Response to Amendment
The amendment of 02/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/4/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(b) for claims 2, 11, and 23 have been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The rejections of 11/5/2025 have been withdrawn because the claims were amended.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because
Regarding drawings 29d and 34d cross section views
(h) Views. The drawing must contain as many views as necessary to show the invention. The views may be plan, elevation, section, or perspective views. Detail views of portions of elements, on a larger scale if necessary, may also be used. All views of the drawing must be grouped together and arranged on the sheet(s) without wasting space, preferably in an upright position, clearly separated from one another, and must not be included in the sheets containing the specifications, claims, or abstract. Views must not be connected by projection lines and must not contain center lines. Waveforms of electrical signals may be connected by dashed lines to show the relative timing of the waveforms.
(3) Sectional views. The plane upon which a sectional view is taken should be indicated on the view from which the section is cut by a broken line. The ends of the broken line should be designated by Arabic or Roman numerals corresponding to the view number of the sectional view, and should have arrows to indicate the direction of sight. Hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object, and must be made by regularly spaced oblique parallel lines spaced sufficiently apart to enable the lines to be distinguished without difficulty. Hatching should not impede the clear reading of the reference characters and lead lines. If it is not possible to place reference characters outside the hatched area, the hatching may be broken off wherever reference characters are inserted. Hatching must be at a substantial angle to the surrounding axes or principal lines, preferably 45°. A cross section must be set out and drawn to show all of the materials as they are shown in the view from which the cross section was taken. The parts in cross section must show proper material(s) by hatching with regularly spaced parallel oblique strokes, the space between strokes being chosen on the basis of the total area to be hatched. The various parts of a cross section of the same item should be hatched in the same manner and should accurately and graphically indicate the nature of the material(s) that is illustrated in cross section. The hatching of juxtaposed different elements must be angled in a different way. In the case of large areas, hatching may be confined to an edging drawn around the entire inside of the outline of the area to be hatched. Different types of hatching should have different conventional meanings as regards the nature of a material seen in cross section.
(4) Alternate position. A moved position may be shown by a broken line superimposed upon a suitable view if this can be done without crowding; otherwise, a separate view must be used for this purpose.
(5) Modified forms. Modified forms of construction must be shown in separate views.
Regarding drawing 17, 28b, 29b, and 30 shading
(m) Shading. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Shading is used to indicate the surface or shape of spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object. Flat parts may also be lightly shaded. Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but not for cross sections. See paragraph (h)(3) of this section. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color. [AltContent: rect]
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the circuit trace has a plurality of first diamonds and a plurality of second diamonds must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s), the figures disclosed do not show diamonds. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 15, 16, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 15, the recitation of “wherein the circuit trace comprises at least a first set of diamonds having an electrical resistance and first shape and a second set of diamonds having said electrical resistance and a second shape different than the first shape” is unclear how the diamonds have different shapes if they are both disclosed to be diamonds. The examiner interprets the first and second sets of diamonds to be of different size or trace length.
Claims 16 are also rejected due to their dependence to one or more of the above rejected independent claims.
Claim 21 recites the limitation " the other of the at least a support plate ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 21, the recitation of " the other of the at least a support plate" is unclear which support plate is being fastened to, the examiner interprets that only one support plate is required to be fastened to.
Claims 22 are also rejected due to their dependence to one or more of the above rejected independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20190008322 A1 to Feldman et al. (“Feldman”).
Regarding claim 1, Feldman teaches
A heating element (heating element 108) comprising:
first and second terminals (buses 136A-E and terminals 130A, 130B) (Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70);
and at least one heating element segment (heating element segments 134 (including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D 134A-F) extending between the first and second terminals, each heating element segment having a plurality of cutouts (cutouts seen in Fig. 6-8, cutouts 140) arranged in a repeating pattern, each cutout having an elliptical or obround shape (Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70);
wherein the first and second terminals and the at least one heating element segment are a continuous single sheet of material, wherein at least one of the first and second terminals includes an extension part (extension parts where lines for 130A and 130B are in Fig. 5) extending from the at least one of the first and second terminals and terminating in a free end, a folding line (line portions seen in Fig. 5 between the extension part free end and the at least one of the first and second terminals as seen in Annotated Fig. 5) positioned between the extension part free end and the at least one of the first and second terminals, the folding line facilitating folding of the extension part with respect to the heating element (Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70);
Regarding claim 3, Feldman teaches
comprising a plurality of heating element segments (heating element segments 134 including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D heating element segments 134A-F), the plurality of heating element segments extending in an arc (arc shapes seen in Fig. 6-8 and in Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70);
Regarding claim 4, Feldman teaches
comprising a plurality of heating element segments (heating element segments 134 including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D and heating element segments 134A-F), the plurality of heating elements forming an arc shape or a circular shape (arc shapes seen in Fig. 6-8 and Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70)
Regarding claim 5, Feldman teaches
a) providing the heating element of claim 1 in a space (e.g., Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70), and
b) supplying power to the heating element to heat the space (e.g., Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 4292504 A to Gebarowski.
Regarding claim 18, Gebarowski teaches
A three dimensional heating element (strip 10) comprising:
at least one support plate (plate/board 12);
at least one heater trace (strip 10), the heater trace having at least first and second terminals (terminals 14, 34), the heater trace having first and second opposing surfaces (opposing surfaces of heating element 10) and cutouts (apertures 16, 16’) formed therein, the heater trace having a shape different than a shape of the at least one support plate (fig. 1),
fasteners (passing insulators 36, openings in the fiber board 12, fasteners seen in Fig. 5-6) for connecting the at least first and second terminals of the heater trace to the at least one support plate at first and second fastener locations on the support plate (Fig. 1 and 5-7 and col 2, ln 50-67 and col 3, ln 1-67) such that the heater trace with the first and second opposing surfaces (see annotated fig. 1 below) with the cutouts (apertures 16’) therein forms a non-linear three dimensional shape along a length thereof (figs. 1 and 2), at least a portion of one of the first and second opposing surfaces facing a surface of the at least one support plate or the heater trace between the first and second terminals is spaced from the at least one support plate (see annotated fig. 1 below), the first and second fastener locations positioned on the at least one support plate such that the heater trace is formed into the non-linear three dimensional as a result of attachment between the first and second terminals and the first and second fastener locations on the at least one support plate (see annotated fig. 1 below Fig. 1-7 and col 2, ln 50-67 and col 3, ln 1-67)
Regarding claim 19, Gebarowski teaches
wherein the shape difference further comprises the heater trace having a length longer than a length of the at least one support plate (Fig. 1 and 7 and col 2, ln 50-67 and col 3, ln 1-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldman in view of US 6208528 B1 to Soto et al. (“Soto”)
Regarding claim 2,
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Feldman does not teach: each of the first and second terminals includes a folded extension part, the heating element standing alone on the folded extension parts.
Soto teaches each of the first and second terminals includes a folded extension part, the heating element standing alone on the folded extension parts (folds fold areas 36-50 and the loops 18-24 corresponding to the heating elements and Fig. 1-7 and col 3, ln 54-67 and col 4, ln 1-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify buses 136A-E and terminals 130A, 130B of Feldman with the in view of the teachings of Soto to create a continuous winding that is raised proud of a substrate, in the case of Soto a pc board, to facilitate the placement of soldered electrical terminals (Soto column 4 lines 37 to 52 in summation) and also to provide a power supply having improved reliability and repeatability in manufacturing and to provide means for electrically connecting the conductive path within an electrical circuit (Soto: col 1, ln 50-67 and col 2, ln 1-4).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldman in view of US 20200260532 A1 Sajie.
Regarding claim 6, the examiner interprets first and second portions to be diamonds 705 and 707 per fig. 20a and par. 106 of the drawings and specification of the disclosure of the instant application.
Feldman teaches, A heating element (heating element 108) comprising:
at least first and second terminals (e.g., buses 136A-E and terminals 130A, 130B) (e.g., Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70); and
at least one heating element segment (e.g., heating element segments 134 (including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D, heating element segments 134A-F) extending between the at least first and second terminals, the at least one heating element segment having a circuit trace (e.g., trace portions seen in Fig. 4-6) that includes at least first and second portions (e.g., Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70);
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Feldman does not teach: the at least first and second portions being different in size from each other so that a surface temperature difference exists between the at least first and second portions of the at least one heating element segment when a voltage is applied between the at least first and second terminals.
Sajie teaches a heating element (heating element units 900 902 and 904) with a mixed pattern of perforations 924 and circular perforations 922 where the at least first (perforations 924) and second portions (circular perforations 922) being different in size from each other (fig. 9a) so that a surface temperature difference exists between the at least first and second portions of the at least one heating element segment when a voltage is applied between the at least first and second terminals (par. 43).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art to solve the problem of controlling electrical resistance and therefore electrical heating by designing trace sizes to match a desired heating characteristic (Sajie par. 43)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to construct heating element segments 134, including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D, heating element segments 134A-F of Feldman with different shapes and sizes to perform a recognized suitable function of controlling electrical resistance and therefore electrical heating by designing trace sizes to match a desired heating characteristic as taught by Sajie par. 43.
Regarding claim 7 Feldman as modified teaches
the at least one heating element segment has a three dimensional shape ( Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70 teach heating element segments 134, including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D to be in an x, y, and z dimension)
Regarding claim 8, the examiner interprets the three dimensional shape broadly in any of two dimensions, x, y, or z.
Feldman as modified teaches
the three dimensional shape is one of a semi-cylindrical shape, a cylindrical shape, and a sinusoidal shape (e.g., Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70 teach heating element segments 134, including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D to be in an x, y, and z dimension and to have a sinusoidal shape in an x and y dimension).
Regarding claim 10 Feldman as modified teaches
at least one power connection or thermal expansion control fastener location (e.g., buses locations of 136B-136D) disposed between the at least first and second portions of the circuit trace (e.g., Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70).
Regarding claim 12, see 112(b) and (d) above,
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Feldman does not teach: wherein the circuit trace has a plurality of first diamonds and a plurality of second diamonds, the plurality of first diamonds configured to have lower resistance that the plurality of second diamonds.
Sajie teaches wherein the circuit trace has a plurality of first diamonds (perforations 924) and a plurality of second diamonds (circular perforations 922), the plurality of first diamonds configured to have lower resistance that the plurality of second diamonds (the trace lengths of the circumferences of 924 and 922 are taught to be different, therefore, it is anticipated that the resistances are different per par. 43 and 49 which teach customizing trace length as a way to customize resistance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to construct heating element segments 134, including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D, heating element segments 134A-F of Feldman with different shapes and sizes to perform a recognized suitable function of controlling electrical resistance and therefore electrical heating by designing trace sizes to match a desired heating characteristic as taught by Sajie par. 43.
Regarding claim 13,
Feldman teaches,
the circuit trace has a plurality of diamonds (cutouts seen in Fig. 6-8, cutouts 140) and a width of the plurality of diamonds continuously tapers between the at least first and second terminals or a width of the one or more of the plurality of diamonds varies along a length of the circuit trace (Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70, wherein a width of the one or more of the cutouts seen in Fig. 6-8 and cutouts 140 varies along a length of the circuit trace).
Regarding claim 14
Feldman teaches,
the circuit trace has a plurality of diamonds (cutouts seen in Fig. 6-8, cutouts 140), the diamonds having a strand width (see annotated fig. 6 below), and a width of a connection between at least one of the at least first and second terminals and a diamond adjacent to the at least one of the first and second terminals is larger than the strand width (see annotated fig. 6 below, Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70).
Regarding claim 15,
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Feldman does not teach: wherein the circuit trace comprises at least a first set of diamonds having an electrical resistance and first shape and a second set of diamonds having said electrical resistance and a second shape different than the first shape and constituting less mass, the second set of diamonds running at a surface temperature higher than a surface temperature of the first set of diamonds when a voltage is applied to the circuit trace.
Sajie teaches wherein the circuit trace comprises at least a first set of diamonds (circular perforations 922) having an electrical resistance and first shape and a second set of diamonds (perforations 924) having said electrical resistance and a second shape different than the first shape and constituting less mass (fig. 9a teaches the trace lengths of the circumferences of 924 and 922 are different, therefore, it is anticipated that the resistances are different which is made obvious by par. 43), the second set of diamonds running at a surface temperature higher than a surface temperature of the first set of diamonds when a voltage is applied to the circuit trace (the second set of diamonds caused by perforations 922 have a longer trace length according to fig. 9a and therefore are anticipated to have a lower resistance at a given voltage and therefore lower operating temperature and par. 43 teaches that it is obvious to adjust path length to change electrical characteristics).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to construct heating element segments 134, including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D, heating element segments 134A-F of Feldman with different shapes and sizes to provide different trace lengths to perform a recognized suitable function of controlling electrical resistance and therefore electrical heating by designing trace sizes to match a desired heating characteristic as taught by Sajie par. 43.
Regarding claim 16,
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Feldman does not teach: wherein a difference in shape is based on one of a strand width of the diamonds of the circuit trace, a width of the diamonds, a number of diamonds in a set, an internal width or height spacing between strands forming a diamond.
Sajie teaches wherein a difference in shape is based on one of a strand width of the diamonds of the circuit trace (fig. 9a), a width of the diamonds (fig. 9a), a number of diamonds in a set, an internal width or height spacing between strands forming a diamond (fig. 9a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to construct heating element segments 134, including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D, heating element segments 134A-F of Feldman with different shapes and sizes to provide different trace lengths to perform a recognized suitable function of controlling electrical resistance and therefore electrical heating by designing trace sizes to match a desired heating characteristic as taught by Sajie par. 43.
Regarding claim 23:
wherein at least one of the at least one first and second terminals (e.g., buses 136A-E and terminals 130A, 130B) (e.g., Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70) includes an extension part (e.g., extension parts where lines for 130A and 130B are in Fig. 5) that can be folded with respect to the heating element (e.g., Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190008322 A1 to Feldman in view of US 20200260532 A1 Sajie in view of US 20170013678 A1 Kiernan
Regarding claim 9,
Feldman teaches, except where struck through,
A heater having a heating element (heating element 108, fig. 7 teaches heating element 108 being in three dimensions) comprising:
at least first and second terminals (buses 136A-E and terminals 130A, 130B), the heater trace having a shape different than a shape of the at least a support plate (e.g., Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70);
and at least one heating element segment (heating element segments 134 (including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D 134A-F) extending between the at least first and second terminals (fig. 6),the at least one heating element segment having a circuit trace that includes at least first and second portions (e.g., Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70), , .
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Primary does not teach: the at least first and second portions being different in size from each other so that a surface temperature difference exists between the at least first and second portions of the at least one heating element segment when a voltage is applied between the at least first and second terminals, wherein the heating element has the cylindrical shape and the heating element is disposed in an insulating medium for heating or the insulating medium is positioned between an inner pipe and an outer pipe for heating material flowing through the inner pipe.
Sajie teaches a heating element (heating element units 900 902 and 904) with a mixed pattern of perforations 924 and circular perforations 922 where the at least first (perforations 924) and second portions (circular perforations 922) being different in size from each other (fig. 9a) so that a surface temperature difference exists between the at least first and second portions of the at least one heating element segment when a voltage is applied between the at least first and second terminals (par. 43)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art to solve the problem of controlling electrical resistance and therefore electrical heating by designing trace sizes to match a desired heating characteristic (Sajie par. 43)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to construct heating element segments 134, including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D, heating element segments 134A-F of Feldman with different shapes and sizes to perform a recognized suitable function of controlling electrical resistance and therefore electrical heating by designing trace sizes to match a desired heating characteristic as taught by Sajie par. 43.
Kiernan teaches a trimmable heater appliance 10 wherein the heating element (heater appliance segments 20) has the cylindrical shape (fig. 1) and the heating element is disposed in an insulating medium for heating or the insulating medium is positioned between an inner pipe and an outer pipe for heating material flowing through the inner pipe (claim 14, par. 14 to 17, 30, and 72, insulation layer 70 is pipe shaped, par. 83 teaches use over a pipe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feldman to be in a round pipe shape per the teachings of Kiernan this allows for more efficient heating of a substrate with a pipe shape (Kiernan par. 83).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldman in view of Sajie and further in view of US 20060186110 A1 to Campello (“Campello”).
Regarding claim 11
Feldman teaches
a heating element assembly (heating element segments 134 including 134A, 134B, 134C, and 134D and heating element segments 134A-F) comprising a plurality of the heating elements of claim 6, when interpreted in terms of the combination of Feldman and Sajie in the rejection of claim 6 above, Feldman teaches a plurality of heating elements per Fig. 4-12.
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the combination of Feldman and Sajie does not teach: at least one jumper.
Campello teaches a heating element assembly comprising a plurality of the heating elements (e.g., heating elements 76, 78) of claim 6, and at least one jumper (e.g., jumper connector bars 104 and 106) connecting at least the first terminals of the plurality of heating elements together (e.g., Fig. 6 and 10-13 and para 47-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feldman in view Campello with the a jumper in place of buses 136 a through e of Feldman to satisfactorily control the temperature of the heating face in response to temperature sensors such as the thermocouples (Campello: para 47) and to provide connections between a plurality of heating elements.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gebarowski in view of Feldman.
Regarding claim 20,
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Gebarowski does not teach: a heater trace includes a pair of heater trace portions, the pair of heater trace portions connected at one end by a bus connection, each heater trace portion having a terminal at the other end thereof, the bus connection and terminals fastened to the at least one support plate.
Feldman teaches a heater trace includes a pair of heater trace portions (trace portions seen in Fig. 6), the pair of heater trace portions connected at one end by a bus connection (buses 136A, 136C, 136E), each heater trace portion having a terminal at the other end thereof (terminals 130A and 130B, buses 136B and 136D), the bus connection and terminals fastened to the at least one support plate (reflector 146) (Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gebarowski as suggested and taught by Feldman in order to improve the current flow through the heating element, and accordingly, improves the performance of the heating element (Feldman para 67).
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200094655 A1 Zoske in view of US 20190008322 A1 to Feldman.
Regarding claim 21,
Zoske teaches, except where struck through,
A three dimensional heating element (fig. 1) comprising:
at least two support plates (conductive layers 10 a-10 f and second conductive layers 11 a-11 f);
at least one heater trace (heating elements 9 a-9 f ), the heater trace having at least first (conductive layers 10 a-10 f serve as terminals fig. 1) and second terminals (conductive layers 11 a-11 f serve as terminals fig. 1), the heater trace having a shape different than a shape of the at least two support plates (fig. 1 the heating elements are smaller);
one end of the heater trace fastened to one of the at least two support plates and the other end of the heater trace fastened to the other of the at least two support plates, the at least two support plates fastened together to form the three dimensional heating element (fig. 1).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Zoske does not teach: fasteners for connecting the at least first and second terminals to the at least two support plates, fastening of the heater trace to the at least two support plates providing the heating element with a three dimensional shape as a result of the shape difference between the heater trace and at least two support plates.
Feldman teaches A three dimensional heating element (heating element 108, fig. 7 teaches heating element 108 being in three dimensions)… a support plates (reflector 146) (Fig. 7-10 and para 54-56)… at least one heater trace (at least one trace of heating element segments 134, at least one trace of heating element 150), the heater trace having at least first and second terminals (buses 136A-E and terminals 130A, 130B), the heater trace having a shape different than a shape of the at least a support plate (e.g., Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54-70)…and further teaches fasteners for connecting the at least first and second terminals to the…support plates (rivets may be fastened through the apertures 144 for attaching the heating element 150 to the reflector 146; par. 54 and 56), fastening of the heater trace to the…support plates providing the heating element with a three dimensional shape as a result of the shape difference between the heater trace and at least two support plates (Fig. 4-12 and para 38-44 and 54 and 56 the heating element 108 is a 3d shape see fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zoske by attaching the joint with rivet fasteners as taught by Feldman, as this is known to be a predictable and robust fastening type in the art.
Regarding claim 22 Zoske teaches
further comprising a center support plate attached to the heater trace at a midpoint thereof (fig. 1 conductive layers 10 a-10 f and second conductive layers 11 a-11 f are attached at all points including a midpoint), the center support plate also attached to the at least two support plates to further change a shape of the heater trace when the at least two support plates are fastened together (see fig. 1).
Conclusion
ADAM MICHAEL. ECKARDT
Assistant Examiner
Art Unit 3761
/ADAM M ECKARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761