DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on February 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witter (5,002,318) in view of Orr (2011/0214886).
Regarding claims 24-29 and 32-34, Witter discloses a fire protection sprinkler arrangement consisting of:
(A) a fluid supply conduit 12 with (i) an internal bore (internal bore of body member 12) and a circumferential groove 22 in the internal bore, and (ii) a welded outlet or a mechanical outlet (outlet of body member 12), the fluid supply conduit containing a fluid (col. 4, l. 31); and
(B) a unitary body fire protection sprinkler 14, 20 (member 14 and sprinkler head 20 form a unit body) for connecting to the fluid supply conduit by insertion only of the unitary body fire protection sprinkler into the fluid supply conduit, the unitary body fire protection sprinkler consisting of:
(a) an input orifice (orifice at top end 44) at an input end (upstream end of member 14, i.e., the portion of member 14 above groove 56) for receiving the fluid directly from the fluid supply conduit;
(b) an output orifice (outlet orifice at sprinkler body 20) at an output end (downstream end having the outlet of sprinkler member 20) for outputting the fluid from the fluid supply conduit;
(c) a push-in connection (connection between members 12, 14; connection above groove 56, i.e., everything of member 14 above groove 56) at the input end, the push-in connection to be (the recitation “to be” indicates an intended use/function and only requires the capability to perform the function; it does not constitute a positively recited limitation) connected directly to the fluid supply conduit by insertion only into the internal bore of the fluid supply conduit and the push-in connection being free from threads (the positioning recesses 54 are NOT threads) for the insertion of the push-in connection into the internal bore of the fluid supply conduit;
(d) a first recess 46 of a first recess circumference contained within the push-in connection;
(e) a first gasket 50 of a first gasket circumference mounted within the first recess;
(f) a second recess 48 of a second recess circumference contained within the push-in connection, the second recess circumference being equal to the first recess circumference (cavities 46 and 48 both have the outer diameter of member 14);
(g) a second gasket 52 of a second gasket circumference mounted within the second recess, the second gasket circumference being equal to the first gasket circumference (O-rings 50 and 52 both have the circumference of the inner surface of member 12);
(h) a third recess 54 of a third recess circumference contained within the push-in connection, the third recess circumference being greater than each of the first recess circumference and the second recess circumference (recess 54 at its smallest diameter is greater than the cavities 46 and 48 at their smallest diameter);
(i) a retaining clip 28 of a retaining clip circumference mounted within the third recess, the retaining clip circumference being greater than each of the first gasket circumference and the second gasket circumference (the diameter of spring 28 is greater than the diameter of O-rings 50 and 52, larger diameter results in a larger/greater circumference), and the retaining clip extending into and protruding through (spring 28 extends into and protrudes through the recess/groove 22 in the circumferential direction of the recess/groove 22) the circumferential groove in the internal bore of the fluid supply conduit when the push-in connection of the unitary body fire protection sprinkler is inserted directly into the fluid supply conduit (see figures 1-3);
(j) an extended portion (portion having means 40 and threads 42) extending between the push-in connection at the input end and the output orifice at the output end (portion having means 40 and threads 42 is between the upstream end of member 14, i.e., the portion of member 14 above groove 56 and the outlet orifice at sprinkler body 20};
(k) a pair of frame arms (arms of head 20) extending to the output end of the sprinkler body and meeting at a base portion positioned in axial alignment with the output orifice;
(l) a frangible element (the frangible element of head 20, see figure 1) held in place on its lower end by a set screw (the set screw of head 20, see figure 1), the set screw being attached to the base portion, the frangible element being designed to fail at a predetermined temperature in order to release the sealing cap (the sealing cap of head 20, see figure 1) to activate the fluid to flow from the input end of the fire protection sprinkler body to the output end for outputting the fluid from the output orifice of the fire protection sprinkler body; and
(m) a deflector (deflector of head 20, see figure 1) configured to direct the fluid output from the output orifice, upon activation of the fluid flow by the failure of the frangible element at the predetermined temperature,
wherein the first recess with the first gasket mounted therein, the second recess with the second gasket mounted therein, and the third recess with the retaining clip mounted therein are in a stacked arrangement, with the first recess with the first gasket mounted therein being nearest to the input end of the unitary body fire protection sprinkler and the third recess with the retaining clip mounted therein being nearest to the pair of frame arms,
wherein, to provide a positive connection between the retaining clip and the fluid supply conduit when the push-in connection of the unitary body fire protection sprinkler is inserted directly into the fluid supply conduit, the retaining clip is located at least partially within both the third recess in the unitary body fire protection sprinkler and the circumferential groove in the internal bore of the fluid supply conduit,
wherein the retaining clip temporarily deforms when the push-in connection of the unitary body fire protection sprinkler is inserted directly into the fluid supply conduit, and, when the push-in connection of the unitary body fire protection sprinkler is fully inserted into the fluid supply conduit, the retaining clip is then retained within both the third recess in the unitary body fire protection sprinkler and the circumferential groove in the internal bore of the fluid supply conduit, and the retaining clip extends into and protrudes through (spring 28 extends into and protrudes through the recess/groove 22 in the circumferential direction of the recess/groove 22) the circumferential groove in the internal bore of the fluid supply conduit when the push-in connection of the unitary body fire protection sprinkler is fully inserted into the fluid supply conduit (see figures 1-3), and
wherein the unitary body fire protection sprinkler is removed from the fluid supply conduit by compressing both ends of the retaining clip in order to temporarily deform the retaining clip so that a diameter of the retaining clip becomes less than a diameter of the internal bore of the fluid supply conduit, allowing the unitary body fire protection sprinkler to be pulled from the fluid supply conduit;
wherein the retaining clip is a spring mechanism so that the diameter of the retaining clip is reduced when the push-in connection of the unitary body fire protection sprinkler is inserted directly into the fluid supply conduit;
wherein the retaining clip presses against the internal bore of the fluid supply conduit when the push-in connection of the unitary body fire protection sprinkler is inserted directly into the fluid supply conduit;
wherein the first gasket and the second gasket are each O-ring seals that provide redundancy when the push-in connection of the unitary body fire protection sprinkler is inserted directly into the fluid supply conduit;
wherein the O-ring seals are made of a material selected from synthetic rubbers and thermoplastics (col. 3, ll. 56-58);
wherein the retaining clip has a round cross section;
wherein the retaining clip acts as a spring and is selected from a material having corrosion resistance;
wherein the retaining clip is made of a material selected from the group consisting of stainless steel, music wire, hard drawn, oil tempered, brass, and nickel alloy (spring wire, col. 4, ll. 27-28, is inherently stainless steel, music wire and hard drawn);
wherein the retaining clip has an outer semi-circular shape (outer half from top to bottom in figures 1-4) of at least fifty percent, but not more than ninety percent, of a perimeter (perimeter of the circular section shown in figures 2-4) of a circle (the circle of figure 5),
Witter discloses the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of a connector.
Orr discloses a push in/on threadless sprinkler having a frangible element 64 (formed by plates 68, 70 and pin 60) held in place on its lower end by a set screw 66a and on its upper end by a connector 62, the connector connecting with a sealing cap 50A with a disk spacer 52.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the frangible element, the connector, the sealing cap and the disk spacer of Orr to the sprinkler of Witter (i.e., replace the trigger assembly and sealing assembly of Witter with the trigger assembly and sealing assembly of Orr) to improve opening of the sealing cap, i.e., by the spring seal 52 of Orr.
Regarding claims 30 and 31, Witter in view of Orr discloses the claimed invention except for the retaining clip having a diameter of 0.12 inch. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the diameter of Witter’s retaining claim 0.12 inch, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 35, Orr further discloses the deflector 44 being a circular disk with slots (slots 58).
Regarding clam 36, Orr further discloses the deflector being a circular disk with a plurality of slots 58 arrayed around a periphery of the circular disk.
Regarding claim 37, Orr further discloses the deflector 44 being formed of metal (paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 38, Witter in view of Orr discloses the limitations of currently claimed invention with the exception of the deflector being formed of phosphor bronze. Phosphor bronze is a well known material. Orr discloses, in paragraph 0032, that the deflector 44 can be make a metallic material or any other material or combination of materials suited to provide structural integrity and head resistance. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the deflector of Witter in view of Orr from phosphor bronze to improve heat resistance.
Regarding claim 39, Orr further discloses the deflector 44 is a metal (paragraph 0032) circular disk with a plurality of slots 58 arrayed around a periphery of the metal circular disk.
Regarding claim 40, Witter in view of Orr discloses the limitations of currently claimed invention with the exception of the deflector being formed of phosphor bronze. Phosphor bronze is a well known material. Orr discloses, in paragraph 0032, that the deflector 44 can be make a metallic material or any other material or combination of materials suited to provide structural integrity and head resistance. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the deflector of Witter in view of Orr from phosphor bronze to improve heat resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Witter does not teach Applicant’s invention, as a whole, as recited in claim 24. Applicant fails to identify the claimed limitation that is not disclosed by Witter. Applicant’s specification may differ from Witter, but Applicant’s claims are readable on Witter in view of Orr as detailed above.
Applicant continues to argue the threads 16, 42 of Witter. Threads 16 and 42 do not form the push-in connection. They are not part of the current rejection or past Office action rejections
Regarding the limitation “the retaining clip extending into and protruding through the circumferential groove in the internal bore of the fluid supply conduit when the push-in connection of the unitary body fire protection sprinkler is inserted directly into the fluid supply conduit, the spring 28 extends into and protrudes through the recess/groove 22 in the circumferential direction of the recess/groove 22.
Regarding Orr, Applicant raise no new issues.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER S KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 CHRISTOPHER S. KIM
Examiner
Art Unit 3752
CK