DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 3, 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Final Rejection mailed on June 26, 2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the sliced piece of bread” in line 5. It appears the claim should recite “the sliced piece of cylindrical bread” in order to maintain consistency with “a piece of cylindrical bread” recited in Claim 18, line 3.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “to assembly the assembled sandwich” in line 16. It appears the claim should recite “to assemble the assembled sandwich” for grammatical purposes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “moving the top portion and the bottom portion of the piece of bread via a first platen of an automated conveyor” in lines 4-5 as well as the limitation “slicing one or more inputs for the piece of bread at input stations, loading said sliced one or more inputs on a second platen of the automated conveyor” in lines 6-8. There was not adequate written description support at the time of filing for the method to have an automated conveyor having a first platen and a second platen, i.e. the disclosure at the time of filing never discloses the automated conveyor having two platens. Therefore, these limitations constitute new matter.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “moving the first portion and the second portion of the sliced piece of bread via a first platen of an automated conveyor” in lines 5-6 as well as the limitation “slicing with an automated slicer a plurality of inputs each at an input location and loading said plurality of inputs sequentially on a second platen of the automated conveyor” in lines 7-8. There was not adequate written description support at the time of filing for the method to have an automated conveyor having a first platen and a second platen, i.e. the disclosure at the time of filing never discloses the automated conveyor having two platens. Therefore, these limitations constitute new matter.
Claims 3-7, 9-11, and 19-20 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “a type of sandwich” in line 2. It is unclear if this refers to “a sandwich” recited in Claim 18, line 1 or if “a type of sandwich” refers to an entirely different sandwich from Claim 18. For purposes of examination Examiner interprets the claim to refer to the same sandwich.
Clarification is required.
Claim 20 is rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyodo et al. US 2019/0071195 in view of Garcia Torres US 5,657,685, Mirkhaef et al. US 2019/0352028, Fischl US 2017/0050331, McDonald et al. US 2018/0259092 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed September 3, 2025), and Buchko US 2007/0214752.
Regarding Claim 1, Hyodo et al. discloses an automated sandwich assembly method (‘195, Paragraphs [0112]-[0113]). The method comprises moving a top portion (top slice of bread S1) and a bottom portion (bottom slice of bread S1) of a bread (bread S1) via an automated conveyor (conveyors 3) (‘195, Paragraphs [0043] and [0056]) towards an automated picker robot (sorting manipulator 51) (‘195, Paragraph [0048]). One or more inputs (food substances S2) are added to the second portion (bottom slice of bread S1) of the bread (bread S1) (‘195, Paragraph [0056] and [0112]) wherein the one or more inputs (food substances S2) comprise sandwich components to create an assembled sandwich (sandwich S) (‘195, Paragraph [0112]) and the top portion (top slice of bread S1) and the bottom portion (bottom slice of bread S1) with the plurality of inputs (food substances S2) positioned therebetween to assemble the assembled sandwich (‘195, Paragraphs [0056] and [0100]). The assembled sandwich (sandwich S) is moved to an automated packaging system (packager 4) via the automated conveyor (conveyors 3) and the assembled sandwich is packaged via the automated packaging system (packager 4) (‘195, Paragraphs [0111]-[0112]).
Hyodo et al. is silent regarding the top portion of the top slice of bread and the bottom portion of the bottom slice of bread being sliced with an automated slicer, the automated conveyor having a first platen that moves the top portion and the bottom portion of the sliced piece of bread, slicing the one or more inputs for the piece of bread at input stations and loading the sliced one or more inputs on a second platen of the automated conveyor, moving the one or more inputs via the second platen wherein the one or more inputs are added to the second platen sequentially to receive amounts of inputs from each of the input stations before reaching the automated picker robot, and moving the assembled sandwich via the first platen to the automated packaging system.
Garcia Torres discloses an automated sandwich assembly method (‘685, Column 1, lines 8-20). The method comprises slicing with an automated slicer a piece of bread (loaves 13) into a top portion (top slice 14) and a bottom portion (bottom slice 14) at input stations (cutting stations) (‘685, Column 2, lines 63-67), and moving the top portion (top slice 14) and the bottom portion (bottom slice 14) of the bread via an automated conveyor (conveyor belt 15) (‘685, Column 1, lines 22-24) (‘685, Column 6, lines 1-15).
Both Hyodo et al. and Garcia Torres are directed towards the same field of endeavor of automated sandwich assembly methods. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Hyodo et al. and make the two slices of bread of the sandwich by slicing with an automated slicer a piece of bread into a top portion and a bottom portion as taught by Garcia Torres since providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity of slicing one larger piece of bread into two smaller pieces of a piece of bread having a top portion and a bottom portion which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art in view of In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) (MPEP § 2144.04.III.).
Further regarding Claim 1, Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres is silent regarding moving the one or more inputs via a first platen of the automated conveyor, loading the sliced one or more inputs on a second platen of the automated conveyor, moving the one or more inputs via the second platen wherein the one or more inputs are added to the second platen sequentially, adding the one or more inputs with the automated picker robot, and moving the assembled sandwich via the first platen.
Mirkhaef et al. discloses an automated sandwich assembly method (system 200) (‘028, Paragraph [0054]) comprising adding one or more inputs (meat 10) to a bottom portion (bottom bun 14) of a sandwich (sandwich 12) with an automated picker robot (robotic arm 102) wherein the one or more inputs (meat 10) comprise sandwich components to create an assembled sandwich (sandwich 12), moving the assembled sandwich (sandwich 12) to an automated packaging system (wrapping assist device 204), and packaging the assembled sandwich (sandwich 12) via the automated packaging system (wrapping assist device 204) (‘028, Paragraphs [0066]-[0069]).
Both Hyodo et al. and Mirkhaef et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making a sandwich using an automated sandwich assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Hyodo et al. and use an automated picker robot to add the one or more inputs in the form of meat to the bottom portion of the bread as taught by Mirkhaef et al. since providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity of placing one or more inputs on the bottom portion of the bread using an automated picker robot which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art in view of In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) (MPEP § 2144.04.III.).
Further regarding Claim 1, Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres and Mirkhaef et al. is silent regarding moving the one or more inputs via a first platen of the automated conveyor, loading the sliced one or more inputs on a second platen of the automated conveyor, moving the one or more inputs via the second platen wherein the one or more inputs are added to the second platen sequentially, and moving the assembled sandwich via the first platen.
Fischl discloses a method for slicing one or more inputs (one or more food products) (‘331, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the one or more inputs (one or more food products) are moved via a conveyor (conveyor belt 4) (‘311, Paragraph [0030]). Fischl further discloses the one or more inputs (one or more food products) being added to the conveyor (conveyor belt 4) sequentially to receive amounts of inputs (food products) from each of the input stations (the tracks can be loaded one after another) (‘331, Paragraph [0013]) before reaching the automated picker robot (grippers) (‘331, Paragraph [0004]).
Both modified Hyodo et al. and Fischl are directed towards the same field of endeavor of processing food products using a slicer and moving the food products via a conveyor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Hyodo et al. and add the one or more food product inputs of modified Hyodo et al. to the conveyor sequentially to receive amounts of inputs from each of the input stations before reaching the automated picker robot since Fischl teaches that it was known and conventional in the food conveyor art to add one or more food product inputs to the conveyor sequentially. Furthermore, the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results in view of In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.C.).
Further regarding Claim 1, Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres, Mirkhaef et al., and Fischl et al. is silent regarding moving the one or more inputs via a first platen of the automated conveyor, loading the sliced one or more inputs on a second platen of the automated conveyor, moving the one or more inputs via the second platen, and moving the assembled sandwich via the first platen.
McDonald et al. discloses an apparatus and method of vacuumizing and sealing a food package (‘092, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the apparatus comprises a conveying mechanism for conveying a plurality of platens around a single axis of rotation (‘092, Paragraph [0009]). Additionally, Buchko discloses a conveyor including a series of platens adapted to receive a vacuum packaged food product (‘752, Paragraphs [0053] and [0116]).
Hyodo et al. discloses the automated food processing method comprising using any conveyance system (‘195, Paragraph [0045]). Modified Hyodo et al., McDonald et al., and Buchko are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of automated food assembly methods for processing foods using automated conveyors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Hyodo et al. that uses any conveyance system and incorporate a first platen and a second platen to the automated conveyor for moving pieces of food to different locations of the food assembly apparatus since McDonald et al. and Buchko teaches that it was known and conventional in the automated food assembly art to incorporate platens on an automated conveyor for moving food items on the conveyor to different locations of the automated food apparatus. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Hyodo et al. and incorporate a first platen and a second platen on the automated conveyor as taught by McDonald et al. and Buchko since the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced in view of In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B.). McDonald et al. and Buchko teaches that there was known utility in the food packaging art to incorporate a plurality of platens onto a conveyor system that moves food items. Additionally, loading packages onto platens avoids manual loading of packages (‘092, Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding Claim 3, Mirkhaef et al. discloses the step of combining the top portion (top bun 16) of the bread on the bottom portion (bottom bun 14) of the piece of bread and the one or more inputs (meat 10) comprising using the automated picker robot (robotic arm 202) to pick the top portion (top bun 16) of the bread and to place the top portion of the bread on the bottom portion (bottom bun 14) and the one or more input (meat 10) (‘028, Paragraphs [0068]-[0069]). Both Hyodo et al. and Mirkhaef et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making a sandwich using an automated sandwich assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Hyodo et al. and use an automated picker robot to pick the top portion of the bread and place on the bottom portion and the one or more inputs to assemble the sandwich as taught by Mirkhaef et al. since providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity of placing one or more inputs on the bottom portion of the bread using an automated picker robot which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art in view of In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) (MPEP § 2144.04.III.).
Regarding Claim 5, Hyodo et al. discloses sensing with one or more sensors (weight sensor 57), a quality control of the assemble sandwich (sandwich S) before moving the assembled sandwich to the automated packaging system (‘195, Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding Claim 6, Hyodo et al. discloses redirecting a rejected assembled sandwich (sandwich S) that does not meet the quality control (acceptable sandwich weight range) sensed by the one or more sensors (weight sensor 57) to a reject line (disposal site) that bypasses the automated packaging system (‘195, Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding Claim 11, Hyodo et al. discloses the one or more inputs (food substance S2) comprising meats and vegetables (‘195, Paragraph [0056]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyodo et al. US 2019/0071195 in view of Garcia Torres US 5,657,685, Mirkhaef et al. US 2019/0352028, Fischl US 2017/0050331, McDonald et al. US 2018/0259092 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed September 3, 2025), and Buchko US 2007/0214752 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Kabumoto et al. US 2010/0202694 and Bailey et al. US 2013/0097975.
Regarding Claim 7, McDonald et al. discloses the conveyors containing a first platen (‘092, Paragraph [0007]). Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres, Mirkhaef et al., Fischl, McDonald et al., and Buchko is silent regarding reintroducing the rejected assembled sandwich to the first platen after the quality has been corrected.
Kabumoto et al. discloses a quality control of food products before moving the food products to the automated packaging system (sealed bags) (‘694, Paragraph [0089]) with one or more sensors (‘694, Paragraph [0133]) and redirecting a rejected assembled sandwich that does not meet the quality control sensed by the sensor to a reject line (defective product storage conveyor 90) that bypasses the automated packaging system (via regular line conveyor 80) (‘694, Paragraphs [0065]-[0066]). Bailey et al. discloses a vision inspection system for quality control inspection of an object prior to packaging the object wherein any packages not meeting inspection requirements are automatically removed from the system for reprocessing (‘975, Paragraph [0018]).
Both modified Hyodo et al. and Kabumoto et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of food packaging methods. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Hyodo et al. and conduct a quality control of the assembled sandwich before moving the assembled sandwich to the automated packaging system with one or more sensors and redirecting a rejected assembled sandwich that does not meet the quality control sensed by the sensor to a reject line that bypasses the automated packaging system in order to only package quality sandwiches and to prevent packaging defective sandwiches. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Hyodo et al. and redirect a rejected sandwich that does not meet quality control to a reject line and reintroduce the rejected assembled sandwich to the automated conveyor after the quality has been corrected since Bailey et al. teaches that reprocessing any object that does not meet quality controls was known in the inspection art. One of ordinary skill in the art would reprocess any rejected quality objects in order to fix the defects of the sandwich of the Hyodo et al. prior to packaging.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyodo et al. US 2019/0071195 in view of Garcia Torres US 5,657,685, Mirkhaef et al. US 2019/0352028, Fischl US 2017/0050331, McDonald et al. US 2018/0259092 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed September 3, 2025), and Buchko US 2007/0214752 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Fitzwater US 2011/0180594 and Sullivan et al. US 6,245,368.
Regarding Claim 9, Hyodo et al. discloses packaging the sandwich (via packager 4) to create a packaged sandwich (packaged sandwiches S) (‘195, Paragraph [0102]). However, Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres, Mirkhaef et al., Fischl, McDonald et al., and Buchko is silent regarding adding one or more condiments into the packaging of the assembled sandwich to create a packaged sandwich and condiments.
Fitzwater discloses a packaged sandwich (package 200) comprising an assembled sandwich separated from one or more condiments (‘594, FIGS. 1D-1E) (‘594, Paragraphs [0032] and [0088]-[0089]).
Both modified Hyodo et al. and Fitzwater are directed towards the same field of endeavor of packaged sandwiches. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the package of modified Hyodo et al. and incorporate one or more condiments into the packaging of the assembled sandwich to create a packaged sandwich and condiments as taught by Fitzwater in order to conveniently provide condiments for the assembled package in one convenient package. Furthermore, Sullivan et al. discloses condiments are not placed on the sandwiches during the assembly process in order to preserve customer choice and to prevent the absorption of excess moisture by the bread portions of the sandwiches wherein packaged condiments may be provided (‘368, Column 4, lines 33-38). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the packaging of modified Hyodo et al. and incorporate a separate packaged condiment within the same packaging as the sandwich as taught by Fitzwater in order to provide condiments for the assembled sandwich while preventing the absorption of excess moisture by bread portions of the sandwiches.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyodo et al. US 2019/0071195 in view of Garcia Torres US 5,657,685, Mirkhaef et al. US 2019/0352028, Fischl US 2017/0050331, McDonald et al. US 2018/0259092 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed September 3, 2025), Buchko US 2007/0214752, Fitzwater US 2011/0180594, and Sullivan et al. US 6,245,368 as applied to claim 9 above in further view of Magnusson et al. US 2020/0017287.
Regarding Claim 10, Mirkhaef et al. discloses placing the packaged sandwich (sandwich 12) into a container (wrapper 20) with an automated picker robot (robotic arm 202) (‘028, Paragraph [0066]). Fitzwater discloses a packaged sandwich (package 200) comprising an assembled sandwich separated from one or more condiments (‘594, FIGS. 1D-1E) (‘594, Paragraphs [0032] and [0088]-[0089]).
Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres, Mirkhaef et al., Fischl, McDonald et al., Buchko, Fitzwater, and Sullivan et al. is silent regarding placing the packaged condiments into the container with a second automated picker robot.
Magnusson et al. discloses a prepackaged individual serving of condiments placed within a wrapper by picking up the condiment with an automated picker robot (robotic or other automatic arm) and depositing the prepackaged condiments into a container (wrapper) (‘287, Paragraphs [0003] and [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Mirkhaef et al. and place the packaged condiments into a container with a second automated picker robot as taught by Magnusson et al. since providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity of placing the packaged condiments into a container using an automated picker robot which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art in view of In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) (MPEP § 2144.04.III.).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyodo et al. US 2019/0071195 in view of Garcia Torres US 5,657,685, Mirkhaef et al. US 2019/0352028, Fitzwater US 2011/0180594, Sullivan et al. US 6,245,368, Fischl US 2017/0050331, McDonald et al. US 2018/0259092 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed September 3, 2025), and Buchko et al. US 2007/0214752.
Regarding Claim 18, Hyodo et al. discloses an automated sandwich assembly method (‘195, Paragraphs [0112]-[0113]). The method comprises moving a first portion (top slice of bread S1) and a second portion (bottom slice of bread S1) of a bread (bread S1) via an automated conveyor (conveyors 3) (‘195, Paragraphs [0043] and [0056]) towards an automated picker robot (sorting manipulator 51) (‘195, Paragraph [0048]). One or more inputs (food substances S2) are added to the second portion (bottom slice of bread S1) of the bread (bread S1) (‘195, Paragraph [0056] and [0112]) wherein the one or more inputs (food substances S2) comprise sandwich components to create an assembled sandwich (sandwich S) (‘195, Paragraph [0112]) and the first portion (top slice of bread S1) and the second portion (bottom slice of bread S1) with the plurality of inputs (food substances S2) positioned therebetween to assemble the assembled sandwich (‘195, Paragraphs [0056] and [0100]). The assembled sandwich (sandwich S) is moved to an automated packaging system (packager 4) via the automated conveyor (conveyors 3) and the assembled sandwich is packaged via the automated packaging system (packager 4) (‘195, Paragraphs [0111]-[0112]).
Hyodo et al. is silent regarding the first portion of the top slice of bread and the second portion of the bottom slice of bread being sliced with an automated slicer, the automated conveyor having a first platen that moves the top portion and the bottom portion of the sliced piece of bread, slicing the one or more inputs for the piece of bread at input stations and loading the sliced one or more inputs on a second platen of the automated conveyor, moving the one or more inputs via the second platen wherein the one or more inputs are added to the second platen sequentially to receive amounts of inputs from each of the input stations before reaching the automated picker robot, and moving the assembled sandwich via the first platen to the automated packaging system.
Garcia Torres discloses an automated sandwich assembly method (‘685, Column 1, lines 8-20). The method comprises slicing with an automated slicer a piece of bread (loaves 13) into a first portion (top slice 14) and a second portion (bottom slice 14) at input stations (cutting stations) (‘685, Column 2, lines 63-67), and moving the first portion (top slice 14) and the second portion (bottom slice 14) of the bread via an automated conveyor (conveyor belt 15) (‘685, Column 1, lines 22-24) (‘685, Column 6, lines 1-15).
Both Hyodo et al. and Garcia Torres are directed towards the same field of endeavor of automated sandwich assembly methods. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Hyodo et al. and make the two slices of bread of the sandwich by slicing with an automated slicer a piece of bread into a top portion and a bottom portion as taught by Garcia Torres since providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity of slicing one larger piece of bread into two smaller pieces of a piece of bread having a top portion and a bottom portion which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art in view of In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) (MPEP § 2144.04.III.).
Further regarding Claim 18, Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres is silent regarding moving the first portion and the second portion of the sliced piece of bread via a first platen of the automated conveyor towards an automated picker robot, loading the sliced plurality of inputs sequentially on a second platen of the automated conveyor, moving the second platen with the plurality of inputs one or more inputs via the second platen wherein the one or more inputs are added to the second platen sequentially, adding the one or more inputs with the automated picker robot, and moving the assembled sandwich via the first platen.
Mirkhaef et al. discloses an automated sandwich assembly method (system 200) (‘028, Paragraph [0054]) comprising adding one or more inputs (meat 10) to a bottom portion (bottom bun 14) of a sandwich (sandwich 12) with an automated picker robot (robotic arm 102) wherein the one or more inputs (meat 10) comprise sandwich components to create an assembled sandwich (sandwich 12), moving the assembled sandwich (sandwich 12) to an automated packaging system (wrapping assist device 204), and packaging the assembled sandwich (sandwich 12) via the automated packaging system (wrapping assist device 204) (‘028, Paragraphs [0066]-[0069]).
Both Hyodo et al. and Mirkhaef et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of making a sandwich using an automated sandwich assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Hyodo et al. and use an automated picker robot to add the one or more inputs in the form of meat to the bottom portion of the bread as taught by Mirkhaef et al. since providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity of placing one or more inputs on the bottom portion of the bread using an automated picker robot which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art in view of In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) (MPEP § 2144.04.III.).
Further regarding Claim 18, Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres, and Mirkhaef et al. is silent regarding one or more inputs being loaded on a platen of the automated conveyor and moving the platen with the one or more inputs towards an automated picker robot and one or more condiments or utensils being placed into the packaging that contains the assembled sandwich.
Fitzwater discloses a packaged sandwich (package 200) comprising an assembled sandwich separated from one or more condiments (‘594, FIGS. 1D-1E) (‘594, Paragraphs [0032] and [0088]-[0089]).
Both Hyodo et al. and Fitzwater are directed towards the same field of endeavor of packaged sandwiches. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the package of Hyodo et al. and incorporate one or more condiments into the packaging of the assembled sandwich to create a packaged sandwich and condiments as taught by Fitzwater in order to conveniently provide condiments for the assembled package in one convenient package. Furthermore, Sullivan et al. discloses condiments are not placed on the sandwiches during the assembly process in order to preserve customer choice and to prevent the absorption of excess moisture by the bread portions of the sandwiches wherein packaged condiments may be provided (‘368, Column 4, lines 33-38). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the packaging of Hyodo et al. and incorporate a separate packaged condiment within the same packaging as the sandwich as taught by Fitzwater in order to provide condiments for the assembled sandwich while preventing the absorption of excess moisture by bread portions of the sandwiches.
Further regarding Claim 18, Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres, Mirkhaef et al., Fitzwater, and Sullivan et al. is silent regarding the plurality of inputs being loaded sequentially on the platen of the automated conveyor as the automated conveyor moves from one input location to the next as the automated conveyor moves from one input location to the next.
Fischl discloses a method for slicing one or more inputs (one or more food products) (‘331, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the one or more inputs (one or more food products) are moved via a conveyor (conveyor belt 4) (‘311, Paragraph [0030]). Fischl further discloses the plurality of inputs (one or more food products) being added to the conveyor (conveyor belt 4) sequentially to receive amounts of inputs (food products) from each of the input stations (the tracks can be loaded one after another) (‘331, Paragraph [0013]) at the automated conveyor moves from one input location to the next (conveyor belt 4 runs continuously) (‘331, Paragraph [0030]).
Both modified Hyodo et al. and Fischl are directed towards the same field of endeavor of processing food products using a slicer and moving the food products via a conveyor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Hyodo et al. and add the one or more food product inputs of modified Hyodo et al. to the conveyor sequentially to receive amounts of inputs from each of the input stations before reaching the automated picker robot since Fischl teaches that it was known and conventional in the food conveyor art to add one or more food product inputs to the conveyor sequentially.
Further regarding Claim 18, Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres, Mirkhaef et al., Fitzwater, Sullivan et al., and Fischl is silent regarding moving the one or more inputs via a first platen of the automated conveyor, loading the sliced one or more inputs on a second platen of the automated conveyor, moving the one or more inputs via the second platen, and moving the assembled sandwich via the first platen.
McDonald et al. discloses an apparatus and method of vacuumizing and sealing a food package (‘092, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the apparatus comprises a conveying mechanism for conveying a plurality of platens around a single axis of rotation (‘092, Paragraph [0009]). Additionally, Buchko discloses a conveyor including a series of platens adapted to receive a vacuum packaged food product (‘752, Paragraphs [0053] and [0116]).
Hyodo et al. discloses the automated food processing method comprising using any conveyance system (‘195, Paragraph [0045]). Modified Hyodo et al., McDonald et al., and Buchko are all directed towards the same field of endeavor of automated food assembly methods for processing foods using automated conveyors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Hyodo et al. that uses any conveyance system and incorporate a first platen and a second platen to the automated conveyor for moving pieces of food to different locations of the food assembly apparatus since McDonald et al. and Buchko teaches that it was known and conventional in the automated food assembly art to incorporate platens on an automated conveyor for moving food items on the conveyor to different locations of the automated food apparatus. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Hyodo et al. and incorporate a first platen and a second platen on the automated conveyor as taught by McDonald et al. and Buchko since the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced in view of In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B.). McDonald et al. and Buchko teaches that there was known utility in the food packaging art to incorporate a plurality of platens onto a conveyor system that moves food items. Additionally, loading packages onto platens avoids manual loading of packages (‘092, Paragraph [0007]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyodo et al. US 2019/0071195 in view of Garcia Torres US 5,657,685, Mirkhaef et al. US 2019/0352028, Fitzwater US 2011/0180594, Sullivan et al. US 6,245,368, Fischl US 2017/0050331, McDonald et al. US 2018/0259092 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed September 3, 2025), and Buchko et al. US 2007/0214752 as applied to claim 18 above in further view of Vardakostas et al. US 2019/0261671.
Regarding Claim 19, Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres, Mirkhaef et al., Fitzwater, Sullivan et al., Fischl, McDonald et al., and Buchko et al. is silent regarding determining via a set of electronic instructions a type of sandwich to assemble using a combination of the plurality of inputs.
Vardakostas et al. discloses an automated sandwich assembly method (‘671, Paragraph [0028]) comprising a processor configured to carry out a topping order to dispense topping servings to fulfill custom topping orders via a set of electronic instructions (‘671, Paragraph [0100]) wherein the processor receives a topping order from a patron through a customer touchscreen interface (‘6741, Paragraph [0102]), which reads on the claimed determining via a set of electronic instructions a type of sandwich to assemble using a combination of the one or more inputs.
Both Hyodo et al. and Vardakostas et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of automatically assembling a sandwich. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of modified Hyodo et al. and determine via a set of electronic instructions a type of sandwich to assemble using a combination of one or more input toppings as taught by Vardakostas et al. since providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity of determining via a set of electronic instructions a type of sandwich to assemble using a combination of the one or more inputs which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art in view of In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) (MPEP § 2144.04.III.).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyodo et al. US 2019/0071195 in view of Garcia Torres US 5,657,685, Mirkhaef et al. US 2019/0352028, Fitzwater US 2011/0180594, Sullivan et al. US 6,245,368, Fischl US 2017/0050331, McDonald et al. US 2018/0259092 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed September 3, 2025), Buchko et al. US 2007/0214752 and Vardakostas et al. US 2019/0261671 as applied to claim 19 above in further view of Frehn et al. US 2017/0024789.
Regarding Claim 20, Hyodo et al. modified with Garcia Torres, Mirkhaef et al., Fitzwater, Sullivan et al., Fischl, McDonald et al., Buchko, and Vardakostas et al. is silent regarding the set of electronic instructions being stored in an electronic database.
Frehn et al. discloses a food assembly apparatus database (‘789, Paragraph [0027]) for toppings (‘789, Paragraph [0033]).
Both modified Hyodo et al. and Frehn et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of methods of automatically assembling a sandwich. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of modified Hyodo et al. and store the set of electronic instructions in an electronic database since Frehn et al. teaches that it was known and conventional in the sandwich making art to store electronic instructions in an electronic database.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-11, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, and 18-20 of copending Application No. 17/247,236 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Regarding independent Claim 1, it is noted that Claim 1 of the instant application recites all of the same limitations as that of independent Claim 1 of the pending ‘236 application with the exception that independent Claim 1 of the pending ‘236 application recites the automated sandwich assembly being applied to more narrow automated sandwich assembly method for making a submarine sandwich. The more narrow method of making a submarine sandwich assembly of Claim 1 of pending ’236 application reads on the broader method of making a generic automated sandwich assembly method of the instant application.
Regarding independent Claim 18, it is noted that Claim 18 of the instant application recites all of the same limitations as that of independent Claim 18 of the pending ‘236 application with the exception that independent Claim 18 of the pending ‘236 application recites the automated sandwich assembly being applied to more narrow automated sandwich assembly method for making a submarine sandwich. The more narrow method of making a submarine sandwich assembly of Claim 18 of pending ’236 application reads on the broader method of making a generic automated sandwich assembly method of the instant application.
Regarding dependent Claims 3, 5-7, 9-11, and 19-20 it is noted that Claims 3, 5-7, 9-11, and 19-20 of the instant application recites all of the same limitations as that of dependent Claims 3-6, 9-11, and 19-20 respectively, of the pending ‘236 application with the exception that dependent Claims 3, 5, 7, 9-11, and 19-20 of the pending ‘236 application recites the automated sandwich assembly being applied to the more narrow automated sandwich assembly method for making a submarine sandwich. The more narrow method of making a submarine sandwich assembly of Claims 3, 5-7, 9-11, and 19-20 of the pending ‘236 application reads on the broader method of making a generic automated sandwich assembly method of the instant application
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes that the previous Double Patenting rejections have been modified to reflect the updated amended limitations of the instant application and the updated amended limitations of the copending ‘236 application.
Examiner notes that the previous indefiniteness rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Examiner notes that new indefiniteness rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been made.
Examiner notes that new Claim Objections have been made in view of the amendments.
Examiner notes that new new matter rejections under 35 USC 112(a) have been made in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the obviousness rejections of 1, 3, 5-7, 9-11, and 18-20 under 35 USC 103(a) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new combination of references was necessitated by amendment. It is noted that applicant’s arguments with respect to the obviousness rejections does not specifically and distinctly point out the supposed errors of the previous combination of references being relied upon.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cohen et al. US 2020/0205461 discloses a conveyor advancing a topping vehicle wherein the conveyor comprises a support member including a platen that constrains the topping vehicle vertically (‘461, Paragraph [0096]).
Hjalmarsson et al. US 2019/0000094 discloses a food processing apparatus comprising a first conveyor, a second conveyor, and a third conveyor wherein a grading robot separates one or more portions of a food article from the remaining portions on the surface of the first conveyor such that the movement of the conveyor guides the separated portions onto the second conveyor while guiding the remaining portions onto the third conveyor (‘094, Paragraph [0027]) wherein a conveyor containing at least one cutting machine cuts out a portion of a food article (‘094, Paragraph [0014]).
Sekar et al. US 2016/0067866 discloses a cooking machine apparatus comprising multiple ingredient delivery capsules containing different toppings and ingredients dispensed on a food item (‘866, Paragraph [0231]) wherein a multiplicity of sliding valve and valve housing assemblies are mounted on a rotary platen (‘866, Paragraph [0160]).
Goldberg et al. US 2020/0397194 discloses dispensing robots for different ingredients are arranged along a dispensing system frame (‘194, Paragraph [0074]) wherein the robots include a transfer robot, a dispensing robot, a packaging/boxing robot, and a food slicing robot (‘194, Paragraph [0061]).
Hasmimoto et al. US 2019/0300212 discloses a plurality of robots wherein each robot dishes up a different food (‘212, Paragraph [0051]) wherein the robot is configured to pack food in a container and includes a first arm configured to move a plate shaped part, a second arm configured to move a cylindrical part, and a control device operating the first arm and the second arm (‘212, Paragraph [0007])
Moma et al. US 2016/0183728 discloses a sandwich assembly platen (‘728, Paragraphs [0104] and [0141]).
Bridges US 2010/0192743 discloses a slicing apparatus including two or more sets of conveyor belts for receiving a product to be cut or separated in half and separating the product into two pieces (‘743, Paragraph [0014]).
Lovedale et al. US 2021/0179304 discloses an automated packaging apparatus for a food item comprising a robotic picker for picking a sandwich from a conveyor wherein the picker comprises an actuated gripper and means for rotating a sandwich (‘304, Paragraph [0027]) and cutting the sandwich into two halves and placing the sandwich halves into a container (‘304, Paragraph [0029]) wherein manipulation conveyors move on rollers (‘304, Paragraph [0017]).
Fitch Jr. US 5,458,055 discloses an apparatus and method for the automatic high speed, accurate, efficient, and continuous preparation and processing of food products such as sandwiches (‘055, Column 1, lines 7-15) wherein a plurality of slices of bread or roll substrates for sandwiches or subs passes under a series of hoppers containing ham, cheese, lettuce, and tomato whereby a plurality of sandwiches or subs are quickly and accurately assembled (‘055, Column 14, lines 43-54).
Anderson et al. US 2020/0269434 discloses an automated robotic kitchen system that accurately picks up prepared food and manipulates it onto another substrate by using a jawless gripper assembly to pick up or collect the food item and eject it onto a target location, e.g. a slice of cheese placed on sandwiches, and using a computer having a library of recipes and using robotic arms and grippers (‘434, Paragraphs [0029] and [0041]) wherein the system comprising a deli meat slicers, a conveyor system configured to fit underneath the slicer, and a robotic arm (‘434, Paragraph [0029]).
West et al. US 2015/0132442 discloses a food delivery system including packaging an assembled sandwich in a container and adding one or more condiments into the packaging of the assembled sandwich to create a packaged sandwich and condiments (‘442, Paragraph [0019]).
Goldberg et al. US 2019/0050951 discloses a dispensing robot placing utensils into a package (‘951, Paragraph [0075]).
Lessing et al. US 2017/0291806 discloses a method of processing food comprising orienting a piece of food or an assembly of food, e.g. a sandwich, to a specific location on a conveyor belt wherein a head of lettuce is poisoned on the conveyor so each stem faces the same direction and fed into a machine that trims the head and stem of the lettuce (‘806, Paragraph [0110]) wherein the target object is diverted to an output location from a first conveyor belt to a second conveyor belt (‘806, Paragraph [0036]).
Hirata US 2021/0114227 discloses a robot for transporting food which is long and flexible to a predetermined position (‘227, Paragraph [0007]) wherein a combination weighing device for the food is disposed in front of the robot wherein the combination weighing device includes a plurality of weighing conveyors and a transporting conveyor which are disposed on a table in front of the robot, the robot holds a predetermined amount of the food from the tray container and transports the food to a predetermined position on the weighing conveyor wherein the transporting conveyor sends the food to each weighing conveyor to a food supply port at a predetermined interval (‘227, Paragraph [0035]).
Sinnet et al. US 2020/0139554 discloses a robotic kitchen appliance capable of performing a wide range of food preparation steps in a restaurant environment (‘554, Paragraph [0002]) wherein conveyors are used to transport ingredients, utensils, cooked food, or other objects between robotic kitchen assistants wherein the conveyors comprise omnidirectional or multidirectional conveyors capable of sending a universal bin down any path in the conveyor network (‘554, Paragraph [0027]) wherein the conveyor system routes objects between from a controlled food environment and two or more modular robotic kitchen units including a packaging robotic kitchen assistant (‘554, Paragraph [0271]).
Yamazaki US 2019/0321984 discloses a robot (‘984, Paragraph [0024]) associated with a picking program comprising a control unit transmitting control signals for placing a gripped article on a conveyor (‘984, Paragraph [0044]) wherein the food is a bread varying in shape or hardness (‘984, Paragraph [0049]).
Ellis et al. US 2012/0319416 discloses a food packaging operation wherein flexible pouches of food are gripped, lifted, moved, and released using a robotic arm (‘416, Paragraph [0034]) wherein the flexible pouches move along a conveyor and are gripped, lifted, moved, and released into boxes and move along another conveyor using a robotic arm (‘416, Paragraph [0060]).
Kodaira et al. US 2022/0193963 discloses a take out robot (‘963, Paragraph [0067]) used with two platens (‘963, Paragraph [0068]).
Graham et al. US 2005/0087079 discloses an automated filling system using filling processes to fill food items comprising a plurality of chambered food items conveyed downstream on a platen conveyor (‘079, Paragraph [0011]).
Hancock et al. US 2020/0298548 discloses an article pressed between two platens while the article is associated with the frame (‘548, Paragraph [0060]).
Vega et al. US 2020/0037820 discloses a food service equipment (‘820, Paragraph [0003]) comprising an upper and lower endless conveyor belt and upper and lower heated platens (‘820, Paragraph [0020]).
Malkowski et al. US 2016/0185530 discloses a conveyor belt having a plurality of slats configured to receive and compress a food product and at least one platen for heating food products
Vega et al. US 2018/0317710 discloses a food service equipment for preparing tortillas or similar food products to be cooked or toasted (‘710, Paragraph [0005]) wherein the equipment comprises a first heated platen disposed above the lower run of the first upper endless conveyor belt while a second heated platen disposed beneath the upper run of the second lower endless conveyor belt to effectively impart heat to their respectively associated first and second conveyor belts (‘710, Paragraph [0006]).
McDonald et al. US 2018/0259092 discloses an apparatus and method of vacuumizing and sealing a food package (‘092, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the apparatus comprises a conveying mechanism for conveying a plurality of platens around a single axis of rotation (‘092, Paragraph [0009]).
Adomaitis et al. US 2018/000284 discloses a conveyor belt loop for use in a food heating device (‘284, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the food heating device includes at least one platen for heating the food products and the at least one conveyor belt moves relative to the at least one platen and transports a food product to be exposed to the at least one platen (‘284, Paragraph [0005]).
Patel et al. US 2017/0099987 discloses a food preparation apparatus wherein the food is conveyed by means of continuously movable flow through upper and lower cooperating conveyors operatively associated with platen type heating members over which the upper and lower conveyors are conveyed so at to be heated by the platen type heating members to heat, brown, or caramelize the food as desired or required (‘987, Paragraph [0002]) wherein the food is panini sandwiches (‘987, Paragraph [0006]).
Bauer US 2016/0185529 discloses a food heating device comprising at least one platen for heating food products and at least one conveyor belt comprising a plurality of conveyor interconnected belt links (‘529, Paragraph [0009]).
Heck et al. US 2010/0270124 discloses a plant product conveyor (‘124, Paragraph [0002]) for conveying and transporting fruits, vegetables, or other articles to a pick up device on a packing machine which packs the articles into cartons (‘124, Paragraph [0029]) wherein the conveyor system comprises two platens disposed on opposite ends of the conveyor system (‘124, Paragraph [0031])
Schultz US 2005/0244560 discloses a press used to flatten dough like material such as tortillas and similar food items (‘560, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the press comprises an endless conveyor belt movable carried on a frame and at least two movable platens carried on said frame.
Henry US 2005/0189199 discloses a helical screw conveyor system comprising a casing that receives a platen chain composed of a plurality of platens chained together by links in a continuous loop (‘199, Paragraph [0028]) wherein the screw conveyor is useful in the food and agricultural industries (‘199, Paragraph [0007]).
Golby et al. US 2004/0191378 discloses a method of producing tortillas from dough pieces comprising continuously moving a tortilla press that operates in conjunction with a conveyor subsystem that is controlled (‘378, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the dough pieces are deposited on a moving band or conveyor section which dough pieces are then transferred to the press apparatus to be pressed to a desired diameter and thickness (‘378, Paragraph [0025]) wherein an upper platen and a lower platen are actuated by a cylinder causing a pressing action between the upper platen and the lower platen while the conveyor belt and dough pieces are sandwiched therebetween to compress the dough pieces to a desired diameter and thickness (‘378, Paragraph [0039]).
Brooks et al. US 5,407,693 disclose a bacon assembly which covers a substantial portion of the surface area of a hamburger patty or other sandwich wherein the bacon is disposed between two conveyor belts moving and transporting the uncooked bacon between two heated platens.
Stollenwerk et al. US 4,033,253 discloses a fruit conveyed to an apparatus comprising a conveyor belt wherein the fruit is compressed between a plurality of platens.
Baker US 3,965,807 discloses a sliding patty griller having a frame comprising a lower heated platen and an upper heated platen parallel to each other wherein a conveyor slides patties over the lower platen then between the two platens and finally under the upper platen.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon and cited by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed September 3, 2025 is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bajcar et al. US 3,821,913 discloses a conveyor for conveying a sliced product wherein the conveyor comprises platens.
Wygal et al. US 5,271,304 discloses a conveyor comprising a belt having a support pan that serves as a platen for the belt.
Smith US 5,569,070 discloses a conveyor assembly comprising a support surface of lower platens.
Smith US 2004/0152407 discloses a conveyor transport comprising platens (‘407, Paragraph [0045]).
Taguchi et al. US 2007/0295177 discloses a platen conveyance mechanism (‘177, Paragraph [0038]).
/ERICSON M LACHICA/Examiner, Art Unit 1792