agricultural machine.)
Wu does not specifically state generating a display including: an indication of the comparison of the confidence level value to the confidence level value threshold, and an input mechanism configured to receive input from the operator to adjust the confidence level value threshold. However, Vollath teaches:
a display including: an indication of the comparison of the confidence level value to the confidence level value threshold, (See at least Figs. 1-2, Para. 0028, and Para. 0037, “the configuration of quality indicator 105 which is displayed at any given time is determined by which position quality has been selected by the user, and by the criteria which are currently satisfied.” Additionally, see Fig. 7 and Para. 0053, “When positioning accuracy is better than the threshold of the selected mode, a symbol indicates the accuracy level (Gold, Silver, Bronze) and the auto-streering system remains in operation ("Engaged"). When positioning accuracy degrades below the threshold of the selected mode, a warning indication is given ("Warning").” The display indicates a comparison of the confidence level value to the confidence level value threshold.)
and an input mechanism configured to receive input from the operator to adjust the confidence level value threshold
(See at least Para. 0005, “ Lightbar guidance systems provide a visual display to assist an operator in guiding a vehicle, such as an agricultural machine”, and Para. 0051, “If positioning accuracy falls below the threshold associated with the selected positioning mode, the user is presented with an option to continue under a less accurate positioning mode, as in the example of FIG. 5.” The input mechanism of Fig. 5 is configured to receive input from the operator to adjust the confidence level value threshold.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate the teachings of Vollath to include “generating a display including: an indication of the comparison of the confidence level value to the confidence level value threshold, and an input mechanism configured to receive input from the operator to adjust the confidence level value threshold” for an “Improved systems are desired which provide additional information and/or allow the user better control of the system” (Para. 0008, Vollath) and “provide a visual display to assist an operator in guiding a vehicle, such as an agricultural machine” (Para. 0005, Vollath), which would create a more robust system for assisting an operator of an agricultural machine. Additionally, Wu discloses an agricultural spray vehicle with a display that alerts an operator (Fig. 7, Para. 0111, Wu) and further discloses adjusting a threshold (Para. 0120, Wu). However, Wu is silent with regards to displaying whether the current value satisfies that threshold and any mechanisms for an operator adjusting the threshold on the display. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Wu and Vollath since the primary reference Wu already contains a display and an operator that changes the threshold, and applying Wu’s confidence level value to the display of Vollath does not change how the result is displayed (as required in the newly amended claims) and would yield predictable results. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 3
Wu does not specifically state wherein the display further includes an indication of a recommendation to change the operation of the mobile agricultural machine.
However, Vollath teaches:
wherein the display further includes an indication of a recommendation to change the operation of the mobile agricultural machine.
(See at least Fig. 5, wherein the display further includes an indication of a recommendation to change the operation of the machine.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate the teachings of Vollath to include “wherein the display further includes an indication of a recommendation to change an operation of the mobile agricultural machine“ for an “Improved systems are desired which provide additional information and/or allow the user better control of the system” (Para. 0008, Vollath) and “provide a visual display to assist an operator in guiding a vehicle, such as an agricultural machine” (Para. 0005, Vollath), which would create a more robust system for assisting an operator of an agricultural machine. Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Wu and Vollath. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 8,
Wu discloses:
wherein the mobile agricultural machine comprises a mobile agricultural spraying system, and the substance application subsystem comprises a spraying subsystem that includes a plurality of spray nozzles.
(See Fig. 1 and Para. 0007, “ FIG. 1 depicts an example agricultural vehicle towing a fluid tank carrying an articulated spray boom having example image sensor units” and Para. 0049, “Spray nozzles are often spaced 15 to 30 inches apart depending on the crop row spacing”. The mobile agricultural machine comprises a mobile spraying system which comprises a plurality of spray nozzles (further see Fig. 2).)
Regarding claim 11,
Wu discloses:
wherein the plurality of different characteristics that can affect an ability of the mobile agricultural machine to perform the operation include one or more sensor characteristics that can affect an ability of the sensor to accurately detect the geographic location. (See at least Para. 0118, “For example, where the crop location is not calculable, a flag can be set in the computer memory, and this flag triggers full spraying from all the spray nozzles or the portion of the spray nozzles covering that region.” Additionally, see Para. 0168-0170.)
Regarding claim 12,
Wu discloses:
wherein the control of the substance application subsystem comprises changing an activated subset of the plurality of spray nozzles
(See at least Para. 0118, “For example, where the crop location is not calculable, a flag can be set in the computer memory, and this flag triggers full spraying from all the spray nozzles or the portion of the spray nozzles covering that region.”)
Regarding claim 13,
Wu discloses:
wherein the targeted substance application operation controls a first set of spray nozzles, of the plurality of spray nozzles, to spray the substance and the broadcast substance application operation controls a second set of spray nozzles, of the plurality of spray nozzles, that is different than the first set of spray nozzles
(See at least Para. 0118 and Para. 0053, wherein each nozzle (which includes a first and second set of spray nozzles) can be individually controlled.)
Regarding claim 15,
Wu and Volath discloses the same limitations as recited in claim 1 above and is therefore rejected under the same rejection and obviousness rational.
Wu further discloses:
controlling a substance application system, during a current operation of the mobile agricultural machine, to perform a targeted substance application operation that applies a substance to a geographic location of the weed.
(See at least Para. 0118, the targeted substance operation is performed during a current operation of the machine.)
wherein the one or more characteristics comprising at least one of: an accuracy or quality of the sensor signal; or a height of the substance application system from a ground surface.
(See at least Para. 0168, “The spray cone envelope calculations are performed in a reference frame where the effective central axis is determined based on instantaneous wind and travel directions (vector sum of the vehicle travel velocity and wind velocity) with respect to the ground. In some embodiments, to reduce the complexity of the calculations, only the slice of the spray cone that is projected to land on the ground, the cone envelope vectors transverse to the central axis (but parallel to the ground) in the fore-aft and side-side directions and transverse drift relative to that effective central axis. Some embodiments apply an assumption of a symmetric cone about the effective central axis, obtain the planar slice of cone parallel to and land on the ground for a particular height of the spray nozzle off the ground“. The one or more characteristics includes a height of the substance application system from a ground surface.) “The same obviousness rational from independent claim 1 applies”.
Regarding claim 18,
Wu discloses:
wherein the mobile agricultural machine comprises a mobile agricultural spraying system, wherein the targeted substance application operation comprises a targeted substance spraying operation, (See at least Para. 0103, “ In some embodiments, anomalies 11 in a crop row 12 are sprayed with herbicide. To avoid needless spray (e.g. crop residue, twig), such objects are calibrated out by void pattern instructions performed on an image captured.” An image is used to perform a targeted substance application operation.)
wherein the plurality of substance application dispensers comprise a plurality of spray nozzles (See Fig. 2) and wherein the broadcast application operation comprises a broadcast substance spraying operation. (See at least Para. 0118.)
Examiner Note: The claim limitations such as a “target substance application” and a “broadcast substance application” are not defined in the claim and are deemed broad. The term “broadcast substance application” can have two different meanings, such as an application operation that sprays an entire target area and can also mean spraying over a larger (i.e. a wide fan angle) vs spraying at a target area (i.e. a narrow fan angle). The examiner ascertains that both these definitions are included in the Wu reference.)
Regarding claim 19,
Wu discloses:
comparing the confidence level value to a confidence level value threshold; and controlling the substance application system to change from the targeted substance application operation to the broadcast substance application operation based on the comparison of the confidence level value to the confidence level value threshold (See at least Para. 0118, wherein the confidence level value is when the location of the plant leaves are readily calculated, and wherein the threshold is when the location is not calculated, wherein the system changes from targeted to broadcast based on the comparison. Furthermore, see at least Para. 0168.)
Regarding claim 21,
Wu further discloses:
wherein the plurality of different characteristics that can affect an ability of the mobile agricultural machine to perform the targeted substance application operation include an environmental characteristic, and a historical characteristic from a prior operation
(See at least Para. 0098, wherein an environmental characteristics is included that affects an ability of the machine to perform the targeted substance application. Additionally, see Para. 0076, “Correlation of image sensor (e.g. camera) data with data from other sensors to improve future techniques, crop yield, cost management, and so on. A history of the data year over year is accumulated to determine best practices for the following year” which includes a historical characteristic. Furthermore, see Para. 0189, “desirable spray patterns are used to train the neural network using deep learning procedures of trial and error to adjust the different training parameters and architecture of the network”. Additionally, see Para. 0084, “adaptive algorithms having an associated image system learn from the “past” or from stored data. For example, the terrain on each farm does not change much (e.g. trees, rocks, the poor crop regions, where weeds tend to grow, shape of good leaf versus bad leaf) and the sprayer can be ready as it gets near the system even if the sprayer is being operated in the darkness and the image system may produce less clear images.”)
Regarding claim 23,
Wu and Vollath further discloses the same limitations as recited in claim 1 above and is therefore rejected under the same rejection rational and obviousness.
Wu further discloses:
a perception sensor, that detects a geographic location of a weed on the surface ahead of a boom of a mobile agricultural sprayer that carries the substance from a substance source to a plurality of spray nozzles disposed along the boom and generates a sensor signal indicative of the geographic location of the weed on the surface. (See at least Fig. 1 and Para. 0098.)
perform a targeted substance application operation based on the geographic location, wherein the targeted substance application operation controls application of the substance from one or more spray nozzles, the one or more spray nozzles comprising some, but not all, of the plurality of spray nozzles disposed along the boom
(See at least Para. 0098 and Para. 0186, “In the field, different applications depend on determining the distances to the target in order to act on the target (e.g. turn on the spray nozzle equipment). For example, the location and distance to a weed or other anomalous object 11 should be determined before the spray vehicle and spray nozzle reach close enough to spray object 11. For example, we can use calibration results (e.g. location on image grid elements mapped to the time to turn on the spray nozzle, travel to the weed and spray the weed”. A spray nozzle (i.e. singular) is turned on to spray the weed, which comprises a target substance application operation that controls one spray nozzle but not all of the plurality of spray nozzles along the boom. Further see Para. 0168-0170). “The same obviousness rational from independent claim 1 applies”.
Regarding claim 25,
Wu discloses:
determine, as the mobile agricultural spraying system performs the targeted substance application operation, that the confidence level value is one of less than or greater than the confidence level value threshold and generate the threshold output as indicative of the confidence level value being the one of less than or greater than the confidence level value threshold. (See at least Para. 0118, when the confidence level is high (i.e. above a threshold), the system readily calculates the location of plant leaves and performs targeted spraying. When the confidence level is low (i.e. below a threshold), the location of the plant leaves is not readily calculated and the flag triggers full spraying.)
Regarding claim 26,
Wu discloses:
wherein the one or more criterions are defined, at least in part, based on a user input. (See at least Para. 0089-0090, wherein the one or more criterions are defined based in part on a user input.)
Regarding claim 27,
Wu discloses:
wherein the plurality of different characteristics comprises two or more of: (i) a surface characteristic representing at least one a vegetation type or vegetation density; (ii) a historical characteristic from a prior operation; or (iii) a sensor characteristic representing an accuracy or quality of the sensor signal.
(See at least Para. 0098, wherein the characteristics comprises a surface characteristics representing a weed, and Para. 0076, 0084, and 0189, wherein a historical characteristic from a prior operation is included in the plurality of different characteristics.)
Regarding claim 28,
Wu discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, the mobile agricultural machine to dynamically adjust the confidence level value threshold during operation of mobile agricultural machine based on at least one criterion. (See at least Para. 0168, wherein the confidence level value is adjusted dynamically based on the current wind (i.e. at least one criterion).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu and Vollath further in view of CORTI ET AL. US20230117884A1 (henceforth CORTI).
Regarding claim 4,
Wu and Vollath discloses the limitations recited in claims 1 and 3 above.
Wu and Vollath do not specifically state the limitation “wherein the recommendation recommends changing the operation of the mobile agricultural machine, from the targeted substance application to a broadcast substance application operation.”
However, CORTI teaches:
wherein the recommendation recommends changing the operation of the mobile agricultural machine, from the targeted substance application to the broadcast substance application operation
(See Para. 0125-0126, wherein an evaluation (i.e. a recommendation) on what type of spraying that is desired is determined which includes the determined radius to be sprayed (i.e. targeted vs broadcast).)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu and Vollath to incorporate the teachings of CORTI to include “wherein the recommendation recommends changing the operation of the mobile agricultural spraying system, from the targeted substance application to a broadcast substance application“ such that a user can effectively determine if adjustments to the spraying system should be made based the detection and identification module of each patch (See Para. 0125, CORTI). Furthermore, “An agricultural machine that incorporates these technologies could detect and distinguish different plant species, geolocate them, and make decisions to act on them or not, among many other possible functions” (Para. 0003, CORTI). This would create a more robust system by being able to effectively determine any adjustments to be made with an evaluation of the identified patch. Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Wu, Vollath, and CORTI. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu and Vollath further in view of ACKERMAN et al. US20190082582A1 (henceforth ACKERMAN)
Regarding claim 17,
Wu and Vollath discloses the limitations as recited in claim 15 above.
Wu further discloses:
changing from the targeted substance application operation to the broadcast substance application operation (See at least Para. 0118 and Para. 0168.)
Wu does not specifically state wherein controlling the interface of the mobile agricultural machine to generate the display comprises controlling the interface of the mobile agricultural machine to generate the display further including an indication of a recommendation to change an operation.
However, Ackerman teaches:
wherein controlling the interface of the mobile agricultural machine to generate the display comprises controlling the interface of the mobile agricultural machine to generate the display further including an indication of a recommendation to change an operation. (See Para. 0052, “Computing algorithms will determine if machine adjustments should be made to the sprayer rate, or spray solution based on the field conditions. For instance, the machine adjustments are presented to the machine operator on an operator display/interface. The adjustments may be performed automatically (unless modified or overridden by the operator) or presented to the operator as a recommendation.” An indication of a recommendation to change an operation of the mobile agricultural machine is displayed.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate the teachings of ACKERMAN to include “wherein controlling the interface of the mobile agricultural machine to generate the display comprises controlling the interface of the mobile agricultural machine to generate the display further including an indication of a recommendation to change an operation“ such that a user can effectively determine if adjustments to the spraying system should be made (Para. 0052, ACKERMAN), based on the combination of field mapping of the affected areas in combination with sprayer location information, such that the machine adjustments can be made specifically to only cover the areas with the highest confidence value. Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Wu and ACKERMAN. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu and Vollath further in view of Weidenbach et al. US20200029484A1 (henceforth Weidenbach).
Regarding claim 24,
Wu and Vollath discloses the limitations as recited in claim 2 above. Wu does not specifically state wherein the data store storing computer executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the mobile agricultural machine to: identify one or more confidence issues adversely affecting the confidence level value; generate a confidence issue output indicative of the one or more identified confidence issues; control one or more controllable subsystems based on the confidence issue output to remediate the one or more identified confidence issues.
However, Weidenbach teaches:
wherein the data store storing computer executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the mobile agricultural machine to: identify one or more confidence issues adversely affecting the confidence level value; generate a confidence issue output indicative of the one or more identified confidence issues; control one or more controllable subsystems based on the confidence issue output to remediate the one or more identified confidence issues.
(See at least Para. 0053, “The systems described herein, such as the agricultural implement control system 420 shown in FIG. 4 select the control basis (e.g., ground or canopy) according to a variety of characteristics indicating the reliability or confidence in the corresponding measurements. For instance, the system assesses ground and canopy distance measurements (including changes in the measurements) relative to one or more predictive windows, described herein. Ground and canopy confidence values are determined based on the assessments and used to select either of ground distance or canopy distance control as a control basis (e.g., the implement is guided relative to selected corresponding measurements or preceding measurements if the measurements are deemed unreliable). The system 420 monitors the confidence values of ground and canopy distances in an ongoing manner and hands off control of the agricultural implement position (e.g., movement of the implement 102, such as the booms 106) to either of ground distance control basis or canopy distance control basis on the assessment of confidence values, thereby ensuring the implement position is controlled according to the control basis having the greatest confidence.” Further see Para. 0054, “FIG. 3 is a plot 300 of measured distances for each of the crop canopy and ground relative to one or more of the distance sensors 108. The distance sensor 108 in this example is positioned at the origin proximate to the top of the measured and predicted distances. As shown, the plot 300 includes the measured canopy distances (canopy distance 302) as a fluctuating line extending along the time axis and having varying distance measurements. In one example, the fluctuations correspond to variations in height of the crop (based on maturity or growth), hydration, and voids or gaps in the canopy. One example of a crop gap 212 (in FIG. 2) is shown in FIG. 3 as a canopy void 310. Alternatively, the canopy void 310 corresponds in other examples to one or more of a dehydrated crop 206, poorly reflected signal from the crop (e.g., the leaves or stem are misaligned relative to the sensor) or the like. Further, at the canopy void 310 the canopy distances appear to merge disappear) with the measured ground distance 304. The system 420 described herein is configured in one example to hand off control based on the canopy distance 302 (a preceding control basis) to control based on the ground distance 304 instead because of a higher confidence of the ground distance measurements while the canopy appears to disappear.” A plurality of confidence values are calculated, such that the implement position is controlled according to the control basis having the greatest confidence, while throwing out the confidence values that correspond to poorly reflected signals from the crop (i.e. misaligned values).)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate the teachings of Weidenbach to include “identify one or more confidence issues adversely affecting the confidence level value; generate a confidence issue output indicative of the one or more identified confidence issues; control one or more controllable subsystems based on the confidence issue output to remediate the one or more identified confidence issues“, such that “the implement control module transitions the implement toward a minimal deviation (e.g., including an error of zero) indicating the implement is positioned proximate the target distance” (Para. 0015, Weidenbach). Furthermore, adaptively determining the highest confidence value would create a more robust system for controlling the implement, and therefore further increase the accuracy of the position of the implement. Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Wu and Weidenbach. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nelson US5,507,115A discloses a selective spraying weed control system utilizes weed detectors that process four bands of reflected illumination from a field of view that may contain weeds. The system uses distributed processes assigned individually to control associated spray nozzles. (See abstract)
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/G.J.L./
Examiner
Art Unit 3669