DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant remarks dated 12/05/2025 have been considered and new art presented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1,2,4,10,11,13 are allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5,6,8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wang et al. (US20230209542A1)( Support in provisional “62/993,613”) in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0007524A1 )(Support in Provisional “62/948,680“)(hereinafter “Wang2”)
Regarding Claim 5, Wang teaches, A method of wireless communication, comprising: transmitting a synchronization signal block (SSB) for identification of a system information block (SIB) SIB for a first set of one or more user equipment (UEs) within a shared control resource set, and [32]- A synchronization signal block (SSB) is used by a UE to measure the signal strength of a cell and includes a master information block (MIB), which configures CORESET 0 and search space 0 that are used for scheduling a system information block 1 (SIB1)(= identification of a system information block (SIB) SIB). Specifically, SIB1 configures a Type 1 common search space to be associated with CORESET 0…is confined in CORESET 0 in frequency domain, all normal UEs (e.g. legacy NR UEs) and RedCap UEs in a cell receive messages such as SI, paging, RAR, and Msg4 in frequency resources within the frequency resources containing CORESET 0(=shared control resource set).
information for identification of a second SIB for a second set of one or more UEs within the shared control resource set;[ 40]- To transmit SIB 1 for RedCap UEs, configurations of CORESET 0 and search space 0 for RedCap UEs are disclosed. [43]- To configure CORESET 0-RC and search space 0-RC by SSB, the following bits of MIB may be utilized. The spare bit in MIB specified in 3GPP TS 38.331 may be used.
transmitting the shared control resource set including: the first SIB having a first bandwidth, and the second SIB having a second bandwidth that is wider than the first bandwidth. [32]- Therefore, SIB1 dedicated for a RedCap UE that is transmitted in a bandwidth equal or smaller than the maximum channel bandwidth(=SIB having first bandwidth) supported by the RedCap UEs may need to be provided.
A second initial DL BWP may be configured by SIB1, which fully contains the first initial DL BWP configured by MIB and may have a larger bandwidth than the first initial DL BWP(=(=SIB having second bandwidth)), and may be used after receiving message 4 (Msg4).
In [32] CORESET 0 is the shared CORESET.
Wang does not teach, configuring the shared control resource set to provide supplementary redundancy for the first SIB;
Wang2 teaches, configuring the shared control resource set to provide supplementary redundancy for the first SIB [53]- the DCI for scheduling eSIB1 may be transmitted using PDCCH that spans over a bandwidth wider than the maximum NR-Light UE supported bandwidth(=shared control resource available for two different bandwidth). [54]- the PDCCH used for scheduling eSIB1 may be repeated(=supplementary redundancy for the first SIB) and the NR-Light UE alternates the puncturing patterns so that when it combines the received signals over two or more PDCCH repetitions the number of punctured coded bits is reduced.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, configuring the shared control resource set to provide supplementary redundancy for the first SIB as taught by Wang2 to use different coresets with respective system information blocks for multiple UEs for performance reasons.
Regarding Claim 6, Wang does not teach, The method of configuring the first bandwidth according to a presumed bandwidth capability of the first set of one or more UEs.
Wang2 teaches, The method of configuring the first bandwidth according to a presumed bandwidth capability of the first set of one or more UEs; [163]- The first subset (X) of resource blocks (Y) is received using a first bandwidth equal to or less than a maximum bandwidth supported by the reduced capability wireless device.
and configuring the second bandwidth according to a presumed bandwidth capability of the second set of one or more UEs. [165]- The second subset (Z) of resource blocks (Y) is received using a second bandwidth equal to or less than the maximum bandwidth supported by the reduced capability wireless device.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of configuring the first bandwidth according to a presumed bandwidth capability of the first set of one or more UEs as taught by Wang2 to use different coresets with respective system information blocks for multiple UEs for performance reasons.
Regarding Claim 8, Wang does not teach, The method of claim 5, further comprising : configuring the first SIB for sharing with the second set of one or more UEs.
Wang2 teaches, The method of claim 5, further comprising : configuring the first SIB for sharing with the second set of one or more UEs.[51]- Thus, the legacy SIB1 is extended to include information elements specifically intended for NR-Light UEs.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 5, further comprising : configuring the first SIB for sharing with the second set of one or more UEs. as taught by Wang2 to use different coresets with respective system information blocks for multiple UEs for performance reasons.
Claim 15-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20230209542A1)( Support in provisional “62/993,613”) in view of Liu et al. (US20220321290A1)
Regarding Claim 15, Wang teaches, An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor; at least one transceiver; and at least one memory comprising instructions, Fig 4
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: scan via the at least one transceiver, a set of frequencies for wireless network acquisition; [32]- all normal UEs (e.g. legacy NR UEs) and RedCap UEs in a cell receive messages such as SI, paging, RAR, and Msg4 in frequency resources within the frequency resources containing CORESET 0 before a dedicated DL BWP is configured in the RRC CONNECTED state or before the second initial DL BWP is applied, so it may be hard for a gNB to support some types of RedCap UEs with high connection density in a cell.
receive via the at least one transceiver a synchronization signal block (SSB) configured to be shared by at least a first category of user equipment (EUs) and a second category of UEs, the SSB comprising information for identification of a control resource set to be shared by the at least first category of UEs and the second category of UEs; [32]- A synchronization signal block (SSB) is used by a UE to measure the signal strength of a cell and includes a master information block (MIB), which configures CORESET 0 and search space 0 that are used for scheduling a system information block 1 (SIB1)(= identification of a system information block (SIB) SIB). Specifically, SIB1 configures a Type 1 common search space to be associated with CORESET 0…is confined in CORESET 0 in frequency domain, all normal UEs (e.g. legacy NR UEs) and RedCap UEs in a cell receive messages such as SI, paging, RAR, and Msg4 in frequency resources within the frequency resources containing CORESET 0(=shared control resource set).
Wang does not teach, receive via the at least one transceiver the control resource set comprising first system information designated for a first set of one or more UEs of the first category of UEs, and comprising second system information designated for a second set of one or more UEs of the second category of UEs, wherein the control resource set has a bandwidth corresponding to a presumed bandwidth capability of the first set of one or more UEs of the first category; the presumed bandwidth capability of the first set of one or more UEs being different than a presumed bandwidth capability of the second set of one or more UEs ;obtain, based on the control resource set, corresponding first system information for a wireless network, based on the apparatus being a member of the first set of one or more UEs of the first category; and establish via the at least one transceiver a connection with the wireless network based on the first system information.
Liu teaches, receive via the at least one transceiver the control resource set comprising first system information designated for a first set of one or more UEs of the first category of UEs, and comprising second system information designated for a second set of one or more UEs of the second category of UEs, wherein the control resource set has a bandwidth corresponding to a presumed bandwidth capability of the first set of one or more UEs of the first category;
[99]- Table 3 is a configuration table of the control resource set configured to the first type of UE when the bandwidth of the SSB is smaller than 20 PRBs.
[34]- For example, the SSB configured to the first type of UE can be used for synchronization between the first type of UE and the base station. The SSB configured to the second type of UE can be used for synchronization between the second type of UE and the base station.[40]- the SSB may be configured to different types of UE, and thus, configuration of the control resource set is carried out according to the allocation object of the SSB and the resources in the control resource set can be adaptively configured.
the presumed bandwidth capability of the first set of one or more UEs being different than a presumed bandwidth capability of the second set of one or more UEs;[62-64]- For example, the bandwidth of the SSB configured to the first type of UE is a random number of PRBs from 16 to 19. For example, when the bandwidth of the SSB is 16 PRBs, a time domain symbolic number of the SSB is one more than that of the SSB of which the bandwidth is equal to 20 PRB s(=respective presumed bandwidth capability).[68]- For another example, when the bandwidth of the SSB is smaller than 20 PRBs, the second type of UE does not synchronize with the base station based on the synchronization signal on the bandwidth which is smaller than 20 PRBs.
obtain, based on the control resource set, corresponding first system information for a wireless network, based on the apparatus being a member of the first set of one or more UEs of the first category; [39]- For example, the resources in the CORESET #0 may be used for transmitting Remained Minimum System Information (RMSI). After receiving the RMSI, the UE can randomly access the base station according to the RMSI,
and establish via the at least one transceiver a connection with the wireless network based on the first system information.[39]- After receiving the RMSI, the UE can randomly access the base station according to the RMSI, or the UE sets a paging timer and the like.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, receive via the at least one transceiver the control resource set comprising first system information designated for a first set of one or more UEs of the first category of UEs, and comprising second system information designated for a second set of one or more UEs of the second category of UEs, wherein the control resource set has a bandwidth corresponding to a presumed bandwidth capability of the first set of one or more UEs of the first category; the presumed bandwidth capability of the first set of one or more UEs being different than a presumed bandwidth capability of the second set of one or more UEs ;obtain, based on the control resource set, corresponding first system information for a wireless network, based on the apparatus being a member of the first set of one or more UEs of the first category; and establish via the at least one transceiver a connection with the wireless network based on the first system information. as taught by Liu to use different coresets with respective system information blocks for multiple UEs for performance reasons.
Regarding Claim 16, Wang teaches, The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first system information comprises an information element indicating that the first system information is designated for the first set of one or more UEs of the first category. [43]- To configure CORESET 0-RC and search space 0-RC by SSB, the following bits of MIB may be utilized.
Regarding Claim 17, Wang teaches, The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first system information occupies a first bandwidth, and wherein the second system information occupies a second bandwidth, wherein the second bandwidth is wider than the first bandwidth. [31] Specifically, if a RedCap UE only supports a maximum channel bandwidth of 5 MHz, the RedCap UE may not be able to access a cell in a case that a bandwidth of the control resource set 0 (CORESET 0) is configured to be larger than 5 MHz.
Regarding Claim 18, Wang teaches, A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor; at least one transceiver; and at least one memory comprising instructions, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the UE to:
scan a set of frequencies for wireless network acquisition; [32]- all normal UEs (e.g. legacy NR UEs) and RedCap UEs in a cell receive messages such as SI, paging, RAR, and Msg4 in frequency resources within the frequency resources containing CORESET 0 before a dedicated DL BWP is configured in the RRC CONNECTED state or before the second initial DL BWP is applied, so it may be hard for a gNB to support some types of RedCap UEs with high connection density in a cell.
receive, via the at least one transceiver, a synchronization signal block (SSB) configured to be shared by at least two categories of user equipment (UEs), the SSB comprising an index value for indicating a control resource set to be shared by the at least two categories of UEs; [33-38]
[34]- For example, the SSB configured to the first type of UE can be used for synchronization between the first type of UE and the base station. The SSB configured to the second type of UE can be used for synchronization between the second type of UE and the base station.[40]- the SSB may be configured to different types of UE, and thus, configuration of the control resource set is carried out according to the allocation object of the SSB and the resources in the control resource set can be adaptively configured.
Wang does not teach, wherein each category of UEs is associated with a respective presumed bandwidth capability different than another respective presumed bandwidth capability; receive, via the at least one transceiver, the control resource set based on a first translation of the index value, the first translation being designated for a first set of one or more UEs of a first category of at least two categories; obtain, based on the control resource set, corresponding system information for a wireless network; and establish at least one transceiver a connection with the wireless network based on the system informationobtain, based on the control resource set, corresponding system information for a wireless network; and establish at least one transceiver a connection with the wireless network based on the system information
Liu teaches, wherein each category of UEs is associated with a respective presumed bandwidth capability different than another respective presumed bandwidth capability;[62]- For example, the bandwidth of the SSB configured to the first type of UE is a random number of PRBs from 16 to 19. For example, when the bandwidth of the SSB is 16 PRBs, a time domain symbolic number of the SSB is one more than that of the SSB of which the bandwidth is equal to 20 PRB s(=respective presumed bandwidth capability).[68]- For another example, when the bandwidth of the SSB is smaller than 20 PRBs, the second type of UE does not synchronize with the base station based on the synchronization signal on the bandwidth which is smaller than 20 PRBs,
receive, via the at least one transceiver, the control resource set based on a first translation of the index value, the first translation being designated for a first set of one or more UEs of a first category of at least two categories; [99]- Table 3 is a configuration table of the control resource set configured to the first type of UE when the bandwidth of the SSB is smaller than 20 PRBs.
obtain, based on the control resource set, corresponding system information for a wireless network; and establish at least one transceiver a connection with the wireless network based on the system information. [39]- For example, the resources in the CORESET #0 may be used for transmitting Remained Minimum System Information (RMSI). After receiving the RMSI, the UE can randomly access the base station according to the RMSI.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, wherein each category of UEs is associated with a respective presumed bandwidth capability different than another respective presumed bandwidth capability; receive, via the at least one transceiver, the control resource set based on a first translation of the index value, the first translation being designated for a first set of one or more UEs of a first category of at least two categories; obtain, based on the control resource set, corresponding system information for a wireless network; and establish at least one transceiver a connection with the wireless network based on the system information obtain, based on the control resource set, corresponding system information for a wireless network; and establish at least one transceiver a connection with the wireless network based on the system information
as taught by Liu to use different coresets with respective system information blocks for multiple UEs for performance reasons.
Regarding Claim 19, Wang teaches, The UE of claim 18, wherein the UE is a member of the first set of one or more UEs.[40]- . In the following, CORESET 0 and search space 0 for RedCap UEs are denoted as CORESET 0-RC and search space 0-RC and SIB 1 for RedCap UEs is denoted as SIB 1-RC.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478