Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/30/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered. Claim(s) 1, 6 is/are amended; and claim(s) 5 has/have been canceled. Examiner affirms that the original disclosure provides adequate support for the amendment.
The above amendments and arguments have been found persuasive. The previous rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth in the Office action mailed 10/02/2025 has/have been withdrawn. New grounds of rejection are presented hereinbelow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 10, 21-23, 25, 27, 30, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US20210399362A1; cited in 10/02/2025 Office action) in view of Montalenti (GB2081495A).
Regarding claims 1, 6-8 Tang discloses an interconnected battery module (50) ([0072], FIG. 1), comprising:
a first enclosure (52, “cell enclosure”) ([0074], FIGs. 2-4), comprising:
a first sidewall (“upper side”, see annotation below);
a second sidewall (“underside”) opposite the first sidewall ([0074-0075]; see Annotated Tang FIG. 4 below);
a third sidewall (“left side”);
a fourth sidewall (“right side”) opposite the third sidewall ([0074], Annotated Tang FIG. 4);
a bottom wall (“front end”; [0084], FIG. 6, Annotated Tang FIG. 4);
a top wall (“rear”) opposite the bottom wall ([0075], Annotated Tang FIG. 4);
and a cavity defined by the first sidewall, the second sidewall, the third sidewall the fourth sidewall, the bottom wall, and the top wall (FIG. 6; [0084]),
wherein the third sidewall and the fourth sidewall are substantially perpendicular to the first sidewall and the second sidewall and wherein the bottom wall and the top wall are substantially perpendicular to the first sidewall, the second sidewall, the third sidewall, and the fourth sidewall (Annotated Tang FIG. 4).
Annotated Tang FIG. 4
Although Tang does not identify the front end and rear explicitly as a bottom wall and top wall, these components disclosed by Tang can be interpreted as a bottom wall and top wall relative to each other, being on opposite sides of the battery module relative each other (Annotated Tang FIG. 4).
The interconnected battery module further comprises a plurality of cells (72, “battery cell stack”) disposed enclosed entirely within the cavity of the first enclosure ([0084], FIGs. 5, 6);
a first electrical terminal (67, “power pin”) disposed through the first sidewall on a first side (“upper side”) of the first enclosure ([0017], [0080], FIG. 24B; Annotated Tang FIG. 4), the first electrical terminal comprising a first conductive mating surface (“tapered portion to facilitate engagement”, [0080])
a second electrical terminal (70, “power socket”) disposed through the second sidewall on a second side (“underside”) of the first enclosure ([0080], [0107], FIG. 25; Annotated Tang FIG. 4),
the second electrical terminal comprising a second conductive mating surface the second side opposite the first side ([0017]), the first conductive mating surface of the first electrical terminal (“male power connector”) of a first of the interconnected battery module (50) configured to mate with (“facilitate engagement with”), and be coupled electrically and operably to the second conductive mating surface of the second electrical terminal (“female power connector”) of a second of the interconnected battery module (50) ([0080]).
Annotated Tang FIG. 6
Tang further depicts the battery module in FIG. 6 wherein the plurality of cells (72) are enclosed on opposite ends with end plates (see annotation), the end plates being broadly and reasonably interpreted as a second enclosure disposed within the first enclosure (52) ([0074], Annotated Tang FIG. 6, above).
Tang FIG. 6 depicts a structure comparable to a spacer portion extending from an inner surface of the first enclosure (52) to an outer surface of the second enclosure (see Annotated Tang FIG. 6 above); it would also be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that a vent port (64, “burst disc”) configured to open an inner surface of the first enclosure (52) and allow the flow of exhaust gases ([0082]) would lose functionality if blocked by the plurality of cells and the second enclosure ( Annotated Tang FIG. 6). However, Tang fails to further specify the spacer portion structure depicted in FIG. 6 as further comprising a fastener assembly disposed through the top wall of the first enclosure that couples the first enclosure to the second enclosure, the fastener assembly comprising a first fastener and a second fastener, the first fastener including a spacer portion, the spacer portion extending from an inner surface of the first enclosure to an outer surface of the second enclosure, the second fastener directly coupled to the first fastener as claimed in claim 1.
Similarly, Tang fails to expressly disclose limitations of claim 6, wherein the first fastener further comprises a first shaft extending from the spacer portion into a second cavity defined at least partially by an interior surface of the second enclosure, of claim 7 wherein the first fastener includes a first aperture extending axially into the spacer portion, the first aperture being co-axial with the first shaft, and of claim 8 wherein the second fastener comprises a first head and a second shaft extending from the first head, the second shaft configured to engage the first aperture to couple the second fastener to the first fastener.
Montalenti, analogous as a battery module ("energy storage and supply unit") with a plurality of batteries (14) enclosed between a second enclosure (44, “end plates”; pp. 2 col. 1 ln. 58-65) disposed within a first enclosure (10, "container") (Montalenti FIG. 1, pp. 1 col. 2 ln. 121-125), teaches a fastener assembly (“clamping means”) disposed through a top wall (16b) of the first enclosure (10) that couples the first enclosure (16) to the second enclosure (44), the fastener assembly comprising a first fastener (44a, 44b, 46, 50) and a second fastener (52) (pp. 2 col. 2 ln. 98-112),
the first fastener including a spacer portion (44a, "stiffening ribs") (pp. 2 col. 2 ln 83-91, FIG. 4), the spacer portion (44a) extending from an inner surface of the first enclosure (10) to an outer surface of the second enclosure (44) (pp. 3 ln. 11-14), and the second fastener (52) directly coupled to the first fastener (46) (pp. 2 col. 2 ln. 106-112) as claimed in claim 1.
Advantageously, Montalenti's fastener assembly maintains the rigidity of the plurality of cells (pp. 1 col. 2 ln. 96-103), and the spacer portion (44a) forms an air space between batteries (12) and the first enclosure (10) to allow uninterrupted flow of gases through apertures (30) on the first enclosure (10) (pp. 2 col. 2 ln 83-91, pp. 3 col. 1 ln. 11-34, FIGs. 1, 4).
Although Montalenti employs apertures (30) on the top wall (16 b) for passage of a cooling gas (Montalenti FIG. 1, pp. 3 col. 1 ln. 11-34) while Tang’s vent port (64) on the top wall functions to vent exhaust gases, the inventive problem addressed by Montalenti is nonetheless pertinent to Tang, which is reliant on the flow of exhaust gases through the cavity of cell enclosure (52) for function of the vent port (64) (Tang FIG. 4, [0082]).
Thus, in seeking to ensure exhaust gas flow to Tang’s vent port and to improve the battery module rigidity, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide Montalenti's structure of a fastener assembly disposed through the top wall of Tang’s first enclosure that couples the first enclosure to the second enclosure, the fastener assembly comprising a first fastener and a second fastener, the first fastener including a spacer portion, the spacer portion extending from an inner surface of the first enclosure to an outer surface of the second enclosure, the second fastener directly coupled to the first fastener as claimed in claim 1.
Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success, as Tang appears to consider disposing a spacer portion in the top wall between the second housing element (i.e., the end plates) and a top wall of the first enclosure (52) (see Annotated Tang FIG. 6), this being where Montalenti’s fastener assembly including a spacer portion is provided in modification.
Tang FIG. 6 depicts the structure of tie rods (see annotations) extending between end plates of the second enclosure around the plurality of cells (72) ( Annotated Tang FIG. 6), these being comparable in structure to a first shaft extending from the spacer portion into a second cavity defined at least partially by an interior surface of the second enclosure as claimed in claim 6; however, Tang alone fails to expressly disclose limitations of claim 6, wherein the first fastener further comprises the first shaft, or limitations of claim 7 wherein the first fastener includes a first aperture extending axially into the spacer portion, the first aperture being co-axial with the first shaft, and limitations of claim 8 wherein the second fastener comprises a first head and a second shaft extending from the first head, the second shaft configured to engage the first aperture to couple the second fastener to the first fastener.
Further structural details of Montalenti’s fastener assembly include the first fastener (44a, 44b, 46, 50) further comprising tie rod (46) extending from the spacer portion (44a) (Montalenti FIG. 4) into a second cavity defined at least partially by an interior surface of the second enclosure (i.e., the space between end plates (44), Montalenti FIG. 2) as claimed in claim 6, the tie rod (46) being broadly and reasonably interpreted as a first shaft (46);
wherein the first fastener (44a, 44b, 46, 50) includes a first aperture (hole (44b) and screw-threaded hole (50)) extending axially into the spacer portion (44a), the first aperture (44b, 50) being co-axial with the first shaft (46) (pp. 2 col. 2 ln. 106-112, FIG. 4) as claimed in claim 7;
wherein the second fastener (52), being a screw (52), comprises a first head (“head”) and a second shaft (“screw-threaded end”) extending from the first head (pp. 2 col. 2 ln. 110-116), the second shaft (“screw-threaded end”) configured to engage the first aperture (44b, 50) to couple the second fastener to the first fastener (FIG. 4, pp. 2 col. 2 ln. 106-112) as claimed in claim 8.
This structure allows Montalenti’s second fastener (52) having a threaded end to engage the first fastener (44a, 44b, 46, 50) in order to fasten the plurality of cells (14) to the first enclosure (10) at the top wall (16 b) (pp. 2 col. 2 ln. 98-115, FIG. 4) and to space the plurality of cells (14) from the walls (e.g., top wall 16 b) of the first enclosure (10) (pp. 2 col. 2 ln. 86-93)
Thus, in seeking to fasten Tang’s plurality of cells according to Montalenti’s teachings and provide space for gases to flow through the vent port in the first enclosure, a skilled artisan would provide the additional structures of Montalenti’s fastener assembly which read on the scope of claims 6-8 as discussed above. Such modifications would be made with a reasonable expectation of success, as modified Tang’s battery module comprises the requisite structures of the first and second fastener according to claim 1, and further comprises the structure of a tie rod in the plurality of cells used in Montalenti’s first fastener structure.
Modified Tang further discloses a busbar (73, “connectors”) coupled to the plurality of cells (Tang [0084], FIG. 6), the first electrical terminal (67), and the second electrical terminal (70) (Tang [0107], FIG. 25), wherein the busbar is disposed entirely within the cavity (FIG. 6); and
a vent port (64, “burst disc”) coupled to the top wall of the first enclosure (52) ([0082]; Annotated Tang FIG. 4), the top wall (62’) extending from the first sidewall to the second sidewall of the first enclosure (52) (Annotated Tang FIG. 4), wherein:
in response to a thermal runaway event in any cell in the plurality of cells (72), an ejecta from the respective cell in the plurality of cells is exhausted only through the vent port (64) ([0082], FIG. 4) and in response to the thermal runaway event, the cavity inside an enclosure is configured to be only in fluid communication with an exhaust outlet through the vent port (64) ([0082], FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 10, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 1, wherein in response to the thermal runaway event of any cell in the plurality of cells of a battery system with the first of the interconnected battery module (50) and the second of the interconnected battery module (50), the gang vent portion (57, “exhaust channel”) is configured to direct exhaust gases away from the battery module (Tang [0075], FIGs. 1, 4), preventing propagation of a thermal runaway event to a second cell in the second of the interconnected battery module (50) in response to the thermal runaway event.
Regarding claim 21, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 1, further comprising a connector assembly (“power and communication assembly”, Tang [0017]), the connector assembly configured to electrically couple the first conductive mating surface located on the first electrical terminal (“power pin”) of the first of the interconnected battery module to the second conductive mating surface located on the second electrical terminal (“power socket”) of the second of the interconnected battery module ([0017], [0080], FIG. 25).
Regarding claim 22, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 21, wherein an electrical path is defined from the first conductive mating surface of the first electrical terminal (67’) through the plurality of cells (72’) to the second conductive mating surface of the second electrical terminal (70’) (Tang [0107], FIG. 25)
Regarding claim 23, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 22. While not expressly disclosed, Tang depicts the first electrical terminal (67’) and second electrical terminal (70’) being kept electrically isolated in the connector assembly (Tang FIG. 25); furthermore, it is known in the art that the two oppositely charged electrical terminals of a battery module are kept isolated from direct electrical contact under typical operating conditions to prevent a short circuit of the module.
Regarding claim 25, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 21, wherein the first electrical terminal (“power pin”) is disposed at a first end (“upper side”) of the connector assembly (“power and communication assembly”) and the second electrical terminal (“power pin”) is disposed at a second end (“underside”) of the connector assembly (Tang [0017])
Regarding claim 27, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 1, wherein the first electrical terminal of the first of the interconnected battery module is configured to be electrically coupled to the second electrical terminal of the second of the interconnected battery module without wires e.g., without power lines connected to modules (Tang [0003-0005]).
Regarding claim 30, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 1, wherein the first electrical terminal of the first of the interconnected battery module is configured to be directly coupled electrically to the second electrical terminal of the second of the interconnected battery module (“adjacently disposed battery module”) through an electrical interface (“portion to facilitate engagement”) defined between the first conductive mating surface (“male power connector”) and the second conductive mating surface (“female power connector”) (Tang [0080]).
Regarding claim 32, modified Tang discloses a battery system (100, “battery module stack”) comprising the first of the interconnected battery module (50) of claim 1; and the second of the interconnected battery module (50) ([0072], FIG. 1)
Annotated Tang FIG. 4 (reproduced from above)
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US20210399362A1) and Montalenti (GB2081495A) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Shiotsu et al. (US20160104923A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 1, further comprising a gang vent portion (57, “exhaust channel”) (Tang [0075], FIG. 4) coupled to the top wall of the first enclosure via a rear cover ([0082], FIG. 4); the vent port (64) coupled to the top wall of the enclosure ([0082], FIG. 4); the gang vent portion (57) in fluid communication with the cavity via the vent port (64) ([0082], FIG. 4), the top wall extending from the first side to the second side (Annotated Tang FIG. 4).
Tang’s battery module further defines a first direction perpendicular from a first side of the interconnected battery module (Annotated Tang FIG. 4), the gang vent portion (75) defining an axial direction that is parallel to the first direction (“from the underside of battery module 50 to the upper side”) ([0075]). Tang depicts an example of the vent port (64) having a circular cross-section which has an aspect ratio of 1:1 in the first direction (FIG. 4); while not necessarily appearing limited to this dimension of vent port, Tang fails to further depict an example having an aspect ratio greater than 2:1 in the first direction as claimed.
However, vent ports having an aspect ratio greater than 2:1 along an axial direction of the gang vent portion (i.e., along the first direction) are known in the art to be suitably functional for the purpose of discharging exhaust gases in interconnected battery modules to a gang vent portion. Shiotsu (US20160104923A1), directed to an interconnected battery module (22) (Shiotsu [0029], FIGs. 1-3) comprising a gang vent portion (51/51A, “gas discharge duct”) coupled to a wall (34) of an enclosure (FIGs. 1, 8; [0064]), the gang vent portion (51/51A) defining an axial direction along length direction L ([0064], FIG. 1), further provides a vent port (52, “gas discharge opening”) visibly depicted with an aspect ratio greater than 2:1 extending along the axial direction of the gang vent portion (51) (FIG. 8), this being in the same direction as the first direction as recited in claim 3. This vent port (52) performs an identical function of exhausting an ejecta from a cell in a plurality of cells to a gang vent portion (51) ([0061]).
Thus, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to change a shape of Tang’s vent port (64, Tang FIG. 4) to comprise an aspect ratio of greater than 2:1 in an axial direction of the gang vent portion as exemplified by Shiotsu, this being a change in shape without a significant effect on the functionality of the vent port (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B). Additionally, this would result in the vent port having an aspect ratio greater than 2:1 in the first direction as claimed in claim 3 because Tang’s gang vent portion defines an axial direction parallel to the first direction.
Regarding claim 4, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 3, wherein the gang vent portion (57) of the first of the interconnected battery module (50) is configured to couple to the gang vent portion (57) of the second of the interconnected battery module (50, “adjacent battery module”) to form a portion of a gang vent for a battery system (Tang [0077], FIG. 1), and the gang vent portion (57) is clamped to the first enclosure as claimed in claim 4 through being fastened by a rear cover ([0082], FIG. 4).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US20210399362A1) and Montalenti (GB2081495A) as applied to claim 8, further in view of Suenaga (US20220013852A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 8. In FIG. 4, Tang depicts a rear cover (see annotation) to be coupled to a top wall of the battery module with third fasteners appearing as bolts or screws ([0082], see Annotated Tang FIG. 4 above), which include a third head and a second shaft (structure of head and shaft shown in bolts/screws in panel (68), FIG. 2). While Montalenti suggests the use of the second fastener (52, “screw”) to attach additional components (e.g., handles (48)) to the top wall (16 b) to reduce the forces applied to the first enclosure (10) (Montalenti pp. 2 col. 2 ln. 122-130) and thus allow for a more economical, less rigid first enclosure (pp. 1 col. 1 ln. 59-65), Tang and Montalenti fail to expressly disclose a second fastener comprising a second aperture disposed axially therein, and the third shaft of the third fastener configured to engage the second aperture to couple the third fastener to the second fastener as claimed in claim 9.
Suenaga (US20220013852A1), analogous as a battery module (“battery pack”) comprising a first housing (10, “housing”) ([0034-0035], FIGs. 1-2) with a top wall (43, “front panel”) having a gas discharge mechanism (Suenaga [0053], FIG. 1), a third fastener (B, “bolt”) ([0093], FIG. 14), and a second fastener (53, “stud nut”) similarly comprising a first head (53 t, “brim part”) and a second shaft (53 b, “cylindrical part”) ([0092, FIG. 8), teaches forming the second fastener with a second aperture (53 a, “female screw”) disposed axially therein, wherein the third shaft of the third fastener (B) is configured to engage the second aperture (53 t) to couple the third fastener to the second fastener (53) in order to fix a side of the first enclosure (30) to a pack attaching member (A) with a spacer (S) interposed between ([0092-0093], FIG. 14).
This structure of a third fastener configured to be coupled by engaging a second aperture provided in the second fastener to fasten an additional member to the first enclosure would have utility to fasten Tang’s rear cover onto the top wall (Tang [0082], FIG. 4), and would additionally be recognized by Montalenti as reducing the forces applied to the first enclosure (10), this being desirable for design considerations of the first enclosure (Montalenti pp. 2 col. 2 ln. 122-130, pp. 1 col. 1 ln. 59-65).
As such, in seeking the above advantages, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tang’s battery module to provide a second aperture in the second fastener disposed axially therein, and provide a third fastener with the third shaft configured to engage the second aperture to couple the third fastener to the second fastener as taught by Suenaga and Montalenti. Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success, as the components of a second and third fastener having a respective head and shaft used by Suenaga’s fastener assembly are already present in the structure of modified Tang’s battery module to allow for this modification.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US20210399362A1) and Montalenti (GB2081495A) as applied to claim 21, further in view of Troutman et al. (US20120094150A1; cited in 10/31/2024 Office action).
Regarding claim 24, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 21. Tang further discloses the connector assembly is configured to extend a first terminal (67’) with a rotation of manual power switch (66’) through use of a suitable linear rotary converter (Tang [0107], FIGs. 24A, B) to allow the first terminal (“power pin”) to be retracted when not in use ([0016]). However, Tang does not further indicate details of the linear rotary converter as including the structure of a torque driver and stud as claimed.
Troutman, directed to an analogous interconnected battery module (700, “holder”) being mechanically and electrically coupled (Troutman [0079-0080], FIGs. 11 and 12), similarly comprising terminals configured to retract when not in use ([0079-0081]) through use of a linear rotary converter being a screw mechanism configured to rotate inwards or outwards, the screw mechanism including a post held by threads, such that the post retracts when rotated one way and extends when rotated the other way ([0081]). In Troutman’s screw mechanism, the post of the terminal corresponds to the claimed stud, and the threads corresponds to the claimed torque driver. Thus, the torque driver (threads) is configured to translate the stud axially away from the first terminal of a first module (i.e. extend the stud) and towards the second electrical terminal of the second module in response to the torque drive being rotated about an axis defined by the torque driver (the torque driver rotates relative to the stud/post).
As such, in seeking to allow Tang’s first terminal to be extended and retracted through use of a linear rotary converter, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to select a connector assembly structure for use in Tang’s interconnected battery module including a torque driver and a stud disposed in the first electrical terminal, the torque driver configured to translate the stud from the first electrical terminal towards the second electrical terminal of the second interconnected battery module in response to rotation of the torque driver as taught by Troutman; such a selection would be made with a reasonable expectation of success as Troutman’s terminal is capable of linear extension and retraction through use of a linear rotary converter being the torque driver and stud as required by Tang; see 2144.07.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US20210399362A1) and Montalenti (GB2081495A) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Ichikawa et al. (US20180034014A1; cited in 10/31/2024 Office action).
Regarding claim 31, modified Tang discloses the interconnected battery module of claim 1 comprising a vent disposed at an inlet of the vent port (64) configured to open when sufficient pressure is applied to allow exhaust gases to flow away from the battery modules ([0104],[0082]), but does not further specify the vent as being a breathable vent.
Ichikawa, similarly directed to an interconnected battery module (Ichikawa, abstract) having vents (45, “relief valves”) disposed at inlets of a vent port (53) (Ichikawa [0035], FIGs. 2, 3), teaches that breathable (“self-resetting”) vents which reversibly change from closed and open states depending on internal pressure and non-breathable (“self-destruction type”) vents which open irreversibly are both suitable and interchangeable for the purpose of discharging gas ([0033-0034]).
As such, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to select a breathable vent for use in modified Tang’s battery module; such a selection would be made with a reasonable expectation of success as Ichikawa teaches both breathable and non-breathable vent types as suitable for use in regulating pressure and discharging exhaust gases (MPEP 2144.06 II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant amendment to the drawings has overcome the objection to drawings in the Office action filed 10/02/2025. The drawings are accepted.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of amended claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Tang (US20210399362A1) as discussed in remarks pp. 8-10 and in Applicant interview on 03/04/2026 have been considered and found persuasive; the previous rejection of claims 1, 5-8, 10, 21-23, 25, 27, 30, and 32 as presented in the Office action filed 10/02/2025 has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tang in view of newly cited prior art as presented above.
Conclusion
/E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 5/14/2026