DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/08/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 04/15/2021. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 02/12/2026, the claims were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-6 and 8-10 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2018/0301629 A1) in view of Yoon et al. (US 2021/0376255 A1) and Ahn et al. (US 2018/0208837 A1) is withdrawn by the Office.
Claims 1 and 10 have been amended.
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2018/0301629 A1) in view of Yoon et al. (US 2021/0376255 A1) and Cho et al. (US 2019/0214572 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Hatakeyama teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising a first electrode (an anode), a second electrode (a cathode), a light emitting layer between the electrodes (paragraph 0009), and an electron transport zone comprising an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer (paragraph 0168). The light emitting layer comprises a polycyclic aromatic compound represented by Formula (1), and an anthracene based compound represented by Formula (3) (abstract).
A representative example of the compound of Formula 1, compound 1-1152 (page 5) is pictured below, and a representative example of the compound of Formula 3, compound 3-5 (page 6) is pictured beside it.
Compound 1-1152 meets the requirements of instant Formula (2) when rings A, B, and C are a substituted or unsubstituted C6 aryl, Y1 is boron, X1 and X2 are NR, and R is an unsubstituted C6 or unsubstituted C12 (phenyl or biphenyl) aryl.
Compound 3-5 meets the requirements of instant Formula (1) when L1 is a direct bond, L2 is an unsubstituted C10 arylene (naphthalene), and Ar1 and Ar2 are both an unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl).
However, while Hatakeyama teaches that any hydrogen atom can be replaced by deuterium (paragraph 0019), Compound 3-5 differs from the claimed invention in that the anthracene core is not fully deuterated.
In analogous art, Yoon teaches an anthracene derivative for use in an electroluminescent device wherein just the anthracene core is deuterated (abstract).
Yoon teaches that host compounds wherein just the anthracene core is deuterated have the advantages of light emitting efficiency, lifespan, and production cost (paragraph 0095). This is because deuterium is expensive and deuterating just the anthracene core provides sufficient lifespan while minimizing the production cost as a result of deuterium atoms (paragraph 0200).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate just the anthracene core of the Compound 3-5 in order to provide the advantages of light emitting efficiency and lifespan, while minimizing production cost as a result of the deuterium atoms, as taught by Yoon.
However, while Hatakeyama teaches the electron transport layer may comprise a triazine derivative (paragraph 0194, lines 1-15 and Formula ETM-10-1, paragraph 0314), and while an electron transport layer is capable of acting as an electron buffer layer, neither Hatakeyama nor Yoon teaches an electron buffer layer comprising a compound of instant Formula (11-1).
Cho teaches an electron buffer material for use in an electron buffering layer (abstract) located in an electron transport zone, for example, between a light-emitting layer and the second electrode (paragraph 0050 and Figure 1) in an organic electroluminescent device having low driving voltage, high luminous efficiency, and/or long lifespan (paragraph 0009).
Cho gives an example of the inventive electron buffer material, B-15 (page 8), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant Formula (11-1) when A1 and A2 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl) group, L3 is a C6 arylene (phenylene), m is 1 and Ar3 is an unsubstituted 20-membered heteroaryl (benzothieno[2,3-a]carbazolyl).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electron buffer layer of Cho comprising the electron buffer material of Cho into the device of Hatakeyama in order to produce an organic electroluminescent device having low driving voltage, high luminous efficiency, and/or long lifespan, as taught by Cho.
With respect to claim 2, Hatakeyama, Yoon, and Cho teach the device of claim 1, and in Formula (2), the substituent of the substituted aryl is a C6 aryl (phenyl), as pictured above. The compounds of Formulae 1 and (11-1) do not contain any substituted groups.
With respect to claim 3, Hatakeyama, Yoon, and Cho teach the device of claim 1, and L1 is a single bond, and L2 is an unsubstituted C10 arylene (naphthalene), which is the third embodiment of instant Group 1, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 4, Hatakeyama, Yoon, and Cho teach the device of claim 1, and Ar1 and Ar2 in Formula 1 are each a phenyl group, which is the first embodiment of Group 2 of the instant claim.
With respect to claim 5, Hatakeyama, Yoon, and Cho teach the device of claim 1, as discussed above.
Compound 3-5, which is discussed above, is derived from Hatakeyama formula (3), which is pictured below.
Compound 3-5 can be derived from this formula when Ar4 is a deuterium atom (paragraph 0038 and 0019), one X is represented by Formula (3-X3), and the other X is represented by Formula (3-X1). In Formula 3-X3, Ar3 is a phenyl group (paragraph 0037, lines 1-7). In formula 3-X1, Ar1 is a phenyl group (paragraph 0037, lines 1-7).
Hatakeyama also teaches that Ar1 may be represented by Formula 4-1 (paragraph 0037, lines 6-10), which is pictured below.
In formula 4-1, Y is an oxygen atom (paragraph 0040).
This forms a compound which meets the requirements of the instant claim when three of R9-R12 are hydrogen atoms, and X is an oxygen atom.
Hatakeyama includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Hatakeyama being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent, such as the substituent of formula (4-1), from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound for use in an organic electroluminescent element in a light emitting layer which has excellent quantum efficiency (paragraph 0550), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 6, Hatakeyama, Yoon, and Cho teach the device of claim 1, and the compound represented by formula 2 is represented by formula 2-1 when R23 is a C6 aryl group and all other R groups are hydrogen atoms, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 8, Hatakeyama, Yoon, and Cho teach the device of claim 1, and the compound represented by formula 1 is compound H-1 when n is 8, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 9, Hatakeyama, Yoon, and Cho teach the device of claim 1, and the compound represented by formula 2 is the first embodiment (line 1, column 1) on page 19 of the instant claims.
With respect to claim 10, Hatakeyama, Yoon, and Cho teach the device of claim 1, and the compound represented by formula 11-1 is instant compound B-15, as pictured above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786