DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status:
Claims 2-5, 7, 9, 12-15, 17, 19, 22-23, 25, 27 and 30-33 are pending.
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10-11, 16, 18, 20-2, 24, 26 and 28-29 are cancelled.
Claims 2, 12 and 25 are amended.
Claims 31-33 are newly added.
Claims 2-5, 7, 9, 12-15 and 17, 19, 22-23, 25, 27 and 30-33 are examined as follow:
Claim Interpretation
Applicant is encouraged to read and understand some of the important interpretation the Examiner listed below:
Regarding:
The term “…a cooking stage…” or “discrete cooking stages”, Examiner would like to refer to the assumption in the 112b below.
The term “…a progression of the cooking process…”, Examiner would interpret such limitation as any changes during the beginning to the completion of the cooking process, including temperature, humidity, time, colors or any other reasonable boardiest interpretation.
The term “…particles…”, Examiner would interpret such limitation as any particles, including water vapor and droplets (observable or detectable which include humidity), solid particles (smoke and/or ashes particles), aroma (smell and chemical), even the air flow itself, or any other reasonable boardiest interpretation.
The term “…characteristics of the particles…”, Examiner would interpret such limitation as any sensor readable/detectable information related to particles (depend on what “particles” is interpreted into, but as long as any sensor readable/detectable would read on such limitation), which include temperature and/or humidity reading of the particles.
The term “…a thermal state…”, Examiner would interpret such limitation as any detectable/readable information that related to heating any target, therefore the interpretation of temperature and humidity of the particles reading would also read on such limitation since such reading also has certain relationship with the heating of any target.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 7, 9, 12-15, 17, 19, 22-23, 25, 27 and 30-33 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claims 2, 12 and 25, the amended new limitation “…a plurality of discrete cooking stages of the food based at least on changes in the characteristics of the particles over time during the cooking process…” is not described in the specification, and there is no disclosure on what is considered as “discrete cooking states”, or clarification on how the “discrete” is being interpreted in the claim or specification, such that the newly amended limitation constituted as new matter.
Claims 4-5, 7, 9, 13-15, 17, 19, 22-23, 27 and 30-33 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claim.
Claims 2-5, 7, 9, 12-15, 17, 19, 22-23, 25, 27 and 30-33 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 2, 12 and 25, the amended new limitation “…determine… one of a plurality of discrete cooking stages of the food based at least on changes in the characteristics of the particles over time during the cooking process…” is indefinite, because of the term “discrete” is a relative term and is not disclosed and clarified in the specification, it is unclear how much degree of independent or separation would be considered as “discrete”, clarification is required.
Furthermore, when in view of the newly added claims 31-33, the interpretation of “discrete cooking states” is getting more confusing, because “searing, browning, and burning” are all not independent from each other, they are interconnected through the same cooking item, cooking temperature and cooking time, such that would be unable to further exam the claims without clarification by the applicant or assumption by the Examiner. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, through best understanding from the specification and as a person skilled in the art, Examiner assumed that such “discrete” is not completely independent and separated, such that the plurality of “discrete” cooking stages is interpreted as monitoring the same cooked item for browning process (referring to the claim interpretation section for the interpretation of “characteristics” and “particles” above), the “discrete” is merely as different distinct degree of browning coloring during the cooking.
Claims 4-5, 7, 9, 13-15, 17, 19, 22-23, 27 and 30-33 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4, 12-14, 22, 25 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buck (US4162381 newly cited) herein set forth as Buck.
Regarding claim 2, Buck discloses a method comprising:
detecting, by a sensor (#32 and #34, fig.1 and 3-4) positioned within a cooking chamber (refer to the housing of #20 in fig 1-4) of a heating system (#10, fig.1), particles (refer to the water particles that provide the humidity reading) given off by food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) under heat, wherein the particles (refer to the water particles that provide the humidity reading) are detected in air (refer to the arrow passes through #31 and #34 in fig. 3-4) passing toward an air exhaust (#36, fig. 1 and 3-4) in the cooking chamber (refer to the housing of #20 in fig 1-4) and flowing over the sensor (#32 and #34, fig.1 and 3-4);
identifying, by a controller (#40, fig.8) of the heating system (#10, fig.1), characteristics (refer as humidity and temperature reading) of the particles (refer to the water particles that provide the humidity reading) throughout a cooking process (refer as the browning process discussed in Col 3 line 37-39 cited: “…By properly maintaining the humidity at a predetermined level, food can be browned and cooked to doneness…”) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification);
determining, by the controller (#40, fig.8), one of a plurality of discrete cooking stages (refer as level of browning) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) based at least on changes in the characteristics (refer as humidity and temperature reading) of the particles (refer to the water particles that provide the humidity reading) over time during the cooking process (refer as the browning process discussed in Col 3 line 37-39 cited: “…By properly maintaining the humidity at a predetermined level, food can be browned and cooked to doneness…”), wherein the each cooking stage (refer as level of browning) corresponds to a different state (refer as different color of brown) in a progression of the cooking process (refer as the browning process discussed in Col 3 line 37-39 cited: “…By properly maintaining the humidity at a predetermined level, food can be browned and cooked to doneness…”); and
controlling, by the controller (#40, fig.8), a heating process (refer as the microwave heating process) dynamically in response to the determined cooking stage (refer as level of browning) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) as the cooking stage (refer as level of browning) changes over time.
Regarding claim 3, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Buck further discloses limiting velocity of the air (refer to the arrow passes through #31 and #34 in fig. 3-4) passing toward the air exhaust (#36, fig. 1 and 3-4) using a flow control structure (#58. Fig.3-4) within the cooking chamber (refer to the housing of #20 in fig 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Buck further discloses wherein determining the cooking stage (refer as level of browning) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) includes determining a thermal state (refer as the temperature reading) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) in the cooking chamber (refer to the housing of #20 in fig 1-4), wherein controlling the heating process (refer as the microwave heating process) dynamically includes controlling the heating process (refer as the microwave heating process) dynamically in response to the cooking stage (refer as level of browning) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) and the thermal state (refer as the temperature reading) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification).
Regarding claim 12, Buck discloses a cooking instrument (refer to fig. 1-4) comprising:
a heating system (#10. Fig. 1-4);
a cooking chamber (#20, fig.1-4) with an air exhaust (#38, fig.1 and 3-4) within the heating system (#10. Fig. 1-4);
a sensor (#32 and #34, fig.1 and 3-4) positioned within the cooking chamber (#20, fig.1-4) such that air (refer to the arrow passes through #31 and #34 in fig. 3-4) passing toward the air exhaust (#38, fig.1 and 3-4) flows over the sensor (#32 and #34, fig.1 and 3-4), wherein the sensor (#32 and #34, fig.1 and 3-4) is adapted to detect particles (refer to the water particles that provide the humidity reading) given off by food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) under heat; and
a controller (#40, fig.8) configured to:
identify characteristics (refer as humidity and temperature reading) of the particles (refer to the water particles that provide the humidity reading) throughout a cooking process (refer as the browning process discussed in Col 3 line 37-39 cited: “…By properly maintaining the humidity at a predetermined level, food can be browned and cooked to doneness…”) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification);
determine one of a plurality of discrete cooking stages (refer as refer as level of browning) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) based at least on changes in the characteristics (refer as humidity and temperature reading) of the particles (refer to the water particles that provide the humidity reading) over time during the cooking process (refer as the browning process discussed in Col 3 line 37-39 cited: “…By properly maintaining the humidity at a predetermined level, food can be browned and cooked to doneness…”), wherein the each cooking stage (refer as level of browning) corresponds to a different state (refer as different color of brown) in a progression of the cooking process (refer as the browning process discussed in Col 3 line 37-39 cited: “…By properly maintaining the humidity at a predetermined level, food can be browned and cooked to doneness…”); and
control a heating process dynamically in response to the determined cooking stage (refer as level of browning) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) as the cooking stage (refer as level of browning) changes over time.
Regarding claim 13, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Buck further discloses limiting velocity of the air (refer to the arrow passes through #31 and #34 in fig. 3-4) passing toward the air exhaust (#36, fig. 1 and 3-4) using a flow control structure (#58. Fig.3-4) within the cooking chamber (refer to the housing of #20 in fig 1-4).
Regarding claim 14, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Buck further discloses wherein determining the cooking stage (refer as level of browning) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) includes determining a thermal state (refer as the temperature reading) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) in the cooking chamber (refer to the housing of #20 in fig 1-4), wherein controlling the heating process (refer as the microwave heating process) dynamically includes controlling the heating process (refer as the microwave heating process) dynamically in response to the cooking stage (refer as level of browning) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) and the thermal state (refer as the temperature reading) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification).
Regarding claim 22, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Buck further discloses wherein the characteristics (refer as humidity and temperature reading) of the particles (refer to the water particles that provide the humidity reading) includes at least one of a quantity of particles (refer as quantity of humidity reading of the water particles).
Regarding claim 25, Buck discloses a cooking instrument (refer to fig. 1-4) comprising:
a heating system (#10. Fig. 1-4);
a cooking chamber (#20, fig.1-4) with an air exhaust (#38, fig.1 and 3-4) within the heating system (#10. Fig. 1-4);
a sensor (#32 and #34, fig.1 and 3-4) positioned within the cooking chamber (#20, fig.1-4) such that air (refer to the arrow passes through #31 and #34 in fig. 3-4) passing toward the air exhaust (#38, fig.1 and 3-4) flows over the sensor (#32 and #34, fig.1 and 3-4), wherein the sensor (#32 and #34, fig.1 and 3-4) is adapted to detect particles (refer to the water particles that provide the humidity reading) given off by food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) under heat; and
a controller (#40, fig.8) configured to:
identify characteristics (refer as humidity and temperature reading) of the particles (refer to the water particles that provide the humidity reading) throughout a cooking process (refer as the browning process discussed in Col 3 line 37-39 cited: “…By properly maintaining the humidity at a predetermined level, food can be browned and cooked to doneness…”) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification);
determine one of a plurality of discrete cooking stages (refer as refer as level of browning) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) based at least on changes in the characteristics (refer as humidity and temperature reading) of the particles (refer to the water particles that provide the humidity reading) over time during the cooking process (refer as the browning process discussed in Col 3 line 37-39 cited: “…By properly maintaining the humidity at a predetermined level, food can be browned and cooked to doneness…”), wherein the each cooking stage (refer as level of browning) corresponds to a different state (refer as different color of brown) in a progression of the cooking process (refer as the browning process discussed in Col 3 line 37-39 cited: “…By properly maintaining the humidity at a predetermined level, food can be browned and cooked to doneness…”); and
control a heating process dynamically in response to the determined cooking stage (refer as level of browning) of the food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) as the cooking stage (refer as level of browning) changes over time.
Regarding claim 31, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Buck further discloses wherein the cooking stage (refer as level of browning) corresponds to a food transformation event (referring the browning color on the food), the food transformation event (referring the browning color on the food) being browning.
Regarding claim 32, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Buck further discloses wherein the cooking stage (refer as level of browning) corresponds to a food transformation event (referring the browning color on the food), the food transformation event (referring the browning color on the food) being browning.
Regarding claim 33, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 25, Buck further discloses wherein the cooking stage (refer as level of browning) corresponds to a food transformation event (referring the browning color on the food), the food transformation event (referring the browning color on the food) being browning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buck (US4162381 newly cited) herein set forth as Buck, in view of GB2165370A (previously cited) herein set forth as GB5370A.
Regarding claim 5, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2,
Buck inherently discloses a cooking platform to support a target food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) in the cooking chamber (refer to the housing of #20 in fig 1-4).
Buck does not disclose determining, by the controller, a thermal state of a cooking platform supporting the food within the cooking chamber, wherein controlling the heating process dynamically in response to the cooking stage of the food and the thermal state of the cooking platform.
In the field of control circuit for cooking apparatus, GB5370A discloses determining, by the controller, a thermal state (refer to the different temperature reading in the graph) of a cooking platform supporting the food within the cooking chamber (Examiner note: the temperature reading is also a related thermal state of every object and structure in the cooking chamber), wherein controlling the heating process (refer to the “heater output” in fig.4) dynamically in response to the cooking stage (refer to “operation” in fig.4) of the food and the thermal state (refer to the different temperature reading in the graph) of the cooking platform (Examiner note: in line the 112b assumption above, the temperature reading is also a related thermal state of every object and structure in the cooking chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buck’s invention with the control circuit of GB5370A, in order to provide the control of the heating process to suit different operation without manually adjusting and/or monitoring the cooking stage of the cooking processes and the thermal state of the food, such that would improve the performance and marketability of Bach’s invention.
Regarding claim 15, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12,
Buck inherently discloses a cooking platform to support a target food (refer as food throughout Buck’s specification) in the cooking chamber (refer to the housing of #20 in fig 1-4).
Buck does not disclose determining, by the controller, a thermal state of a cooking platform supporting the food within the cooking chamber, wherein controlling the heating process dynamically in response to the cooking stage of the food and the thermal state of the cooking platform.
In the field of control circuit for cooking apparatus, GB5370A discloses determining, by the controller, a thermal state (refer to the different temperature reading in the graph) of a cooking platform supporting the food within the cooking chamber (Examiner note: the temperature reading is also a related thermal state of every object and structure in the cooking chamber), wherein controlling the heating process (refer to the “heater output” in fig.4) dynamically in response to the cooking stage (refer to “operation” in fig.4) of the food and the thermal state (refer to the different temperature reading in the graph) of the cooking platform (Examiner note: in line the 112b assumption above, the temperature reading is also a related thermal state of every object and structure in the cooking chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buck’s invention with the control circuit of GB5370A, in order to provide the control of the heating process to suit different operation without manually adjusting and/or monitoring the cooking stage of the cooking processes and the thermal state of the food, such that would improve the performance and marketability of Bach’s invention.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buck (US4162381 newly cited) herein set forth as Buck, in view of Cheng (US2017/0074522A1 previously cited from IDS) herein set forth as Cheng4522.
Regarding claim 7, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Buck already discloses in the rejection of claim 2 above, wherein executing and controlling the heating process dynamically includes executing and controlling the heating process dynamically in response to the cooking stage of the food and the monitored sensor.
Buck does not explicitly disclose analyzing an image captured by a camera.
In the field of oven and oven operation, Cheng4522 discloses determining, by the controller, a stage of the heating process by at least analyzing an image captured by a camera (refer to Abstract cited: “…the heating elements are controlled by a computing device in the cooking appliance. In some embodiments, the output of the camera is used to adjust heating pattern of the heating elements…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Buck’s method with determining, by the controller, a stage of the heating process by at least analyzing an image captured by a camera, as taught by Cheng4522, in order to provide the capability for automation and consistent production of complex meals with precision, speed, and lack of unnecessary human intervention (refer to 0004 cited: “…Several embodiments describe a cooking appliance (e.g., an enclosed cooking chamber or otherwise) having one or more heating elements controlled by a computing device (e.g., a computer processing unit (CPU), a controller, application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or any combination thereof). The computing device can control the peak emission wavelength and/or the spectral power distribution of the heating elements. For example, each heating element can include one or more filament assembly, one or more drivers that receives commands from a computing device and adjust the power, peak wavelength, and/or spectral power distribution of waves emitted from the filament assembly, a containment vessel, or any combination thereof. The computing device can control the filament assemblies (e.g., individually or as a whole) by controlling the electric signals driving these filament assemblies. For example, the computing device can change driving power, average electrical current level, driving signal pattern, driving signal frequency, or any combination thereof by targeting different material in a cooking chamber of the cooking appliance to heat. For example, the peak wavelength of waves emitted by a filament assembly can coincide with excitable wavelength of meat, water, a glass tray in the cooking appliance, interior chamber wall of the cooking appliance, containment vessels (e.g., envelope) of the filament assemblies, or any combination thereof. The computing device can implement an interactive user interface to control the cooking appliance. For example, the interactive user interface can be implemented on a touchscreen of the cooking appliance or a mobile device connected to the computing device of the cooking appliance. Each cooking recipe can include one or more heat adjustment algorithms …”).
Regarding claim 17, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Buck already discloses in the rejection of claim 12 above, wherein executing and controlling the heating process dynamically includes executing and controlling the heating process dynamically in response to the cooking stage of the food and the monitored sensor.
Buck does not explicitly disclose analyzing an image captured by a camera.
In the field of oven and oven operation, Cheng4522 discloses a camera, wherein the controller is configured to determine a stage of the heating process by at least analyzing an image captured by the camera (refer to Abstract cited: “…the heating elements are controlled by a computing device in the cooking appliance. In some embodiments, the output of the camera is used to adjust heating pattern of the heating elements…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Buck’s invention with a camera, wherein the controller is configured to determine a stage of the heating process by at least analyzing an image captured by the camera, as taught by Cheng4522, in order to provide the capability for automation and consistent production of complex meals with precision, speed, and lack of unnecessary human intervention (refer to 0004 cited: “…Several embodiments describe a cooking appliance (e.g., an enclosed cooking chamber or otherwise) having one or more heating elements controlled by a computing device (e.g., a computer processing unit (CPU), a controller, application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or any combination thereof). The computing device can control the peak emission wavelength and/or the spectral power distribution of the heating elements. For example, each heating element can include one or more filament assembly, one or more drivers that receives commands from a computing device and adjust the power, peak wavelength, and/or spectral power distribution of waves emitted from the filament assembly, a containment vessel, or any combination thereof. The computing device can control the filament assemblies (e.g., individually or as a whole) by controlling the electric signals driving these filament assemblies. For example, the computing device can change driving power, average electrical current level, driving signal pattern, driving signal frequency, or any combination thereof by targeting different material in a cooking chamber of the cooking appliance to heat. For example, the peak wavelength of waves emitted by a filament assembly can coincide with excitable wavelength of meat, water, a glass tray in the cooking appliance, interior chamber wall of the cooking appliance, containment vessels (e.g., envelope) of the filament assemblies, or any combination thereof. The computing device can implement an interactive user interface to control the cooking appliance. For example, the interactive user interface can be implemented on a touchscreen of the cooking appliance or a mobile device connected to the computing device of the cooking appliance. Each cooking recipe can include one or more heat adjustment algorithms …”).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buck (US4162381 newly cited) herein set forth as Buck, in view of Cheng (US2018/0202667A1 previously cited from IDS) herein set forth as Cheng2667.
Regarding claim 9, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Buck does not explicitly disclose computing, by the controller, an average particle size in the air based on sensor data from the sensor and a known air speed stored in a memory.
In the field of dynamic heat for configurable oven, Cheng2667 discloses computing, by the controller (refer as “computing device 206” in Paragraph 0050 cited: “…Estimates to the particle size can be made in several ways. In some embodiments, the computing device 206 can time the length of a reflected pulse (e.g., time between activating at least one of the light sources 242 and time when the image sensor system 222 receives the light pulse), assuming all particles are traveling at the same speed. In some embodiments, the computing device 206 can use multiple wavelengths from the light sources 242 to assess the size of the particle. If the particle were substantially smaller than the wavelength of the illuminating light, the particle will be invisible to a corresponding light detector/light sensor. Specifically, to detect submicron particles, the computing device 206 can utilize a blue LED or a blue laser as one of the light sources 242. Such a submicron particle would not be visible to an infrared LED or infrared laser …”), an average particle size (refer as “estimated particle size” in Paragraph 0050 cited above) in the air based on sensor data from the sensor and a known air speed (refer to “the same speed” in Paragraph 0050 cited above) stored in a memory (refer to Paragraph 0089 cited: “…The tangible storage memory may be volatile or non-volatile memory. In some embodiments, the volatile memory may be considered “non-transitory” in the sense that it is not a transitory signal. Memory space and storages described in the figures can be implemented with the tangible storage memory as well, including volatile or non-volatile memory. …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Buck’s method with computing, by the controller, an average particle size in the air based on sensor data from the sensor and a known air speed stored in a memory, as taught by Cheng2667, in order to provide the capability of automation, consistent production of complex meals with precision, speed and lack of unnecessary human intervention (refer to Paragraph 0003 cited: “…The art of cooking remains an “art” at least partially because of the food industry's inability to help cooks to produce systematically award worthy dishes. To make a full course meal, a cook often has to use multiple cooking instruments, understand the heating patterns of the cooking instruments, and make dynamic decisions throughout the entire cooking process based on the cook's observation of the target food's progression (e.g., transformation due to cooking/heating). Because of this, while some low-end meals can be microwaved (e.g., microwavable meals) or quickly produced (e.g., instant noodles), traditionally, truly complex meals (e.g., steak, kebabs, sophisticated dessert, etc.) cannot be produced systematically using conventional cooking instruments automatically. The industry has yet been able to create an intelligent cooking instrument capable of automatically and consistently producing complex meals with precision, speed, and lack of unnecessary human intervention. …”).
Regarding claim 19, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Buck does not explicitly disclose a memory storing a known air speed, wherein the controller is configured to compute average particle size in the air based on sensor data from the sensor and the known air speed.
In the field of dynamic heat for configurable oven, Cheng2667 discloses a memory (refer to Paragraph 0089 cited: “…The tangible storage memory may be volatile or non-volatile memory. In some embodiments, the volatile memory may be considered “non-transitory” in the sense that it is not a transitory signal. Memory space and storages described in the figures can be implemented with the tangible storage memory as well, including volatile or non-volatile memory. …”) storing a known air speed (refer to “the same speed” in Paragraph 0050 cited above), wherein the controller (refer as “computing device 206” in Paragraph 0050 cited: “…Estimates to the particle size can be made in several ways. In some embodiments, the computing device 206 can time the length of a reflected pulse (e.g., time between activating at least one of the light sources 242 and time when the image sensor system 222 receives the light pulse), assuming all particles are traveling at the same speed. In some embodiments, the computing device 206 can use multiple wavelengths from the light sources 242 to assess the size of the particle. If the particle were substantially smaller than the wavelength of the illuminating light, the particle will be invisible to a corresponding light detector/light sensor. Specifically, to detect submicron particles, the computing device 206 can utilize a blue LED or a blue laser as one of the light sources 242. Such a submicron particle would not be visible to an infrared LED or infrared laser …”) is configured to compute average particle size (refer as “estimated particle size” in Paragraph 0050 cited above) in the air based on sensor data from the sensor and the known air speed (refer to “the same speed” in Paragraph 0050 cited above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buck’s invention with a memory storing a known air speed, wherein the controller is configured to compute average particle size in the air based on sensor data from the sensor and the known air speed, as taught by Cheng2667, in order to provide the capability of automation, consistent production of complex meals with precision, speed and lack of unnecessary human intervention (refer to Paragraph 0003 cited: “…The art of cooking remains an “art” at least partially because of the food industry's inability to help cooks to produce systematically award worthy dishes. To make a full course meal, a cook often has to use multiple cooking instruments, understand the heating patterns of the cooking instruments, and make dynamic decisions throughout the entire cooking process based on the cook's observation of the target food's progression (e.g., transformation due to cooking/heating). Because of this, while some low-end meals can be microwaved (e.g., microwavable meals) or quickly produced (e.g., instant noodles), traditionally, truly complex meals (e.g., steak, kebabs, sophisticated dessert, etc.) cannot be produced systematically using conventional cooking instruments automatically. The industry has yet been able to create an intelligent cooking instrument capable of automatically and consistently producing complex meals with precision, speed, and lack of unnecessary human intervention. …”).
Claims 23, 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buck (US4162381 newly cited) herein set forth as Buck, in view of Bach et al (US2013/0308678A1 previously cited from IDS) herein set forth as Bach.
Regarding claim 23, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Buck does not discloses wherein detecting particles given off by food under heat includes detecting non-vaporous particles that are given off by food under heat.
In the similar field of oven cooking monitoring, Bach discloses detecting non-vaporous particles that are given off by food under heat for controlling the heat process (refer to Paragraph 0034 cited: “…Although temperature and/or humidity sensors are used for the exemplary embodiments shown in the figures, other types of sensors could be used instead or in addition thereto. These sensors can be of a variety of types, designed to measure a quantity or characteristic of the air, such as e.g. humidity, density, chemical composition, pH, a chemical compound sensor (e.g. VOCs, alcohols, keytones, oxygen, propane, methane, etc.), aroma/scent, smoke, dust, grease/oil droplets, and others as well…”, Examiner note: “smoke, dust, grease/oil droplet” are non-vaporous).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buck with detecting non-vaporous particles that are given off by food under heat for controlling the heat process, as taught by Bach, in order to provide a more complete monitoring of the cooking process, such that would be able to better known or predict or monitor the cooking process.
Regarding claim 27, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 25, Buck does not discloses wherein the controller is configured to identify at least the quantity and the type of the particles by differentiating among a plurality of types of particles.
In the similar field of oven cooking monitoring, Bach discloses the controller is configured to identify at least the quantity and the type of the particles by differentiating among a plurality of types of particles (refer to Paragraph 0034 cited: “…Although temperature and/or humidity sensors are used for the exemplary embodiments shown in the figures, other types of sensors could be used instead or in addition thereto. These sensors can be of a variety of types, designed to measure a quantity or characteristic of the air, such as e.g. humidity, density, chemical composition, pH, a chemical compound sensor (e.g. VOCs, alcohols, keytones, oxygen, propane, methane, etc.), aroma/scent, smoke, dust, grease/oil droplets, and others as well…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buck with the controller is configured to identify at least the quantity and the type of the particles by differentiating among a plurality of types of particles, as taught by Bach, in order to provide a more complete monitoring of the cooking process, such that would be able to better known or predict or monitor the cooking process.
Regarding claim 30, Buck discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Buck does not discloses wherein the controller is configured to identify at least the quantity and the type of the particles by differentiating among a plurality of types of particles.
In the similar field of oven cooking monitoring, Bach discloses the controller is configured to identify at least the quantity and the type of the particles by differentiating among a plurality of types of particles (refer to Paragraph 0034 cited: “…Although temperature and/or humidity sensors are used for the exemplary embodiments shown in the figures, other types of sensors could be used instead or in addition thereto. These sensors can be of a variety of types, designed to measure a quantity or characteristic of the air, such as e.g. humidity, density, chemical composition, pH, a chemical compound sensor (e.g. VOCs, alcohols, keytones, oxygen, propane, methane, etc.), aroma/scent, smoke, dust, grease/oil droplets, and others as well…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buck with the controller is configured to identify at least the quantity and the type of the particles by differentiating among a plurality of types of particles, as taught by Bach, in order to provide a more complete monitoring of the cooking process, such that would be able to better known or predict or monitor the cooking process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 27th 2026 have been fully considered but moot in view of the new grounds of rejection with the newly cited Primary Prior art Buck (US4162381).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Buck (US4181744 newly cited) discloses a similar cooking device that teaching the monitor and control of the browning process of the food based on relative humidity read from an exhaust, which likely to be anticipation to the independent claims.
Tanabe (US4311895 newly cited) discloses a cooking utensil that controlled by gas sensor that may read on a lot of the limitation in the independent claims.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 August 1st 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761