DETAILED ACTION
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 07/22/2025.
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-16, 18-25 and 27-34 are presented for examination.
The rejections are respectfully maintained and reproduced infra for applicant's convenience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the following limitation(s):
Applicant argues, stated in the remark on pages 11 and 16, “the Office Action has not shown that Konappa teaches or suggests "receiving control signaling indicating a duration of a timer, wherein the duration of the timer is based at least in part on a quality of a communication link," as recited in independent claim 1”. On the contrary, Konappa teaches UE begin at timer (corresponding to duration of a timer) based on QoS grant associated with network connection (corresponding quality of a communication link). In another word, UE detect the QoS grant associate with the network connection in association with the handover (UE perform handover from one network to another network and receiving QoS grant from the second network node).
Applicant argues, stated in the remark on pages 12 and 16, “the Office Action has not shown that Konappa teaches or suggests "receiving, from a radio resource control layer of the UE and at a non-access stratum layer of the UE, an indication of the received paging message," as recited in independent claim 1”. On the contrary, Konappa teaches physical control format indicator channel (PCFICH) and CFI (Control format indicator) that determine PDCCH occupies and NAS message. The CFI is a signalling field used to tell the UE how many OFDM symbols are allocated in a subframe for the PDCCH, where PDCCH carries control information including paging message that notify a UE it has received a call or data from the network. In addition, UE receiving the distribution NAS message fs from the base station and UE applied the NAS message to perform communication (see Konappa: ¶[0020).
Applicant argues, stated in the remark on pages 13 and 17, “the Office Action has not shown that Konappa teaches or suggests "initiating the timer based at least in part on receiving the indication of the received paging message and the quality of the communication link satisfying a threshold," as recited in independent claim 1”. On the contrary, Konappa teaches the first UE may begin a first timer (corresponding initiating the timer) to allow a network to grant the dedicated bearer(s) for the network connection based on QoS grant (corresponding quality of the communication link whether Grant or deny) (see Konappa: ¶[0028]). In wireless communication, a QoS grant refers to a formal allocation or permission given to a user or device to transmit data under specific quality-of-service (QoS) conditions (corresponding to threshold).
Applicant argues, stated in the remark on pages 14 and 18, “the Office Action has not shown that Konappa teaches or suggests, "establishing a network connection with a network node based at least in part on an expiration of the duration of the timer and based at least in part on the quality of the communication link failing to satisfy the threshold," as recited in independent claim 1”. On the contrary, Konappa teaches retransmit the resource allocation request when does not meet the threshold (QoS conditions) “If the number of retransmissions of the resource allocation request does not meet or exceed the threshold (and/or if the number of expirations of the third timer does not meet or exceed the other threshold), then the first UE 504a may retransmit the resource allocation request (operation 538).
Applicant argues, stated in the remark on page 15 with respect to claims 16 and 25, “Palenius does not teach or suggest receiving ... an alert message, wherein the alert message indicates a subsequent transmission of the paging message, as recited in independent claim 16”. Palenius teaches receiving a paging message from a base station and include retransmissions of paging message (paging message corresponding to alert message) “the paging messages to the UE 108, including retransmissions of the paging messages, may be controlled by the core network 220, and may be relayed to the UE by the base station 104”. Based on the applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner further reviewed the claims and the Applicant’s Specification in order to determine ways to place this case in better condition for allowance. The Examiner would like to bring two things to the Applicant's attention. First, reconsider the allowable subject matter of claim 21 into claim 16 as described below. Second, other independent claims 1 and 25 includes all the limitations in claims 16 and 21 or cancelled claim sets 1 and 25 in order to make this case in condition for allowance. The Examiner is open to additional features or concepts and working with the Applicants to determine way to help place this case in better condition for allowance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13, 16, 18-20, 22-25 and 27-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palenius et al. (US 2021/0345291 A1) in view of Konappa et al. (US 2018/0359660 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Palenius teaches a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a paging message (receiving a paging message from a base station see Palenius: Fig.5B block 550; ¶[0102]); and
transmitting via the network connection, a paging response message (in block 560, the UE may, responsive to receiving the paging message, transmit a wait indication to the base station 104 to delay a retransmission of the paging message see Palenius: ¶[0103]).
Palenius does not explicitly teaches receiving control signaling indicating a duration of a timer; wherein the duration of the timer is based at least in part on a quality of a communication link , receiving, from a radio resource control layer of the UE and at non-access stratum layer of the UE, an indication of the received paging message; initiating the timer based at least in part on receiving the indication of the received paging message and the quality of the communication link satisfying the threshold; establishing a network connection with a network node based at least in part on an expiration of the duration the timer and based at least in part on the quality of the communication link failing to satisfy the threshold.
However, Konappa the receiving control signaling indicating a duration of a timer; wherein the duration of the timer is based at least in part on a quality of a communication link (UE begin a first timer based on Qo S grant associated with network connection “The first UE may begin a first timer to allow a network to grant the dedicated bearer(s) for the network connection. The first UE may attempt, during a first duration of the first timer, to detect a QoS grant associated with the network connection in association with the handover” see Konappa: ¶[0082]), receiving, from a radio resource control layer of the UE and at non-access stratum layer of the UE, an indication of the received paging message (physical control format indicator channel (PCFICH) and CFI (Control format indicator) that determine PDCCH occupies and NAS message see Konappa: ¶[0031]; ¶[0020]); initiating the timer based at least in part on receiving the indication of the received paging message and the quality of the communication link satisfying the threshold (configure timer based on QoS and timer meet the threshold “the first timer may be configured to have a first duration of twenty (20) seconds. By waiting for the first duration of the first timer, the first UE 404a may allow the network to provide a QoS grant 430, which may include dedicated bearer(s)” see Konappa: ¶[0049]; ¶0112]); establishing a network connection with a network node based at least in part on an expiration of the duration the timer and based at least in part on the quality of the communication link failing to satisfy the threshold (retransmit the resource allocation request when does not meet the threshold “If the number of retransmissions of the resource allocation request does not meet or exceed the threshold (and/or if the number of expirations of the third timer does not meet or exceed the other threshold), then the first UE 504a may retransmit the resource allocation request (operation 538)” see Konappa: ¶[0113-0115]) in order to improve of 5G NR technology (see Konappa: ¶[0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Palenius to include (or to use, etc.) the receiving control signaling indicating a duration of a timer; wherein the duration of the timer is based at least in part on a quality of a communication link , receiving, from a radio resource control layer of the UE and at non-access stratum layer of the UE, an indication of the received paging message; initiating the timer based at least in part on receiving the indication of the received paging message and the quality of the communication link satisfying the threshold; establishing a network connection with a network node based at least in part on an expiration of the duration the timer and based at least in part on the quality of the communication link failing to satisfy the threshold as taught by Konappa in order to improve of 5G NR technology (see Konappa: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Palenius further comprising: receiving input from a user of the UE, wherein the duration of the timer comprises a duration between receiving the paging message and receiving the input from the user (wait indication and condition of the radio network “the wait indication may be provided as part of a modification of a random access operation between the UE 108 and the base station 104. For example, in some embodiments, the wait indication may be provided by using a special random access preamble and/or modifying a message of the random access procedure. In some embodiments, the UE 108 may transmit the wait indication responsive to determining that a condition of the radio network between the UE 108 and the base station 104 is likely to improve within a duration of a delayed paging response window” see Palenius: ¶[0103]; Fig.5B block 560).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Palenius further comprising: sending, from the non-access stratum layer, to the radio resource control layer, and in response to the expiration of the duration of the timer, an indication to establish the connection (responsive to receiving the paging message, transmit a wait indication to the base station 104 to delay a retransmission of the paging message. In some embodiments, the wait indication may be provided as part of a modification of a random access operation between the UE 108 and the base station 104. For example, in some embodiments, the wait indication may be provided by using a special random access preamble and/or modifying a message of the random access procedure see Palenius: ¶[0103]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 4 as described hereinabove. Konappa further teaches wherein establishing the network connection comprising: establishing the network connection based at least in part on the indication to establishing the network connection (retransmit the resource allocation request when does not meet the threshold “If the number of retransmissions of the resource allocation request does not meet or exceed the threshold (and/or if the number of expirations of the third timer does not meet or exceed the other threshold), then the first UE 504a may retransmit the resource allocation request (operation 538)” in order to improve of 5G NR technology (see Konappa: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Palenius further teaches wherein the duration of the timer further based at least in part on a configuration of the UE, a measurement of the communication link, an uplink parameter of the communication link, an antenna configuration, or any combination thereof (delay paging response winder and delay the response to paging message based on radio condition see Palenius: ¶[0070]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Palenius further teaches wherein the control signaling comprises radio resource control signaling, signaling of a control element of a medium access control layer or a system information block broadcast (receiving wait indication for the delay and wait indication signal cause retransmission of paging message delay “in some embodiments, after receiving the wait indication from the UE 108 in response to a paging message, a retransmission of the paging message may be delayed beyond the delayed paging response window, such that the retransmission of the paging message is not performed” see Palenius: ¶[0084]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Palenius further comprising: measuring the quality of the communication link after receiving the paging message; and wherein identifying the duration of the timer is further based at least in part on the measured quality satisfying the threshold, and wherein the threshold is indicated via at least one of second control signalling or a configuration of the UE (“the UE 108 may transmit the wait indication responsive to determining that a condition of the radio network between the UE 108 and the base station 104 is likely to improve within a duration of a delayed paging response window” and “If signal quality thresholds are used for the UE 108 to decide when the radio condition are good or not good, the UE 108 may be configured with lower signal quality thresholds so that the UE 108 employs the paging delay behavior only when the current radio coverage is really bad or the worst coverage” see Palenius: ¶0103]; Fig.5B; ¶[0070]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Palenius further teaches wherein the quality is associated with a reference signal received power measurement, a received signal strength indicator measurement, a signal to noise ratio measurement, an uplink parameter of the communication link, or an antenna configuration (power consumption “ In order for a UE 108 to enhance the power consumption when the network is sending a paging message to tell the UE 108 there is downlink (DL) data waiting, it has been proposed to add an option to the paging communication between the UE 108 and the base station 104” see Palenius: ¶[0058]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Palenius further comprising: monitoring for a response from the network node (Paging detected. Waiting with response see Palenius: Fig.3); and detecting that one or more uplink communication attempts have failed based at least in part on monitoring for the response from the network node, wherein the duration of the timer is further based at least in part on detecting that the one or more uplink communication attempts have failed (retransmission when paging message has not detected by the UE “when the network does not receive a paging response it may assume that the paging message has not been detected by the UE 108, and the network may continue to page the UE 108” see Palenius: ¶[0075]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Palenius further comprising: causing, based at least in part on the duration of the timer, the UE to output one or more indications of one or more actions requested of a user of the UE to improve the quality of the communication link, wherein establishing the network connection is further based on performance of the one or more actions (paging response with wait indication see Palenius: Fig.4; ¶[0070]).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Konappa further teaches wherein establishing the network connection comprises: initiating a mobile originated message based at least in part on the expiration of the duration of the timer (The UE 104a may retransmit the resource allocation request based on the determination that the QoS grant is unreceived after the expiration of the third timer see Konappa: ¶[0028]) in order to improve of 5G NR technology (see Konappa: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 16, Palenius teaches a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an alert message indicates a subsequent transmission of the paging message (receiving a paging message from a base station and include retransmissions of paging message “the paging messages to the UE 108, including retransmissions of the paging messages, may be controlled by the core network 220, and may be relayed to the UE by the base station 104” see Palenius: Fig.5B block 550; ¶[0102]; ¶[0057]);
receiving a paging message (receiving a paging message from a base station see Palenius: Fig.5B block 550; ¶[0102]);
transmitting, via the connection, a paging response message (in block 560, the UE may, responsive to receiving the paging message, transmit a wait indication to the base station 104 to delay a retransmission of the paging message see Palenius: ¶[0103]).
Palenius does not explicitly teaches receiving control signaling indicating a duration of a timer, where the duration of the timer is based at least in part on a quality of a communication link; receiving, based at least in part on the quality of the communication link preventing receipt of a paging message, an alert message; initiating the timer after receiving the alert message; establishing, based at least in part on an expiration of the duration of the timer, a connection with a network node and based at least in part on the quality of the communication link failing to satisfy a threshold.
However, Konappa teaches receiving control signaling indicating a duration of a timer, where the duration of the timer is based at least in part on a quality of a communication link (UE begin a first timer based on Qo S grant associated with network connection “The first UE may begin a first timer to allow a network to grant the dedicated bearer(s) for the network connection. The first UE may attempt, during a first duration of the first timer, to detect a QoS grant associated with the network connection in association with the handover” see Konappa: ¶[0082]); receiving, based at least in part on the quality of the communication link preventing receipt of a paging message (physical control format indicator channel (PCFICH) and CFI (Control format indicator) that determine PDCCH occupies and NAS message see Konappa: ¶[0031]; ¶[0020]), an alert message; initiating the timer after receiving the alert message (configure timer based on QoS and timer meet the threshold “the first timer may be configured to have a first duration of twenty (20) seconds. By waiting for the first duration of the first timer, the first UE 404a may allow the network to provide a QoS grant 430, which may include dedicated bearer(s)” see Konappa: ¶[0049]; ¶0112]); establishing, based at least in part on an expiration of the duration of the timer, a connection with a network node and based at least in part on the quality of the communication link failing to satisfy a threshold (retransmit the resource allocation request when does not meet the threshold “If the number of retransmissions of the resource allocation request does not meet or exceed the threshold (and/or if the number of expirations of the third timer does not meet or exceed the other threshold), then the first UE 504a may retransmit the resource allocation request (operation 538)” see Konappa: ¶[0113-0115]) in order to improve of 5G NR technology (see Konappa: ¶[0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Palenius to include (or to use, etc.) the receiving control signaling indicating a duration of a timer, where the duration of the timer is based at least in part on a quality of a communication link; receiving, based at least in part on the quality of the communication link preventing receipt of a paging message, an alert message; initiating the timer after receiving the alert message; establishing, based at least in part on an expiration of the duration of the timer, a connection with a network node and based at least in part on the quality of the communication link failing to satisfy a threshold as taught by Konappa in order to improve of 5G NR technology (see Konappa: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as claim 3 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as claim 4 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 16 as set forth hereinabove. Palenius further teaches wherein receiving the alert message comprises: receiving a sequence associated with the downlink alert message, wherein the sequence corresponds to an identifier of the UE, the sequence was received from the network node, the sequence corresponds to a group of UEs including the UE, or any combination thereof (receiving paging information include UE ID and delayed_paging_ind at step 8 see Palenius: Fig.2; ¶[0069]); and receiving, based at least in part on receiving the sequence, the alert message (poor radio channel conditions may be caused by, for example, fading, intersymbol interference, co-channel interference, low SNR, interference from neighboring base stations, and/or other channel degradation conditions see Palenius: ¶[0073]).
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is rejected for the same reason as claim 13 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is rejected for the same reason as claim 7 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is rejected for the same reason as claim 11 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 as described hereinabove. Claim 25 recites a network node perform the same functionalities in versa transmission of claim 1.
Regarding claim 27, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 25 as described hereinabove. Palenius further teaches wherein the control signaling comprises radio resource control signaling, signaling of a control element of a medium access control layer, or a system information block broadcast (receiving wait indication for the delay and wait indication signal cause retransmission of paging message delay “in some embodiments, after receiving the wait indication from the UE 108 in response to a paging message, a retransmission of the paging message may be delayed beyond the delayed paging response window, such that the retransmission of the paging message is not performed” see Palenius: ¶[0084]).
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 is rejected for the same reason as described in claim 16 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 29, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 28 as described hereinabove. Palenius further teaches wherein the paging response message is received after transmitting the paging message (transmitting a paging message to a UE at block 510 and responsive to receiving the wait indication from UE at block 530 see Palenius: Fig.5A; ¶[0099-0101]).
Regarding claim 30, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 28 as described hereinabove. Palenius further teaches wherein transmitting the alert message comprises: transmitting a sequence associated with the alert message, wherein the sequence corresponds to an identifier of the UE, the sequence is configured by the network node via control signaling, the sequence corresponds to a group of UEs including the 6 UE, or any combination thereof (receiving paging information include UE ID and delayed_paging_ind at step 8 see Palenius: Fig.2; ¶[0069]).
Regarding claim 31, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Konappa further teaches wherein the quality of the communication link is based at least in part on an uplink communication link between the UE and the network node satisfying the threshold, and wherein a quality of a downlink communication link between the UE and the network node does not satisfy the threshold (retransmit the resource allocation request when does not meet the threshold “If the number of retransmissions of the resource allocation request does not meet or exceed the threshold (and/or if the number of expirations of the third timer does not meet or exceed the other threshold), then the first UE 504a may retransmit the resource allocation request (operation 538)” see Konappa: ¶[0113-0115]) in order to improve of 5G NR technology (see Konappa: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 32, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Konappa further teaches wherein the paging response message is transmitted after the expiration of the duration of the timer (the first UE 504a may await a response to the resource allocation request during the duration of the third timer see Konappa: ¶[0074]) in order to improve of 5G NR technology (see Konappa: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 33, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 16 as described hereinabove. Konappa further teaches wherein the alert message comprises a pre-paging alert (predetermine number of expiration of timer “the first UE 504a may determine that the QoS grant is unreceived after a predetermined number of retransmissions of the resource allocation request or a predetermined number of expirations of the third timer” see Konappa: ¶[0076]) in order to improve of 5G NR technology (see Konappa: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 34, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 30 as described hereinabove. Palenius further teaches receiving a control message configured the sequence that corresponds to the identifier of the UE before transmitting the sequence (receiving paging information include UE ID and delayed_paging_ind at step 8 see Palenius: Fig.2; ¶[0069]); and receiving, based at least in part on receiving the sequence, the alert message (poor radio channel conditions may be caused by, for example, fading, intersymbol interference, co-channel interference, low SNR, interference from neighboring base stations, and/or other channel degradation conditions see Palenius: ¶[0073]).
Claims 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palenius et al. (US 2021/0345291 A1) in view of Konappa et al. (US 2018/0359660 A1) and further in view of Ozturk et al. (US 2020/0252967 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. The modified Palenius does not explicitly teaches wherein receiving the paging message comprises: receiving an indication of a priority association with the paging message, wherein the duration of the timer is based at least in part on the priority satisfying a priority threshold.
However, Ozturk teaches the wherein receiving the paging message comprises: receiving an indication of a priority association with the paging message, wherein the duration of the timer is based at least in part on the priority satisfying a priority threshold (the method may include transmitting an indication of a quality of service parameter associated with a data flow between a UE and the base station, the quality of service parameter indicating a priority level associated with the data flow see Ozturk: ¶[0045]) in order to improve configuring random access channel transmission (see Ozturk: ¶[0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of the modified Palenius to include (or to use, etc.) the wherein receiving the paging message comprises: receiving an indication of a priority association with the paging message, wherein the duration of the timer is based at least in part on the priority satisfying a priority threshold as taught by Ozturk in order to improve configuring random access channel transmission (see Ozturk: ¶[0004]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Palenius taught the method of claim 14 as set forth hereinabove. Ozturk further comprising: transmitting a capability message to the network node, wherein receiving the indication of the priority associated with the paging message is based at least in part on the capability message (UE 115-a may be configured to select a RACH procedure based on determining a RACH capability of the base station 105-a. For example, the base station 105-a may only support a single RACH procedure, for example, either a two-step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure. The UE 115-a may be configured to prioritize camping or connecting to a base station that supports two-step RACH procedures see Ozturk: ¶[0136]) in order to improve configuring random access channel transmission (see Ozturk: ¶[0004]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
April 29, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478