DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending for examination.
Claims 1, 16 and 17 are independent Claims.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. 2009/0029736 hereinafter Kim) in view of Hwang (U.S. 2011/0081951 hereinafter Hwang) in further view of Howard et al. (U.S. 2015/0017962 hereinafter Howard).
As Claim 1, Kim teaches a method comprising:
at an electronic device in communication with a display and one or more input devices (Kim (¶0030, fig. 1 item 17), input unit):
receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to setup a first cellular identifier for the electronic device (Kim (¶0055 line 10-17, fig. 4(a), user inputs into the user interface for selecting the first SIM card), wherein the electronic device is also configured with a second cellular identifier (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), first SIM card can be used as primary or secondary SIM card); and
in response to receiving the request to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device, initiating a process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device (Kim (¶0055 line 10-17), first SIM card is highlighted), wherein the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device includes:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input to select a respective set of one or more functions for the first cellular identifier, wherein the electronic device is capable of performing a plurality of functions, including the selected one or more functions, using the first cellular identifier for the electronic device (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), first SIM card can be used as primary or secondary SIM card);
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the respective set of one or more functions is one of voice and messaging functions, or data functions;
in response to receiving the input to select the respective set of one or more functions for the first cellular identifier:
in accordance with a determination that the respective set of one or more functions is a first set of one or more functions, initiating a process to enable the first cellular identifier to be used for conducting the messaging function; and
Hwang teaches:
wherein the respective set of one or more functions includes one or more messaging functions (Hwang (¶0045, fig. 3), user can set sim card A for voice service and sim card B for data service);
in response to receiving the input to select the respective set of one or more functions for the first cellular identifier (Hwang (¶0045, fig. 3), user can set sim card A for voice service and sim card B for data service):
in accordance with a determination that the respective set of one or more functions is a first set of one or more functions, initiating a process to enable the first cellular identifier to be used for conducting the messaging function (Hwang (¶0045, fig. 3), user can set sim card A for voice service and sim card B for data service); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify user interface of Kim instead be a user interface taught by Hwang, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to provide flexibility in using sim card services (Hwang (¶0045)).
Kim in view of Hwang does not explicitly disclose:
after the process to setup the first cellular identifier and while the first cellular identifier is enabled to be used for conducting messaging functions, initiating a messaging conversation with a respective contact, wherein initiating the messaging conversation with the respective contact includes transmitting a message from the electronic device to the respective contact, including:
in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a criterion that is satisfied when the respective contact is associated with the second cellular identifier, selecting, by the electronic device, the second cellular identifier for the messaging conversation and conducting the messaging conversation with the respective contact using the second cellular identifier including transmitting, via the second cellular identifier of the electronic device, the message from the electronic device to the respective contact; and
in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied, selecting, by the electronic device, the first cellular identifier for the messaging conversation and conducting the messaging conversation with the respective contact using the first cellular identifier including transmitting, via the first cellular identifier of the electronic device, the message from the electronic device to the respective contact.
Howard teaches:
after the process to setup the first cellular identifier and while the first cellular identifier is enabled to be used for conducting messaging functions, initiating a messaging conversation with a respective contact, wherein initiating the messaging conversation with the respective contact includes transmitting a message from the electronic device to the respective contact (Howard (¶0106, fig. 6 item 620A, 620B), user can initiate the message using interface element 620A, 620B. Each element is associated with a sim card identifier. Howard (¶0144, fig. 12 item 1226), “label 1226 can be included in the representation of the conversation 1220B to indicate the SIM card for the message”), including:
in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a criterion that is satisfied when the respective contact is associated with the second cellular identifier, selecting, by the electronic device, the second cellular identifier for the messaging conversation and conducting the messaging conversation with the respective contact using the second cellular identifier (Howard (¶0106, fig. 6 item 620A, 620B), user can initiate the message using interface element 620A, 620B. Each element is associated with a sim card identifier. Item 620B shows that message conversation is initiate with SIM 2.) including transmitting, via the second cellular identifier of the electronic device, the message from the electronic device to the respective contact (Howard (¶0144, fig. 12 item 1226), “label 1226 can be included in the representation of the conversation 1220B to indicate the SIM card for the message”. Howard (¶0217 last 6 lines, ¶0218 first 5 lines, ¶0219 last 5 lines), SIM card can be assigned to a contact); and
in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied, selecting, by the electronic device, the first cellular identifier for the messaging conversation and conducting the messaging conversation with the respective contact using the first cellular identifier (Howard (¶0106, fig. 6 item 620A, 620B), user can initiate the message using interface element 620A, 620B. Each element is associated with a sim card identifier. Item 620B shows that message conversation is initiate with SIM 2. Howard (¶0144, fig. 12 item 1226), “label 1226 can be included in the representation of the conversation 1220B to indicate the SIM card for the message”) including transmitting, via the first cellular identifier of the electronic device, the message from the electronic device to the respective contact (Howard (¶0144, fig. 12 item 1226), “label 1226 can be included in the representation of the conversation 1220B to indicate the SIM card for the message”. Howard (¶0217 last 6 lines, ¶0218 first 5 lines, ¶0219 last 5 lines), SIM card can be assigned to a contact).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify user interface of Kim in view of Hwang instead be a user interface taught by Howard, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to allow “the user interfaces and flow between them can better parallel common user scenarios. Anoverall superior user experience with better internal consistency, fewer errors, and more efficient communication can result.” (Howard (¶0034 last 5 lines)).
As Claim 2, besides Claim 1, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard teaches wherein the respective set of one or more functions includes primary cellular identifier functions (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), first SIM card can be used as primary or secondary SIM card).
As Claim 3, besides Claim 1, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard teaches wherein:
prior to initiating the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device, the electronic device was configured to perform primary cellular identifier functions using a second cellular identifier (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), first and second SIM card can be used as primary or secondary SIM card), and the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device includes:
configuring the electronic device to perform the primary cellular identifier functions using the first cellular identifier (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), first SIM card can be used as primary or secondary SIM card); and
configuring the electronic device to perform secondary cellular identifier functions using the second cellular identifier (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), first SIM card can be used as primary or secondary SIM card).
As Claim 4, besides Claim 3, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard teaches wherein configuring the electronic device to perform the secondary cellular identifier functions using the second cellular identifier comprises configuring the electronic device to use the second cellular identifier only for cellular data (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17, ¶0065), first SIM card can be used as primary or secondary SIM card. SIM card provides only cellular data).
As Claim 8, besides Claim 1, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard teaches further comprising:
in response to receiving the input defining the first label for the first cellular identifier for the electronic device, generating the indicator corresponding to the first cellular identifier based on the first label, wherein the indicator is displayed by the electronic device to represent the first cellular identifier in at least one or more user interfaces outside of the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), first SIM card can be used as primary or secondary SIM card after the first SIM card is activated).
As Claim 9, besides Claim 8, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard teaches wherein generating the indicator corresponding to the first cellular identifier includes:
in accordance with a determination that generating the indicator corresponding to the first cellular identifier to have a first number of characters will distinguish the indicator from an existing second indicator corresponding to a second label for a cellular identifier, generating the indicator corresponding to the first cellular identifier to have the first number of characters (Kim (¶0055 line 10-13, fig. 4), first SIM card is assigned the name SIM 1); and
in accordance with a determination that generating the indicator corresponding to the first cellular identifier to have the first number of characters will not distinguish the indicator from the existing second indicator corresponding to the second label for [[a]]the cellular identifier, generating the indicator corresponding to the first cellular identifier to have a second number of characters, greater than the first number of characters (Kim (¶0055 line 10-13, fig. 4), second SIM card is assigned the name SIM 2).
As Claim 10, besides Claim 1, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard teaches further comprising:
after setting up the first cellular identifier for the electronic device, displaying, on the display, a representation of the first cellular identifier and a representation of a second cellular identifier, wherein the second cellular identifier is currently inactive on the electronic device, and the representation of the second cellular identifier is displayed concurrently with an affordance for activating the second cellular identifier on the electronic device (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), second SIM card can be disabled);
while displaying, on the display, the representation of the first cellular identifier and the representation of the second cellular identifier, receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to selection of the affordance for activating the second cellular identifier (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), second SIM card can be enabled from a disabled state); and
in response to receiving the input corresponding to the selection of the affordance for activating the second cellular identifier, activating the second cellular identifier on the electronic device (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), user can enable second SIM card).
As Claim 11, besides Claim 1, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard teaches wherein the input corresponding to the request to setup the first cellular identifier is received during an initial setup process for the electronic device (Kim (¶0055 line 10-17, fig. 4(a), user inputs “HOME” into the first label area in order to setup the first SIM card).
As Claim 12, besides Claim 11, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard teaches wherein the initial setup process for the electronic device is a first setup process for a new electronic device (Kim (¶0055 line 10-17, fig. 4(a), user inputs “HOME” into the first label area in order to setup the first SIM card).
As Claim 13, besides Claim 1, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard teaches wherein the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device is initiated in response to detecting a second cellular identifier at the electronic device (Kim (¶0055 line 10-17, fig. 4(a), user inputs “HOME” into the first label area in order to setup the first SIM card).
As Claim 14, besides Claim 1, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard teaches wherein the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device is initiated in response to an input detected in a cellular settings user interface of the electronic device (Kim (¶0055 line 10-17, fig. 4(a), user inputs “HOME” into the first label area in order to setup the first SIM card).
As Claim 15, besides Claim 1, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard teaches wherein the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device includes:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to designate the first cellular identifier with a designation (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), second SIM card can be disabled/enabled); and
in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to designate the first cellular identifier with the designation (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17), second SIM card can be disabled/enabled. ):
in accordance with a determination that the designation is a primary cellular identifier designation, configuring the electronic device to perform messaging functions using the first cellular identifier (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17, ¶0069 line 4-9), second SIM card can be disabled/enabled. Functionality includes sending/receiving messages. “enabling” a SIM card is construed as making that SIM card or phone number a “primary cellular identifier designation”.); and
in accordance with a determination that the designation is not the primary cellular identifier designation, forgoing configuring the electronic device to perform the messaging functions using the first cellular identifier (Kim (¶0060 line 12-17, ¶0069 line 4-9), second SIM card can be disabled/enabled. Functionality includes sending/receiving messages. Disabled SIM will not be able to perform the messaging function).
As Claim 16, Kim teaches an electronic device, comprising:
one or more processors (Kim (¶0036 line 11-13), microcomputers);
memory (Kim (¶0036 line 11-13), microcomputers); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs (Kim (¶0036 line 11-13), microcomputers) including instructions for:
The rest of the limitations are rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
As Claim 17, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform a method (Kim (¶0036 line 11-13), microcomputers) comprising:
The rest of the limitations are rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in and Hwang in view of Howard in further view of Schell et al. (U.S. 2012/0117635 hereinafter Schell) .
As Claim 5, besides Claim 4, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard does not explicitly disclose:
requesting access credentials for allowing access to the first cellular identifier;
receiving, via the one or more input devices, inputted access credentials for allowing access to the first cellular identifier; and
in response to receiving the inputted access credentials:
in accordance with a determination that the inputted access credentials are correct, allowing the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device to continue; and
in accordance with a determination that the inputted access credentials are incorrect,
forgoing allowing the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device to continue.
Schell teaches wherein the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device includes:
requesting access credentials for allowing access to the first cellular identifier (Schell (¶0067 1-4, fig. 3 item 302), the simulacrum is scanned via a camera);
receiving, via the one or more input devices, inputted access credentials for allowing access to the first cellular identifier (Schell (¶0071 line 1-2, fig. 3 item 302), device verifies the read or captured information); and
in response to receiving the inputted access credentials:
in accordance with a determination that the inputted access credentials are correct, allowing the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device to continue (Schell (¶0092), if the request is verified, system provides access data); and
in accordance with a determination that the inputted access credentials are incorrect (Schell (¶0089 line 2-4), if the request is incorrect, it is denied),
forgoing allowing the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device to continue (Schell (¶0089 line 2-4), if the request is incorrect, it is denied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify identifier set up user interface of Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard instead be an identifier code scanner taught by Schell, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to provide a more “flexible distribution of subscriber identity applications while still maintaining backward compatibility with current physical card media distribution schemes” (Schell (¶0011)).
As Claim 6, besides Claim 1, Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the input corresponding to the request to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device comprises capturing, via a camera of the electronic device, an image of a graphic corresponding to the first cellular identifier.
Schell teaches wherein the input corresponding to the request to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device comprises capturing, via a camera of the electronic device, an image of a graphic corresponding to the first cellular identifier (Schell (¶0067 1-4, fig. 3 item 302), the simulacrum is scanned via a camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify identifier set up user interface of Kim in view of Hwang in further view of Howard instead be an identifier code scanner taught by Schell, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to provide a more “flexible distribution of subscriber identity applications while still maintaining backward compatibility with current physical card media distribution schemes” (Schell (¶0011)).
As Claim 7, besides Claim 6, Kim and Hwang in view of Howard in further view of Schell teaches further comprising:
in response to capturing, via the camera of the electronic device, the image of the graphic corresponding to the first cellular identifier (Schell (¶0067 1-4, fig. 3 item 302), the simulacrum is scanned via a camera):
in accordance with a determination that the first cellular identifier is successfully identified using the image, initiating the process to setup the first cellular identifier for the electronic device (Schell (¶0092), if the request is verified, system provides access data); and
in accordance with a determination that the first cellular identifier is not successfully identified using the image, requesting manual input, via the one or more input devices, of information about the first cellular identifier (Schell (¶0076 line 8-15), if no SIM data is downloaded, system requests user to input information).
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§102-103:
As Claims 1-4 and 8-17, Applicants argue that Choi disclose “displaying a number instead of making any decision about whether to use the first cellular identifier of the electronic device to conduct a messaging conversation” (first paragraph of page 12 in the remarks).
Applicants’ arguments are moot because new reference Howard teaches the limitation(s).
Other independent/dependent Claims are not allowable for the reasons above.
Conclusion
/NHAT HUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2147