DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 10/02/2026 (“Amendment”). Claims 1, 2, and 4-14 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 2, and 4.
The objection(s) to the drawings, specification, and/or claims, the interpretation(s) under 35 USC 112(f), and/or the rejection(s) under 35 USC 101 and/or 35 USC 112 not reproduced below has/have been withdrawn in view of the corresponding amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2005/0203366 (“Donoghue”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2007/0299480 (“Hill”), US Patent Application Publication 2014/0194944 (“Romanelli”), US Patent Application Publication 2016/0113540 (“Chi”), and US Patent Application Publication 2008/0159365 (“Dubocanin”).
Regarding claim 1, Donoghue teaches [a] system comprising: one or more electroencephalography (EEG) sensor nodes (Fig. 1, remote brain implant 200, ¶¶s 0073, 0013) in a sensor network (Fig. 1, which includes one or more sensors 150 - ¶ 0073) configured to detect electrical signals indicating activity of a brain of a subject and to transmit signal information relating to the detected electrical signals (¶ 0073 - detecting signals and transmitting them to central processing module 300), …; a centralized command control node (CCN) in the sensor network in communication with the one or more EEG sensor nodes (Fig. 1, central processing module 300, ¶¶s 0073 and 0074 (wireless)); and one or more non-EEG sensor nodes connected in the sensor network, in communication with the CCN, and configured to detect other signals (Fig. 1, sensors 150 for detecting heart rate, respiration, etc. - ¶ 0073); … .
Donoghue does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the sensor network is adapted to allow plug-and-play reconfiguration of the one or more EEG sensor nodes while deployed, wherein said sensor nodes comprise plug-and-play modules. Donoghue does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the one or more non-EEG sensor nodes and the one or more EEG sensor nodes are configured to transmit data among themselves and perform data processing on data received from another sensor node (although Fig. 1 does show arrows going from the processing module 300 to each of the sensor nodes).
Hill teaches a variety of biomedical sensors being part of a sensor network (Figs. 1 and 5, Abstract), with the nodes of the network able to transmit data among themselves and process data from other nodes (¶ 0055, specialist nodes 301, 302, and 304 providing data processing services for adjacent nodes). The sensor network is able to be reconfigured in a plug-and-play manner while deployed, the sensors/devices each being considered plug-and-play modules (¶¶s 0024, 0027, 0028, 0058, etc.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the network of Donoghue like the one of Hill, the sensor nodes (including both EEG and non-EEG nodes) able to communicate with each other and some nodes able to process data from other nodes, for the purpose of more efficiently handling a larger number of sensors (Hill: ¶ 0055, reducing redundant functions, coordinating local sensors, enabling feedback loops, conserving power by offloading processing, etc.). It would have been obvious to make the network plug-and-play and reconfigurable, as in Hill, for the purpose of increasing resiliency of the network (Hill: ¶¶s 0024, 0027, 0028, 0058, etc., self-healing, transitioning between diagnosis and therapy, etc.).
Donoghue-Hill does not appear to explicitly teach each EEG sensor node embodying an analog front end (AFE) circuit (although ¶¶s 0045, 0090 of Donoghue do describe performing preprocessing on the detected signals, including filtering and amplifying them).
Romanelli teaches that each electrode of a system for monitoring brain bioelectric signals has an analog front end circuit (¶ 0063, Fig. 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an analog front end circuit with each sensor node in Donoghue-Hill, as in Romanelli, for the purpose of enabling more fine-tuned preprocessing of the nodes (also see Romanelli: ¶ 0065).
Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli is silent as to wherein the one or more EEG sensor nodes are configured to detect the electrical signals without a driven right leg (DRL) circuit in the sensor network.
Chi is cited as a supplementary teaching to show that such a sensor system can detect electrical signals without a driven right leg (DRL) circuit in the network (Fig. 1, as compared to Fig. 2 and ¶ 0018. ¶¶s 0014-0017 suggest that multiple sense electrodes 101 may be used in this configuration).
Dubocanin further describes improving signal quality (by biasing a subject to a reference potential) using a non-DRL circuit method (¶ 0040, omitting the DRL circuit), thereby retaining signal fidelity and accuracy (¶¶s 0004, 0030) while also reducing cost and complexity associated with DRL circuits (¶¶s 0004, 0030, 0039, 0040).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect signals in Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli without a DRL circuit in the sensor network, as taught by Chi and Dubocanin, for the purpose of reducing circuit cost and system complexity by requiring fewer components (Dubocanin: ¶¶s 0004, 0030, and 0040).
Regarding claim 2, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Donoghue further teaches wherein the one or more non-EEG sensor nodes are configured to transmit information relating to the detected other signals to the CCN (Fig. 1, sensors 150 for detecting heart rate, respiration, etc. - ¶ 0073).
Regarding claim 5, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. Donoghue further teaches wherein the other signals are associated with physiological data of the subject (¶ 0073).
Regarding claim 7, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. Donoghue further teaches wherein the CCN is wirelessly in communication with the one or more EEG sensor nodes, the at least two other non-EEG sensor nodes, or both (¶ 0074).
Regarding claim 8, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. The combination further teaches wherein the one or more EEG sensor nodes are further configured to locally perform a processing technique on the detected electrical signals resulting in processed signal data and to transmit the processed signal data to the CCN (Romanelli teaches that each electrode has an analog front end circuit for preprocessing the signals (¶¶s 0063, 0065, Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to perform this preprocessing before transmitting the signals to the CCN of the combination, for the purpose of enabling more fine-tuned preprocessing of the nodes, and for enabling simpler and more universal CCN configurations which only have to work with digital data (also see Romanelli: ¶¶s 0065, 0066)).
Regarding claim 11, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Donoghue further teaches wherein the CCN is further configured to control an aspect of the sensor network and to control an aspect of the one or more EEG sensor nodes (¶ 0073 describes the central processing module 300 as e.g. generating control signals to stimulate the brain (which involves controlling the sensor nodes), and storing data related to detected signals (which involves controlling an aspect of the network - e.g. a data recorder 380)).
Regarding claim 12, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Donoghue further teaches wherein the CCN is further configured to dynamically control the one or more EEG sensor nodes so as to adapt to a changing condition associated with the subject (¶ 0073 describes the central processing module 300 as dynamically controlling a stimulation delivered through the remote brain implant 200 based on changing conditions of the subject - also see ¶ 0023).
Regarding claim 13, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. The combination further teaches wherein a wireless bridge node (WBN) provides wireless extension of the sensor network to one or more wireless sensor nodes (Hill teaches using wireless receiver and access point units to connect sensors with a monitoring unit (Fig. 1D, Abstract). It would have been obvious to wirelessly connect physiological sensors such as accelerometers or respiration sensors to the sensor network/central processing module 300 of Donoghue, for the purpose of minimally intrusive patient monitoring (Hill: ¶¶s 0006, 0007), and as already contemplated by Donoghue (¶ 0074)).
Regarding claim 14, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Donoghue further teaches wherein the sensor network is configured to allow one or more other sensors nodes, other than EEG sensors nodes to be added to or removed from the sensor network (¶ 0073 describes a wide variety of physiological or biological sensors being configurable with the system - also see Hill, which teaches a wide variety of sensors in a reconfigurable mesh network (¶¶s 0024, 0028, 0058, etc.)).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin in view of US Patent Application Publication 2011/0251469 (“Varadan”).
Regarding claim 4, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin further teaches wherein … the one or more non-EEG sensor nodes are each configured to be worn by the subject (Donoghue: ¶ 0073 suggests that more than one of the sensors 150 is configured to be worn).
Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin does not appear to explicitly teach the one or more EEG sensor nodes configure to be worn by the subject.
Varadan teaches the use of wearable EEG sensors (Fig. 1A, ¶ 0015).
It would have been obvious to use worn EEG sensors in the combination as a mere substitution of parts, and for the purpose of increasing patient safety by not requiring implantation of electrodes.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin in view of US Patent Application Publication 2012/0242501 (“Tran”).
Regarding claim 6, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the other signals are associated with non-physiological data of the subject.
Tran teaches a sensor network including EEG and GPS sensor nodes (Fig. 1A, ¶ 0058).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain another signal containing non-physiological data of the subject, such as GPS data, in the combination, for the purpose of being able to track the ambulatory patterns of the patient for mobility tracking (Tran: ¶ 0058), and for the purpose of being able to locate the patient in case of emergencies.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin in view of US Patent Application Publication 2014/0107501 (“Komanduri”).
Regarding claim 9, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the AFE circuit includes, in order, a first amplifier, a plurality of filters, and a second amplifier.
Komanduri teaches an AFE circuit that includes, in order, a first amplifier, a plurality of filters, and a second amplifier (Fig. 4, ¶ 0039).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the type of AFE circuit taught in Komanduri, in the combination, for the purpose of performing the necessary signal conditioning of the obtained analog signals to enable them to be properly read and displayed for review by a medical professional, with various other configurations also being possible based on design choice (Komanduri: ¶ 0039).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin in view of US Patent Application Publication 2014/0051946 ("Arne”).
Regarding claim 10, Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Donoghue-Hill-Romanelli-Chi-Dubocanin does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the sensor network is configured according to an inter-integrated circuit (I2C) topology.
Arne teaches the use of an I2C topology in a sensor network having reusable electronic modules (Fig. 2, ¶ 0042, listing a variety of well-known and interchangeable serial interfaces).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an I2C topology in the sensor network of the combination, as a well-known alternative for the bus lines used by the combination (see e.g. ¶ 0060 of Romanelli).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 4-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,973,430 (the “reference patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are generally broader than, and therefore anticipated by, the claims of the reference patent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 10/02/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Applicant makes a general allegation of patentability and does not argue or explain why the cited art does not teach the claimed features. Therefore, all claims remain rejected in light of the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791