DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The amendments to claims 1, 5, 12 and 14 overcome the previous 112(b) rejections. Accordingly, the 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant argues the present application achieves a precise load monitoring and hierarchical architecture by having the "power detecting module" directly coupled to the "second area power converting device" to obtain real time power parameter information, including power, voltage, current, or total load. Keefe merely mentions monitoring the load in “a portion of the power grid” (paragraph [0045]), it does not further elaborate on how to precisely obtain the complete load. Although Heyne discloses directly detecting the load on a "grid connecting line" (paragraphs [0048] and [0084]), its hierarchy is limited to a single building, lacking the hierarchical architecture of the present invention which monitors the more extensive "second area power converting device". The architecture of the present invention ensures macro-level management of the power grid, providing a solid data foundation for subsequent dynamic control.
Keefe (US 2010/0082464) discloses every power line (61a-61c) of each second area power converting device (distribution transformer 60a-60c) comprising an electric meter (65a-65f) (Fig.2) (Par.31 and 36); the electric meter (65a-65f) generates a power parameter related to the power output of the second area power converting device (60a-60c), wherein the power parameter comprises a power and/or a total load of the second area power converting device (60a-60c) (Par.36, Lines 27-30; The power detecting module measures the electric power supplied.) (Par.37; The power detecting module accesses the amount of power consumed by the loads.). Keefe discloses determining if a load in a portion of the power grid has reached a power threshold (Par.45). The portions of the power grid including the first area power converting device (16/MV substation) (Figs.1-2) and the second area power converting device (60a-60f/distribution transformers) (Figs.1-2) (Par.45).
Therefore, Keefe discloses measuring a power and/or total load of the second area power converting device.
Applicant argues while Kothavale indeed discloses power sampling, its purpose is limited to restricting power based on historical data (refer to paragraphs [0048] - [0049]), not for real-time error comparison and safety interruption. Although Homma describes controlling the onboard converter, its technical solution does not include this process of "externally detecting current, comparing for errors, and activating a switching unit for safety termination". Sung also discloses controlling charging in a "waiting" state but does not disclose this safety verification mechanism. Helnerus discloses a safety module that monitors sensor values and outputs a switch-off signal when a triggering criterion is met, but this is a pre-charging safety check and does not involve the real-time comparison of a commanded stage charging current with the actual charging current. This closed-loop safety mechanism provides superior reliability for EV charging and cannot be achieved by simply combining the prior art.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly relied upon Choi (US 2016/0059724) disclose the newly amended limitations: a local charging control module (101) (Fig.3) designates a transmission of a stage charging current information to one EV (200) (Par.44-45, EV receives a control signal with a preset charging current value.), the designated EV (200) controls a car onboard AC to DC power converter (220) (Par.32) to charge the EV (200) according to the stage charging current information to start charging, stop charging, increase charging power, or reduce charging power (Par.36, 45 and 49);
then the local charging control module (101) obtains a charging current information of the designated EV (200) from a corresponding current detecting unit (220/240) (Par.43); then checking that an error of the charging current information and the stage charging current information of the designated EV (200) is within a pre-determined allowable range (Par.44), wherein the local charging control module (101) terminates the charging current of designated EV (200) by a switching unit (120) if the error is out of pre-determined allowable range (Par.48-49 and 53).
The rejection of claim 1 is based on the combination of Keefe, Choi, Kothavale and Heyne as seen in the office action below.
Applicant argues while Heyne describes similar two-way control, its level of control is limited to the charging station (refer to paragraphs [0074] - [0076]) and does not disclose such fine-grained control over the onboard converter. Although Homma discloses controlling the onboard converter, its primary purpose is to balance the SOC of the vehicle (refer to paragraphs [0060] - [0061]), not to dynamically adjust based on real-time grid load conditions.
Choi discloses controlling a vehicle onboard converter to dynamically adjust based on measured current conditions (Par.36, 45 and 49).
The present application has two functional blocks: a local charging control module and a local power supplying module. The local charging control module performs all control and communication tasks, including detecting the power of the second area power converting device, communicating with and controlling the car onboard AC to DC power converter, actively generating the stage charging current information, two-way dynamic control and double loop protection mechanism, The present application utilizes a single local charging control module to accomplish these functions (details as paragraph [0083] of present application), , whereas cited references require multiple control modules (e.g., Keefe's disclosure of a charging station equip with a control module/processor and EVMS; Henyne's disclosure of a control unit 30 in conjunction with a charging station 120; and Kothavale's disclosure of a charging station 120 in conjunction with a charging station network server 125).
The Applicant does not appear to present arguments as to how the claimed limitations avoid the references or distinguish over them. The claimed limitations include a local charging control module. However, given the use of the transitional term “comprising” it does not exclude additional, unrecited elements such as additional control modules.
Applicant argues the local power supplying module includes a switching unit (socket), a current detecting unit and a power output unit, which are the minima components required to perform the "Unique charging/safety double loop mechanism." Specifically, the local power supplying module of the present application has one more component than a simple outlet, but is less complex than a charging station, and the cited references do not demonstrate such as a structure.
The claim includes the transitional element “comprising”. The claim does not exclude additional, unrecited elements being part of the local power supplying modules.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., have every parking space equipped with an inexpensive local power supplying module, which includes a switching unit, a current detecting unit and a power output unit (e.g., the socket) to replace costly charging piles, allowing electric vehicles to be charged whenever they are parked) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues the present application establishes a unique closed ecosystem. Its operational premise is that the EV needs to be prepared in advance in order to cooperate with the present application, such as entering the vehicle identification information. The local charging control module will communicate and control the charging current with a vehicle directly after verifying that the "vehicle identifying information" is consistent with its records. This pre-verification mechanism not only ensures the charging current control process but also provides the safety of a solid foundation for subsequent automation and precise control. This "verify first, then control" closed ecosystem architecture is not disclosed by the cited references and provides the necessary technical foundation for achieving the unique closed-loop safety verification and precise onboard control of the present invention.
Keefe (US 2010/0082464) discloses determining if vehicle (50a-50f) identifying information is found consistent with a record of a local charging control module (75) (Par.32-33 and 36) when a vehicle (50a-50f) is coupled to the system (Par.40).
Kothavale et al. (US 2014/0103866) discloses before performing the charging operation, the AC charging system further comprises confirming that the EVs (110) are consistent and valid with a vehicle state information of the local charging control module (125) (Par.24 and 70).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitations “the local charging control module designates the transmission of a stage charging current information to one of the EVs, and the designated EV controls the car onboard AC to DC power converter to charge the EV according to the stage charging current information” in Lines 31-36.
These limitations are duplicated. The limitations are also present on Claim 1, Lines 27-29.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “designed EV” in Line 38. This appears to be a typo.
The limitation of Claim 1, Line 38 is interpreted as reciting: designated EV.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the pre-determined allowable range” in Line 39. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The limitation of Claim 1, Line 39 is interpreted as reciting: a pre-determined allowable range.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “if the error is out of pre-determined allowable range” in Lines 40-41.
The limitation of Claim 1, Lines 40-41 is interpreted as reciting: if the error is out of the pre-determined allowable range.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keefe (US 2010/0082464) in view of Choi (US 2016/0059724), Kothavale et al. (US 2014/0103866) and Heyne et al. (US 2021/0138926).
Claim 1: Keefe teaches an AC charging system for EVs cooperates with a power grid (100) (Fig.2), the power grid (100), which has a first area power converting device (16) (Fig.1) and a second area power converting device (60a-60c) coupled to each other (Fig.1), a power of first area power converting device (16) is greater than a power of the second area power converting device (60a-60c) (Par.27), comprising:
a power detecting module (65a-65f), which is coupled to the second area power converting device (60a-60c) to generate a power parameter related to the power output of the second area power converting device (60a-60c), wherein the power parameter comprises a power and/or a total load of the second area power converting device (60a-60c) (Par.36, Lines 27-30; The power detecting module measures the electric power supplied.) (Par.37; The power detecting module accesses the amount of power consumed by the loads.);
a plurality of local power supplying modules (40a-40f), which are coupled to a power output side of the second area power converting device (60a-60f) (Fig.2), and each local power supplying module (40a-40f) comprising:
a power output unit, which is a socket (power outlet) connectable to an EV (50a-50f) and outputs a controllable power source to the EV (50a-50f), wherein the controllable power source is an AC power source (Par.3, 31 and 42);
a local charging control module (75), which is coupled to the power detecting module (65a-65f), and respectively controls the output of the controllable power sources according to the power parameter of the second area power converting device (60a-60f) (Par.31, 36 and 42; The local charging control module controls the charging/discharging based on the measured parameters; that include electric power supplied from the second area converting device.);
wherein the local charging control module (75) establishes a service channel with the EV (50a-50f) through wired transmission or wireless transmission and performs a charging operation via the service channel (Par.36, 39 and 42),
when a vehicle (50a-50f) identifying information is consistent with a record of the local charging control module (75) (Par.32-33, 36 and 40; Uniquely identifying various electric vehicles based on information maintained on a database prior to sending data/control signals.), the local charging control module (75) designates the transmission of information to one of the EVs (50a-50f), the designated EV (50a-50f) controls a car onboard AC to DC power converter to charge the EV (50a-50f) according to the information to start charging, stop charging, increase charging power, or reduce charging power (Par.3 and 49; The local charging control module sends commands to the EVs to regulate charging; including a command to stop charging.).
Keefe does not explicitly teach each local power supplying module comprising: a switching unit, which is coupled between the corresponding power output unit and the power output side of the second area power converting device, and is switching to connect or disconnect the connection between the power output unit and the power output side of the second area power converting device; a current detecting unit, which detects a current information of the power output unit; and the local charging control module connected to the current detecting unit; when a vehicle identifying information is consistent with the record of the local charging control module, the local charging control module designates the transmission of a stage charging current information to one of the EVs, the designated EV controls a car onboard AC to DC power converter to charge the EV according to the stage charging current information to start charging, stop charging, increase charging power, or reduce charging power; then the local charging control module obtains a charging current information of the designated EV from the corresponding current detecting unit; then checking that an error of the charging current information and the stage charging current information of the designed EV is within the pre-determined allowable range, wherein the local charging control module terminates the charging current of designated EV by the switching unit if the error is out of the pre-determined allowable range.
Choi teaches a local power supplying module (100) (Fig.3) comprising: a switching unit (120), which is coupled between a corresponding power output unit (140) and a power grid (Par.31), and is switching to connect or disconnect the connection between the power output unit (140) and the grid (Par.34);
a local charging control module (101) (Fig.3) designates a transmission of a stage charging current information to one EV (200) (Par.44-45, EV receives a control signal with a preset charging current value.), the designated EV (200) controls a car onboard AC to DC power converter (220) (Par.32) to charge the EV (200) according to the stage charging current information to start charging, stop charging, increase charging power, or reduce charging power (Par.36, 45 and 49);
then the local charging control module (101) obtains a charging current information of the designated EV (200) from a corresponding current detecting unit (220/240) (Par.43); then checking that an error of the charging current information and the stage charging current information of the designated EV (200) is within a pre-determined allowable range (Par.44), wherein the local charging control module (101) terminates the charging current of designated EV (200) by a switching unit (120) if the error is out of pre-determined allowable range (Par.48-49 and 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Choi in the system of Keefe to have had determined the vehicle charging is operating normally (Par.44) and have had taken corrective action such as reducing a charging current (Par.45) or stopping charging if the operation is abnormal (Par.48-49) thereby protecting the electric vehicle (Par.2).
The combination of Keefe in view of Choi does not explicitly teach the local power supplying module comprising: a current detecting unit, which detects a current information of the power output unit; and the local charging control module connected to the current detecting unit.
Kothavale teaches a local power supplying module (120) (Fig.1) comprising:
a power output unit (155) (Par.25);
a current detecting unit (145), which detects a current information of the power output unit (155) (Par.26); and a local charging control module (125) connected to the current detect unit (145) (Par.28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kothavale in the combination of Keefe in view of Choi to have had the expected result of measuring dispensed current from the local power supplying module (Par.26 and 30) to have had effectively managed power consumption based on supply conditions thereby preventing an overload on the power grid (Par.3).
Furthermore, Keefe does not explicitly teach wherein the local charging control module actively decreases a total charging power output by the plurality of local power supplying modules when the power of the second area power converting device reached a power-rising control value, and the local charging control module actively increases the total charging power of the plurality of local power supplying modules when the power of the second area power converting device decreased and reached a power-falling control value and have a charging requirement.
Heyne discloses a local charging control module (30) actively decreases a total charging power of a plurality of local power supplying modules (120) (Fig.1) when a power 25of an area power converting device (transformer coupled to 110) increased and reached a power-rising control value (first threshold value) (Par.76-77);
the local charging control module (30) actively increases a total charging power of a plurality of local power supplying modules (120) (Fig.1) when a power of an area power converting device (transformer coupled to 110) 36decreased and reached a power-falling control value (second threshold value) and have a charging requirement (Par.81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Heyne in the system of Keefe to have had prevented overloading that can lead to failure of the power distribution system (Par.44) while providing the maximum power available to a local power supplying module (Par.15).
Claim 11: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale and Heyne teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Keefe teaches wherein when the charging operation is finished, further comprises performing a billing operation (Par.59).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keefe (US 2010/0082464) in view of Choi (US 2016/0059724), Kothavale et al. (US 2014/0103866) and Heyne et al. (US 2021/0138926) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Quoc-Tuan et al. (US 2016/0272079).
Claim 3: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale and Heyne teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Keefe does not explicitly teach wherein the power detecting module is electrically connected with a power input side of the second area power converting device to generate the power parameter, which corresponds to the power output of the second area power converting device.
Quoc-Tuan teaches an AC charging system for EVs (10) cooperates with a first area power converting device (12) and a second area power converting device (16) coupled to each other (Fig.1), comprising: a power detecting module electrically connected with a power input side of the second area power converting device (16) to generate a power parameter, which corresponds to the power output of the second area power converting device (16) (Par.37; The power detecting module measures the total electric power supplied from the power grid 12 [at the input side of the second area power converting device 16] to the bus 14 [at the output of the second area power converting device 16].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Quoc-Tuan in the system of Keefe to have had measured the total electric power supplied from a main electric power to a local electric power (Par.37) to have had provided appropriate control of power distribution based on the electric power measurements (Par.25).
Claim 18: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale and Heyne teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Keefe teaches a second area power converting device (60a-60c) being a transformer (Par.28, Therefore, an input side of the second area power converting device (60a-60c) comprises an input side winding), and the power detecting module obtains the total load of the second area power converting device (60a-60c) (Par.36-37).
Keefe does not explicitly teach the power detecting module is coupled to the input side winding.
Quoc-Tuan teaches an AC charging system for EVs (10) cooperates with a first area power converting device (12) and a second area power converting device (16) (Par.37) coupled to each other (Fig.1), comprising: wherein an input side of the second area power converting device (16) has an input-side winding (Par.37, The power converting device comprises a transformer.), and a power detecting module electrically connected with the input side winding to generate a power parameter (Par.37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Quoc-Tuan in the system of Keefe to have had the expected result of measuring the total electric power supplied to a load electric power grid (Par.37) to have had provided appropriate control of power distribution based on the electric power measurements (Par.25).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keefe (US 2010/0082464) in view of Choi (US 2016/0059724), Kothavale et al. (US 2014/0103866) and Heyne et al. (US 2021/0138926) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Donnelly et al. (US 2018/0201148).
Claims 4 and 6: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale and Heyne teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Keefe does not explicitly teach further comprising: a power grid control center, which controls the total charging power of the local charging control module through a zonal charging control module to regulate the power of the second area power converting device; wherein the local charging control module obtains a remote-control information through a zonal charging control module.
Donnelly teaches a power grid control center (208) (Fig.2), which controls the total charging power of a local charging control module (408/charge controller) (Fig.7) through a zonal charging control module (202) to regulate the power of a second area power converting device (transformer coupled to 138) (Par.61-62 and 89) (Fig.1); wherein a local charging control module (408/charge controller) obtains a remote-control information through a zonal charging control module (202) (Par.66 and 89) (Fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Donnelly in the system of Keefe to have had coordinated charging control by a centralized control (Par.40) targeted at strategic locations across a grid (Par.68) to balance energy requests and demands across the whole system (Par.40).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keefe (US 2010/0082464) in view of Choi (US 2016/0059724), Kothavale et al. (US 2014/0103866) and Heyne et al. (US 2021/0138926) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krucinski et al. (US 2020/0369167).
Claim 5: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale and Heyne teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Keefe does not explicitly teach wherein each local power supplying module 10further includes a connection detecting unit, which detects whether the power output unit is connected to an exterior power connector and does not provide the controllable power source when the power output unit is not connected to the exterior power connector.
Krucinski teaches a local power supplying module (100) comprising a connection detecting unit (controller), which detects whether a power output unit is connected to an exterior power connector (mating connector) and does not provide a controllable power source when the power output unit is not connected to the exterior power connector (mating connector) (Par.25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Krucinski in the system of Keefe to have had provided power upon confirmation of an established electrical connection between the local power supplying module and a vehicle (Par.25) thereby preventing power waste.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keefe (US 2010/0082464) in view of Choi (US 2016/0059724), Kothavale et al. (US 2014/0103866) and Heyne et al. (US 2021/0138926) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hollmig (US 2018/0334048).
Claim 7: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale and Heyne teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Keefe does not explicitly teach wherein the power cable connected between the power output unit with the EV is a telescopic reel power cable self-provided by the EV.
Hollmig teaches a power cable (5) connected between a power output unit and an EV (1) is a telescopic reel power cable self-provided by the EV (1) (Par.33-34) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Hollmig in the system of Keefe to have had the charging cable available at all times on the vehicle (Par.7); while provided a longer cable length without having to reduce or limit available space in the vehicle (Par.11).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keefe (US 2010/0082464) in view of Choi (US 2016/0059724), Kothavale et al. (US 2014/0103866) and Heyne et al. (US 2021/0138926) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sung et al. (US 2015/0115891).
Claim 8: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale and Heyne teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. The combination of Keefe in view of Choi does not explicitly teach wherein the local charging control module controls each of the local power supplying modules to perform the charging operation on the 20EVs in state-by-state, where the charging operation in state-by-state is that when each EV is electrically connected to the corresponding power output unit, the state arrangement of the power output unit is a combination of "waiting for charging" and "charging" or "increased for charging current" and "decreased for charging current".
Sung teaches controlling each of local power supplying modules (30a-30b) to perform charging operation on 20EVs (10a-10d) in state-by-state, where the charging operation in state-by-state is that when each EV (10a-10d) is electrically connected to a corresponding power output unit, the state arrangement of the power output unit is a combination of "waiting for charging" and "charging" (Par.45) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Sung in the combination to have had provided charge to the connected electric vehicles without exceeding a limit on the power that can be supplied to the local power supplying modules (Par.46) by including a waiting for charge state if the power is near the limit.
Claim 10: Keefe in view of Kothavale, Choi, Kothavale, Heyne and Sung teach the limitations of claim 8 as disclosed above. Keefe does not explicitly teach wherein before performing with the charging operation, the AC charging system further comprises confirming that the EVs are consistent and valid with a vehicle state information of the local charging control module.
Kothavale discloses before performing the charging operation, the AC charging system further comprises confirming that the EVs (110) are consistent and valid with a vehicle state information of the local charging control module (125) (Par.24 and 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kothavale in the system of Keefe to have had authorized an EV to access a particular local power supplying module before allowing start of a charging session with information in the local charging control module (Par.24 and 70) thereby preventing unauthorized access to the power supplying modules.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keefe (US 2010/0082464) in view of Choi (US 2016/0059724), Kothavale et al. (US 2014/0103866) and Heyne et al. (US 2021/0138926) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Quattrini, Jr et al. (US 2018/0001781).
Claims 12-13: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale and Heyne teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Keefe does not explicitly teach wherein when the power of any local power wiring increases to a wiring-capacity-rising control value, a local charging control module actively reduces the total charging power of the plurality of local power supplying modules 15connected to the wiring; and wherein when the power of any local power wiring decreases to a wiring-capacity-falling control value and there has a charging requirement, the local charging control module actively increases the total charging power of the plurality of local power supplying modules connected to the wiring; wherein the wiring-capacity-rising 20control value is less than or equal to the upper limit of the wiring capacity, or the wiring- capacity-falling control value is less than or equal to the wiring-capacity-rising control value.
Quattrini, Jr. teaches when the power of any local power wiring increases to a wiring-capacity-rising control value (Par.20), a local charging control module actively reduces the total charging power of a plurality of local power supplying modules (150A-150B) 15connected to the wiring (Par.35)(Fig.3); and wherein when the power of any local power wiring decreases to a wiring-capacity-falling control value and there has a charging requirement, the local charging control module actively increases the total charging power of the plurality of local power supplying modules (150A-150B) connected to the wiring (Par.36); wherein the wiring-capacity-rising 20control value is less than or equal to the upper limit of the wiring capacity (Par.20, Trip margin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Quattrini, Jr. in the system of Keefe to have had dynamically controlled the power to not exceed a capacity of a wiring group to prevent tripping a circuit breaker (Par.20 and 30) thereby preventing damage to the system and/or incomplete vehicle charging.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keefe (US 2010/0082464) in view of Choi (US 2016/0059724), Kothavale et al. (US 2014/0103866) and Heyne et al. (US 2021/0138926) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han et al. (US 2017/0008414).
Claim 14: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale and Heyne teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Keefe teaches an AC charging system for EVs comprising: a home electricity-billing device (65), which is disposed between the at least one local power supplying module (40a-40f) of the home (40) and the second area power converting device (60) to detect a total electric quantity of home-load of the home (40) (Par.36) (Fig.3).
The combination of Keefe in view of Choi and Kothavale does not explicitly teach the local charging control module further calculates a total electric quantity of home-charging based on charging current information detected 10by the current detecting unit, and the AC charging system for EVs further comprising: wherein the cost calculation of the total electric quantity of home-load of the home is divided into two parts to calculate the cost separately, one is the 15total electric quantity of home-charging, and the other is a total electric quantity of home-non- charging, wherein the calculation formula of the total electric quantity of home-non-charging is: total non-charge quantity of the home = total electric quantity of the home - total charge quantity of the home.
Han teaches a local charging control module calculates a total electric quantity of home-charging based on charging current information (charging electricity quantity) detected 10by a current detecting unit (Par.53 and 99-100); wherein a cost calculation of the total electric quantity of home-load of the home is divided into two parts to calculate the cost separately, one is the 15total electric quantity of home-charging, and the other is a total electric quantity of home-non-charging (normal-consumption) (Par.93), wherein the calculation formula of the total electric quantity of home-non-charging is: total non-charge quantity of the home = total electric quantity of the home - total charge quantity of the home (Par.64-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Han in the combination to have had accurately charged and billed based on electricity supply unit (Par.10); and prevented unwanted increase in rate of normal household power consumption by adding electric vehicle charging power quantity (Par.8).
Claim 15: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale, Heyne and Han teach the limitations of claim 14 as disclosed above. Keefe does not explicitly teach wherein the local charging control module stores a home-vehicle identifying information, and the charging operation is started after judging that the EV connected to the power output unit meets the home-vehicle identifying information.
Kothavale discloses a local charging control module (125) stores a home-vehicle identifying information (VIN), and the charging operation is started after judging that the EV (110) connected to a power output unit (155) meets the home-vehicle identifying information (Par.24 and 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kothavale in the system of Keefe to have had authorized an EV to access a particular local power supplying module before allowing start of a charging session with information in the local charging control module (Par.24 and 70) thereby preventing unauthorized access to the power supplying modules.
Claim 16: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale, Heyne and Han teach the limitations of claim 14 as disclosed above. Keefe teaches wherein the power wiring between the 25second area power converting device (60) and the home electricity-billing device (65) uses the original existing power wiring (Fig.2).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keefe (US 2010/0082464) in view of Choi (US 2016/0059724), Kothavale et al. (US 2014/0103866) and Heyne et al. (US 2021/0138926) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pastorello et al. (US 6,522,982).
Claim 17: Keefe in view of Choi, Kothavale and Heyne teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Keefe teaches a second area power converting device (60a-60c) being a transformer (Par.28).
Keefe does not explicitly teach wherein an output side of the second area power converting device has a plurality of output-side windings, and the power detecting module is coupled to all of the output-side windings to obtain the total load power of the second area power converting device.
Pastorello teaches an output side of a power converting device has a plurality of output-side windings (L1-L3) (Fig.2B), and the power detecting module (251-253 and 257) is coupled to all of the output-side windings (L1-L3) to obtain the total load power of the power converting device (Col.5, Lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Pastorello in the system of Keefe to have had combined power measurements from a plurality of output phases to obtain a total power consumption (Col.5, Lines 1-9) thereby preventing information loss (Col.10, Lines 25-32) and obtaining a more accurate total load power amount.
Conclusion
/JOHALI A TORRES RUIZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859